About 37 Steak - Harrah's

1 Riverboat Drive
North Kansas City, MO 64116
View Larger Map

Do you want steak or do you want an experience? '37 Steak is not about dinner and drinks. It's an indulgence for all your senses. Every detail of your cocktail is carefully considered: the mix, the ice, the glass, the temperature. If that's what '37 does for your beverage imagine what we do for your meal.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm.

Cross Street:
Chouteau Trafficway

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 889-7037

Website:
http://www.37steak.com/

Parking Details:
We provide Free Valet Parking.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer 3 Private Dining rooms which allows us to accomodate almost any size group for your Special Event or Occasion. Custom or à la Carte menus, full audiovisual support in the choice of three very unique rooms. Let us do the work while you take all the credit.

Private Party Contact:
BB Jorjadze: 8168897037x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

37 Steak - Harrah's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Romantic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Fireplace (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Private Room (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The martini with hand stuffed Bleu chees ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The martini with hand stuffed Bleu cheese olives was great but the food quality was poor. Came for restaurant week and was very disappointed by the simple pesto pasta side to the lobster tail. Restaurant atmosphere had no ambiance, lounge area had much more ambiance. Hostess and server were very friendly. Very overpriced for the quality. Capital Grille beats the quality any day for the same price. Would not return or recommend it to others except to just have a drink in the lounge.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The service at '37 Steak was great, ever ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

The service at '37 Steak was great, everyone was very polite and accommodating. I had the tiramisu for dessert which was delicious! The bread basket and herbed butter was also very tasty, I'm a sucker for warm bread and room temperature butter. My salad and entree however were a bit to be desired. My boyfriend and I both had the Caesar salad, which was fine but definitely nothing special. The dressing was lacking flavor and intensity that a Cesar salad should have. My boyfriend had the filet with white asparagus, which was cooked well and the filet was tender but it was COLD! For my entree I had the lobster tail with basil pesto linguini. The pasta was cooked well and the pesto was good but overall just lacking some SERIOUS salt. And the lobster was a little tough and chewy, and I just think that if you're paying as much for a meal as we did, the lobster shouldn't be chewy. So it wasn't the worst meal I've ever had but we're still not returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Best filet mignon I have had in a while. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best filet mignon I have had in a while. Cooked to perfection. The salad and seafood chowder were delicious. The mashed garlic potatoes and grilled asparagus were perfectly coooked. We had great service and good cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place for a first date or 50th ann ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place for a first date or 50th anniversary. We had cocktails and the the candied bacon appetizer, then followed it up with the best steak and rotisserie chicken we have had in KC! Recommend it to anyone looking to enjoy great food without all the parking problems that come with the downtown upper scale restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat here often so we weren't surprise ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We eat here often so we weren't surprised to see new items on the menu to try. My wife had a 5 oz blue cheese encrusted filet which was just the right size. I had two new appetizers as my meal - lamb lollipops and bacon wrapped scallops. All were terrific. And the garlic mashed potatoes were perfect - creamy and buttery!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The cost of steak should include the sid ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The cost of steak should include the sides. $8.00 for fries and another $8.00 for corn is ridiculous!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

New Years Eve

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner. My steak ordered med ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Anniversary dinner. My steak ordered medium rare came out medium well. Returned to Kitchen with sides came out 15 minutes later with no sides. Worse yet the steak was cooked rare. None of this is acceptable in my opinion for a steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

When 37 steak originally opens, the meal ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

When 37 steak originally opens, the meal, presentation and staff were amazing. The last two times we went, the staff was friendly and helpful but the food was moderate. I do not know if they are just catering to the free meals and have put aside the paying clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food! Outstanding Service! The be ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great Food! Outstanding Service! The best Overall Service in all the opportunities we have had to dine there.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I waiter John was excellent, but one thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I waiter John was excellent, but one thing was we had to wait 45 minutes for our center cut steaks, never had to wait that long for a steak at all ever. Food was awesome though, plus Sangrias were FIRE!!! Meaning they were top notch. Definitely will return but I will get on them next time if I have to wait that long, this was a birthday dinner for my wife, and our reservations were at 7:00, we ordered around 7:20 and we didn't get our main meal till 8:18, but it messed up our birthday schedule and we had cancel an event we had planned since our steaks took an hour almost, other than that it was a great dining experience, me and wife loved Caesar salad, oh the oysters and the BACON it melted in your mouth, sangrias n corn, mash taters, and Steaks were all very good!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great and the service was excel ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was great and the service was excellent. Thank you so much.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heard they had good steak. Food was just ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Heard they had good steak. Food was just ok & very expensive. All the sides seemed poorly and repetitively reheated. Cocktail was good, service was good.....tried it once and certainly don't need to go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food, wine, service all exceptional! W ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Food, wine, service all exceptional! Will return.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There were a few setbacks, but nothing t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

There were a few setbacks, but nothing that wasn't quickly corrected or handled in a very proper manner and greatly appreciated. Nothing that will keep us from going back. The manager and our server were absolutely wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a pleasure eating at 37. One of t ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always a pleasure eating at 37. One of the steaks was overcooked, but the management and our waitress (Brandy) made everything right. A small bump in an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was wonderful, waitress outs ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 26, 2016

the service was wonderful, waitress outstanding Jaclyn!! met the supervisor ! other staff spoke as they passed buy, it was a nice dining expierence

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Our waiter ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and great service. Our waiter went above and beyond explaining the menu and wine list. Was very prompt as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere. Exceptional ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Exceptional service!!!!!! Must try the candied bacon appetizer. Sooooooo good!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was just average but had a top ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was just average but had a top of the line price. The service was good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent for and service as always!!!! ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excellent for and service as always!!!! I have been going here since it opened and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the candied bacon to start but its s ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Try the candied bacon to start but its sweet great to share. Steaks are outstanding and potato gratin is outstanding, Donuts are great to share.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I ordered the flounder. It was a large f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I ordered the flounder. It was a large flaky piece of fish but bland. I love squash but didn't like the squash side that came w/ the fish. I ordered the mac and cheese side that was good. My husband had the ribeye, it was cooked perfect but had a rough texture but tender with a large baked potato. For the money, I would not recommend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This restaurant is a hidden gem that des ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This restaurant is a hidden gem that deserves 5 stars all around. With outstanding service and top notch recipes this steakhouse is sure to please. The melt-in-your-mouth spicy, candied bacon appetizer is a must try, I've yet to find anything like it! Follow it up with a perfectly prepared prime rib and a wide variety of gourmet side dishes. I couldn't pass up dessert and although it was hard to choose, we certainly were not disappointed with the fried bread pudding bites. 37 Steak has become one of my top recommendations for the Kansas City area dining scene!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have eaten at 37 a couple ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at 37 a couple of times now and the food has always been delicious. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the service was great. I would suggest trying the spicy candied bacon as well as one of their signature cocktails. You should definitely check this restaurant out if you're looking for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service throughout the meal. I ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Excellent service throughout the meal. If you're going to eat here, do yourself a favor and order the spicy candied bacon; it's delicious. My husband and I both had the 16oz prime rib prepared medium rare. The steaks were great; juicy, tender, and cooked perfectly. Our waiter spaced the courses out, so we didn't feel rushed, and provided great wine pairing recommendations. We've already made plans to return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't as good as it was a year ago ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food wasn't as good as it was a year ago and prices seemed higher.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The decor especially the chairs in dinin ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The decor especially the chairs in dining room looked cheap and the pattern was ugly!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I ordered the chicken meal it was vile ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I ordered the chicken meal it was vile I could not believe how small the chicken breast was it must have been from a Cornish hen. The sauce was detestable, the vegetable was flavorless and hard. My spouse did not like his porkchop that was not tasty. We will not return to the 37 ever again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Excellent service, atmosphere permitted ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent service, atmosphere permitted conversation, food well timed, beautifully presented, and well prepared. (Attractive menu offerings were difficult to read; dark pages in darkened setting.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New menu is not as good as in the past a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2016

New menu is not as good as in the past and wish they could have stayed with the old menu items.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I had steaks, both had the f ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I had steaks, both had the filets, they were very good. I had mushrooms, which were not good, pretty bland, and a baked potato, which may sound silly,as how can you ruin a baked potatoe, but it also was pretty bland. My wife had brussel spouts, which she said had strong and bitter taste. The waitress did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overcooked 36 dollar steak, manager rude ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Overcooked 36 dollar steak, manager rude to us for it. No comp on steak instead free dessert that had plastic pieces in it. Just a bad experience. Otherwise the other food was good. Server was great! Nice atmosphere, no smoke smell from casino area. But, managers poor attitude ruined dinner experience.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service, terrible value

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server was absolutely exceptional,and the only reason I would try the place again. The food was not up to par for being fine dining.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great Meal

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 2, 2016

I enjoyed the food so much everything was as we asked for and the wine was excellent. Service was outstanding and meal was served quickly and as you would expect

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were fantastic! Asparagus was per ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Steaks were fantastic! Asparagus was perfectly prepared. Dessert was ok. Ask to be seated in main dining room for a better ambiance for a long dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Loved the bar staff!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The manager also checked in our table several times. Very nice experience and great food!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner as usual is very good and the atm ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Dinner as usual is very good and the atmosphere is a welcome change from the noise in the casino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing drinks, amazing food and phenome ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Amazing drinks, amazing food and phenomenal people!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Ambiance great,service great,prime rib average at best,aus jus very average, crab Mac/cheese on the bland side...I could have done this better at home myself ...almost $200 for two people after 20+% tip...not worth it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.