Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About 300 East

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Catering:
We do not offer catering.

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We cannot accommodate special events. The largest reservation we can accommodate is 12 guests (8 during Sunday Brunch.)

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (86)
Good for a Date (78)
Cozy (60)
See All
Special Occasion (54)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Casual (49)
Romantic (47)
Local Ingredients (47)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Great for Lunch (45)
Great for Brunch (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Authentic (32)
Comfort Food (26)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Fun (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Business Meals (21)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Seasonal (10)
Historic (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Scenic View (8)
Late-night Find (7)
People Watching (7)
Organic (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Great Beer (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Coffee was cold, side was so salty I couldn't eat it and the waitress was not very customer service oriented. When I told her about my side dish (the waffle served with my pork) she just said that she'd tell the kitchen and that was all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was fantastic, atmosphere was great... no complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

The fried chicken was awesome! Tender, crispy but not overcooked. I was also surprised that the crab cake was good. I spent time in Maryland and have had good crab cakes in my life. For Charlotte it was a good crab cake. We will be back and will recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Always delicious food. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

I did not like that you had to wait for your full party before being seated especially since there is no waiting area and I had to stand almost in the middle of the dining area. I even had a reservation and they would t seat me

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Great lunch with my brother and sister. Good value food. Service was okay, but that didn't really phase me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

300 East was a fun and flavorful experience. I would return again and order the exact same thing, although it appears the entire menu was choice worthy.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Service was extremely slow and the proteins on the salad were in tiny portions. My past two experiences here have been less than mediocre, and this used to be a favorite spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Overall, positive dining experience. Make sure to call the restaurant if you are running late to a reservation as they will cancel your reservation within 10 minutes if you do not let them know ahead of time. The food took awhile but our server was very apologetic during a busy Sunday brunch. The food itself was delicious and the location speaks for itself!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My hubby and I got an early reservation (reservations not so easy to get) and had a fabulous dinner in a cozy booth. Our server was very respectful of our time limitations for the show and we had an awesome evening, then zipped quickly over to the Knight Theater (just 1 mile away) and made it to our seats in plenty of time. Great dinner and spectacular dessert. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

300E always delivers. The service is personal and friendly without fail. The food is original and sooo damn good every single time. We had the Gorgonzola-stuffed bacon-wrapped filet mignon and the shrimp kabaob special. Not a lot of shrimp on that honestly but it was tasty. Beans the bartender makes a bangin' Don Julio margarita with a Grand Marnier floater! I have been going to 300E for 20+ years. It is consistently the best food in it's category in Charlotte.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Had a great dinner, food was great from start to finish, and the desserts are can't miss.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This a hidden gem in Charlotte! Food excellent and staff very inviting ,will be a regular stop when back in town !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

What a great place with lots of character. I loved the food made by all women chefs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent food and service, really a long standing favorite place!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2017

i wanted to like, LOVE everything about everything here, but the food was a little lacking. boy had the special lamb which wasn't too fatty, but the baby chops didn't have a ton of meat on them and lacked flavor. "the usual" chicken salad was served warm, which i didn't know it was, which threw me completely off. warmed mayo and thousand island dressing is just...weird. the wine was absolutely delicious, and service was solid, and the patio is so charming for a casual sunday bite. will certainly try once more for the food...

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were there are on a Friday night and service was a little slow and the table we were seated out outside was pretty small and on an incline on the concrete which made it a little uncomfortable for my over 6 foot tall husband, but we've eaten here multiple times and love the food and the neighborhood!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 3, 2017

As always, our expectations were exceeded! I can never remember a bad meal or a bad dining experience in this wonderful little restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

A great first visit and will return. The Hanger Steak was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner there during Restaurant week so we decided to return for lunch before leaving town. The lunch vibe is very casual. The food selection was nice. We will certainly return when we are back in Charlotte.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great Restaurant Week meal with wonderful options. I wish they would have agreed to substitution on one dish for someone who was lactose intolerant and wanted to switch gelato for sorbet on dessert, but otherwise a great dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service was slower than I would expect at 5:30 (took a while to be greeted). Food tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 27, 2017

When we moved to Charlotte 3 years ago, I made a list of restaurants that friends had recommended. Finally got around to trying this wonderful restaurant! Out first time at 300 East was a winner!!! We both enjoyed a delicious meal made from fresh healthy ingredients. Can't wait to go back! This former NY foodie was very happy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

It was cold inside the restaurant, and the salad looked like my 12 year old daughter made it with just lettuce, 2 tomatoes and drizzled balsamic dressing. We were excited to see what the hype was about, but we found it to be very overrated with underwhelming food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

The food was great, but the server was inattentive. The seating was within 5 minutes of our scheduled reservation. The table was nice along with the ambiance. There was smoking going on outside that blew into the non-smoking area that was a little off putting. We will eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The food was hot had lots of flavor and our sever was prompt and knowledgeable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

This is restaurant week and the predetermined menu looks fabulous. Of course, we ordered our usual favorites off of the menu. Ahi tuna salad never disappoints. Always a good experience at 300 East.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Birthday - everything was really good, our waitress, food and service. Only negative would be that it was really really loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Some of the best food in charlotte! The Gorgonzola stuffed filet minion wrapped in bacon and the jalapeño potato cakes were fantastic!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

It was delicious and we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We went for restaurant week and the menu was amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Went for Queens Feast and we will definitely be back. Amazing food. The wine was lovely.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food as always. Awesome desserts. Great specials on the menu. One of my favorite places to go eat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very nice experience during restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Good choices for entrees. Nice specials. Great Matilda's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Great little Dilworth joint in Southend worth visiting.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fantastic service the enchilada special was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Beautiful old renovated home, nice atmosphere and you have to check out the rest rooms - they have a sense of humor!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 18, 2017

One of my favorite neighborhood restaurants...always great service and great food...usually loud, but okay if prepared for this....

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Charlotte. Food is always exceptional. Food was slow coming out this time and we had to eat very quickly to make it to the theater for a show, but food was very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.