About 4 Olives Restaurant

121 South 4th Street
Manhattan, KS 66502
View Larger Map

Opened in July of 2004 with such culinary specialties as: fresh fish, wild game, local ingredients, and artesian cheeses. The ambiance of the restaurant can be described as upscale contemporary, the dining room itself surrounds a large glass wine cave. The featured style of cuisine is a Contemporary Mediterranean-American menu with Pacific influences, emphasized by extremely fresh, made-to-order items. Every item is made in house. Our desserts are prepared by our talented pastry chef, and Scott's wife, Rachel Benjamin. The bar menu consists of well-crafted, classic cocktails using fresh juices and premium spirits. With over 400 fine spirits, 60 beers, and 700 wines which are kept in our temperature controlled, glass wine cave, 70 of which are also served by the glass

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Open Everday 4pm to 11pm


Cross Street:
4th and Houston

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 539-1295

Website:
http://www.4olives.biz/

Executive Chef:
Scott Benjamin

Private Party Facilities:
We now offer private dining rooms for parties up to 45 persons

Private Party Contact:
Jack Melton: 785-539-1295x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Reservations of 8 or larger, please contact Jack Melton or Scott Benjamin at 785-539-1295. Thank you!

Restaurant Photos

Bruschetta
Amuse Bouche
Wheat Shocktail
Peach Bread Pudding
Red Wine Braised Lamb Shank On Couscous
Mixed Green Salad With Balsamic Dressing, Gorgonzollla, Strawberries And Spiced Candied Pecans
Bruschetta Trio
Port
Chicken Kalamata
Bacon Wrapped Dates
Mac and Cheese
Filet Mignon

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Thu - Sat 9:00PM - 11:00PM

4 Olives Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
1 More
Most Booked
Manhattan, KS
Best Restaurants in Manhattan ›

notable wine list (40)
special occasion (37)
fit for foodies (34)
See All
romantic (23)
good for groups (17)
neighborhood gem (13)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, great presentation and o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, great presentation and obvious attention to detail.

Anna is a superb waitress, friendly, engaging, knowledgeable about all aspects of menu items and drink selections

Dinners are in line with what one would expect with fine dining and an overall excellence experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always 4 Olives was amazing. It's my ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always 4 Olives was amazing. It's my wife's favorite date night spot and I was able to pull off a surprise date night for her to celebrate a very special occasion. The staff is friendly and the food is AMAZING!!!! The wine list is huge and the menu has a wine fit for each dish. They offer complete meal specials depending on the day or you can order off the menu. Perfect for a romantic evening or grown up friends gathering.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten at 4 Olives and have never ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have eaten at 4 Olives and have never been disappointed. The menu is amazing and the wine list superb. The wait staff is professional and friendly. We love 4 Olives!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great! It was a l ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food and service were great! It was a little loud in the dining area.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food but long delay in meal pr ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food but long delay in meal preparation and a bit over priced

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

4Olives is always good, but I think they ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

4Olives is always good, but I think they are starting to take Manhattan, KS for granted. There was a time when the food and service, for example, were significantly better. In fact, I have found that the food and service have downgraded from "Outstanding" to "Very Good" over the past three years or so. However, the prices remain among the highest in town.

The menus are paper and should be replaced as soon as a single grease spot or piece of food stain them. Since the menus are the first thing customers touch at the table, a spotless and impeccable menu is critical for each guest so that they remember from "beverage to bill" why they are coming to 4Olives and not some place else in town for their business dinner or special occasion. The menus at our table were wrinkled, worn, and stained. Unfortunate.

The servers at Harry's and Della Voce do a more professional and expedient job when it comes to the fine dining experience. This was not always the case. Clearly, they are maintaining a high level of expectation and sophistication. Mainly, it is because these other establishments want to compete with 4Olives!

4Olives should only offer complex and unusual cocktails if they are able to make them. Our drinks were delivered after a long period of time because the server had to make them herself. Kudos to her for pulling something off, but it certainly wasn't the drink being advertised on the cocktail menu or the one for which we paid. One of the hallmarks of 4Olives is the beautiful cocktail bar and it must live up to that reputation with an expert bartender that makes drinks (instead of talks so loudly that it is difficult to hold a conversation at your own table). Again, I feel for the waitress having to manage the drinks when the bartender was, in her words, "too busy."

The amuse bouche was run of the mill. As a combination, spinach and hummus generally fall flat unless there is a touch of citrus and sea salt to set it off on the palate.

Good job, though!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Would be nice if had some tables with a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Would be nice if had some tables with a more intimate setting/private. You kind of feel like you are out in the middle of everything/everybody. The food, wine, experience was just so neat, though--quieter setting would have made it perfect.

Nice location!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a great dinner here. The olive an ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a great dinner here. The olive and goat cheese bruschetta was excellent. As was the scallops. Its a little pricey but it was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Overpriced. Loud, obnoxious bar custom ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overpriced. Loud, obnoxious bar customers help the ambiance any. Great wine list, good bar, food is ok but overpriced.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Best steak and seafood we have ever had. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best steak and seafood we have ever had. Wine list and craft cocktails are beyond compare. Consistently excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tried a few wonderful glasses of wine. T ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Tried a few wonderful glasses of wine. Thank you Kenton!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pleasant dinner with a toddler

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We chose 4 Olives for dinner at my daughters request. The owners support the work of the USO, so we wanted to support them in kind. The food was perfectly prepared. The winelist was fantastic, including some of our favorite from Washington state. But the best part, was the waitstaff, who let us set the tempo of the evening, an essential when having dinner with a toddler. PS... even the chicken strips were yummy.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The service was outstanding and they have a large selection of wines and an impressive bar. The food is eclectic and very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kevin did a great job he even made me on ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Kevin did a great job he even made me one of his featured cocktails made my birthday special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. They also ha ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. They also have one of the best wine and spirit selections I have ever seen. I had the steak salad, the beef tips melt in your mouth. Their house made tonic was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a salad and added salmon, it was j ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I had a salad and added salmon, it was just what I was looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Best in Manhattan

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent as always. By far the best restaurant and bar in Manhattan. Great craft cocktails and best wine list in the Midwest. Scott Benjamin's delicious, unique and imaginative menu items and specials never disappoint and Rachel's desserts are always provide a wonderful end to a great meal. The suggested wine pairings with the meal are always spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good was outstanding as was their servic ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Good was outstanding as was their service.. Delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but not over the moon...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great wine list but over priced... Felt the food was reasonably priced but below par when compared to restaurants outside of Kansas. If your into fine dinning you won't be doing cartwheels over this place but you could impress a less discerning date...

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Spanish Wine Dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was excellent. The explanation of all the different wines was helpful. A very enjoyable evening. Kudos to the staff. I made the reservation for 6 pm and was not made aware that this dinner did not start until 7 pm. When they were realized this, they allowed us to go to the Speak Easy for a before dinner drink. That absolutely took all frustration away. Thanks so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Night Out

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Table was small even for just two people. Service was good and selection was nice. Food was good but not great. Pricing was on the high side for Manhattan, Kansas we thought. Overall we had a decent time, but didn't think it was worth a $100. Might go back but would probably go other places in town before returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

A real gem for a town like Manhattan: el ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

A real gem for a town like Manhattan: elegant food and varied extensive menu from small to entrée plates and what a wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Well I had never been there and the wife had been once before for a ladies event. The atmosphere was nice, would like booths, but the food was great. The server and service was very good. Wine selection varied from $38 - more than $1000 per bottle. Don't waste time with by the glass or half bottle if you are having two glasses. Food was very visually appealing and as tasty. The salads are fantastic. Recommend it, expect if you order wine that a couple will be about 160.00 for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good meal

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I wanted to have the lamb shank, but the restaurant was out of lamb. I had the seared tenderloin tips instead. It was well prepared. Had an enjoyable time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wine list is world class. Anna was o ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The wine list is world class. Anna was our server and did an exceptional job. 4 olives is first class.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely delicious! The waitr ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious! The waitress was very knowledgeable about the wines and the menu. Very attentive and nice, romantic atmosphere. I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Evening

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was great. We had such a wonderful time. Probably some of the best raw oysters on half shell we have ever had. So fresh. The sauces they served with them were a great compliment to the fish. So very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never lets me down.

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Never lets me down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The Phillips Review

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent and server made the experience special. I had scallops and Sally had Lobster. The 40 salad and blue cheese pre-dinner items were excellent and appealing. We had some wine and it was excellent. I do wish ownership would consider filling the wine glass a little more since the glass is so large. Don't mean to sound bad but wine by the glass should be filled at a higher level. Entrees were excellent as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Restaurant in town

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Always great food and service. Our favorite. Best steaks and I love their duck. My wife loves their lobster when it is on specialty menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful food, great service

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Our evening at 4 Olives was wonderful, the wine list is very extensive, creative bartender, and helpful staff. The only drawback, if it is that, is that there was no salt and pepper on the table, and we had to ask for cracked pepper...not a big deal. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered 8 items off menu and they're all superb

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Amazing food. Great wine selection. Easy parking. Everything we ordered tasted super good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The entrees were perfect

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

I came in on Tuesday with my girlfriend and I ordered the lobster ravioli and she ordered the beef tenderloin tips. Although my lobster ravioli was perfect, I enjoined my girlfriends meal a lot more. The risotto was a perfect consistency with a rich smokey flavor and the beef tips were seared on both sides and left medium rare. The tips consistency was that of butter. They were so tinder that your teeth melted through it and you were greeted with loads of delicious flavor. I will be coming back very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heaven

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Food was great. Dessert was so good I could've finished my last bite and died without regret. Creme brulee and berries with cream...yum but the menu was a little weird amd hard to choose from. Although I love the oysters, wish they weren't so expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great Post New Year's Dinner Gathering!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We made reservations on a Saturday evening to get together with family and friends after a game. We have been at Four Olives previously so went there knowing that our experience should be great and it was. Our table was ready at the appointed time and the wait staff got us off to a good start upon us getting seated. We brought our own wine and they decanted it and served it in quality wine glasses for only a $12 corkage fee. We had a number of entrees including the salmon, lamb shanks, beef tips and various salads and desserts. Presentation and flavors were good and food was at proper temperature. I had the wild mushroom salad for the first time and was excellent. The wait staff was attentive, but not intrusive and the food courses were delivered timely. This is a great upscale, local restaurant that has not failed us any of the times we have dined there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, #1 fine dining in the Little Apple

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Simply great and comparable with many of my favorites in D.C. And Nashville. Locally higher end but I think you get what you pay for. Classy and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant for the area

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Good food and good service. Nice selection of food and drinks. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A pleasure, as always

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We eat at 4 Olives several times a year on special occasions. It's always a pleasure. It's decorated in a modern style, a nice place for a date. They have a lovely bar with an extensive cocktail list, as well as small plates. There's a prominent glass wall showcasing their large wine selection in the climate-controlled vault. They also do a very enjoyable nightly prix fixe menu. A vegetarian menu available on request. We've always been happy with the service.

One addition I'd like them to make to the regular menu would be a few lighter dinner options, ones that aren't quite so rich.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The cocktails are world class.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

The cocktails are world class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love 4 Olives

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

I try to have dinner here when I come to town and just had another wonderful dinner. Wine pairing listed on the menu is always excellent. Relaxing atmosphere. True Manhattan gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.