About 247 Craven

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: (252) 635-1879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Historic (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great Beer (4)
Fun (4)
Authentic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We are local and get here about once a m ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 2 days ago

We are local and get here about once a month. Wonderful, cozy place with good service. Uncomfortable chairs :-( but really good food though wish more meatless options. Pricey BUT locovore and fresh is NOT going to be cheap. Great wine selection and the pour is generous on by the glass. And they make great latte with Nespresso !

will be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding. Seafood cooke ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding. Seafood cooked to perfection. This was the first time we have tried the dessert and it exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

our only concern was that open table sho ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

our only concern was that open table showed a completely different brunch menu than what was actually offered. Shows us to doublecheck if it is possibly going to be an issue with food selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2nd time visitor. Food and service are f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

2nd time visitor. Food and service are fantastic. If I had one complaint it would be the noise level. With only about 10-12 tables it is surprising how noisy the place can get. It made conversation a little difficult ... but given the food ... will certainly visit again. Our favorite restaurant in New Bern when dining as a couple.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Tuna entree with saffron risotto is ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The Tuna entree with saffron risotto is amazing! The fried green tomatoes never disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Been here a few times before ... Dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Been here a few times before ... Dinner has been better than it was tonight. Usually really good, tonight was just good which was disappointing given many previous meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed our dinner. The strawberry c ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. The strawberry cake was one of the best desserts we have ever had. The service was great too. If ever back in New Bern, 247 Craven will be on our list of places not to miss.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous restaurant, food and service is ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Fabulous restaurant, food and service is always amazing!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, , Seasonal, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service!

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The menu is unique. The food is far abov ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The menu is unique. The food is far above average and beautifully presented. The service is superior.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very tasty. Portions were plent ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was very tasty. Portions were plentiful. Very good wine selection. Very attentive services. A tad pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I don't typically leave reviews, but can ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I don't typically leave reviews, but cannot imagine finer food in New Burn. The service was exceptional and the night was perfect. If you are on a special date, I would highly consider this restaurant for your night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing! It's a rather smal ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was amazing! It's a rather small and therefore loud restaurant. It was my first time there and I will go back as well as recommend it to anyone looking for the best meal in New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Appreciated being able to make a reserva ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Appreciated being able to make a reservation for lunch in the busy holiday season downtown. The atmosphere is cozy, casual, quiet, with good service and food that's an interesting step up from dime-a-dozen sandwich-and-fries places. We had, among us, a pulled pork (in-house) sandwich, a fried green tomato BLT, and vegetarian gnudi (gnocchi-like pasta dumplings). All delicious. Accompanied by a tasty sauvignon blanc. In season, there are a few tables outside on the sidewalk, like a Parisian cafe. Their Sunday brunch is great, too.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is always exceptional. Great place ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food is always exceptional. Great place for a special occasion or just everyday dinning

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy 247 Craven - food and se ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We always enjoy 247 Craven - food and service are great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Christmas meal for visiting fam ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Perfect Christmas meal for visiting family.

Best place in New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a great time, food was excellent, se ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Had a great time, food was excellent, service outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A wonderful meal every time I've ever be ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

A wonderful meal every time I've ever been and I've been many times. Great price, great service and great food. A little bit noisy but overall a wonderful excellent in dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal!!! Food was great and a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding meal!!! Food was great and also dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good particularly for the area. Be ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good particularly for the area. Best in New Bern

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The service was excellent!!!! We had a r ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The service was excellent!!!! We had a reservation and our table was ready for us when we arrived. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and I noted this in my online reservation. Our server wished him happy birthday upon arrival and brought him a slice of cake with a candle at the end of our meal (this was a greatly appreciated surprise). The food was delicious. The kitchen made accommodations for my daughter's meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service as always. Perfect spot fo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service as always. Perfect spot for brunch! The 247 burger is always a hit with our group.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Historic, Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Cozy, Authentic, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Craven 247 is our go to restaurant every ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Craven 247 is our go to restaurant every time we're in New Bern: (often) changing menu, small plates and full entree's never disappoint. Reserve a spot. As bonafide foodies, it's a must do!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant dinner with excellent se ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 23, 2016

A very pleasant dinner with excellent service, nice selections, notable specials and always wonderful desserts. This was pre-Thanksgiving and the although the restaurant was fully reserved, the noise level was low and we had a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

247 Craven is a very nice farm to table ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 18, 2016

247 Craven is a very nice farm to table restaurant. The service was good as was the food. The interior of the restaurant is a bit Spartan and therefore a bit noisy but was still a pleasant dining experience. I would not hesitate to recommend it to people visiting New Bern, NC.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as always! The food and servic ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent as always! The food and service is always spot on. Our favorite place to brunch it up on Sundays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would love to see this establishment c ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I would love to see this establishment continue with the service and great food being served, and get the community support it deserves.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table in the center that seats six i ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The table in the center that seats six is great for conversation. The food, wine and service are fantastic. I've had some great meals here with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was locally sourced and very go ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was locally sourced and very good, the service was prompt and courteous. I'd definitely recommend and will return whenever I'm in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very hospitable. The noise level was hi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very hospitable. The noise level was high when we got there because there were two tables of 8 obviously having a great evening, as did we at our table for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Loved the food. Creative presentation, ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved the food. Creative presentation, delicious food. Great place to spend my birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I felt it could have been more upscale f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I felt it could have been more upscale for the price.

Only four average sized scallops on a $27 entree.

Large plate of sweet potato ravioli had about 10 ravioli s

The taste was good though. The soup was on point and the carrot cake was incredible !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Organic, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A delightful find. This was an intimate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A delightful find. This was an intimate dining experience. A small restaurant with excellent service. The food was superb and the trout was locally caught. The unusual combinations were top notch.

We researched the restaurants along this street and this one had no unsatisfactories. We know why and agree.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

247 is my favorite restaurant in New Ber ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

247 is my favorite restaurant in New Bern. The food is innovative and fresh, and the service is top notch. It can be a little noisy at times, but it's a wonderful option for a date night, friends night out, or a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waitress seemed to be in training. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The waitress seemed to be in training. The food was luke warm when it arrived - if it had been heated it would have been a good dish. The waitress spilled the water from the teapot when she set it down and didnt wipe it up so I requested additional napkins to wipe the spilled water. While there ,the chairs of two patrons at different tables tiipped over - fortunately no one appeared to be injured.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice place for dinner. Food very good an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Nice place for dinner. Food very good and original. "Special " beer prices too high! I will not pay $17 for any beer.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally the food is really good. I orde ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Normally the food is really good. I ordered the Pork belly and my wife had a salad. Waitress came back after a while and said they were out of pork belly. Not a big deal. I ordered another dish of fried ricotta and pancetta. Pancetta was cooked to burnt and very tough. Not the quality of what I usually get there. I will go back ....hopefully a better meal.... I did find out my favorite chef, Ryan, was not there...nver had a bad meal when he was there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The restaurant has delicious food but is ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The restaurant has delicious food but is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Got together with friends and had a very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Got together with friends and had a very nice dinner. My wife and I ordered a prime rib for two. It was a little pricey for one regular prime rib, broccolini, and potatoes at $57.00. It's a shame that the owner/chef is never there and the noise level is still very high.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.