About 3rd Cousin

919 Cortland Ave
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Chef/Owner Greg Lutes has created a stylish, elevated neighborhood gathering spot serving up California Cuisine that is ingredient and seasonaly focused. Relaxed and polished the service is warm welcoming. Beverage program has new and old world gems that pair well with Lutes' cuisine.
We reserve a good portion of the restaurant for walk-in parties. We also have a small bar serving beer and wine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday- Saturday- 5:30-10pm

Cross Street:
Gates

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 814-3709

Website:
http://3rdcousinsf.com/

Catering:
Private in home dinners.

Public Transit:
#24
#65

Executive Chef:
Greg Lutes

Private Party Facilities:
Hold your company dinner or private event at 3rd Cousin!
From 10-40 guests we can customize your event just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lutes: 8889820150

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners
Guest Chefs

Restaurant Photos

  • 3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
  • 3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
  • 3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA
  • 3rd Cousin, San Francisco, CA

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

3rd Cousin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Open Kitchen (6)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Seasonal (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
184 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is fantastic, super creative me ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is fantastic, super creative menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely disappointing meal on a Wednes ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Extremely disappointing meal on a Wednesday evening. Every single dish was off. The pork chop was rubbery and dry; the short rib was over cooked and dry; the creme brulee tasted like it had been sitting out for hours; the ramen noodles were overcooked; the hamachi was poorly butchered; the burrata was over-spiced and seasoned; every single dish was over salted. On top of all this, the bill was nearly $300 for 3 people including just one (of the least expensive) bottles of wine. After we received our final dishes, the chef went outside and remained there lounging for the next 40 minutes or so--not a good sign of a well-run or highly functioning kitchen. I hope this place fixes up its act and tries a little harder. If not, let something more high quality open in its place. Outrageously poor value with over-ambitious and poorly executed food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

What a hidden gem!!! The service was exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

What a hidden gem!!! The service was excellent and everyone was so friendly. The food was absolutely on par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this restaurant through Open Table ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Found this restaurant through Open Table. What a find. We will return in a heartbeat. Young, vital crowd. Food delicious. Staff, the best. Wonderful value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Bummer bummer bummer. We had been eager ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Bummer bummer bummer. We had been eager to try this new neighborhood spot and were sorely disappointed. We went for New Year's Eve and they did not have their game on at all. The service was ... peculiar. The food was very good, but nothing but the pasta stood out as exceptional. This was a four course prix fix menu and they brought out my first two courses at the same time thinking one was for me and one for my husband. So I waited (at least 5 mins) for them to bring out his TWO courses at the same time (which just made us feel rushed and like it was not a special occasion) before I started eating which didn't matter with a Hamachi dish but then my scallop was cold (and kind of gross). Then came course three. I had lobster. As if the portions on the first two portions weren't laughable enough, I got about a 2 1/2 inch of lobster tail and one piece of claw meat. Really? Dessert was fine, again nothing special. We knew how much the bill was going to be as it was price fixed (total splurge at $400) and the bill only listed what appeared to be only our wine, no food charged. We said something and the waitress thanked us for our honesty, but that was it. You'd think with the mistakes that were made with our meal and the fact that we called out a $250+ shortage on the bill, they might have made some kind of nice gesture. I had heard from a neighbor that other holiday dinners came with an amuse bouche, but not this night. Anyway, wah wah waaaahhhh... Simply not worth it at all. Sorry....maybe they aren't like this on a regular night but we won't be finding out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great dining experience. Food overall wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great dining experience. Food overall was good in quality with the exception of the pork which was fantastic. Perfectly cooked and tender.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food, slow but kind waitresses ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious food, slow but kind waitresses, noise level could be improved (esp. music volume) but overall wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, incredible service, cozy ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious food, incredible service, cozy atmosphere. Great for a friends get together, or family gathering.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful medley of flavors. Love that t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Beautiful medley of flavors. Love that they're not afraid to add a little spice to the food. Interesting wine list. If you have time, opt for the tasting menu. Will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was very attentive. The grilled octopus was fantastic as was the short rib/bavette steak entree. I wanted to lick the plate! I love the interior, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We love 3rd Cousin so much! I love havin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We love 3rd Cousin so much! I love having such a nice restaurant in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my best meals in SF, so far!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

One of my best meals in SF, so far!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was freezing in the restaurant, whic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

It was freezing in the restaurant, which never makes for a comfortable meal, but the food was amazing and the staff were all super nice. Will definitely go back on a warmer day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our Date Night and we wanted to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was our Date Night and we wanted to try 3rd Cousin because we live in the neighborhood. Fit for Foodies for sure. Presentation was beautiful and the flavors made your mouth melt. Great wine list. We forced ourselves to make room for dessert too. You won't be disappointed. Our next visit will be with the rest of our family.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative and tasty food. Always an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Very creative and tasty food. Always an interesting combination of staples and seasonal varieties. Cozy space with friendly staff.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went for thanksgiving dinner, service w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Went for thanksgiving dinner, service was excellent. Starter was delicious and well presented, but things went downhill from there. Dinner was all lumped on the plate in huge piles and stuffing was lacking flavour and herbs. Gravy was more of a sauce than a typical gravy. Turkey itself was delicious, but clumsily served in big chunks. The dinner lacked the finesse that we expected from the starter. Dessert was fine, a sweet pie that could be had from anywhere. Ice cream was delicious.

Overall: $85 felt like a huge rip off for what we ate - it was distinctly average, with the exception of starter and service. Hugely disappointed by my first thanksgiving experience in America.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Amazing, authentic American Thanksgiving ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing, authentic American Thanksgiving offering. So glad we found 3rd Cousin for a delicious home away from home meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family chose the traditional turkey d ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family chose the traditional turkey dinner which was a chance. Every cook has their own flavors and meal preparetion can have a total odd twist to it but... this food taste like my own home cooked meal. My family agrees, so a thumbs up!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great dining experience - our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was a great dining experience - our server was very knowledgeable, the wines she recommended were all delicious, and the food was tasty and interesting. Really looking forward to trying this place again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pretentious...I would say I preferr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very pretentious...I would say I preferred the food to the service, the waitress had an obnoxious way to tell the specials and answer our questions I find it annoying when someone constantly stop the conversation you're having to tell you about the course...in the end it wasn't t a 3 star Michelin restaurant... we had a different memory of this place when we first came a year ago...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very tasty food and good service. But mu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very tasty food and good service. But much too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

This is my second time at 3rd Cousin and ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This is my second time at 3rd Cousin and I have followed the chef at his pop ups. His creative and varied menu delights every time. We brought our friends and bumped into people we both knew- a great sense of community and flavorful dining.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a wonderful neighborhood place, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is a wonderful neighborhood place, with lovely service and an interesting, delicious menu. The only downside is the noise level. Make a reservation, they're always packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and wonderful Service! Di ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful Service! Different way of preparing Uni dish~must try! Love every dishes that presented, sure will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is a charming place in Bernal Heigh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This is a charming place in Bernal Heights, en emerging neighborhood of SF.

Everyone working there was wonderful, food excellent and great feeling.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was fantastic! We had heard the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was fantastic! We had heard the uni brûlée was wonderful but it was better than imagined. The meat was perfectly cooked and melted in your mouth and food I normally don't order out (like pasta) was fought over. We left so full because we couldn't stop eating because the food was so good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent space, good service, but flavorle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Decent space, good service, but flavorless an expensive food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

So glad that Chef Greg has opened this r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

So glad that Chef Greg has opened this restaurant! We were fans of his pop ups, going as often as we could. The food is outstanding, with unexpected ingredient combinations leading to great flavors. Service is wonderful too, casual but professional. Well done sir!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We came on a Saturday evening, a bit bef ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We came on a Saturday evening, a bit before the rush, I'd say, because there were a few empty tables throughout our meal. We were looking to eat fairly light, and we totally scored. The room is lovely, the service was casual but expert, and the food was sensational. We had the uni creme brulee, topped with three types of fish roe. The portion was tiny (it was on the appetizer menu), but every morsel was delicious, with just a hint of the brulee at the rim of the wee dish. We also had the nopales fries, which were lovely (hey, they were fries!). But the showstopper was the insanely good ramen with lobster, bacon, and, if memory serves, oyster mushrooms. It was heaven in a bowl. If we had a complaint it was the portion size. Yes, we were sharing and yes, we ordered the smaller of two portion sizes, but for $22 it seemed a bit skimpy no matter how you looked at it. We feel lucky to have this resto in our neighborhood and will definitely be back for more of that fabulous ramen.

The chef came around for table visits--and seemed genuinely interested in what we had to say. I always like that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I thought the portions were very small f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I thought the portions were very small for the price. We arrived early for dinner, but our wait person seemed to push us even though the place was still pretty empty. She had no personality. The rest of the staff was pretty nice.

I would not go back for dinner. I might try brunch, but that's not likely. It was not over the top in my book.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

As always, the food was delicious at 3rd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

As always, the food was delicious at 3rd Cousin. Our server was great, too! She poured a bunch of wines for my wife to taste to go along with her main course and brought us a second round of the wonderful bread.

My only issue with 3rd Cousin is the portion sizes. Sometimes the 'small' portion is very generous and a good value, and sometimes the 'large' portion is small and leaves me hungry. There does not seem to be a lot of consistency on this issue.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice place, but service was super weak. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Nice place, but service was super weak. There were three tables in the whole place w/ people. Server and expediter could not figure it out. Again, food was good, but not sure we'll go back as it seemed like a bit too much work.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

we had the crab ramen and the wagyu stea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

we had the crab ramen and the wagyu steak. the ramen was average. the bonito stock was somewhat bitter. the steak along with the accompanying items were outstanding! would go back just for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious. Look forward to my next visi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious. Look forward to my next visit. Will recommend highly to the crew.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Loved this place and cannot wait to go b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Loved this place and cannot wait to go back! The food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The most amazing dining experience! Ever ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The most amazing dining experience! Everything was perfect!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Uni Crème Brulee was fantastic. You ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Uni Crème Brulee was fantastic. You haven't lived until you have tasted it. We loved 3rd Cousin and will definitely return. It's a bit pricey, and worth it for a foodie dinner with friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Randomly came across 3rd Cousin on OpenT ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Randomly came across 3rd Cousin on OpenTable and was so happy I booked a table for a date night with my fiance. From the moment we walked in everything was perfect! The host was great, our waiter was great and the food was delicious! I will definitely recommend this place the next time someone asks me where to go in the city.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the perfectly balanced combinations ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love the perfectly balanced combinations of ingredients and preparations. A mixture of new flavors to challenge and educate with some old favorites for comfort. All of it so delicious it keeps us coming back from the opposite corner of the city!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fine but, contrary to many ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was fine but, contrary to many of the reviews, it is not a foodie's dream. One annoying aspect of our dinner there was the background music which really wasn't on the background so much as it felt we were in a club. They did turn the volume down after we asked, but the music still wasn't really conducive to calm and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.