About 300 East

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Burger
Beignets
Spicy Pimento Cheese Dip
Tomatoe Bisque
Grits Bowl
Warm Brownie With Caramel And Ice Cream
Pear And Raspberry Crisp
Dirty Martini
Pizza
Salad
sweet potato ravioli
Coffee
Black Bean and Green Chile Chicken Tortilla
Roasted Eggplant Pizza
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Matilda Wong
Pesto Chicken Sandwich With Feta And Chickpeas
Catfish Sandwich W/ Side Of Black Beans
Farro Saute
Brioche Bread Pudding
Hummus Plate
Avocado BLT
Matilda Wan
Spicy Summer Corn & Crab Soup
Apple Cobbler
The Usual

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte

neighborhood gem (171)
fit for foodies (134)
special occasion (110)
See All
great for lunch (98)
great for brunch (87)
romantic (79)
great for outdoor dining (78)
good for groups (42)
hot spot (35)
notable wine list (24)
kid-friendly (18)
scenic view (18)
late-night find (10)
vibrant bar scene (6)
Sort By:
Newest
935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Melanie was excellent,food wa ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our server Melanie was excellent,food was very good. This was our second visit and won't be our last.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

An excellent brunch choice, as always. T ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

An excellent brunch choice, as always. They had a great drink special and we were able to get a prosecco at a wonderful rate. Our server was so friendly and responsive, and was happy to bring us all 4 juice options (so we could make our own little mimosa bar). I had the breakfast pizza - it was good! Not the best I've ever had, but the toppings were fresh and plentiful, and the crust was so light and airy that I wanted to rest my head upon it. The pork belly tacos (a special that day) were amazing. And the brisket benedict (another special) was so good I'd be willing to punch most people I know in the face RIGHT NOW if it meant I could have another one shortly thereafter.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fresh and colorful food. Great, unique ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fresh and colorful food. Great, unique twists to classic menu items. Our table loved everything we ordered and can't wait to visit again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again a perfect meal. 300 East has ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Once again a perfect meal. 300 East has become the favorite restaurant for my wife and I. From atmosphere, service to the food, I really can't find a negative thing to say. If you are looking for a special in a lovely old house based place to call your favorite then 300 East is the place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Charlotte.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner option just outside of upto ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great dinner option just outside of uptown. Very interesting menu - something for everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

A Charlotte staple that never disappoint ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

A Charlotte staple that never disappoints!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall our experience was good. Wait st ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Overall our experience was good. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. Food was good and everything seemed fresh. A friend had the salad and he loved the freshness along with the delicious dressing. He liked that he was able to stick to his diet and still enjoy his meal. Setting was eclectic, not necessarily romantic, which was fine for our group!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant has been open for many, ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant has been open for many, many years but it was the 1st time we've tried it. We're "bar people" so after having one pre-dinner drink at the bar we decided to just eat there. Our bartender (Sabrina) was great. I was having trouble deciding between two dishes so I let her pick for me. Ended up w/ the Hangar Steak which was great. My wife's meal was equally as delicious. Service was great as well so we will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely restaurant in a large old home, w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely restaurant in a large old home, with interior opened up for good light. Table spacing can be a bit tight, as one would expect in such a setting. Cozy vest pocket size bar, outdoor seating, charming decor, lively crowd. The food is fresh and well prepared. Crab cakes were light and delicious. My perennial favorite, hanger steak, was a bit underdone for the requested medium, but the marinade and the relish-like toppings were intensely flavorful. Our server was pleasant, competent, and helpful. However, it was a very busy Saturday night, and occasionally it was difficult to catch the attention of server or host when we needed something like a fork or extra napkin. Despite the crowd, most of the food came out in acceptable time. The blueberry panna cotta dessert did take a bit too long to arrive, but it was worth the wait. Prices are reasonable, considering the location and the high quality of the food. We look forward to visiting this wonderful place again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful gem within easy reach of dow ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

A wonderful gem within easy reach of downtown Charlotte. The variety of selections were outstanding and the service friendly and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I would definitely recommend 300 east to ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I would definitely recommend 300 east to my friends. It is a cute cottage home that is a full service restaurant. They have a range of menu options, and they offer a full gluten free/vegan menu. We visited for my birthday. The wait staff was amazing and very helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Food is good. Very noisy. Not the place ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Food is good. Very noisy. Not the place for a business dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful lunch, as always!

Dined on June 7, 2016

300 East never disappoints. Fantastic service, wonderful food and a great ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service even during the brunch rus ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great service even during the brunch rush. Cozy atmosphere. Quality specials and tempting menu items, hard to go wrong here!

food5
ambience5
service5

The Halibut special was outstanding

Dined on June 4, 2016

The Halibut special was outstanding

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoy 300 East

Dined on June 4, 2016

Always enjoy 300 East... only disappointment was hearing they took our favorite desert off the menu. The one Guy Fieri featured on his show. (ice-cream sandwich)

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1

We've been to 300 East on multiple occas ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We've been to 300 East on multiple occasions and enjoy the menu offerings. The food is always great, but the service can be hit or miss. During our most recent trip, the service was definitely a miss. My wife ordered the Farro sauté and I ordered the Spanish pizza. We finished our salads, and proceeded to wait an additional 35 minutes for our entrees and it took awhile for our salad plates to be cleared. My suspicion is our server forgot to place the order because my wife's entree came out first and was lukewarm, while my pizza took longer and came out piping hot. No explanation or apology was provided for the delay,nor were we asked about dessert before our bill arrived. I don't suspect we'll be returning.

food4
ambience5
service5

Really great atmosphere. Food is above a ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Really great atmosphere. Food is above average but not incredible. Prices are good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Value

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

The menu is very diverse with great choices. Prices are very reasonable. Half-price wine night is awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as usual

Dined on May 31, 2016

As always, varied menu with something for everyone. Food was great. Wine list is sufficient. Desserts are excellent. Knowledgeable and friendly wait staff. It's becoming one of our favorites spots.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find on our cross country adventure

Dined on May 30, 2016

We were on a 3000 mile trek across the US. We had a disappointing meal earlier that evening at a fast food chain and were looking for redemption. We found 300 East online while driving and read their reviews and DESSERT MENU. Open Table allowed us to reserve a table at 300 East. We found our way off the highway to their door just 15 minutes before closing with the help of the hostess over the phone. We had the PB Ice Cream Sandwich and Callebaut Chocolate Brownie. The desserts were fabulous. Service was good and fast. We were back on the highway in no time. Thank you 300 East for accommodating us.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went to 300 East for Sunday brunch with friends. All our dishes were good and the services was outstanding; attentive without being overwhelming and did not feel rushed even though the crowd was building up. Started with the beignets which were puffy, light and has just the right amount of powdered sugar. For brunch the table had Breakfast Burrito, Grits Bowl, Scrambled eggs and french toast. All meals were tasty and had generous portions.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous find

Dined on May 29, 2016

We came to this restaurant because of seeing it on Triple D. We are from Pittsburgh and we were in Charlotte for the weekend. We will be back to 300 East whenever we are through Charlotte. It had THE BEST food. I can't say enough about it. My husband had the lamb and mushroom ragout that was featured on the show and it was fabulous. I could have eaten the goat cheese ravioli it was served over by itself. I got the NC shrimp pasta dish - I never finish pasta dishes and I cleaned the bowl. Kids got fish tacos and the crab cake. I tried everything on the table and there was nothing mediocre in the bunch. Everything was great. Full as we were, we had to have dessert. The PB & J ice cream sandwich, goat cheese cheesecake and brownie were fabulous. As it was later in the evening, they ran out of the peach pie on special, so that was disappointing, but understandable for a busy Saturday night. Highly recommend giving this place a try. We can't wait to come back in the fall and see what's on the menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food is wonderful, great relaxed atmosphere, priced right for a nice dinner.easy parking

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food. I had the hanger steak and i ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food. I had the hanger steak and it was excellent!! Def will add this place in rotation of places to eat!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice for lunch

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Good food , relaxed atmosphere, good service. Consistent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere! This was a w ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great food and atmosphere! This was a work retirement luncheon and everyone had a great time! I would highly recommend 300 East for anyone looking for a nice unique dining experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our first experience here was very good. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our first experience here was very good. Frankly, it would have been outstanding except for the fact that my salmon, ordered medium, was rare to medium rare. In spite of that, it was delicious so I didn't complain. My wife said that her crab cakes were possibly the best she's ever had, and she eats them everywhere! All in all, my rating might be a little harsh, even at "Very Good". I'd recommend this place to anyone without hesitation. Prices really aren't bad at all for the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and for a good value. Cu ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food and for a good value. Cute little spot perfect for Brunch

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place to have any type of meal. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome place to have any type of meal. Absolutely delish and will eat there again for sure. Our server was fun and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I'm honestly surprised how awful our exp ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I'm honestly surprised how awful our experience was after all the good reviews. The hostess greeted us with a stained shirt for starters. Our server forgot half of our drinks and then came back saying that the bar had to make more bloody mary mix. Okay. It took forever to have our server come back to get our order. Is this what happens when you're seated on the second floor? Who knows. We never received our french onion soups. These were later removed from the bill (after asking) but no sorry or I apologize for the inconvenience. We were never asked how our meals were. Never asked if we wanted to place another drink order? Never asked if we wanted to see a dessert menu. The food was pretty lousy and the service awful. Truly embarrassed we took out of town friends here.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem in Rock Hill

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wanted a lunch venue with "a difference" -- found it at The Pump House ...Excellent customer service! Very nice lunch menu with something for everyone, and an overlook to the river -- what more could you want ! And they take lunch reservations ...don't miss this one, people!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and great service!

Dined on May 18, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in awhile. Our server Melanie was so nice and had great recommendations. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Two friends and I treated another friend ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Two friends and I treated another friend to a "moving away" lunch....over all, great get-together...I'd not been to 300 East recently and had forgotten that it's a bit crowded and noisy! We were on tight time schedule and we ordered quickly after being seated....took a bit too long to get served....but I'll go again....

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love 300 east! Awesome brunch ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love love love 300 east! Awesome brunch menu, great service, good atmosphere! Wouldn't change a thing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was attentive appropriately, ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was attentive appropriately, the environment energetic; yet welcoming. The food delicious...I had the stuffed beef filet...tender and delectable...my husband had the roast chicken...he said it was superbly cooked...and moist...with a crunchy skin. Friends had the pork dish...they said it was wonderful...all in all...a perfect experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It did take a while to get our food, but ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It did take a while to get our food, but it was a Friday night! Otherwise, it was great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I went for the first time ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My family and I went for the first time and we loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best pizza in 58 years of life.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wow, delicious food!! The restaurant staff were lovely. You must have patience to get your meal but, it is the south where great things do take time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.