About 240° West

269 Fontana Blvd
Fontana, WI 91252
View Larger Map

Set your compass to 240° West for a new direction in food and wine.
Panoramic harbor views, modern décor and a menu that prom­ises to satisfy. From small plates packed with flavor, to expected entrees with an unexpected twist. Savor the experience at 240° West.

Open for breakfast and dinner daily. Sunday champagne harbor side brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Saturday: 7:00am - 11:00am, Sunday: 7:00am - 12:00pm

Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hwy 67

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(262) 275-1815

Website:
http://www.theabbeyresort.com/dining/lake-geneva-restaurants.aspx

Entertainment:
Join pianist, Tom Stanfield, each weekend for live musical entertainment as you delight in a delicious meal overlooking the stunning harbor. Tom entertains guests each Friday and Saturday evening beginning at 6pm and each Sunday morning during brunch.

Parking Details:
The Abbey Resort offers parking within the hotel parking lots as well as complimentary valet parking.

Executive Chef:
Joshua North

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Friday LobsterFest

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Prime Rib Dinner Special

Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Harbor Side Champagne Brunch

Sundays from 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Promotions

Friday LobsterFest

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Enjoy a starter of New England clam chowder, a whole 1 1/2 lb. Maine lobster, sweet sugar corn, new boiled potatoes, and fresh fruit cobbler to complete the experience. 5:00pm-10:00pm / $32 per person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 13, 2016 - Sep 9, 2016 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Prime Rib Dinner Special

Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Delight in the numerous options of this delicious prime rib dinner in 240° West each Saturday evening. Enjoy classic favorites as well as seasonal specialties brought to you by The Abbey Resort's culinary team. $31.95 Adults / $17.95 Children. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 12, 2016 - Jul 10, 2016 on Saturdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Harbor Side Champagne Brunch

Sundays from 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Details
There is no better way to begin your week than the Sunday Harborside Champagne Brunch. Join us in 240° West each Sunday and enjoy delicious brunch options, with new selections introduced each week. 9:00am-1:00pm / $27.95 Adults / $12.95 Children. Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations strongly recommended. Special valid Mar 13, 2016 - Jul 11, 2016 on Sundays from 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM.
50% Off Select Wines

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Details
50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. With a purchase of a dinner entree all wines $30 - $80 are half price. Special valid Mar 10, 2016 - Jul 7, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM.

240° West Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Wisconsin
Best Overall
Lake Geneva
Best Food
Lake Geneva
5 More
Best Service
Lake Geneva
Best Ambiance
Lake Geneva
Best Value
Lake Geneva
Special Occasion
Lake Geneva
Most Booked
Lake Geneva
Best Restaurants in Fontana ›

scenic view (40)
special occasion (39)
romantic (36)
See All
good for groups (17)
great for brunch (15)
notable wine list (14)
fit for foodies (8)
great for lunch (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It is actually unfair to give star revie ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

It is actually unfair to give star reviews to the restaurant, because we were unable to dine there. Open Tables gave us a reservation for 11:45 am, so we assumed lunch was available. However, upon arrival we were told that it never opens until 5:00 pm. This should be fixed so others are not caught the same way. Fortunately, there is a casual spot in the building that was open.

food1
ambience4
service4
value2

I don't want to bash anything but the fo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I don't want to bash anything but the food just wasn't good. The best thing we ate was the warm bread and butter (with sea salt) that you get for free. The calamari was soggy and not crispy and the beef short ribs just didn't have any flavor. I would eat elsewhere unfortunately.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were staying at the Abbey Resort, and took a party of 5 out for dinner. We were very impressed with the service, and the seating arrangements that gave us a full view of the harbor. We opted to choose the buffet, which had cut to order prime rib, crab legs, oysters, mussels, shrimp, smoked salmon, and a wide variety of chicken, pork dishes top of a full salad bar, and dessert bar. The selection was wonderful, and priced very well

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

reliably elegant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great service, great view, great piano player.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I first ate at the Abbey 40 years ago, b ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I first ate at the Abbey 40 years ago, but I had not been back for many years. I was delighted with the comfortable and fashionable dining room. Space between tables was ample--a feature that many restaurants skip. The food was excellent and well displayed. The big winner of the Saturday buffet was the crab legs. Our server could have had more polish, however.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing, le wine special

Dined on April 29, 2016

I don't make it to lake geneva often but when I do I like to make sure I go to a nice place to eat and have some wine....my wife and I had a great experience and will definitely be back for lots more

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

240 Dinner buffett

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great location and food. Service was great. We will back and cant wait to try the breakfast buffett

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Eggs Benedict were cold. Service not t ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Eggs Benedict were cold. Service not that great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had the dinner buffet. It was reasonably priced. The food was excellent and with abundant choices. The piano player created an nice ambiance as dinner the fire in the fireplace. Our waiter, Jack, was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeanne

Dined on April 10, 2016

Carol was our server, she asked if we were celebrating something special. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and she brought us a glass of champagne. we were very surprised and pleased. thanks for making our special evening even more special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Overrated

Dined on April 8, 2016

The sea bass was overcooked. We felt rushed and it was just below average experience. The scenery was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall it was a good. Our waiter was p ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Overall it was a good. Our waiter was plesant and attentive. The food was fair -but would not characterize as fine dining. The ambience included a fireplace which was nice(but the room was large) and views of the harbor (but our reservations were at night)

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food in a very pleasant atmosphere ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Great food in a very pleasant atmosphere. Not your typical hotel restaurant

food4
ambience5
service4

Good service. Had the prime rib buffet. ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Good service. Had the prime rib buffet. The only real negative was that the meat was overcooked.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Would come again.

Dined on February 27, 2016

Our overall experience was very pleasant. The food was very good, but a little expensive for what it was. The service was good and our server was friendly. The ambience and decorations of the restaurant was very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great,BUT

Dined on February 27, 2016

Service and food great. BUT the unused wine glass were taken of the table and put back on the shelf to be used again instead of taking back to dishwasher.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice but overpriced

Dined on February 20, 2016

My boyfriend and I decided to check out the abbey for dinner to switch it up from our regular spots in downtown Lake Geneva. He got this lobster clam special that was $25 while I got the chilean sea bass for $35. The special was good with a large quantity of food so definitely a good deal for the price. The potatoes that came with it were quite raw but it was overall a good and fulling meal. The sea bass was very good but super small with just a side of potatoes. I was disappointed in how small my meal was compared to his for $10 more. Pretty ridiculous.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Salmon was dry. Bacon was gross. Overall bad.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Salmon was dry. Bacon was gross. Overall, just a really bad meal.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I came here for a romantic evening dinner. The food was delicious and the service was great. We had a great window seat with a nice view of the harbor. We returned for the breakfast buffet the next day. Our experience was identical. Definitely eat here if you are in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's champagne brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

My girlfriend and I came here for brunch from out of town. The food was very good and there was plenty of it. Our waiter Edward, for being a buffet, was very attentive and had a great personality. The mimosas were bottomless. The scenery, although it was completely white and snow covered, was still beautiful and I can imagine the view in summer is amazing. The live piano player offered a pleasant ambiance. The only complaint is that it is a little more upscale, and there were a bunch of screaming kids. This, in my opinion, although family friendly, isn't a family restaurant. But it is on Lake Geneva and most the patrons there are self entitled snobs that don't care about other's dining experiences. Overall though, great place for a wonderful brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5

The food was mediocre. Not bad, but they ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was mediocre. Not bad, but they didn't make it clear that it was a buffet for Valentine's Day, which we were disappointed with. We had planned our entire weekend on dinner, wanting to order steak and lobster or sea bass from the original menu but we weren't able to even order that because of the buffet. The buffet felt like dining at a wedding; a baked potato bar, pasta, green beans. Nothing was that great but the atmosphere was nice and the servers were great and friendly. We might come back but definitely not on Valentine's Day because we want to try the actual menu next time.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance - more for fancy palettes

Dined on February 13, 2016

I really enjoyed my experience. Waiter was exceptional. Bread and cheese platter were amazing. Salad and steak were good but not amazing. I booked through OpenTable because when I called for a reservation, I was told the place was fully booked. Very strange because it was quite empty.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Dinner

Dined on February 7, 2016

The atmosphere was very intimate and romantic. There weren't many other diners so we had a quiet dinner near the warmth of the fire and close enough to a window to see the view. Service was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Once meals were ordered, at least a 45mi ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Once meals were ordered, at least a 45min.,until served

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Very good meat; mediocre seafood.

Dined on February 3, 2016

The beautiful winter evening view was lessened by the piped in music. Spices overwhelmed the minimal portion of seafood. There's an art to bringing out the natural flavor of fresh seafood and maintaining its moisture. this meal came up short.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on January 31, 2016

SO good! we were surprised and impressed by the Saturday night prime rib buffet so we went back the next morning for the champagne brunch. Couldn't believe it was equally as good both nights!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our Server Desiree

Dined on January 30, 2016

Our server is a gem. She was so charming, helpful and friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Beware

Dined on January 30, 2016

I'm normally not a picky customer, but we had to return our lobster because it was black and smelled like a sock. This was only a minor hiccup, and then I got to the bottom of my Makers Mark on the rocks and there was something in it that I cannot mention because open table does not allow me to include that in my review. The waitress was pretty oblivious to how disgusting that is and offered to get me another drink. Then the manager came and was very apologetic and there was no charge for the meal. I won't be going back there.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Just okay

Dined on January 24, 2016

My husband and I went to the prime rib buffet. I felt that there wasn't enough to choose from and what there was, wasn't great. The was chicken breast that we didn't like, pasta we liked, mussels and clams were overly fishy. We like mussels and clams but these were too fishy. The crab legs were never replenished. Vegetables were good. Pork loin was good if you found a thicker piece or it was dry. This also wasn't replenished. We were disapponted.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the relaxed feel of this place!

Dined on January 10, 2016

A comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

240 West at the Abbey Resort. Fontana WI

Dined on January 2, 2016

Took a 8 member family group for dinner. Buffet dinner option was outstanding. We all participated in that. Lots of choices from seafood to meats, salads and desserts. All food options were fresh and excellent. I have eaten here several times and every time it has been excellent. Plus, 240West has an excellent entertainer. He plays the piano and the horn simultaneously and knows every song anyone could request. This is a great option for folks like us from northwestern IL. Short drive, easy to find within the Abbey Resort. Some of my family members went to the Spa at the resort before we all joined in for dinner at 240 West. All my family members were very complimentary. Will definitely repeat

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice!

Dined on December 30, 2015

Steve is amazing and Cyndi was a delight! Wonderful view, great food.

food4
ambience2
service3

Very interesting. Watched a couple of co ...

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Very interesting. Watched a couple of con artists totally complain and rip off the restaurant. Went on three or four times before requesting a manager. Hard to enjoy out 100.00 meal while this whole fiasco was going on.

food5
ambience4
service5

Brunch with Santa

Dined on November 29, 2015

It is a Christmas tradition for us to bring out kids to have brunch with Santa. Great Santa and great food. We will be coming for many more years! Our server was also very personal and tentative.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

really expensive & not worth it!

Dined on November 29, 2015

Really nice to have a nice restaurant at the resort, but we've never had good food OR service there in the 20+ years we've been going there. This time, the prime rib was very rare so the chef at the serving station told us only our waiter could bring it back to the kitchen to be cooked longer, problem was our waiter disappeared for a half an hour! I saw the prime rib chef go back & forth to the kitchen 20 times while we waited around for a waiter that never showed up! We ate breakfast here also - my husband had the buffet & I ordered off the menu. It took over 40 minutes for 2 eggs & toast (& the toast was cold)!!! RIDICULOUS!!! It's a shame they can't find someone to run that restaurant like it should be!!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

Dined on November 8, 2015

My fiancé and I will be moving to Fontana in December and we have starting to look for some great places to eat. We scored big last Saturday night at 240 West. We had a great table right near the fire place and piano. The food was amazing and the service was awesome. I can’t wait to go back when we move there for good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Weekend Getaway

Dined on November 8, 2015

The Abbey Resort and 240 West has a beautiful lake/ harbor view with a lodge type rustic yet updated feel. Wait staff was friendly and service was good. Attention to detail was not evident as spilled food was kicked under a buffet table, light fixtures were full of dead bugs and lots of noise from the kitchen with plates breaking on the floor. Food is good and the restaurant participated in the Dine Around the lake experience so it was a great bargain with great quality. I would go back again soon!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Birthday party

Dined on November 8, 2015

Party of ten for birthday party. Great service. We ordered from menu and the buffet, both were good.wine recommendations were great also. Manager was kind enough to cut and serve our birthday cake. Will go again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

enjoyable evening

Dined on November 7, 2015

The risotto was amazing, as was the mushroom bruschetta! Our main courses were very good but we've had better at 240 West. The flourless chocolate cake was fantastic as usual!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Evening Out with Friend

Dined on October 24, 2015

My friend and I were in Wisconsin for an art workshop and we wanted to have a special dinner. I have heard of the prime rib buffet on Saturdays for a bargain of $30 per person. We decided to go with it and we could have been more satisfied. There was a full salad bar, cold & hot crab legs, pork roast, chicken plus the tender prime rib and baked potatoe bar. Of course, there was also a dessert table to finish the meal. The wine list was extensive and the atmosphere was lovely with a view of the marina of the Abbey Hotel.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.