Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About 247 Craven

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: (252) 635-1879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Brunch (9)
Casual (8)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (6)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Tapas (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was fabulous as always! Interesting drinks, wonderful food,courteous staff!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Probably the highest quality food in town. The rotating seasonal menu is always very interesting and of course delicious. Wine and beer selections are also well-chosen.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

247 Craven is worth the trip to New Bern, particularly if one enjoys seafood. The daily special was a blue crab cake with chili and sorghum grilled shrimp. All three of us ordered that, and it was delightful, if a bit pricy. The accompanying butternut squash was an outstanding addition to the seafood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

I have dined in over 36 different countries and this restaurant is in my top 20. Definitely the best restaurant in New Bern, by far.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Diversity of food and that local ingredients are used makes this a great restaurant. I wouldn't recommend taking children necessarily as the restaurant is small. Definitely priced reasonable and always delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our first visit to this restaurant, they sat us at the bar and then someone else told us the bar seating was reserved! We left a bit miffed. So, a month later, we're back with reservations. The service was a little slow. The servers seemed chaotic. Our meal took so long, they comp'd our drinks and desert. Not sure how often this happens. My steak was excellent but cold. My wife's pork tenderloin was fantastic. We'll go back eventually as the food tasted good. Hope they work out the kinks. What was supposed to be a relaxing Friday evening out turned in to a frustrating, long wait.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mothers Day brunch. The place is very small, so was more noisy than I had hoped. The small room is completely open which made conversation difficult . Food and service were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food! Never a disappointment for us after 7 years of dining there.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food, perfect service, and I don't have to cook
Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The experience here is so wonderful. The food is excellent and the desserts are homemade. There is nothing like their strawberry cake for breakfast the next morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've enjoyed dining at 247 Craven quite a few times and each time we are impressed with our dining experience and the menu options.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Awesome service, stellar cocktails, and the BEST hanger steak I've ever had. I love 247!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food always fantastic, creative and flavorful. Seating not the most comfortable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food, service, and atmosphere at 247 Craven were outstanding. My wife had the grilled soft shell crab and grouper and I had the roasted scallops with tasso gravy and creamy grits + sautéed greens. Both dishes were exquisitely prepared and beautifully presented. Our server was knowledgeable and skilled (Gabby). We drive from the beach to dine at 247 Craven (about 45 minutes) and it is well worth the trip. Highly recommended!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Tiny place - about a dozen tables - no special ambiance but the food was interesting and well prepared. The service was excellent, attentive but not intrusive. There are 2 or 3 steps up to the front door so it is not handicapped accessible, but there is a handrail. We enjoyed the hummus made with boiled peanuts and served with house-made fried pork-rinds - the most tasty way to serve boiled peanuts I've had. The soft-shelled crab with grouper special was excellent as was the fried green tomato and goat cheese appetizer. For dessert go with the strawberry cake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our go-to restaurant- a favorite! Food always outstanding and staff efficient and so welcoming .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We ate outside. The tuna was perfection and wait-staff Gabbi so much fun.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was excellent. Regular lunch menu plus specials. As always, food and service great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Visitors from up north we very impressed with the food and drink. Made for a great time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had an wonderful time at 247! Great food, crab pimento cheese! Yes! Eight people with a wide variety of entrees and all were fantastic!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Small and very noisy- difficult to have a conversation. Slow service. No ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

If you haven't tried 247 Craven for dinner then it's something to plan soon, best meal I have had out
in New Bern in the last year and a half.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As always a great meal coupled with great service. 247 is one of our New Bern faves!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always great food
Staff is friendly and courteous
Try the tuna (perfect)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fresh, high variety, high quality food. Service was fantastic and they were very accommodating even when we arrived 30 minutes prior to our reservation.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was top rate, esp. for the price (my points of reference are Scottsdale AZ and Northern VA, both relatively pricey markets), as was the service. Re ambiance, the intimacy of the setting is both "blessing and curse": there's a fun neighborhood pub/tavern atmosphere, but the noise level can be quite distracting if even one conversation becomes boisterous (all other conversations "crank up" to overcome the noise, resulting in a din).

No question we'd return - too many creative dishes, cocktails and beers to let a little noise stop us! :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Their food was great and the service was awesome. The chair is a bit uncomfortable... Recommended for a date, a few people, I wouldn't recommend for a large group due to the limited space. I would not take kids there for dinner, I'd pay my babysitter so I can have a nice meal with adult conversation with my date or friends. Recommended for creative food enthusiasts and gourmet lovers, the food is worth the fancy price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Creative menu items! The food and service NEVER dissapoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The meal was delicious (definitely try the pork chop & the dessert sampler). Our waiter, Justin, was helpful and attentive.
The only negative is that while it was not that busy, one table of three made the dining room seem claustrophobic with their loud conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a pleasant dining experience. Food outstanding & wait staff welcoming & efficient.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 9, 2017

247 is a great small boutique restaurant. Limited menu but everything is delicious. They have a great beer selection too. Service is always great. Ambience is very classy and pleasant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

In the past, we have dined - with great pleasure - at 247 Craven. This past Sunday, however, was the second-in-a-row bad experience. My wife ordered the oyster po'boy. It was poor, alright. Only three very small oysters on a great big sub roll! She showed the server immediately and ordered more oysters for which we offered to pay. She was brought another three very small oysters in a bowl swimming with frying medium. This was quite different that my wife's several previous experiences with the same dish which had been serve with nine or ten plump, crisp, well-drained oysters. Further, one of our guests ordered the Reuben with housemade corned beef, but he was unable to eat it because of the slabs of fat and gristle instead of meat. What a disappointment. The chef is talented and creative, but he may not have been in house last Sunday. The other two entrees that were ordered by our party were fine, but 50% good/bad on dining is unacceptable.

On the previous weekend, we entertained three guests. One order the pimento cheese with crab. The dish presented had NO crab, so we sent it back. The "replacement" was not a replacement at all: it was the same small bowl to which some crab had been hastily stirred in. The guest knew it was the same bowl due to a mark in the glaze. Is someone in the kitchen trying to put this restaurant out of business?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service followed by outstanding appetizer, wonderful main course and delightful dessert sampler. Highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A very quiet Thursday evening. The restaurant is a small, trattoria, style location. We were one of four tables with guests. Therefore, service was prompt, noise level very low. On a busy weekend night in high tourist season, the conditions may have been very different.
Menu is limited and somewhat unusual. All items were very good. Not inexpensive but manageable. We would return again in the future.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food and good people, have eaten there a few times and never disapointed

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We are local and get here about once a month. Wonderful, cozy place with good service. Uncomfortable chairs :-( but really good food though wish more meatless options. Pricey BUT locovore and fresh is NOT going to be cheap. Great wine selection and the pour is generous on by the glass. And they make great latte with Nespresso !

will be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was outstanding. Seafood cooked to perfection. This was the first time we have tried the dessert and it exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

our only concern was that open table showed a completely different brunch menu than what was actually offered. Shows us to doublecheck if it is possibly going to be an issue with food selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

2nd time visitor. Food and service are fantastic. If I had one complaint it would be the noise level. With only about 10-12 tables it is surprising how noisy the place can get. It made conversation a little difficult ... but given the food ... will certainly visit again. Our favorite restaurant in New Bern when dining as a couple.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The Tuna entree with saffron risotto is amazing! The fried green tomatoes never disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.