About 3rd Cousin

919 Cortland Ave
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Chef/Owner Greg Lutes has created a stylish, elevated neighborhood gathering spot serving up California Cuisine that is ingredient and seasonaly focused. Relaxed and polished the service is warm welcoming. Beverage program has new and old world gems that pairs well with Lutes' cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Saturday- 5:30-10pm

Cross Street:
Gates

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 814-3709

Website:
http://3rdcousinsf.com/

Catering:
Private in home dinners.

Public Transit:
#24
#65

Executive Chef:
Greg Lutes

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners
Guest Chefs

Restaurant Photos

  • 3rd Cousin
  • 3rd Cousin
  • 3rd Cousin
  • 3rd Cousin
3rd Cousin
3rd Cousin
3rd Cousin
3rd Cousin

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Hold your company dinner or private event at 3rd Cousin! From 10-40 guests we can customize your event just for you.

3rd Cousin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Romantic (15)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Cozy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always, the food was delicious at 3rd ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

As always, the food was delicious at 3rd Cousin. Our server was great, too! She poured a bunch of wines for my wife to taste to go along with her main course and brought us a second round of the wonderful bread.

My only issue with 3rd Cousin is the portion sizes. Sometimes the 'small' portion is very generous and a good value, and sometimes the 'large' portion is small and leaves me hungry. There does not seem to be a lot of consistency on this issue.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place, but service was super weak. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Nice place, but service was super weak. There were three tables in the whole place w/ people. Server and expediter could not figure it out. Again, food was good, but not sure we'll go back as it seemed like a bit too much work.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

we had the crab ramen and the wagyu stea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

we had the crab ramen and the wagyu steak. the ramen was average. the bonito stock was somewhat bitter. the steak along with the accompanying items were outstanding! would go back just for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious. Look forward to my next visi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious. Look forward to my next visit. Will recommend highly to the crew.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved this place and cannot wait to go b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Loved this place and cannot wait to go back! The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing dining experience! Ever ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The most amazing dining experience! Everything was perfect!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Uni Crème Brulee was fantastic. You ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Uni Crème Brulee was fantastic. You haven't lived until you have tasted it. We loved 3rd Cousin and will definitely return. It's a bit pricey, and worth it for a foodie dinner with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Randomly came across 3rd Cousin on OpenT ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Randomly came across 3rd Cousin on OpenTable and was so happy I booked a table for a date night with my fiance. From the moment we walked in everything was perfect! The host was great, our waiter was great and the food was delicious! I will definitely recommend this place the next time someone asks me where to go in the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the perfectly balanced combinations ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love the perfectly balanced combinations of ingredients and preparations. A mixture of new flavors to challenge and educate with some old favorites for comfort. All of it so delicious it keeps us coming back from the opposite corner of the city!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fine but, contrary to many ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was fine but, contrary to many of the reviews, it is not a foodie's dream. One annoying aspect of our dinner there was the background music which really wasn't on the background so much as it felt we were in a club. They did turn the volume down after we asked, but the music still wasn't really conducive to calm and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Staff, food and ambience was perfect. G ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Staff, food and ambience was perfect. Great for a special occasion or to celebrate something

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A small restaurant on Cortland in the to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A small restaurant on Cortland in the top of the Bernal Heights neighborhood. There are many well established restaurants in the area, many of them quite good or excellent but 3rd Cousin by far is the best. Great decor and look (check out the lights), good view of the kitchen, comfortably spaced tables (unlike in many SF restaurants which are paralyzingly crammed).

The food is very creative, artistically presented, very tasteful. The portions are well sized for a multi course dinner. You will be well fed but will have space in your belly until the sweet end. I have tried most of the menu and liked everything. The foie gras (goose liver lovers beware: it is of duck!) is just outstanding. The "deep-fried cactus" was very unusual, surprising and very good. The "crab and millet", the "pappardelle", the "scallop and pork belly" are heavenly (albeit I would have liked more pork belly, next time I order two and will not share). However my favorites were the "gnocchi", loaded with mushrooms and the "duck breast+brat".They were creative, tasty, filling but not heavy, a cornucopia of flavors blending well yet enhancing each other. The wine selection is somewhat unusual but very good. Service was very attentive, knowledgable but not obtrusive. Eating at 3rd Cousin is like listening to a Mozart opera (but not Die Zauberflote !): each aria makes you happier and more hungry to the next one. Like Mozart, this restaurant is a classic for the people to love and enjoy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really delicious and inventive food, but ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Really delicious and inventive food, but not quite worth the price. We were a table of four, without alcohol or dessert, and our bill was over $200. Portions were modest so it wasn't even like we were full.

If you're price insensitive - give it a whirl and you'll love it. I'm more in the "just because they can charge that much doesn't mean they should" camp, so I'm not sure I'll be back.

Also, when making a reservation you have to leave your CC number and get charged $25pp if you cancel less than 2 days in advance. I get that no restaurant likes slackers who make a res and don't show up, but I also have zero desire to donate $25 to a restaurant if something comes up and I have to cancel last minute.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Service was slow and inattentive. Noise ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service was slow and inattentive. Noise level very loud. Pork chop very undercooked. Was excited to try but it seems they still have a lot to improve upon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great food and fun place. Wish they had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and fun place. Wish they had valet parking though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely time! The food was great ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a lovely time! The food was great, especially the cactus fries. I really appreciated there being a vegan option on the menu. We'll definitely be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had the tasting menu for my girlfrien ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had the tasting menu for my girlfriend's birthday. It was her first experience ever with a tasting menu and she loved it. Every dish was amazing. We had no complaints about any aspect of the dishes and we both work in the food industry. Presentation, flavors, textures, and temperature were all on point. The uni cremé brulee was just something else. Chef Greg brought a few dishes out personally which really made the whole experience personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

San Francisco is a foodie Mecca which me ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

San Francisco is a foodie Mecca which means that to stand out among the best, it takes something special, something unexpected. Chef Lutes delivers. He elevates in unexpected ways from beginning to end. Each course found ways to delight. Good food is one-dimensional flavor delivered with excellence. Great food brings an additional 2nd dimension by adding a unique presentation. 3rd Cousin adds a 3rd dimension through taste. One bite brings one flavor experience, and then a separate one, and even another one -all uniquely wonderful, yet then combining into one overall taste that elevates among even the best; all of this happening in a single bite. This is a true gem and emotionally enlightening journey in San Francisco!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for my bday, and it did no ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We went there for my bday, and it did not disappoint. The 3 of us had the prix fixe menu, and I think it was 5 or 6 courses, along with wines paired to each course. I can remember the hamachi crudo, uni creme brulee, pork belly with veggies, sirloin with foie gras, and of course, dessert. I thought it was a very good meal, and decently priced for the quality of food, and interesting wines. It's on my go to list, and I'd certainly recommend it to friends and family. ENJOY!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing experience. The chef came to tal ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Amazing experience. The chef came to talk with us for a while. The tasting menu was one of the best I've had in SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really like this restaurant. Always gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Really like this restaurant. Always great. Had duck-perfectly prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is difficult: Food is outstanding, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is difficult:

Food is outstanding, absolutely no doubt, but:

The portions are scandalously small in many dishes;

The prices are more unbelievable than the portions;

The noise is so loud it cancels normal volume conversation as well as the music;

The service is odd, clumsy: one waitress for the whole room & servers she calls "...my team"...

And I admittedly have a personal ax to grind about the "character":

We KickStarted them back when they were a pop-up; long before the present brick-&-mortar;

Never heard from them about the "thank-you" we were promised;

Upon inquiring was told just to mention it when we next made a reservation;

Did that; not a word was said to us the entire time we were there, but

The chef/owner had time for the extremely loud table with the $89 per person tasting menu..

Time to admit we wasted $200.00 with KickStart...

I guess we're just Red Hill Station kind of people...check them out up the block...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

The worst service I have had in a while. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The worst service I have had in a while. One waitress in the whole restaurant. She has no idea how to describe items on the menu. Food was not bad but very overpriced for the experience and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

Bad service. Bad enough to make this an ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Bad service. Bad enough to make this an unpleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The reservation through OT was easy and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The reservation through OT was easy and we were seated promptly on Tuesday at 6:15. Our waiter was knowledgable, attentive and not intrusive. We took his suggestions for wine (Anaba Pinot Noir 2013), foie gras appetizer, and entrees, duck and pappardelle. All were great, served on time at proper temperature. Noise level was low enough for conversation, essential for dinner with friends. We sat close to another table, a little too close. I felt exposed too in one big room. These are niggles. My friend and I rated the restaurant at the top of our list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I stumbled on 3rd Cousin las ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

My wife and I stumbled on 3rd Cousin last night, and it's our new favorite restaurant! The staff was warm and welcoming. The interior design is Informal, but with some nice style—dark grey walls and beautiful lighting fixtures. It feels like somewhere we'd like to bring our friends. We had burrata with white peach, gnocchi with morels, squash/corn gratin and pork shoulder. That sounds like it might be heavy or too filling, but everything was portioned, prepared and presented beautifully. There are several other dishes on the menu that we're eager to try. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've had in the Ba ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the best meals I've had in the Bay Area, particularly when value is considered. Incredible food at moderate (relatively) prices when compared with other top-notch restaurants. The service is not to the same standards of a stuffier type of place, but this is a neighborhood spot that is meant to be a fairly casual setting for extraordinary food, which I loved. Everyone was extremely nice and you couldn't find a better tasting menu + wine pairing price/value anywhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The space is nice. The food is very good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The space is nice. The food is very good. However, the noise level is quite loud. The staff are very personable and helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic restaurant - we were impressed ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Fantastic restaurant - we were impressed with every single dish we ordered. The duck was especially fantastic - not dry and, on the other end of the spectrum, not fatty (as duck is prone to be), it was a remarkable, perfect, juicy blend of flavors. Definitely check this place out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food overall was tasty, however the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food overall was tasty, however the salad was under dressed and in general each item is way over priced.-$42.00 for a black rice dish. !!??Our waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Superior

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Owner/chef stopped by our table, introduced himself, welcomed us back the next night. great place, great atmosphere, superior food

#bernal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was great it was way over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

While the food was great it was way overpriced. A bowl of ramen for $44 is ridiculous. The restaurant is also incredibly noisy. My friend and I were practically shouting at each other across the table. The service was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

exceptional gem in bernal heights

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

worth driving across town for. but ... we live just down the street! every dish was beautiful and delicious - the new take on ramen? wow. the halibut? sublime. the fritters - light and fresh. the dessert - strawberries and cake and cream - worth waiting for. it's amazing how much great food they push out of their tiny, open kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious menu , so hard to decide. Ever ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Delicious menu , so hard to decide. Everything we ordered was seasoned well and very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food dominates a perfectly lovely evening

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a super-fun evening with foodie friends from Brooklyn. Everything we tried was excellent and several items were superb - hamachi, scallops, and the pasta, which was so light and yet intensely flavorful - as good as anything we've ever had in SF. Eager to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I'm almost apprehensive about writing this review, for fear of it becoming too popular. Because yes it was that good! The dishes were unique, delicious, and beautiful. I'm still thinking of the uni creme brûlée, it was sublime! The restaurant was gorgeous. The staff was knowledgeable without being pretentious. The chef came out and greeted each table, which I thought was really sweet. To top it off we found parking right in front of the restaurant. This was one of the best bday meals I've ever had!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sliver of Heaven

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I have read about this place in blogs and how amazing the food is but the reviews don't do this little neighborhood jem justice. I kind of don't want to share with the world how amazing it is so it's not one of those tables that are impossible to reserve. It was only a five minute uber drive from SOMA. It seems a little far but it's super close and worth the trek. This was my fifth foodie restaurant in row this past week and this one by far beat and blew all the other "foodie hot spots"out of the water. What we ordered:

-Hamachi crudo

-Pork Belly and Scallop

-Halibut

-Pappardelle half order with wild mushroom, smoked mozzarella and I added guanciale

-banana bread pudding with a caramelized banana fresh out of the over

My mouth is watering just thinking back to how fantastic this meal was. I think I might have to go again next week because they are known for the pork chop and I had had one the previous night at another spot. This is by far one of the best restaurants in SF and I have dined at most of them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food!! Everything was deliciou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Fantastic food!! Everything was delicious. Wait staff attentive

Parking awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great neighborhood place.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great new neighborhood place. Really good food and wine with excellent service...some of the best service I've ever had! Also there is a tasting menu that would be fun to check out next time.

The scallops with pork belly and a special that was foie gras with a strawberry kind of pancake were awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Complex, Creative & Unique Food; great service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing find behind a modest facade in Bernal. A real chef who prepares amazing and memorable food. Service was prompt and attentive, wine list was robust and the wines we selected were delicious. Restaurant is rather noisy but the food and service so excelled that it wasn't a big deal. Highly recommended! Was a really memorable time and we will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.