About 350 First - Doubletree Hilton

350 First Avenue NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
View Larger Map

Welcome to 350 First! We proudly boast the best American cuisine paired with the best view Cedar Rapids has to offer. Enjoy our breakfast buffet, an all day dining menu for lunch and an elegant dinner menu with steaks and chops.
From Cedar Rapids and unsure where to park when joining us for dinner? Mention to your server you used the hotel's valet service and we will validate to make your night out on the town complete!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 731-4483

Website:
http://doubletree3.hilton.com/en/hotels/iowa/doubletree-by-hilton-hotel-cedar-rapids-convention-complex-CIDCCDT/dining/index.htm

Parking Details:
Guests can use self parking located across the street, there is metered parking during the weekdays, open street parking in the evening and weekends.
The hotel will also offer valet parking to both hotel and restaurant parking.

Public Transit:
Public transportation drops right outside of the building on 1st Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Vera

Private Party Facilities:
Entertain your clients, friends and family in our Parlor Ball Room located on the 16th floor of the DoubleTree hotel. We have the ability to host a group of up to 150 in the Parlor Ball Room. Offerings include Limited menu from 350 First or our Catering menu.

Private Party Contact:
Kiel Schroeder & Dylan Hoppe: 8555480040

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

350 First - Doubletree Hilton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Cedar Rapids
Best Restaurants in Cedar Rapids ›

scenic view (19)
special occasion (16)
romantic (11)
See All
great for lunch (8)
good for groups (8)
fit for foodies (6)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
kid-friendly (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

underutilized and under advertised

Dined on June 5, 2016

This place is really great - too bad so few people use it! Great bar, good food, great service. And a wonderful view. I think everyone should try this place....

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Pre-theater dinner

Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall it was a lovely dinner. our waitress was excellent. The ambiance was beautiful, very relaxing. The cheese plate was fabulous. The salad was average (nothing special, I could have made it at home). I forget the name but it had grapes in it . My flat-iron steak was wonderful. ....best steak I've had in a long time. My biggest complaint......when I made the reservation, I said we had tickets to the theater at 7:30 (right across the street). Our reservation was at 5:30 which allowed 2 hours, yet we STILL were rushed and did not have time for dessert. We were disappointed in how incredibly slow our food came out...and there were barely any people in the dining room, 5-6 tables at most.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

No service on prom night

Dined on May 14, 2016

Came in on prom night with reservations. We got seated by our host then waited for 30 minutes until the same host came back to our table to tell us that our server didn't know we were there and he "guesses he can take our order." So the host takes our order, doesn't ask if we wanted anything to drink besides water, and we didn't get any service besides getting our order taken. I had to find him to print out check.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A Good Choice in a Hotel

Dined on May 10, 2016

I was in Cedar Rapids on a pleasure trip, staying at the Doubletree, so on my first night, I chose to eat in the hotel, which is close to the Paramount Theater, which I was attending. The restaurant is on the top floor, and some of the tables offer a good view of the downtown area. The food was good -- a step up from what you might expect from a hotel spot. The salmon was exceptionally tasty and moist. Good bar service and reasonable prices.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner!!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and food is amazing and we love the view! My wife and I keep coming back because they never disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Nothing special for Mother's Day, just the standard brunch, menu or buffet. We ate off of the buffet and it was ok, but not great. Food was very acceptable, but nothing special. They did run out of gravy for the biscuits & gravy (Mom's favorite) and never refilled it in the hour we were there. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, but not so much with the rest of the staff. The place was probably a little over 50% full, so they were not terribly busy. The view kind of nice since it is on the top floor of the hotel (17 floors I think), but a little industrial on one side. If I did recommend it would probably be just for a different experience, not necessarily a great one.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

$10 Lunch

Dined on April 26, 2016

This place is a well-kept secret! The lunch experience is wonderful, and I have brought two different groups to dine there. All enjoyed the experience. And, I have recommended the restaurant to others. Our food was excellent, and the service was kind and personal. The only thing I didn't like were the seats in the booth. They are too low and very uncomfortable, especially for short people like me. However, as soon as I have another chance for lunch out, I'll be heading to the Doubletree again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A disappointment at that price.

Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is clearly competing in the upscale market. The price is upscale to match. Unfortunately, I chose a meal which I had recently had at a competitor and I found this version wanting. Being located in a downtown hotel, this is practically the only restaurant that is open downtown on Sunday evening. I am grateful for that, but, if more competition ever develops, they may have to step up their game.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointing!

Dined on April 17, 2016

I felt it was overpriced for a Sunday Brunch that was pretty much a continental breakfast with some hot items that were slowly replenished. Our reservation was at 9:30 a.m. and all of the hot items were empty or had been sitting there for a very long time. It took almost 30 minutes for the items to be filled. The service was very slow and the made to order omelettes were horrible.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

350 First

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Service and food were very good. Wait time was not bad at all. They have a nice wine list and bar choices. The food portions were not too large, not too small. Cost was reasonable. They went over and above by comping us a dessert as a gift, which was very nice indeed. The atmosphere is somewhat boring, with very little privacy. The view from the top is not much to look at, but at least it's from up high and not at ground level. We enjoyed our evening, and would recommend this restaurant. Another nice bonus is free valet parking from the hotel level when dining here. You just have to get your ticket validated.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised!

Dined on March 6, 2016

First time...didn't know what to expect. Loved it! Incredible, friendly service, fabulous food for a decent price, especially "The Perfect 10" I will be back with friends!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience with awesome food

Dined on March 1, 2016

350 First was such a find, reservation process was easy with Open Table. Wonderful dining experience and great food. Highly recommended to drop by if you are in the Cedar Rapids area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service1

Available reservation times are deceivin ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Available reservation times are deceiving, mostly empty when we showed up for the first time slot we could get on Valentine's Day. We weren't asked about coat check, though it appeared to be available based on observation of others throughout the night. Sat for 15 minutes before any server interaction, and another 15 before ordering, despite the lack of patrons and plenty of staff standing around. Food was underwhelming, particularly with the high price tag.

food3
ambience3
service2

Service has seen a marked decline since ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service has seen a marked decline since opening. There have been menu changes that have not been updated to their website or to OpenTable, despite our server mentioning these changes were not incredibly recent. While the restaurant wants to be prime in location and price, dressing anything above casual will leave you feeling conspicuous as hotel guests arrive in shorts and flip-flops, even for evening meals. Combine this with the fact that merely getting to the restaurant is a chore thanks to the need to either Park in a parking garage (and navigate the Skywalk plus hotel lobby) or make use of the hotel valet which during events has a rate of $20 (seriously? This is Cedar Rapids, not downtown LA) and it becomes readily apparent that 350 First is just not worth the hassle. This is depressing in that when they first opened they showed promise but over time that has merely transformed into complacency. Instead of striving to provide an upscale dining experience, 350 First merely charges upscale rates while relying on location and a dearth of local competition to gloss over their underwhelming performance. TL:DR It's truly sad to say but 350 First has merely become another overpriced hotel restaurant that over-promises and under delivers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!!

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I love going to 350 1st the valet parking makes it very easy to just pull up and walk right in. The food is amazing and it very large portions. Would recommend to anybody looking for a romantic date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant.

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I took our nine year old granddaughter. We all had a good time. My wife will return. The only thing that bothered me is that I made the reservation a month in advance and requested a table at a window. When we arrived they said there were no tables at a window available as they had all been requested before I made such a request. I don't believe that whatsoever. I feel I was told a lie because I believe the matrie de was more than likely greased. People paid him to get a table at the window. I will not be convinced otherwise.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I love going here because it ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

My wife and I love going here because it's easy to get to with the free parking and the food is always amazing. The problem is now we have a hard time eating anyplace else.

food3
ambience5
service2

Food was mediocre, service was slow.

Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was mediocre, service was slow.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Salty Review

Dined on January 12, 2016

While this is a very nice restaurant we found the food to be slightly overpriced and very salty. Sorry, but there are better dining experiences in Cedar Rapids.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Anniversary visit

Dined on January 6, 2016

Nice Views - Quiet and well appointed. Not impressed with the food a bit. It was nice they gave us a desert, but the cupcakes were stale and the coffee was cold. I'll probably go back for a beer, but not for a meal.

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined on January 3, 2016

My wife and I went there for our anniversary. What a let down. The hostess did not greet us warmly at all. We were not given a beverage menu. When the waiter finally arrived he asked if we had seen the wine list. We had not. I overheard other wait staffers telling customers about specials and explaining more about what was available. None of that happened to us. Every time our waiter left we wondered how long it would take for him to come back this time. I asked the waiter about some of the ingredients listed in the menu because I wasn't familiar with them. I got a blank look and a "Uh, well, I'm not sure". Bottom line is we were not made to feel welcome or valued as customers. The food, however, was very good. I had the steak with mac & cheese. The chef stopped by to check on the food which was a nice touch.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the view of ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

The food was outstanding and the view of the city was great. Service was exceptional and our server, Lylah, answered all our questions. My dad, who is 91 years old, was very pleased with his steak and said he had not had one that tender and tasty in a long while. I will definitely be back!!!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Room for improvement

Dined on December 26, 2015

Let me start off by saying that the ambiance is good and our waitress was friendly, attentive and offered suggestions. Where this place falls short is the food; there's definitely room for improvement. I had the filet mignon which was just OK and my wife had the scallops which she totally disliked. The sides were similar but bland.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch

Dined on December 13, 2015

We enjoyed our time at the restaurant. The food was delicious and the view was great. We definitely plan to return to the restaurant for another meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

A lovely evening at 350 on first

Dined on December 5, 2015

We had a lovely evening at 350 on first. It was an odd night, as we came in and there was a lot going on at the hotel. There was a soccer game that night and the restaurant had gotten slammed with several big top tables. The staff handled this with grace and our food was still fast and service was outstanding. Our waitress was awesome. I had the gluten free scallops and my hubby had the filet. I would order the filet next time. The meats were awesome! Both of our sides were so so. I had the risotto...which was not my favorite (perhaps because I did ask for the sauce on the side) but my husbands vegetables were so so also. The mains are amazing. I also ordered a chop salad. I would have loved to see more veggies in the salad and less lettuce:) That is just me though. Anyway - great experience and we will be back again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

wonderful experience

Dined on December 3, 2015

It was our first time there. It was a lot of fun, very romantic. I enjoyed visiting with the chef. I look forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service5

Not impressed

Dined on November 26, 2015

We went to 350 first for Thanksgiving, and I must say for cost it was not worth it. We spend over 200.00 for 5 of us for Thanksgiving dinner and the meat (all different types) was very dry and not that good. The kale was simply gross, and then we have potatoes. That was pretty much it. There was a great dessert bar with amazing pastry's (no pie here) I guess we should have eaten the desserts and that's it. We have to be in Cedar Rapids every Thanksgiving for our sons Basketball season and we will not be going there again. Save your money and go somewhere else.

food4
ambience5
service5

A treat in Cedar Rapids

Dined on November 23, 2015

We chose 350 First for a family dinner to celebrate my mother's birthday. Everything was excellent from the valet parking to the view, service and dinner. For appetizers we sampled the crab cakes and shrimp cocktail - both were good but I would highly recommend the crab cakes. For dinner, I tasted the filet, walleye and pork - all entrees had excellent flavor and presentation. For the table we had mashed potatoes, green beans and spinach. The sides were not nearly as good as the entrees - green beans were a bit tough, potatoes and spinach a bit bland but I would still recommend the mashed potatoes. For dessert, we had cheesecake, chocolate torte and tiramisu sundae - all excellent flavor. I know that some of the reviews have complained about the prices but I truly felt that the quality of the food and service was well worth the price - it was a special occasion so prices were completely in line with my expectations. The service was really quite good - there weren't many in the restaurant when we were there, but the waitress and other servers were very pleasant and eager to please.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server asked what brought us out to ...

Dined on October 17, 2015

Our server asked what brought us out to 350 First and we told her we got married yesterday. She congratulated us and the manager came over to tell us our first round of drinks and our appetizer was on the house. My husband and I found that very thoughtful!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server was awesome! She took care o ...

Dined on October 4, 2015

Our server was awesome! She took care of us, brought us special wine and even took care of special anniversary desert! We sat in a booth which we love. The food was great, except for the dill potatoe salad (not a favorite), but our waitress took care of it immediatlet. We ate crab stuffed shrimp (super yummy) and steak. The carrot cake was to die for!!!!

food3
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on September 12, 2015

We were celebrating our 18th anniversary and live in Cedar Rapids. We were looking for a place in town that made it feel like we were out of town for a special dinner. It certainly did just that. Being able to see the city from the 16th floor of the Double Tree was great. The restaurant itself was beautifully decorated and luckily we got a window seat. Our waitress and hostess were nice and made our night feel special. The food was good, but honestly we walked away feeling like it was not that special. I ordered the Chicken Chop which was a piece of chicken with the bone exposed like a lamb chop, boiled with the skin on. It sat in a generous serving of garlic mashed potatoes which were average, a pool of brown "gravy" and some broccoli that was way overdone. My husband had the stuffed shrimp which was good, not great. I had a $12 White Cosmo in a very small glass. We were given dessert on the house, which was nice. For a meal over $100 in Cedar Rapids, I'd expect more.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food in Cedar Rapids!

Dined on August 19, 2015

We always enjoy dining at 350 first. The experience of the valet, the hotel, and the beautiful view are "the tops". My food was delicious! I usually order the crab stuffed shrimp and it did not disappoint. 4 large shrimp, stuffed with crab on a bed of sautéed spinach. Delicious! My husband usually gets the steak and this time ordered the pork chop. He did not like it as well, but ate the green beans! That is a good sign! Anyway, definitely plan for a relaxed dining experience. We were bummed that we did not get a booth, but our table was still quiet. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on July 25, 2015

Received a follow up call the day of the reservation. Informed them about my anniversary. Valet parking was awesome and our fee was paid for when we paid our bill. Waitress was alright, but not terrific. They did bring us two red velvet cupcakes compliments of the restaurant. The food was great! I had the plank Salmon with veggies and my wife had the garlic roasted chicken with potatoes. The Ceasar salad came with a parmesean chip that was awesome. Really a great experience. Prices were moderate to high, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2

Allow 2 1/2 hours if going to concert if ...

Dined on July 24, 2015

Allow 2 1/2 hours if going to concert if going to concert that night. The waitress was nice but service very slow, wait a long time for a drink. Garlic mashed potatoes were good but barely warm. The mushrooms served with steaks were very cold. The filet had no taste, luckily I ordered a bernaise sauce on the side to put on top which was good. The bone in ribeye was just OK, had better at many other places. The view is ok, nothing spectacular. I would only eat here again if attending concert and staying at The Double Tree.

food2
ambience4
service5

350 First

Dined on July 16, 2015

Service, view and restaurant design was excellent...but food was tasteless.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great dinner at 350 on 1st!

Dined on June 29, 2015

We sat in a booth and the view was so fun! Service was great. Great wine, great cocktails, and great food was had by all! My favorite was the stuffed shrimp - it was delicious! We will go back again for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wait staff!

Dined on June 13, 2015

Food was delicious as always and wait staff is second to none. Our go to eating place before an exciting CR Titans football game!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Great

Dined on May 29, 2015

Very delicious & great view! Loved the crab cakes. Everything has been tasty and good service

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience1
service3

Food is very average.

Dined on May 22, 2015

Cost excceds value provided. Acknowledgement not given for the special event, noted in the reservations.

food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. Go ...

Dined on May 14, 2015

Enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. Good food and good service.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.