About 300 East

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Catering:
We do not offer catering.

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We cannot accommodate special events. The largest reservation we can accommodate is 12 guests (8 during Sunday Brunch.)

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Cozy (50)
Casual (49)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Great for Lunch (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Comfort Food (30)
Great for Brunch (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fun (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Historic (26)
Authentic (24)
Healthy (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Business Meals (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Outstanding Value (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Seasonal (9)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (8)
Great Beer (7)
Family Style (5)
Vegan (5)
Scenic View (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Best food that I have had in Charlotte. We plan to go many more times.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

We recently had dinner here and were very impressed with both of our entrees. The food was quite delicious and very affordable. Service was exceptional. We will be back soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great Beer, Fun, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Second time I took my boyfriend there. He loved it the second time as much as the first. A Charlotte gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The bar area is kind of small but the service was solid. Not exceptional. Value and quality of the food was very good.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Seated right away with the reservation, quick service, wonderful food, attentive waiter.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went on Valentine's Day and had the price fix menu. Good value. Overall the food was good. Great service. We love 300 east and will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was terrible throughout the entire meal. We had to consistently ask for drinks to be refilled. Plates took for ever to be cleared. The server forgot to bring things to the table several times. Server would disappear for long periods of time. The food was room temperature. The pheasant was very dry. Dropped $130+ dollars that night. We even complained to the staff at the end of the meal and they just looked at us. No response at all. Will NEVER go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went tonight for Valentine's Day. Food was great. Value not so much. It was a holiday so it was over crowded and $55 per person with a fixed menu. My main problem is the quick turn and the tables being on top of each other.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My fiancé and I went here for our valentines dinner date and 300 East exceeded every expectation! They had a set menu for the evening with three courses and everything amazing! We are still talking about the good days later. The service was terrific as well, our waiter was very friendly and made sure we were well taken care of. Overall great experience, looking forward to going back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Always enjoy dining at 300 East. The food is always great and the service never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to 300 East for Valentine's Day and it was exactly what we were hoping for. Food was great tasting and you got plenty. From Appetizers to the Chocolate Cake at the end, we were pleased. And the price was very reasonable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Took my family out to dinner there and the food was phenomenal especially the dessert made by their amazing pastry chef Miranda. Definitely coming back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food mediocre at best. Duck overlooked. Dry tasteless mashed potatoes. Ravioli was good sauce great.Very loud. 1st visit. Would not return. Better restaurants for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Get the brownie dessert- you will not be disappointed! I also thought $23 for a filet mignon was unreal, and if you like gorgonzola cheese, you will love their spin on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I got to sneak away for a rare date night and this was just what we needed. Our waiter was terrific and had some great recommendations from the wine list. Half-price bottles of wine are a good way to go on Sunday. Had we wanted a fun cocktail or a craft beer, 300 East is good for those as well. We started with the goat cheese, sun dried tomato and garlic appetizer (served hot with toasted bread). It was simple, fresh, and very good (a must IMO). My husband had the duck, with a side of kale. He might as well have licked the plate as he liked it a lot (though would have preferred it without the cherries). I enjoyed the roast chicken, mashed potatoes, and perfectly cooked green beans. House made desserts were worth every calorie. 300 East isn't fancy, with it's oilcloth covered tables, but if great food and an unfussy atmosphere are what you're looking for, you won't be disappointed. Yum!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always delicious food! One of my favorite places to dine in Charlotte!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The potatoes tasted like instant. The food was just ok. My husband enjoyed his steak, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We always enjoy the meal and service.

Waiter was awesome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great time! Food was delicious and we enjoyed the ambiance! Great little Neighborhood find!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We have loved our previous experiences at 300 East, but we were disappointed this time. The steak we ordered medium to medium-well was very red, the pizza crust was burned, and the meal took a long time to be delivered to the table. It was also very loud and tight seating. The onion soup and sweet potato ravioli were delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I took two out of town clients to 300 for lunch and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The Waitress was knowledgeable & attentive. Our food came out quickly and was delicious. All of the ingredients were fresh and well-presented. I had half unsweet/half sweet tea and the waitress cheerfully refilled my glass from two pitchers. She also happily boxed my leftovers for me - a nice touch. 300 is located in a very charming old home in the Dilworth Section of Charlotte - great ambience. 300 never disappoints.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Shrimp & Grits were too Spicy & not noted on menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The view is quaint and nice. The view was nice, we had a window booth! My NY parents were very impressed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Pretty good brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My wife and I were out and about and decided we should grab dinner somewhere. This place kept popping up towards the top of the lists we browsed for ideas. We made a reservation and headed that way.

First opinion based on appearance:

Nice place with some homey feels.

A little tight space wise but not uncomfortable.

Second opinion based on the hostess:

Polite hostess who promptly took us to our seat.

Overall service opinion:

Our waitress was sweet and took good care of us.

Opinion based on food and drink:

My wife had the fillet and seemed to enjoy it.

I had the half chicken and it made me feel like I was prepping for a competition; bland, dry, uneventful chicken paired with equally boring vegetables. Woo, exciting.

I got a drink I thought would be decent with the bourbon they used but it ended up being watered down soda water. No bite at all and certainly a weak pour. Boo!

Overall, decent place for sitting and talking but food and drink made it a one hit bummer that we won't be returning to or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always love going to 300 East. Generally, plenty of parking. Has a good bar. I do recommend reservations, as it can get pretty busy.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 3, 2017

First experience there! It was someplace I'd always wanted to try and we really enjoyed it. Small menu but all of it was wonderful. It's a little loud because it's an old house and tables are somewhat close together. We were glad we made reservations! I also was pleasantly surprised with the price. I thought it was quite reasonable for the entrees.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was good, not great. Nothing wrong with it. No one was raving about it. Noise level was uncomfortable upstairs. Even after the place cleared out a bit, still very loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I had the bronzed sesame salmon which was a little overcooked for my taste. Also wished there were more vegetable options (not starch) to replace the spinach. My husband had the shrimp BLT which he liked. Overall it was a good value - but food was of average quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Decided to try for Restaurant Week. The choices for this were really good. There were 4 of us so we tried all 4 appetizers. A glass of wine came with the Prix Fixe menu too. Goat cheese w/bread (everyone's favorite), salad, shrimp and grits (only 2 shrimp) and hummus. For the entree 3 of us tried the Hanger Steak-awesome. One the chicken. Dessert. 3 of us had the brownie w/ice cream and whipped cream and one had the Carrot Cheesecake. Both were good. The regular menu looks good too. Will go again. Reminds me of Cajun Queen atmosphere-quaint house in neighborhood. Our waitress was very attentive too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice location and atmosphere with good food and drinks and definitely well priced. You get all that with great service.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Groups, Vegan, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Quaint find. The food was cooked to perfection. I had the hanger steak, medium and my friend had the salmon, medium. Very tasty. Prompt service and our server was very knowledgeable. Everyone and everything was amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was so excited to try 300 east, however our meal was lacking. My Boyfriends salmon was raw and my chicken was bland. The dessert and goat cheese app was good but for the price wasn't anything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my second visit to your establishment and I will be going again in February. I have enjoyed every meal that I have ordered so far and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Lovely meal and lovely service. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. The server was gracious and pleasant, and every course was really enjoyable. Super cozy for a date night that is nice but not stuffy or overly fancy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Had a good time for first time, besides taking 15 minutes to come and take our order after we asked for a couple more minutes since we never been there and waited at least 45min between our first dish and entree because or waiter forgot to put the order in. Wasn't overly impressed for having to wait so long for our main dish they provided us with a free glass of wine. Guess it was better then nothing. For a upscale restraunt let me add would think the table clothes would be clothed not plastic but overall everything was decent

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We enjoyed our meals, but were a bit disappointed with then as well. My husband and I celebrated my birthday there in 2011 and fell in love with the flavor creations from the chef; however this time (for our mom's birthday) the half chicken entree lacked flavor (bland) and was very dry.

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good food at a reasonable price with an excellent waiter but pretty noisy

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was very good, but we enjoyed the tea ice cream especially. They frequently have very unusual ice creams and all have been good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Never disappoints! A must try during the Queen's Feast.

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was our first time to 300 East. It was a cute little place with a lot of character. The best part of the entire meal was the desert. The ice cream sandwich was delicious, and gluten free!

We will be back again!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service wasn't bad, but it wasn't exceptional. Food was very good, but maybe not quite worth the menu prices. Table was way too close to another and it was loud. Still a good place though

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The food was phenomenal and the cocktails paired nicely. The ambience was perfect for a date or evening out with friends. I gave only three stars for service because the server made the meal feel rushed, resulting in my date and I moving to the bar to get cocktails, but the service at the bar was impeccable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Meal was average. Good but not exceptional. Disappointed that at 7pm both specials of the night had sold out. Too early for that to happen.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food is very good and makes up for the less than timely service. The sautéed Farro was amazing. Great use of in season veggies. My daughter loved her sweet potato grits.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Brunch late on Sunday with friends. Great meal and 1/2 price bottles of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great brunch! Good mimosa special. I got the grit bowl, and it was amazing! Will definitely be back to try out the dinner menu.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Ok! Good brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Went with friends for brunch - very good! You basically have to have a reservation, since they are so popular!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great service and per usual really good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.