About 300 East

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Burger
Beignets
Spicy Pimento Cheese Dip
Tomatoe Bisque
Grits Bowl
Warm Brownie With Caramel And Ice Cream
Pear And Raspberry Crisp
Dirty Martini
Pizza
Salad
sweet potato ravioli
Coffee
Black Bean and Green Chile Chicken Tortilla
Roasted Eggplant Pizza
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Matilda Wong
Pesto Chicken Sandwich With Feta And Chickpeas
Catfish Sandwich W/ Side Of Black Beans
Farro Saute
Brioche Bread Pudding
Hummus Plate
Avocado BLT
Matilda Wan
Spicy Summer Corn & Crab Soup
Apple Cobbler
The Usual

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte

neighborhood gem (182)
fit for foodies (138)
special occasion (113)
See All
great for lunch (97)
great for outdoor dining (86)
romantic (83)
great for brunch (82)
good for groups (47)
hot spot (40)
notable wine list (26)
scenic view (17)
kid-friendly (16)
vibrant bar scene (11)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Simply put... Might be the best kept sec ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Simply put... Might be the best kept secret in Charlotte. This place is a gem. Have been here many times and 300 East NEVER lets us down.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here many times for lunch an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have been here many times for lunch and occasionally dinner. This midweek dining experience was troubled by the high noise level upstairs. All tables were taken and the "energetic" noise was just too much. Our fellow diners had to leave before they were ready in order to stop shouting to us. Downstairs was a much better option which I will ask for next time.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Setting was great and the unique dishes ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

Setting was great and the unique dishes offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. I was a litt ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. I was a little disappointed that they didn't acknowledge my friend's birthday

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service! Only downfal ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful food and service! Only downfall is seating inside seems to be a bit crowded and we had to start speaking loudly to hear each other as it got more crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wait staff amazing The frittata special ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wait staff amazing

The frittata special of the day was over cooked and very salty!

Breakfast pizza seems to be item to order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Any restaurant that doesn't seat a parti ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Any restaurant that doesn't seat a partial party before the full party has arrived is a place I won't return to. In this age of customer SERVICE, there are PLENTY of other quality restaurants that will get my business.

Furthermore, to be barked at to close the door upon entering the restaurant was quite rude. The hostess station had a party of 3 people ahead of us and we were ready to be seated but since the entrance space is so small, half my party was in the restaurant and the other half outside.

Anyway, the experience was disheartening as a group of friends were reuniting after being apart for some time so this put a damper on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Another great dining experience at 300 E ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Another great dining experience at 300 East!! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was pretty good. Nothing spectacula ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was pretty good. Nothing spectacular, but was a good meal. They had 1/2 price wine bottles on Sunday, which was a really good value. Only problem was where we were sitting. It was really dark and the groups next to us were really loud. So we couldn't see and couldn't hear anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I can't say enough great things about 30 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I can't say enough great things about 300 the chef always has amazing specials , the staff is fun and provides excellent service, if you have not tried 300 it should be on your list, try a "Wong"

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. Nice casual dining experie ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great place. Nice casual dining experience at a very reasonable cost. While I noted the noise level at moderate, it did not detract from the experience. I only note it at that level because the place was packed, for good reason. The food and service were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual atmosphere and decent fare. Serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Casual atmosphere and decent fare. Service was friendly and helpful. Bar cocktails were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We made a reservation which is a must fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We made a reservation which is a must for a weekend night. Wait staff was very attentive and food came out quickly. I wouldn't say the meal was exceptional but friend and I had a salmon dish that was very good. The biggest negative for me was the noise level. We were downstairs and it was pretty hard to hear normal conversation even at a small table for 4.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Celebrating a birthday and they surprise ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Celebrating a birthday and they surprised us by comping our dessert. Sat out on the patio and had great service- very friendly waitress!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was so attentive with a fanta ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was so attentive with a fantastic personality. The menu was amazing with many great choices. The filet that three of us ordered was absolutely delicious and an excellent price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and well thought out menu. Gr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious and well thought out menu. Great seasonal dishes. Was hard to decide what to order. Everyone loves their choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our hostess was very nice and friendly a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our hostess was very nice and friendly and also attentive. Food could have been warmer. If you plan on drinking stay downstairs because the dsteps can be a bit hairy. The noise level was very high but understandable for room size. I was given a great table for my date who was celebrating a birthday. However, a couple that sat next to us talked so loud it was almost distracting. With the help of ambiance and the kindness of our hostess we were able to overcome the distraction.

I would eat there again. My partner ordered the salmon. It was excellent. The only complaint was the portion size could have been more. There was only like a 1/4 cup of rice and not much spinach. I had the lamb stew which was good but not hot enough. It was almost room temperature.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food, excellent service, warm ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Wonderful food, excellent service, warm friendly atmosphere. Can't wait to return and sample more from this excellent menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 4 in our party - all ages 18 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

There were 4 in our party - all ages 18 - 77. Overall we were lukewarm to disappointed. Server was not very friendly, did not let us ask questions about fare. Basically she was preoccupied, put food down and picked plates up. The salmon was dry, the special of shrimp and grits had a bunch of lettuce piled on very little grits. The bread served w goat cheese was tough...Harris Teeter's baguette is more fresh! I have looked at this place for years... Gravely disappointed. Go West next time!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was very good, but crab cake was on ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was very good, but crab cake was on the small side. Ambience was very nice--the restaurant is in an old house in a nice old neighborhood---However, we arrived in a rain storm and early on after being seated, it started dripping inside on my head. I had to move to another chair. When the waitress was informed of this--she did not react much (maybe this happens with every storm?). I hope she mentioned it to the owner because a leaky roof can cause a lot of structural damage before it even shows. My wife really liked the lamb ragout. For the price the meal was only OK. I will probably go back--unless I find better in Charlotte.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This place was exactly what my friend an ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This place was exactly what my friend and I were looking for. The brunch menu was great and the options were endless. I felt good having their food knowing that their ingredients were fresh. The service was wonderful, be sure to ask for Melanie! She was wonderful. I will most definitely be back until I've tried everything on the menu and will highly recommend this place for anyone looking for something new to try.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was lovely, the food was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant was lovely, the food was delicious, but it was more than a little chilly. I would recommend a sweater for indoor dining.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time customer, will return. Exce ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time customer, will return. Excellent food, service and environment

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places on Charlotte. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

One of my favorite places on Charlotte. Great menu with lots of delicious options - desserts are out of this world yummy! Love the atmosphere. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waitress was very attentive and supe ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive and super nice. I wish I would have got her name. We sat outside and it was a beautiful evening for patio dining.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good restaurant except for one major iss ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good restaurant except for one major issue...hard, wooden uncomfortable seating.

Even the chairs are uncomfortable, but the benches are worse.

Maybe they don't want you to stay long.

Invest in chair & bench pads please.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We found this restaurant online. It was ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We found this restaurant online. It was every bit as good as rated. The wait staff was attentive and knew their stuff. The food was delicious and many choices. Cozy atmosphere and not too noisy

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Melanie was excellent,food wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Our server Melanie was excellent,food was very good. This was our second visit and won't be our last.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An excellent brunch choice, as always. T ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

An excellent brunch choice, as always. They had a great drink special and we were able to get a prosecco at a wonderful rate. Our server was so friendly and responsive, and was happy to bring us all 4 juice options (so we could make our own little mimosa bar). I had the breakfast pizza - it was good! Not the best I've ever had, but the toppings were fresh and plentiful, and the crust was so light and airy that I wanted to rest my head upon it. The pork belly tacos (a special that day) were amazing. And the brisket benedict (another special) was so good I'd be willing to punch most people I know in the face RIGHT NOW if it meant I could have another one shortly thereafter.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Fresh and colorful food. Great, unique ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fresh and colorful food. Great, unique twists to classic menu items. Our table loved everything we ordered and can't wait to visit again soon!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Once again a perfect meal. 300 East has ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Once again a perfect meal. 300 East has become the favorite restaurant for my wife and I. From atmosphere, service to the food, I really can't find a negative thing to say. If you are looking for a special in a lovely old house based place to call your favorite then 300 East is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Charlotte.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner option just outside of upto ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great dinner option just outside of uptown. Very interesting menu - something for everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Charlotte staple that never disappoint ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A Charlotte staple that never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall our experience was good. Wait st ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Overall our experience was good. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. Food was good and everything seemed fresh. A friend had the salad and he loved the freshness along with the delicious dressing. He liked that he was able to stick to his diet and still enjoy his meal. Setting was eclectic, not necessarily romantic, which was fine for our group!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant has been open for many, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant has been open for many, many years but it was the 1st time we've tried it. We're "bar people" so after having one pre-dinner drink at the bar we decided to just eat there. Our bartender (Sabrina) was great. I was having trouble deciding between two dishes so I let her pick for me. Ended up w/ the Hangar Steak which was great. My wife's meal was equally as delicious. Service was great as well so we will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely restaurant in a large old home, w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely restaurant in a large old home, with interior opened up for good light. Table spacing can be a bit tight, as one would expect in such a setting. Cozy vest pocket size bar, outdoor seating, charming decor, lively crowd. The food is fresh and well prepared. Crab cakes were light and delicious. My perennial favorite, hanger steak, was a bit underdone for the requested medium, but the marinade and the relish-like toppings were intensely flavorful. Our server was pleasant, competent, and helpful. However, it was a very busy Saturday night, and occasionally it was difficult to catch the attention of server or host when we needed something like a fork or extra napkin. Despite the crowd, most of the food came out in acceptable time. The blueberry panna cotta dessert did take a bit too long to arrive, but it was worth the wait. Prices are reasonable, considering the location and the high quality of the food. We look forward to visiting this wonderful place again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A wonderful gem within easy reach of dow ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A wonderful gem within easy reach of downtown Charlotte. The variety of selections were outstanding and the service friendly and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would definitely recommend 300 east to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I would definitely recommend 300 east to my friends. It is a cute cottage home that is a full service restaurant. They have a range of menu options, and they offer a full gluten free/vegan menu. We visited for my birthday. The wait staff was amazing and very helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is good. Very noisy. Not the place ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Food is good. Very noisy. Not the place for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.