About 247 Craven

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: 2526351879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Elk Chop & Lobster Tail
Carrot Cake
Kimchi Risotto
Lobster Poutine
Strawberry Yellow Cake
Chicken Caesar Wrap
Potato Soup
Smoked Salmon Special
Scallops
Cheeseburger
Shrimp Burger
Swordfish
Ribeye Topped With Fried Oysters

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
New Bern
Best Restaurants in New Bern ›

fit for foodies (39)
neighborhood gem (38)
special occasion (34)
See All
great for lunch (20)
great for brunch (16)
notable wine list (13)
romantic (12)
good for groups (4)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A small haute cuisine gem with a variabl ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 5 days ago

A small haute cuisine gem with a variable and interesting menu. Simply the best food in New Bern!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time we have visited and we were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Second time we have visited and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

The food portions could be a little larger - ( and I am a slim person)

Grandmom's desserts were truly wonderful.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is always very good with m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food here is always very good with many different flavors. They have a small menu but a variety of dishes. They can always meet my gluten free needs and are willing to make changes or substitutions. The restaurant is small so reservations are required most nights.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Airbnb guest at my house wanted "one ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

An Airbnb guest at my house wanted "one special meal" while visiting in New Bern and asked for my recommendation. 247 is the obvious choice. We made reservations and our table was ready. Our server was above average and greatly assisted by the server with a mustache. I've been cooking fried green tomatoes since well before Ashley was born his are equal to mine. I found the chèvre and tapenade both good, but was not happy that the chèvre and tomatoes were inseparable. I then had Cacia e pepe; it was fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, Great service, pricey but I ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, Great service, pricey but I don't mind paying more for the high quality of the food and the atmosphere. It was well worth it and we will return again and again.

Only downfall was getting there late and them being out of the menu item I really wanted to try! Will get there earlier from now on!

Love the local menu that changes depending on what is fresh and available! Reminds me of some of the local places I have dined at in Europe.

Keep up the great work!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

At the suggestion of two local friends, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

At the suggestion of two local friends, we decided to try 247. I was totally unimpressed. The noise from a table across the room was so loud we could barely hear each other talk. The service was S-L-O-W-W-W and inattentive, menu had no variety - perhaps 5 starters and 5 dishes. Other diners have mentioned the atmosphere but all I saw was basic wooden chairs and wooden tables (for the price point I would have at least expected white table cloths). Food was good but not spectacular. I won't go back and would not suggest anyone else go on my recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Totally a disappointment on many fronts. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Totally a disappointment on many fronts. The dining room is like an old diner attempting to serve upscale food that is poorly prepared and extremely overpriced. The dining room has no atmosphere, the table settings lack any creativity and the chairs are very uncomfortable. I think locals to go there and it seems many knew each other so it feels like a home town "Cheers" for them. As a visitor I would pass and try another spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

247 is the best restaurant in New Bern. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

247 is the best restaurant in New Bern. The food is consistently outstanding, the service is excellent and we love that they encourage bringing your own wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

247 Craven was recommended by a resident ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

247 Craven was recommended by a resident, so I had high expectations. We had a late dinner around 8pm and it was pretty deserted which I wasn't expecting. The wine and service were great, but I wasn't wow'd by our entrees. My tuna was grilled perfectly, but it was in a broth that I didn't love that made the dish kinda mushy. My boyfriend liked the salmon - but actually ordered the special with vegetables and was given instead a dish with grits that were very heavy. Though the food was good, we both agreed we wouldn't necessarily want to go back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The blue mussels were reminiscent of mea ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The blue mussels were reminiscent of meals in Brussels. My wife had the fried green tomatoes - both starters were excellent. The lamb shank was to die for, and the salmon cooked just right. Washed down with an excellent Malbec. Overall a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The menu selections have been greatly di ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The menu selections have been greatly diminished since our last visit, a disappointment. The choices are nice and everything is tasty but I prefer a wider choice. I truly miss the oysters, although the mussels were excellent. I also wish the "online" menus reflected reality. This was our fine dining choice in town but I suspect we will lower our expectations and dine on Middle Street.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Well presented food on plate and very d ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Well presented food on plate and very delicious. A little pricey for everyday dining but nice for special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very quaint restaurant. Not good for lar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very quaint restaurant. Not good for large groups though. Food was unique and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small fun place. The brunch was very goo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Small fun place. The brunch was very good. Large portions. Small but nice menu. Will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great location, cozy with good ambiance. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great location, cozy with good ambiance. Food is excellent--local seafood and veggies. Very good service. Good wines reasonably priced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We stopped here after dropping off our k ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We stopped here after dropping off our kid at seagull and had an amazing lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had wonderful food and enjoyed sitting a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Had wonderful food and enjoyed sitting at a sidewalk table. Jamie provided excellent service and recommendations. Still one of the top spots in New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Evening

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Thank you and your staff for a pleasant evening of dining.

My brother and his wife are world travelers, have tried various cuisine from around the world and enjoy fine food. However, they both have special needs due to some physical challenges and control much of it by diet. They still enjoy a variety and your waitress was kind enough to listen and treat them with care. I know it is easy to become impatient, especially when you are busy, but since she listened and helped in every way she could, it prevented food from being sent back or wasted.

We actually reviewed your restaurant on Travel Adviser. All I can say is the braised lamb was to die for! Everyone enjoyed the food tremendously and we will be repeat customers.

Thank you again for an incredible dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Visiting New Bern for the first time we relied on some restaurant reviews and we were not disappointed. After sharing an appetizer we both had the special of the day. It was a bit pricey but worth it. Service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite New Bern Restaurant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Small intimate setting with great menu options.

The menu is small but mighty. You must try

the strawberry cake! We get it every time and

it is worth every calorie.

Friendly service. Need reservations in evening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Grilled pork belly was a perfect starter ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Grilled pork belly was a perfect starter, The rest of the meal was just as wonderful as the beginning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've come to think of 247 Craven as my f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I've come to think of 247 Craven as my favorite lunch/brunch spot in New Bern ... and there is some fine competition to be up against.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The menu changes every week and the quality was spectacular. We had the five course meal with wine pairing fortwo people with dessert was $190. Well worth the experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful menu! Our server was great and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful menu! Our server was great and the food was perfect. Great variety of plates without having an overwhelming menu. The shrimp on brioche appetizer was our favorite! Great little spot for date night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday bash

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Twas a family birthday celebration & 247 did not disappoint. Food was delicious (salmon, scallops & hanger steak) and service was on point. After a wonderful meal with nice wines, several in our party questioned whether dessert was possible. The waiter did not bat an eye when we ordered two dessserts for a party of seven; just brought extra forks and a candle! Can't wait to return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food and Service

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in New Bern. The food is fabulous and the presentation is beautiful. I had scallops and they were perfectly prepared. "Mee-Ma's" carrot cake was melt in your mouth delicious. I look forward to my next occasion to have dinner at 247.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dept of Health Rating fell to a B

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I don't know if they changed owners or chef but this place is very different lately.

Our last 2 meals here have been marred by over salted and overcooked meals.

Now that their Department of Health rating has dropped to a B rating we won't be

going back. It's a shame too because it used to be so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Day before Easter/ instead of cooking- went to 247 for lunch- great idea!!! Food was great. Server was great. Company was happy. Will go again- have been before.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We loved everything. Great wine list and good cocktails. I want yo go again to try other menu items during different seasons.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everytime we are here food is delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Everytime we are here food is delicious and service super. My husband needs to eat gluten-free and they know what that is and make hime a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dissapointing

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

I was extremely disappointed by the food here. Very small place, the dishes online looked amazing, but everything I had was a let-down. I had fried green tomatoes, which were served with olive tapenade, not a traditional accompaniment, but it was okay. Tomatoes were a little mushy, and I felt like it was missing something (needs balsamic or fresh basil?). For dinner I had Salmon, which was overcooked. It came with a mustard sauce, which overpowered the entire dish. The gnocchi, brussel sprouts, and artichokes all tasted the same from the sauce. I also shared another dish; it was a yellowfin tuna, cooked with spinach. It was served in a broth, not on a plate. It was extremely bland, and tasted like miso soup. It was supposedly ‘spicy’ but it tasted like broth and nothing else. For the price, I don’t think I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Not a great dining experience.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I decided to go to 247 to celebrate our 24th wedding anniversary. We had heard good things about it. We made reservations several days before. We were seated at a tiny table next to the waitresses station. Not exactly prime seating. The beer menu was small but interesting. I asked the waitress to leave it so I could order again. She seemed reluctant to do this, and later whisked it away. The waitress seemed to be in a hurry, so we ordered asap. The fried green tomatoes with goat cheese and tapenade was quite good. My wife ordered Homemade pasta with a ground bolognese. The tubes of pasta had a very weird texture. crunchy and crumbly. The bolognese was ok, but the texture suffered from being ground. My wife did not eat the pasta. I ordered a pork shank over grits with broccolini. The pork shank looked under cooked and had little color. Despite the appearance, the pork was well cooked and was moist and tender. There was little seasoning on the shank resulting in a bland and slightly off putting experience. The grits and broccolini were good. In short, we were placed at a poor table, we felt rushed by the staff and we were served food that was barely acceptable. Not a great dining experience. I can't see going out of our way to go back any time soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Expensive but worth a try

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

It's a small place so you pretty much need a reservation. Ambiance is more casual than I expected, but it also felt nicely cozy. The pork belly starter was fabulous - I could eat the potatoes all day. The buratta starter was ok... I didn't really get the black-eyed peas - they didn't add anything. I had rigatoni with lamb ragu and my husband had the pork shank. He loved my ragu. I liked it okay, but had some weird flavors going on... cumin maybe. I'm not big on unexpected spices... or maybe the lamb was throwing me. His pork shank with polenta was good, though not great. Felt like it was something we could make at home (though my hubby is a great cook and maybe most people can't or won't). We tried all 4 desserts - dessert sampler (3 choices) is a good deal. Carrot cake was probably the best if you dig carrot cake. Strawberry cake was light, but felt like something was missing. Cherries overwhelmed the chocolate cake (I'm not a fan of fruit and chocolate), but pistachio brittle was fantastic. Cheesecake was better than expected. I'm not a cheesecake lover, but it was a really nice balance of cake and blueberries (i.e. heavy on the blueberries). The ladies sitting behind us had the chef's tasting menu with drink pairing ($75). 5 glasses of wine so hope they had a ride home - they needed it. They were having great fun. We had two cocktails and three glasses of wine between us plus coffee/espresso and a chocolate cake to go for the babysitter. The bill was about $150. Seemed a bit steep. Would have been worth it if everything was as good as the pork belly - but it wasn't. Definitely worth a try and will try it again when the menu changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

good night

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The food was outstandingt and service was very good. Only distraction was the noise level of the place. had trouble hearing the waitress and each other. Inspite of that would go back again and am planning to.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Thitd time's a charm!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

This was our third time at 247 Craven, and i look forward to returning. The mussels were over of the top delicious. The corvina was wonderful and the cheesecake excellent. A fabulous evening! And a great wine list! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, poor service

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

On a Sunday afternoon a simple but delicious sandwich took forever and the service was very poor. Our table had to ask for drinks (other than water), refills we asked for and slow to respond, and any condiments. This would have been a perfect meal of the service was better.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

247 Craven

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful meal. The salad, entre and dessert were excellent. Great flavors and freshness.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

247 is an unexpected gem that we happened upon one rainy night. We now make it a point to stop in New Bern on our bimonthly trips between Charleston and New York, just so we can eat at 247 Craven. This is a world class restaurant. The menu is imaginative. The food preparation and presentation is superb. And the desserts are incredible (don't miss the lighter-than-a-feather strawberry cake and the black forest cake). Great wine list, too! 247 Craven is outstanding in every way!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We took out-of-state guests as a treat. Service was relaxed, which gave us a chance to talk. We and our friendd were pleased with our entrées. Great restaurant, wonderful staff and fabulous food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It was a special celebration and we totally enjoyed our dinner. It was excellent!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.