About 247 Craven

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: 2526351879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Elk Chop & Lobster Tail
Carrot Cake
Kimchi Risotto
Strawberry Yellow Cake
Lobster Poutine
Chicken Caesar Wrap
Potato Soup
Smoked Salmon Special
Scallops
Ribeye Topped With Fried Oysters
Swordfish
Shrimp Burger
Cheeseburger

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
1 More
Most Booked
New Bern
Best Restaurants in New Bern ›

Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (32)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best Seafood I have ever had!!! My wife ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best Seafood I have ever had!!! My wife and I went there for the first time at the recommendation of a friend. I could not have been more pleased. The food was amazing, the staff was friendly and the atmosphere was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to 247 before and it was muc ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

I have been to 247 before and it was much better. Even though pricey, my former experience made it well worth it. However, this time, the surroundings were dirty, the servers were unpleasant and had no knowledge of the menu. The servers never came to check on us and the food was horrible. There are some places I will go back to if I have one bad experience recognizing that it may have just been an off day, but with the prices and how bad of an experience, I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and service. Very creativ ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food and service. Very creative menu and very well executed. Small space but efficiently laid out. It is not a place to go for a quite conversation or a dimly lit romantic evening, as it is quite bright and loud, but if you want a very good meal, it was top notch and the service was efficient without being obtrusive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dinner was excellent. The food was top s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dinner was excellent. The food was top shelf and the service was very nice. We'd really recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a great experience. Scallop dish ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always a great experience. Scallop dish with mushroom sauce was 'to die for'! Grouper with puttanesca sauce was heavenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had an amazing dinner there- we had ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had an amazing dinner there- we had 5 people in our party and everyone ordered something different and each meal was so incredibly delicious. The meal portions were perfect and no one left hungry! I do feel that the items were a bit pricey but considered the freshness of the food and the farm to table concept and accepted the price without to much difficulty. I ordered a glass of wine and it was only filled 1/3 of the glass- used to a glass of wine being a glass of wine. Thanks for a great meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Not fantastic . Ordered wine- ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good food. Not fantastic . Ordered wine- only had one bottle forcing us to change wines. If only one bottle on hand should inform group in advance. Many of my friends rave about this restaurant, I can take it or leave it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Very limited menu. Featured dish was poo ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very limited menu. Featured dish was poorly prepared and included flavors that simply did not work together. Bar was out of several selected wines with a very limited selection available. The restaurant is uncomfortable and is simply a poor choice for dining in comparison to others within the same area of New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We got there before the later rush came ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We got there before the later rush came in. Chris was our server and she was great as always. Food is always terrific and consistent. THE foodie place in New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

247 Craven was outstanding. The arugula ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

247 Craven was outstanding. The arugula salad, fried green tomatoes, scallops, and flounder special were delicious. Server did an excellent job. The restaurant was a bit loud and got a little warm, but overall, the atmosphere was lively and comfortable. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is exceptional. It is a little ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food is exceptional. It is a little pricey, but to be expected for an upscale restaurant. The menu changes often to incorporate fresh, local ingredients. It is worth the money. Try it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was good but we ordered an appetize ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food was good but we ordered an appetizer and the waitress forgot to bring it. When we arrived there were a couple at the bar and another couple at a table so the restaurant was not busy. Her forgetting the appetizer was unacceptable. We ordered dessert which was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife and I had a great lunch at 247. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I had a great lunch at 247. My Corned Beef Reuben was as good as it gets!!! The fries were perfect and the prices are fair. I can't wait to go there for a Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A small haute cuisine gem with a variabl ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

A small haute cuisine gem with a variable and interesting menu. Simply the best food in New Bern!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time we have visited and we were ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Second time we have visited and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

The food portions could be a little larger - ( and I am a slim person)

Grandmom's desserts were truly wonderful.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food here is always very good with m ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food here is always very good with many different flavors. They have a small menu but a variety of dishes. They can always meet my gluten free needs and are willing to make changes or substitutions. The restaurant is small so reservations are required most nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Airbnb guest at my house wanted "one ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

An Airbnb guest at my house wanted "one special meal" while visiting in New Bern and asked for my recommendation. 247 is the obvious choice. We made reservations and our table was ready. Our server was above average and greatly assisted by the server with a mustache. I've been cooking fried green tomatoes since well before Ashley was born his are equal to mine. I found the chèvre and tapenade both good, but was not happy that the chèvre and tomatoes were inseparable. I then had Cacia e pepe; it was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, Great service, pricey but I ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, Great service, pricey but I don't mind paying more for the high quality of the food and the atmosphere. It was well worth it and we will return again and again.

Only downfall was getting there late and them being out of the menu item I really wanted to try! Will get there earlier from now on!

Love the local menu that changes depending on what is fresh and available! Reminds me of some of the local places I have dined at in Europe.

Keep up the great work!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

At the suggestion of two local friends, ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

At the suggestion of two local friends, we decided to try 247. I was totally unimpressed. The noise from a table across the room was so loud we could barely hear each other talk. The service was S-L-O-W-W-W and inattentive, menu had no variety - perhaps 5 starters and 5 dishes. Other diners have mentioned the atmosphere but all I saw was basic wooden chairs and wooden tables (for the price point I would have at least expected white table cloths). Food was good but not spectacular. I won't go back and would not suggest anyone else go on my recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Totally a disappointment on many fronts. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Totally a disappointment on many fronts. The dining room is like an old diner attempting to serve upscale food that is poorly prepared and extremely overpriced. The dining room has no atmosphere, the table settings lack any creativity and the chairs are very uncomfortable. I think locals to go there and it seems many knew each other so it feels like a home town "Cheers" for them. As a visitor I would pass and try another spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

247 is the best restaurant in New Bern. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

247 is the best restaurant in New Bern. The food is consistently outstanding, the service is excellent and we love that they encourage bringing your own wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

247 Craven was recommended by a resident ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

247 Craven was recommended by a resident, so I had high expectations. We had a late dinner around 8pm and it was pretty deserted which I wasn't expecting. The wine and service were great, but I wasn't wow'd by our entrees. My tuna was grilled perfectly, but it was in a broth that I didn't love that made the dish kinda mushy. My boyfriend liked the salmon - but actually ordered the special with vegetables and was given instead a dish with grits that were very heavy. Though the food was good, we both agreed we wouldn't necessarily want to go back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The blue mussels were reminiscent of mea ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The blue mussels were reminiscent of meals in Brussels. My wife had the fried green tomatoes - both starters were excellent. The lamb shank was to die for, and the salmon cooked just right. Washed down with an excellent Malbec. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The menu selections have been greatly di ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The menu selections have been greatly diminished since our last visit, a disappointment. The choices are nice and everything is tasty but I prefer a wider choice. I truly miss the oysters, although the mussels were excellent. I also wish the "online" menus reflected reality. This was our fine dining choice in town but I suspect we will lower our expectations and dine on Middle Street.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Well presented food on plate and very d ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Well presented food on plate and very delicious. A little pricey for everyday dining but nice for special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very quaint restaurant. Not good for lar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very quaint restaurant. Not good for large groups though. Food was unique and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Small fun place. The brunch was very goo ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Small fun place. The brunch was very good. Large portions. Small but nice menu. Will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great location, cozy with good ambiance. ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great location, cozy with good ambiance. Food is excellent--local seafood and veggies. Very good service. Good wines reasonably priced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We stopped here after dropping off our k ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We stopped here after dropping off our kid at seagull and had an amazing lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had wonderful food and enjoyed sitting a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Had wonderful food and enjoyed sitting at a sidewalk table. Jamie provided excellent service and recommendations. Still one of the top spots in New Bern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Evening

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Thank you and your staff for a pleasant evening of dining.

My brother and his wife are world travelers, have tried various cuisine from around the world and enjoy fine food. However, they both have special needs due to some physical challenges and control much of it by diet. They still enjoy a variety and your waitress was kind enough to listen and treat them with care. I know it is easy to become impatient, especially when you are busy, but since she listened and helped in every way she could, it prevented food from being sent back or wasted.

We actually reviewed your restaurant on Travel Adviser. All I can say is the braised lamb was to die for! Everyone enjoyed the food tremendously and we will be repeat customers.

Thank you again for an incredible dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Visiting New Bern for the first time we relied on some restaurant reviews and we were not disappointed. After sharing an appetizer we both had the special of the day. It was a bit pricey but worth it. Service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite New Bern Restaurant

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Small intimate setting with great menu options.

The menu is small but mighty. You must try

the strawberry cake! We get it every time and

it is worth every calorie.

Friendly service. Need reservations in evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Grilled pork belly was a perfect starter ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Grilled pork belly was a perfect starter, The rest of the meal was just as wonderful as the beginning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've come to think of 247 Craven as my f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I've come to think of 247 Craven as my favorite lunch/brunch spot in New Bern ... and there is some fine competition to be up against.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The menu changes every week and the quality was spectacular. We had the five course meal with wine pairing fortwo people with dessert was $190. Well worth the experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful menu! Our server was great and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful menu! Our server was great and the food was perfect. Great variety of plates without having an overwhelming menu. The shrimp on brioche appetizer was our favorite! Great little spot for date night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday bash

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Twas a family birthday celebration & 247 did not disappoint. Food was delicious (salmon, scallops & hanger steak) and service was on point. After a wonderful meal with nice wines, several in our party questioned whether dessert was possible. The waiter did not bat an eye when we ordered two dessserts for a party of seven; just brought extra forks and a candle! Can't wait to return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous Food and Service

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in New Bern. The food is fabulous and the presentation is beautiful. I had scallops and they were perfectly prepared. "Mee-Ma's" carrot cake was melt in your mouth delicious. I look forward to my next occasion to have dinner at 247.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dept of Health Rating fell to a B

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I don't know if they changed owners or chef but this place is very different lately.

Our last 2 meals here have been marred by over salted and overcooked meals.

Now that their Department of Health rating has dropped to a B rating we won't be

going back. It's a shame too because it used to be so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.