Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 7 times today
Special offers available. See details

247 Craven

4.6
540 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(252) 635-1879
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ashley Moser
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Ashley Moser: (252) 635-1879
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pollock
Additional
Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

What 540 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We had 4 adults and 2 15-year-old boys, and decided to have the tasting menu. It was utterly fantastic. Four savory courses, largely comprised of their specials, followed by a wonderful strawberry layer cake, homemade by the chef’s grandmother. I am an avid home baker, and this cake was heavenly. We all agreed the tasting menu was a very good value and each dish was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Unusually quiet evening at Craven. Great food always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Great food, attractively presented, attentive service. Restaurant is small, so security of OpenTable reservation was comforting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Great food, great place, great atmosphere!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Wonderful scallop special. Absolutely fresh and firm and tasty.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 6, 2018

pleasant, but unusually slow for sandwiches (almost 40 minutes after ordering)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food is great and interesting!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We arrived for our 7 o’clock reservation and were sat at a tiny table between a loud table of 6 and 2/3 duces. We noted the other side of the room was empty and we would have asked to move. However we sat well over 10 minuets with no service or menus. No one even acknowledged we existed. We decided to leave without talking to anyone since it was clear no one even noticed us going. Clueless was my husbands description of the evening. This place came highly recommended by our friends and they were shocked at our experience . Perhaps it was an off night but they really need to work on the acoustics and their staff’s attention to new tables. A simple “we’ll be right with you, can I get you a beverage, give us the menu would have been appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

We're never disappointed ! Always something new to try!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We had Mother’s Day brunch here today and it was very nice, comfortable and fun. The staff is always attentive and friendly and quick to offer help and suggestions. The food was outstanding and is always changing. Today’s favorites were the lemon ricotta pancakes with blueberry compote and the blue crab hush puppies!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Excellent service and food. Spoke with other happy dinners, also.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

The food was excellent as usual. The recipes are very inventive and use many local, seasonal ingredients.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 3, 2018

We have considered this our go-to restaurant when visiting this area in the past. This visit however, was nothing but disappointment. Service and coordination was the worst with our appetizer served immediately after our cocktail and having to wait for our wine. The bar was out of tonic as well as the wine we ordered. When the wine was served, it was the wrong variety, and when they brought the right variety, it was from another winery, not even in the same region. When notified, they admitted that they hadn’t corrected the wine list and apologized. They did correct the price as they should have.

The food quality was inconsistent. The flatbread was nothing but a bad pizza, and the salmon dish would have been better if they would have just served a piece of salmon without all the confusing and tasteless constituents.

We truly hope they will get back on track since we have really enjoyed this establishment in the past. Perhaps some more effective management.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 1, 2018

The pork tenderloin was so hard and dry (and tasteless) that I could barely cut it. The same could be said about the greens. The grits cake was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We discovered this restaurant and keep coming back.we also celebrated our friend's 75th Birthday here! We highly recommend it to our friends. Our servers are always friendly and helpful and do Is is excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Excellent menu. Food prepared and displayed well on plate. A bit too noisy, but management has no control over it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Loved this restaurant. It is known for being a bit loud, but this is not the loudest small restaurant I've ever gone to by far! When it's full, it's definitely bustling. The waiter apologized for our food taking some time, but we hadn't even noticed ....that is to say they thought they were letting us down but hadn't. I have not complaints.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Excellent brunch on Sunday. Photo shows Salmon Benedict.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

As locals, we’ve dined here many times. The food is always superb. Our dishes were salmon and a seafood medley with grits—interesting and excellent. The waitstaff did a fine job, but they had a lot to contend with: meals were sloooow coming out of the kitchen. I watched a family wait and wait, the parent trying to be patient (“there was no one in here when we got here....”) and the server was good with the kids, but.... Another table was on its second bottle of wine (well, it was a sizable group) before their entrees appeared. Another couple seems to have left the place in frustration with the pace, but other diners got their “small plates” promptly. While this restaurant provides true bistro menu and ambience, it’s cafeteria-loud when busy. Love the place, want it to succeed, so I hope this off night is not representative. Oh: brunch and lunch are great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great food and great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great place for Sunday morning brunch.Chicken and waffles tasty but would have preferred maple syrup instead of hame gravy. Perfect Bloody Mary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Great place, great service, but virtually no vegetarian food, let alone vegan. With so many creative and delicious vegetarian options in restaurants these days, I was surprised that there was so little choice at 247 Craven. If you eat meat, it's for you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 27, 2018

We had to wait to be served but they offer us a free glass of wine.
The food was really good although a litlle pricy.
I recommend it for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

What a great little gourmet spot in New Bern! Def worth the drive. The staff is so caring and helpful. And Ashley the owner/chef is highly skilled. Being a vegan, he created a unique meal for me. Prob one of the best I've had eating out. And he doesn't really advertise that either. The regular meat dishes my friends had looked amazing, and they couldn't stop raving about them.

Do yourself a favor and drive to New Bern to check out the gourmand for yourself. He is so creative and talented, and his restaurant is the best!

-Mike Saad
Greenville NC

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent and unique.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent food, with friendly service. It is very small, and they are packed on Saturday night, but they manage it. We had the New York strip, arugula salad and strawberry cake.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Absolutely wonderful food and service! The restaurant is not very big, so make a reservation. Wonderful wines, and the dinner entrees were beautifully presented and nicely different from the same old stuff everyone else is serving these days. My sons devoured the ostrich steak with fennel special and my lamb shank was falling off the bone tender. Don’t miss the strawberry cake for desert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Excellent Food, great service and very different menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

247 Craven is the best restaurant in town. Food and service are always superb.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

this is a great restaurant and will go back many times. they were just short-staffed and the place was packed. food is fantastic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

My son and I stopped in at 247 for dinner. We'd come here when he was younger and he really enjoyed it. He had the pomme frites in duck fat and thought they were awesome. This was a revisit for us several years later. The food as always was excellent. They certainly prioritize quality of quantity but since I'm trying to loose weight anyway not eating 3000 calories was preferred. Dinner was top notch and Kristen and Dillon took excellent care of us, spending time talking to us and making us feel like we were at home. They even took a picture with my son before we left.

One of my favorite places to eat in New Bern.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We had an amazing and relaxing birthday dinner there with my husband, mother and 7 year old son. The food was unique and full of flavor. I had the shrimp and scallop special which seems like something you could get at several restaurants in town. However the fresh seafood, the perfect seasoning and interesting vegetable combinations were so much better. We knew they didn't have a "kids menu" going in but I still wanted to try it. Well no worries! The waiter did an outstanding job making both my 7 year old son and my 75 year old mom comfortable. The kitchen did chicken strips and fries for our son which were just as fabulous as our meals. not to mention the carrot cake! oh my. The pork belly mac and cheese was a hit too. And they use open table for online reservations which is so much less frustrating than calling or not taking reservations. Seriously my new favorite place in New Bern.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

As usual great service and staff plus the meal was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Best in New Bern!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

limited seating, somewhat limited menu but everything we ordered was well prepared and a good value. It was a noisy evening but great visit.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Food was not good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

The service was great and the food was delicious!!! We made a reservation online and it was so easy. We love eating downtown and will be back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Food was excellent. Roasted peppers with aioli was delicious. Liked the peanut brittle in the salad. Must remember to do this at home. We had the seafood puttanesca which was so good. We will definitely return when we visit New Bern again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

This was our first time dining at 247 Craven and it was a very nice experience. The restaurant is quite small and the tables pretty close so the ambience was not as good as one might hope but that is about all that I could criticize. The waiter, although he said he was new, did an excellent job. We shared an appetizer of fried green tomatoes and my wife ordered the strip steak for an entree while I had the seared scallops special. Everything was nicely prepared and presented and above all delicious. Overall I thought it was a great experience and good value. I would certainly dine there again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14