About 4 Olives Restaurant

121 South 4th Street
Manhattan, KS 66502
View Larger Map

Opened in July of 2004 with such culinary specialties as: fresh fish, wild game, local ingredients, and artesian cheeses. The ambiance of the restaurant can be described as upscale contemporary, the dining room itself surrounds a large glass wine cave. The featured style of cuisine is a Contemporary Mediterranean-American menu with Pacific influences, emphasized by extremely fresh, made-to-order items. Every item is made in house. Our desserts are prepared by our talented pastry chef, and Scott's wife, Rachel Benjamin. The bar menu consists of well-crafted, classic cocktails using fresh juices and premium spirits. With over 400 fine spirits, 60 beers, and 700 wines which are kept in our temperature controlled, glass wine cave, 70 of which are also served by the glass

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Open Everday 4pm to 11pm


Cross Street:
4th and Houston

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(785) 539-1295

Website:
http://www.4olives.biz/

Executive Chef:
Scott Benjamin

Private Party Facilities:
We now offer private dining rooms for parties up to 45 persons

Private Party Contact:
Jack Melton: 785-539-1295x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Reservations of 8 or larger, please contact Jack Melton or Scott Benjamin at 785-539-1295. Thank you!

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Thu - Sat 9:00PM - 11:00PM

4 Olives Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Kansas City
Best Food
Kansas City
Best Service
Kansas City
6 More
Best Ambiance
Kansas City
Fit for Foodies
Kansas City
Hot Spot
Kansas City
Notable Wine List
Kansas City
Contemporary American
Kansas City
Most Booked
Manhattan, KS
Best Restaurants in Manhattan ›

notable wine list (40)
fit for foodies (39)
special occasion (37)
See All
romantic (25)
neighborhood gem (18)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Manhattan

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as always. By far the best restaurant and bar in Manhattan. Great craft cocktails and best wine list in the Midwest. Scott Benjamin's delicious, unique and imaginative menu items and specials never disappoint and Rachel's desserts are always provide a wonderful end to a great meal. The suggested wine pairings with the meal are always spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good was outstanding as was their servic ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Good was outstanding as was their service.. Delightful evening!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good but not over the moon...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great wine list but over priced... Felt the food was reasonably priced but below par when compared to restaurants outside of Kansas. If your into fine dinning you won't be doing cartwheels over this place but you could impress a less discerning date...

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spanish Wine Dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was excellent. The explanation of all the different wines was helpful. A very enjoyable evening. Kudos to the staff. I made the reservation for 6 pm and was not made aware that this dinner did not start until 7 pm. When they were realized this, they allowed us to go to the Speak Easy for a before dinner drink. That absolutely took all frustration away. Thanks so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Anniversary Night Out

Dined on April 29, 2016

Table was small even for just two people. Service was good and selection was nice. Food was good but not great. Pricing was on the high side for Manhattan, Kansas we thought. Overall we had a decent time, but didn't think it was worth a $100. Might go back but would probably go other places in town before returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real gem for a town like Manhattan: el ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

A real gem for a town like Manhattan: elegant food and varied extensive menu from small to entrée plates and what a wine selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Sunday Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 17, 2016

Well I had never been there and the wife had been once before for a ladies event. The atmosphere was nice, would like booths, but the food was great. The server and service was very good. Wine selection varied from $38 - more than $1000 per bottle. Don't waste time with by the glass or half bottle if you are having two glasses. Food was very visually appealing and as tasty. The salads are fantastic. Recommend it, expect if you order wine that a couple will be about 160.00 for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good meal

Dined on April 10, 2016

I wanted to have the lamb shank, but the restaurant was out of lamb. I had the seared tenderloin tips instead. It was well prepared. Had an enjoyable time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine list is world class. Anna was o ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The wine list is world class. Anna was our server and did an exceptional job. 4 olives is first class.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was absolutely delicious! The waitr ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious! The waitress was very knowledgeable about the wines and the menu. Very attentive and nice, romantic atmosphere. I would definitely go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Evening

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was great. We had such a wonderful time. Probably some of the best raw oysters on half shell we have ever had. So fresh. The sauces they served with them were a great compliment to the fish. So very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Never lets me down.

Dined on February 17, 2016

Never lets me down.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Phillips Review

Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was excellent and server made the experience special. I had scallops and Sally had Lobster. The 40 salad and blue cheese pre-dinner items were excellent and appealing. We had some wine and it was excellent. I do wish ownership would consider filling the wine glass a little more since the glass is so large. Don't mean to sound bad but wine by the glass should be filled at a higher level. Entrees were excellent as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in town

Dined on February 12, 2016

Always great food and service. Our favorite. Best steaks and I love their duck. My wife loves their lobster when it is on specialty menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

wonderful food, great service

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Our evening at 4 Olives was wonderful, the wine list is very extensive, creative bartender, and helpful staff. The only drawback, if it is that, is that there was no salt and pepper on the table, and we had to ask for cracked pepper...not a big deal. Overall, a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered 8 items off menu and they're all superb

Dined on January 24, 2016

Amazing food. Great wine selection. Easy parking. Everything we ordered tasted super good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entrees were perfect

Dined on January 12, 2016

I came in on Tuesday with my girlfriend and I ordered the lobster ravioli and she ordered the beef tenderloin tips. Although my lobster ravioli was perfect, I enjoined my girlfriends meal a lot more. The risotto was a perfect consistency with a rich smokey flavor and the beef tips were seared on both sides and left medium rare. The tips consistency was that of butter. They were so tinder that your teeth melted through it and you were greeted with loads of delicious flavor. I will be coming back very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Heaven

Dined on January 6, 2016

Food was great. Dessert was so good I could've finished my last bite and died without regret. Creme brulee and berries with cream...yum but the menu was a little weird amd hard to choose from. Although I love the oysters, wish they weren't so expensive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Post New Year's Dinner Gathering!

Dined on January 3, 2016

We made reservations on a Saturday evening to get together with family and friends after a game. We have been at Four Olives previously so went there knowing that our experience should be great and it was. Our table was ready at the appointed time and the wait staff got us off to a good start upon us getting seated. We brought our own wine and they decanted it and served it in quality wine glasses for only a $12 corkage fee. We had a number of entrees including the salmon, lamb shanks, beef tips and various salads and desserts. Presentation and flavors were good and food was at proper temperature. I had the wild mushroom salad for the first time and was excellent. The wait staff was attentive, but not intrusive and the food courses were delivered timely. This is a great upscale, local restaurant that has not failed us any of the times we have dined there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall, #1 fine dining in the Little Apple

Dined on January 2, 2016

Simply great and comparable with many of my favorites in D.C. And Nashville. Locally higher end but I think you get what you pay for. Classy and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice restaurant for the area

Dined on January 1, 2016

Good food and good service. Nice selection of food and drinks. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A pleasure, as always

Dined on December 27, 2015

We eat at 4 Olives several times a year on special occasions. It's always a pleasure. It's decorated in a modern style, a nice place for a date. They have a lovely bar with an extensive cocktail list, as well as small plates. There's a prominent glass wall showcasing their large wine selection in the climate-controlled vault. They also do a very enjoyable nightly prix fixe menu. A vegetarian menu available on request. We've always been happy with the service. One addition I'd like them to make to the regular menu would be a few lighter dinner options, ones that aren't quite so rich.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The cocktails are world class.

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

The cocktails are world class.

food5
ambience5
service4

love 4 Olives

Dined on November 28, 2015

I try to have dinner here when I come to town and just had another wonderful dinner. Wine pairing listed on the menu is always excellent. Relaxing atmosphere. True Manhattan gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Thanksgiving Dinner

Dined on November 26, 2015

We had a group of 15 people for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a set dinner with several courses brought out to us. The turkey and gravy was moist and delicious! We were in a separate room which was nice for our family. It was pricey ($48) for adults but it was a holiday.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Thanksgiving meal could've been much better.

Dined on November 26, 2015

Our first experience at 4-Olives was fair, due to food temperature, price, and lack of desert options. We honestly were expecting a nice hot meal, dinner rolls (not just one) and pumpkin or pecan pie as desert (traditional), rather than pumpkin pudding bread. The food temperature was mediocre at best, but the butternut squash soup was outstanding. Considering we were a select few people eating early afternoon, the temperature of the food should have been hot. We were shockingly surprised. The wine list was excellent and possibly the only reason we'd go back.........to meet with friends and enjoy conversation. I probably would stand neutral on recommending 4-Olives because of the lack of food options and price(being $48 per plate for Thanksgiving Dinner, plus 2-glasses of wine, the bill with 20% tip came to roughly $145). Our waiter was very attentive that evening, explained things very well and had a great attitude.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

A Little Off

Dined on November 22, 2015

We almost always enjoy the 4 Olives when we come to Manhattan. All was pretty much as we expect. Good entrees, wine and dessert. I ordered the KC strip special, and it was a poor cut of meat. For the price, I was expecting much better. The service was very good.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

Great food, bad service

Dined on November 15, 2015

The food was great, but our server was not attentive. I expect more from one of the nicest restaurants in Manhattan.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on November 14, 2015

We arrived on time and were promptly seated. The waiter informed us that our daughter had arranged for a our favorite wine prepaid. It was a very pleasant surprise. However, when asking to order the Prix Fix dinner, we were informed that part of the dinner was not available until Scott arrived from Kansas City with some of the items being offered. We were perplexed that first we were given the Prix Fix menu and then were told that we could not order it. There was no time estimation for it at all. So, we ordered from the menu. Food arrived in a reasonable amount of time but the lamb shank were disappointing at best. I ordered the Salmon and it was prepared fine. Desert was fine as well. Wait staff was good and we were offered another wine choice as well. Overall, we have been to 4-Olives on many occasions and we very pleased. However, this visit was disappointing compared to all the previous visits we have had at this restaurant. This was our 39th Anniversary and a special day for us that left us a let down.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, Probably won't return

Dined on October 31, 2015

We had reservations for the afternoon of 11/31/2015. This was our first time here. After being seated we learned no lamb items on the menu were available. After ordering a starter our waitress returned to let us know they were also out of pork belly so that was a no go as well. We have no complaints on our waitress at all, the food was excellent but we have two issues. The first being a restaurant of this caliber having at least two menu items unavailable and the second being we were charged for the starter that was unavailable. Unfortunately I did not look the bill over closely and didn't realize this until we had returned to Topeka. While we like the restaurant and the food it is doubtful we will return because of the overall experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

We invited friends to go to supper with ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

We invited friends to go to supper with us. We had a very enjoyable evening. Food was wonderful. Wine was great. Lovely evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

GREAT SPOT IN THE LITTLE APPLE

Dined on October 28, 2015

We celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary here and it was wonderful. Our server Erin was very polished and professional. We had the duck and the halibut which were featured on the night we dined there and were definitely not disappointed. I would absolutely drive the 45 minutes to have a meal here anyday!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

I love the new location in Downtown Manh ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

I love the new location in Downtown Manhattan. 4 Olives is high up on our "special occasion restaurant" list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

A few improvements are needed

Dined on October 18, 2015

Our server was pleasant and knowledgeable about the full menu. We ordered the prix fixe special. It took 45 minutes before our first course was served after we places our order and then another 30 minutes, at least, before our entree arrived. Fortunately my daughtwr and I had a lot to catch up on, so we passed the time with some great conversation. My daughter and I both ordered the NY Strip Steak and the first bites were amazing, but then we soon discovered the temperature was not what we ordered and had to send them back. The kitchen sent out new entrees which took another 30 minutes. This time the temperature was perfect. The risotto that accompanied the entree was also delicious. My disappointment with this visit (my second) to threefold: 1) the amount of time it took for the food to come out was entiely too long (I've dined at some of the finest restaurants in the country, so I have several solid comparators); 2) the bartender was making a cocktail that required him to pound ice with such force that the floor vibrated and it was quite noisy - this was very annoying after the first couple of instances (we were seated in a small dining room adjacent to the bar), and 3) since our meal took so long to come out coupled with the fact that we had to send the entree back (our server apologized for the slowness of the kitchen by saying they had a full house and that the person cooking the steaks was relatively new), I expected the server would have taken the cost of our cocktails (we only ordered one round) or our dessert (which we could not eat because it was late and we were full) off our check. Our check, before gratuity, was $147. I provided a gratuity of 16%; it would have been 20% but for the aforementioned disappointments. There is definitely room for improvement, especially at the price point of the menu. I would go back again to see if that night was an anomoly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

4 Olives is simply the BEST restaurant I ...

Dined on October 9, 2015

4 Olives is simply the BEST restaurant I've been to in KS. Everything in there is just so great! Foods/desserts are very delicious, Wine is too good, Cozy romantic place, quiet and very clean and most of all the waitresses are too kind and nothing beats the quality service you get while on a date with your lovely S/O :) I would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely be going back again :D

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved it!

Dined on October 3, 2015

It was our first time eating at the 4 Olives and it was a very pleasant surprise. Their cocktail and wine list was impressive and had some unique offerings. My 7 year old daughter loved their Texas Sunrise and it made her feel grown-up to be having a mock-tail with us. The food was delicious and beautifully presented and we're looking forward to going back and trying more of their offerings. Great dessert options - we had the chocolate torte and the sorbet sampler and they were wonderful together. My only complaint was that it was so chilly that we had to keep our coats on most of the time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

The meal was delicious and pricey

Dined on September 27, 2015

Worth it for the food on a special occasion, but i was disappointed with the tiny table set up against the glass wall (between the restaurant and the extensive wine collection) at which we were seated for our reservation. For this type of occasion restaurant, I would like a more comfortable chair and a bit more coziness.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

We are from NC and our daughter goes to ...

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

We are from NC and our daughter goes to KSU. This restaurant is a must for us , every time we are in town !

food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant. Food is spot on ...

Dined on September 12, 2015

I love this restaurant. Food is spot on every time

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Menu

Dined on August 28, 2015

They need to be certain they have the items to complete the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.