About 3rd Cousin

919 Cortland Ave
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Greg Lutes' new restaurant in Bernal Heights, San Francisco. New American- Californian cuisine creating a narrative with organic local produce, all natural meat and local seafood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday- Saturday- 5:30-10pm

Cross Street:
Gates

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 814-3709

Website:
http://3rdcousinsf.com/

Catering:
Private in home dinners.

Public Transit:
#24
#65

Executive Chef:
Greg Lutes

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners
Guest Chefs

Restaurant Photos

  • 3rd Cousin
  • 3rd Cousin
  • 3rd Cousin
3rd Cousin
3rd Cousin
3rd Cousin

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Hold your company dinner or private event at 3rd Cousin! From 10-40 guests we can customize your event just for you.

3rd Cousin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Californian
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Bernal Heights ›

fit for foodies (39)
neighborhood gem (38)
special occasion (23)
See All
romantic (18)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (8)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really like this restaurant. Always gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really like this restaurant. Always great. Had duck-perfectly prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is difficult: Food is outstanding, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is difficult:

Food is outstanding, absolutely no doubt, but:

The portions are scandalously small in many dishes;

The prices are more unbelievable than the portions;

The noise is so loud it cancels normal volume conversation as well as the music;

The service is odd, clumsy: one waitress for the whole room & servers she calls "...my team"...

And I admittedly have a personal ax to grind about the "character":

We KickStarted them back when they were a pop-up; long before the present brick-&-mortar;

Never heard from them about the "thank-you" we were promised;

Upon inquiring was told just to mention it when we next made a reservation;

Did that; not a word was said to us the entire time we were there, but

The chef/owner had time for the extremely loud table with the $89 per person tasting menu..

Time to admit we wasted $200.00 with KickStart...

I guess we're just Red Hill Station kind of people...check them out up the block...

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

The worst service I have had in a while. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The worst service I have had in a while. One waitress in the whole restaurant. She has no idea how to describe items on the menu. Food was not bad but very overpriced for the experience and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Bad service. Bad enough to make this an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Bad service. Bad enough to make this an unpleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The reservation through OT was easy and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The reservation through OT was easy and we were seated promptly on Tuesday at 6:15. Our waiter was knowledgable, attentive and not intrusive. We took his suggestions for wine (Anaba Pinot Noir 2013), foie gras appetizer, and entrees, duck and pappardelle. All were great, served on time at proper temperature. Noise level was low enough for conversation, essential for dinner with friends. We sat close to another table, a little too close. I felt exposed too in one big room. These are niggles. My friend and I rated the restaurant at the top of our list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I stumbled on 3rd Cousin las ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My wife and I stumbled on 3rd Cousin last night, and it's our new favorite restaurant! The staff was warm and welcoming. The interior design is Informal, but with some nice style—dark grey walls and beautiful lighting fixtures. It feels like somewhere we'd like to bring our friends. We had burrata with white peach, gnocchi with morels, squash/corn gratin and pork shoulder. That sounds like it might be heavy or too filling, but everything was portioned, prepared and presented beautifully. There are several other dishes on the menu that we're eager to try. We'll be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've had in the Ba ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in the Bay Area, particularly when value is considered. Incredible food at moderate (relatively) prices when compared with other top-notch restaurants. The service is not to the same standards of a stuffier type of place, but this is a neighborhood spot that is meant to be a fairly casual setting for extraordinary food, which I loved. Everyone was extremely nice and you couldn't find a better tasting menu + wine pairing price/value anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The space is nice. The food is very good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The space is nice. The food is very good. However, the noise level is quite loud. The staff are very personable and helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant - we were impressed ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic restaurant - we were impressed with every single dish we ordered. The duck was especially fantastic - not dry and, on the other end of the spectrum, not fatty (as duck is prone to be), it was a remarkable, perfect, juicy blend of flavors. Definitely check this place out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food overall was tasty, however the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food overall was tasty, however the salad was under dressed and in general each item is way over priced.-$42.00 for a black rice dish. !!??Our waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Superior

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Owner/chef stopped by our table, introduced himself, welcomed us back the next night. great place, great atmosphere, superior food

#bernal

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was great it was way over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

While the food was great it was way overpriced. A bowl of ramen for $44 is ridiculous. The restaurant is also incredibly noisy. My friend and I were practically shouting at each other across the table. The service was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

exceptional gem in bernal heights

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

worth driving across town for. but ... we live just down the street! every dish was beautiful and delicious - the new take on ramen? wow. the halibut? sublime. the fritters - light and fresh. the dessert - strawberries and cake and cream - worth waiting for. it's amazing how much great food they push out of their tiny, open kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious menu , so hard to decide. Ever ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Delicious menu , so hard to decide. Everything we ordered was seasoned well and very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food dominates a perfectly lovely evening

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a super-fun evening with foodie friends from Brooklyn. Everything we tried was excellent and several items were superb - hamachi, scallops, and the pasta, which was so light and yet intensely flavorful - as good as anything we've ever had in SF. Eager to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I'm almost apprehensive about writing this review, for fear of it becoming too popular. Because yes it was that good! The dishes were unique, delicious, and beautiful. I'm still thinking of the uni creme brûlée, it was sublime! The restaurant was gorgeous. The staff was knowledgeable without being pretentious. The chef came out and greeted each table, which I thought was really sweet. To top it off we found parking right in front of the restaurant. This was one of the best bday meals I've ever had!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sliver of Heaven

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I have read about this place in blogs and how amazing the food is but the reviews don't do this little neighborhood jem justice. I kind of don't want to share with the world how amazing it is so it's not one of those tables that are impossible to reserve. It was only a five minute uber drive from SOMA. It seems a little far but it's super close and worth the trek. This was my fifth foodie restaurant in row this past week and this one by far beat and blew all the other "foodie hot spots"out of the water. What we ordered:

-Hamachi crudo

-Pork Belly and Scallop

-Halibut

-Pappardelle half order with wild mushroom, smoked mozzarella and I added guanciale

-banana bread pudding with a caramelized banana fresh out of the over

My mouth is watering just thinking back to how fantastic this meal was. I think I might have to go again next week because they are known for the pork chop and I had had one the previous night at another spot. This is by far one of the best restaurants in SF and I have dined at most of them.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food!! Everything was deliciou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Fantastic food!! Everything was delicious. Wait staff attentive

Parking awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great neighborhood place.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great new neighborhood place. Really good food and wine with excellent service...some of the best service I've ever had! Also there is a tasting menu that would be fun to check out next time.

The scallops with pork belly and a special that was foie gras with a strawberry kind of pancake were awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Complex, Creative & Unique Food; great service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing find behind a modest facade in Bernal. A real chef who prepares amazing and memorable food. Service was prompt and attentive, wine list was robust and the wines we selected were delicious. Restaurant is rather noisy but the food and service so excelled that it wasn't a big deal. Highly recommended! Was a really memorable time and we will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning new place in Bernal

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The meal was exquisite. Uni custard with caviar and roe; braised rabbit with olives, squash, and cheese. Then dinner beef, pork, and duck dishes all of which were lovely. Will go soon again. Go before it's reviewed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome neighborhood gem!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Come check it out before it becomes popular and overrun. Food is delicious, presentation is great, service is friendly, and easy to find parking in the neighborhood.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very underwhelmed!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I was really looking forward to my dinner at 3rd Cousin ... that excitement diminished from the first bite of the brussel sprouts. They were way over seasoned. Then came the pork chop, which I actually had to send back, because it was so salty. The waitress, who couldn't have been nicer (we gave her a good tip!) brought my second entree — the grilled quinoa cake. It was okay, but the veggies that came with it --- again, way over seasoned: too my garlic! The wine list was pretty good, but a bit pricey as was everything on the menu especially regarding where they are located and their environment: super minimal. Maybe they were having an off night ... the hostess (who also way delightful) said it was a new menu. Everyone was super friendly, except the person who brought the food ... she had 'owner-energy' and wasn't very friendly. In fact, I felt judged for sending my pork back. Hopefully, I hit an off night. But, with so many great restaurants in SF ... this is definitely one I'll not try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Impressive

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

High quality ingredients and great and unique flavor combinations in a Bernal setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I wanted to love 3rd Cousin, because I'm ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

I wanted to love 3rd Cousin, because I'm always excited when a new restaurant opens in my neighborhood, but was disappointed. The food was fine, small portioned and quite expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

What a pleasant surprise!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We were blown away by the quality and creativity of the food at 3rd Cousin. I really haven't had anything that good since I ate at Saison (and of course this is much cheaper). We also found the staff to be incredibly helpful and friendly. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Close to great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Overall a very enjoyable experience. The ambiance is cozy without feeling crowded and an open kitchen is always a bonus; definitely feels like a neighborhood spot. The servers were all very nice but it felt a bit odd that we had so many different people serve and clear over the course of the night. The food was solid in terms of likability but could have been great (praise I don't give often) with just few little tweaks. My salad was good but could have stood more dressing (it was a bit dry). The papardelle pasta was delicious with a smokey sauce but there was too much sauce so when I finished it looked a bit like soup in the bowl. I also would have preferred a wider bowl or plate for the pasta as I found the dish required a fork & knife and the knife was awkward to place in such a narrow bowl. The chocolate tart and pot de creme were more three stars than four. Not bad, just not noteworthy desserts. I'd love to go back in six months and see how things have developed at this cute restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not as good as first visit

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The service was a bit off on our most recent visit: waitress wasn't familiar with the menu, couldn't answer questions, seemed rushed and a bit off. Didn't refill water or replace empty water bottle. Made us nervous when we were ordering. The food was mostly very good; the one surprising exception was the winter greens salad with blood orange. The lettuce was generic - would have been much better with some creative greens (I make a version with purple frilly kale that is nice), and with a more appropriate dressing. This one was flavorless; I've had this type of salad (but with more citrus - more blood orange per serving, plus a little pomelo) and with a nice tangy citrusy dressing (for example, I make one with mint olive oil, pomegranate juice, and a fruity white balsamic). Also, the communal table is a little awkward for couples. The dessert was excellent. The papardelle was great - rich, but tasty. The scallop/pork belly entree was very tasty and interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

These guys can do no wrong on my book. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

These guys can do no wrong on my book. Even turned me on to a new favorite wine!! 15 Appalachians

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Slow down, Cousin.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We met a couple for a Friday night dinner, reservations at 7.45. Within seconds of being seated, our very energetic and friendly server began to ask whether we were ready to order. We all enjoyed greeting each other, perusing the wine list, deciding on a bottle--maybe 10 minutes--and ordered a (fairly priced) sparkling. During the time it took us to finish one glass, maybe another 10 minutes, the server bugged us about ordering another what seemed like 8 times. The menu items all were complex and intriguing--not a decision to rush. We finally ordered--two of the crab chowders, one brussels sprouts and one hamachi. Each of these arrived within about five -7 minutes. All tasted gorgeous, with perfectly complementary flavors and textures. because my brussels sprouts side was the largest portion, I purposefully lingered (also so that i could savor every delicious bite) and the server was ready for us to order a second bottle, which we did--it was also crisp and intricate and fairly priced. Our entrees arrived soon after I finished my sprouts. Once again, the entrees were delicious (my husband and i ordered the fish) but the constant rush rush rush of the server was profoundly annoying. That and there were back to back huge parties (8 or 10) of celebrating women who were really loud and animated. The space is very small, so it was almost impossible to hear the conversation at our table. We ordered a single dessert, an after dinner drink, two coffees. In all, our bill was almost $400. By 9.30 the din had diminished a little so we tried having the conversation that failed us during dinner. At 9.45, the manager asked us to leave because another party needed our table. Really? After we've just spent two hours gritting our teeth over being rushed and having headaches from the revelers and spent a small fortune? While the food here is outstanding, it will be a very, very long time before we would go and be insulted again. Many restaurants in SF appreciate their customers.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Past Pop Up Here To Stay

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

I was thrilled to find out that Greg Lutes' new restaurant opened a few doors down from where his pop up used to be in Bernal Heights. He transformed the new location with tasteful decor AND his menu continues to be divine. There were so many things I wanted to order- it was hard to decide. The crab & bacon bisque had a delicious smokey flavor, & the papparadel pasta was smooth as silk, with luscious flavors. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most delicious meal we have had in a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The most delicious meal we have had in a very long time. We thoroughly enjoyed every thing that we ordered. We are vegetarian also can only speak to that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our New Favorite!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I cannot recommend this place enough! My husband and I ate here last Friday for the first time and we were blown away! The Uni Creme Brûlée was truly unbelievable, one of the best dishes I've ever had. Each dish was interesting, delicious and beautifully presented. Our server was lovely and the ambiance on point. The price point felt very reasonable, given the five-star quality. In a city full of great restaurants, 3rd Cousin is a standout, I'm already dreaming about our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very one-note, all the same ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was very one-note, all the same flavors. The service was good, but it was extremely noisy, and we shared a table with a group that drank and were difficult to hear each other over. It was a disappointing evening and I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The food was meh. My friend had the rabb ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The food was meh. My friend had the rabbit and ended up with indigestion all night. I was expecting much more than I experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The food was innovative and very tasty, ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

The food was innovative and very tasty, and the service was very good. However, we sat at a table for two near the front which was so close to the other tables that relatively slim people had trouble getting to their seats without bumping into other tables.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

eh

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was both expensive and just 'ok'. With so many restaurants in San Francisco, when I am paying as much as we did, we've got higher expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent, inventive food, friendly atmosphere

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

3rd Cousin is a nice balance of inventive cooking with traditional plates (French with a California touch), of fine dining with a relaxed atmosphere (some shared tables, friendly servers). The chef knows what he is doing but is clearly enjoying himself, if that means anything. Cortland Avenue is shaping up to be an interesting new restaurant scene, thanks in part to these guys.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Tried it for the first time past Friday. Amazing service, perfect for a date night for Bernal parents like us! It was a last minute reservation and my husband and I loved our dishes. Mine was a vegetarian. Overall amazing place. Small, best without kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Surprise

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

3rd Cousin is only 2 months old but there really is nothing that needs to be tweaked in this well executed small venue restaurant. The food is surprisingly interesting, delicious, multi-leveled flavors and attractive plating and presentation. The only issue was the description of the dishes on the menu as it didn't do the taste of the dish justice.

The staff is attentive not intrusive and professional service all the way around. Like in fine dining spots, silverware is changed between courses and while it is a small gesture, it makes the distinguishing difference. The interior is pleasant, modern and warm at the same time.

LOVED the chicken thighs which really turned out to be a form of fried chicken but not greasy and very flavorful. Every dish we had was stellar including salads, entrees and desserts.

Now, I hope I can still get in !!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.