Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - 4 Olives Restaurant

4.4
651 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Opened in July of 2004 with such culinary specialties as: fresh fish, wild game, local ingredients, and artesian cheeses. The ambiance of the restaurant can be described as upscale contemporary, the dining room itself surrounds a large glass wine cave. The featured style of cuisine is a Contemporary Mediterranean-American menu with Pacific influences, emphasized by extremely fresh, made-to-order items. Every item is made in house. Our desserts are prepared by our talented pastry chef, and Scott's wife, Rachel Benjamin. The bar menu consists of well-crafted, classic cocktails using fresh juices and premium spirits. With over 400 fine spirits, 60 beers, and 700 wines which are kept in our temperature controlled, glass wine cave, 70 of which are also served by the glass
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Everday 4pm to 11pm


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(785) 539-1295
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Scott Benjamin
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
4th and Houston
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
For Reservations of 8 or larger, please contact Scott Benjamin at 785-539-1295. Thank you!
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 651 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 6, 2017

An absolute gift to Manhattan. This restaurant will be missed. The food, cocktails, wine, and service was exceptional. Truly a treat to dine here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2017

The Rhone wine dinner was excellent. Outstanding wines that you do not ordinarily see on restaurant wine lists. The food pairings were delicious and spot on with the wines. Wonderful dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 18, 2017

My server need more training. And this is personally coming from a server who has been trained CORRECTLY in the restaurant industry .. My boyfriend spent $40 on a half bottle of wine to find that there were copious amounts of corkage in my boyfriends glass/in the whole bottle, Meanwhile our waitress didn't even notice. Also I thought this was very unprofessional, but I am not of age to drink and I did not request a wine glass or anything. My boyfriend placed his wine glass in front of our waitress while she was opening the bottle. I kept my wine glass near the wall because I wasn't drinking, she poured my boyfriends glass and then reached over to pour mine (She did not ID me or even ask if I was drinking????). I was just overall disappointed. If you have 1000 different kinds of wines, at least train your servers to properly open a bottle of wine without blowing out the cork! If we ever want to have a romantic dinner at a nice restaurant our services will be at Harry's. The servers there have been thoughtfully trained. I am so disappointed this was our first try at 4 olives!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2017

I now hate 4 Olives. We made reservations for 7, and we were seated promptly, I will give them that. However, by 7:20, we still hadn't ordered or even received water. After waving down a waitress, she apologized, filled our water glasses and we didn't see her again until 7:30. At that point we ordered (the prix fixe menu that we were not warned about that cost $87/person) and we just wanted our food. This dinner was set up in 4 courses: the amuse-bouche, appetizer, entree, and dessert. We never saw the amuse-bouche, and were instead given our appetizer at 8. We decided to accept it because we were desperate for any kind of food. This course was actually pretty tasty. However, we waited an additional half hour for our entree at 8:30. This food was AWFUL. I cannot express to you how badly this tasted. I watched nearly every couple around me react in the same way, many dishes being sent back. Even the potatoes my filet mignon was served with was horrific. The powdery, dry mash they handed me was indigestible. My husband had the salmon, and I had no idea that salmon could taste so frozen. It was like eating the packaging the salmon came in. The dessert came (after 9) and what I thought would be the only really good aspect to this meal because of 4 Cakes, made me pause and consider my existence. I don't know how a chocolate cake could taste so bad. I cannot fathom what was going through their minds when they were producing such a thing that he EPA would not allow to simply be thrown out. My husband's lemon blackberry ice box (?) dessert was so sour, it seemed they ran out of sugar and just thought we wouldn't notice. At the end of this entire fiasco (*cough* hostage situation *cough*) we simply could not wait to get out of this restaurant that we had been kept in for over two and a half hours. I'll repeat TWO AND A HALF HOURS. I believe my words leaving the restaurant sum it up best: "Honey, my dying words will be I love you followed shortly by never eat at 4 Olives."

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 14, 2017

On Valentine's Day there was a prix fixe menu (which was not communicated by the restaurant at all), which was my first red flag. Next, it took us over an hour and a half to get our food. Our waitress didn't even come to our table to check on us until we were an hour in. Our appetizer was okay, but since we waited an hour and 45 minutes for it I was expecting something more. For dinner we ordered the filet mignon and while mine was cooked to perfection, my date's was medium well when they asked for medium rare. Not to mention, both dishes were so salty we could not even finish them. Our desert was average at best. So for the fact that it was a prix fixe and you could only get a table via reservations, there was no excuse for us to have spent almost three hours at this restaurant. And then to make us wait all that time and have the food be average at best (at $78/plate no less) was unacceptable. Followed by the fact that the manager was in the kitchen the entire night and was not on the floor trying to make the patrons/hostages less angry (because I assure you, everyone in the restaurant that night was angry). All in all, this was the worst dining experience of my life. I would have up and left, but where else was I going to go on Valentine's Day without a reservation?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and a perfect atmosphere for a GREAT Valentine's dinner. Very nice wait staff and only reason that I gave the service a 4 star rating instead of 5 is because there was a slight mixup where our appetizers were not made at the proper time and so we were given our entrees first. Our server was very apologetic and nice about the issue, so neither of us really cared. Would DEFINITELY recommend to a friend for their next big date!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Okay, so first, I made reservations for the Valentine's Day Special. When I made the reservation it indicated I had until 2/12/17 to cancel. I tried to cancel around the 6th or 7th and was then advised there was a $25.00/per person cancellation fee. This was not advised at the time of making the reservation. Of course, I kept the reservation. We arrived a few minutes before and were seated. It seemed apparent they added a few table more and the location of the extra tables was right in front of the wait station with a view of the hall tot he bathroom. Neither appetizing nor quiet. The wait staff was busy, but our waiter took over 10 minutes to even come to our table. After that it was another 10 minutes before we received our complimentary champagne. We each received a glass less than half full. The waiter took our order at this time. I also ordered a separate cocktail. Another 15 minutes later we finally received our other drinks (martini and a beer) and another 10 minutes later our appetizers. After those dishes were cleared it was over 30 minutes before we were given dinner. This was a preset menu, so this should never have taken this much time to get food out. I will say the food was good, but not worth the $20.00/pp for appetizers; $40.00/pp for entree and $10.00/pp for dessert. Overall it was a 2 hour ordeal and cost us 200. I've eaten at this restaurant before and though they are pricey this was absolutely ridiculous. I was EXTREMELY disappointed in the whole affair...so much so that I would not ever recommend coming here for a special "pre-fix" engagement and it has left a bad taste in my mouth as to coming there at any other time. My husband will never come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Went here for Valentine's day. The food was great but the service was slow. The kitchen seemed to be backed up all night. Worth trying again on a slower night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Price for valentines dinner experience was TOO HIGH for this level of restaurant. We were seated by a hostess in tennis shoes. Table and chairs were metal grate in a room that was intended for outdoor use - which is the same as what I would have on my outdoor patio. Champagne was room temperature and we had to wait a while for it to cool in the ice bucket before consuming it. If you are going to charge that high of a price for this meal, you need to step it way up. I consider it pretty arrogant to think that you can compete with other restaurants in this price range and offer the experience that you did.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The menu and food were amazing! We absolutely loved the food and would have been happy to pay the price for the food had the service been better. There were not enough servers and they were not attentive at all. When we asked for something it would be much later that we received it, if we ever did. Amazing restaurant with top-notch food, but the service was definitely lacking. Much room for improvement when it comes to the level of service for the prices that we were charged.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Dinner was delicious. It just took forever to receive our food. We knew other diners in the restaurant and they noted the same thing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2017

We were a party of three. I had a beer, and the other two in my party had one mixed drink each. I had the salmon off the prixe fixe menu. The two women with me each had an entree only. Total tab was $150, and I left a $30 tip. One of my fellow diners had the filet mignon entree only with mashed potatoes, off the prixe fixe menu, and the other ordered a chicken entree off the main menu. The steak was slightly better than average--definitely not as good as the steaks I sear and cook on my grill. Same for the salmon and chicken: good, but really not good enough to justify the high price tag. The server was nice, but it took too long for her to show up and take our drink orders after we sat down. All in all, a nice experience, but the high price tag was not justified by the quality or uniqueness of the food. Will not likely be a repeat customer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent service by Anna. Nice conversation with owner Scott was appreciated. The tonic water made in house is great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

It was good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 2, 2017

We dinned on Thursday 2nd

The food was avg and priced way too high. I had the $38 pork chop that was 50% fatty and my wife had the chicken and it was so over cooked and the sauce was dry.

When i told the waitress about the Pock chop, her response was " some pigs are just fatter then others". No offer to make things better.

This was the 2nd time in a row we've had the same experience and won't be back.

So over priced and such fast food quality.

Brad H

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 1, 2017

Sever was excellent. Salad and bread mediocre. Sirloin tips perfect, but scarce for the price. Lamb was tender, needed more flavor, perhaps a mint sauce? Risotto was perfect. Dessert was bland. Meal was way overpriced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2017

The wife and I really enjoyed the evening with friends. Nice quiet place to have a great meal and to enjoy a cocktail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a pleasure to frequent 4 Olives. I normally get the Chicken and Palenta but this time I tried the special which was the seared Grouper and Risotto. One word "Phenomenal"!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2017

It was a great place. The food was mindblowing. A tad expensive no doubt but its worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2017

My wife & I took our CrossFit Benedictus coaches out for a Thank You Dinner on a Saturday evening. We were greeted and seated promptly and courteously. Our waitress was attentive without being intrusive---a balance many waitstaff personnel just don't have. Dinner and drinks and desserts were all superb quality. Excellent evening. (P. S. I like their new digs much better than when they were on the west side of town.)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 2, 2017

The restaurant was pretty empty when we arrived, but even so it seemed to take a long time to serve our drinks. Overall, their food and drinks were very good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our second "special occasion " dinner at 4Olives- this one New Years Eve. The cocktails are marvelous, and worth a visit in themselves. The service was excellent. The wine list is exceptionally strong. However the small samplings on the two pours on the Prix Fixe did not merit the $30 up-charge. I should have just ordered two nice glasses of wine.

Be prepared for very salty food preparation. If you eat a healthy diet that is naturally low in salt, you may find the salt levels at 4Olives too high. I had wondered if they brined my filet mignon with the olives? This may appeal to some, but not to my taste.

Lovely post-dinner coffee service was a high point.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic food. Very reasonably priced. We loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food and service! Everything was as advertised here, and we enjoyed our meal and the place very much. I would highly recommend 4 olives.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful as always. The Duroc pork chop and the ahi tuna are two of our favorites on the menu. The specials are very creative and are always delicious. Best food, drinks and wine in the region. Don't miss it when you are in Manhattan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 6, 2016

The duck was amazing. We also got the crème brûlée for dessert, which was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

We had excellent service and the food was amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 3, 2016

I took my girlfriend out to dinner at Four Olives and we were blown away. The wine flights are great and good to share. We got one of both white and red. The appetizers are light and cleanse your palate before the main courses. The menu is quite vast and the wine selection is incredible. If you are looking for a good intimate spot for a special occasion, date night or just want something other than Harry's four olives is the spot to go in Manhattan!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2016

I like the relaxed feel of this place – I definitely would return to try more of their dishes. They have an beer selection that is unique. Vast wine menu. The Filet Mignon was done right and the Crème Brulee is an must try. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2016

Our family had a wonderful Thanksgiving meal. Instead of cooking and doing dishes we all sat around the table and enjoyed conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a delightful meal and the service was great as always. We started with a cheese course that was terrific. We continued with steak tips and risotto, duck and the veal shank with Israeli couscous was just outstanding. We finished up with bread pudding, off the hook. The cocktails and wines were excellent. We even got a surprise visit from the K-State band , which was very cool. A delightful evening! Best restaurant in Manhattan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. We will definitely return next time we are in the Little Apple.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2016

KSU band and cheerleaders got us started with their fight song, blended in well with a fabulous cheese plate and wine. Everyones food was well prepared and hearty, the meats were very tatstee and prepared just right. Very large selection of wine and spirits, only short on porters and stouts.....but the coffee made up for everything along with house made toffee!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2016

Cuisine was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 16, 2016

The food and service was very good. We had a reservation for two and were seated at a very small little table with the sun shining in my companions face. It was very uncomfortable for him. If I had not had a reservation, I would have no complaint, but I did and when I complained about the table when we arrived, was informed that all the other tables had reservations. When we left two hours later there were still two larger tables empty! Probably will not return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2016

The cheese selection is very good. They have a nightly special that is always good. The wine selection is extensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2016

4 Olives is a special place in the heart of the country. Innovative food, great wine list and new food choices most every week.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2016

Four of us on a weeknight for my birthday. They were training a new waiter so we had lots of attention. Food is great. I had the pork chop, very well cooked and seasoned. Extensive wine list and full bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

I ordered one of the chef's special, the filet mignon, medium rare. Cooked perfectly, one of the better steaks I've ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful seafood and steak specials. Best wine list in the Midwest. Fantastic craft cocktails. A can't miss restaurant when in Manhattan.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
17