About 315 Restaurant & Wine Bar

315 Old Santa Fe Trail
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

315 offers a truly French experience in a city overflowing with Southwestern restaurants. Chef Louis Moskow's classically prepared cuisine is given a contemporary twist as a result of his commitment to using only the freshest ingredients. The wine list, one of the largest and most well-conceived in the region, includes more than 250 seasonally-driven selections from the finest vineyards in the world. Located on the historic Old Santa Fe Trail, 315 is housed in a beautifully renovated southwestern residence. The outdoor patio is open seasonally.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between West Alameda and Paseo De Peralta

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 986-9190

Website:
http://315santafe.com/

Parking Details:
315 Restaurant and Wine Bar has ample, convenient parking (a luxury in downtown Santa Fe) located directly across the street from the restaurant. The parking lot is open from 5:30 until closing, and parking is free.

Executive Chef:
Louis Moskow

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

315 Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Romantic
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Fit for Foodies (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Cozy (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Authentic (6)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were there for Thanksgiving dinner. T ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were there for Thanksgiving dinner. The food was very ordinary, disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Green French onion soup, and our waiter ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Green French onion soup, and our waiter created his own hot chocolate for us. Delicious!

Everyone friendly, and greeted us by name. Nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Date night with my wife!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic Date night with my wife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. We'll be ba ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderful food and service. We'll be back. The Tue night oysters and half-price wine make Tue a great night to go out for dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lewis and his staff always prepare an ex ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Lewis and his staff always prepare an exceptional meal with attentive service. Atmosphere is friendly with an appropriate amount of background noise. An exceptional wine list. Ask Lewis what kinds of wines he has "put back" and are not on the extensive wine list.

315 is our favorite among the many fine dining restaurants in Santa Fe

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very slow, we waited for ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was very slow, we waited for at least 15 minutes before the waiter approached our table because " he did not know we were there".

The specials were not served as the chalkboard described. The veal dish was not served over risotto but over a grain, quite the disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Somewhat irraitic service and confused m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Somewhat irraitic service and confused menu. The starters wer good, main course put the same sides on everything. Wine merchant was pushing his profit margin in the bar with owner ,distracted from customer service. Wine by the glass pricing was excessive and multiple choices from the list were not available. The suggested substitute was inferior what was ordered.

There are many more superior options in Santa Fe. It is unfortunate that Inn of Five Graces is affiliated with this for its room service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We love "our" waitress! She's waited on ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love "our" waitress! She's waited on us several times and is always a true professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived early, 6:15pm, and were seate ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We arrived early, 6:15pm, and were seated in a quiet area as requested. Be sure to pour over the incredible wine list when you arrive. Wine is served in crystal stemware. I chose a superb cabernet recommended by our excellent server, Alexandra. The evening was paced well. We never felt rushed. We ordered roasted beet salads, cassoulet and cod, with creme brulee for dessert. Everything was exceptional. The menu is perfect for foodies, overflowing with choices. This French restaurant has maintained its ambiance and quality throughout their many years in Santa Fe. I can't wait to go back. Tip: In the evening, free parking is available in a government lot directly across the street from the restaurant entrance.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are from out of town and always make ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We are from out of town and always make 315 our very first stop. Well, no more. They are skrimping on main ingredients. Do not order the cassoulet or the veal. We will not be returning after many years!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

French Food that is updated but not too ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

French Food that is updated but not too rich. A wonderful Wine List.

Good Dining specials to choose from yet the regular menu is great.

The desserts are delicious and a good size.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a favorite place - have been com ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This is a favorite place - have been coming here for years. Excellent food, great wine list, Cozy inside in winter, great outdoor space in summer. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Misleading menu. Says gluten free dishes ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Misleading menu. Says gluten free dishes when Not gluten free. Dangerous for Celiacs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Celebrated my husband's birthday. was p ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday. was perfect. The food, the service, the ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

315 has a half price oyster and bottle o ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 12, 2016

315 has a half price oyster and bottle of wine special every Tuesday, and their oysters are superb! Add a calamari Caesar salad, and this is a spectacular dinner and unmatched value. Their wine list is one of the best in Santa Fe. One of our top favorite restaurants in Santa Fe any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great cozy restaurant in the heart of Sa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great cozy restaurant in the heart of Santa Fe. Their Tuesday night special is unbeatable - half priced wines from a good wine list, and great tapas including a 5 for $35 deal. Very good food, reasonable prices (even without the specials), friendly service and good atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food is touch and go, but this time exc ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food is touch and go, but this time excellent. We never know what to expect, but make it a third tier choice and not usually disappointed. So, not a glaringly good review, but we'll go back after we hit up our favorites for a few months. Ambiance gets poor because depending on where you sit it's loud enough that you have to strain to hear your dining companions. Last night, there was a few "hound dogs" at a table in the small room we were in and they were annoyingly loud and bordering on obnoxious... then again, you can't expect everyone to be mindful of other guests. Servers are good, but don't seem all that happy. Perhaps they are too concerned with what the boss thinks instead of the patrons?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

Attended Piedmont Wine Dinner -- food, w ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Attended Piedmont Wine Dinner -- food, wine, service all superb. Kitchen willing and able to accommodate minor food allergies. Bistro 315 is easy to like, easy to enjoy and is on the list of Santa Fean top restaurants to visit with locals and friends from out of town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food.

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Consistently great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always excellent! Allen's the best! Su ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always excellent! Allen's the best! Superb steak frites.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I Love this place. I visit from out of t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I Love this place. I visit from out of town and always eat here. Great service, food, ambiance and a fantastic wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a pleasure to dine at 315, e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

It's always a pleasure to dine at 315, especially when you have Kim as your server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Given the innumerable great eating optio ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Given the innumerable great eating options in Santa Fe, I recommend that you skip 315. Well past its glory days, the place and the staff are tired and worn. Service is over-solicitious but hollow. Some of our dishes were excellent, but the creepy overall experience ensures we never would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We enjoyed our meal. A very nice variety ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. A very nice variety on the menu. Something for everyone. An equally broad wine list. Our service was excellent. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent but the food w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The service was excellent but the food was overpriced and uninspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Have gone to Santa Fe over the last 20 y ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Have gone to Santa Fe over the last 20 years. Found 315, 20 years ago and forgot the name. Have been looking for it every time we go back. Googled best mussles in town and there it was!! So blessed to have revisited!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good French food, but nothing outstandin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Good French food, but nothing outstanding. The mussel appetizer was fabulous, but overall the meal was too expensive for the lack of creativity.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Very popular spot. We started inside wh ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Very popular spot. We started inside where a large group was soon seated next to us. When we requested to be moved to a quiet spot, we were quickly wisked to a quiet table outside where we enjoyed a wonderful meal. The hostess even came by later to assure we were satisfied. The halibut with succotash was outstanding !

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation from Arizona and our ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were on vacation from Arizona and our B&B (Pueblo Bonito) suggested we go here for dinner. We were very pleased with the atmosphere, service and the food.....overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed every course of this ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed every course of this meal. The lamb was particularly outstanding and we loved the fish dip appetizer. Great value for the money and charming location. Service was seamless.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worst dinning experience we ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was the worst dinning experience we have had. The crabcake appetizer was extremely small with limit D crab and had no taste. The veal chop was grizzly, impossible to cut. By the time another veal was brought to the table I rejected it as my wife had completed her dinner.

Lastly, the staff was nasty and rude. On the way out, a waiter cursed at me. No one in management attempted to correct the issues.

Never. Never. Never would I recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I normally don't write reviews, but I fe ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I normally don't write reviews, but I felt that this restaurant merited an exception. Our first experience in July was so-so. We went back only because we had a gift certificate. I am glad we did. The service was outstanding as was the lease with some unusual dishes for a Franch style bistro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My issue is specific: more and more Sant ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 23, 2016

My issue is specific: more and more Santa Fe restaurants, and ones like 315 who have a certain reputation to maintain, take the easy way out: just throw garlic in every single dish, no matter what the other content---it is cheap , easy to use and it shows a dreadful lack of imagination on the part of chefs.

The last time I ate at 315, there were options on the menu that did not include garlic. This time there were almost none.

If you dine in France, one dish in 20 will have garlic: here the reverse is the case. What a shame and how boring it must be for a creative chef.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Sat on the patio and the waitress was a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Sat on the patio and the waitress was a bit brusque at the beginning but loosened up a bit as the evening wore on. Sat on the lovey patio and enjoyed a fantastic meal. I had the special Veal Scallopini which was delicious. All in my party were quite pleased with their meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is located in the same ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 21, 2016

This restaurant is located in the same Adobe house that belonged to my grandmother many years ago. My sister and I met our cousins there for dinner on a recent trip to Santa Fe. We were seated adjacent to what was actually the dinning room in my grandmothers house. The staff was very accommodating and didn't rush us into ordering. It was a very leisurely evening in which we shared some fond memories of the house and our grandparents. The food was very good. I had a nice baby greens salad and the stuffed squash blossoms. My sister had the lamb which she said was very good. The flourless chocolate cake was outstanding. The waiter also recommended a very nice Chardonnay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

315 is a very special restaurant. It has ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 16, 2016

315 is a very special restaurant. It has quaint feeling about it that throughout, from the patio, into the bar and restaurant. The bar is wonderful for Happy Hour. Small, dark, good music and great drinks. The menu during Happy Hour is fun and quite good. The oysters on half shell are beautiful! We love that we can bring our dog to dine on the patio and the service is always friendly. My husband was disappointed on our visit because he had the steak and frites and the potatoes were inedible they were so overcooked and hard. We think it would have been nice to apologize and offer to bring out a fresh order as quickly as possible. Something they should consider next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Three of the entree's on the menu were u ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Three of the entree's on the menu were unavailable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Loud staff member in bar with speech tha ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loud staff member in bar with speech that disturbed adjacent dining room - both in topic and loudness and voice style..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptionally fresh and delicious food, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Exceptionally fresh and delicious food, super nice/friendly wait staff, reasonable prices -- wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Party of six friends enjoyed their 'smal ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Party of six friends enjoyed their 'small plates' bar menu on the front portal. Small plates are very reasonably priced, large portions, and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.