About 37 Steak - Harrah's

1 Riverboat Drive
North Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Do you want steak or do you want an experience? '37 Steak is not about dinner and drinks. It's an indulgence for all your senses. Every detail of your cocktail is carefully considered: the mix, the ice, the glass, the temperature. If that's what '37 does for your beverage imagine what we do for your meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Chouteau Trafficway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 889-7037

Website:
http://www.37steak.com/

Parking Details:
We provide Free Valet Parking.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer 3 Private Dining rooms which allows us to accomodate almost any size group for your Special Event or Occasion. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of three very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Private Party Contact:
BB Jorjadze: (816) 889-7037

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

37 Steak - Harrah's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Romantic (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (9)
Private Room (8)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (5)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Authentic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent menu, General Manager a total pro. Great menu done to perfection.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was not at all please. The date menu was just horrible. The wine was good. Was hungry when I left. Didn't complain. Paid my bill and left. Won't be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The best part of our dining experience was our server. She was fantastic and very friendly. The KC Strip had very good flavor and the potatoes au gratin with poblano peppers is a must-have side dish. The ribeye was somewhat disappointing and slightly overcooked. The asparagus was not good at all. Not even edible. The restaurant atmosphere was excellent. Very quiet even though the dining room was nearly full.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I celebrated Valentine 's date night at 37 Steak. I had the Seafood Pasta and my wife had the 12 oz. Prime Rib. The food and service was great! This was our first time eating at 37 Steak and look forward to our next dinner there.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Hungry for a great steak 37 Steak is a great choice. Three of us got together for a long-time-no-see catchup dinner and could not have enjoyed this place more. The filet and prime rib were spot on and you will NOT leave hungry. Everything is ala carte but be prepared for ginormous sides. And do not miss the great salads. Service was friendly and efficient. Atmosphere comfortable considering it's in a casino. The bar is vibrant and the noise level not too bad. Will definitely go back when appetites are large and in search of a great beef experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Terrific steaks and cocktails. Really amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was good and the portions were larger than expected. The atmosphere was great for quiet conversations. The service itself was great and we even had a visit from the manager which is nice. Have to recommend the Candy Bacon as an appetizer and the Garlic Butter Mashers were excellent :)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was our first time here and it was a very pleasant time. Food was great and the service was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Love 37 Steak! Tonight the steak was a little over cooked and our food came out seperate but all in all an ok experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good, my steak was not cooked correctly. Service was great, both waitresses were super friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great experience. We attended for restaurant week with some friends and were surprised by how great the food was and it was very quiet for being inside a casino.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went for Restaurant week. We were pleasantly pleased with the food, service and selection of the menu. The Staff went out of there way to make it a nice evening. We will go again for sure!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Expensive over cooked prime rib. Went here last year and it was fine. This year the prime rib was cold very fatty Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had four persons in our family party. John was our waiter, as we usually ask to sit in his section as he always provides very attentive service. Two of us ordered from the KC restaurant week menu, which was a really great deal for $33 per person: the first restaurant week menu selected was a 6oz. Filet, spinach salad w/walnuts, blue cheese & vinaigrette, and Tiramisu for dessert. a perfect dinner for my 92 yr old Mother. We also ordered a side of garlic mashers for her, as those are her favorite (and the portion is so large she has some to take home which she also enjoys). The 2nd selection was a Caesar salad, a 6oz lobster tail and the cheesecake w/berries for dessert, which was shared with the table. The two other diners selected the Rib eye, and an 8oz. Filet. 2 baked potatoes were also ordered and a side of sautéed mushrooms along with two made to order house salads (the other diners only like very basic salad ingredients like lettuce, tomato, onion and bacon bits with ranch dressing.) 37 doesn't have this type of salad as one of their regular menu selections, but they are happy to make it for you. All of the steaks were cooked perfectly, and the lobster was also excellent. The desserts were very good and enjoyed by 3 diners. The dining room decor is attractive and the volume of the music was low enough to allow for easy conversation. Overall, it was a very satisfactory family celebration!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food and great service. The candies bacon is delicious! Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Really nice atmosphere and food. It was a very intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always enjoy a trip to 37! Food is always great, the atmosphere just lovely, and get to visit with our favorite waiter, Victor!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was awesome and staff very very pleasant. We had a very good time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The martini with hand stuffed Bleu cheese olives was great but the food quality was poor. Came for restaurant week and was very disappointed by the simple pesto pasta side to the lobster tail. Restaurant atmosphere had no ambiance, lounge area had much more ambiance. Hostess and server were very friendly. Very overpriced for the quality. Capital Grille beats the quality any day for the same price. Would not return or recommend it to others except to just have a drink in the lounge.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The service at '37 Steak was great, everyone was very polite and accommodating. I had the tiramisu for dessert which was delicious! The bread basket and herbed butter was also very tasty, I'm a sucker for warm bread and room temperature butter. My salad and entree however were a bit to be desired. My boyfriend and I both had the Caesar salad, which was fine but definitely nothing special. The dressing was lacking flavor and intensity that a Cesar salad should have. My boyfriend had the filet with white asparagus, which was cooked well and the filet was tender but it was COLD! For my entree I had the lobster tail with basil pesto linguini. The pasta was cooked well and the pesto was good but overall just lacking some SERIOUS salt. And the lobster was a little tough and chewy, and I just think that if you're paying as much for a meal as we did, the lobster shouldn't be chewy. So it wasn't the worst meal I've ever had but we're still not returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We dine here occasionally, when we desire excellent food, friendly and efficient service, and a quiet meal. We have never been disappointed and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best filet mignon I have had in a while. Cooked to perfection. The salad and seafood chowder were delicious. The mashed garlic potatoes and grilled asparagus were perfectly coooked. We had great service and good cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place for a first date or 50th anniversary. We had cocktails and the the candied bacon appetizer, then followed it up with the best steak and rotisserie chicken we have had in KC! Recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy great food without all the parking problems that come with the downtown upper scale restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We eat here often so we weren't surprised to see new items on the menu to try. My wife had a 5 oz blue cheese encrusted filet which was just the right size. I had two new appetizers as my meal - lamb lollipops and bacon wrapped scallops. All were terrific. And the garlic mashed potatoes were perfect - creamy and buttery!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The cost of steak should include the sides. $8.00 for fries and another $8.00 for corn is ridiculous!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Anniversary dinner. My steak ordered medium rare came out medium well. Returned to Kitchen with sides came out 15 minutes later with no sides. Worse yet the steak was cooked rare. None of this is acceptable in my opinion for a steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

When 37 steak originally opens, the meal, presentation and staff were amazing. The last two times we went, the staff was friendly and helpful but the food was moderate. I do not know if they are just catering to the free meals and have put aside the paying clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great Food! Outstanding Service! The best Overall Service in all the opportunities we have had to dine there.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I waiter John was excellent, but one thing was we had to wait 45 minutes for our center cut steaks, never had to wait that long for a steak at all ever. Food was awesome though, plus Sangrias were FIRE!!! Meaning they were top notch. Definitely will return but I will get on them next time if I have to wait that long, this was a birthday dinner for my wife, and our reservations were at 7:00, we ordered around 7:20 and we didn't get our main meal till 8:18, but it messed up our birthday schedule and we had cancel an event we had planned since our steaks took an hour almost, other than that it was a great dining experience, me and wife loved Caesar salad, oh the oysters and the BACON it melted in your mouth, sangrias n corn, mash taters, and Steaks were all very good!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was great and the service was excellent. Thank you so much.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Heard they had good steak. Food was just ok & very expensive. All the sides seemed poorly and repetitively reheated. Cocktail was good, service was good.....tried it once and certainly don't need to go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food, wine, service all exceptional! Will return.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

There were a few setbacks, but nothing that wasn't quickly corrected or handled in a very proper manner and greatly appreciated. Nothing that will keep us from going back. The manager and our server were absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a pleasure eating at 37. One of the steaks was overcooked, but the management and our waitress (Brandy) made everything right. A small bump in an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

the service was wonderful, waitress outstanding Jaclyn!! met the supervisor ! other staff spoke as they passed buy, it was a nice dining expierence

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and great service. Our waiter went above and beyond explaining the menu and wine list. Was very prompt as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Exceptional service!!!!!! Must try the candied bacon appetizer. Sooooooo good!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was just average but had a top of the line price. The service was good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent for and service as always!!!! I have been going here since it opened and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Try the candied bacon to start but its sweet great to share. Steaks are outstanding and potato gratin is outstanding, Donuts are great to share.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I ordered the flounder. It was a large flaky piece of fish but bland. I love squash but didn't like the squash side that came w/ the fish. I ordered the mac and cheese side that was good. My husband had the ribeye, it was cooked perfect but had a rough texture but tender with a large baked potato. For the money, I would not recommend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This restaurant is a hidden gem that deserves 5 stars all around. With outstanding service and top notch recipes this steakhouse is sure to please. The melt-in-your-mouth spicy, candied bacon appetizer is a must try, I've yet to find anything like it! Follow it up with a perfectly prepared prime rib and a wide variety of gourmet side dishes. I couldn't pass up dessert and although it was hard to choose, we certainly were not disappointed with the fried bread pudding bites. 37 Steak has become one of my top recommendations for the Kansas City area dining scene!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at 37 a couple of times now and the food has always been delicious. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the service was great. I would suggest trying the spicy candied bacon as well as one of their signature cocktails. You should definitely check this restaurant out if you're looking for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent service throughout the meal. If you're going to eat here, do yourself a favor and order the spicy candied bacon; it's delicious. My husband and I both had the 16oz prime rib prepared medium rare. The steaks were great; juicy, tender, and cooked perfectly. Our waiter spaced the courses out, so we didn't feel rushed, and provided great wine pairing recommendations. We've already made plans to return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food wasn't as good as it was a year ago and prices seemed higher.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The decor especially the chairs in dining room looked cheap and the pattern was ugly!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I ordered the chicken meal it was vile I could not believe how small the chicken breast was it must have been from a Cornish hen. The sauce was detestable, the vegetable was flavorless and hard. My spouse did not like his porkchop that was not tasty. We will not return to the 37 ever again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent service, atmosphere permitted conversation, food well timed, beautifully presented, and well prepared. (Attractive menu offerings were difficult to read; dark pages in darkened setting.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2016

New menu is not as good as in the past and wish they could have stayed with the old menu items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.