About 22 North

Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!

22 N Lumina Ave
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Birmingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 509-0177

Website:
http://www.22north.net/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot adjacent to our building for convenient parking as well as metered parking along Lumina Avenue. The public parking lot is located on the beach side of Banks channel bridge approximately 25 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Brent Poteat

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

22 North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Casual (11)
See All
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Romantic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
Cozy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

This place has good food and decent cocktails. The restaurant , however is very dated in its decor but after a conversation with the manager we were informed that renovations would be taking place as the restaurant is also a late night spot for music and dancing for the locals. We would definitely go back as we are curious to see what improvements will be made. Wait Staff were both friendly and professional. Worth a second try...

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The staff was friendly and aimed to please. They were the best thing about the meal. By the stale beer/cleaning solution smell wafting throughout and the sticky booth, i'm guessing this is actually more of a bar than restaurant. Bleck. The food was poorly concepted and even more poorly executed. Someone in the kitchen has a serious thing for cooked green peppers, a lttle restraint would go a long way. I'm not trying to be unkind, but the bill was $80 for mostly inedible food. When on vacation, you want every meal to count, it's just not fair to walk away so dissappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food and service were absolutely incredible!! One of the best restaurants in Wrightsville Beach!! We loved this restaurant and will definitely return on our next visit to WB.
We had the shrimp & grits with BBQ sauce & collards. The shrimp was perfectly cooked, the grits were creamy & the collards such a tasty & interesting touch to this dish. The cornbread prepared with jalapeños was light & fluffy and some of the best we' ve ever tasted!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

22North was excellent as usual. We make or to wrightsville beach several times a year an 22 North is always a go to for dinner. The diverse menu is listed on a black board and the the choices are Lways fantastic. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We wanted to love this place. Walked away feeling so-so. Menu had tons of potential. Chowder was excellent and hot. Other food was presented beautifully, good flavor but cold. Gator was good. Collards seemed to be a theme that was overused. In fairness, it appeared that there was a lack of staff. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. He definitely had his hands full. Think he was only one there. Not a place for kids. Mac and cheese was a disaster. Sent it back. Hot dog was good. Chicken tenders not cooked fully. With so many other options, we are unlikely to give this one a second try.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Thank you for the scrumptious shrimp n grits and thank you for the friendly, attentive service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant was not that great for the prices. It was extremely hard to hear our table's conversation because of the very loud patrons seated at other tables throughout the place. It looked & felt dirty, more like a bar than a nice restaurant that had fine dining prices.
The waitstaff was friendly.
Food was marginal for the price.
I will not go back for diner because there are copious amounts of restaurants in the area that offer good food, cleanliness, & atmosphere.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were promptly seated and a server came for our drink orders within minutes. The fresh menu is presented on a large table side chalkboard. Food is fresh and changes regular. We had wedge salads with smoked blue cheese--delicious. The entrees we enjoyed were grouper and lobster ettoufe. Both were amazing. The only downside is the atmosphere needs a little sprucing up. We were seated in the bar room. Next time we will definitely ask to Be in the dining room, and there definitely will be a next time!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 4, 2017

just ok. wedge salad was not good (didn't think you could mess up a wedge) - main course meal was reasonable but not worth the price paid - don't think we'll go back - i'm not sure how this place got rated so highly on here and tripadvisor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and service! We will be back! The only that would have made this better would be to add a bread basket.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Was a great meal! We were in town on vacation and wanted to find a great seafood place. 22 North delivered! Thanks for a wonderful experience and can't wait to come back next year!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Service and food were excellent. Very personable wait staff. Delicious summer drink and the fish was fresh and expertly prepared. Would go again if I was in the area

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 19, 2017

A true gem! The food far exceeded our expectations. The
Shrimp and grits were amazing. My husband had the scallops which were equally amazing! All very fresh, perfectly seasoned. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A great spot for dinner. The menu changes and isn't huge, but all of the options were delicious! One of the best seafood restaurants I have eaten at.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Drinks excellent. Soup very good. Entrees were so-so. Parking was very difficult to find on a busy beach weekend. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We really enjoyed this place. We went on a Thursday and it was super quiet. There is a bar side and a finer dining side. The menu is up on a chalkboard which is changed every day. They get the freshest ingredients from the market daily. For an appetizer we had the gator, which was amazingly fried. For dinner we had fresh catfish and the shrimp mac and cheese. Both were great! The hostess was also out waitress and she was super sweet. The only issue we had was they were out of a few beers my husband was looking for. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I had a problem with my entree, but the manager made it right immediately. Good food, good service. A real gem! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very fresh seafood options. Lobster Mac and cheese was delicious! Grouper was also very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My wife and I attended this eatery while on vacation in the Wrightsville, NC area. This restaurant tries to bridge the gap between being a neighborhood bar and a slightly higher-end bistro. I'm not sure if they are able to pull it off. The space is divided into two sections-the main dining room and the bar-area where we seated and also has table seating. I felt like the bar area was a bit like a college bar. It should be slightly souped up a bit more considering the menu and the desire to seem more upscale. The food was ok. A mango gazpacho was creatively served in a martini glass. My wife had a skirt steak which was slightly over-cooked. I had a scallop dish which was decent. I was disappointed that they did not offer sparkling water, so we just had regular tap water which unfortunately in Wrightsville is not too good. So, a good suggestion might be to keep a few bottles of Perrier or similar just in case customers want an alternative. On a positive note, the menu does feature farm-to-table ingredients, so perhaps a good suggestion might be to simplify the menu so that it highlights the freshness of those items rather than smothering it in a sauce or adding other items which can mask the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 4, 2017

I had the grouper - which was excellent the rest of my table enjoyed thoroughly what they had too, ambience was non existent- hardly anyone there and the drink was weak but if you're teetotal and want decent food - it's a good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was excellent! The hardest part was picking what to get, as we both wanted almost everything. No matter what you get, you won't go wrong. Get there early for your reservation though, as parking is almost impossible to find there at the beach.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very disappointed with our dinner. The food lacked flavor. The scallops were swimming in broth and were soggy. Crab cakes were over cooked and veggies had no flavor. Grouper fingers were tasteless and came with little to no sauce. The service was rushed: brought entrees before we were done with our appetizers and our check without even asking if we wanted dessert. We will not return and it seems as though no one else will either as the restaurant was empty on a Friday night during a popular holiday weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It was too dark and it smelled. Food was good but not very attractive place to eat. Hardly anyone was there at 6-7pm dinner on Friday. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Dated decor. Great location & food looked good. A shame, even a minimal facelift would help. Hope this reaches management/owner to encourage some updating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was wonderful. The noise level could not be helped since it is family friendly. There were several small children in the small dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington and definitely our favorite on Wrightsville beach. The food is delicious and it is nice that they have a menu that varies daily although I have never been there when shrimp and grits were not an option... That is our favorite!! The peanut butter pie is amazing! And we love their bread basket too! Always great service!! Small, typically pretty quiet for dinner, I think most would appreciate it the way we do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The food was above average for Wilmington but the service and ambiance took away from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Chef came out to talk to us and to find out what kind of food we liked. He suggested he serve us a few small plates of his choice. Ended up with 6 plates that were more more than generous. Food was incredible, creative, and delicious. Price was very reasonable especially for what we got. The host and wait staff could not have been more professional and welcoming. Next time we are back in the Wilmington area, that'll be the first dinner stop we make. What a wonderful experience that was and the personal touch by the chef made it very personal. Thank you 22 North!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Family vacation. 6 adults and one child. One person is a vegetarian... There were selections to please her. Fish and oysters were fresh. The service was very good. There were selections suitable foe a 2.5 year old.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was overpriced and mediocre at best. Had to stare at a chalkboard for well over 15 minutes until the waitress came and took it away. Of the 6 people in our party, only one enjoyed their food, a pork chop. Don't waste your time on this one unless everything else is booked up in Wrightsville Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Another great evening at 22 North!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The most interesting thing about 22 North is the contrast between the food (which is really excellent), and the decor, which is extremely modest (to say the least). When we first walked in, I considered walking back out again - the dingy carpet was not a good sign. But I'm glad we stayed - the shrimp appetizer and swordfish entree were fabulous. The servers were friendly and well-trained, and the cocktails were delightful. I would recommend this place to a friend, but I would suggest that they go for the food, not the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The website photos of the food are incongruous with what you are served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Wilmington area. Never disappoints. Two of us had the oyster salad and the oysters were some of the best I've ever tasted. Large, delicately breaded and perfectly cooked. Oh, I wish I could have them again tonight. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The seafood was delicious!! Service was spot on!! Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Farm to table - appetizers are always unique and tasty

4-5 fresh seafood dishes on the menus along with a great ribeye, duck and chicken dish.

Desserts are always great - I think they are made in house.
Very casual three star menu

This is my third time back - we came here last year - end of college season and it was a bit loud but goes with the territory near a college town; tonight was great environment.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We ended up at 22 North when we were unable to get a table at another local spot. So so glad we did. The ambiance is very low key but the food is the real star. They have no set menu and use a chalkboard to write the day's local fare. Everything is fresh and local, sort of farm to table or in the case of the fish "ocean to table". You can't go wrong here. It is a new FAVORITE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Interesting blackboard fresh menu brought tableside. However it requires a verbal explanation of how each entree is prepared & what comes with it, etc... Not my favorite way to figure out my choice. I chose the porterhouse pork chop which was terribly overcooked & nearly impossible to cut thru. I struggled but didn't want to create a scene by sending it back. Had I not read previous positive reviews the outside look of this place would have been enough to have stopped me from going in. Interesting concept & clearly gets favorable reviews... But my experience wasn't good enough to have me return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service was exceptional! Will definitely dine there again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.