About 300 East

300 East Blvd
Charlotte, NC 28203
View Larger Map

We are a neighborhood restaurant, family owned and operated, well into our third decade of serving locals and tourists alike. On the menu: American-Eclectic cuisine. Atmosphere: Warm and quirky with plenty of historic charm. Service: Friendly and casual. Specialties: Creative Sandwiches, Salads, & Entrees, Farm-To-Table, Healthful Fare, Sunday Brunch, Desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm; Sunday: 10:00am - 5:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Brunch

Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Cleveland Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6507

Website:
http://www.300east.net/

Parking Details:
300 East shares the private lot for Streetcar Station Shops at the corner of East Boulevard and Cleveland Avenue.

Public Transit:
300 East is located 2 blocks east of the East/West Boulevard light rail stop.

Executive Chef:
Kristine Schmidt

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Burger - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Beignets - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Spicy Pimento Cheese Dip - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Tomatoe Bisque - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Grits Bowl - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Warm Brownie With Caramel And Ice Cream - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Pizza - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Salad - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Coffee - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Pear And Raspberry Crisp - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
sweet potato ravioli - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Dirty Martini - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Black Bean and Green Chile Chicken Tortilla  - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Seared Ahi Tuna Salad - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Roasted Eggplant Pizza - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Matilda Wong - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Pesto Chicken Sandwich With Feta And Chickpeas - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Catfish Sandwich W/ Side Of Black Beans - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Farro Saute - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Brioche Bread Pudding - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Avocado BLT - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Hummus Plate - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Matilda Wan - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Spicy Summer Corn & Crab Soup - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
The Usual - 300 East, Charlotte, NC
Apple Cobbler - 300 East, Charlotte, NC

300 East Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Charlotte
American
Charlotte
Most Booked
Charlotte

Neighborhood Gem (83)
Fit for Foodies (63)
Good for a Date (62)
See All
Special Occasion (62)
Casual (50)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Cozy (45)
Great for Lunch (42)
Great for Brunch (41)
Romantic (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Local Ingredients (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Historic (24)
Comfort Food (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Business Meals (20)
Fun (20)
Authentic (17)
Healthy (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Outstanding Value (11)
Seasonal (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Scenic View (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Vegan (7)
Great Beer (7)
Family Style (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Whether you are dining with a date, frie ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Whether you are dining with a date, friends or a large group this is always a great choice!

Tags: Live Sports, Disabled Access, Cozy, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pros: Menu selection, food quality, warm ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Pros: Menu selection, food quality, warm atmosphere, friendly staff, didn't feel rushed

Cons: a few annoying fruit flies, food took slightly longer than expected to arrive but was very obviously freshly cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

They have a somewhat limited option for ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

They have a somewhat limited option for the brunch. They have on meat alternatives to Pork.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Really nice overall. Wife and daughters ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Really nice overall. Wife and daughters brunch dishes (eggs Benedict) were flawless and beautiful. Mine tasted fabulous but came to me cold...not cool, but cold.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. Reasonably priced. Th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I love this place. Reasonably priced. The food is great! Recommend the French onion soup and sweet potato ravioli.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant was very nice. I love the ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was very nice. I love the dim lighting I loved how quiet it was as well. Our waitress was a sweetheart and did all that she could while 7 months pregnant! My only issue was how cold the food was. Here were 5 people in my party and all of our food was cold, to the point where we all had to ask for hot food again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

It's a family favorite! We now live in ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It's a family favorite! We now live in Atlanta so anytime we are back in Charlotte it's a must!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional. Loved it.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was exceptional. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The ambiance was really nice. Cozy, yet ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The ambiance was really nice. Cozy, yet open. Service was also very good. It's advertised as a wine bar, but the wine selection was not as varied as I expected. The dishes were very creative, however, the food was only warm, where I prefer my meals hot. All in all, a great experience. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

300 East serves up the best French Onion ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 21, 2016

300 East serves up the best French Onion Soup on the planet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome, service, drinks and Sunday brun ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Awesome, service, drinks and Sunday brunch was deliciously delivered. Sara, was helpful but not intrusive. Quant dining and extremely clean restrooms. Cannot wait to land there again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to eat at 300 East prior to a ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We decided to eat at 300 East prior to a concert. We were greeted by a very nice young man and shown to our table. I told the waitress we were in a time crunch to make the concert and we were served quickly. The atmosphere was very nice, but the food was a bit of a disappointment. My wife and I had an Asian Sirloin skewer. The meat was ok, but the pasta was pasty/gummy. The dish was bland and needed more seasoning. The couple we were with had Shrimp and Grits and a Mexican dish, which they seemed to enjoy.

Overall, our experience was ok, and If I lived closer, I would give them another shot, but I wouldn't make a special trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Always great service. Always great food. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Always great service. Always great food. Innovative, local options, comfort food - yeah, all at the same time. Our favorite everyday and special occasion option in Charlotte - yeah, both. Luscious salads; great apps; always save room for dessert here.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very accommodating for large group!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Very accommodating for large group!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best place for lingering lunch. Downsta ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Best place for lingering lunch. Downstairs noisier than upstairs. Had soup and side salad, great portions. My companion had the appetizer ravioli and barely finished. Brownie with salted caramel and ice cream worth every calorie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My first visit to 300 East; in town on b ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My first visit to 300 East; in town on busines and chose this restaurant based on great reviews and good prices. Food was absolutely amazing, incredibly delicious so I do recommend 300 East for the food alone!

Atmosphere is interesting and cozy as it is in an old Victorian style home.

Service was just okay. We had a reservation for 730pn on a Monday night. We waited by hostess stand a solid 5-8minutes before anyone acknowledged us. Restaurant not too busy but didn't get seated until 750. Server was not knowledgeable of the wine list although she highly suggested the 1/2 price glass of wine special. They were out of my first wine choice and out if Brussels spouts. No refills on water.

I will go here again b/c the food was very good. Three of us ordered entrees only, no apps or dessert.

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

This is one of my favorite special occas ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This is one of my favorite special occasion restaurants in the area.

The staff is great and the food never disappoints!!

300 East has a wonderful "Charlotte feel" for out of town guests.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Visiting from out of town and found this ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Visiting from out of town and found this cute little cozy gem on Yelp and it did not disappoint! It's away from uptown, tucked away in a cute neighborhood. The vibe is dim-lit and very cozy homey feel.

They seem to have daily specials, and on Sundays they have $4.5 mimosa / bloody and half off bottles of wine! Our meal was very affordable. For 2 appetizers, two entrees, a bottle of wine and 1 dessert to share our meal came to roughly $80 including tip.

I started off with the french onion soup which is one of the better ones I've had. Nice carmelized deep onion flavor, rich rich cheese on the top broiled to a nice brown crust, delicious. My partner got the mushroom bisque special soup of the day, which was rich and flavorful. 5/5 on both of those.

For entree I received the half chicken over haricot verts, mashed potatoes and pan gravy. The gravy is one of the best home made gravies I've ever had! And the mashed potatoes were so creamy and delectable. The green beans cooked perfectly, good seasoning. The chicken was cooked very well, not dry at all on the inside but this lacked a little flavor. All I needed was probably a bit more gravy or seasoning/salt on the chicken, but overall amazing meal.

We also saved room to split their spiced butternut squash and vanilla cheesecake with seed brittle, butternut purree and gingercrumb which was amazing. Nice creamy texture, not too sweet and I loved the crunch texture from the brittle.

Our server was great as well. highly recommended restaurant!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Side dishes ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Side dishes are a little "out there" sometimes but are always fresh. Have patronized the cozy restsurant since it opened. Never a disappointment !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been here a few times and wanted ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been here a few times and wanted to introduce this place to my friend. Wait seating is a bit limited but we had a reservation so the wait was not too long. Brunch was awesome, service was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food but very crowded for Sunday ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Decent food but very crowded for Sunday brunch. Our server was very attentive but when a large party arrived they inserted extra chairs into the table next to us which meant that the noise level went through the roof and the extra seating blocked our access when we were ready to leave. The breakfast burrito with refried beans was very flavorful- serious comfort food! My husband had the eggs Benedict which he said was also quite good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I took my boyfriend for brunch on his Bi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I took my boyfriend for brunch on his Birthday. The service was outstanding, plenty of choices on the menu. Food was amazing. Want to come back and try the lunch menu. Will highly recommend to all of my friends.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and imaginative. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was excellent and imaginative. The pork tenderloin was smoky and the toppings were excellent. The harissa salsa was not too hot. Service was a little slow on a Saturday night, but the extra time with my wife was welcome.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and service. Recommend th ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Recommend the lamb ragout and the filet stuffed with Gorgonzola.

Nice wine list with reasonable choices.

Overall a very pleasant experience!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food and nice atmosphe ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Consistently good food and nice atmosphere. My go-to restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had dinner there for our ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

My wife and I had dinner there for our 16th wedding anniversary on November 11, 2016. Our booth was cute and cozzy it was perfect for our special occasion. The server name was Jodie and she was awesome. Thank you so much 300 East for a great evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food is average.

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service was great, food is average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Had reservations for 9 on sun at 6pm. W ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Had reservations for 9 on sun at 6pm. When we were not going to make it on time, Jonathan at 300 East was most accommodating and pleasant and just put my mind at ease that it wasn't a problem. We were almost 30 minutes late and no one ever made us feel like our group inconvenienced the restaurant. The service and food was excellent. We all enjoyed. Thank you 300 East for a wonderful evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I shared the Crab Eggs Ben ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My friend and I shared the Crab Eggs Benedict and the Frangipane French Toast. Perfect combination of savory and sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The ambiance is nice however if it is cr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The ambiance is nice however if it is crowded it will be difficult to hear conversation. The acoustics are not great. Food is delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was delicious! Smaller than expecte ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was delicious! Smaller than expected dining area. Nice and quiet dining experience. Great choice for a date night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We chose 300 East after seeing it on Din ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We chose 300 East after seeing it on Diners,Drive-ins and Dives. Good food and friendly service. It did not disappoint.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In Charlotte on business and brought my ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

In Charlotte on business and brought my wife. Great ambience and food. Staff was great! Will go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely love this place. Perfect spot ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Absolutely love this place. Perfect spot for an intimate night. Make sure you have a reservation there is ALWAYS a wait (every day of the week!)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & cozy space. Perfect for ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great service & cozy space. Perfect for lunch or dinner. Close to Paper Skyscraper.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Family Style, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful and unique flavors as usual. I ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Wonderful and unique flavors as usual. I love the Faro Saute with chicken. We also had the butternut squash & vanilla cheesecake. 5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was underwhelmed with brunch. Hostess ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I was underwhelmed with brunch. Hostess was not friendly, accommodating or even remotely helpful. If people show up a few minutes before you open, just seat them with menus and take their drink order. Then simply let the party know they are a few minutes early but that their server will be over to take the order at 1000. Food is just not a good value. Breakfast not hot, bacon thin and limp, a tiny amount of diced potatoes and overly salty grits was $10.50. I did ask for and received more potatoes but just disappointed with entire experience. The eggs were obviously local since they were a bright orange color and were cooked well but not served hot. This is the one good thing about the breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

I've never been disappointed by the food ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I've never been disappointed by the food or service at this great restaurant!!! The first place I always suggest if someone asks me for a recommendation!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The salmon was amazing!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The salmon was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I took my husband here for his first tim ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I took my husband here for his first time and he was overly impressed with the food, service and the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.