Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About 247 Craven

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: (252) 635-1879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Seasonal (8)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Fun (5)
Tapas (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (4)
Romantic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Fresh, high variety, high quality food. Service was fantastic and they were very accommodating even when we arrived 30 minutes prior to our reservation.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was top rate, esp. for the price (my points of reference are Scottsdale AZ and Northern VA, both relatively pricey markets), as was the service. Re ambiance, the intimacy of the setting is both "blessing and curse": there's a fun neighborhood pub/tavern atmosphere, but the noise level can be quite distracting if even one conversation becomes boisterous (all other conversations "crank up" to overcome the noise, resulting in a din).

No question we'd return - too many creative dishes, cocktails and beers to let a little noise stop us! :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Their food was great and the service was awesome. The chair is a bit uncomfortable... Recommended for a date, a few people, I wouldn't recommend for a large group due to the limited space. I would not take kids there for dinner, I'd pay my babysitter so I can have a nice meal with adult conversation with my date or friends. Recommended for creative food enthusiasts and gourmet lovers, the food is worth the fancy price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Creative menu items! The food and service NEVER dissapoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The meal was delicious (definitely try the pork chop & the dessert sampler). Our waiter, Justin, was helpful and attentive.
The only negative is that while it was not that busy, one table of three made the dining room seem claustrophobic with their loud conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always a pleasant dining experience. Food outstanding & wait staff welcoming & efficient.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 9, 2017

247 is a great small boutique restaurant. Limited menu but everything is delicious. They have a great beer selection too. Service is always great. Ambience is very classy and pleasant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 5, 2017

In the past, we have dined - with great pleasure - at 247 Craven. This past Sunday, however, was the second-in-a-row bad experience. My wife ordered the oyster po'boy. It was poor, alright. Only three very small oysters on a great big sub roll! She showed the server immediately and ordered more oysters for which we offered to pay. She was brought another three very small oysters in a bowl swimming with frying medium. This was quite different that my wife's several previous experiences with the same dish which had been serve with nine or ten plump, crisp, well-drained oysters. Further, one of our guests ordered the Reuben with housemade corned beef, but he was unable to eat it because of the slabs of fat and gristle instead of meat. What a disappointment. The chef is talented and creative, but he may not have been in house last Sunday. The other two entrees that were ordered by our party were fine, but 50% good/bad on dining is unacceptable.

On the previous weekend, we entertained three guests. One order the pimento cheese with crab. The dish presented had NO crab, so we sent it back. The "replacement" was not a replacement at all: it was the same small bowl to which some crab had been hastily stirred in. The guest knew it was the same bowl due to a mark in the glaze. Is someone in the kitchen trying to put this restaurant out of business?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service followed by outstanding appetizer, wonderful main course and delightful dessert sampler. Highly recommend for any occasion

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 3, 2017

A very quiet Thursday evening. The restaurant is a small, trattoria, style location. We were one of four tables with guests. Therefore, service was prompt, noise level very low. On a busy weekend night in high tourist season, the conditions may have been very different.
Menu is limited and somewhat unusual. All items were very good. Not inexpensive but manageable. We would return again in the future.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food and good people, have eaten there a few times and never disapointed

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We are local and get here about once a month. Wonderful, cozy place with good service. Uncomfortable chairs :-( but really good food though wish more meatless options. Pricey BUT locovore and fresh is NOT going to be cheap. Great wine selection and the pour is generous on by the glass. And they make great latte with Nespresso !

will be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was outstanding. Seafood cooked to perfection. This was the first time we have tried the dessert and it exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

our only concern was that open table showed a completely different brunch menu than what was actually offered. Shows us to doublecheck if it is possibly going to be an issue with food selections.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

2nd time visitor. Food and service are fantastic. If I had one complaint it would be the noise level. With only about 10-12 tables it is surprising how noisy the place can get. It made conversation a little difficult ... but given the food ... will certainly visit again. Our favorite restaurant in New Bern when dining as a couple.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The Tuna entree with saffron risotto is amazing! The fried green tomatoes never disappoint!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Been here a few times before ... Dinner has been better than it was tonight. Usually really good, tonight was just good which was disappointing given many previous meals here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. The strawberry cake was one of the best desserts we have ever had. The service was great too. If ever back in New Bern, 247 Craven will be on our list of places not to miss.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Fabulous restaurant, food and service is always amazing!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The menu is unique. The food is far above average and beautifully presented. The service is superior.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was very tasty. Portions were plentiful. Very good wine selection. Very attentive services. A tad pricey but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I don't typically leave reviews, but cannot imagine finer food in New Burn. The service was exceptional and the night was perfect. If you are on a special date, I would highly consider this restaurant for your night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was amazing! It's a rather small and therefore loud restaurant. It was my first time there and I will go back as well as recommend it to anyone looking for the best meal in New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Appreciated being able to make a reservation for lunch in the busy holiday season downtown. The atmosphere is cozy, casual, quiet, with good service and food that's an interesting step up from dime-a-dozen sandwich-and-fries places. We had, among us, a pulled pork (in-house) sandwich, a fried green tomato BLT, and vegetarian gnudi (gnocchi-like pasta dumplings). All delicious. Accompanied by a tasty sauvignon blanc. In season, there are a few tables outside on the sidewalk, like a Parisian cafe. Their Sunday brunch is great, too.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food is always exceptional. Great place for a special occasion or just everyday dinning

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We always enjoy 247 Craven - food and service are great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Perfect Christmas meal for visiting family.
Best place in New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Had a great time, food was excellent, service outstanding.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 13, 2016

A wonderful meal every time I've ever been and I've been many times. Great price, great service and great food. A little bit noisy but overall a wonderful excellent in dining.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding meal!!! Food was great and also dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good particularly for the area. Best in New Bern

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The service was excellent!!!! We had a reservation and our table was ready for us when we arrived. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and I noted this in my online reservation. Our server wished him happy birthday upon arrival and brought him a slice of cake with a candle at the end of our meal (this was a greatly appreciated surprise). The food was delicious. The kitchen made accommodations for my daughter's meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service as always. Perfect spot for brunch! The 247 burger is always a hit with our group.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Historic, Seasonal, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Cozy, Authentic, Organic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Craven 247 is our go to restaurant every time we're in New Bern: (often) changing menu, small plates and full entree's never disappoint. Reserve a spot. As bonafide foodies, it's a must do!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 23, 2016

A very pleasant dinner with excellent service, nice selections, notable specials and always wonderful desserts. This was pre-Thanksgiving and the although the restaurant was fully reserved, the noise level was low and we had a special evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 18, 2016

247 Craven is a very nice farm to table restaurant. The service was good as was the food. The interior of the restaurant is a bit Spartan and therefore a bit noisy but was still a pleasant dining experience. I would not hesitate to recommend it to people visiting New Bern, NC.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent as always! The food and service is always spot on. Our favorite place to brunch it up on Sundays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 10, 2016

I would love to see this establishment continue with the service and great food being served, and get the community support it deserves.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The table in the center that seats six is great for conversation. The food, wine and service are fantastic. I've had some great meals here with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.