About 315 Restaurant & Wine Bar

315 Old Santa Fe Trail
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

315 offers a truly French experience in a city overflowing with Southwestern restaurants. Chef Louis Moskow's classically prepared cuisine is given a contemporary twist as a result of his commitment to using only the freshest ingredients. The wine list, one of the largest and most well-conceived in the region, includes more than 250 seasonally-driven selections from the finest vineyards in the world. Located on the historic Old Santa Fe Trail, 315 is housed in a beautifully renovated southwestern residence. The outdoor patio is open seasonally.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between West Alameda and Paseo De Peralta

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 986-9190

Website:
http://315santafe.com/

Parking Details:
315 Restaurant and Wine Bar has ample, convenient parking (a luxury in downtown Santa Fe) located directly across the street from the restaurant. The parking lot is open from 5:30 until closing, and parking is free.

Executive Chef:
Louis Moskow

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

315 Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
2 More
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (40)
Special Occasion (30)
Notable Wine List (29)
See All
Romantic (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is touch and go, but this time exc ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined a day ago

Food is touch and go, but this time excellent. We never know what to expect, but make it a third tier choice and not usually disappointed. So, not a glaringly good review, but we'll go back after we after we hit up our favorites for a few months. Ambiance gets poor because depending on where you sit it's loud enough that you have to strain to hear your dining companions. Last night, there was a few "hound dogs" at a table in the small room we were in and they were annoyingly loud and bordering on obnoxious... then again, you can't expect everyone to be mindful of other guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

Attended Piedmont Wine Dinner -- food, w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 4 days ago

Attended Piedmont Wine Dinner -- food, wine, service all superb. Kitchen willing and able to accommodate minor food allergies. Bistro 315 is easy to like, easy to enjoy and is on the list of Santa Fean top restaurants to visit with locals and friends from out of town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Consistently great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always excellent! Allen's the best! Su ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always excellent! Allen's the best! Superb steak frites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I Love this place. I visit from out of t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I Love this place. I visit from out of town and always eat here. Great service, food, ambiance and a fantastic wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a pleasure to dine at 315, e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It's always a pleasure to dine at 315, especially when you have Kim as your server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Given the innumerable great eating optio ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Given the innumerable great eating options in Santa Fe, I recommend that you skip 315. Well past its glory days, the place and the staff are tired and worn. Service is over-solicitious but hollow. Some of our dishes were excellent, but the creepy overall experience ensures we never would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We enjoyed our meal. A very nice variety ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. A very nice variety on the menu. Something for everyone. An equally broad wine list. Our service was excellent. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent but the food w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was excellent but the food was overpriced and uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Have gone to Santa Fe over the last 20 y ...

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Have gone to Santa Fe over the last 20 years. Found 315, 20 years ago and forgot the name. Have been looking for it every time we go back. Googled best mussles in town and there it was!! So blessed to have revisited!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good French food, but nothing outstandin ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good French food, but nothing outstanding. The mussel appetizer was fabulous, but overall the meal was too expensive for the lack of creativity.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Very popular spot. We started inside wh ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very popular spot. We started inside where a large group was soon seated next to us. When we requested to be moved to a quiet spot, we were quickly wisked to a quiet table outside where we enjoyed a wonderful meal. The hostess even came by later to assure we were satisfied. The halibut with succotash was outstanding !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation from Arizona and our ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were on vacation from Arizona and our B&B (Pueblo Bonito) suggested we go here for dinner. We were very pleased with the atmosphere, service and the food.....overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed every course of this ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed every course of this meal. The lamb was particularly outstanding and we loved the fish dip appetizer. Great value for the money and charming location. Service was seamless.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worst dinning experience we ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was the worst dinning experience we have had. The crabcake appetizer was extremely small with limit D crab and had no taste. The veal chop was grizzly, impossible to cut. By the time another veal was brought to the table I rejected it as my wife had completed her dinner.

Lastly, the staff was nasty and rude. On the way out, a waiter cursed at me. No one in management attempted to correct the issues.

Never. Never. Never would I recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I normally don't write reviews, but I fe ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I normally don't write reviews, but I felt that this restaurant merited an exception. Our first experience in July was so-so. We went back only because we had a gift certificate. I am glad we did. The service was outstanding as was the lease with some unusual dishes for a Franch style bistro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My issue is specific: more and more Sant ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My issue is specific: more and more Santa Fe restaurants, and ones like 315 who have a certain reputation to maintain, take the easy way out: just throw garlic in every single dish, no matter what the other content---it is cheap , easy to use and it shows a dreadful lack of imagination on the part of chefs.

The last time I ate at 315, there were options on the menu that did not include garlic. This time there were almost none.

If you dine in France, one dish in 20 will have garlic: here the reverse is the case. What a shame and how boring it must be for a creative chef.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Sat on the patio and the waitress was a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Sat on the patio and the waitress was a bit brusque at the beginning but loosened up a bit as the evening wore on. Sat on the lovey patio and enjoyed a fantastic meal. I had the special Veal Scallopini which was delicious. All in my party were quite pleased with their meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is located in the same ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This restaurant is located in the same Adobe house that belonged to my grandmother many years ago. My sister and I met our cousins there for dinner on a recent trip to Santa Fe. We were seated adjacent to what was actually the dinning room in my grandmothers house. The staff was very accommodating and didn't rush us into ordering. It was a very leisurely evening in which we shared some fond memories of the house and our grandparents. The food was very good. I had a nice baby greens salad and the stuffed squash blossoms. My sister had the lamb which she said was very good. The flourless chocolate cake was outstanding. The waiter also recommended a very nice Chardonnay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

315 is a very special restaurant. It has ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

315 is a very special restaurant. It has quaint feeling about it that throughout, from the patio, into the bar and restaurant. The bar is wonderful for Happy Hour. Small, dark, good music and great drinks. The menu during Happy Hour is fun and quite good. The oysters on half shell are beautiful! We love that we can bring our dog to dine on the patio and the service is always friendly. My husband was disappointed on our visit because he had the steak and frites and the potatoes were inedible they were so overcooked and hard. We think it would have been nice to apologize and offer to bring out a fresh order as quickly as possible. Something they should consider next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Three of the entree's on the menu were u ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Three of the entree's on the menu were unavailable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Loud staff member in bar with speech tha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loud staff member in bar with speech that disturbed adjacent dining room - both in topic and loudness and voice style..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptionally fresh and delicious food, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Exceptionally fresh and delicious food, super nice/friendly wait staff, reasonable prices -- wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Party of six friends enjoyed their 'smal ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Party of six friends enjoyed their 'small plates' bar menu on the front portal. Small plates are very reasonably priced, large portions, and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was an accidental find. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This restaurant was an accidental find. Sweet charming. Great atmosphere. The waitstaff was wonderful. The chef even came out and checked on us! Loved the first of the season squash blossom appetizer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it. Great service and food at a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved it. Great service and food at a very reasonable price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the menu items are not very creat ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Though the menu items are not very creative, the food is tasty and the ingredients are high quality. We shared a very good crab cake for an appetizer and I had soft shell crabs for dinner--a little skimpy with just two, but good nonetheless. The service was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Lovely restaurant within walking distanc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Lovely restaurant within walking distance of Plaza. Lamb chops delicious, service attentive but not overbearing. Extensive wine list with half price bottles on Tuesdays. Outdoor dining was charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I was served a bone in pork chop which w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I was served a bone in pork chop which was a "special". While it was enormous it was the toughest, most impossible to cut and to chew piece of meat I have ever encountered anywhere. They refer to a football as a pigskin and this cut of meat was similar in its chew ability. I won't be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Lovely evening

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

We went early, and had a very quiet dinner. More people came in later, but it was not intrusive. The specials were the best - pork bellies appetizer was phenomenal. Nothing was less than excellent, but the pork bellies really stood out. Service was excellent, and very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A perfectly cooked halibut and a wonderf ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

A perfectly cooked halibut and a wonderfully done medium rare NY strip. Amazing wine selection. Everyone was courteous and helpful. This was our third time at 315 and it is now one of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and wine was good, service was medi ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Food and wine was good, service was mediocre. Restaurant was almost empty and they started cleaning up the restaurant while we were finishing- at 8:45 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Looking forward to going back

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Very nice meal (I had a fish special and my husband had the duck). The waitress was attentive without being intrusive. I will go back the next time I'm in Santa Fe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always an exceptional evening when dinin ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Always an exceptional evening when dining with 315. Chef is first-class, menu never disappoints. One of Santa Fe's finest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Return visit to an old favorite

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We returned to Bistro 315 for the first time in over 5 years last weekend and wondered why we had been gone for so long. The food was top notch and so was the service. There were numerous specials which used fresh seasonal vegetables and fresh delicious seafood. We specially loved the halibut in veloute, with morels, ramps, mushrooms etc. It was the perfect complement to a perfectly pan fried slice of halibut. The crispy calimari Caesar was excellent, as well. The fresh soft shell crabs were small and delicious, though I would have preferred some batter other than tempura on them. Still I ate every morsel.

We had a delicious Pinot Blanc served by a knowledgeable server and are looking forward to a return trip soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Menu, but...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

First, the service could not be better. And even though the menu is amazing, the prices are pretty stiff; but the Bar Menu is terrific and a good value. Take friends, sample from the terrific wine list, and share the not-so-small plates on the bar menu. And don't forget to check out the paintings. Beautiful on their own, they make the experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We had not been to 315 for some years, n ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had not been to 315 for some years, not sure why, because it was lovely! Food was terrific and interesting. Setting was perfect and easy to get to. Service was splendid. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Vegeterian options were poor and over pr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Vegeterian options were poor and over priced. Half an artichoke without the heart for $27.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful dinner with Friends!

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends at 315. I love that in addition to their "regular" menu, they have quite an extensive "specials" menu on chalkboards that they bring to your table. Everyone was very nice, and we got to meet the chef! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for something different ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We were looking for something different from New Mexican fare (we have been in New Mexico for 5 days). The only good thing about this restaurant was the bottle of wine we chose. The service was very strange- waiter read all of the menu to us and hovered strangely the whole meal. The food was just as strange - every sauce seemed off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.