About 350 First - Doubletree Hilton

Welcome to 350 First! We proudly boast the best American cuisine paired with the best view Cedar Rapids has to offer. Enjoy our breakfast buffet, an all day dining menu for lunch and an elegant dinner menu with steaks and chops.
From Cedar Rapids and unsure where to park when joining us for dinner? Mention to your server you used the hotel's valet service and we will validate to make your night out on the town complete!

350 First Avenue NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

6:30am-12pm Saturday-Sunday

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 731-4483

Website:
http://doubletree3.hilton.com/en/hotels/iowa/doubletree-by-hilton-hotel-cedar-rapids-convention-complex-CIDCCDT/dining/index.htm

Parking Details:
Guests can use self parking located across the street, there is metered parking during the weekdays, open street parking in the evening and weekends.
The hotel will also offer valet parking to both hotel and restaurant parking.

Public Transit:
Public transportation drops right outside of the building on 1st Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Wallen

Private Party Facilities:
Entertain your clients, friends and family in our Parlor Ball Room located on the 16th floor of the DoubleTree hotel. We have the ability to host a group of up to 120 in the Parlor Ball Room. Offerings include Limited menu from 350 First or our Catering menu.

Private Party Contact:
Brianne Stone: (855) 548-0040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

350 First - Doubletree Hilton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (7)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Nice fine dining spot - above the rest in the area. Great ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food and atmosphere were excellent! However, our server was unbelievably slow and inattentive. It was not crowded but yet still took about an hour to eat because the waitress seemed to keep forgetting we were there. We will definitely give it another try and hopefully have better service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife found this establishment as an option for our pre-concert dining. Our food was served hot and in a fairly timely manner, and exceeded expectations for the cost. The scenery of downtown Cedar Rapids and the river were breathtaking and added to the dining experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great, but wish there were a couple other options to chose from for entrees. But would definitely recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely incredible experience. The food was the best I've ever had in a restaurant, the chefs cutting board app. was fresh and tasteful, scallops were sweet and mild, expertly cooked. Great atmosphere and view. I want to come back soon and try their lunch menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Where to begin? To the person on the phone who said I didn't have a reservation even though I booked it through this website. The Valet Attendant who could not parallel park? The one waitress working on Valentines Day who was loud non-observant, forgetful, but very apologetic? I thought my name was "I'm Sorry",because at every step of the dinner from forgetting the bread to forgetting drinks to forgetting and forgetting she approached our table saying "I"m Sorry." I can't be mad at her though since she was the only waitress working on Valentines Day (I'd be stressed out too). Maybe I should begin with the bait and switch on the menu. I made my reservation two weeks in advance. Nothing on this site nor did anyone say when I called to confirm the reservation that there was a special over-priced menu for Valentines Day. $70.00 per plate! OMG-wait until you hear about the food.The person who sat us didn't ask if we wanted the regular menu so I assumed they switched the kitchen around for the "special"plates.After we order someone sits down and orders off the regular menu.Okay, so what did we get for $70.00? Some weird chocolate infused butter to go on dry old bread. After seeing my wife make the face of a five year old who just tried liver for the first time, I decided to pass. Forgotten drinks.A salad.oh dear Lord-the salad.In a small bowl-romaine lettuce 1/4 of a sliced strawberry and crushed crouton on top it had the look and consistency of something rolling past you on a rickety cart on an airplane (That's it.apparently they could not afford a whole crouton or strawberry for may $70.00 plate!).The main disaster.My wife ordered the chicken.I think it was a chicken.It had the look of a chicken white meat with some kind of random bone sticking out of it. Oh out of space-run or get Rick from the Walking Dead as there is one waitress working, but four people dressed in suits walking around like zombies (I'm not certain what they do-but they sure are creepy).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great meal at 350 on First. The service was outstanding, I had a great new wine and really enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was great and the food marvelous..a great view of the city

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Spent my 10 year anniversary here. Perfect date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was very yummy. Server was very knowledgeable. Even let me try two types of wine before choosing. But very, very expesnsive. Pry won't return buy every couple of years unless the price goes down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our first dining experience and we will not return. Service was very slow. Servers were unprofessional. Food was cold. Very Disappointed!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great night, with great food and view. We have never been to 350, we will be back again. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We made a last minute reservation for a birthday date night. We had amazing service and the food was great. Even got a nice birthday dessert! Will definitely reccomend to friends and family.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Unfortunately I am not a big fan of the new menu. Lots of items with glaze and "mystery sauce". I ordered the veggies steamed and they came super dry. The waitress was amazing, the scenery amazing, and the service great - but the food was so so. My steak was good, my husband's burger was super dried out. I don't know - I like coming here, but was not super impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Took my wife for our anniversary. As it was a weeknight, the restaurant was very quiet and cozy. Food was excellent and service was second to none. They even served us a complimentary cheese cake dessert with Happy Anniversary written on the plate. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Staff was so helpful and accommodating. Food was very good

Tags: Scenic View, Vegan, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Went here on a Tuesday evening for my fiancée's birthday. Nice and quiet, plus it was almost empty so we were seated on the First Ave side. So with the best seats in the house and almost exclusive service from our waitress we had an awesome time! We both had seafood dishes and we thought they were very good quality. The staff even put a special birthday touch on my fiancée's dessert! It had been over 30 years since I'd been there, not waiting that long to return!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My wife and I recently went to 350 First for dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had never been there before but had heard good things. Overall we were impressed with the quality of the food (flavor, presentation, temp of food), but for the price ($36 for mine, $32 for hers), we expected the portions to be a bit larger. However, the cauliflower soup was excellent and for a cup was a large portion. My wife's creme brulee was just okay, but my carrot cake was outstanding. We were surprised no bread or rolls were offered, even though there were bread plates on the table. While our server was very nice and attentive (we gave her close to a 20% tip), it seemed she was not that familiar with the menu, in fact we wondered if she was new there. When we asked a few questions she was hesitant with her answers or didn’t know and had to check. It also seems that whoever is responsible for keeping menus clean is not doing their job. The first menu I touched had some kind of sticky liqueur all over the back of it and got all over my hands. The dessert menu also was dirty. This may seem picky, but when you are paying high end prices for fine dining, you expect not only great food but an exceptional dining experience. At the end of our meal, we talked to the manager regarding validating our parking and he was polite and professional, and reimbursed us the parking fee which we had to pay upfront due to a concert next door. Based on our experience we would give 350 First a score of 7 out of 10, mainly due to the inexperienced staff and the dirty menus which we don't expect anywhere, let alone in a fine dining atmosphere. We may go back in the future, but we would hesitate to recommend the restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always a great experience and great food. My wife and I go here for date night and they never disappoint. Highly recommend for taking that someone special or even a business dinner. The food is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food and view that special occasion! Staff and service was professional, we appreciated our waitress :)

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had an exceptional time here! We would definitely recommend 350 to others and will be back. Our drinks, bread and meal were paced perfectly. Charlotte our waitress did a fantastic job and was so attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time here with girlfriends. Everything was great. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Kyle was great waiter! Friendly, comfortable, great food with very good value. I had the crab sandwich that was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were attending an event in the convention center, and so it was very convenient. Due to the concert the restaurant was quite busy. Despite how busy the staff was, they were courteous and efficient.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our reservation was for 545. It took almost 45 minutes to get our appetizers and when we left at 7:25 we still had not been served our dinner. Needless to say I am not planning on ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have always wanted to go here and had never had a chance, or quite frankly remembered it was there. We went on a Monday night so it was nice and quiet (which we were looking for to have a nice date night). The drinks were great, I had their 14 Hands Cabernet and my boyfriend had a dirty martini (which was great -- we're both lovers of dirties and this was made just right).

We decided to get the cutting board--which was delicious--but the waitress didn't explain it at all. I work at a local brewery and we have a Charcuterie & Cheese Board, with similar items and we always explain what is on the appetizer so our guests know. Luckily I knew most of what was on there, but the explanation would have been nice.

I ordered the Steak, Mac n' Cheese entree. I ordered the steak medium-medium, rare and it came out well done. There is nothing worse than a well done steak in my mind. It came out sliced up already, so the chef and waitress would be able to see there was no pink/red at all. I really hate complaining about food since I've been a server/bartender for 13 years, especially if it's something minor and I just wanted to have a calm, nice night so I ate it as is.

My boyfriend had the scallops and said they were amazing and finished the whole plate. We ordered the cheesecake to go (we never get dessert) but it was blueberry and ate it when we got home with a glass of wine and it was very good!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great dining experience and great view of beautiful downtown Cedar Rapids!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Table for 6 and we were put overlooking Quaker Oats! Restaurant was nearly empty. We would have preferred other side of room with better view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great view of the city and a nice setting... but overpriced. Dinner for two with one appetizer and two adult drinks + tax was more than $100. I'd say the menu was overpriced by around 20 - 25%.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday at 350 First. Everything about the experience was wonderful. The food (breakfast buffet) was delicious, the staff was polite, and the atmosphere was comfortable. The price was reasonable as well. I would definitely go back. Thank you for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This place is really great - too bad so few people use it! Great bar, good food, great service. And a wonderful view. I think everyone should try this place....

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall it was a lovely dinner. our waitress was excellent. The ambiance was beautiful, very relaxing. The cheese plate was fabulous. The salad was average (nothing special, I could have made it at home). I forget the name but it had grapes in it . My flat-iron steak was wonderful. ....best steak I've had in a long time.
My biggest complaint......when I made the reservation, I said we had tickets to the theater at 7:30 (right across the street). Our reservation was at 5:30 which allowed 2 hours, yet we STILL were rushed and did not have time for dessert. We were disappointed in how incredibly slow our food came out...and there were barely any people in the dining room, 5-6 tables at most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Came in on prom night with reservations. We got seated by our host then waited for 30 minutes until the same host came back to our table to tell us that our server didn't know we were there and he "guesses he can take our order." So the host takes our order, doesn't ask if we wanted anything to drink besides water, and we didn't get any service besides getting our order taken. I had to find him to print out check.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2016

I was in Cedar Rapids on a pleasure trip, staying at the Doubletree, so on my first night, I chose to eat in the hotel, which is close to the Paramount Theater, which I was attending. The restaurant is on the top floor, and some of the tables offer a good view of the downtown area.

The food was good -- a step up from what you might expect from a hotel spot. The salmon was exceptionally tasty and moist. Good bar service and reasonable prices.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and food is amazing and we love the view! My wife and I keep coming back because they never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Nothing special for Mother's Day, just the standard brunch, menu or buffet. We ate off of the buffet and it was ok, but not great. Food was very acceptable, but nothing special. They did run out of gravy for the biscuits & gravy (Mom's favorite) and never refilled it in the hour we were there. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, but not so much with the rest of the staff. The place was probably a little over 50% full, so they were not terribly busy. The view kind of nice since it is on the top floor of the hotel (17 floors I think), but a little industrial on one side. If I did recommend it would probably be just for a different experience, not necessarily a great one.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 26, 2016

This place is a well-kept secret! The lunch experience is wonderful, and I have brought two different groups to dine there. All enjoyed the experience. And, I have recommended the restaurant to others. Our food was excellent, and the service was kind and personal.
The only thing I didn't like were the seats in the booth. They are too low and very uncomfortable, especially for short people like me.
However, as soon as I have another chance for lunch out, I'll be heading to the Doubletree again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is clearly competing in the upscale market. The price is upscale to match. Unfortunately, I chose a meal which I had recently had at a competitor and I found this version wanting. Being located in a downtown hotel, this is practically the only restaurant that is open downtown on Sunday evening. I am grateful for that, but, if more competition ever develops, they may have to step up their game.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 17, 2016

I felt it was overpriced for a Sunday Brunch that was pretty much a continental breakfast with some hot items that were slowly replenished. Our reservation was at 9:30 a.m. and all of the hot items were empty or had been sitting there for a very long time. It took almost 30 minutes for the items to be filled. The service was very slow and the made to order omelettes were horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Service and food were very good. Wait time was not bad at all. They have a nice wine list and bar choices. The food portions were not too large, not too small. Cost was reasonable. They went over and above by comping us a dessert as a gift, which was very nice indeed. The atmosphere is somewhat boring, with very little privacy. The view from the top is not much to look at, but at least it's from up high and not at ground level. We enjoyed our evening, and would recommend this restaurant. Another nice bonus is free valet parking from the hotel level when dining here. You just have to get your ticket validated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.