About 300 East

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Burger - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Beignets - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Spicy Pimento Cheese Dip - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Tomatoe Bisque - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Warm Brownie With Caramel And Ice Cream - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Pizza - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Salad - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Coffee - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Pear And Raspberry Crisp - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
sweet potato ravioli - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Dirty Martini - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Black Bean and Green Chile Chicken Tortilla  - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Roasted Eggplant Pizza - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Matilda Wong - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Pesto Chicken Sandwich With Feta And Chickpeas - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Catfish Sandwich W/ Side Of Black Beans - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Farro Saute - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Brioche Bread Pudding - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Avocado BLT - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Hummus Plate - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Matilda Wan - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Spicy Summer Corn & Crab Soup - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
The Usual - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Apple Cobbler - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Grits Bowl - 300 East, Charlotte, NC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Our Valentine's Menu will be available for viewing February 1st. Please check back for details. We look forward to serving you soon!

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (68)
Good for a Date (67)
Creative Cuisine (56)
See All
Casual (55)
Special Occasion (52)
Cozy (47)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Romantic (35)
Great for Lunch (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Comfort Food (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Fun (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Authentic (24)
Historic (23)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Healthy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Outstanding Value (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
People Watching (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great Beer (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Scenic View (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Vegan (7)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Meal was average. Good but not exception ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Meal was average. Good but not exceptional. Disappointed that at 7pm both specials of the night had sold out. Too early for that to happen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food is very good and makes up for the l ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is very good and makes up for the less than timely service. The sautéed Farro was amazing. Great use of in season veggies. My daughter loved her sweet potato grits.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great brunch! Good mimosa special. I got ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great brunch! Good mimosa special. I got the grit bowl, and it was amazing! Will definitely be back to try out the dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok! Good brunch!

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Ok! Good brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Went with friends for brunch - very good ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Went with friends for brunch - very good! You basically have to have a reservation, since they are so popular!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service and per usual really good ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and per usual really good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner and dessert were wonderful. We o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner and dessert were wonderful. We ordered three different entrées and three different desserts, all were cooked to perfection served beautifully.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy and cute. Make sure to get a reser ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Cozy and cute. Make sure to get a reservation for the weekend.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really excellent! The cocktails were out ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Really excellent! The cocktails were outstanding.

Loved loved loved the crab cake dinner and just can't say enough about the desserts.

Great to find another wonderful place to dine before the theatre.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our first date here 20 years ago. ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

We had our first date here 20 years ago. Still amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was so-so. We ordered the pime ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was so-so. We ordered the pimento cheese app which was served with saltine crackers. Good have tried something a little classier. I had a decent house salad, dumpling entree and butterscotch ice cream sandwich dessert but nothing was worth recommending. I was disappointed and so were my guests who got the tofu kale salad and ahi tuna salad.

The server was friendly and attentive and had no complaints there.

The restaurant is dated and could use new chairs, tablewares, floor refinishing and some modernizing. It was loud and cramped and I had better expectations given the neighborhood and Charlotte's blossoming food scene.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

300 East continues to deliver great food ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

300 East continues to deliver great food and excellent service. I was recently back in Charlotte and greatly enjoyed our lunch there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Location, Great Customer service, ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Location, Great Customer service, Really good crowd, the food was good.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

300 East is great. The service is consis ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

300 East is great. The service is consistently outstanding and the Wong's are delicious. They could stand to change up the menu from time to time, but food is good quality and consistent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

There must be something you can do about ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2017

There must be something you can do about the noise upstairs. You had a large, drunk group that were shouting at each other. Regrettably I brought a friend to experience 300 East for the first time. I doubt if we will be back. After dinner we walked across the parking lot to Bonterra to the bar. What a not civilized place.

The food was good, however the bread brought to the table only after I requested it was quite ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

It has been a while since we've been to ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2017

It has been a while since we've been to 300 East. We went with another couple and really enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. The house is wonderful - full of beautiful wood and interesting nooks and crannies. And the food was delicious - all four of our entrees were excellent. The only blemish on the evening was "meh" service. Our waitress was fine - but totally lacking in personality or anything that made us feel welcome. I felt like she would have been more at home at a chain restaurant rather than 300 East. I remembered excellent service from previous visits, so this surprised me. But overall, the atmosphere, food, and friends made this an enjoyable evening, and we will return.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

One of my favorite places! The food is a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 10, 2017

One of my favorite places! The food is always great! Love its quaint feeling.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great vegetables! The veggie plate is al ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great vegetables! The veggie plate is always good but tonight it rocked! Edamame that was smoked or grilled. Not sure what they did to make it taste so good but it was unusual and fantastic. The wine list is good and has many affordable choices. You can never go wrong with this Charlotte institution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Meal was good. Got the special and the m ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Meal was good. Got the special and the meat wasn't every warm but still enjoyed it. Server seemed to be slightly bothered with us or just had too many tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great night out in a cozy booth. Food w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great night out in a cozy booth. Food was excellent. Will go again for sure!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome New years eve dinner !!! Great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome New years eve dinner !!! Great food and wine list to match

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions very small, our waitress kept d ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Portions very small, our waitress kept disappearing and she had to be asked to fill up our water glasses and even then she would only fill up the person who asked, not the entire table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Took my wife of 20 years out to dinner. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Took my wife of 20 years out to dinner. We had a great experience at the restaurant. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is very good, the seating upsta ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is very good, the seating upstairs is very tight. The only recommendation I would ask of the restaurant is to take out a couple of tables so you are not constantly bumping into the tables next to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

3rd time going..food and service is alwa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

3rd time going..food and service is always top notch, the only negative is that the place is small on busy nights it's very cramped.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was our first visit to 300 East, and ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was our first visit to 300 East, and we thoroughly enjoyed it! The food was great, service was stellar and the location charming. Even though we live in SC, we'll be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food great service

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were looking for a cozy dinner out wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We were looking for a cozy dinner out with our family on our way to Atlanta and it was a Gem! We loved it. The staff was welcoming. Nick, our server was helpful with dinner recommendations and the food was delicious. We will stop by again on our next visit to Chatlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing. The charm, food, wai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Absolutely amazing. The charm, food, wait staff, dessert, and service was awesome. Could not have had a better time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited for 20 minutes for the host to ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We waited for 20 minutes for the host to come back to the stand to seat us. Then we waited another 20ish minutes for a server to come take a beverage order. They were not busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Our food was good but when it was delive ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our food was good but when it was delivered it was barely warm. We sent it back and the server couldn't have been nicer about it. When it came back out it was much better and server handled it well without making us feel bad for sending it back

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

300 is so charming. I really like the d ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 21, 2016

300 is so charming. I really like the decor, the outdoor patio, the coziness. The food is always good, but I eat here so often that I forget that the sweet potato ravioli and the fall salad are AMAZING. My only complaint was the loud rap music in the background. It wasn't even holiday season rap music. I just didn't get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

I hate to be critical but I have to be h ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I hate to be critical but I have to be honest - I was a bit disappointed in the food at 300 East. I had the lamb ragout and the flavor was overwhelmed with cinnamon (or cloves). I'm not sure which but it was not at all what I had hoped for. My wife had the crab cake (only 1 came on her dish) and it was also unimpressive.

The ambience is wonderful (lots of little light) and our waiter Edward was really excellent which saved the entire experience for me.

I may come back again but it will likely be a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent find!!!! Did not expect much a ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent find!!!! Did not expect much and found a great restaurant. Service, food, prices, ambiance. Will visit it every time I am in Charlotte

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent time as always! Brunch at 3 ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

An excellent time as always! Brunch at 300 East is an absolute must. Crab Cake Benedict, grits and a Matilda Wong and you'll be set for the week!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. I went for brunch and loved ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food. I went for brunch and loved it. The brunch menu is awesome. Great family atmosphere or girls weekend catch-up. Food and customer service was amazing. It's one of my fav brunch spots now. I've even made friends with the regular customers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding as usual and ma ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was outstanding as usual and made up for the lousy service. We started with the baked goat cheese, which was fabulous. I highly recommend the hanger steak. It is always cooked perfectly and the sauce is exquisite. My husband loved the bacon wrapped filet. As far as the service, it was bad from the moment we walked in the door. We were greeted as if we were an annoyance. We waited a very long time at the bar for anyone to make eye contact with us and when our table was finally ready, we were crammed in the tiny upstairs dining area between a big column and two large parties. The waiter was overwhelmed. No explanation of specials, no water, did not bring enough appetizer plates, brought the wrong drinks, rushed us through, etc. Will I come back? Absolutely. The food is that good. We'll take our usual cozy seat at the back of the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

300 East has been a favorite for many, m ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

300 East has been a favorite for many, many years. The varied menu offers something for everyone, and the upstairs seating is especially cozy and quiet (if somewhat dimly-lit). Excellent vegetarian options and incredible desserts!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Can't go wrong with any of the specials ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Can't go wrong with any of the specials of the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food is amazing every time I dine he ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food is amazing every time I dine here. I have never had a bad meal. Oddly, on my last visit the grits were cold when they arrived but they remedied that right away. I dine here weekly. You won't regret it. Ask for Jody. She is amazing! Get the Matilda Wong or on Wednesday get the 1/2 price bottle of wine. The moscata is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.