About 247 Craven

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: 2526351879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
New Bern
Best Restaurants in New Bern ›

fit for foodies (46)
special occasion (36)
neighborhood gem (34)
See All
great for brunch (20)
great for lunch (20)
romantic (17)
notable wine list (12)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've come to think of 247 Craven as my f ...

Dined 4 days ago

I've come to think of 247 Craven as my favorite lunch/brunch spot in New Bern ... and there is some fine competition to be up against.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 18, 2016

The menu changes every week and the quality was spectacular. We had the five course meal with wine pairing fortwo people with dessert was $190. Well worth the experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful menu! Our server was great and ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful menu! Our server was great and the food was perfect. Great variety of plates without having an overwhelming menu. The shrimp on brioche appetizer was our favorite! Great little spot for date night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday bash

Dined on May 10, 2016

Twas a family birthday celebration & 247 did not disappoint. Food was delicious (salmon, scallops & hanger steak) and service was on point. After a wonderful meal with nice wines, several in our party questioned whether dessert was possible. The waiter did not bat an eye when we ordered two dessserts for a party of seven; just brought extra forks and a candle! Can't wait to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous Food and Service

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in New Bern. The food is fabulous and the presentation is beautiful. I had scallops and they were perfectly prepared. "Mee-Ma's" carrot cake was melt in your mouth delicious. I look forward to my next occasion to have dinner at 247.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Dept of Health Rating fell to a B

Dined on April 2, 2016

I don't know if they changed owners or chef but this place is very different lately. Our last 2 meals here have been marred by over salted and overcooked meals. Now that their Department of Health rating has dropped to a B rating we won't be going back. It's a shame too because it used to be so good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on March 26, 2016

Day before Easter/ instead of cooking- went to 247 for lunch- great idea!!! Food was great. Server was great. Company was happy. Will go again- have been before.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on March 23, 2016

We loved everything. Great wine list and good cocktails. I want yo go again to try other menu items during different seasons.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everytime we are here food is delicious ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Everytime we are here food is delicious and service super. My husband needs to eat gluten-free and they know what that is and make hime a wonderful meal.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Dissapointing

Dined on March 15, 2016

I was extremely disappointed by the food here. Very small place, the dishes online looked amazing, but everything I had was a let-down. I had fried green tomatoes, which were served with olive tapenade, not a traditional accompaniment, but it was okay. Tomatoes were a little mushy, and I felt like it was missing something (needs balsamic or fresh basil?). For dinner I had Salmon, which was overcooked. It came with a mustard sauce, which overpowered the entire dish. The gnocchi, brussel sprouts, and artichokes all tasted the same from the sauce. I also shared another dish; it was a yellowfin tuna, cooked with spinach. It was served in a broth, not on a plate. It was extremely bland, and tasted like miso soup. It was supposedly ‘spicy’ but it tasted like broth and nothing else. For the price, I don’t think I will return.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Not a great dining experience.

Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I decided to go to 247 to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. We had heard good things about it. We made reservations several days before. We were seated at a tiny table next to the waitresses station. Not exactly prime seating. The beer menu was small but interesting. I asked the waitress to leave it so I could order again. She seemed reluctant to do this, and later whisked it away. The waitress seemed to be in a hurry, so we ordered asap. The fried green tomatoes with goat cheese and tapenade was quite good. My wife ordered Homemade pasta with a ground bolognese. The tubes of pasta had a very weird texture. crunchy and crumbly. The bolognese was ok, but the texture suffered from being ground. My wife did not eat the pasta. I ordered a pork shank over grits with broccolini. The pork shank looked under cooked and had little color. Despite the appearance, the pork was well cooked and was moist and tender. There was little seasoning on the shank resulting in a bland and slightly off putting experience. The grits and broccolini were good. In short, we were placed at a poor table, we felt rushed by the staff and we were served food that was barely acceptable. Not a great dining experience. I can't see going out of our way to go back any time soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Expensive but worth a try

Dined on March 5, 2016

It's a small place so you pretty much need a reservation. Ambiance is more casual than I expected, but it also felt nicely cozy. The pork belly starter was fabulous - I could eat the potatoes all day. The buratta starter was ok... I didn't really get the black-eyed peas - they didn't add anything. I had rigatoni with lamb ragu and my husband had the pork shank. He loved my ragu. I liked it okay, but had some weird flavors going on... cumin maybe. I'm not big on unexpected spices... or maybe the lamb was throwing me. His pork shank with polenta was good, though not great. Felt like it was something we could make at home (though my hubby is a great cook and maybe most people can't or won't). We tried all 4 desserts - dessert sampler (3 choices) is a good deal. Carrot cake was probably the best if you dig carrot cake. Strawberry cake was light, but felt like something was missing. Cherries overwhelmed the chocolate cake (I'm not a fan of fruit and chocolate), but pistachio brittle was fantastic. Cheesecake was better than expected. I'm not a cheesecake lover, but it was a really nice balance of cake and blueberries (i.e. heavy on the blueberries). The ladies sitting behind us had the chef's tasting menu with drink pairing ($75). 5 glasses of wine so hope they had a ride home - they needed it. They were having great fun. We had two cocktails and three glasses of wine between us plus coffee/espresso and a chocolate cake to go for the babysitter. The bill was about $150. Seemed a bit steep. Would have been worth it if everything was as good as the pork belly - but it wasn't. Definitely worth a try and will try it again when the menu changes.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

good night

Dined on March 4, 2016

The food was outstandingt and service was very good. Only distraction was the noise level of the place. had trouble hearing the waitress and each other. Inspite of that would go back again and am planning to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Thitd time's a charm!

Dined on March 4, 2016

This was our third time at 247 Craven, and i look forward to returning. The mussels were over of the top delicious. The corvina was wonderful and the cheesecake excellent. A fabulous evening! And a great wine list! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Good food, poor service

Dined on February 28, 2016

On a Sunday afternoon a simple but delicious sandwich took forever and the service was very poor. Our table had to ask for drinks (other than water), refills we asked for and slow to respond, and any condiments. This would have been a perfect meal of the service was better.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

247 Craven

Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful meal. The salad, entre and dessert were excellent. Great flavors and freshness.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on February 25, 2016

247 is an unexpected gem that we happened upon one rainy night. We now make it a point to stop in New Bern on our bimonthly trips between Charleston and New York, just so we can eat at 247 Craven. This is a world class restaurant. The menu is imaginative. The food preparation and presentation is superb. And the desserts are incredible (don't miss the lighter-than-a-feather strawberry cake and the black forest cake). Great wine list, too! 247 Craven is outstanding in every way!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch!

vip
Dined on February 24, 2016

We took out-of-state guests as a treat. Service was relaxed, which gave us a chance to talk. We and our friendd were pleased with our entrées. Great restaurant, wonderful staff and fabulous food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on February 21, 2016

It was a special celebration and we totally enjoyed our dinner. It was excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

A good find in New Bern

Dined on February 20, 2016

Service, food and wine were very good. Had a group of six and all enjoyed our dinners. The room is too noisy , b/c it's small . But we would surely recommend it and return for another dinner or lunch there. Desserts were wonderful, freshly made.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great meal we had on Friday night ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

What a great meal we had on Friday night... Had to sit at the bar due to a flight delay but the service was great and the food was perfect. I loved the local catch presented in a fun but healthy display. The crab appetizer and the pork belly lettuce wraps were a great start to our dinner. We didn't save room for dessert so we got it to go! Delicious homemade chocolate cake was moist and decadent. Have told all of our Morehead friends about it and will go back soon to try something else!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scrumptious Sunday brunch away from the hordes

Dined on February 7, 2016

Forget waiting in line--with a growling tummy, yearning for a cup of coffee--at the places Everybody Goes for eggs and pancakes. Instead, make a reservation at 247 Craven with Open Table! You'll be served knock-your-socks-off, farm-to-table-inspired brunch in a cozy bistro atmosphere. At noon, my friend and I both ordered a Carolina-style eggs benedict: served on a scratch-made biscuit, perfectly poached eggs (neither too firm nor too runny), Canadian bacon, a Hollandaise that was silky (not stodgy)--and shredded blue crab (for a few bucks extra). On the side, roasted (I think) heirloom potato bites (not your typical too-long-on-the-griddle home fries) and a salad of fresh arugula, goat cheese, pecans, and knife-thin slivers of tart apple. I had tea, my friend had a glass of wine (another reason to skip the Pancake Palace). The servers were hospitable without being overbearing. Service was prompt (they weren't really busy since the weather was lousy), which was important since we had a function to get to in the early afternoon. We loved our experience here. Not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for. Hope to be back on another Sunday.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great time while dining at this restaurant

Dined on February 6, 2016

Enjoyed the small place where we found great food and service. Would recommend to others.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Unique Items

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

First time eating at 247. Just passing through New Bern on business and this was one of only two restaurants on Open Table (I tried them both on separate nights). Normally I prefer a Vesper for a cocktail, but it's rare for a restaurant to have the one ingredient, Lillet Blanc. 247 was no exception. However, while I was waiting for my server, Aaron, to ask the bartender about the Lillet Blanc, the cocktail menu revealed a selection of unique cocktails with a southern flair. I tried their special Manhattan which, while not spectacular, was quite good and a little different. But they really shined with the Oyster on kim-chi appetizer. Spectaular! I asked Aaron about the ingredients and he said it was kicked up a bit with cayenne. It was perfectly seasoned, not too much, not too little. he also informed me that the menu changed seasonally and this had been introduced only one week earlier (this review is written 1/14/2015). The entree was again a new item, Seafood Diavalo (spelling?) Served in a porcelain bowl, it was a mix of (in the shell on) mussels, clams, (unshelled) shirmp, and wahoo served atop fried grits that were similar to a croquette but quite frankly better. All in all, a truly remarkable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and wonderful service! T ...

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Excellent food and wonderful service! The triggerfish and crab on lobster risotto was perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The Chesapeake Bay fried oysters were exquisite! Our marvelous meal was topped off with the most moist and delicious strawberry cake we've ever tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Portions were small for price

Dined on January 9, 2016

My co-eater enjoyed the big plate - however, the name did not represent the size of the food portion. My Main meal was insufficient for a main course, however, the overall presentation, ambiance, waiter attention and wine list would encourage us to revisit in the future.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Nice enough

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

Though it odd that, although we were the only other table in the restaurant on this Tuesday evening, they had already run out of the surf and turf special. Regardless, our meal was delicious. Especially loved the pork bell lettuce wraps, which I could have eaten as my entree had I had know it's size. Attentive service, stark but quaint surroundings. Overall a nice meal.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Memorable Evening

Dined on December 26, 2015

We made reservations for 6 people to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. The table was set and we were greeted upon arrival and promptly seated. The facility is rather small, approximately 9 tables, serviced by 3 wait staff and a bartender. Our party started with the brioche shrimp toast appetizer which was delicious and provided generous servings for 3 that was split 6 ways. Our dinners consisted of an oversized pork chop with sage stuffing, the big plate with lobster topped filet and the hanger steak. All were perfectly prepared and oversize portions. The meal was finished with the desert sampler that provided a perfect ending to an enjoyable meal. The only negative aspect was the small space created a noisy echo effect that made it difficult to hear at times. Our server Amanda was personable and an absolute joy. She provided insight to the meal, was timely and attentive to all needs. Overall experience was very memorable in a good way.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Been Better

Dined on December 22, 2015

We've eaten here many times and this time the food was lackluster. The shrimp on the diner were overcooked and looked pretty small. I chock it up to an off night. It is our favorite spot in New Bern for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

worse table with reservations, cold bread.

Dined on December 22, 2015

Out of wine by the bottle so had to order by the glass. Too pricy. Will not return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Please work with your service staff.

Dined on December 15, 2015

My husband and I visited 247 Craven after a wonderful day trip to New Bern. The food at this restaurant is very good and somewhat creative. The Bibb lettuce salad was delectable. The scallops I had were cooked to perfection, and the strawberry cake for dessert was special. However, the service was very uneven and also very unpolished. The servers were young and inexperienced, and hadn't a clue on when to clear plates, etc. Our server even offered up excuses for the lack of good service when he brought us our check. I would recommend to the owner that he/ she work with his/her serving staff on becoming more refined, so that the service is every bit as good as the food.

food5
ambience3
service4

Great for brunch - Ashley delivered a gr ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Great for brunch - Ashley delivered a great meal as always.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed but will return...

Dined on December 13, 2015

We have been bragging to our friends about 247 Craven and finally had the opportunity to go there with them for dinner. They generally have a limited (but very good) seasonal menu. The problem the night we went is that they only had half of the entrees available - and we were there early on a Saturday night. In addition they only had 1 large plate special - normally they have at least two. We still still feel this is the best restaurant in town but were disappointed on this occasion.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

This restaurant was a treat. Food was excellent.

Dined on December 12, 2015

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. A very nice experience, the servers were very pleasant and I would go back. Am anxious to try other items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service1

Odd service

Dined on December 12, 2015

The food was good but the service was poor. The waitress did not know the menu and even lied about her favorite dish because she stated it was in a cream sauce and when called on it she admitted that it had a tomato sauce. She did not know how to pronounce one of the specials and described it as "3 balls in a sauce". Seasonal vegetables were summer vegetables instead. Very disappointed for $25 a plate.

food5
ambience4
service5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on December 9, 2015

My first time at Craven 24/7. I love that they use fresh, local, seasonal ingredients! The appetizer was amazing! Shrimp and peeper jelly. The pork chop was THE best one I have ever had

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on December 5, 2015

A very pleasant find! An overall great dining experience with superb service from our waiter, Curtis. The scallops, shrimp toast, and homemade cinnamon ice cream were all excellent and are highly recommended. 247 Craven is a must if you're in New Bern or vicinity - I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Another Fine Meal

Dined on November 27, 2015

Took the out-of-town niece to 247. She was mightily impressed. I had a marvelous duck dinner that was the special. Wife loved her scallops. This is the best in town.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful!

Dined on November 25, 2015

247 Craven is a superb little restaurant!...As someone who grew up in New York and is somewhat used to restaurants which serve nicely-prepared food, this place is a surprising little gem! I keep using the word "little", as it has seating for about 40 or so people, but the seating is spaced apart in a manner which prevents feeling crowded. It has a good wine list, quality mixed drinks and a menu which varies based on the items which are freshly available at that time of year!...This is now the second time I have been here with my now-grown up family members, and each time, the seafood, meat dishes and pastas were "spot-on"!...I WILL be going again, and I would recommend this place to anyone who wants food which gives them the urge to "lick the plate"!! THIS is one of those places!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is creative and fresh. Consistently good.

Dined on November 22, 2015

Food is best in town. Creative and fresh and consistently good. Food is always cooked to perfection. Small but inviting bar. Excellent bartender and drinks! Home made desserts are not to be missed. Only negative- uncomfortable chairs.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.