About 300 East

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Burger
Beignets
Spicy Pimento Cheese Dip
Tomatoe Bisque
Grits Bowl
Warm Brownie With Caramel And Ice Cream
Pizza
Salad
Coffee
Pear And Raspberry Crisp
sweet potato ravioli
Dirty Martini
Black Bean and Green Chile Chicken Tortilla
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Roasted Eggplant Pizza
Matilda Wong
Pesto Chicken Sandwich With Feta And Chickpeas
Catfish Sandwich W/ Side Of Black Beans
Farro Saute
Brioche Bread Pudding
Avocado BLT
Hummus Plate
Matilda Wan
Spicy Summer Corn & Crab Soup
The Usual
Apple Cobbler

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte

Neighborhood Gem (168)
Fit for Foodies (126)
Special Occasion (108)
See All
Great for Brunch (77)
Great for Lunch (76)
Romantic (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Good for Groups (46)
Hot Spot (37)
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Kid-friendly (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Scenic View (13)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Historic (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Business Meals (4)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The vegetarian food selection was excell ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

The vegetarian food selection was excellent, and the specials were very seasonal and delicious.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We walked up and immediately loved the c ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We walked up and immediately loved the cozy vibe of this restaurant. We were seated immediately in a quaint table upstairs. The server was helpful to us in the menu and the food was so deliciously healthy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent but the cockroach ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The food was excellent but the cockroaches around the outside dining area were disgusting. It made us wonder, if the kitchen area had cockroaches too. Fumigation will take care of these bugs for good. Inside seating was very loud , that's why we chose to seat outside.

Again , the meal was good but I Would not go back bc of the cockroaches.

Sorry 😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

The meal was very good however, the serv ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The meal was very good however, the service was very poor. Seemed pretty crowded for a Sunday night and food was slow coming out of the kitchen . Our server was very poor and not sure if it was her or if she had too many tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The food is always consistently good. T ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is always consistently good. They always have very interesting ice creams. The PBJ is delicious, but the others have all been good as well. Just try them. The beignets were not nearly as good this time as I've had in the past. They seemed smaller and were not soft; almost overcooked.

This is any easy restaurant to find with good parking in the rear. Big windows along the front are nice for watching people passing by. They have some nice small tables outside which work well as the weather cools a bit.

They have dining upstairs as well. Steps are a little steep for anyone who might have trouble with climbing stairs. When the restaurant is near or at full capacity the noise level is beyond energetic to just loud.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Brunch was excellent !!!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Brunch was excellent !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Went to 300 East for the first time for ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went to 300 East for the first time for Sunday brunch with 3 of my friends. Ordered the Crab Cake Benedict. It was out of this world. Atmosphere was cozy but if you are handicapped be sure to tell them in your reservations. Our group was seated upstairs.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of my favorite places to eat in Char ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

One of my favorite places to eat in Charlotte. Daily specials are always good. Best hummus in Charlotte. Never had anything I didn't like here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our first visit to 300 East and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This was our first visit to 300 East and we were very pleased - the menu has great choices and is reasonably priced for this type of restaurant. When we mentioned to our waiter that it was our anniversary, we were surprised when he brought us two flutes of champaign! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a regular spot for my group of g ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is a regular spot for my group of girlfriends. We eat here at least twice per month. I've been coming here for over 25 years (since high school). Always delicious. Good wine list. Matthew is our fave server.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. I'll definitely be bac ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great restaurant. I'll definitely be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

300 East is a great local spot found nea ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

300 East is a great local spot found near the corner of East and South Blvd. The location is part of the reason I love it--the restaurant is in an old house full of charm. There is great variation on the menu, but my personal favorite is the Seared Ahi Tuna Salad for lunch. The service is always great and I've yet to have something on their menu I haven't liked. If you're going during brunch time on a Saturday or Sunday, be sure to book on OpenTable! It gets crowded but I've rarely had problems finding a reservation for 15 minutes later (the amount of time it would take me to drive there anyway).

Tags: Cozy, Casual, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

300 East is our favorite place to go for ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

300 East is our favorite place to go for everyday dining and especially for Sunday brunch. The standard menu is great and the dally specials always creative, delicious and different. The staff is warm, friendly, often funny, and very efficient. The only occasional problem is the noise level. Try to go at times when 300 East isn't completely packed--although, given how popular this restaurant is, it's hard to find a time when they aren't more than full. Highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Walked to this place with a friend becau ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Walked to this place with a friend because it is so close to Southend. It has such a fun vibe since it's an old house. Plenty of seats but not too crowded. Edward our waiter was awesome and the food was to die for. Can't wait to come back and try the rest of the menu :)

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food at a good value. The crab cak ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food at a good value. The crab cakes were superb. Very cozy feel and delicious food. Service was awesome. I definitely recommend 300 East.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious! Enjoyed an intimate ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was delicious! Enjoyed an intimate date outside with a bottle of wine. Service was great!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Received outstanding service on a busy n ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Received outstanding service on a busy night. Appetizers, entrees, and after dinner were served on time. Outstanding food quality.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved having Sunday brunch here. Just a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved having Sunday brunch here. Just a note to remember that it is NC so alcohol doesn't start till noon.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend, who had not been to 300 East, ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My friend, who had not been to 300 East, and I thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. Table was a little small, but the tradeoff was being out of the traffic flow and a little quieter, so we were fine. Food was excellent. Service was a little slow; waiter never asked to refill my coffee. It was Sunday brunch and quite busy, but despite this the overall experience was very good. Food was excellent as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic pork and chick pea soup. Wonde ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic pork and chick pea soup. Wonderful faro with chicken. Amazing salmon with coconut rice. Loved all of it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't go for lunch ... Unless you plan t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Don't go for lunch ...

Unless you plan to wait forever .

First off the appetizers (while good) were cold, which I could have forgiven if the rest of the meal had been prompt.

One hour into sitting down and still no main dish... I just wonder how long it takes to actually make a burger that takes 4 min each side to grill . I have made food myself faster . The service leaves much to be desired and expediting from the kitchen is a huge issue. I don't understand how a restaurant that can be so smoothly running and good for brunch can barely hammer out lunch for 2 so slowly. We were getting up to leave when the food finally arrived . It was also cold and overcooked . What a waste of time and money. Really not worth it, which is sadly disappointing . The food looked like it would taste great but everything was bland. I don't think we will be back, even though brunch was good before . Also,

I was freezing even though downstairs was warm. You can't blast the AC in one area just because the restaurant is hot. Sending out cold appetizers fast doesn't make up for waiting an hour for overcooked very expensive lunch dishes. Total miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Such a quaint eatery. Great outdoor pat ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Such a quaint eatery. Great outdoor patio seating. Perfect for people watching and a nice cool breeze. Indoors is a fireplace for cool evenings. Food was amazing and unique. I had the shrimp BLT panini and loved it!!! Patio is dog friendly which is nice for us dog lovers. I highly recommend 300 East for casual or romantic dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a go-to for good food, good drink ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always a go-to for good food, good drinks, running into friends & people watching. A favorite for >20 years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were entertaining friends from out of ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were entertaining friends from out of town. We had reservations and were seated promptly. The service was courteous and reasonably prompt. We ordered the hummus and goat cheese appetizers, which were both quite tasty. Unfortunately, 2 of the 4 entrees were served with cold items and had to be returned to the kitchen to be reheated. The waitress expressed surprise (and some mild disbelief) that the items were cold (they were). A rather perfunctory apology for the cold food was how the matter was addressed. The problem may have been that, based on reviews we read, we had higher expectations than were warranted. We wanted to like 300 East more than we did. At some point, we'll probably go back and give it another shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

By coincidence I ate here twice in the p ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

By coincidence I ate here twice in the past week. The first time my group of four was seated in a very small booth (luckily we are all small to average-sized people) where two of us faced a large window as the sun was starting to get low. We were in blinding sunlight for a half hour. The server said, "it'll get better in about 10 minutes," and was otherwise unconcerned. 300 East: Put some sun-filtering blinds on that window! The next time, it was a lovely afternoon so we sat outside. Turns out dogs are allowed on the patio along with diners (and I don't mean service dogs alone). The people behind us had two dogs that wound around beneath our chairs, feet and table and barked at everything that moved. I love dogs, but I don't want them carrying on while I'm trying to have a conversation over dinner. I'm not sure why this is a trend that is acceptable. In both instances, the place was slammed and service was very slow. Attitudes were just so so (and mine would be too if I were working that hard) from reception to bar to server and the food was just good. I've been eating at 300 East for 20 years and I have to say I was a little disappointed in both visits this week. Has success gone to their heads? I hope not.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

service very, very slow ... took 30 minu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

service very, very slow ... took 30 minutes to get our meal ... 20 minutes to get dessert (Beignets - which were really, really overcooked and flat) .... 20 minutes to receive bill. The meal, however, was very good !

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

This place is absolutely Fantastic. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place is absolutely Fantastic. The service is fit for royalty, the food is out of this world, and the feel is a blend between heaven and happiness. We have been to 300 East over 10 times and have walked away trying to figure out how they keep getting better and better. 300 East is the Beast! We love them dearly!

Kris and Jodie

Loyal Followers to the 300

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was first class. Everything w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was first class. Everything was great. Should have ordered two deserts instead of one to share. Ice cream sandwich was outstanding. Won't go to Charlotte without dinner at 300 East.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a fun and delicious find while visi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

What a fun and delicious find while visiting Charlotte for a wedding. Googled to find a good restaurant...something south of uptown...and thankfully were pointed to 300 East. Delicious meal, beautiful setting, excellent service! Definitely will visit again whenever in the area! The butterscotch ice cream sandwich with the molasses cookies is incredible...may start with dessert next time!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting the city of Charlotte and this ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Visiting the city of Charlotte and this spot was recommended by another "foodie" from Chicago.

The highlights : Food, presentation and excellent service by our waitress Tracy (Ms Nasty) Ask her about how she got that tag :-) She was professional, informative, personable and made some wonderful recommendations, [providing us plenty of time to explore, choose and enjoy. Again, the food was excellent!

Opportunity for improvement - Friendlier and engaging staff who greet you. Two people at the front with lackluster personality. We sat at the bar and found the bartender "fair" and not engaging or personable. She was more interested in talking with a friend about her new diet.

Ask for Ms Nasty (Tracy) table and you will have a wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went here for dinner la ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My husband and I went here for dinner last week. It was a Thursday night and pretty busy but we didn't have to wait long for food or drinks. We loved it! The goat cheese appetizer was amazing. There were a lot of options we wanted to try, so we'll definitely be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were seated promptly (I did make a re ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We were seated promptly (I did make a reservation.) The restaurant was busy but not very noisy. We were greeted immediately by our waitress, Melanie. She informed us of the specials for the day, including the half-priced wine bottles, which we happily received! The entire experience was very relaxed and easy. Nothing was ever rushed and the attentiveness of Melanie throughout the evening was perfect. We couldn't have asked for anyone better. And the food? It was incredible. The Ahi Tuna Salad was incredibly fresh and delicious. I melted in my chair over the stuffed filet mignon, and the brownie dessert was a perfect ending. My coworker had the lamb, which I normally do not like, but even I liked the ragout. I can't imagine an occasion where 300 East would not be an excellent choice to dine. I will make a point to return if I ever make it back to Charlotte.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flank steak was delicious!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Flank steak was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service! Thanks Annic ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Great food, great service! Thanks Annick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't beat $4.50 mimosas for a nice ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

You can't beat $4.50 mimosas for a nice Sunday brunch! We were seated with in a minute of walking through the door. Food was different than most brunch and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've been here f ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is the second time I've been here for brunch, and both times the food was amazing. Bignets are delicious, and my entree even more delicious. The special was potatoes and sausage cooked on a waffle iron, with eggs, and heirloom tomato salad served with grilled ciabatta. It was the best thing I've eaten in a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good quality, flavorful food without muc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Good quality, flavorful food without much flair, but well prepared. I would not rate this as a "foodie" restaurant. Menu is priced fairly well for what you get, but if they would shave 1 or 2 dollars from their entrees, that would be more in line with the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Love 300 East. As a vegetarian they hav ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love 300 East. As a vegetarian they have a great farro sauté with tofu that is excellent. Wife had flank steak that was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was average at best. Dessert (ice c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was average at best. Dessert (ice cream cookie) was absolutely amazing. Saved the entire meal..

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server spoke so fast I had to ask hi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server spoke so fast I had to ask him to please speak slower. He was like ADD!

He suggested the crab leg special - I was starving when I left.

My friend's salmon was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.