Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About 247 Craven

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: (252) 635-1879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Casual (12)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This quaint restaurant exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and the ambiance (no music) was vibrant. The food took longer than expected but it was well worth the wait. Thank you! We Will be back when we come to New Bern again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food. Always good. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 11, 2017

As usual, 247 was GREAT! And they have one of the nicest Cabs we've ever tasted, the Napa Cellars. What a gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very small portions, even with the "Big Plate" offering. Noisy. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We went there for a birthday celebration and it was a great experience. The food from the appetizers, main entree, and deserts were very well prepared and presented. It was one of our best meals here and easily rivaled the we reclaimed "Chef and the Farmer" restaurant in Kingston. Excellent service as well. It is a very small restaurant though. We'll be going back for sure!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We love this excellent restaurant. We've been there many times, and it's always exceptional.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We arrived at the restaurant only to be informed that our reservation had been cancelled. How or by whom I have no idea. Anyway, they were able to seat us. The service was very good as was the food. Our one negative experience was the noise level. It was so loud that it was difficult to hold a conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was top notch and so was the service. Was not expecting as good of food that we got. The scallops were very fresh and delicious and the yellow fin tuna was cooked to perfection. Could not ask for a better dinner. Thank you Craven!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 9, 2017

everything great except the noise level, way too high hard time talking to the people across the table

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Creative menu. Dessert are the best. Great appetizer. Fresh fish prepared with imagination. Small restaurant gets loud. Small and large plate options. Always go when in New Bern.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were able to get a reservation the day of the meal. Food was delicious and a imaginative menu. Service was informative and not overly intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We love this place for the creativity of its menu. This particular visit there was not a poultry option, which I usually look for after seafood. Would love the lighting to be toned down to create more ambiance in what is a very small space.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great spot for an early dinner. Good service with no pressure. Reminds me of a NYC restaurant. A delight.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We had a great dinner at 247 Craven. The fried green tomatoes with goat cheese and tapenade were delicious. Lots of vegetarian options and grilled fish, which we like, as well as wine options and friendly service. We'll be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything was fabulous as always! Interesting drinks, wonderful food,courteous staff!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Probably the highest quality food in town. The rotating seasonal menu is always very interesting and of course delicious. Wine and beer selections are also well-chosen.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I tried this on a whim, I was pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent and creative. The prices where realistic. The ambience was good; however, it was loud. We had a table behind me that was a group of locals where, we might as well sat with them and partaken in their dinner conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

247 Craven is worth the trip to New Bern, particularly if one enjoys seafood. The daily special was a blue crab cake with chili and sorghum grilled shrimp. All three of us ordered that, and it was delightful, if a bit pricy. The accompanying butternut squash was an outstanding addition to the seafood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 23, 2017

I have dined in over 36 different countries and this restaurant is in my top 20. Definitely the best restaurant in New Bern, by far.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Diversity of food and that local ingredients are used makes this a great restaurant. I wouldn't recommend taking children necessarily as the restaurant is small. Definitely priced reasonable and always delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our first visit to this restaurant, they sat us at the bar and then someone else told us the bar seating was reserved! We left a bit miffed. So, a month later, we're back with reservations. The service was a little slow. The servers seemed chaotic. Our meal took so long, they comp'd our drinks and desert. Not sure how often this happens. My steak was excellent but cold. My wife's pork tenderloin was fantastic. We'll go back eventually as the food tasted good. Hope they work out the kinks. What was supposed to be a relaxing Friday evening out turned in to a frustrating, long wait.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mothers Day brunch. The place is very small, so was more noisy than I had hoped. The small room is completely open which made conversation difficult . Food and service were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food! Never a disappointment for us after 7 years of dining there.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food, perfect service, and I don't have to cook
Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The experience here is so wonderful. The food is excellent and the desserts are homemade. There is nothing like their strawberry cake for breakfast the next morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've enjoyed dining at 247 Craven quite a few times and each time we are impressed with our dining experience and the menu options.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome service, stellar cocktails, and the BEST hanger steak I've ever had. I love 247!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food always fantastic, creative and flavorful. Seating not the most comfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere at 247 Craven were outstanding. My wife had the grilled soft shell crab and grouper and I had the roasted scallops with tasso gravy and creamy grits + sautéed greens. Both dishes were exquisitely prepared and beautifully presented. Our server was knowledgeable and skilled (Gabby). We drive from the beach to dine at 247 Craven (about 45 minutes) and it is well worth the trip. Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Tiny place - about a dozen tables - no special ambiance but the food was interesting and well prepared. The service was excellent, attentive but not intrusive. There are 2 or 3 steps up to the front door so it is not handicapped accessible, but there is a handrail. We enjoyed the hummus made with boiled peanuts and served with house-made fried pork-rinds - the most tasty way to serve boiled peanuts I've had. The soft-shelled crab with grouper special was excellent as was the fried green tomato and goat cheese appetizer. For dessert go with the strawberry cake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our go-to restaurant- a favorite! Food always outstanding and staff efficient and so welcoming .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We ate outside. The tuna was perfection and wait-staff Gabbi so much fun.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was excellent. Regular lunch menu plus specials. As always, food and service great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Visitors from up north we very impressed with the food and drink. Made for a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had an wonderful time at 247! Great food, crab pimento cheese! Yes! Eight people with a wide variety of entrees and all were fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Small and very noisy- difficult to have a conversation. Slow service. No ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

If you haven't tried 247 Craven for dinner then it's something to plan soon, best meal I have had out
in New Bern in the last year and a half.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As always a great meal coupled with great service. 247 is one of our New Bern faves!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always great food
Staff is friendly and courteous
Try the tuna (perfect)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fresh, high variety, high quality food. Service was fantastic and they were very accommodating even when we arrived 30 minutes prior to our reservation.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.