About 37 Steak - Harrah's

1 Riverboat Drive
North Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Do you want steak or do you want an experience? '37 Steak is not about dinner and drinks. It's an indulgence for all your senses. Every detail of your cocktail is carefully considered: the mix, the ice, the glass, the temperature. If that's what '37 does for your beverage imagine what we do for your meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Chouteau Trafficway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 889-7037

Website:
http://www.37steak.com/

Parking Details:
We provide Free Valet Parking.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer 3 Private Dining rooms which allows us to accomodate almost any size group for your Special Event or Occasion. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of three very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Private Party Contact:
BB Jorjadze: 8168897037x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine, Wine Bar

37 Steak - Harrah's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Kansas City, MO
Romantic
Kansas City, MO
Special Occasion
Kansas City, MO
Best Restaurants in Kansas City ›

special occasion (17)
romantic (13)
fit for foodies (8)
See All
late-night find (6)
good for groups (6)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
neighborhood gem (2)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered the chicken meal it was vile ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I ordered the chicken meal it was vile I could not believe how small the chicken breast was it must have been from a Cornish hen. The sauce was detestable, the vegetable was flavorless and hard. My spouse did not like his porkchop that was not tasty. We will not return to the 37 ever again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Excellent service, atmosphere permitted ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent service, atmosphere permitted conversation, food well timed, beautifully presented, and well prepared. (Attractive menu offerings were difficult to read; dark pages in darkened setting.)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New menu is not as good as in the past a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

New menu is not as good as in the past and wish they could have stayed with the old menu items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I had steaks, both had the f ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I had steaks, both had the filets, they were very good. I had mushrooms, which were not good, pretty bland, and a baked potato, which may sound silly,as how can you ruin a baked potatoe, but it also was pretty bland. My wife had brussel spouts, which she said had strong and bitter taste. The waitress did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overcooked 36 dollar steak, manager rude ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overcooked 36 dollar steak, manager rude to us for it. No comp on steak instead free dessert that had plastic pieces in it. Just a bad experience. Otherwise the other food was good. Server was great! Nice atmosphere, no smoke smell from casino area. But, managers poor attitude ruined dinner experience.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service, terrible value

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server was absolutely exceptional,and the only reason I would try the place again. The food was not up to par for being fine dining.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great Meal

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I enjoyed the food so much everything was as we asked for and the wine was excellent. Service was outstanding and meal was served quickly and as you would expect

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were fantastic! Asparagus was per ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Steaks were fantastic! Asparagus was perfectly prepared. Dessert was ok. Ask to be seated in main dining room for a better ambiance for a long dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Loved the bar staff!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The manager also checked in our table several times. Very nice experience and great food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner as usual is very good and the atm ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Dinner as usual is very good and the atmosphere is a welcome change from the noise in the casino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing drinks, amazing food and phenome ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Amazing drinks, amazing food and phenomenal people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Ambiance great,service great,prime rib average at best,aus jus very average, crab Mac/cheese on the bland side...I could have done this better at home myself ...almost $200 for two people after 20+% tip...not worth it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Our server Heather was amazing. Our stea ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Our server Heather was amazing. Our steaks were a little over cooked, but still good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

For a high end steak & seafood restaurant ,....

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

I expected a little more indulgence for the wine list, the wait staff, and the food.

All 3 "good" just not "great" For the money, I have enjoyed my dinners at the Bristol and q39 much more

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Even though I eat steak well done. . It ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Even though I eat steak well done. . It still very juicy and tender. . Loved it. .. food delicious. . Atmosphere awesome. .. waitresses great

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Dinner was good steaks cooked excellent. The sides mashed potatoes creamed spinach and broccoli everything was excellent except for the broccoli the broccoli was under cooked very Crunchy. Our server Jonathan did an absolutely great job

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had high expectations, however the ha ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We had high expectations, however the halibut had absolutely no flavor & quite dry. My husband had a porterhouse steak & it also had no flavor. We are huge foodies & love good food but we will not be returning to 37.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

A nice night out!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

My Wife and I get to come to Kansas City not very often , but when we do do it always includes a stop at the 37 -Steak- Harrahs. We always get three orders of the candied bacon to take home with us. The meal is great ! From the wine to the desert it's always real good! We will be back again , and Victor is the best , it wouldn't be the same without him taking care of us !!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great evening.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a nice place to eat in a great setting. Very impressed with everything. I had a steak and my wife had lobster, both were cooked to perfection. I look forward to eating here on our next trip to Kansas City.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The cream spinach au gratin was very goo ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The cream spinach au gratin was very good. I had the KC strip and it was cooked to a nice medium but instead of a sear it was burnt on the edges making the taste off and didn't seem to have any seasonings. We also had a baked potato and I could have done better at home in the microwave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Celebrating a special occasion

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Joyce and I have dined here on several other occasions with good results so we thought that we would give it another try to celebrate our anniversary. I'm sorry to say that it did not live up to our expectations this time. Although the experience was far from being a total disaster, we were somewhat disappointed. The chop to it salad was very good. The halibut was fine, but the accompanying risotto (just ok) and the arugula salad (3 or 4 leaves), not so much so. The grilled shrimp pairing was nothing more than two grilled shrimp served on a saucer; nothing like before. The meal did finish with good results as the fried bread pudding bites served with whipped cream and espresso ice cream (miniature proportions each) were very tasty. It may be a while before we return to this restaurant as the quality and proportions are not commensurate with the prices charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We went to 37 Steak on Valentine's Day a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went to 37 Steak on Valentine's Day and it was our third time visiting. Both me and my husband love their filet and their lobster bisque is my favorite. My only complaint is that we made a reservation months in advance and were seated in one of the worst seats they had. I know a lot of other couples didn't make reservations so it would have been nice to at least get a booth and not a table by the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Treat

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

A fabulous place to celebrate a special occasion. Great food, wonderful service, very romantic. Love the candied bacon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was very disappointed with the quality o ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Was very disappointed with the quality of food for the price. Service was very good, but this was not what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Nice, but pricey

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The place was nice, and all the staff was friendly, but I just couldn't get comfortable there. We were seated in a back room with bright lights and big TVs, with college basketball on all. Not my choice for entertainment. The prime rib and filet were delicious, but I suppose it should be for $40-50 per entree, and a baked potato was $8 !!!! Wine was $13 a glass.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The steaks were amazing!! The lobster Ma ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The steaks were amazing!! The lobster Mac and cheese was also amazing! I will definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wife and I had a great time! Amazing!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our waiter Victor was a stand up guy. He made the experience one night to remember!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our "GOTO" restauant for steak and more!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our third time to eat at 37 Steak in the last 4 months. It has been delicious EVERY time. The bacon appetizer was to die for, the filet mignon was cooked to perfection and the garlic potatoes were scrumptious. Oh, and per the server's suggestion, we tried the white chocolate vinaigrette on our salads and it was incredible. Service was excellent, the manager is friendly and professional and makes sure everyone is satisfied. He is obviously experienced and knows how to treat customers which was refreshing. If I had one suggestion, it would be to change the music to something just a bit more subtle, like Sinatra or Michael Buble. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Escargot Issue not Rectified

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Spent $284 on dinner before tax for a table of 4. After concluding dinner spoke to hostess in regard to the change in escargot plate. Before I could even explain my issue, she stated, we have had multiple complaints about it being cold, hard to pull out of the bone. I said, definitely subpar to the previous escargot dish. She grabbed the manager "BB" "JJ" and he simple stated I will voice your concern to the chef. He left the conversation at that and I felt he had little or no concern about repeat business. My family may only come in once a month, but when we do, I hope our concerns are addressed when spending $300+ per sitting at 37 Steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Fantastic server

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

We had a wonderful server. W e had him before and have had a wonderful time both times. Alec is someone you don't want to get rid of. Will want him every time I eat there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible Experience!!!!!!!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I made the reservation based on the Hotel's website stating that the '37 Steak House was suppose to have excellent Steak and Prime Rib. I was anticipating a "Quality" cut of Prime Rib, in fact I was really looking forward to a great meal with my wife. The apps that we ordered were good, and the fresh bread that they provided was excellent.

When our main courses arrived I noticed that my Prime Rib was way OVER cooked, as I want my steaks medium rare!! I made an effort to try to eat it anyway. But after about 6 or 7 bites of the meat it was obvious that the meat was tough and not aged properly. I hate to say it but it was one of the worst cuts of Prime Rib I have ever had!!!

The service was decent, and the appetizers were good, but the steak/ prime rib was horrible. Taking into account that the restaurant is supposed to be a Steak House, then I would have to say that I would NOT recommend this restaurant to any of my friends or family!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Terrible - Will never go again. hire a cook!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Worse meal I have ever had. Food was terrible, no offer of replacing it with something edible. Will NEVER go there again and I may stop going to Harrah's because of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Great Food & Service!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Excellent Service is first to mind, with Elina K being our server. The food is also in the excellent category, although quite pricey. Nice to enjoy a quiet dinner over the buffet once and awhile. Highly recommend it.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Once is enough for my husband and I.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

The Range Steakhouse was above and beyond great; not so with 37. I always enjoy a Prime Rib dinner, so that is what I ordered. It arrived cool and I asked to send it back to get it warmer. I waited 10 minutes before it arrived back to our table, and it remained as cool as the first time it was served to me. This is quite unacceptable in fine dining. The server was attentive and even bought us dessert as it was our wedding anniversary. In all honesty, we will not return to 37 Harrah's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Restaurant week

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

My wife and I tried 37 Steak for restaurant week. We had the jumbo shrimp (oxymoron), and prime rib with a salad and desert.

Absolutely delicious. The prime rib was cooked to perfection, and the jumbo shrimp was "all-that"

The service was outstanding.

The only thing I didn't like was outside the restaurant, it smelled like cigarette smoke (casino area)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food.

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We arrived a little early and were able to be seated right away. Our waitress was very friendly even though it took our table quite some time to choose our wine. She even offered a taste of each wine when we got it whittled down to two. The mashed potatoes were FABULOUS! Nice atmosphere. Not too noisy even though it was at a casino. Will be going again.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No for restaurant week

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

I was disappointed in the restaurant week menu. This is supposed to be a "steak" place. I don't consider prime rib, chicken or salmon viable steak options. Service was good. Our server did mess up on our bill. But corrected right away.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Always good

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Have been here several times. Service and food is always good. Menu has just changed. New items were very good

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Good food. Servers very nice and accommodating from waiter to hostess to the young lady that cleared our table. Smiles all around. Was able to smell the casino cigarette smoke on entry through the bar but not much noticeable while dining. Food was good. Tried restaurant week menu. Corn from the cob flavorful but tough. Chicken with crab Wellington very flavorful and med rare prime rib very good. Would go back for a special occasion perhaps. Prices a little high on regular menu.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Of the 5 restaurants we visited during r ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Of the 5 restaurants we visited during restaurant week, this one was the poorest experience.

We had a reservation for 5pm. We were promptly seated by the bartender who was quite friendly and outgoing. I wish the same could be said for our server. Throughout our dinner she was not friendly, came across as a know it all, and passive aggressive with many of her comments.

Our food was ok. Way overpriced. The entire menu was overpriced regardless of restaurant week or not. The server raved about the corn....it is canned corn. Nothing special at all. The potatoes were bland.

37 Steak seems to have an identity crisis. They have a beautiful restaurant, but they are in the middle of a smoke filled casino. They charge very high prices for food that tastes like it came from a low budget buffet. And the server was wearing jeans?? If you want to charge high prices, you need polished staff, that are polite and dressed well. And food that tastes like it wasn't sourced from Sysco. In this case, you can put lipstick on a pig, but it's still a pig. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.