About 3rd Cousin

919 Cortland Ave
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Chef/Owner Greg Lutes has created a stylish, elevated neighborhood gathering spot serving up California Cuisine that is ingredient and seasonaly focused. Relaxed and polished the service is warm welcoming. Beverage program has new and old world gems that pair well with Lutes' cuisine.
We reserve a good portion of the restaurant for walk-in parties. We also have a small bar serving beer and wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday- Saturday- 5:30-10pm

Cross Street:
Gates

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 814-3709

Website:
http://3rdcousinsf.com/

Catering:
Private in home dinners.

Public Transit:
#24
#65

Executive Chef:
Greg Lutes

Private Party Facilities:
Hold your company dinner or private event at 3rd Cousin!
From 10-40 guests we can customize your event just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lutes: 8889820150

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners
Guest Chefs

Restaurant Photos

  • 3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
  • 3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
  • 3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
  • 3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

3rd Cousin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Romantic (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Organic (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our Date Night and we wanted to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was our Date Night and we wanted to try 3rd Cousin because we live in the neighborhood. Fit for Foodies for sure. Presentation was beautiful and the flavors made your mouth melt. Great wine list. We forced ourselves to make room for dessert too. You won't be disappointed. Our next visit will be with the rest of our family.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative and tasty food. Always an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very creative and tasty food. Always an interesting combination of staples and seasonal varieties. Cozy space with friendly staff.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for thanksgiving dinner, service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went for thanksgiving dinner, service was excellent. Starter was delicious and well presented, but things went downhill from there. Dinner was all lumped on the plate in huge piles and stuffing was lacking flavour and herbs. Gravy was more of a sauce than a typical gravy. Turkey itself was delicious, but clumsily served in big chunks. The dinner lacked the finesse that we expected from the starter. Dessert was fine, a sweet pie that could be had from anywhere. Ice cream was delicious.

Overall: $85 felt like a huge rip off for what we ate - it was distinctly average, with the exception of starter and service. Hugely disappointed by my first thanksgiving experience in America.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Amazing, authentic American Thanksgiving ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing, authentic American Thanksgiving offering. So glad we found 3rd Cousin for a delicious home away from home meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family chose the traditional turkey d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family chose the traditional turkey dinner which was a chance. Every cook has their own flavors and meal preparetion can have a total odd twist to it but... this food taste like my own home cooked meal. My family agrees, so a thumbs up!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great dining experience - our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was a great dining experience - our server was very knowledgeable, the wines she recommended were all delicious, and the food was tasty and interesting. Really looking forward to trying this place again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pretentious...I would say I preferr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very pretentious...I would say I preferred the food to the service, the waitress had an obnoxious way to tell the specials and answer our questions I find it annoying when someone constantly stop the conversation you're having to tell you about the course...in the end it wasn't t a 3 star Michelin restaurant... we had a different memory of this place when we first came a year ago...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very tasty food and good service. But mu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very tasty food and good service. But much too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This is my second time at 3rd Cousin and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is my second time at 3rd Cousin and I have followed the chef at his pop ups. His creative and varied menu delights every time. We brought our friends and bumped into people we both knew- a great sense of community and flavorful dining.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful neighborhood place, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is a wonderful neighborhood place, with lovely service and an interesting, delicious menu. The only downside is the noise level. Make a reservation, they're always packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and wonderful Service! Di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful Service! Different way of preparing Uni dish~must try! Love every dishes that presented, sure will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a charming place in Bernal Heigh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This is a charming place in Bernal Heights, en emerging neighborhood of SF.

Everyone working there was wonderful, food excellent and great feeling.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fantastic! We had heard the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was fantastic! We had heard the uni brûlée was wonderful but it was better than imagined. The meat was perfectly cooked and melted in your mouth and food I normally don't order out (like pasta) was fought over. We left so full because we couldn't stop eating because the food was so good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent space, good service, but flavorle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Decent space, good service, but flavorless an expensive food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

So glad that Chef Greg has opened this r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

So glad that Chef Greg has opened this restaurant! We were fans of his pop ups, going as often as we could. The food is outstanding, with unexpected ingredient combinations leading to great flavors. Service is wonderful too, casual but professional. Well done sir!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We came on a Saturday evening, a bit bef ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We came on a Saturday evening, a bit before the rush, I'd say, because there were a few empty tables throughout our meal. We were looking to eat fairly light, and we totally scored. The room is lovely, the service was casual but expert, and the food was sensational. We had the uni creme brulee, topped with three types of fish roe. The portion was tiny (it was on the appetizer menu), but every morsel was delicious, with just a hint of the brulee at the rim of the wee dish. We also had the nopales fries, which were lovely (hey, they were fries!). But the showstopper was the insanely good ramen with lobster, bacon, and, if memory serves, oyster mushrooms. It was heaven in a bowl. If we had a complaint it was the portion size. Yes, we were sharing and yes, we ordered the smaller of two portion sizes, but for $22 it seemed a bit skimpy no matter how you looked at it. We feel lucky to have this resto in our neighborhood and will definitely be back for more of that fabulous ramen.

The chef came around for table visits--and seemed genuinely interested in what we had to say. I always like that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought the portions were very small f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I thought the portions were very small for the price. We arrived early for dinner, but our wait person seemed to push us even though the place was still pretty empty. She had no personality. The rest of the staff was pretty nice.

I would not go back for dinner. I might try brunch, but that's not likely. It was not over the top in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

As always, the food was delicious at 3rd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

As always, the food was delicious at 3rd Cousin. Our server was great, too! She poured a bunch of wines for my wife to taste to go along with her main course and brought us a second round of the wonderful bread.

My only issue with 3rd Cousin is the portion sizes. Sometimes the 'small' portion is very generous and a good value, and sometimes the 'large' portion is small and leaves me hungry. There does not seem to be a lot of consistency on this issue.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place, but service was super weak. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Nice place, but service was super weak. There were three tables in the whole place w/ people. Server and expediter could not figure it out. Again, food was good, but not sure we'll go back as it seemed like a bit too much work.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

we had the crab ramen and the wagyu stea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

we had the crab ramen and the wagyu steak. the ramen was average. the bonito stock was somewhat bitter. the steak along with the accompanying items were outstanding! would go back just for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious. Look forward to my next visi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious. Look forward to my next visit. Will recommend highly to the crew.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved this place and cannot wait to go b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Loved this place and cannot wait to go back! The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing dining experience! Ever ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The most amazing dining experience! Everything was perfect!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Uni Crème Brulee was fantastic. You ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Uni Crème Brulee was fantastic. You haven't lived until you have tasted it. We loved 3rd Cousin and will definitely return. It's a bit pricey, and worth it for a foodie dinner with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Randomly came across 3rd Cousin on OpenT ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Randomly came across 3rd Cousin on OpenTable and was so happy I booked a table for a date night with my fiance. From the moment we walked in everything was perfect! The host was great, our waiter was great and the food was delicious! I will definitely recommend this place the next time someone asks me where to go in the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the perfectly balanced combinations ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love the perfectly balanced combinations of ingredients and preparations. A mixture of new flavors to challenge and educate with some old favorites for comfort. All of it so delicious it keeps us coming back from the opposite corner of the city!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fine but, contrary to many ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was fine but, contrary to many of the reviews, it is not a foodie's dream. One annoying aspect of our dinner there was the background music which really wasn't on the background so much as it felt we were in a club. They did turn the volume down after we asked, but the music still wasn't really conducive to calm and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Staff, food and ambience was perfect. G ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Staff, food and ambience was perfect. Great for a special occasion or to celebrate something

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A small restaurant on Cortland in the to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2016

A small restaurant on Cortland in the top of the Bernal Heights neighborhood. There are many well established restaurants in the area, many of them quite good or excellent but 3rd Cousin by far is the best. Great decor and look (check out the lights), good view of the kitchen, comfortably spaced tables (unlike in many SF restaurants which are paralyzingly crammed).

The food is very creative, artistically presented, very tasteful. The portions are well sized for a multi course dinner. You will be well fed but will have space in your belly until the sweet end. I have tried most of the menu and liked everything. The foie gras (goose liver lovers beware: it is of duck!) is just outstanding. The "deep-fried cactus" was very unusual, surprising and very good. The "crab and millet", the "pappardelle", the "scallop and pork belly" are heavenly (albeit I would have liked more pork belly, next time I order two and will not share). However my favorites were the "gnocchi", loaded with mushrooms and the "duck breast+brat".They were creative, tasty, filling but not heavy, a cornucopia of flavors blending well yet enhancing each other. The wine selection is somewhat unusual but very good. Service was very attentive, knowledgable but not obtrusive. Eating at 3rd Cousin is like listening to a Mozart opera (but not Die Zauberflote !): each aria makes you happier and more hungry to the next one. Like Mozart, this restaurant is a classic for the people to love and enjoy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really delicious and inventive food, but ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Really delicious and inventive food, but not quite worth the price. We were a table of four, without alcohol or dessert, and our bill was over $200. Portions were modest so it wasn't even like we were full.

If you're price insensitive - give it a whirl and you'll love it. I'm more in the "just because they can charge that much doesn't mean they should" camp, so I'm not sure I'll be back.

Also, when making a reservation you have to leave your CC number and get charged $25pp if you cancel less than 2 days in advance. I get that no restaurant likes slackers who make a res and don't show up, but I also have zero desire to donate $25 to a restaurant if something comes up and I have to cancel last minute.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Service was slow and inattentive. Noise ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was slow and inattentive. Noise level very loud. Pork chop very undercooked. Was excited to try but it seems they still have a lot to improve upon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great food and fun place. Wish they had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and fun place. Wish they had valet parking though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely time! The food was great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a lovely time! The food was great, especially the cactus fries. I really appreciated there being a vegan option on the menu. We'll definitely be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had the tasting menu for my girlfrien ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had the tasting menu for my girlfriend's birthday. It was her first experience ever with a tasting menu and she loved it. Every dish was amazing. We had no complaints about any aspect of the dishes and we both work in the food industry. Presentation, flavors, textures, and temperature were all on point. The uni cremé brulee was just something else. Chef Greg brought a few dishes out personally which really made the whole experience personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

San Francisco is a foodie Mecca which me ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

San Francisco is a foodie Mecca which means that to stand out among the best, it takes something special, something unexpected. Chef Lutes delivers. He elevates in unexpected ways from beginning to end. Each course found ways to delight. Good food is one-dimensional flavor delivered with excellence. Great food brings an additional 2nd dimension by adding a unique presentation. 3rd Cousin adds a 3rd dimension through taste. One bite brings one flavor experience, and then a separate one, and even another one -all uniquely wonderful, yet then combining into one overall taste that elevates among even the best; all of this happening in a single bite. This is a true gem and emotionally enlightening journey in San Francisco!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for my bday, and it did no ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We went there for my bday, and it did not disappoint. The 3 of us had the prix fixe menu, and I think it was 5 or 6 courses, along with wines paired to each course. I can remember the hamachi crudo, uni creme brulee, pork belly with veggies, sirloin with foie gras, and of course, dessert. I thought it was a very good meal, and decently priced for the quality of food, and interesting wines. It's on my go to list, and I'd certainly recommend it to friends and family. ENJOY!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing experience. The chef came to tal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Amazing experience. The chef came to talk with us for a while. The tasting menu was one of the best I've had in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really like this restaurant. Always gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really like this restaurant. Always great. Had duck-perfectly prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is difficult: Food is outstanding, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is difficult:

Food is outstanding, absolutely no doubt, but:

The portions are scandalously small in many dishes;

The prices are more unbelievable than the portions;

The noise is so loud it cancels normal volume conversation as well as the music;

The service is odd, clumsy: one waitress for the whole room & servers she calls "...my team"...

And I admittedly have a personal ax to grind about the "character":

We KickStarted them back when they were a pop-up; long before the present brick-&-mortar;

Never heard from them about the "thank-you" we were promised;

Upon inquiring was told just to mention it when we next made a reservation;

Did that; not a word was said to us the entire time we were there, but

The chef/owner had time for the extremely loud table with the $89 per person tasting menu..

Time to admit we wasted $200.00 with KickStart...

I guess we're just Red Hill Station kind of people...check them out up the block...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

The worst service I have had in a while. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2016

The worst service I have had in a while. One waitress in the whole restaurant. She has no idea how to describe items on the menu. Food was not bad but very overpriced for the experience and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.