Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.80mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About 300 East

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Catering:
We do not offer catering.

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We cannot accommodate special events. The largest reservation we can accommodate is 12 guests (8 during Sunday Brunch.)

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (71)
Good for a Date (57)
Cozy (52)
See All
Creative Cuisine (45)
Local Ingredients (42)
Casual (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Great for Lunch (38)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Great for Brunch (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Comfort Food (28)
Healthy (27)
Romantic (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Authentic (24)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Fun (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Seasonal (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Gluten Free Options (8)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Scenic View (7)
Organic (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vegan (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Brunch on Sunday at 12:30pm. Very popular, so service is a bit slow. The brunch menu is great, as is the food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great place for Sunday brunch. The food was awesome.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Never disappoints Always consistent. Great desserts

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I have been to 300 East on multiple occasions and typically bring out of town guests there. On Saturday night I brought 4 out of town guests to 300 East for dinner. We were brought to a table that did not have enough seats (5 seats for 6 people). We waited for 5 minutes for the hostess to bring another chair to our table. We were not provided a drink list. The waiter took 2 individuals orders, but did not take the other 4 individuals drink order because there was no drink list provided. One the wine list was provided, he came back and asked if we wanted to order our food but did not ask about the 4 individuals drinks. We had to ask to order drinks. After we placed our drink and food orders, he brought the first course (salads), but we still did not have the drinks for the four individuals drink orders and we did not have silverware. We had to ask again for these items. Because I did not feel we were bring taken care of, I went up to the hostess to let her know of the issues. Next thing we knew, the waiter came up to us and asked why we talked to the hostess and he did intend to make us upset. Rather than just correcting his actions, and making the experience more enjoyable by showing us attention, he made the entire situation so awkward. The food was acceptable, but nothing special. The waiter took the drinks off the bill, which was a nice gesture, but the entire dinner was awkward and quite honestly, I was embarrassed I even brought out of town guests there. As we walked out of the restaurant, the manager ran outside to our part apologizing for the issue, and said she intended to apologize earlier but didn't have time to come to our table. I do not plan to come back to 300 East for a long period of time. The experience was unprofessional and awkward.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 13, 2017

New waitress, but she was enthusiastic and eager to do a good job. Food was incredible and the drinks were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is outstanding. I had the Salmon and it was to die for. I had the graham cracker ice cream sandwich for dessert and omg!! I cannot wait to eat here again. Great place for a date night!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 9, 2017

I was very disappointed, especially as I had heard some good things about this place. The setting and the atmosphere was great, unfortunately, the rest did not live up to the standard.
I had booked a table for a birthday dinner with my wife, had made a special note which obviously nobody took notice off. The waitress was a college girl who clearly had no waitressing experience and her “supervisor” was new to the restaurant so she did not know much about the menu or other issues at all. The main course arrived before we could finish our starter and was almost cold. Also, the side of my wife’s main was apparently Polenta which was so runny that one would have needed a spoon to eat it. The wine we orderd with our main was delivered once we had almost finished our main and when we complained about the “Polenta”, the waitress just said sorry, walked away and came back some 5 minutes later with some mashed Potatoes which clearly was totally useless by then and which we had not asked for.
When we walked out, I mentioned our troubles to the manager who tried to offer us a drink on the house but clearly, at that time, this would just not cut it.
Sorry, but given this experience, I cannot recommend this place and I will certainly not go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We went to 300 East for brunch. Luckily we made a reservation because the wait was 30 minutes when we got there. The atmosphere was really cute and the food was delicious (get the grit bowl!), but the service was seriously lacking! It took five minutes for our waitress to greet us, and she even walked by our table to pick up a check right behind us. We also had to wave at her from across the room to get refills for our drinks. Hopefully it was just an off day for service because we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was outstanding! They had half off wine bottles on Sunday's. I had the special which was a puff pastry with poached eggs, hollandaise, creamed spinach and artichokes with cheese and cajun seasoned ham lardons, it was around $17. It was wonderful! My friend had the french toast and cleaned her plate! We need to put this in the normal rotation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Have been going to 300 East for decades. Never plan to stop!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Wonderful meal...below average service. Friendly, but really had no idea about menu items . fortunately we have been a few times and were familiar with what we like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always a knock out. Love 300 East! I've always had a great experience and a great meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 6, 2017

My wife and I love 300 East. Great food. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

I would recommend, however, share my experience. I made a reservation on line for outdoor seating and also marked special occasion birthday. I received confirmation of my reservation on line. Everyone in my party (3 of us) arrived prior to time of reservation but we were told they do not do reservations for outdoor seating but we could wait 20 to 30 minutes for a table to sit outside. We were offered to sit inside which we did since we were all hungry and ready to sit and dine. Then we were rather snidely told that they "really don't have tables for three outside anyway". This was all very bothersome since it was a special occasion and a beautiful, warm fall evening. I feel strongly that there must be a glitch with the on line reservation system since it accepted my reservation for outdoor seating when that was not the case. Bait and switch? We would have made reservations elsewhere if we knew that was not the case. ALSO, prior to our visit, everyone in my party checked out the menu on line and the restaurant was out of the two entrees that we were all considering. Very disappointing. Lastly, our waitress was very nice and good at her job. However, the bar service was slow.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I'm always impressed with their menu options. I've enjoyed everything I've tried.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was great and it was a nice atmosphere. Our server was god and attentive. Overall it was a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had outstanding service and amazing food and would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Their food is always delicious, however their version of a Moscow Mule was more like a Mule. No copper mug and it tasted like it had diet sprite in it. They remade it for me and it tasted the same, so I passed and had a bottle beer instead. The service is good seemed like the bar staff was more focused on socializing than taking care of their drink orders that’s probably why I got the same bad drink twice. Other than that 300 East is a Queen City staple. If you haven’t been, it’s a must place to go.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Met our son for Sunday brunch. Luckily we had reserved as it is very popular. Menu had lots of variety and daily specials. Food great and staff attentive and friendly . Our 2nd visit here and will be back next time we are in Charlotte .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have never had a bad experience at 300 East! The food is always perfect and original and I especially love coming here in the Fall. What Chef does with fall vegetables is always amazing. Great food, consistently good service, and a fair price makes this my go-to for a dinner out. 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great setting in an old house, but the two times we have been here the service was poor and the food took an exceptionally long time. The most recent time our food came out lukewarm, at best. The sad part is that the food and the flavors within were well-done and nicely paired, however, they weren't executed properly.

I do highly recommend the sweet potato ravioli, that was delicious.

A LOT of potential here, they just need to step it up.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I had not been to 300 East in many years.

It really helped to be able to make a reservation through Open Table.

I had the hanger steak and was very pleased with the flavor and preparation.

Our waitress did a wonderful job and got us out in plenty of time for a concert. I regret that I did not get her name to commend her in this review.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Loved the restored old home! Our server did a great job, but the food was very average. I ordered the filet stuffed with blue cheese medium rare plus and it was very rare and the jalapeño potato cake and sautéed spinach was bland. My husband had the pork tenderloin with cornbread waffle and it was very average. I'm glad we tried it, but food was a disappointment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

one of the best restaurants in charlotte, period. the charm of the home, the seasonal dishes for variety, all the best.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Great place to take my out-of-town Managers. Food was terrific and portions were great. Very reasonably priced. It's a little loud once it gets full. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

The sweet potato ravioli was very undercooked. When asked for second bowl to split our soup because we wanted to split our appetizers we were given a hard time. Meal was okay and felt like did chef only cook well for Guy's visit? Does she not care anymore since notoriety?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Always great food, great staff and surrondings. My favorite place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Brunch with Friends

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very crowded. Tables were jammed. No room for waitress to even get to her tables without her butt rubbing against me. Couldn't have a conversation with person across the table due to noise level and poor acoustics in this restaurant. Wouldn't recommend unless you could sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 16, 2017

300 East is always fantastic--prob my favorite Charlotte restaurant. Daily specials are unique and delicious--def go for the soup of the day!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 14, 2017

300 east is one of my favorite restaurants in Charlotte, and my go to spot whenever friends are in town. Absolutely love the food, & the staff is always professional and enjoyable to interact with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Consistently great food and service! Indoor or outdoor, 300 East is always a treat.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic, Organic, Casual, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our waiter wss terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great find while driving north to escape hurricane Irma. Food was great as was the service and staff.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 8, 2017

It was my Mom's birthday - she and my Brother evacuated from Florida in front of Irma - this was the perfect treat to take her mind off her worries. My Mom raved about the food, how delicious it was, what a great place, she went on and on. The whole family just loved it. Thank you 300 East for providing such a great experience !!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Took way to long for food wasn't even fully packed and waited almost an hour for two entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 6, 2017

As always the food at 300 East was delicious. The out of town business partners truly enjoyed the local seasonal options. Unfortunately our waiter, TJ, was sub-par which has not been my experience in the past.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Love their special drink " Matilda Wong " atmosphere Quaint and staff was Pleasant.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.