About 300 East

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
3 More
Best Value
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte

neighborhood gem (186)
fit for foodies (160)
special occasion (116)
See All
romantic (106)
great for lunch (96)
great for brunch (94)
great for outdoor dining (66)
hot spot (44)
good for groups (42)
notable wine list (36)
scenic view (23)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
907 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our first experience here was very good. ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our first experience here was very good. Frankly, it would have been outstanding except for the fact that my salmon, ordered medium, was rare to medium rare. In spite of that, it was delicious so I didn't complain. My wife said that her crab cakes were possibly the best she's ever had, and she eats them everywhere! All in all, my rating might be a little harsh, even at "Very Good". I'd recommend this place to anyone without hesitation. Prices really aren't bad at all for the quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and for a good value. Cu ...

Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food and for a good value. Cute little spot perfect for Brunch

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place to have any type of meal. ...

Dined 7 days ago

Awesome place to have any type of meal. Absolutely delish and will eat there again for sure. Our server was fun and knowledgeable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I'm honestly surprised how awful our exp ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I'm honestly surprised how awful our experience was after all the good reviews. The hostess greeted us with a stained shirt for starters. Our server forgot half of our drinks and then came back saying that the bar had to make more bloody mary mix. Okay. It took forever to have our server come back to get our order. Is this what happens when you're seated on the second floor? Who knows. We never received our french onion soups. These were later removed from the bill (after asking) but no sorry or I apologize for the inconvenience. We were never asked how our meals were. Never asked if we wanted to place another drink order? Never asked if we wanted to see a dessert menu. The food was pretty lousy and the service awful. Truly embarrassed we took out of town friends here.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden Gem in Rock Hill

Dined on May 19, 2016

Wanted a lunch venue with "a difference" -- found it at The Pump House ...Excellent customer service! Very nice lunch menu with something for everyone, and an overlook to the river -- what more could you want ! And they take lunch reservations ...don't miss this one, people!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and great service!

Dined on May 18, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in awhile. Our server Melanie was so nice and had great recommendations. Will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Two friends and I treated another friend ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Two friends and I treated another friend to a "moving away" lunch....over all, great get-together...I'd not been to 300 East recently and had forgotten that it's a bit crowded and noisy! We were on tight time schedule and we ordered quickly after being seated....took a bit too long to get served....but I'll go again....

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love 300 east! Awesome brunch ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love love love 300 east! Awesome brunch menu, great service, good atmosphere! Wouldn't change a thing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was attentive appropriately, ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was attentive appropriately, the environment energetic; yet welcoming. The food delicious...I had the stuffed beef filet...tender and delectable...my husband had the roast chicken...he said it was superbly cooked...and moist...with a crunchy skin. Friends had the pork dish...they said it was wonderful...all in all...a perfect experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It did take a while to get our food, but ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

It did take a while to get our food, but it was a Friday night! Otherwise, it was great!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I went for the first time ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

My family and I went for the first time and we loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best pizza in 58 years of life.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Wow, delicious food!! The restaurant staff were lovely. You must have patience to get your meal but, it is the south where great things do take time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our first trip for dinner and w ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was our first trip for dinner and what a delight it was! Our server was a treat, super friendly and courteous, in addition to being very knowledgable about the menu. I would highly recommend making a reservation. Dog friendly patio is a plus too!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience! Food and serv ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

A great dining experience! Food and service was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were all excellent! Both the host and our server were very familiar with them I, made recommendations that were excellent. Our sever was attentive, but not overly so. I had been here multiple times for lunch, but never dinner. It was excellent. A very nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Save room for dessert!! It's a must ever ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Save room for dessert!! It's a must everything was amazing!

food3
ambience5
service4

Mahi special was bland.

Dined on May 9, 2016

Mahi special was bland.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Mother's Day special

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to 300 East for the past 3 Mother's Day and all have been wonderful experiences. The food is excellent, the service has been great, and the attention paid to my wife on her day is wonderful. They go out of their way to accomodate our son (3 yrs old). The portions are large and always well prepared

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A cut above in an ambient but casual setting

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My wife and our adult daughter celebrated a late Mothers' Day lunch at 300 East, as the request of my wife. Our daughter is 100% vegan, which can be a challenge at some places but never at 300 East. The food is always excellent - everything 100% made in-house of the best ingredients, many locally-sourced. It is a fairly casual place, but the low lighting upstairs and the natural light coming through the large windows downstairs always make it feel elegant, in a way. 300 East never disappoints.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Great Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had reservations. We did not have to wait at all. The food was great. My son liked it so much he asked to see a dinner menu. We will definitely be back for dinner. Our waitress Mandy was great. We didn't have to ask for anything. She brought us everything.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

300 East - Nice place for drinks

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for mothers day. I thought it was a nice place. Wonderful outside dining, but inside was a bit tight. The food was decent, well cooked and displayed I just wasn't a fan of the shrimp and grits.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Waiter was very nice snd helpful...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Waiter was very nice snd helpful...

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Make a Reservation

Dined on May 1, 2016

The sunday brunch menu is amazing, make a reservation. we arrive they were packed but since we had a reservation we cruised right to a table. The food was amazing, the atmosphere was very nice and so was the server. I will definitely be dining here again and have already added it to my list of favorite places.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had brunch and it was great. The beig ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We had brunch and it was great. The beignets were excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just Fun!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We celebrated our 33rd anniversary there for dinner and had a very good meal. The bar drinks were excellent, as was the service. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

Quality and presentation of good is wond ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Quality and presentation of good is wonderful. Menu selections are varied enough to suit different tastes and $$$

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hostess not very good

Dined on April 30, 2016

We made a reservation, I requested a booth. Upon our arrival, the hostess stated all the booths, which were empty, were reserved—we made a reservation. She sat us at a small table, I wasn't happy and we left. Never tried the food. The hostess is your first impression and experience when dining out. Couldn't rate the food or the rest of the experience as I was unhappy and left.

food3
ambience4
service4

I visited this restaurant for the first ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

I visited this restaurant for the first time for Sunday Brunch. I tried the grits bowl and choose these different toppings. Next time I will try something different, I wasn't impressed with this item. The old converted house was really nice.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

300 East - always a pleasant time!

Dined on April 23, 2016

I recently moved to the area and have been to the restaurant three times, the last time this weekend with a friend who is celiac. Your options for her were great and she was most appreciative. But always the food is interesting, the servers delightful, and I love how it's so multi-generational. And no one rushes you!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Best- always

Dined on April 23, 2016

Hands down, 300 East is my favorite restaurant in Charlotte! I don't get to go often enough living outside the city, but special occasions and any occasions always call. Need to visit. Everything on their menu is good and they change it up a bit every now and then for variety. However, I only ever order one of two things- the Seared Ahi Tuna salad or The Usual- sublime every time. The apps are good and the desserts are too the few times I have splurged. But wait there's more- you can't leave 300 East without trying the ever famous Matilda Wong! Not into fruity delicious concoctions in your own little pitcher, the Mojitos are good too. I tend to stick with my favorites, but 300 East will never disappoint in service, ambience or food!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Delicious food and service

Dined on April 23, 2016

Delicious food and service

food5
ambience5
service5

The sweet potato ravioli is the absolute ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The sweet potato ravioli is the absolute best! Never had anything that I didn't enjoy but that one is a standard we order every single time.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR LARGE GROUPS

Dined on April 20, 2016

I made a reservation 3 weeks in advance for a group of 10. The morning of I confirmed the reservation and added an additional person to the table. A few minutes before I called and spoke to the hostess letting her know we were running a few minutes behind and asking if we could pre-order apps for the table. She said no we could no preorder and that 300 East does not take credit card numbers over the phone. When we arrived 10 minutes late, they had given away our table so we were forced to be split up into 3 different tables. I spoke to the manager on duty, aka the bartender, and he told me there was nothing he could do and that it was their policy. I was very disappointing with how the situation was handled and we will not be taking our corporate business back there.

food2
ambience2
service3

I had the brioche French toast and house ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

I had the brioche French toast and house potatoes. The reason I went to 300 East was because they were in the 10 best places to brunch in Charlotte. I'm honestly confused on how they made the list. I was not impressed. The French toast was okay, I was expecting more. Needless to say, I won't be going back. It didn't meet my satisfaction the way it was hyped up to.

food4
ambience4
service4

We tried out their brunch menu and loved ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We tried out their brunch menu and loved it! My boyfriend tried the special bananas foster French toast and it was out of this world!

food5
ambience3
service5

Food was amazing, but was a really long ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was amazing, but was a really long wait. Service was outstanding. The booth was really uncomfortable for 4 people. It was a long time to wait for food in a very umcomfortable seat. The bloody mary was on point.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a go-to for a great dining experience!

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been going to 300 East for more than 20 years. It is a definite go-to when you know you need a satisfying meal - whether it's brunch or dinner. You are always bound to run into someone you know. The staff treat you like family. My go-to items are the salmon, Ahi Tuna salad and the lamb ragout. The desserts are a definite must - share if you must. Great wine and cocktail selection. If you're a Charlottean, you already know of 300 East. if you are visiting, it is a must to dine here. ENJOY!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was terrible

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

drink orders--- a coke and a iced tea--and a couple of more- one glass of each should up halfway through lunch??? water glass refills--- had to repeatedly ask or not get any refills took forever to get food and my steak was not hot like normal---but room temp... Yall are normally much better- this is the worst experience at 300 I have had... Jeff Spivey

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very helpful, cheerful staff, delicious food.

Dined on April 15, 2016

The staff was outgoing, cheerful and helpful, and their suggestions were all very good. We were celebrating my wife's 74th birthday and thanks to 300 East, it was one of her more memorable!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great location; convenient rail access. ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great location; convenient rail access. In a repurposed/renovated home which makes for a cool vibe/ambiance. We sat upstairs; would recommend that. Server was attentive and knowledgable of the menu and specials. We ordered the drink special that came in a small pitcher that contained enough for my wife and I to each have two full drinks (so good-tasted like a sweet tart). Food came out in a timely manner and was very good. We will be back!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.