About 315 Restaurant & Wine Bar

315 Old Santa Fe Trail
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

315 offers a truly French experience in a city overflowing with Southwestern restaurants. Chef Louis Moskow's classically prepared cuisine is given a contemporary twist as a result of his commitment to using only the freshest ingredients. The wine list, one of the largest and most well-conceived in the region, includes more than 250 seasonally-driven selections from the finest vineyards in the world. Located on the historic Old Santa Fe Trail, 315 is housed in a beautifully renovated southwestern residence. The outdoor patio is open seasonally.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Between West Alameda and Paseo De Peralta

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 986-9190

Website:
http://315santafe.com/

Parking Details:
315 Restaurant and Wine Bar has ample, convenient parking (a luxury in downtown Santa Fe) located directly across the street from the restaurant. The parking lot is open from 5:30 until closing, and parking is free.

Executive Chef:
Louis Moskow

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

315 Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Fit for Foodies
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

fit for foodies (32)
notable wine list (25)
special occasion (21)
See All
neighborhood gem (18)
romantic (18)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (4)
great for outdoor dining (4)
good for groups (2)
great for brunch (1)
hot spot (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
615 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

A perfectly cooked halibut and a wonderf ...

Dined 2 days ago

A perfectly cooked halibut and a wonderfully done medium rare NY strip. Amazing wine selection. Everyone was courteous and helpful. This was our third time at 315 and it is now one of our favorites.

food4
ambience2
service3

Food and wine was good, service was medi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food and wine was good, service was mediocre. Restaurant was almost empty and they started cleaning up the restaurant while we were finishing- at 8:45 pm.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Looking forward to going back

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very nice meal (I had a fish special and my husband had the duck). The waitress was attentive without being intrusive. I will go back the next time I'm in Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always an exceptional evening when dinin ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Always an exceptional evening when dining with 315. Chef is first-class, menu never disappoints. One of Santa Fe's finest!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return visit to an old favorite

Dined on April 30, 2016

We returned to Bistro 315 for the first time in over 5 years last weekend and wondered why we had been gone for so long. The food was top notch and so was the service. There were numerous specials which used fresh seasonal vegetables and fresh delicious seafood. We specially loved the halibut in veloute, with morels, ramps, mushrooms etc. It was the perfect complement to a perfectly pan fried slice of halibut. The crispy calimari Caesar was excellent, as well. The fresh soft shell crabs were small and delicious, though I would have preferred some batter other than tempura on them. Still I ate every morsel. We had a delicious Pinot Blanc served by a knowledgeable server and are looking forward to a return trip soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Amazing Menu, but...

Dined on April 30, 2016

First, the service could not be better. And even though the menu is amazing, the prices are pretty stiff; but the Bar Menu is terrific and a good value. Take friends, sample from the terrific wine list, and share the not-so-small plates on the bar menu. And don't forget to check out the paintings. Beautiful on their own, they make the experience.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had not been to 315 for some years, n ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We had not been to 315 for some years, not sure why, because it was lovely! Food was terrific and interesting. Setting was perfect and easy to get to. Service was splendid. We will definitely be back!

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Vegeterian options were poor and over pr ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Vegeterian options were poor and over priced. Half an artichoke without the heart for $27.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with Friends!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends at 315. I love that in addition to their "regular" menu, they have quite an extensive "specials" menu on chalkboards that they bring to your table. Everyone was very nice, and we got to meet the chef! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service1

We were looking for something different ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

We were looking for something different from New Mexican fare (we have been in New Mexico for 5 days). The only good thing about this restaurant was the bottle of wine we chose. The service was very strange- waiter read all of the menu to us and hovered strangely the whole meal. The food was just as strange - every sauce seemed off.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

DDS

Dined on April 5, 2016

315 is great! I loved the fried sole! Their wine list is very nice, lovely wine. Our waitress Kim was so friendly. We enjoyed dinner. Also they have excellent appetizers.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

315 was Great

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went to 315 to celebrate birthday, service, food, atmosphere were great. We look forward to our next visit. We already recommended 315 to family and friends. We decided to make our way through Santa Fe, trying a different restaurant each time, but we will not wait to complete our journey through all the restaurants, we will be back sooooon!!! Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It never fails to be excellent.

Dined on March 21, 2016

Bistro 315 is consistently excellent. Our most recent visit allowed us to introduce friends to one of our favorite local hangouts. And, on this trip, Andrew gave exemplary service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A night at 315

Dined on March 21, 2016

The meat was overcooked in the main but the other parts of meal were very good. They were kind enough to give me a free dessert. The service was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

We took friends to the special price fix ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

We took friends to the special price fixed 3 course meal. A great time was had by all!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable

Dined on February 19, 2016

We had a very knowledgeable, very attentive server. We really appreciated Bistro 315's offer of tastes of wines before you order, so you can decide what you like best. The monthly prix fixe menu was reasonable and very good, while the whole menu changes with sufficient frequency to come to your table via a chalkboard. The fact that the place is QUIET is totally enjoyable. We went for my birthday, and were very happy with the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on February 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I went for Valentine's day. Our meals, a bottle of wine and the tip brought us to $240. Had the bill been closer to $100, then I would give this place 5 stars. However, it was pretty noisy, the food was okay (my steak was tough and her ravioli weren't seasoned correctly), and the waitress had this knack for interrupting our conversation at the most inopportune moments.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Exceptional on Valentine's Day.

Dined on February 15, 2016

One of our dependable, local favorites, all seasons.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic with interesting menu

Dined on February 13, 2016

I ordered steak frites with pepercorn sauce, it was excellent ($30)! NY Strip with 1/8 inch cracked pepper sear. Shoe string fries. My partner ordered veal schnitzel which was good but not great (boring sides). Service was top notch, everyone was very friendly. We will certainly go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Dinner at 315 Restaurant

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Food was ok. Wine list was good. Pot au creme for dessert was excellent.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent, service was friendly

Dined on January 31, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at 315 Restaurant, and would certainly go there again. Food was excellent, wine was excellent, and service was very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dont miss it

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

We would not considering in Santa Re and not dining at 315. It has proven to be one of our favorite restaurants anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1

Great food. Horrible service.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food. Horrible service.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Mr. Crabbypants

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was good (new Year's Eve prix fixe menu), but not good enough to put up with the stunningly contemptuous service. Probably just a bad night for our wait person, but since we drew the short straw, and first impressions are everything, we won't be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food & exceptional service. Every time.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Cozy atmosphere, great waitstaff...never had anything there that wasn't delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Lee

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

Open Table should be clear when there is a prix fix menu at a restaurant on certain dates. We did not know and were surprised when we arrived and would not have booked this restaurant knowing this was the case.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as always!

Dined on December 25, 2015

One of our periniale favorites. Kim is the best, providing pointe on recommendations and superior service. All of the staff and ownership make you feel welcome and part of the family, whether a local (like us) or from out of town. Rack of Lamb was flavorful and done to perfection, as well the Sea Bass. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

We had heard great things about this restaurant

Dined on December 6, 2015

But our experience was so/so. Maybe it was an off night. Whoever heard of a French restaurant not having goat cheese!

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Joey, was amazing. Excellenc ...

vip
Dined on November 25, 2015

Our server, Joey, was amazing. Excellence service, top to bottom. The special foie gras ravioli with creamy mushroom sauce was phenomenal! Baby daddy enough about that dish. Bar menu was great as always. Fantastic value. Exceptional wine value on Tuesdays. A favorite place among locals!

food3
ambience5
service4

One of the best in Sante Fe

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

It lived up to expectations. The accommodated my request for a quiet table. Close quarters, so only distraction were the two model-types from Laguna who were rude to the staff and too full of themselves. Fish entrees were very good. Salad excellent. Our first two wine choices were not available, which would have been nice to know. But I'll go back....

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

315: Good French-based food

Dined on November 9, 2015

All in all, the meal was well-prepared and good. 315 doesn't seek to be a culinary pioneer and sticks to French-based cuisine. The raclette with duck confit was very good -- potatoes roasted well, melted raclette cheese, and the duck was crispy. The jonah crab legs, as an appetizer, was disappointing as they were not very flavorful (meat was neither sweet nor flaky) -- my guess is that the crab spent too much time being boiled and the water was underseasoned. The whole brazino sea bass was very good - flavorful, moist meat, well seasoned, and crispy skin. The meat, however, could have been a bit firmer. The wine list was extensive for half and whole bottles although a bit thin (especially considering its advertised as a wine bar) for wine by the glass. The atmosphere consists of a comfortable, cozy, old adobe structure, complete with kiva fireplace, consistent with 315's location on the Old Santa Fe trail. The service was friendly enough (although not genuinely warm) and while staff would drop by to see if everything was ok they did not go out of their way to be helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great for a nice Dinner with the Girls

Dined on November 9, 2015

I went with my husband's grandmother and best friend. It was perfect for the 3 of us. My friend and I had the Lobster Bisque and a salad. It was very good. I don't believe my husband would have cared for it too much. The red wine is kept in the wine cellar so during cold months, the red is chilled by the cellar. We weren't a fan of that. But otherwise a nice find!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a favorite in Santa Fe

Dined on October 18, 2015

315 is always a treat. They have good specials everynight and good, healthy, locally sourced food. I try and make this a stop when I am in Santa Fe.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was outstanding! French onion soup was super

Dined on October 15, 2015

We loved this place & the food was excellent. We read some that were very negative, but I would be very eager to recommend this restaurant. One review said décor was "dingy". It's in an old adobe building! Get real! Our waiter might have been covering a few too many tables, but he was so kind and eager to please, that we were eager to be patient....AND, he never forgot to bring what he said he would bring. We will definitely go back to this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

Dined on October 13, 2015

We loved our experience there. The food was excellent and so was the service. We will certainly be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

We've been to 315 before and the food wa ...

vip
Dined on October 13, 2015

We've been to 315 before and the food was great, this time we went it was fair at best, very disappointed. I do not recommend the duck it was okay at best!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Glad we gave this spot a try...

Dined on October 8, 2015

Food was very good, a creative menu.! The service was excellent and the bar was lively. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was fabulous!!

Dined on October 6, 2015

Everything was fantastic!!! Loved our waitress also. She was so helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2

315 Underwhelms

Dined on October 6, 2015

The interior needs to be completely remodeled. It It is dark and dingy. The carpet is a disgrace. The food is sub-mediocre. The smoked trout rillettes were tasteless and their texture was off-putting. The squash soup was tepid, and its flavor , or should I say lack thereof, did not match up with its supposed ingredients. MacDonald's would have been embarrassed to serve the duck breast; it had a line gristle along the top, which made it almost impossible to chew. You couldn't pay enough money to go back. This place needs to upgrade to "prime" cuts of meat and never frozen seafood, daily flown in.

food5
ambience5
service5

315 Restaurant

Dined on September 30, 2015

We have been enjoying 315 since it opened 20 years ago and appreciate all they do for Santa Fe and visitors.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.