About 240° West

269 Fontana Blvd
Fontana, WI 53125
View Larger Map

Set your compass to 240° West for a new direction in food and wine.
Panoramic harbor views, modern décor and a menu that prom­ises to satisfy. From small plates packed with flavor, to expected entrees with an unexpected twist. Savor the experience at 240° West.

Open for breakfast and dinner daily. Sunday champagne harbor side brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00pm

Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 67

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 275-1815

Website:
http://www.theabbeyresort.com/dining/lake-geneva-restaurants.aspx

Entertainment:
Join pianist, Tom Stanfield, each weekend for live musical entertainment as you delight in a delicious meal overlooking the stunning harbor. Tom entertains guests each Friday and Saturday evening beginning at 6pm and each Sunday morning during brunch.

Parking Details:
The Abbey Resort offers parking within the hotel parking lots as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Joshua North

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 240° West
  • 240° West
240° West
240° West

Promotions

Friday LobsterFest

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Friday LobsterFest

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Enjoy a starter of New England clam chowder, a whole 1 1/2 lb. Maine lobster, sweet sugar corn, new boiled potatoes, and fresh fruit cobbler to complete the experience. 5:00pm-10:00pm / $32 per person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 13, 2016 - Sep 9, 2016 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

240° West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
Best Service
Lake Geneva
3 More
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Fontana ›

Scenic View (35)
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, we very much enjoyed our dinner ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Overall, we very much enjoyed our dinner at 240 West. My husband and I were celebrating a special occasion and we had a great table overlooking the marina. The dining room is beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, I have to offer some constructive feedback on the food. The coconut shrimp were on the small side and very over-cooked. The edges were blackened and tasted faintly of burnt fryer grease. Not a good start. I ordered the sea bass and they happily accommodated my request to serve it with the rice and curry broth that normally accompanies the salmon - I specifically told the waitress that if the kitchen staff seemed at all put out with the inquiry then I didn't want to trouble them, but they told her no problem, they do that all the time. The fish was cooked very well and the flavors were delicious, but unfortunately the large amount of rice was way out of proportion with the tiny pool of "broth" on the edge of the plate - not nearly enough to flavor the entire dish. I was very sad about this, as the curry was the primary reason I had ordered it! I would have expected a dish that described fish served "in a broth" as plated in a shallow bowl with the broth all around the food, and plentiful enough to play a part in each bite. Other parts were great, though! My husband loved his burger, perfectly prepared medium-rare and very flavorful. We ordered spinach gratin as a side, and it was decadent! We polished it off - in fact, I used that as a substitute "broth" for my copious rice once my curry was gone! The bread basket offered a variety of deliciously crusty selections with soft, freshly baked centers. The bottle of rose wine was very delicious - full and balanced without too much sweetness. We were way too full for dessert, so I cannot comment on that. So yes, on the whole, we had a lovely evening and would definitely come back, with the hopes that the food execution will improve with time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

The dining experience at 240 West was ex ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The dining experience at 240 West was excellent. The food was plentiful and of superb quality at the Sunday brunch. Service was friendly and efficient. There was live music and a view of the Abbey's beautiful harbor from our window table. The restaurant has a nice sense of ambiance, but also kid friendly. It definitely deserves five stars.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short ribs and baby back ribs were very ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Short ribs and baby back ribs were very good, burgers were good, stay away from the only pasta dish, didn't like it at all. The place is nice and the service was very good

Great piano player that played the trumpet also together with the piano, very talented guy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We never mentioned to the hostess that i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We never mentioned to the hostess that it was our 49th wedding anniversary but our server asked if this was a special occasion and we said yes, well he was super gave us 2 glasses of champagne and a dessert.

Actually we spent our honeymoon at the Abbey before I was back in the service in 1967.

We love the Abbey and we will be back again soon.

Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated immediately but then wait ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were seated immediately but then waited 25 minutes before the waitress acknowledged us. It was another 12 minutes before we received drinks, and it was 43 minutes from the time we ordered (after the 37 minutes) before we received a salad. The food was incredible and others around us received their meals and left before we had received ours. The service, though, was truly the worst I have ever experienced. When I confronted the issue, it was made like I was off base for pointing it out by the waitress. The maitre dei did give us 50% off our bill, but that hardly made up for the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

If you are staying at the Abbey Resort t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

If you are staying at the Abbey Resort the restaurant is convenient and the food was fine, but service was so slow particularly since it was a Tuesday night and the place was less than half full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Very good went out for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very good went out for our anniversary. Paid 34.00 for all you can eat prime rib and crab legs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely loved the bruschetta, it w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We absolutely loved the bruschetta, it was amazing! We also enjoyed the breads served, especially the one with the raisins. All in all, we enjoyed our meal. A lot of food for the price. Great view of the lake!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We have gone to this restaurant 3 times ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have gone to this restaurant 3 times since March 2016 (reside in Chicago) and it's worth the drive. It has become our weekend getaway spot. We have enjoyed the Seafood Buffet on Friday and the Prime Rib Buffet on Saturday. John the chef is very attentive and goes the extra mile to make sure your steak in cooked the way you want it. The setting and mood of the restaurant is very relaxing...the piano player is a bonus! The dessert bar and wine list is well represented too! The restaurant is located at The Abbey Resort & Spa. Enjoy your visit...we did!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service by Janet!!! Manager ca ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent service by Janet!!! Manager came to meet us as it was our anniversary. Food took awhile and wasn't the greatest but not terrible either... Gave us a free dessert so that's nice! Would probably go back!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We went for the Friday night lobster fes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went for the Friday night lobster fest and it was an outstanding meal. The lobster was easily 1 1/2 lbs. along with corn on the cob, red potato, clam chowder soup, and mix berries dessert. Only problem we had was it appears the staff did not like to come by and clear the dirty dishes. Otherwise, it was a near perfect dining experience and we will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Our waitress was outstanding but unfortu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waitress was outstanding but unfortunately the food couldn't match the service. Just didn't meet our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We felt that more options should be on t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We felt that more options should be on the Menu and less Formal Foods. Also the Prices are very high for the amount that You receive. Salads should be included in all meals.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Fabulous find for festive dining! Our se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fabulous find for festive dining! Our server, Edward, was exceprtional, providing excellent information to help us make selections. He was knowledgeable about the menu and food in general. True to his descriptions, the entres were creatively crafted, perfectly prepared. Start to finish, a lovely meal, entirely ftting a 20th anniversary celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very angry to find that for three people ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Very angry to find that for three people at brunch they added what was about 18% "service charge", then they left a space to leave a tip. Really? I waited on myself all they did was bring drinks. Since I wasn't paying I didn't do anything and I regret that. It's a great brunch but next time I will cross out their 'service charge' and leave an appropriate tip. The service was great but odd that a supposedly classy resort can't keep a blender in the bar due to theft from employees, so any drinks requiring a blender can't be made. Never heard of such a thing. They need to vet their hires.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just returned from a long weekend at the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Just returned from a long weekend at the Abbey so enjoyed a dinner and two breakfasts there. Everything was very good and service was great. Ordered breakfast off the menu though they did seem to want to push the buffet. Beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had the Friday night lobster fest. I ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had the Friday night lobster fest. It was very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was good and the view was beaut ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was good and the view was beautiful. The problem was that we were there for our one year wedding anniversary and put that in when we reserved the dinner and it was never recognized. The restaurant was very slow but everyone was seated in the same area. My husband and I were hoping to have a romantic dinner and it was not at all that. We could hear conversations at every other table around us. We expected to spend an evening celebrating and it ended up being an in and out event. The restaurant is set on the lake and that was beautiful but it did not live up to what we were hoping for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Excellent!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Brunch was amazing . Service was terrific and we had a lovely private area for our family of 9.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Orders off the menu were very good. The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Orders off the menu were very good. The prime rib in the prime rib buffet left much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

This is a fantastic Sunday brunch. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This is a fantastic Sunday brunch. The food selection is outstanding. Some of the dishes could be hotter but if you stick to the made to order omelettes, Belgian waffles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

our 21st anniversary

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our waitress (CJ Dobbins) helped make our anniversary really special. Just has we sat down we heard our song played totally by chance (James Taylor's How Sweet It Is)...and we told her and she bought us 2 glasses of champagne and proceeded to make our meal really special! We had such a good time at the Abbey...and we will definately be back!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

An OK Dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I would order off the menu for dinner. The food on the buffet was just so-so. Breakfast at 240 was delicious, however, and the service is terrific. Loved the ambiance and the view of the small harbor at The Abbey is lovely.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant did an excellent job food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The restaurant did an excellent job food and service was top-notch. We had the lobster fest which was an amazing value

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is actually unfair to give star revie ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

It is actually unfair to give star reviews to the restaurant, because we were unable to dine there. Open Tables gave us a reservation for 11:45 am, so we assumed lunch was available. However, upon arrival we were told that it never opens until 5:00 pm. This should be fixed so others are not caught the same way. Fortunately, there is a casual spot in the building that was open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I don't want to bash anything but the fo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I don't want to bash anything but the food just wasn't good. The best thing we ate was the warm bread and butter (with sea salt) that you get for free. The calamari was soggy and not crispy and the beef short ribs just didn't have any flavor. I would eat elsewhere unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were staying at the Abbey Resort, and took a party of 5 out for dinner. We were very impressed with the service, and the seating arrangements that gave us a full view of the harbor. We opted to choose the buffet, which had cut to order prime rib, crab legs, oysters, mussels, shrimp, smoked salmon, and a wide variety of chicken, pork dishes top of a full salad bar, and dessert bar. The selection was wonderful, and priced very well

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

reliably elegant

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service, great view, great piano player.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I first ate at the Abbey 40 years ago, b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I first ate at the Abbey 40 years ago, but I had not been back for many years. I was delighted with the comfortable and fashionable dining room. Space between tables was ample--a feature that many restaurants skip. The food was excellent and well displayed. The big winner of the Saturday buffet was the crab legs. Our server could have had more polish, however.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The food and service was amazing, le wine special

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I don't make it to lake geneva often but when I do I like to make sure I go to a nice place to eat and have some wine....my wife and I had a great experience and will definitely be back for lots more

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

240 Dinner buffett

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great location and food. Service was great. We will back and cant wait to try the breakfast buffett

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eggs Benedict were cold. Service not t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Eggs Benedict were cold. Service not that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had the dinner buffet. It was reasonably priced. The food was excellent and with abundant choices. The piano player created an nice ambiance as dinner the fire in the fireplace. Our waiter, Jack, was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeanne

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Carol was our server, she asked if we were celebrating something special. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and she brought us a glass of champagne. we were very surprised and pleased. thanks for making our special evening even more special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overrated

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The sea bass was overcooked. We felt rushed and it was just below average experience. The scenery was amazing.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Overall it was a good. Our waiter was p ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Overall it was a good. Our waiter was plesant and attentive. The food was fair -but would not characterize as fine dining. The ambience included a fireplace which was nice(but the room was large) and views of the harbor (but our reservations were at night)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food in a very pleasant atmosphere ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great food in a very pleasant atmosphere. Not your typical hotel restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service. Had the prime rib buffet. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Good service. Had the prime rib buffet. The only real negative was that the meat was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Would come again.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Our overall experience was very pleasant. The food was very good, but a little expensive for what it was. The service was good and our server was friendly. The ambience and decorations of the restaurant was very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great,BUT

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Service and food great. BUT the unused wine glass were taken of the table and put back on the shelf to be used again instead of taking back to dishwasher.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.