Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About 300 East

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Catering:
We do not offer catering.

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We cannot accommodate special events. The largest reservation we can accommodate is 12 guests (8 during Sunday Brunch.)

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (93)
Neighborhood Gem (79)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Cozy (62)
Casual (62)
Romantic (55)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Local Ingredients (45)
Great for Lunch (39)
Great for Brunch (39)
Worth the Drive (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Historic (36)
Business Meals (35)
Healthy (32)
Fun (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Comfort Food (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Authentic (22)
Bar Seating (19)
People Watching (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Seasonal (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great Beer (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Organic (6)
Family Style (6)
Scenic View (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a large party with several young children. Their staff was incredibly gracious in accommodating our needs and helped make it a lovely get-together! Kudos.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding on so many levels! Absolutely loved it!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Tasting Menu, Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

A little cold upstairs near the vent. Overall good experience. May need more waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was exceptional. Service was attentive but not hovering. Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Great lunch options, local ingredients and attentive wait staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely adore this place! Been there for lunch and dinner and highly recommend!! If I lived in charlotte I would probably catch myself there at least once a week.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome food. Loved 1/2 price bottle of wine special that happens on Wednesday's. Fun atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious food with friendly staff at great pricing. Can't ask for anything more in my opinion.

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Not only was the food delicious all of the employees were friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great neighborhood restaurant. Menu is not very complicated the wine list is sufficient. A great place to go if you're looking for atmosphere that's different, yet comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service with great and unique selections resulted in a wonderful Mother's Day dinner. The sweet potato raviolibwirh gorgonzola were perfect. Halibut with pesto and baby legumes was perfection. Ribeye with beaurnaise topped with lobster also great. Deserts were wonderful too. Bottle of 2014 enTycement wine was great value as 1/2 priced!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices, awesome desserts!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This used to be our go to brunch spot! The food has gone downhill 😕 will be moving on to other places unfortunately...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Waited nearly 20 min to sit for a reservation. Waiter forgot our coffee. We had to wait an hour and a half until we got to eat - four tables around us got their food about 15-20 min before us despite ordering before them. We were there before it got super busy, I'd hate to see how it is when it's crowded - don't think the staff can handle it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a fabulous brunch. I don't typically eat sweet breakfast food but I was swayed by the Blueberry Buttermilk Waffles (Grande Marnier strawberries, orange-buttered honey, Vanilla gelato, white chocolate whip, and a side of bacon). It was sweet but not overly so, really enjoyable for someone who doesn't typically have sweet breakfast foods.
I also had a bite of the frittata, witch was also wonderful.
The bread basket was amazing as well, three types of bread with honeysuckle butter.
Loved it! We'll be back.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, amazing service and awesome drink choices.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My teenage daughter and I went to 300 East for an early Mother's Day dinner. We sat on the second level. This place has a very nice ambience, cozy and warm.

We ordered the pimento cheese and crab cake appetizers. Both were outstanding! I requested gluten free crackers for the pimento cheese, which they provided without a problem. I had the special sangria offered that day and it was yummy and perfect with my food.

Our dinner meals were also very good. My daughter had the regular menu item, filet with Gorgonzola and bacon. I had the special fried filet with lobster creole and friend green tomatoes. Should have probably ordered medium rare, but I didn't. We ordered them as medium and they were medium, so no fault of theirs.

Would highly recommend 300 East and we plan to go back more often. We definitely want to go for lunch one day soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and service were good but it is very cramped. We felt like we were packed in like sardines which made it hard to relax and the food took forever. Would possibly go back in the future but would not make it a priority to rush back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fantastic food made up for the horrendous service. The sweet potatoe ravioli is a must try!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A family favorite and a fun place to take an out of town guest.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Lovely food

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Everything was just fine except for the noise level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Best experience at 300 East we've had. We have been a lot and our server was by far the best we've ever had. Will not wait so long to come back now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My first time and it was very disappointing. Slow service (45 mins to get good) and tepid food temp. Food was ok but not amazing. The starter was spicy pimento but it came with carrots and saltines. Saltines? Really? Was really a fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Awesome Brunch. We had tons of food and the meal was amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went for brunch. Food was a little slow to come out. But overall very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Ambience is nice but relaxed, I saw blazers and t-shirts and both looked at home. Food is excellently prepared and presented, service is in the sweet spot between to much and not enough attention. Wine list is quality, specials are interesting and good. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Fancy food without the stuffy environment that sometimes comes with fancy food. We love it.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and drinks were good. Service was slow and unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good time. Thanks.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is in a two-story old house and is very charming with a wide menu selection . The ahi tuna salad is to die for!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Friends from out of town. Great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Such a funky, creative place to eat. We had brunch and all ordered different dishes so we could taste and sample one another's selections. Everything was wonderful!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Birthday dinner with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Loved our meal. A bit of attitude from the waiter...but nothing we couldn't handle. Delicious food. Booths upstairs a bit uncomfortable - cushions would be a nice addition - but still a delightful evening. Met our expectations!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Service was great, food was delicious! Conveniently located and easily accessible. Perfect spot before an event, too.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Love 300 East! Perfect for a causal meal or a fancy night out. Their gluten free menu is amazing & even includes dessert... can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Sitting outside was great and the fact that we tried something different outside of the traditional chain restaurants was awesome. Great Moscato wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Met some prospects here for a business lunch. The service was courteous and prompt. Their menu is a bit limited but still had good options. All of our food came quickly and as ordered. Everyone definitely enjoyed their meals. I'd go back.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, People Watching, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.