About 4 Olives Restaurant

121 South 4th Street
Manhattan, KS 66502
View Larger Map

Opened in July of 2004 with such culinary specialties as: fresh fish, wild game, local ingredients, and artesian cheeses. The ambiance of the restaurant can be described as upscale contemporary, the dining room itself surrounds a large glass wine cave. The featured style of cuisine is a Contemporary Mediterranean-American menu with Pacific influences, emphasized by extremely fresh, made-to-order items. Every item is made in house. Our desserts are prepared by our talented pastry chef, and Scott's wife, Rachel Benjamin. The bar menu consists of well-crafted, classic cocktails using fresh juices and premium spirits. With over 400 fine spirits, 60 beers, and 700 wines which are kept in our temperature controlled, glass wine cave, 70 of which are also served by the glass

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Open Everday 4pm to 11pm


Cross Street:
4th and Houston

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 539-1295

Website:
http://www.4olives.biz/

Executive Chef:
Scott Benjamin

Private Party Facilities:
We now offer private dining rooms for parties up to 45 persons

Private Party Contact:
Scott Benjamin: (785) 539-1295

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Reservations of 8 or larger, please contact Scott Benjamin at 785-539-1295. Thank you!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bruschetta - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Amuse Bouche - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Mixed Green Salad With Balsamic Dressing, Gorgonzollla, Strawberries And Spiced Candied Pecans - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Wheat Shocktail - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Peach Bread Pudding - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Bruschetta Trio - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Red Wine Braised Lamb Shank On Couscous - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Port - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Bacon Wrapped Dates - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Mac and Cheese - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Filet Mignon - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS
Chicken Kalamata - 4 Olives Restaurant, Manhattan, KS

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Happy Valentine's Day 2017.

We will be offering a special Prix Fixe Menu Only on Valentine's Day.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Thu - Sat 9:00PM - 11:00PM

4 Olives Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Private Room (5)
Business Meals (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a pleasure to frequent 4 Olives. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always a pleasure to frequent 4 Olives. I normally get the Chicken and Palenta but this time I tried the special which was the seared Grouper and Risotto. One word "Phenomenal"!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great place. The food was mindb ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was a great place. The food was mindblowing. A tad expensive no doubt but its worth it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife & I took our CrossFit Benedictus ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife & I took our CrossFit Benedictus coaches out for a Thank You Dinner on a Saturday evening. We were greeted and seated promptly and courteously. Our waitress was attentive without being intrusive---a balance many waitstaff personnel just don't have. Dinner and drinks and desserts were all superb quality. Excellent evening. (P. S. I like their new digs much better than when they were on the west side of town.)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was pretty empty when we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The restaurant was pretty empty when we arrived, but even so it seemed to take a long time to serve our drinks. Overall, their food and drinks were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was our second "special occasion " ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was our second "special occasion " dinner at 4Olives- this one New Years Eve. The cocktails are marvelous, and worth a visit in themselves. The service was excellent. The wine list is exceptionally strong. However the small samplings on the two pours on the Prix Fixe did not merit the $30 up-charge. I should have just ordered two nice glasses of wine.

Be prepared for very salty food preparation. If you eat a healthy diet that is naturally low in salt, you may find the salt levels at 4Olives too high. I had wondered if they brined my filet mignon with the olives? This may appeal to some, but not to my taste.

Lovely post-dinner coffee service was a high point.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food. Very reasonably priced. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fantastic food. Very reasonably priced. We loved it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service! Everything w ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food and service! Everything was as advertised here, and we enjoyed our meal and the place very much. I would highly recommend 4 olives.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful as always. The Duroc pork chop ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful as always. The Duroc pork chop and the ahi tuna are two of our favorites on the menu. The specials are very creative and are always delicious. Best food, drinks and wine in the region. Don't miss it when you are in Manhattan.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The duck was amazing. We also got the cr ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The duck was amazing. We also got the crème brûlée for dessert, which was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent service and the food wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had excellent service and the food was amazing!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend out to dinner at Fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I took my girlfriend out to dinner at Four Olives and we were blown away. The wine flights are great and good to share. We got one of both white and red. The appetizers are light and cleanse your palate before the main courses. The menu is quite vast and the wine selection is incredible. If you are looking for a good intimate spot for a special occasion, date night or just want something other than Harry's four olives is the spot to go in Manhattan!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I like the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I like the relaxed feel of this place – I definitely would return to try more of their dishes. They have an beer selection that is unique. Vast wine menu. The Filet Mignon was done right and the Crème Brulee is an must try. Service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family had a wonderful Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family had a wonderful Thanksgiving meal. Instead of cooking and doing dishes we all sat around the table and enjoyed conversation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a delightful meal and the service ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a delightful meal and the service was great as always. We started with a cheese course that was terrific. We continued with steak tips and risotto, duck and the veal shank with Israeli couscous was just outstanding. We finished up with bread pudding, off the hook. The cocktails and wines were excellent. We even got a surprise visit from the K-State band , which was very cool. A delightful evening! Best restaurant in Manhattan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service. We ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. We will definitely return next time we are in the Little Apple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

KSU band and cheerleaders got us started ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

KSU band and cheerleaders got us started with their fight song, blended in well with a fabulous cheese plate and wine. Everyones food was well prepared and hearty, the meats were very tatstee and prepared just right. Very large selection of wine and spirits, only short on porters and stouts.....but the coffee made up for everything along with house made toffee!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Cuisine was excellent

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Cuisine was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was very good. We ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food and service was very good. We had a reservation for two and were seated at a very small little table with the sun shining in my companions face. It was very uncomfortable for him. If I had not had a reservation, I would have no complaint, but I did and when I complained about the table when we arrived, was informed that all the other tables had reservations. When we left two hours later there were still two larger tables empty! Probably will not return soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

The cheese selection is very good. They ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The cheese selection is very good. They have a nightly special that is always good. The wine selection is extensive.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

4 Olives is a special place in the heart ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 26, 2016

4 Olives is a special place in the heart of the country. Innovative food, great wine list and new food choices most every week.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, , Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four of us on a weeknight for my birthda ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Four of us on a weeknight for my birthday. They were training a new waiter so we had lots of attention. Food is great. I had the pork chop, very well cooked and seasoned. Extensive wine list and full bar.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered one of the chef's special, the ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I ordered one of the chef's special, the filet mignon, medium rare. Cooked perfectly, one of the better steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful seafood and steak specials. Be ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful seafood and steak specials. Best wine list in the Midwest. Fantastic craft cocktails. A can't miss restaurant when in Manhattan.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is wonderful to have a restaurant in ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It is wonderful to have a restaurant in MHK that rivals what you would find in a much larger city, especially if you enjoy a wonderful original or classic cocktail and their huge wine selection to accompany dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great except the pork shank I ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Everything great except the pork shank I had was not cooked properly and not even warm. Osso Buco should be cooked to where the meat almost falls off the bone. I could not even cut it off with a meat knife. And the Rissoto was cool also. The other three guest had very good food. I have never had a unsatisfactory meal there until now.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Provided an opportunity to try a rare fi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Provided an opportunity to try a rare fish. We jumped at the chance. Was not disappointed. Very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tapas, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and outstanding wine list ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding wine list. I am glad that Manhattan, KS, the "Little Apple", has a restaurant like this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A pleasure, as always. Quiet, good food, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

A pleasure, as always. Quiet, good food, lovely cocktails

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband surprised me for our 25th ann ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband surprised me for our 25th anniversary and brought our children home for the weekend. We were able to book a table and I had requested a quiet area for us to dine. This was all done the day of our reservation. They did a great job with my request!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is usually very good here. I recomm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is usually very good here. I recommend the Filet Mignon - always cooked to order and the sauce they put on is amazing. Went with my wife on our 26th anniversary (she had never been and wanted to try it) and she got chicken breasts with some type of breading - they were over cooked and very dry. Substituted rice pilaf instead of the "polenta cakes" and was charged extra (really? $20 for 2 thin chicken breast isn't enough?) Very small dining area and can be very noisy depending on how much others at other tables have had to drink. There was a crying baby there when we went (really? who brings a baby to a $30-$40 a plate restaurant?) so we got seated on the patio - window was closed due to summer heat. Only ones out there, so it was quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As usual an excellent meal with just all ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 3, 2016

As usual an excellent meal with just all the right touches of an upper scale restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was much better tonight. I a ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was much better tonight. I am happy to say I will be back again soon, my water glass was always full and the food came out in a decent time. Slowly, but at least it was timed well, didn't seem like I was waiting for my food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with a glass of wine and a co ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We started with a glass of wine and a couple cheeses. Kansas Cheddar and the Gouda. My wife had the seared scallops with bacon broth. I had the balsamic grilled duck. Both were fantastic.

The restaurant was quite and relaxed. Perfect for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service was great ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent and service was great.

Extensive wine list. Good beer selection as well.

We got there a bit early and were seated right away.

Upscale and worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thank you for a wonderful evening. It wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful evening.

It was very nice of you to accommodate our request for seating us somewhere a little more private. We will always be return customers!

Thanks again,

Charles & Laurie

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was exceptional! Warm, auth ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional! Warm, authentically friendly, and attentive without being intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly a dining experience. Quality of fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Truly a dining experience. Quality of food source and preparation is top notch. Service is excellent. Prices are very high but that's what makes it my small town special occasion go-to place. I have never been disappointed with a meal at 4 Olives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our hostess/waitress was incredible. Sh ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our hostess/waitress was incredible. She even brought my girlfriend a cupcake for her birthday. The food was delicious though the portions were not generous. The mixed drinks were small and expensive but good. The only way the night would have been better was if the portions/drink sizes were somewhat more substantial.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, great presentation and o ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent food, great presentation and obvious attention to detail.

Anna is a superb waitress, friendly, engaging, knowledgeable about all aspects of menu items and drink selections

Dinners are in line with what one would expect with fine dining and an overall excellence experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always 4 Olives was amazing. It's my ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always 4 Olives was amazing. It's my wife's favorite date night spot and I was able to pull off a surprise date night for her to celebrate a very special occasion. The staff is friendly and the food is AMAZING!!!! The wine list is huge and the menu has a wine fit for each dish. They offer complete meal specials depending on the day or you can order off the menu. Perfect for a romantic evening or grown up friends gathering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.