Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About 240° West

Set your compass to 240° West for a new direction in food and wine.
Panoramic harbor views, modern décor and a menu that prom­ises to satisfy. From small plates packed with flavor, to expected entrees with an unexpected twist. Savor the experience at 240° West.

Open for breakfast and dinner daily. Sunday champagne harbor side brunch.

269 Fontana Blvd
Fontana, WI 53125
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00pm

Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 67

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 275-1815

Website:
http://www.theabbeyresort.com/dining/lake-geneva-restaurants.aspx

Entertainment:
Join pianist, Tom Stanfield, each weekend for live musical entertainment as you delight in a delicious meal overlooking the stunning harbor. Tom entertains guests each Friday and Saturday evening beginning at 6pm and each Sunday morning during brunch.

Parking Details:
The Abbey Resort offers parking within the hotel parking lots as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Joshua North

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

240° West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (11)
Scenic View (9)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised by the choice of entrees for their buffet. Also, our waitress was very pleasant and we shared stories of favorite wines and Our longing to return a certain west coast wine hub.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Went for an 80th Birthday celebration with immediate family of 8. They put us in the *private room* that had absolutely stunning décor and the ambiance far exceeded my expectations! Our server JAMIE was the BEST OF THE BEST! She was, personable, courteous, efficient and friendly to mention only a few! All 8 of us were impressed - keep up the good work, JAMIE.

When I first called to make a reservation, they mentioned to me that the private room was available, otherwise I would have had no idea - The manager Daniel was also most accommodating . We went in early to put a few decorations up, we were really early as they were still setting up the room, we sat down and the waiter brought us waters while we waited - basically 1 minute.

The Food was great, while having a good selection to choose from - but the staff was absolutely the BEST :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

240° West has been nothing but an amazing experience every time we go. Our waitress Nicole was PHENOMENAL!! She made our special night even more special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Manager chased me through the hotel embarressing me in front of my guests and others. All because I parked in a legal spot that was not marked valet only. And manager did not like being told no. Was so pathetic he had to call security who was most polite and saw nothing wrong which enraged the manager. All done for us to aarive for a 6:30 PM reservation with no one else in entire restaurant. You decide, I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Absolutely wonderful brunch. Top notch food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

First and foremost, let me say that this venue is beautifully located on Lake Geneva. We were a bridal party of 6 and opted to have brunch here before our spa treatments. The food was delicious! From the fresh omelettes to the tasty little jams on every table. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. What we did not enjoy was the attitude from our server Samantha. She was inattentive, unwilling to ask if my friend order the Challah bread (even though it was on the menu), and rolled her eyes when we asked to split our check given that there were 6 of us. We literally had to flag her down to get our check because she basically disappeared and started avoiding our table. I do not think anything we asked was unreasonable and frankly we were there to celebrate our friend Megan's wedding. And this experience sort of soured our morning. She basically threw the check down and was upset we asked for split checks. How is this a hard task? How is it a hard task to remotely be nice to your table?

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The server was good, but the kitchen was very slow. Music a little loud and not so up to date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We went for the Prime Rib Buffet on a Saturday night with reservations at 5:00 when the restaurant opened. The cod was good, the baked potato was good, the pasta was ok. The chicken on the buffet was cold, the pork was tasteless, and the prime rib that we went for was overdone. It was almost like it was left over from the day before and was warmed up. A new prime rib was put out and it was medium to medium rare, which was much better. For $30 per person, the value was not there. This being said, 240 West was recommended to us by two other couples who had a pleasant experience. Based on our experience, we will never recommend 240 West as a place to go to eat, rather we will tell people to definitely not go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great waterfront/marina view. The Staff was friendly, though because the restaurant was under Staffed to handle the crowd, we waited long periods of time to place our order, or be served. I should also point out that they were grossly understaffed and the restaurant was only at 50% capacity. The food was basic and nothing special...on par with the average family restaurant. If however, you seek an incredible waterfront/marina view, with slow service, average food, higher prices, and personable wait staff...this is your place. It could have been more in my opinion.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food is excellent as was the server but the kitchen was VERY slow.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were on our way to a concert by the lake and gave this place a try. Everything was good to very good. They offer a better than expected buffet which my wife took and I tried some items on the menu. The views are nice and the place has a good vibe. The young server staff is knowledgeable but needs to follow up a bit more. The food and value are a great find. We will go back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our dining experience was wonderful! Our waitress Jayme was exceptional and she really went above and beyond to make our dining experience a memorable one. She made awesome recommendations and was very knowledgeable about the menu items. We will definitely return and ask for Jayme again!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Was able to make a last minute reservation on buffet night. While I'm not a buffet fan, my boys all had a fantastic experience. The crab legs and prime rib made it worth the trip. I appreciate their good gluten free options. Best thing here is the service. From the waiters to the runners, these folks work very hard and aim to please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was exceptional. My boyfriend and I were both impressed. I had the beef tenderloin and it was cooked to perfection. From the minute we sat down we had attentive service and both

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Everything was very good , went for our anniversary. It was just a little noisy there a child's birthday party , some of the kids were running around!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good place to go for nice dinner while staying at Abbey Resort as other choices in Fontana are all pretty casual. Caution on Saturday Night Prime Rib Buffet. Prime Rib was actually very good but some of the other items on Buffet were dried out and nasty. Crab legs were small but good and oysters were not good at all. For $30 I thought you got what your paid for. My daughter ordered slab of ribs and they were dry and tough. Wife ordered Salmon Club and enjoyed it. Service a bit slow with dirty plates sittIngrid in table for a while but waiter was super friendly so that helped. Not a lot of choices in area so this is the place for a special occasion or nice dinner while on vacation.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I decided to dine at 240 West at the Abbey in Fontana. It had been years since we had stopped at the Abbey and wanted to try the restaurant for the first time. Upon arriving we asked for a window seat and after waiting for a very short time we were seated at a very nice table that overlooked the water and marina. Our server promptly greeted us and took our order for a bottle of wine. When she brought it I discovered it was a bottle of red instead of the white we ordered but she took it away upon discovering her mistake and very quickly brought the correct bottle. She was very knowledgeable regarding the menu and provided good service. We both ordered Chilean Sea Bass which was very good.......it was done to perfection. The only disappointment is the restaurant does not serve cappuccino which was very surprising to both of us. We would consider this restaurant to be a fine dining establishment and in our experience fine dining restaurants always serve cappuccino. Having said that we will return to dine here again at some point in the future.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our server was GREAT, food was average to good for buffet food.

Disappointing, as we were NOT told it was mainly buffet when we made reservations for a special occasion.

The atmosphere of people constantly milling about ruined any romantic meal possibility.

We were looking for fine dining on the resort property.

Without a great server, this would have been a very frustrating experience.

Bus help was mostly unavailable, we found much of the food was over cooked and was lukewarm in the server. Not good, and not safe.

The price was quite high for the actual value of the food presented.

We were looking for a bit more class, some refinement; and not a family buffet, (as we had inquired, ahead of time, by phone, if this was an upscale restaurant to spend an anniversary dinner at.)

It would have been much better for the staff on the phone to tell us to look elsewhere for that kind of restaurant experience, as the resort does not offer it on premises.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It's a nice restaurant inside the Abbey Resort. We picked this restaurant as a halfway point for meeting our friends that wasn't in Lake Geneva. Decent food, decent atmosphere, nice view, extensive variety to the menu, and a good value, especially for the Saturday prime rib buffet. A good option if you're in the Lake Geneva area or are headed there.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Originally going to order off menu but then strolled the Buffett. Three of us went Buffett and could not have been happier. Soooo good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We chose this restaurant based on Tourism brochures & reviews given by prior clients. We were celebrating my birthday. We were seated immediately at a nice table for 3 overlooking the water. Our waiter, Edward, was extremely nice, very helpful with our meal choices, appropriately attentive, generous with our requests. I ordered the special, a 1.5 lb. lobster with Boston Clam chowder, and peach cobbler for dessert. Very tasty--- A gastronomic delight!! But ever so slightly tough or chewy (over-cooked?), hence the 4 stars. Price was outstanding. My husband's Chilean Sea Bass and daughter's Walleye were fantastic. i received a surprise personal chocolate cake (decadent & simply delicious). We would come back again anytime, & I recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our waitress was great and very attentive. My main fettuccini dish was pretty good, but I would say my husbands burger was totally forgettable. The worst part was dessert. They "warm chocolate chip cookies" looked like they were store bought from jewel and my coconut cream pie also looked like it was store bought and de thawed. You can't have a finer dining restaurant and not have a good pastry chef. It was a bummer. View was nice though. But, for the price point with all things considered, you could certainly do better somewhere else in Lake Geneva.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had honeymooned at the Abby 43 years before and loved having dinner. Waiter Jack) was excellent as was the food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We chose 240 West due to the great gluten-free menu found on their website. Our server was knowledgeable, very helpful, and incredibly courteous. Our meal and dessert was delicious. We will definitely visit 240 West again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything was great, crab legs was kind of cool. Edward was a great server

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is our second time eating here.....the first was Easter brunch which was terrible. We got a complimentary dinner after we complained. The second time was no better. Food is either overcooked, undercooked or just cold. I wouldn't waste your hard earned cash here.....go down to Gordy's at the marina, standard is much higher and staff are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I went here with my girlfriend for our one-year anniversary together. We ordered from the Restaurant Week menu and the food was delicious! We also really enjoyed the live piano/trumpet player. It was a great night. My only complaint is that we had a reservation and the restaurant was nearly empty when we got there, but the hostess wouldn't sit us by the large windows when I asked (instead we had to sit toward the back where it was darker) because the servers were "on rotation" or something like that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My experience was absolutely perfect! From the decor to the food and excellent service was a evening that I'll definitely will not forget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Had dinner for restaurant week, had mussels and salmon - simply amazing. Great service, not crowded and quiet - can't ask for much more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Having been here many times, I expected the service to be ok. Glad they have new, attentive servers. The food has always been wonderful, and it was that night. So glad they got things worked out. And all seats are good for different reasons: cozy and private, window with view, fireplace. I always ask for view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Even with a late arrival I was still seated promptly. The service, food and the view were great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Appetizers took about an hour to come out of the kitchen with a dining room that was less than half full. Those tasted fine once they finally came out. Salmon was good according to my girlfriend, but the duck appeared over-cooked at first sight. Once I bit into a piece it was not over-cooked, which led me to believe it had been sitting in the hot window for quite some time. The duck tasted fine but the lentils below it were drenched in balsamic vinegar and was just so overpowering and simply not good. The desserts were not good at all either. The trifle was mostly whipped cream that seemed to be cool whip with some sort of acidic flavoring in it with an extremely thin layer of chocolate cake at the bottom. The berry short cake was dry, stale, and tasteless. Our server was very kind and funny, though, which was probably the highlight of the meal. With the mishaps during our meal I figured maybe a manager would have addressed the table or maybe a side would have been sent on the house or one of our cocktails made complimentary. But no compensation was made for the problems with our meal which makes me averted to return to dine at 240 West. Unfortunate first dinner on a weekend getaway to Geneva Lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was delicious. We had the best mussels ever.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We wish there was more variety in the menu, although we thoroughly enjoyed what we ate. Service was outstanding. Our server was very attentive and was just there at the right time when we needed her.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The staff was excellent. However I had the buffet that cost 30 dollars a person and was very disappointed. Ended up ordering a pizza afterwards. The potatoes on the baked potatoe buffet (a feature they advertised and that I was looking forward to) were cold. The rest of the buffet was only okay.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service at 240 West was Exceptional!! Our Server Jaymie was Phenomenal! Not only was she attentive and very knowledgeable about the cuisine, she made us feel like family each time we came back (4 times in total). In addition, the food is some of the best we've had! Well prepared and presentation was top notch! Highly recommended to anyone staying in the area, and even those who aren't!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We where staying at the Abbey for a wedding and went with family the next day for brunch. Had a lovely time just sitting and relaxing. We where not rushed out, we sat for a long time. Very nice!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and service were amazing. The filet, tenderloin and New York strip dinners were excellent choices. The portion sizes are just right. We will be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I thought a bit pricey for quality of food..
I ordered short ribs and it was over cooked..pot roast..not short ribs..

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have been to this brunch several times. This time there was an obnoxious couple that took the staffs time and it was difficult to get anything from an omelet to mimosa. Several times while we were trying to eat, the woman jumped on top of the man in the booth. They were loud and rude to others trying to eat. Rather than stop the behaviour, the staff came and laughed along with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.