Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.44mi
  4. Distance: 1.52mi

About 240° West

Set your compass to 240° West for a new direction in food and wine.
Panoramic harbor views, modern décor and a menu that prom­ises to satisfy. From small plates packed with flavor, to expected entrees with an unexpected twist. Savor the experience at 240° West.

Open for breakfast and dinner daily. Sunday champagne harbor side brunch.

269 Fontana Blvd
Fontana, WI 53125
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00pm

Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 67

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 275-1815

Website:
http://www.theabbeyresort.com/dining/lake-geneva-restaurants.aspx

Entertainment:
Join pianist, Tom Stanfield, each weekend for live musical entertainment as you delight in a delicious meal overlooking the stunning harbor. Tom entertains guests each Friday and Saturday evening beginning at 6pm and each Sunday morning during brunch.

Parking Details:
The Abbey Resort offers parking within the hotel parking lots as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Joshua North

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

240° West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (17)
Scenic View (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Romantic (8)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is excellent as was the server but the kitchen was VERY slow.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our dining experience was wonderful! Our waitress Jayme was exceptional and she really went above and beyond to make our dining experience a memorable one. She made awesome recommendations and was very knowledgeable about the menu items. We will definitely return and ask for Jayme again!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Was able to make a last minute reservation on buffet night. While I'm not a buffet fan, my boys all had a fantastic experience. The crab legs and prime rib made it worth the trip. I appreciate their good gluten free options. Best thing here is the service. From the waiters to the runners, these folks work very hard and aim to please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was exceptional. My boyfriend and I were both impressed. I had the beef tenderloin and it was cooked to perfection. From the minute we sat down we had attentive service and both

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Everything was very good , went for our anniversary. It was just a little noisy there a child's birthday party , some of the kids were running around!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good place to go for nice dinner while staying at Abbey Resort as other choices in Fontana are all pretty casual. Caution on Saturday Night Prime Rib Buffet. Prime Rib was actually very good but some of the other items on Buffet were dried out and nasty. Crab legs were small but good and oysters were not good at all. For $30 I thought you got what your paid for. My daughter ordered slab of ribs and they were dry and tough. Wife ordered Salmon Club and enjoyed it. Service a bit slow with dirty plates sittIngrid in table for a while but waiter was super friendly so that helped. Not a lot of choices in area so this is the place for a special occasion or nice dinner while on vacation.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I decided to dine at 240 West at the Abbey in Fontana. It had been years since we had stopped at the Abbey and wanted to try the restaurant for the first time. Upon arriving we asked for a window seat and after waiting for a very short time we were seated at a very nice table that overlooked the water and marina. Our server promptly greeted us and took our order for a bottle of wine. When she brought it I discovered it was a bottle of red instead of the white we ordered but she took it away upon discovering her mistake and very quickly brought the correct bottle. She was very knowledgeable regarding the menu and provided good service. We both ordered Chilean Sea Bass which was very good.......it was done to perfection. The only disappointment is the restaurant does not serve cappuccino which was very surprising to both of us. We would consider this restaurant to be a fine dining establishment and in our experience fine dining restaurants always serve cappuccino. Having said that we will return to dine here again at some point in the future.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our server was GREAT, food was average to good for buffet food.

Disappointing, as we were NOT told it was mainly buffet when we made reservations for a special occasion.

The atmosphere of people constantly milling about ruined any romantic meal possibility.

We were looking for fine dining on the resort property.

Without a great server, this would have been a very frustrating experience.

Bus help was mostly unavailable, we found much of the food was over cooked and was lukewarm in the server. Not good, and not safe.

The price was quite high for the actual value of the food presented.

We were looking for a bit more class, some refinement; and not a family buffet, (as we had inquired, ahead of time, by phone, if this was an upscale restaurant to spend an anniversary dinner at.)

It would have been much better for the staff on the phone to tell us to look elsewhere for that kind of restaurant experience, as the resort does not offer it on premises.

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It's a nice restaurant inside the Abbey Resort. We picked this restaurant as a halfway point for meeting our friends that wasn't in Lake Geneva. Decent food, decent atmosphere, nice view, extensive variety to the menu, and a good value, especially for the Saturday prime rib buffet. A good option if you're in the Lake Geneva area or are headed there.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Originally going to order off menu but then strolled the Buffett. Three of us went Buffett and could not have been happier. Soooo good!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We chose this restaurant based on Tourism brochures & reviews given by prior clients. We were celebrating my birthday. We were seated immediately at a nice table for 3 overlooking the water. Our waiter, Edward, was extremely nice, very helpful with our meal choices, appropriately attentive, generous with our requests. I ordered the special, a 1.5 lb. lobster with Boston Clam chowder, and peach cobbler for dessert. Very tasty--- A gastronomic delight!! But ever so slightly tough or chewy (over-cooked?), hence the 4 stars. Price was outstanding. My husband's Chilean Sea Bass and daughter's Walleye were fantastic. i received a surprise personal chocolate cake (decadent & simply delicious). We would come back again anytime, & I recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our waitress was great and very attentive. My main fettuccini dish was pretty good, but I would say my husbands burger was totally forgettable. The worst part was dessert. They "warm chocolate chip cookies" looked like they were store bought from jewel and my coconut cream pie also looked like it was store bought and de thawed. You can't have a finer dining restaurant and not have a good pastry chef. It was a bummer. View was nice though. But, for the price point with all things considered, you could certainly do better somewhere else in Lake Geneva.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We had honeymooned at the Abby 43 years before and loved having dinner. Waiter Jack) was excellent as was the food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We chose 240 West due to the great gluten-free menu found on their website. Our server was knowledgeable, very helpful, and incredibly courteous. Our meal and dessert was delicious. We will definitely visit 240 West again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything was great, crab legs was kind of cool. Edward was a great server

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is our second time eating here.....the first was Easter brunch which was terrible. We got a complimentary dinner after we complained. The second time was no better. Food is either overcooked, undercooked or just cold. I wouldn't waste your hard earned cash here.....go down to Gordy's at the marina, standard is much higher and staff are great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I went here with my girlfriend for our one-year anniversary together. We ordered from the Restaurant Week menu and the food was delicious! We also really enjoyed the live piano/trumpet player. It was a great night. My only complaint is that we had a reservation and the restaurant was nearly empty when we got there, but the hostess wouldn't sit us by the large windows when I asked (instead we had to sit toward the back where it was darker) because the servers were "on rotation" or something like that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My experience was absolutely perfect! From the decor to the food and excellent service was a evening that I'll definitely will not forget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Had dinner for restaurant week, had mussels and salmon - simply amazing. Great service, not crowded and quiet - can't ask for much more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Having been here many times, I expected the service to be ok. Glad they have new, attentive servers. The food has always been wonderful, and it was that night. So glad they got things worked out. And all seats are good for different reasons: cozy and private, window with view, fireplace. I always ask for view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Even with a late arrival I was still seated promptly. The service, food and the view were great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Appetizers took about an hour to come out of the kitchen with a dining room that was less than half full. Those tasted fine once they finally came out. Salmon was good according to my girlfriend, but the duck appeared over-cooked at first sight. Once I bit into a piece it was not over-cooked, which led me to believe it had been sitting in the hot window for quite some time. The duck tasted fine but the lentils below it were drenched in balsamic vinegar and was just so overpowering and simply not good. The desserts were not good at all either. The trifle was mostly whipped cream that seemed to be cool whip with some sort of acidic flavoring in it with an extremely thin layer of chocolate cake at the bottom. The berry short cake was dry, stale, and tasteless. Our server was very kind and funny, though, which was probably the highlight of the meal. With the mishaps during our meal I figured maybe a manager would have addressed the table or maybe a side would have been sent on the house or one of our cocktails made complimentary. But no compensation was made for the problems with our meal which makes me averted to return to dine at 240 West. Unfortunate first dinner on a weekend getaway to Geneva Lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was delicious. We had the best mussels ever.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We wish there was more variety in the menu, although we thoroughly enjoyed what we ate. Service was outstanding. Our server was very attentive and was just there at the right time when we needed her.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The staff was excellent. However I had the buffet that cost 30 dollars a person and was very disappointed. Ended up ordering a pizza afterwards. The potatoes on the baked potatoe buffet (a feature they advertised and that I was looking forward to) were cold. The rest of the buffet was only okay.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service at 240 West was Exceptional!! Our Server Jaymie was Phenomenal! Not only was she attentive and very knowledgeable about the cuisine, she made us feel like family each time we came back (4 times in total). In addition, the food is some of the best we've had! Well prepared and presentation was top notch! Highly recommended to anyone staying in the area, and even those who aren't!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We where staying at the Abbey for a wedding and went with family the next day for brunch. Had a lovely time just sitting and relaxing. We where not rushed out, we sat for a long time. Very nice!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and service were amazing. The filet, tenderloin and New York strip dinners were excellent choices. The portion sizes are just right. We will be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I thought a bit pricey for quality of food..
I ordered short ribs and it was over cooked..pot roast..not short ribs..

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have been to this brunch several times. This time there was an obnoxious couple that took the staffs time and it was difficult to get anything from an omelet to mimosa. Several times while we were trying to eat, the woman jumped on top of the man in the booth. They were loud and rude to others trying to eat. Rather than stop the behaviour, the staff came and laughed along with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great Sunday Champagne Brunch ! Service was prompt and attentive. Local chicken dish was outstanding. Piano player new all the previous/current hits. He also played the trumpet and piano at the same time - amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had the dinner buffet. I enjoyed the seafood selection oyster on the half shell and the carb legs. This was all on the buffet. My wife was as happy with the buffet. Though she made the best of it.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great prime rib & seafood buffet. Reasonably priced. Champagnes brunch looked amazing too but we were full from dinner the night before.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

They went the extra mile in making our friend's 60th a truly memorable evening. Specialty Martini's were a hit, loved the grilled peach, arugula and ricotta salad and the vegetable stack and salmon. Fun was had by all and then capped off with wonderful desserts. Paired with our day at the spa, couldn't have been better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a great girls night out. The salad with grilled peaches and goat cheese and arugala and the champagne vinaigrette was a great starter. All of our meals were outstanding, including the Chilean sea bass, the diver scallops, and the pork chop. Our waiter, Edward, was very helpful in making suggestions, patient when we could not decide right away. The trumpet player doing the birthday song and delicious flourless cake was an added bonus and very enjoyable.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding vegetarian options. Way better than most and were excellent. Also had nice gluten free options as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Just ok. Food was lacking for the price. My scallops didn't really taste like anything and my husband's steak tasted like one giant truffle. Definitely not worth $176 - the $50 credit from the hotel package made it a little better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had reservations for 7pm. We arrived at 655pm and we were seated immediately toward the back of the restaurant but in front of the windows which a gorgeous view of the harbor. It was my husband birthday. My husband had the wedge salad and i had the prime rib buffet. The selection on the buffet was big ranging from seafood like crab legs, oysters, clams and mussels in a lobster sherry sauce, pan seared walleye, baked potato bar with all the fixings, pasta, chicken, salad bar, prime rib, and assorted desserts. Everything i tried was very good. I'm a seafood lover. I loved the ambiance of the restaurant with low lighting and the music from the pianist Tom Stanfield who is an amazing artist just set a romantic night for us. We will be back again.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We spent our Honeymoon at the Abbey 48 years ago. The food and our table with the lake view was a great reminder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.