About 300 East

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Burger
Beignets
Spicy Pimento Cheese Dip
Tomatoe Bisque
Grits Bowl
Warm Brownie With Caramel And Ice Cream
Pizza
Salad
Coffee
Pear And Raspberry Crisp
sweet potato ravioli
Dirty Martini
Black Bean and Green Chile Chicken Tortilla
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad
Roasted Eggplant Pizza
Matilda Wong
Pesto Chicken Sandwich With Feta And Chickpeas
Catfish Sandwich W/ Side Of Black Beans
Farro Saute
Brioche Bread Pudding
Avocado BLT
Hummus Plate
Matilda Wan
Spicy Summer Corn & Crab Soup
The Usual
Apple Cobbler

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte

Neighborhood Gem (206)
Fit for Foodies (144)
Special Occasion (129)
See All
Romantic (100)
Great for Lunch (97)
Great for Brunch (88)
Great for Outdoor Dining (87)
Good for Groups (54)
Hot Spot (41)
Notable Wine List (29)
Kid-friendly (20)
Scenic View (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Late-night Find (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Flank steak was delicious!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Flank steak was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service! Thanks Annic ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service! Thanks Annick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't beat $4.50 mimosas for a nice ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

You can't beat $4.50 mimosas for a nice Sunday brunch! We were seated with in a minute of walking through the door. Food was different than most brunch and delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've been here f ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 6 days ago

This is the second time I've been here for brunch, and both times the food was amazing. Bignets are delicious, and my entree even more delicious. The special was potatoes and sausage cooked on a waffle iron, with eggs, and heirloom tomato salad served with grilled ciabatta. It was the best thing I've eaten in a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good quality, flavorful food without muc ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good quality, flavorful food without much flair, but well prepared. I would not rate this as a "foodie" restaurant. Menu is priced fairly well for what you get, but if they would shave 1 or 2 dollars from their entrees, that would be more in line with the food and atmosphere.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Love 300 East. As a vegetarian they hav ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love 300 East. As a vegetarian they have a great farro sauté with tofu that is excellent. Wife had flank steak that was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was average at best. Dessert (ice c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was average at best. Dessert (ice cream cookie) was absolutely amazing. Saved the entire meal..

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server spoke so fast I had to ask hi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our server spoke so fast I had to ask him to please speak slower. He was like ADD!

He suggested the crab leg special - I was starving when I left.

My friend's salmon was dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great date night for my wife and I. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great date night for my wife and I. The food was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, fun atmosphere & great servi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere & great service! The hosts were fun & helpful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, not spectacular and it wa ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was good, not spectacular and it was a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It's a lovely restaurant, the bartender ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It's a lovely restaurant, the bartender and waitress were very nice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Great spot for lunch or dinner. I took m ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great spot for lunch or dinner. I took my now wife here on our first date and we come back every few months. Food never disappoints and atmosphere is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great find. The restaurant h ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was a great find. The restaurant had a great deal of charm and very vibrant--didn't expect it to be as busy as it was on a Thursday evening, but all the tables were filled. We made a reservation and glad we did. The server was great even though the place was full--she provided us with full attention and took care of our needs. The food was wonderful, but a bit on the pricey side for amount you received. Drink specials were very good! Overall a wonderful experience -- would definitely recommend this place (especially first timers to the city)!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent! One of the best lunches ever ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent! One of the best lunches ever! Highly recommend to everyone. The Cuban with jalapeño potato cake is wonderful. The desserts are excellent, too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honored the reservation. Slow and limit ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Honored the reservation. Slow and limited service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

300 east was very patience with us as 2 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

300 east was very patience with us as 2 other guess didn't think that would make but did after orders were taken. This made it a party of 10.everything came out at the same time. Food was excellent and waitress was awesome.you can't go wrong with anything you order.we all had a different dish.and everyone was pleased.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious and reasonably priced. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always delicious and reasonably priced. Spanish pizza is unbelievable. Grilled Hangar steak consistently tender and delish. Great cozy atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love coming to 300 East. Their brunch ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love coming to 300 East. Their brunch menu is amazing and I have yet to be disappointed! Melanie is an awesome server and made our brunch even better!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food & some interesting menu items. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good food & some interesting menu items. The wait time for food was a little slow, more of a relaxed brunch but still reasonable. Sorry we needed to leave as the desserts looked interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always great place for brunch. Can be n ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always great place for brunch. Can be noisy in some areas but not too bad. Always great food and service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome experience! We were celebrating ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Awesome experience! We were celebrating birthdays and enjoyed everything about our dinner experience! The food was amazing right down to the dessert and the service was the best! We will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal. Great atmosphere. Great ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic meal. Great atmosphere. Great drink selection. Drove two and a half hours to try it out after seeing it on TV. Definitely worth it. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great brunch space! Pizzas are huge, so ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch space! Pizzas are huge, so order to split unless you plan to take some home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent experience on our trip to Char ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent experience on our trip to Charlotte. The restaurant is warm and cozy in a unique building. The scallop special with polenta and spinach was perfect. Large, tasty, fresh scallops with a perfectly cooked piece of polenta. Everything was delicious, other people in my party said the filet wrapped in bacon was perfect and the tuna burger was fresh and delicious. Staff was excellent and attentive. Will definitely eat at again.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. First time dining at 30 ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent food. First time dining at 300 East. Could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place first time going there but i ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great place first time going there but it won't be my last. Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time and we loved it. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was our first time and we loved it... the food, customer service, and location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Saw the Lamb Ragout w/Mushrooms on Diner ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Saw the Lamb Ragout w/Mushrooms on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives. Had to try it. The meal was as good as it looked on TV.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our favorite restaurant in Dilworth! Fo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Dilworth! Food is always great! Love the neighborhood atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wasn't my greatest experience at 30 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This wasn't my greatest experience at 300 East. The food was slow in arriving. After the waitress left, my son took his first bite of what was supposed to be a shrimp taco, only to find out it was chicken. It took a long while before we could flag our waitress down to let her know of the mistake. She took the plate away, said she would be right back with shrimp tacos, but didn't return for 15 minutes. She never apologized. I had raved about the restaurant to my son, and was truly embarrassed by the service. I will not be quick to recommend 300 East the next time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was excellent, everyone was so ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was excellent, everyone was so nice, I ate there twice in one week....I would recommend everyone to go there and enjoy..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both service and food were great. Every ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Both service and food were great. Everything came out in a very timely manner and we were taken care of very well from seating to leaving.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love 300 East, always a great surprise w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love 300 East, always a great surprise waiting for you with something new

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the brunch. Service was g ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Really enjoyed the brunch. Service was great. The lemon curd and blueberry French toast was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to 300 East. W ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our first visit to 300 East. We chose to try it for Charlotte's restaurant week. We are so happy we did. The menu had quite a bit of variety and was a good value! Our server was pleasant and efficient. our food was excellent and there was plenty of it. We brought so much home and enjoyed it a second time. We are looking forward to going back to try other menu items and will recommend it to some friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess was OK but could have been frien ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Hostess was OK but could have been friendlier. Noted in my reservation it was our anniversary. No mention. Waitress was great. Surprisingly, a manager never stopped by. Will definitely go again and recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for restaurant week. Not everyon ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We went for restaurant week. Not everyone participated, but all of our food was fantastic. Service was great. We also had 2 kids 6 and 12 yrs old. Nothing to complain about. Will definitely return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed everything from our table, our s ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Enjoyed everything from our table, our server and food and wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter Matthew was great. Phenomenal ser ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Waiter Matthew was great. Phenomenal service. Food was great. A little cramped in seating area but it made up for it with the great customer service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.