About 350 First - Doubletree Hilton



Welcome to 350 First! We proudly boast the best American cuisine paired with the best view Cedar Rapids has to offer. Enjoy our breakfast buffet, an all day dining menu for lunch and an elegant dinner menu with steaks and chops.
From Cedar Rapids and unsure where to park when joining us for dinner? Mention to your server you used the hotel's valet service and we will validate to make your night out on the town complete!

350 First Avenue NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Saturday-Sunday 6:30am-12pm

Lunch (Daily): 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner (Daily): 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 731-4483

Website:
http://www.doubletree3.hilton.com/en/hotels/iowa/doubletree-by-hilton-hotel-cedar-rapids-convention-complex-CIDCCDT/dining/index.html

Parking Details:
Guests can use self parking located across the street, there is metered parking during the weekdays, open street parking in the evening and weekends.
The hotel will also offer valet parking to both hotel and restaurant parking.

Public Transit:
Public transportation drops right outside of the building on 1st Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Wallen

Private Party Facilities:
Entertain your clients, friends and family in our Parlor Ball Room located on the 16th floor of the DoubleTree hotel. We have the ability to host a group of up to 120 in the Parlor Ball Room. Offerings include Limited menu from 350 First or our Catering menu.

Private Party Contact:
Brianne Stone: (855) 548-0040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

350 First - Doubletree Hilton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
208 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined a day ago

The restaurant is designed to provide a view of Cedar Rapids. It does an excellent job of that. The problem is, it is a view of Cedar Rapids. My wife and I were at a booth over looking the eyesore that is Quaker Oats.

We had $12 cocktails that were over sweet and under boozed. Had wine with our meal that was OK but overpriced and the wrong temperature.

$17 crab cakes were 90% filler, 10% low quality crab meat.

$32 scallops were cooked properly but served with cold, oddly flavored red pepper polenta. At least the cool temperature toned down the odd flavor.

Overall, this is Red Lobster with fine dining prices.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I chose 350 First for our 20th anniversary dinner. The food and service were excellent. Our server went our of her way to make our anniversary dinner special. The restaurant is on the 16th floor with large windows facing north and south, so it provides an excellent view of our city and the Cedar River. I recommend this restaurant for special occasions and and business dinners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was okay, but for what it cost it should have been much better than just okay. It was also very slow when I was there at 5:00 in the evening. I expected to see more of the wait staff.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was wonderful, and our server was, as well. Very friendly. My only complaint would be the food took way too long to come out. We were on a time crunch, and my colleague didn't get to finish her meal, because we had to leave.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Décor and views are great. We went for dinner, there was a nice menu selection. My husband ordered bone in rib eye. It was cooked properly, but lacked seasoning. The recommended wine on the menu turned out to be $17. I ordered mac and cheese, which had a good flavor, but was not hot.

I've been here for lunch, which offers a number of great selections at a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend lunch here. I would be hesitant to recommend dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very good food, great view of Cedar Rapids, efficient and friendly servers, nice presentation, interesting menu

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had great service and the food was amazing. Try the Bone in ribeye.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Family Style, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The wait time was terrible for our food. The place wasn't very busy and yet our food took over a half an hour to get to us after we ordered. I even asked how long the wait time would be to get our meal and I was told 10 to 15 minutes. I ordered a burger and it was dry. It was disappointing to say the least. And the menu was very limited for lunch time. We had 10 choices and that was it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As always the food and service was amazing. We have made this our regular date night location because it is constantly a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Nice fine dining spot - above the rest in the area. Great ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food and atmosphere were excellent! However, our server was unbelievably slow and inattentive. It was not crowded but yet still took about an hour to eat because the waitress seemed to keep forgetting we were there. We will definitely give it another try and hopefully have better service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife found this establishment as an option for our pre-concert dining. Our food was served hot and in a fairly timely manner, and exceeded expectations for the cost. The scenery of downtown Cedar Rapids and the river were breathtaking and added to the dining experience. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great, but wish there were a couple other options to chose from for entrees. But would definitely recommend!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely incredible experience. The food was the best I've ever had in a restaurant, the chefs cutting board app. was fresh and tasteful, scallops were sweet and mild, expertly cooked. Great atmosphere and view. I want to come back soon and try their lunch menu!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Where to begin? To the person on the phone who said I didn't have a reservation even though I booked it through this website. The Valet Attendant who could not parallel park? The one waitress working on Valentines Day who was loud non-observant, forgetful, but very apologetic? I thought my name was "I'm Sorry",because at every step of the dinner from forgetting the bread to forgetting drinks to forgetting and forgetting she approached our table saying "I"m Sorry." I can't be mad at her though since she was the only waitress working on Valentines Day (I'd be stressed out too). Maybe I should begin with the bait and switch on the menu. I made my reservation two weeks in advance. Nothing on this site nor did anyone say when I called to confirm the reservation that there was a special over-priced menu for Valentines Day. $70.00 per plate! OMG-wait until you hear about the food.The person who sat us didn't ask if we wanted the regular menu so I assumed they switched the kitchen around for the "special"plates.After we order someone sits down and orders off the regular menu.Okay, so what did we get for $70.00? Some weird chocolate infused butter to go on dry old bread. After seeing my wife make the face of a five year old who just tried liver for the first time, I decided to pass. Forgotten drinks.A salad.oh dear Lord-the salad.In a small bowl-romaine lettuce 1/4 of a sliced strawberry and crushed crouton on top it had the look and consistency of something rolling past you on a rickety cart on an airplane (That's it.apparently they could not afford a whole crouton or strawberry for may $70.00 plate!).The main disaster.My wife ordered the chicken.I think it was a chicken.It had the look of a chicken white meat with some kind of random bone sticking out of it. Oh out of space-run or get Rick from the Walking Dead as there is one waitress working, but four people dressed in suits walking around like zombies (I'm not certain what they do-but they sure are creepy).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had a great meal at 350 on First. The service was outstanding, I had a great new wine and really enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was great and the food marvelous..a great view of the city

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Spent my 10 year anniversary here. Perfect date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was very yummy. Server was very knowledgeable. Even let me try two types of wine before choosing. But very, very expesnsive. Pry won't return buy every couple of years unless the price goes down.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Our first dining experience and we will not return. Service was very slow. Servers were unprofessional. Food was cold. Very Disappointed!!!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great night, with great food and view. We have never been to 350, we will be back again. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We made a last minute reservation for a birthday date night. We had amazing service and the food was great. Even got a nice birthday dessert! Will definitely reccomend to friends and family.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Unfortunately I am not a big fan of the new menu. Lots of items with glaze and "mystery sauce". I ordered the veggies steamed and they came super dry. The waitress was amazing, the scenery amazing, and the service great - but the food was so so. My steak was good, my husband's burger was super dried out. I don't know - I like coming here, but was not super impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Took my wife for our anniversary. As it was a weeknight, the restaurant was very quiet and cozy. Food was excellent and service was second to none. They even served us a complimentary cheese cake dessert with Happy Anniversary written on the plate. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Staff was so helpful and accommodating. Food was very good

Tags: Scenic View, Vegan, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Went here on a Tuesday evening for my fiancée's birthday. Nice and quiet, plus it was almost empty so we were seated on the First Ave side. So with the best seats in the house and almost exclusive service from our waitress we had an awesome time! We both had seafood dishes and we thought they were very good quality. The staff even put a special birthday touch on my fiancée's dessert! It had been over 30 years since I'd been there, not waiting that long to return!

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My wife and I recently went to 350 First for dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had never been there before but had heard good things. Overall we were impressed with the quality of the food (flavor, presentation, temp of food), but for the price ($36 for mine, $32 for hers), we expected the portions to be a bit larger. However, the cauliflower soup was excellent and for a cup was a large portion. My wife's creme brulee was just okay, but my carrot cake was outstanding. We were surprised no bread or rolls were offered, even though there were bread plates on the table. While our server was very nice and attentive (we gave her close to a 20% tip), it seemed she was not that familiar with the menu, in fact we wondered if she was new there. When we asked a few questions she was hesitant with her answers or didn’t know and had to check. It also seems that whoever is responsible for keeping menus clean is not doing their job. The first menu I touched had some kind of sticky liqueur all over the back of it and got all over my hands. The dessert menu also was dirty. This may seem picky, but when you are paying high end prices for fine dining, you expect not only great food but an exceptional dining experience. At the end of our meal, we talked to the manager regarding validating our parking and he was polite and professional, and reimbursed us the parking fee which we had to pay upfront due to a concert next door. Based on our experience we would give 350 First a score of 7 out of 10, mainly due to the inexperienced staff and the dirty menus which we don't expect anywhere, let alone in a fine dining atmosphere. We may go back in the future, but we would hesitate to recommend the restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always a great experience and great food. My wife and I go here for date night and they never disappoint. Highly recommend for taking that someone special or even a business dinner. The food is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food and view that special occasion! Staff and service was professional, we appreciated our waitress :)

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had an exceptional time here! We would definitely recommend 350 to others and will be back. Our drinks, bread and meal were paced perfectly. Charlotte our waitress did a fantastic job and was so attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time here with girlfriends. Everything was great. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Kyle was great waiter! Friendly, comfortable, great food with very good value. I had the crab sandwich that was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were attending an event in the convention center, and so it was very convenient. Due to the concert the restaurant was quite busy. Despite how busy the staff was, they were courteous and efficient.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our reservation was for 545. It took almost 45 minutes to get our appetizers and when we left at 7:25 we still had not been served our dinner. Needless to say I am not planning on ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have always wanted to go here and had never had a chance, or quite frankly remembered it was there. We went on a Monday night so it was nice and quiet (which we were looking for to have a nice date night). The drinks were great, I had their 14 Hands Cabernet and my boyfriend had a dirty martini (which was great -- we're both lovers of dirties and this was made just right).

We decided to get the cutting board--which was delicious--but the waitress didn't explain it at all. I work at a local brewery and we have a Charcuterie & Cheese Board, with similar items and we always explain what is on the appetizer so our guests know. Luckily I knew most of what was on there, but the explanation would have been nice.

I ordered the Steak, Mac n' Cheese entree. I ordered the steak medium-medium, rare and it came out well done. There is nothing worse than a well done steak in my mind. It came out sliced up already, so the chef and waitress would be able to see there was no pink/red at all. I really hate complaining about food since I've been a server/bartender for 13 years, especially if it's something minor and I just wanted to have a calm, nice night so I ate it as is.

My boyfriend had the scallops and said they were amazing and finished the whole plate. We ordered the cheesecake to go (we never get dessert) but it was blueberry and ate it when we got home with a glass of wine and it was very good!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great dining experience and great view of beautiful downtown Cedar Rapids!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Table for 6 and we were put overlooking Quaker Oats! Restaurant was nearly empty. We would have preferred other side of room with better view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great view of the city and a nice setting... but overpriced. Dinner for two with one appetizer and two adult drinks + tax was more than $100. I'd say the menu was overpriced by around 20 - 25%.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday at 350 First. Everything about the experience was wonderful. The food (breakfast buffet) was delicious, the staff was polite, and the atmosphere was comfortable. The price was reasonable as well. I would definitely go back. Thank you for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

This place is really great - too bad so few people use it! Great bar, good food, great service. And a wonderful view. I think everyone should try this place....

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.