Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About 247 Craven

Local chef, Ashley Moser, opened 247 CRAVEN in July of 2010. Utilizing only the freshest, most local, and seasonal ingredients, Chef Moser prepares some of the most uniquely creative food of any restaurant around.

247 Craven St
New Bern, NC 90436
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am -2:30pm
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Pollock

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 635-1879

Website:
http://www.247craven.com/

Catering:
247 CRAVEN will be happy to cater any event you may have planned. Please give us a call at 252-635-1879 to discuss your party's needs.

Executive Chef:
Ashley Moser

Private Party Facilities:
247 CRAVEN can accommodate up to 40 people for a private on-site event. Please call Chef Moser to inquire about various menu options.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Moser: (252) 635-1879

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM

247 Craven Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Local Ingredients (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for a small family get together of 7 people (2 children). They did a great job. The dinner menu was not particularly kid friendly. However, they did accommodate the kids with outstanding burgers and fries. The menu was not extensive but everything was excellent. Everyone enjoyed their dinner immensely. Our waiter did a great job. The best compliment I can give 247 Craven is that I would not hesitate to return.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

We went on a weekday and it was nicee and quiet, the food was excellent and creatively presented. I had octopus and loved it. My husband had scallops and enjoyed too. We are making it one of our favorite restaurants in New Been. The waiter was enthusiastic and knowledgable which added to the enjoyment of the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2017

This small, unassuming venue gets loud fast. There aren't many tables - maybe a dozen - but I found myself shouting across the table at my spouse, and having to ask him to repeat what he was saying. The food was tasty. I had chicken and waffles after my first two choices were unavailable (oyster pot boy and a pasta dish). The waiter brought me a cup of gazpacho after I'd changed from the soup and sandwich and said he hoped this would make up for the unavailable items. But then on the bill, I found a $12 charge for the soup, which he promptly removed. Watch your tab...bring your earplugs and someone attractive to look at, cuz you won't find much to set your gaze on in here.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Always good food and drink. It's small, so it gets noisy, but we love 247!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great as always. We were the first ones in the restaurant that night, but it filled quickly. Lots of food and great wine. Very attentive staff.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Loved the selection and daily special offerings although the gnudi wasn't as tasty as I had hoped. We thought the restaurant would note that we were there to celebrate our anniversary as I had written that in the special notes section of the Open Table reservation. But, nothing was done.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Lucky BREAK. We ended up here trying to find somewhere to have Sunday brunch and are we glad we did. We had 7 people and everything was perfect - food all arrived together, hot and delicious. We tried a range of dishes from the daily special Surf & Turf Benedict, fabulous, to PBT (Pimento cheese, bacon and Tomato grilled) to the Ricotta Gnudi and just a standard southern gentleman. Perfect. The Pepper bacon, cured to the house specs, is worth the trip by itself. Lots of nice little touches like the crumbled nut brittle in the salad. Do not miss the Bloody Mary's or the Mimosas. Our waitress Gabby made a great meal into something really special. We will be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 23, 2017

247 Craven is a favorite restaurant, but we hit a real service problem. The best news is that the restaurant made everything RIGHT, so we still recommend it heartily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We love 247!!! This was our 2nd visit in a month and we plan to go back as often as possible!

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Exceptional attention and service from the moment we walked in the door. The food was wonderfully prepared and delicious. We will definitely return when we are in the New Bern area.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent dinner! We had a reservation on a Sat evening. Upon arrival we were quickly greeted and seated. This is a small restaurant so a reservation for prime time dining is essential. Wine selections were good and well-priced. We enjoyed the scallops with panzanella. The scallops were sweet and perfectly cooked. The grilled veggies, bread and bacon were a great accompaniment. Service was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our group of four had made reservations and we were greeted warmly when we arrived . Our table was ready when we arrived and promptly our server was ready to start the evening with cocktail orders. Excellent attention throughout the evening and a very enjoyable selection of small plate appetizers as well as large plate entrees were appreciated by our group. We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was very good. I'm just not sure it was worth the price paid.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great brunch with great friends and colleagues. Food and drink were amazing as well as the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I highly recommend 247 Craven if you're looking for great food at a good price!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. Original entrees. Host made the effort to make us feel particularly welcome.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Love coming here. Food always wonderful and different..in a great way. We went Sunday an hour before closing time, it was a perfect way to spend our afternoon. Only three other couples, you could hear your own conversation and noise was not an issue. Most times during the dinner hours, it's impossible to hear the person across the table form you. We will make an effort to go during less popular times

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We visited New Bern for a special anniversary. We consider ourselves serious foodies and seek out special dining experiences. Craven 247 did not disappoint. Service was excellent and the food was outstanding. If we return to New Bern, we would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was good. We had an open table reservation and the 3 of us were seated right away. There ends the good part unfortunately.

Extremely noisy - literally had to raise our voices to communicate to each other. Kitchen noise was especially loud ... but we could hear every patron's conversation, too.

We were going to ask to be seated outside, but overheard our waitress tell another party wanting outside seating that they were too busy outside (despite unoccupied tables outside).

This is a small place, and despite unoccupied tables inside it took them 26 minutes from the time we sat down to deliver our food (simple burgers and sandwiches).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Sunday brunch on the sidewalk. It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Took out-of-state family for dinner and they loved everything. Did several small plates so we could taste a variety of items from the menu. Service was outstanding, as always!

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We went for brunch-they only have a few items-would like to see more options on the brunch menu. The food and service was good-ambiance...just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We loved 247 (pr 24 7)! It will be our go to Watts Grocery (Durham) and The Chef and The Farmer (Kinston) in New Bern!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent food and service. We went to Persimmons the night before and Craven was 100x better. The food, desserts, drinks and service at Craven were all 5 star!
We were very impressed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Very inventive, though limited, menu. Special was a terrific "new Southern" dish, which fairly characterises the style of the rest of the choices. Very attentive, but not obtrusive, service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This quaint restaurant exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and the ambiance (no music) was vibrant. The food took longer than expected but it was well worth the wait. Thank you! We Will be back when we come to New Bern again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food. Always good. Service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 11, 2017

As usual, 247 was GREAT! And they have one of the nicest Cabs we've ever tasted, the Napa Cellars. What a gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Very small portions, even with the "Big Plate" offering. Noisy. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We went there for a birthday celebration and it was a great experience. The food from the appetizers, main entree, and deserts were very well prepared and presented. It was one of our best meals here and easily rivaled the we reclaimed "Chef and the Farmer" restaurant in Kingston. Excellent service as well. It is a very small restaurant though. We'll be going back for sure!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We love this excellent restaurant. We've been there many times, and it's always exceptional.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We arrived at the restaurant only to be informed that our reservation had been cancelled. How or by whom I have no idea. Anyway, they were able to seat us. The service was very good as was the food. Our one negative experience was the noise level. It was so loud that it was difficult to hold a conversation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was top notch and so was the service. Was not expecting as good of food that we got. The scallops were very fresh and delicious and the yellow fin tuna was cooked to perfection. Could not ask for a better dinner. Thank you Craven!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 9, 2017

everything great except the noise level, way too high hard time talking to the people across the table

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Creative menu. Dessert are the best. Great appetizer. Fresh fish prepared with imagination. Small restaurant gets loud. Small and large plate options. Always go when in New Bern.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were able to get a reservation the day of the meal. Food was delicious and a imaginative menu. Service was informative and not overly intrusive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We love this place for the creativity of its menu. This particular visit there was not a poultry option, which I usually look for after seafood. Would love the lighting to be toned down to create more ambiance in what is a very small space.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great spot for an early dinner. Good service with no pressure. Reminds me of a NYC restaurant. A delight.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We had a great dinner at 247 Craven. The fried green tomatoes with goat cheese and tapenade were delicious. Lots of vegetarian options and grilled fish, which we like, as well as wine options and friendly service. We'll be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Everything was fabulous as always! Interesting drinks, wonderful food,courteous staff!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.