About 350 First - Doubletree Hilton

350 First Avenue NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
View Larger Map

Welcome to 350 First! We proudly boast the best American cuisine paired with the best view Cedar Rapids has to offer. Enjoy our breakfast buffet, an all day dining menu for lunch and an elegant dinner menu with steaks and chops.
From Cedar Rapids and unsure where to park when joining us for dinner? Mention to your server you used the hotel's valet service and we will validate to make your night out on the town complete!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

6:30am-12pm Saturday-Sunday

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 731-4483

Website:
http://doubletree3.hilton.com/en/hotels/iowa/doubletree-by-hilton-hotel-cedar-rapids-convention-complex-CIDCCDT/dining/index.htm

Parking Details:
Guests can use self parking located across the street, there is metered parking during the weekdays, open street parking in the evening and weekends.
The hotel will also offer valet parking to both hotel and restaurant parking.

Public Transit:
Public transportation drops right outside of the building on 1st Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Wallen

Private Party Facilities:
Entertain your clients, friends and family in our Parlor Ball Room located on the 16th floor of the DoubleTree hotel. We have the ability to host a group of up to 120 in the Parlor Ball Room. Offerings include Limited menu from 350 First or our Catering menu.

Private Party Contact:
Brianne Stone: 8555480040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

350 First - Doubletree Hilton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Cedar Rapids
Best Restaurants in Cedar Rapids ›

Scenic View (16)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (8)
See All
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Waterfront (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Live Sports (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and view that special occ ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and view that special occasion! Staff and service was professional, we appreciated our waitress :)

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an exceptional time here! We woul ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had an exceptional time here! We would definitely recommend 350 to others and will be back. Our drinks, bread and meal were paced perfectly. Charlotte our waitress did a fantastic job and was so attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here with girlfriends. Every ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time here with girlfriends. Everything was great. We'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kyle was great waiter! Friendly, comfor ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Kyle was great waiter! Friendly, comfortable, great food with very good value. I had the crab sandwich that was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were attending an event in the conven ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were attending an event in the convention center, and so it was very convenient. Due to the concert the restaurant was quite busy. Despite how busy the staff was, they were courteous and efficient.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our reservation was for 545. It took alm ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our reservation was for 545. It took almost 45 minutes to get our appetizers and when we left at 7:25 we still had not been served our dinner. Needless to say I am not planning on ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We have always wanted to go here and had ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have always wanted to go here and had never had a chance, or quite frankly remembered it was there. We went on a Monday night so it was nice and quiet (which we were looking for to have a nice date night). The drinks were great, I had their 14 Hands Cabernet and my boyfriend had a dirty martini (which was great -- we're both lovers of dirties and this was made just right).

We decided to get the cutting board--which was delicious--but the waitress didn't explain it at all. I work at a local brewery and we have a Charcuterie & Cheese Board, with similar items and we always explain what is on the appetizer so our guests know. Luckily I knew most of what was on there, but the explanation would have been nice.

I ordered the Steak, Mac n' Cheese entree. I ordered the steak medium-medium, rare and it came out well done. There is nothing worse than a well done steak in my mind. It came out sliced up already, so the chef and waitress would be able to see there was no pink/red at all. I really hate complaining about food since I've been a server/bartender for 13 years, especially if it's something minor and I just wanted to have a calm, nice night so I ate it as is.

My boyfriend had the scallops and said they were amazing and finished the whole plate. We ordered the cheesecake to go (we never get dessert) but it was blueberry and ate it when we got home with a glass of wine and it was very good!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great dining experience and great view o ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great dining experience and great view of beautiful downtown Cedar Rapids!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table for 6 and we were put overlooking ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Table for 6 and we were put overlooking Quaker Oats! Restaurant was nearly empty. We would have preferred other side of room with better view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great view of the city and a nice settin ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great view of the city and a nice setting... but overpriced. Dinner for two with one appetizer and two adult drinks + tax was more than $100. I'd say the menu was overpriced by around 20 - 25%.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We celebrated a family birthday at 350 F ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday at 350 First. Everything about the experience was wonderful. The food (breakfast buffet) was delicious, the staff was polite, and the atmosphere was comfortable. The price was reasonable as well. I would definitely go back. Thank you for a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

underutilized and under advertised

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This place is really great - too bad so few people use it! Great bar, good food, great service. And a wonderful view. I think everyone should try this place....

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-theater dinner

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall it was a lovely dinner. our waitress was excellent. The ambiance was beautiful, very relaxing. The cheese plate was fabulous. The salad was average (nothing special, I could have made it at home). I forget the name but it had grapes in it . My flat-iron steak was wonderful. ....best steak I've had in a long time.

My biggest complaint......when I made the reservation, I said we had tickets to the theater at 7:30 (right across the street). Our reservation was at 5:30 which allowed 2 hours, yet we STILL were rushed and did not have time for dessert. We were disappointed in how incredibly slow our food came out...and there were barely any people in the dining room, 5-6 tables at most.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

No service on prom night

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Came in on prom night with reservations. We got seated by our host then waited for 30 minutes until the same host came back to our table to tell us that our server didn't know we were there and he "guesses he can take our order." So the host takes our order, doesn't ask if we wanted anything to drink besides water, and we didn't get any service besides getting our order taken. I had to find him to print out check.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

A Good Choice in a Hotel

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

I was in Cedar Rapids on a pleasure trip, staying at the Doubletree, so on my first night, I chose to eat in the hotel, which is close to the Paramount Theater, which I was attending. The restaurant is on the top floor, and some of the tables offer a good view of the downtown area.

The food was good -- a step up from what you might expect from a hotel spot. The salmon was exceptionally tasty and moist. Good bar service and reasonable prices.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Another great dinner!!

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service and food is amazing and we love the view! My wife and I keep coming back because they never disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Nothing special for Mother's Day, just the standard brunch, menu or buffet. We ate off of the buffet and it was ok, but not great. Food was very acceptable, but nothing special. They did run out of gravy for the biscuits & gravy (Mom's favorite) and never refilled it in the hour we were there. Our waitress was very friendly and helpful, but not so much with the rest of the staff. The place was probably a little over 50% full, so they were not terribly busy. The view kind of nice since it is on the top floor of the hotel (17 floors I think), but a little industrial on one side. If I did recommend it would probably be just for a different experience, not necessarily a great one.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

$10 Lunch

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

This place is a well-kept secret! The lunch experience is wonderful, and I have brought two different groups to dine there. All enjoyed the experience. And, I have recommended the restaurant to others. Our food was excellent, and the service was kind and personal.

The only thing I didn't like were the seats in the booth. They are too low and very uncomfortable, especially for short people like me.

However, as soon as I have another chance for lunch out, I'll be heading to the Doubletree again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A disappointment at that price.

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant is clearly competing in the upscale market. The price is upscale to match. Unfortunately, I chose a meal which I had recently had at a competitor and I found this version wanting. Being located in a downtown hotel, this is practically the only restaurant that is open downtown on Sunday evening. I am grateful for that, but, if more competition ever develops, they may have to step up their game.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I felt it was overpriced for a Sunday Brunch that was pretty much a continental breakfast with some hot items that were slowly replenished. Our reservation was at 9:30 a.m. and all of the hot items were empty or had been sitting there for a very long time. It took almost 30 minutes for the items to be filled. The service was very slow and the made to order omelettes were horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

350 First

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Went here for our anniversary dinner. Service and food were very good. Wait time was not bad at all. They have a nice wine list and bar choices. The food portions were not too large, not too small. Cost was reasonable. They went over and above by comping us a dessert as a gift, which was very nice indeed. The atmosphere is somewhat boring, with very little privacy. The view from the top is not much to look at, but at least it's from up high and not at ground level. We enjoyed our evening, and would recommend this restaurant. Another nice bonus is free valet parking from the hotel level when dining here. You just have to get your ticket validated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Pleasantly surprised!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

First time...didn't know what to expect. Loved it! Incredible, friendly service, fabulous food for a decent price, especially "The Perfect 10" I will be back with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience with awesome food

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

350 First was such a find, reservation process was easy with Open Table. Wonderful dining experience and great food. Highly recommended to drop by if you are in the Cedar Rapids area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Available reservation times are deceivin ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Available reservation times are deceiving, mostly empty when we showed up for the first time slot we could get on Valentine's Day. We weren't asked about coat check, though it appeared to be available based on observation of others throughout the night. Sat for 15 minutes before any server interaction, and another 15 before ordering, despite the lack of patrons and plenty of staff standing around. Food was underwhelming, particularly with the high price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Service has seen a marked decline since ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Service has seen a marked decline since opening. There have been menu changes that have not been updated to their website or to OpenTable, despite our server mentioning these changes were not incredibly recent. While the restaurant wants to be prime in location and price, dressing anything above casual will leave you feeling conspicuous as hotel guests arrive in shorts and flip-flops, even for evening meals. Combine this with the fact that merely getting to the restaurant is a chore thanks to the need to either Park in a parking garage (and navigate the Skywalk plus hotel lobby) or make use of the hotel valet which during events has a rate of $20 (seriously? This is Cedar Rapids, not downtown LA) and it becomes readily apparent that 350 First is just not worth the hassle.

This is depressing in that when they first opened they showed promise but over time that has merely transformed into complacency. Instead of striving to provide an upscale dining experience, 350 First merely charges upscale rates while relying on location and a dearth of local competition to gloss over their underwhelming performance.

TL:DR It's truly sad to say but 350 First has merely become another overpriced hotel restaurant that over-promises and under delivers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Love this place!!

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I love going to 350 1st the valet parking makes it very easy to just pull up and walk right in. The food is amazing and it very large portions. Would recommend to anybody looking for a romantic date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I took our nine year old granddaughter. We all had a good time. My wife will return.

The only thing that bothered me is that I made the reservation a month in advance and requested a table at a window. When we arrived they said there were no tables at a window available as they had all been requested before I made such a request. I don't believe that whatsoever. I feel I was told a lie because I believe the matrie de was more than likely greased. People paid him to get a table at the window. I will not be convinced otherwise.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I love going here because it ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

My wife and I love going here because it's easy to get to with the free parking and the food is always amazing. The problem is now we have a hard time eating anyplace else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was mediocre, service was slow.

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Food was mediocre, service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Salty Review

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 12, 2016

While this is a very nice restaurant we found the food to be slightly overpriced and very salty. Sorry, but there are better dining experiences in Cedar Rapids.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Anniversary visit

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Nice Views - Quiet and well appointed. Not impressed with the food a bit. It was nice they gave us a desert, but the cupcakes were stale and the coffee was cold.

I'll probably go back for a beer, but not for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Disappointing

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

My wife and I went there for our anniversary. What a let down. The hostess did not greet us warmly at all. We were not given a beverage menu. When the waiter finally arrived he asked if we had seen the wine list. We had not. I overheard other wait staffers telling customers about specials and explaining more about what was available. None of that happened to us. Every time our waiter left we wondered how long it would take for him to come back this time. I asked the waiter about some of the ingredients listed in the menu because I wasn't familiar with them. I got a blank look and a "Uh, well, I'm not sure". Bottom line is we were not made to feel welcome or valued as customers. The food, however, was very good. I had the steak with mac & cheese. The chef stopped by to check on the food which was a nice touch.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was outstanding and the view of ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

The food was outstanding and the view of the city was great. Service was exceptional and our server, Lylah, answered all our questions. My dad, who is 91 years old, was very pleased with his steak and said he had not had one that tender and tasty in a long while. I will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Room for improvement

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Let me start off by saying that the ambiance is good and our waitress was friendly, attentive and offered suggestions. Where this place falls short is the food; there's definitely room for improvement. I had the filet mignon which was just OK and my wife had the scallops which she totally disliked. The sides were similar but bland.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful lunch

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We enjoyed our time at the restaurant. The food was delicious and the view was great. We definitely plan to return to the restaurant for another meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A lovely evening at 350 on first

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

We had a lovely evening at 350 on first. It was an odd night, as we came in and there was a lot going on at the hotel. There was a soccer game that night and the restaurant had gotten slammed with several big top tables. The staff handled this with grace and our food was still fast and service was outstanding. Our waitress was awesome. I had the gluten free scallops and my hubby had the filet. I would order the filet next time. The meats were awesome! Both of our sides were so so. I had the risotto...which was not my favorite (perhaps because I did ask for the sauce on the side) but my husbands vegetables were so so also. The mains are amazing. I also ordered a chop salad. I would have loved to see more veggies in the salad and less lettuce:) That is just me though. Anyway - great experience and we will be back again and again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

wonderful experience

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

It was our first time there. It was a lot of fun, very romantic. I enjoyed visiting with the chef. I look forward to going back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Not impressed

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

We went to 350 first for Thanksgiving, and I must say for cost it was not worth it. We spend over 200.00 for 5 of us for Thanksgiving dinner and the meat (all different types) was very dry and not that good. The kale was simply gross, and then we have potatoes. That was pretty much it. There was a great dessert bar with amazing pastry's (no pie here) I guess we should have eaten the desserts and that's it. We have to be in Cedar Rapids every Thanksgiving for our sons Basketball season and we will not be going there again. Save your money and go somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

A treat in Cedar Rapids

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

We chose 350 First for a family dinner to celebrate my mother's birthday. Everything was excellent from the valet parking to the view, service and dinner. For appetizers we sampled the crab cakes and shrimp cocktail - both were good but I would highly recommend the crab cakes. For dinner, I tasted the filet, walleye and pork - all entrees had excellent flavor and presentation. For the table we had mashed potatoes, green beans and spinach. The sides were not nearly as good as the entrees - green beans were a bit tough, potatoes and spinach a bit bland but I would still recommend the mashed potatoes. For dessert, we had cheesecake, chocolate torte and tiramisu sundae - all excellent flavor. I know that some of the reviews have complained about the prices but I truly felt that the quality of the food and service was well worth the price - it was a special occasion so prices were completely in line with my expectations.

The service was really quite good - there weren't many in the restaurant when we were there, but the waitress and other servers were very pleasant and eager to please.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our server asked what brought us out to ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Our server asked what brought us out to 350 First and we told her we got married yesterday. She congratulated us and the manager came over to tell us our first round of drinks and our appetizer was on the house. My husband and I found that very thoughtful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.