About 247 Craven

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: 2526351879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Elk Chop & Lobster Tail - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Carrot Cake - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Kimchi Risotto - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Strawberry Yellow Cake - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Lobster Poutine - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Chicken Caesar Wrap - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Potato Soup - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Smoked Salmon Special  - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Scallops - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Ribeye Topped With Fried Oysters - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Swordfish - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Shrimp Burger - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC
Cheeseburger - 247 Craven, New Bern, NC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (7)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Casual (6)
Cozy (6)
Historic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (4)
Organic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding meal!!! Food was great and a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding meal!!! Food was great and also dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent!!!! We had a r ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was excellent!!!! We had a reservation and our table was ready for us when we arrived. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and I noted this in my online reservation. Our server wished him happy birthday upon arrival and brought him a slice of cake with a candle at the end of our meal (this was a greatly appreciated surprise). The food was delicious. The kitchen made accommodations for my daughter's meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service as always. Perfect spot fo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service as always. Perfect spot for brunch! The 247 burger is always a hit with our group.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Historic, Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Cozy, Authentic, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Craven 247 is our go to restaurant every ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Craven 247 is our go to restaurant every time we're in New Bern: (often) changing menu, small plates and full entree's never disappoint. Reserve a spot. As bonafide foodies, it's a must do!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant dinner with excellent se ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 23, 2016

A very pleasant dinner with excellent service, nice selections, notable specials and always wonderful desserts. This was pre-Thanksgiving and the although the restaurant was fully reserved, the noise level was low and we had a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

247 Craven is a very nice farm to table ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 18, 2016

247 Craven is a very nice farm to table restaurant. The service was good as was the food. The interior of the restaurant is a bit Spartan and therefore a bit noisy but was still a pleasant dining experience. I would not hesitate to recommend it to people visiting New Bern, NC.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as always! The food and servic ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent as always! The food and service is always spot on. Our favorite place to brunch it up on Sundays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would love to see this establishment c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I would love to see this establishment continue with the service and great food being served, and get the community support it deserves.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table in the center that seats six i ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The table in the center that seats six is great for conversation. The food, wine and service are fantastic. I've had some great meals here with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was locally sourced and very go ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was locally sourced and very good, the service was prompt and courteous. I'd definitely recommend and will return whenever I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very hospitable. The noise level was hi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very hospitable. The noise level was high when we got there because there were two tables of 8 obviously having a great evening, as did we at our table for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Loved the food. Creative presentation, ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved the food. Creative presentation, delicious food. Great place to spend my birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I felt it could have been more upscale f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I felt it could have been more upscale for the price.

Only four average sized scallops on a $27 entree.

Large plate of sweet potato ravioli had about 10 ravioli s

The taste was good though. The soup was on point and the carrot cake was incredible !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Organic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A delightful find. This was an intimate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A delightful find. This was an intimate dining experience. A small restaurant with excellent service. The food was superb and the trout was locally caught. The unusual combinations were top notch.

We researched the restaurants along this street and this one had no unsatisfactories. We know why and agree.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

247 is my favorite restaurant in New Ber ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

247 is my favorite restaurant in New Bern. The food is innovative and fresh, and the service is top notch. It can be a little noisy at times, but it's a wonderful option for a date night, friends night out, or a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitress seemed to be in training. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The waitress seemed to be in training. The food was luke warm when it arrived - if it had been heated it would have been a good dish. The waitress spilled the water from the teapot when she set it down and didnt wipe it up so I requested additional napkins to wipe the spilled water. While there ,the chairs of two patrons at different tables tiipped over - fortunately no one appeared to be injured.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice place for dinner. Food very good an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice place for dinner. Food very good and original. "Special " beer prices too high! I will not pay $17 for any beer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally the food is really good. I orde ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Normally the food is really good. I ordered the Pork belly and my wife had a salad. Waitress came back after a while and said they were out of pork belly. Not a big deal. I ordered another dish of fried ricotta and pancetta. Pancetta was cooked to burnt and very tough. Not the quality of what I usually get there. I will go back ....hopefully a better meal.... I did find out my favorite chef, Ryan, was not there...nver had a bad meal when he was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant has delicious food but is ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The restaurant has delicious food but is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Got together with friends and had a very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Got together with friends and had a very nice dinner. My wife and I ordered a prime rib for two. It was a little pricey for one regular prime rib, broccolini, and potatoes at $57.00. It's a shame that the owner/chef is never there and the noise level is still very high.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and service was outstanding. T ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. They had mussels on the menu and they are the best I have ever had. We really enjoyed our dinner and look forward to the ever changing menu and what they have to offer and how the chef and cooks prepare it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best chef tasting menus we h ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

One of the best chef tasting menus we have had in recent memory. The rabbit starter was exceptional, followed by delicious pig's cheeks, and then NC drum with whole shrimp over grits. The last main course was short ribs with a corn risotto, rich and spicy. The wine pairings were great -- a Van Duzer pinot grigio, a Montepulciano, an Albarino, followed by a California Bordeaux type. Then a scrumptious dessert plate -- trifle style cake, cheesecake, and carrot cake with cinnamon ice cream, plus a tawny port. Fantastic, generous, and a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best Seafood I have ever had!!! My wife ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best Seafood I have ever had!!! My wife and I went there for the first time at the recommendation of a friend. I could not have been more pleased. The food was amazing, the staff was friendly and the atmosphere was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to 247 before and it was muc ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I have been to 247 before and it was much better. Even though pricey, my former experience made it well worth it. However, this time, the surroundings were dirty, the servers were unpleasant and had no knowledge of the menu. The servers never came to check on us and the food was horrible. There are some places I will go back to if I have one bad experience recognizing that it may have just been an off day, but with the prices and how bad of an experience, I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and service. Very creativ ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very creative menu and very well executed. Small space but efficiently laid out. It is not a place to go for a quite conversation or a dimly lit romantic evening, as it is quite bright and loud, but if you want a very good meal, it was top notch and the service was efficient without being obtrusive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner was excellent. The food was top s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dinner was excellent. The food was top shelf and the service was very nice. We'd really recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great experience. Scallop dish ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always a great experience. Scallop dish with mushroom sauce was 'to die for'! Grouper with puttanesca sauce was heavenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had an amazing dinner there- we had ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had an amazing dinner there- we had 5 people in our party and everyone ordered something different and each meal was so incredibly delicious. The meal portions were perfect and no one left hungry! I do feel that the items were a bit pricey but considered the freshness of the food and the farm to table concept and accepted the price without to much difficulty. I ordered a glass of wine and it was only filled 1/3 of the glass- used to a glass of wine being a glass of wine. Thanks for a great meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Not fantastic . Ordered wine- ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good food. Not fantastic . Ordered wine- only had one bottle forcing us to change wines. If only one bottle on hand should inform group in advance. Many of my friends rave about this restaurant, I can take it or leave it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Very limited menu. Featured dish was poo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very limited menu. Featured dish was poorly prepared and included flavors that simply did not work together. Bar was out of several selected wines with a very limited selection available. The restaurant is uncomfortable and is simply a poor choice for dining in comparison to others within the same area of New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We got there before the later rush came ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We got there before the later rush came in. Chris was our server and she was great as always. Food is always terrific and consistent. THE foodie place in New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

247 Craven was outstanding. The arugula ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

247 Craven was outstanding. The arugula salad, fried green tomatoes, scallops, and flounder special were delicious. Server did an excellent job. The restaurant was a bit loud and got a little warm, but overall, the atmosphere was lively and comfortable. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional. It is a little ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is exceptional. It is a little pricey, but to be expected for an upscale restaurant. The menu changes often to incorporate fresh, local ingredients. It is worth the money. Try it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was good but we ordered an appetize ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was good but we ordered an appetizer and the waitress forgot to bring it. When we arrived there were a couple at the bar and another couple at a table so the restaurant was not busy. Her forgetting the appetizer was unacceptable. We ordered dessert which was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I had a great lunch at 247. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I had a great lunch at 247. My Corned Beef Reuben was as good as it gets!!! The fries were perfect and the prices are fair. I can't wait to go there for a Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A small haute cuisine gem with a variabl ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 19, 2016

A small haute cuisine gem with a variable and interesting menu. Simply the best food in New Bern!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time we have visited and we were ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Second time we have visited and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

The food portions could be a little larger - ( and I am a slim person)

Grandmom's desserts were truly wonderful.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is always very good with m ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food here is always very good with many different flavors. They have a small menu but a variety of dishes. They can always meet my gluten free needs and are willing to make changes or substitutions. The restaurant is small so reservations are required most nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Airbnb guest at my house wanted "one ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 12, 2016

An Airbnb guest at my house wanted "one special meal" while visiting in New Bern and asked for my recommendation. 247 is the obvious choice. We made reservations and our table was ready. Our server was above average and greatly assisted by the server with a mustache. I've been cooking fried green tomatoes since well before Ashley was born his are equal to mine. I found the chèvre and tapenade both good, but was not happy that the chèvre and tomatoes were inseparable. I then had Cacia e pepe; it was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, Great service, pricey but I ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, Great service, pricey but I don't mind paying more for the high quality of the food and the atmosphere. It was well worth it and we will return again and again.

Only downfall was getting there late and them being out of the menu item I really wanted to try! Will get there earlier from now on!

Love the local menu that changes depending on what is fresh and available! Reminds me of some of the local places I have dined at in Europe.

Keep up the great work!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.