About 350 First - Doubletree Hilton



Welcome to 350 First! We proudly boast the best American cuisine paired with the best view Cedar Rapids has to offer. Enjoy our breakfast buffet, an all day dining menu for lunch and an elegant dinner menu with steaks and chops.
From Cedar Rapids and unsure where to park when joining us for dinner? Mention to your server you used the hotel's valet service and we will validate to make your night out on the town complete!

350 First Avenue NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday-Friday: 6:30am - 10:00am

Saturday-Sunday 6:30am-12pm

Lunch (Daily): 11:00am - 1:30pm

Dinner (Daily): 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(319) 731-4483

Website:
http://www.doubletree3.hilton.com/en/hotels/iowa/doubletree-by-hilton-hotel-cedar-rapids-convention-complex-CIDCCDT/dining/index.html

Parking Details:
Guests can use self parking located across the street, there is metered parking during the weekdays, open street parking in the evening and weekends.
The hotel will also offer valet parking to both hotel and restaurant parking.

Public Transit:
Public transportation drops right outside of the building on 1st Avenue.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Wallen

Private Party Facilities:
Entertain your clients, friends and family in our Parlor Ball Room located on the 16th floor of the DoubleTree hotel. We have the ability to host a group of up to 120 in the Parlor Ball Room. Offerings include Limited menu from 350 First or our Catering menu.

Private Party Contact:
Brianne Stone: (855) 548-0040

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

350 First - Doubletree Hilton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (9)
Good for a Date (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
See All
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Authentic (1)
Casual (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Were there for New Years Eve with friends. We were not told it was a buffet for the night and were disappointed to find out when we got to the restaurant. Prime rib was fine but the chicken and salmon were dry as were the potato dishes. Been there before when I could order off the regular menu and thought is was good but this was overpriced for the quality and the limited number of food options available on the buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food was great. My only complaint is that for a $40 buffet, you would expect more of a spread, the meats were great, but very few sides which would be ok if I hasn’t paid $40. I will likely never never be back to a buffet, but loved the atmosphere so will definitely be back another night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent service, food was delicious with good portion. The 10 for $10 is a wonderful deal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 26, 2017

Slow drink service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

We had two servers that confused things...stale free dessert because of it...strange service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

I first came to 350 on 1st when it was previously called "Top of the Five". Now the Hilton Corp owns the hotel and has brought the magic back to life. This resturant offers a wonderfully elegant yet not stuffy decor, with the most genuine and accomodating staff. The "Quick Bites" are a collection of just that - delicious recipes that will please your taste buds and super for Happy Hour. 350 offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is a wonderful experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Romantic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

We ate before going to the Lindsey Stirling Show. Our table was ready and presentable, we had good cocktails, nice conversation and an excellent waitress. She is the tops. I think her name is Brooke. The food was delicious but not cheap. I was disappointed with the size and quantity of scallops in my serving. There were 4 fairly small ones - not a good value for the price but at least they were delicious. The food was a little slow probably due to the crowd that was there for the show. Not sure how soon I'd return tho.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

I brought my 11-year old niece for a “girls night” out. The view was great , and she loved it. Thank you!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 5, 2017

We chose this restaurant for the convenience since we were staying at the hotel. Wanted a quick dinner before our show at the arena. Our server, Brooke was very pleasant and trying to accommodate, however I think she had way to many tables and was nearly running from table to table. Our food took way to long and was quite pricey for the small portion of seared scallops that I got( they were also cold, but I was in too much hurry to send back). The atmosphere is nice and the view as well as comfortable seating. Not worth the price though.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 5, 2017

An enjoyable dining experience with attentive staff and good food. Friends and I both enjoy the 350 Side Salad with our lunch entrée. We plan to return soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious! I really enjoyed the braised short ribs and my wife loved the filet mignon. The cool cucumber cocktail was very tasty. The view of Cedar Rapids at night is beautiful! Also, it was so wonderful that we were served cupcakes because we were there for our anniversary. Overall it was a wonderful experience and we look forward to eating there again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

I’m very disappointed with our time at the restaurant! I sent two things back. The drink and the food. My twenty year old daughter had never seen me send anything back. That should speak volumes! Good day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 13, 2017

I would HIGHLY recommend eating at 350 First for business, pleasure or a group of people. Our waitress (Nicole) was very knowledgeable and made great recommendations. Very friendly as well. Although not inexpensive, it is great for special occasions. This is a very special place to eat and enjoy the amazing views at night of the city!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Service was great. No pressured upselling. Quiet atmosphere. Food was wonderful. Watress suprised us after learning of our anniversary!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Excellent ambiance and service. My steak was cooked perfectly and the server waited for me to cut it just to make sure it was alright. The view of the city was excellent. They also have a good selection of local beers which is a plus. I’ll be back for sure!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The restaurant was okay. I probably wouldn't go back unless I just didn't want to leave the hotel. I had the salmon. It was tastey, but slightly overlooked. The coconut rice was slimey and you had to mug the salmon in to add flavor. Probably my favorite thing was the japaleno honey butter. The service was okay. Took a while to get initial service, but after that it wasn't bad. Prices seemed high for the quality of food and ambiance. I had a loveley booth table by the window overlooking the Cedar River and Quaker Oats, but outside the window there was a spider colony. I can't tell you the last time that building had their windows cleaned. At least three giant spider families and their nests of eggs. It was okay. Not terrible, but not great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Fabulous - Always a good experience
Heather always takes such good care of us

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 8, 2017

My friends and I all enjoyed what we ordered...everything was delicious. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful. The view is lovely any time of year.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

I got my favorite 350 Salad with Shrimp. Alas, they forgot to put on the balsamic dressing and I was in a business meeting and didn't want to make a big deal out of it. I will go back and get this again next time.

The view of the city and the classy, quiet atmosphere is great for business lunches.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Brooke was our server and 2nd time we've had her, she is fantastic! I was disappointed where we were seated. I requested a window seat. I even received a phone call after the open table reservation and was assured of a window seat. We arrived on time for our reservation and our table was given to the couple right in front of us who did not have a reservation. I mentioned it to the hostesses (3 of them working) and none of them apologized. Rather than ruin the evening we sat at the table we were taken too. Just wish there would have been an apology since it was our 15th Anniversary and I was assured of a window seat. Otherwise, food was excellent!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great view of downtown Cedar Rapids. Very good service, good food/presentation, and the manager came around to our table a few times, which was a nice touch

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I had lunch here with my friend as we were doing a ladies day out, lunch and attending the bridal show that was also at the Hilton. 350 was a great spot. It was nearly empty even though it was a Saturday, so no crowd. The views and ambiance were wonderful. The food was delicious. I had the 350 salad with steak on it and it was really good, the steak cooked how I ordered, and it was only $10 with an ice tea included. Very affordable. The server was friendly and polite. Downsides was the food took a really long time especially for a salad at lunchtime. It also took the server a long time to refill our drinks even though there were hardly any customers. It was also really cold- too much air conditioning. But those down sides weren't a big deal and we still really enjoyed our lunch. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The food was very good. The prices were also reasonable but most of all we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere which you don't get in a lot of the downtown Cedar Rapids eateries. We'll be back. Thanks!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing!!! The service here is wonderfully attentive. The attention to detail is a staple from the chef to the server. This is the type of place you will go try anything on the menu, and continue to go back just to try everything on the menu. A must try restaurant. You will not be disappointed. Great views, great service, delicious food. The management/staff definitely is in touch with their customers. Enjoy 😀

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I had made a reservation and let Stephanie Mercer know. She went above and beyond by getting flowers on the table and making sure we had mimosas ready. My mom had a great first experience there for her birthday.

Thanks team!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great service food is normally exceptional. I ordered the Iowa Chop. Best flavored pork chop I've had but the worst cut I've had in a restaurant. Fatty, a lot of gristle and tough. 1st time I've had a sub par plate. It won't keep me from coming back though.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food tasted good and our server did fine. However, the food was too expensive for downtown Cedar Rapids.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Fantastic wait staff. Great food and drinks. Atmosphere was wonderful as well. Thank-you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was great and friendly!! Food was awesome! Especially loved the hummus with Pita dips while we were waiting for our whole party to arrive!!! Great taste and presentation!! Sat on Quaker Oat side of dining area. View wasn't as good but it was very private and quieter as there were large parties on the other side!! Overall experience was very good! They brought me 2 red velvet cupcakes for my birthday! Not my favorite but my family loved them!!! I got to share bitesof the cookie sundae and cream brûlée cheesecake!! Both were fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was for our 22nd anniversary and as usual they did an amazing job!! The staff always notice us and come over to say high. Like cheers I think they all know our names now!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service/Servers not up to par
Horrible bar menu
Food that is not that great

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The restaurant is designed to provide a view of Cedar Rapids. It does an excellent job of that. The problem is, it is a view of Cedar Rapids. My wife and I were at a booth over looking the eyesore that is Quaker Oats.

We had $12 cocktails that were over sweet and under boozed. Had wine with our meal that was OK but overpriced and the wrong temperature.

$17 crab cakes were 90% filler, 10% low quality crab meat.

$32 scallops were cooked properly but served with cold, oddly flavored red pepper polenta. At least the cool temperature toned down the odd flavor.

Overall, this is Red Lobster with fine dining prices.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was good but the portions were a little small. Our waitress was great, very friendly & attentive. The view is amazing! Great atmosphere, quiet & cozy! while making my reservations online I explained my boyfriend had a birthday a week before and we are just now able to celebrate. They provided a complimentary desert of his choice. It was very tasty & he was so surprised! The prices are pretty high though. We had 2 drinks a piece which totaled to $40.00 add on our meals & no appetizer our bill was $95.00 Great place but the prices are pretty high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My wife and I chose 350 First for our 20th anniversary dinner. The food and service were excellent. Our server went our of her way to make our anniversary dinner special. The restaurant is on the 16th floor with large windows facing north and south, so it provides an excellent view of our city and the Cedar River. I recommend this restaurant for special occasions and and business dinners.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was okay, but for what it cost it should have been much better than just okay. It was also very slow when I was there at 5:00 in the evening. I expected to see more of the wait staff.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was wonderful, and our server was, as well. Very friendly. My only complaint would be the food took way too long to come out. We were on a time crunch, and my colleague didn't get to finish her meal, because we had to leave.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Late-night Find, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Décor and views are great. We went for dinner, there was a nice menu selection. My husband ordered bone in rib eye. It was cooked properly, but lacked seasoning. The recommended wine on the menu turned out to be $17. I ordered mac and cheese, which had a good flavor, but was not hot.

I've been here for lunch, which offers a number of great selections at a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend lunch here. I would be hesitant to recommend dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very good food, great view of Cedar Rapids, efficient and friendly servers, nice presentation, interesting menu

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had great service and the food was amazing. Try the Bone in ribeye.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The wait time was terrible for our food. The place wasn't very busy and yet our food took over a half an hour to get to us after we ordered. I even asked how long the wait time would be to get our meal and I was told 10 to 15 minutes. I ordered a burger and it was dry. It was disappointing to say the least. And the menu was very limited for lunch time. We had 10 choices and that was it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.