About 22 North

Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!

22 N Lumina Ave
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Birmingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 509-0177

Website:
http://www.22north.net/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot adjacent to our building for convenient parking as well as metered parking along Lumina Avenue. The public parking lot is located on the beach side of Banks channel bridge approximately 25 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Brent Poteat

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

22 North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

3.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (10)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Special Occasion (4)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fun (1)
Vegan (1)
Romantic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Dated decor. Great location & food looked good. A shame, even a minimal facelift would help. Hope this reaches management/owner to encourage some updating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was wonderful. The noise level could not be helped since it is family friendly. There were several small children in the small dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington and definitely our favorite on Wrightsville beach. The food is delicious and it is nice that they have a menu that varies daily although I have never been there when shrimp and grits were not an option... That is our favorite!! The peanut butter pie is amazing! And we love their bread basket too! Always great service!! Small, typically pretty quiet for dinner, I think most would appreciate it the way we do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was above average for Wilmington but the service and ambiance took away from the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Chef came out to talk to us and to find out what kind of food we liked. He suggested he serve us a few small plates of his choice. Ended up with 6 plates that were more more than generous. Food was incredible, creative, and delicious. Price was very reasonable especially for what we got. The host and wait staff could not have been more professional and welcoming. Next time we are back in the Wilmington area, that'll be the first dinner stop we make. What a wonderful experience that was and the personal touch by the chef made it very personal. Thank you 22 North!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Family vacation. 6 adults and one child. One person is a vegetarian... There were selections to please her. Fish and oysters were fresh. The service was very good. There were selections suitable foe a 2.5 year old.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Another great evening at 22 North!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

The most interesting thing about 22 North is the contrast between the food (which is really excellent), and the decor, which is extremely modest (to say the least). When we first walked in, I considered walking back out again - the dingy carpet was not a good sign. But I'm glad we stayed - the shrimp appetizer and swordfish entree were fabulous. The servers were friendly and well-trained, and the cocktails were delightful. I would recommend this place to a friend, but I would suggest that they go for the food, not the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 25, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Wilmington area. Never disappoints. Two of us had the oyster salad and the oysters were some of the best I've ever tasted. Large, delicately breaded and perfectly cooked. Oh, I wish I could have them again tonight. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The seafood was delicious!! Service was spot on!! Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Farm to table - appetizers are always unique and tasty

4-5 fresh seafood dishes on the menus along with a great ribeye, duck and chicken dish.

Desserts are always great - I think they are made in house.
Very casual three star menu

This is my third time back - we came here last year - end of college season and it was a bit loud but goes with the territory near a college town; tonight was great environment.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We ended up at 22 North when we were unable to get a table at another local spot. So so glad we did. The ambiance is very low key but the food is the real star. They have no set menu and use a chalkboard to write the day's local fare. Everything is fresh and local, sort of farm to table or in the case of the fish "ocean to table". You can't go wrong here. It is a new FAVORITE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Interesting blackboard fresh menu brought tableside. However it requires a verbal explanation of how each entree is prepared & what comes with it, etc... Not my favorite way to figure out my choice. I chose the porterhouse pork chop which was terribly overcooked & nearly impossible to cut thru. I struggled but didn't want to create a scene by sending it back. Had I not read previous positive reviews the outside look of this place would have been enough to have stopped me from going in. Interesting concept & clearly gets favorable reviews... But my experience wasn't good enough to have me return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service was exceptional! Will definitely dine there again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is creative and delicious, as good as any fine restaurant in a big city.
The decor needs a total overhaul. The owners should immediately hang shades or drapes between the bar area and the restaurant. Don't seat customers in the booth in front of the open catchall room. Close off this room. Again, I would return for the food--and wear sunglasses.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Found the restaurant on Yelp. In the area visiting family. It was WAY more than we expected! The food was GRRAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a late dinner (8 p.m.) and 22 North was quiet. Had burgers and pork sandwiches which were good. Green fried tomatoes were great. Service was good. Out of Coors Lite which was a disappointment to our guest. Disliked the dark underground feel of the restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food. I was a little surprised by the small chalkboard menu selections. The food quality was excellent. If you are not picky and can do with a small list of choices, this is a great spot to check out.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Enjoyed our meal. Food was delicious and got our table right away

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The higher end of beach life....and welcomed! Interesting wine list & well done individual meals. And the bar in the back is enjoyable for less formal but, higher quality food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The food was unreal! I've had many great meals in my lifetime but this place is incredible; the flavors were unbelievable. I'd recommend this restaurant to everyone who likes great food. It's unassuming on the outside and in but truly the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Restaurant was good. Disappointed with open table because when I check out menu on Web site it was completely different than advertised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This restaurant is highly overrated. The menu is overly priced with a limited selection that could even remotely be considered palatable. The prices are exorbitantly expensive for the mere toddler sized portions that are served.

I would not recommend going to this restaurant unless you are not hungry and want to spend a ridiculous amount of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food , awesome staff. Will be back to try more dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband & I were in town for my brother's wedding for a week. It just happened to also be our 7th/18th Anniversary & Valentine's day as well. We were able to make reservations last minute & the food, atmosphere, & service were absolutely Amazing!!! Would recommend & will definitely be back!! The menu changes daily & everything is very fresh & locally caught.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

NY strip steak was cooked perfectly and mashed potatoes were delicious. Staff was friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu which changes daily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our first visit. Friendly greeting upon entering. Fun to read the menu off a chalkboard easel. Menu changes daily with what fresh ingredients are available to the chef. The yummy lobster and corn bisque (really a chowder) had generous pieces of lobster and a little kick of hot spiciness. Three generously-sized, homemade biscuits subtly flavored with rosemary came out nice and warm. My scallops wrapped in bacon were served 3 each on two skewers and were delish, as was my husband's duck. All arrived to the table hot and fast! Attentive wait staff.

Wine menu isn't as extensive as we'd like but we had a great bottle of Carne Humana, a Napa Valley red. We skipped dessert but the offerings included bread pudding, key lime pie, chocolate cheesecake and a few others. All looked appealing. We were just full.

Our tummies went home very happy --- now for the big but-- BUT not sure we would return, even though we would suggest that others try it. The ambience was a disappointment. The restaurant itself doesn't match the classy image portrayed by the website nor the quality of the food. Somewhat dark inside. Smelled of stale beer the minute we walked in. Carpeting on the floor probably doesn't help with that. Nor the large bar area at the back. Have to assume that the place is hopping in the summer, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I ordered the pork chop with mushroom ragout and feta. I didn't see any mushrooms or feta. Instead it was smothered in a yellow spicy hot mustard sauce. It was so spicy I couldn't eat it. Not at all what I expected. And it was served over mushy over cooked carrots and collards. I was very disappointed in the food. Very pricy. There were no prices on the menu and our dinner for 2 was over $120. I wouldn't have minded if it was good. Also had to ask them to turn the music down. "Born to be wild" was blaring in the dining room. It felt like a bar. Must say our waitress was very attentive and provided great service. Courtney I believe was her name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday - husbands 52nd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our first time - we came away pleasantly impressed! While not busy, it wasn't deserted ... to be expected in the winter months. Ambiance was a little lacking, but OK. Service was good, knowledgable and attentive enough without being overbearing. A good wine selection and plenty of dining options on the chalkboard menu. We started with the shrimp martini, the cocktail sauce is unique and highly recommended. For entrees we chose the tuna and shrimp and grits ... both well prepared and presented. An interesting find on Wrightsville Beach - we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was delicious. We loved the rib appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the chef was amazing and the waiter was very attentive. The food was out of this world! The Shrimp and Grits were my favorite!

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Turner out to be a quiet winter evening with an excellent bottle of wine and enjoying truly fabulous food. Of special note were the curried scallops delicately seasoned and dressed with vegetables just cooked right. 22 North is a true gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great fresh local food constantly changing menus great value beach atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

There was only one dish without meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Went with a small plate tasting. Very good and a nice variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is one of those hidden gems. Chalkboard menu that changes daily, but a couple staples that stay on the menu. Food was perfectly prepared and the server was knowledgeable and helpful. We love coming here in the off-season as locals and leave it to the visitors for the summer months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Waitress was not attentive. Food was good but a little salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was good, as always, but it was a very slow night for the kitchen and servers. Not sure what was going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.