About 4 Olives Restaurant

121 South 4th Street
Manhattan, KS 66502
View Larger Map

Opened in July of 2004 with such culinary specialties as: fresh fish, wild game, local ingredients, and artesian cheeses. The ambiance of the restaurant can be described as upscale contemporary, the dining room itself surrounds a large glass wine cave. The featured style of cuisine is a Contemporary Mediterranean-American menu with Pacific influences, emphasized by extremely fresh, made-to-order items. Every item is made in house. Our desserts are prepared by our talented pastry chef, and Scott's wife, Rachel Benjamin. The bar menu consists of well-crafted, classic cocktails using fresh juices and premium spirits. With over 400 fine spirits, 60 beers, and 700 wines which are kept in our temperature controlled, glass wine cave, 70 of which are also served by the glass

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Open Everday 4pm to 11pm


Cross Street:
4th and Houston

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 539-1295

Website:
http://www.4olives.biz/

Executive Chef:
Scott Benjamin

Private Party Facilities:
We now offer private dining rooms for parties up to 45 persons

Private Party Contact:
Scott Benjamin: 785-539-1295x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Reservations of 8 or larger, please contact Scott Benjamin at 785-539-1295. Thank you!

Restaurant Photos

Bruschetta
Amuse Bouche
Mixed Green Salad With Balsamic Dressing, Gorgonzollla, Strawberries And Spiced Candied Pecans
Wheat Shocktail
Peach Bread Pudding
Bruschetta Trio
Red Wine Braised Lamb Shank On Couscous
Port
Bacon Wrapped Dates
Mac and Cheese
Filet Mignon
Chicken Kalamata

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Thu - Sat 9:00PM - 11:00PM

4 Olives Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City
Notable Wine List
Kansas City
2 More
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Most Booked
Manhattan, KS
Best Restaurants in Manhattan ›

Notable Wine List (36)
Special Occasion (35)
Romantic (26)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered one of the chef's special, the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I ordered one of the chef's special, the filet mignon, medium rare. Cooked perfectly, one of the better steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful seafood and steak specials. Be ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful seafood and steak specials. Best wine list in the Midwest. Fantastic craft cocktails. A can't miss restaurant when in Manhattan.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is wonderful to have a restaurant in ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It is wonderful to have a restaurant in MHK that rivals what you would find in a much larger city, especially if you enjoy a wonderful original or classic cocktail and their huge wine selection to accompany dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great except the pork shank I ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Everything great except the pork shank I had was not cooked properly and not even warm. Osso Buco should be cooked to where the meat almost falls off the bone. I could not even cut it off with a meat knife. And the Rissoto was cool also. The other three guest had very good food. I have never had a unsatisfactory meal there until now.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Provided an opportunity to try a rare fi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Provided an opportunity to try a rare fish. We jumped at the chance. Was not disappointed. Very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Tapas, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and outstanding wine list ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding wine list. I am glad that Manhattan, KS, the "Little Apple", has a restaurant like this.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A pleasure, as always. Quiet, good food, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A pleasure, as always. Quiet, good food, lovely cocktails

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My husband surprised me for our 25th ann ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband surprised me for our 25th anniversary and brought our children home for the weekend. We were able to book a table and I had requested a quiet area for us to dine. This was all done the day of our reservation. They did a great job with my request!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is usually very good here. I recomm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food is usually very good here. I recommend the Filet Mignon - always cooked to order and the sauce they put on is amazing. Went with my wife on our 26th anniversary (she had never been and wanted to try it) and she got chicken breasts with some type of breading - they were over cooked and very dry. Substituted rice pilaf instead of the "polenta cakes" and was charged extra (really? $20 for 2 thin chicken breast isn't enough?) Very small dining area and can be very noisy depending on how much others at other tables have had to drink. There was a crying baby there when we went (really? who brings a baby to a $30-$40 a plate restaurant?) so we got seated on the patio - window was closed due to summer heat. Only ones out there, so it was quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

As usual an excellent meal with just all ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

As usual an excellent meal with just all the right touches of an upper scale restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was much better tonight. I a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was much better tonight. I am happy to say I will be back again soon, my water glass was always full and the food came out in a decent time. Slowly, but at least it was timed well, didn't seem like I was waiting for my food.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with a glass of wine and a co ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We started with a glass of wine and a couple cheeses. Kansas Cheddar and the Gouda. My wife had the seared scallops with bacon broth. I had the balsamic grilled duck. Both were fantastic.

The restaurant was quite and relaxed. Perfect for a date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent and service was great ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was excellent and service was great.

Extensive wine list. Good beer selection as well.

We got there a bit early and were seated right away.

Upscale and worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thank you for a wonderful evening. It wa ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful evening.

It was very nice of you to accommodate our request for seating us somewhere a little more private. We will always be return customers!

Thanks again,

Charles & Laurie

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was exceptional! Warm, auth ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional! Warm, authentically friendly, and attentive without being intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly a dining experience. Quality of fo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Truly a dining experience. Quality of food source and preparation is top notch. Service is excellent. Prices are very high but that's what makes it my small town special occasion go-to place. I have never been disappointed with a meal at 4 Olives.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Our hostess/waitress was incredible. Sh ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our hostess/waitress was incredible. She even brought my girlfriend a cupcake for her birthday. The food was delicious though the portions were not generous. The mixed drinks were small and expensive but good. The only way the night would have been better was if the portions/drink sizes were somewhat more substantial.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, great presentation and o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent food, great presentation and obvious attention to detail.

Anna is a superb waitress, friendly, engaging, knowledgeable about all aspects of menu items and drink selections

Dinners are in line with what one would expect with fine dining and an overall excellence experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always 4 Olives was amazing. It's my ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always 4 Olives was amazing. It's my wife's favorite date night spot and I was able to pull off a surprise date night for her to celebrate a very special occasion. The staff is friendly and the food is AMAZING!!!! The wine list is huge and the menu has a wine fit for each dish. They offer complete meal specials depending on the day or you can order off the menu. Perfect for a romantic evening or grown up friends gathering.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at 4 Olives and have never ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have eaten at 4 Olives and have never been disappointed. The menu is amazing and the wine list superb. The wait staff is professional and friendly. We love 4 Olives!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great! It was a l ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food and service were great! It was a little loud in the dining area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food but long delay in meal pr ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food but long delay in meal preparation and a bit over priced

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

4Olives is always good, but I think they ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

4Olives is always good, but I think they are starting to take Manhattan, KS for granted. There was a time when the food and service, for example, were significantly better. In fact, I have found that the food and service have downgraded from "Outstanding" to "Very Good" over the past three years or so. However, the prices remain among the highest in town.

The menus are paper and should be replaced as soon as a single grease spot or piece of food stain them. Since the menus are the first thing customers touch at the table, a spotless and impeccable menu is critical for each guest so that they remember from "beverage to bill" why they are coming to 4Olives and not some place else in town for their business dinner or special occasion. The menus at our table were wrinkled, worn, and stained. Unfortunate.

The servers at Harry's and Della Voce do a more professional and expedient job when it comes to the fine dining experience. This was not always the case. Clearly, they are maintaining a high level of expectation and sophistication. Mainly, it is because these other establishments want to compete with 4Olives!

4Olives should only offer complex and unusual cocktails if they are able to make them. Our drinks were delivered after a long period of time because the server had to make them herself. Kudos to her for pulling something off, but it certainly wasn't the drink being advertised on the cocktail menu or the one for which we paid. One of the hallmarks of 4Olives is the beautiful cocktail bar and it must live up to that reputation with an expert bartender that makes drinks (instead of talks so loudly that it is difficult to hold a conversation at your own table). Again, I feel for the waitress having to manage the drinks when the bartender was, in her words, "too busy."

The amuse bouche was run of the mill. As a combination, spinach and hummus generally fall flat unless there is a touch of citrus and sea salt to set it off on the palate.

Good job, though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Would be nice if had some tables with a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Would be nice if had some tables with a more intimate setting/private. You kind of feel like you are out in the middle of everything/everybody. The food, wine, experience was just so neat, though--quieter setting would have made it perfect.

Nice location!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great dinner here. The olive an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a great dinner here. The olive and goat cheese bruschetta was excellent. As was the scallops. Its a little pricey but it was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Overpriced. Loud, obnoxious bar custom ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overpriced. Loud, obnoxious bar customers help the ambiance any. Great wine list, good bar, food is ok but overpriced.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Best steak and seafood we have ever had. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best steak and seafood we have ever had. Wine list and craft cocktails are beyond compare. Consistently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried a few wonderful glasses of wine. T ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Tried a few wonderful glasses of wine. Thank you Kenton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasant dinner with a toddler

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We chose 4 Olives for dinner at my daughters request. The owners support the work of the USO, so we wanted to support them in kind. The food was perfectly prepared. The winelist was fantastic, including some of our favorite from Washington state. But the best part, was the waitstaff, who let us set the tempo of the evening, an essential when having dinner with a toddler. PS... even the chicken strips were yummy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The service was outstanding and they have a large selection of wines and an impressive bar. The food is eclectic and very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kevin did a great job he even made me on ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Kevin did a great job he even made me one of his featured cocktails made my birthday special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. They also ha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. They also have one of the best wine and spirit selections I have ever seen. I had the steak salad, the beef tips melt in your mouth. Their house made tonic was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a salad and added salmon, it was j ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I had a salad and added salmon, it was just what I was looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Best in Manhattan

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent as always. By far the best restaurant and bar in Manhattan. Great craft cocktails and best wine list in the Midwest. Scott Benjamin's delicious, unique and imaginative menu items and specials never disappoint and Rachel's desserts are always provide a wonderful end to a great meal. The suggested wine pairings with the meal are always spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was outstanding as was their servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Good was outstanding as was their service.. Delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but not over the moon...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great wine list but over priced... Felt the food was reasonably priced but below par when compared to restaurants outside of Kansas. If your into fine dinning you won't be doing cartwheels over this place but you could impress a less discerning date...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Spanish Wine Dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was excellent. The explanation of all the different wines was helpful. A very enjoyable evening. Kudos to the staff. I made the reservation for 6 pm and was not made aware that this dinner did not start until 7 pm. When they were realized this, they allowed us to go to the Speak Easy for a before dinner drink. That absolutely took all frustration away. Thanks so much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Night Out

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Table was small even for just two people. Service was good and selection was nice. Food was good but not great. Pricing was on the high side for Manhattan, Kansas we thought. Overall we had a decent time, but didn't think it was worth a $100. Might go back but would probably go other places in town before returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A real gem for a town like Manhattan: el ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

A real gem for a town like Manhattan: elegant food and varied extensive menu from small to entrée plates and what a wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Well I had never been there and the wife had been once before for a ladies event. The atmosphere was nice, would like booths, but the food was great. The server and service was very good. Wine selection varied from $38 - more than $1000 per bottle. Don't waste time with by the glass or half bottle if you are having two glasses. Food was very visually appealing and as tasty. The salads are fantastic. Recommend it, expect if you order wine that a couple will be about 160.00 for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.