Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About 300 East

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Catering:
We do not offer catering.

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We cannot accommodate special events. The largest reservation we can accommodate is 12 guests (8 during Sunday Brunch.)

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (86)
Neighborhood Gem (76)
Special Occasion (62)
See All
Casual (61)
Cozy (55)
Romantic (50)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Local Ingredients (39)
Great for Brunch (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Historic (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Business Meals (30)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Healthy (29)
Comfort Food (27)
Fun (27)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Authentic (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
People Watching (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Hot Spot (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Seasonal (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great Beer (7)
Organic (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Scenic View (5)
Family Style (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 12 hours ago

Great food and great service, the breakfast pizza is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Had reservations for lunch. Waited 20 minutes just to get our water before we could even order lunch. 45 minutes before we got our food. Normally wouldn't mind but at lunch time that is slow service. Food was good...

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

From the moment we arrived the Host was very friendly and the waiter was very pleasant. It was a birthday celebration and the evening was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Crab Benedict was delicious! Special french toast selection for that week was excellent. Great brunch stop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went recently for Easter Brunch since we had seen such great reviews for their weekend brunches. Everything was so pleasant and the food was absolutely delicious. The only thing to note is that the tables can feel cramped when you have four people at a small table due to the size of the restaurant, however my husband and I will definitely be back for date night and many more brunches to come!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food, fun menu with options for even the pickiest eaters; love the brunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 11, 2017

300 East is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlotte. You should be surprised if you don't experience excellent service, great atmosphere, and delicious food. This charming restaurant (converted two story historic home) is a perfect place for a romantic lunch or dinner date. The bar is small, but very nicely furnished. Bartenders are very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The only downside was that they seated our group of four (reserved more than a month in advance) in a very tight booth designed for 2 people, and my elbow kept hitting the front window. Made dining very uncomfortable. Food was good and nice options.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Good as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We read reviews prior to arrival so we knew a little of what we wanted to try. Everything was on point! Had the sweet potato ravioli, steak Gorgonzola and the pork loin. All were amazing in flavor and well presented and pricing was great. Would come back again to try more! A little loud upstairs but overall a wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always, excellent food. Interesting menu - not the typical, which is good. But plenty of variety for everyone. Very pleasant, not noisy (they have two rooms downstairs as well as upstairs). Service was a little lacking - had to catch waitresses attention for refills and check - but that is not the usual. Didn't wait too long for food and it was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food is good and they have delicious unique ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very good local restaurant in the SouthEnd. Had the lamb ragout (Guy Fieri's suggestion) which was exceptional. A varied menu which made deciding on what to have difficult. Eclectic atmosphere - an older bungalow - but very comfortable.
We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Just an all around excellent dining experience! We will return for another Gorgonzola Filet!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great spot in historic Dilworth/SouthEnd. Food is always fresh and delicious!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 2, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had in Charlotte. Will make it a habit to return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A terrific date night. Food quality exceeded expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

We weren't wrong when choosing this place. Totally recommend it to anyone who likes good food, service, and environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was delicious. I have eaten there twice and can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

After over 20 visits 300 East is "Consistently Exceptional".

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Requested a dessert to be brought out as a surprise via Open Table. That never happened. Not sure if they missed the memo or didn't see it. Waitress was eager to flip tables as they were busy. Food was delicious and ambiance was fantastic. Great spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good food and good portion sizes-loved the grits bowl and it's toppings. Service was bad and very slow. We waited 1 hour+ for our meal, felt like the waiter forgot about us, and all of the tables around us were served before us even though we arrived first.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Always love 300 East for Sunday brunch. Only complaint is they are slow to bring out meal. Otherwise, a really good place for brunch.....good bloodied and egg dishes.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was attentive , food was great. Has potential to get loud.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

300 East was amazing! We were celebrating a friend's 60th birthday. The atmosphere was very nice, food delicious and service great! We will be going back very soon!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Historic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I love 300 East!! I recommend making a reservation as if you show up it's at least an hour wait. No Brunch Menu on Saturday 😕

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

the place looks drab, the waiting staff were in diner mode, the food was less than average...-don't bother eating here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Booked here for my husband's birthday. Service was amazing. I love the ambiance at this restaurant although can be loud due to the proximity of the tables, I think that is what adds to the dining experience here. Food was superb, the sweet potato ravioli to start and the filet mignon entrée were both delicious. If you can, try and save some room for dessert as the carrot cake cheesecake is a triumph. Thursday evening there was a cocktail special which we took full advantage of, the wine list of also very good. To top it all, our server heard it was his birthday so brought out a brownie dessert with candle for my husband. Great meal and we will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great food, good menu with a nice variety of things you don't see on every other menu!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I went there on a Saturday night. Our server was great and so was the food. We got the 3 bean soup (which is delicious!!) along with the bacon wrapped filet and the carrot cake cheese cake for dessert. All of it was very good. We were seated immediately. It was rather loud but we expected that given the size and crowdedness of place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It's like eating in a friends dining room. Great atmosphere and fantastic food. Nice wine list and creative drinks. We really enjoyed it and we'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I had the pork tenderloin and it was amazing with the bacon jam on top and fresh Brussels sprouts with pistasichios on the side! The hummus whipped potatoes were awesome. Loved all the flavor combinations!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

300 East is consistently my favorite Charlotte restaurant. Service is personable, attentive... food is great and I love how there are always specials. Brunch is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great, quaint place with great food and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Daughters (2) first visit to Charlotte and our new home state. Fun, comfy. One of the best servers we have ever had! Attentive, not at all overbearing at all

Tags: Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Took a friend here for her first visit. I have been many times and always love to return. She was so impressed with everything about 300 East from the ambiance to the service to the food. She cannot wait to return in the future!!

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Farro sauté was amazinggg! Accommodated my dairy free allergy with no issues. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Consistently good. Staff excellent. Enjoy every time we go.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 8, 2017

I had a great night out with my girlfriends for half price wine. This is always a fantastic place to go and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Comfortable restaurant while I was in Charlotte on business, Friendly wait staff. Delicious gluten free items. We had the pimento cheese with gluten free crackers, soup, salad and gluten free ice cream cookie sandwich. I am personally not gluten free and enjoyed the items. Very cozy place would be a nice place for a date night if I lived in the area.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.