About 315 Restaurant & Wine Bar

315 Old Santa Fe Trail
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

315 offers a truly French experience in a city overflowing with Southwestern restaurants. Chef Louis Moskow's classically prepared cuisine is given a contemporary twist as a result of his commitment to using only the freshest ingredients. The wine list, one of the largest and most well-conceived in the region, includes more than 250 seasonally-driven selections from the finest vineyards in the world. Located on the historic Old Santa Fe Trail, 315 is housed in a beautifully renovated southwestern residence. The outdoor patio is open seasonally.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between West Alameda and Paseo De Peralta

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 986-9190

Website:
http://315santafe.com/

Parking Details:
315 Restaurant and Wine Bar has ample, convenient parking (a luxury in downtown Santa Fe) located directly across the street from the restaurant. The parking lot is open from 5:30 until closing, and parking is free.

Executive Chef:
Louis Moskow

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

315 Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
716 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good experience with service, food, ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good experience with service, food, and great selection of oysters if you are so inclined.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We would definitely repeat this experien ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We would definitely repeat this experience. I ate a salad and an entree from the daily menu and thought both were quite good. The portions are reasonable. They even had my favorite Malbec on the menu - a special treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff and ambience

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great staff and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not ever go.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Do not ever go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

New Years Eve, the place was packed and ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve, the place was packed and the food was excellent!

The service was very good and they tried to accommodate everyone.

Kudos to the staff, great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After being a regular for the past 10 ye ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

After being a regular for the past 10 years, I was frankly disappointed. The Prix Fixe price was too high for the offering. Appetizers completely under value - two oysters and two shrimp and small unexciting salads. The steak frites was excellent as always - in fact better than usual, a very tender piece of steak. The grouper was tasty, but a very small portion padded with potatoes. The veal schnitzel, very small...presentation uninspired...mashed potatoes boring.

Desserts very good. BUt when you add it all up, it was overpriced.

Also one of my dishes (the schnitzel coating, or maybe added to the honey on the cheese plate??) were pine nuts. I suffer from Pine Nut Syndrome (Google it!) that is manifest by an intense metallogeusia (metallic taste) that lasts more than two weeks after eating pine nuts. Had I known pine nuts were included somewhere I would have avoided them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My wife andI usually sit at the bar to b ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife andI usually sit at the bar to better take advantage of bartenders that know their business and the terrific bar menu. The latter is one of the best dining bargains in Santa Fe.

We had a small family get-together the other night and opted to sit in one of the regular dining rooms. 315 did not disappoint. Excellent bistro fare, outstanding wine list and attentive, but not overbearing servers. The owner/executive chef, Louis Moscow, was also there to offer great suggestions of of the wine list.

One of our very favorite restaurants in Santa Fe.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a beautiful little restaurant an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is a beautiful little restaurant and the service was fabulous. The food, however, was not the upscale quality I expected. The sea bass should have been grilled or prepared in a way that added to the wonderful texture and taste of this fish. The shrimp and scallops were not quite done, but that was tolerable...the rice mixture they were served on was too tart and didn't combine well with the seafood. For dessert...the pear tart was smothered in cloves and nutmeg, which totally obscured the delicate pears. We made the reservation on Open Table, which did not mention this was a prix fixe menu @ $65 per person. We paid a lot of money for a ho-hum meal. The setting is beautiful though and the service was awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

I went on Christmas Day and had an overa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I went on Christmas Day and had an overall excellent meal. I thought the main course was rather skimpy, given what I was paying, but everything was top quality and well prepared. They have a diverse wine selection by the glass (not like some restaurants that offer 6 versions of Chardonnay!), and the dessert beverage selection is also very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spent Christmas there...excellent meal, ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Spent Christmas there...excellent meal, ambience, wine choices.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Christmas Eve Dinner The restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Lovely Christmas Eve Dinner

The restaurant was packed so we sat in the bar for dinner. But the staff were incredibly helpful and made sure to honor any special requests. It was a fixed menu but lots of choices for every course. My cassoulet was delicious and the trout appetizer was great as well as the profiteroles for desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Love Affair Over. We took our new to tow ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love Affair Over. We took our new to town there on Christmas Eve. We had a 6:30 reservation. When we got there, by the look on the hostess' face, we knew there was a problem. We were told they were backed up. Asked if we wanted to wait in the bar and ordered a bottle of wine. Looking forward to a big Christmas Eve dinner so we arrived hungry. After 40 minutes, I asked how much longer, and was practically yelled at by a stressed out staff member. We wanted to know so we could order maybe an appetizer, but were told that we could not, as it was a prex fixe menu. We did not want to eat in the bar (and were not told if this were an option), because the noise level was so loud that we could not converse. We were seated at 8:00, one hour and 30 minutes after our reservation. Our meal was served around 8:45--2 hours and 45 minutes after our reservation. During our meal, we had to listen to the staff in the room behind ours stress out about how they could not seat a table for because of a wet chair. There was a mob still waiting. At the end of the meal, we asked the waiter what had happened. He said the restaurant overbooked because they thought there would be cancellations due to snow (it did not snow). Confirmed by another review I read by someone who booked a 6:15 reservation at 4:30 that evening. This was Christmas eve, and overbooking on a night people were likely to linger at their tables, seems totally irresponsible and unprofessional. Our long wait, and extreme hunger by the time we got our first bite of food made the whole dinner unpleasant. We missed our opportunity to walk Canyon Road, a main point of this night out with our friends. The management made no efforts to make up for our experience (offer us a glass of wine as we waited, a discount or AN APOLOGY). I have always liked eating there, the food is good and the waitstaff great, but there are a lot of great restaurants in Santa Fe, so we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Yes, I know it was Christmas Eve, and ye ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Yes, I know it was Christmas Eve, and yes I know the Plaza area around Santa Fe was extra crowded but I have to say that Restaurant 315 could have controlled their intake of crowds far better than they did. They seemed to be taking people just to take them. Now, of course that is my perception. At 4:30, they still took my reservation for 6:15pm and when I walked in they were packed to the rafters and people could not move and they had a waiting list on top of that. I overheard that manager say they could have turned that table 3 times )referring to another table near me). Now is that poor management (trying to cut short the stay in their planning) or is that people just enjoying themselves and over-staying the hospitality or poor service--I can't tell you, but all in all, when I left 2 hours later, the front area was still a mob scene. My server was excellent. The food was good. The cassoulet was a little on the weak side. I actually make a better one than they served. But all in all, I would return on a normal night an give them another chance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, , Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Christmas Eve was a disaster at this res ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve was a disaster at this restaurant. The staff was 45 minutes behind at 5:45 pm. We waited 45 minutes to be seated even tho we were contacted twice to confirm our reservation. We had an 8 pm performance to attend and had to skip dessert. When we left it was a mad house with people having no room in the waiting areas. We were there on Christmas Eve last year and had a great experience and decided to return again. The food is excellent, but this Christmas Eve was a bad experience and showed poor management through severe overbooking. This will really hurt their reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2

Food was marginal at best We had a rese ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was marginal at best

We had a reservation, walked in on time and was told "oh I am very busy.will have to shuffle some things around" and a few minutes later took us to what seemed like an add on area with zero ambiance. Seemed like they were too busy to really take proper care of us

The waiter was good enough, but the food was no where near what we expected. The fish had no taste, the cassoulet was ok but not great. The French onion soup was a mess-how hard is it for a French restaurant to make French onion soup

We won't be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We love this place! Consistently good fo ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love this place! Consistently good food, service and wine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service at 315 was wonderfu ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service at 315 was wonderful. We had some trouble selecting a wine because they were out of our first 2 picks and also out of one of the dinner specials but the server more than made up with a dessert and after dinner port on the house. How a restaurant handles a snafu is very important and 315 definitely rose to the occasion. We will certainly return soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some of the menu choices were not availa ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Some of the menu choices were not available. A frequent occurrence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The oysters are wonderful - that's why ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The oysters are wonderful - that's why we chose 315. The food is always good, and the service friendly and fun.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my "Cheers" kind of bar; a wine ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is my "Cheers" kind of bar; a wine bar. Usually, the service is exceptional--attentive, helpful. This time, the kitchen was very behind, and it took about an hour to get served. Very unfortunate. And the server apologized, but only brought the usual bread basket upon request, and only 35-45 minutes into our wait. Still, the bar menu at this place and the 1/2 price on wines on Tuesday nights makes this a great destination.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We were there for Thanksgiving dinner. T ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We were there for Thanksgiving dinner. The food was very ordinary, disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Thanksgiving Dinner on the 24th which is ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Dinner on the 24th which is always a dicy proposition for other restaurants we've tried. This was our first holiday at the 315, and Turkey or Salmon was the choice. We tried each. Paired with suggested wine was great value. The cost of the meal was very reasonable. Small note, we always like the first serving times so the kitchen isn't rushed. That being said, by far, and I mean by far the best holiday meal we've ever had anywhere. And I'm talking in comparison to some high end restaurants that were a serious let down. The turkey was so moist, honestly, I have never had or even cooked turkey that moist. The salmon, which had an excellent crisp around the outer edges just melted in your mouth like butter. Told the family not to comet unless the would go with us. I don't even want to cook again for thanksgiving but just go to the 315 for thanksgiving every year. I wish I didn't have to wait until then to try that again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, , Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Green French onion soup, and our waiter ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Green French onion soup, and our waiter created his own hot chocolate for us. Delicious!

Everyone friendly, and greeted us by name. Nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Date night with my wife!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fantastic Date night with my wife!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service. We'll be ba ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Wonderful food and service. We'll be back. The Tue night oysters and half-price wine make Tue a great night to go out for dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lewis and his staff always prepare an ex ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Lewis and his staff always prepare an exceptional meal with attentive service. Atmosphere is friendly with an appropriate amount of background noise. An exceptional wine list. Ask Lewis what kinds of wines he has "put back" and are not on the extensive wine list.

315 is our favorite among the many fine dining restaurants in Santa Fe

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was very slow, we waited for ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was very slow, we waited for at least 15 minutes before the waiter approached our table because " he did not know we were there".

The specials were not served as the chalkboard described. The veal dish was not served over risotto but over a grain, quite the disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Somewhat irraitic service and confused m ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Somewhat irraitic service and confused menu. The starters wer good, main course put the same sides on everything. Wine merchant was pushing his profit margin in the bar with owner ,distracted from customer service. Wine by the glass pricing was excessive and multiple choices from the list were not available. The suggested substitute was inferior what was ordered.

There are many more superior options in Santa Fe. It is unfortunate that Inn of Five Graces is affiliated with this for its room service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We love "our" waitress! She's waited on ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love "our" waitress! She's waited on us several times and is always a true professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived early, 6:15pm, and were seate ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We arrived early, 6:15pm, and were seated in a quiet area as requested. Be sure to pour over the incredible wine list when you arrive. Wine is served in crystal stemware. I chose a superb cabernet recommended by our excellent server, Alexandra. The evening was paced well. We never felt rushed. We ordered roasted beet salads, cassoulet and cod, with creme brulee for dessert. Everything was exceptional. The menu is perfect for foodies, overflowing with choices. This French restaurant has maintained its ambiance and quality throughout their many years in Santa Fe. I can't wait to go back. Tip: In the evening, free parking is available in a government lot directly across the street from the restaurant entrance.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are from out of town and always make ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We are from out of town and always make 315 our very first stop. Well, no more. They are skrimping on main ingredients. Do not order the cassoulet or the veal. We will not be returning after many years!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

French Food that is updated but not too ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

French Food that is updated but not too rich. A wonderful Wine List.

Good Dining specials to choose from yet the regular menu is great.

The desserts are delicious and a good size.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a favorite place - have been com ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 19, 2016

This is a favorite place - have been coming here for years. Excellent food, great wine list, Cozy inside in winter, great outdoor space in summer. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Happy Hour, , Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Misleading menu. Says gluten free dishes ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Misleading menu. Says gluten free dishes when Not gluten free. Dangerous for Celiacs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Celebrated my husband's birthday. was p ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Celebrated my husband's birthday. was perfect. The food, the service, the ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

315 has a half price oyster and bottle o ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 12, 2016

315 has a half price oyster and bottle of wine special every Tuesday, and their oysters are superb! Add a calamari Caesar salad, and this is a spectacular dinner and unmatched value. Their wine list is one of the best in Santa Fe. One of our top favorite restaurants in Santa Fe any day of the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great cozy restaurant in the heart of Sa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great cozy restaurant in the heart of Santa Fe. Their Tuesday night special is unbeatable - half priced wines from a good wine list, and great tapas including a 5 for $35 deal. Very good food, reasonable prices (even without the specials), friendly service and good atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tapas, , Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food is touch and go, but this time exc ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Food is touch and go, but this time excellent. We never know what to expect, but make it a third tier choice and not usually disappointed. So, not a glaringly good review, but we'll go back after we hit up our favorites for a few months. Ambiance gets poor because depending on where you sit it's loud enough that you have to strain to hear your dining companions. Last night, there was a few "hound dogs" at a table in the small room we were in and they were annoyingly loud and bordering on obnoxious... then again, you can't expect everyone to be mindful of other guests. Servers are good, but don't seem all that happy. Perhaps they are too concerned with what the boss thinks instead of the patrons?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

Attended Piedmont Wine Dinner -- food, w ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Attended Piedmont Wine Dinner -- food, wine, service all superb. Kitchen willing and able to accommodate minor food allergies. Bistro 315 is easy to like, easy to enjoy and is on the list of Santa Fean top restaurants to visit with locals and friends from out of town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently great food.

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Consistently great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.