About 22 North

22 N Lumina Ave
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
View Larger Map

Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Birmingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 509-0177

Website:
http://www.22north.net/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot adjacent to our building for convenient parking as well as metered parking along Lumina Avenue. The public parking lot is located on the beach side of Banks channel bridge approximately 25 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Brent Poteat

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

22 North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wrightsville Beach ›

fit for foodies (13)
good for groups (8)
romantic (7)
See All
neighborhood gem (7)
special occasion (6)
notable wine list (5)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on May 18, 2016

The food and dining experience was excellent. I recommend this restaurant to anyone in the Wrightsville Beach / Wilmington area. #1 place around.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food can be a bit on the pricey side ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food can be a bit on the pricey side, but its totally worth if for fresh seafood. The menu also varies because they only prep meals for meats they can get fresh that day. So don't expect to get the same thing every visit. Our server was pretty "hands off". She wasn't constantly at the table, she gave us our space to enjoy the meal. Food was great, and it came out rather quickly (we came right when they opened for dinner).

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Disappointed

Dined on May 4, 2016

Always use tripadvisor to pick local restaurants for a good meal and usually happy with the choice. Unfortunately it must have been a really bad night for the chef. My husband NEVER complains about a meal but his meal consisted of over cooked and over priced scallops wrapped in bacon with old rice. I had the fried crawfish legs which were salty and tasted like fried batter. I would not recommend 22 North for anyone who enjoys well prepared fresh seafood.

food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Food was very good and creative, with nice wines.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Mixed views. Food and drink choices were good and the preparation and presentation was great; however the amiabne is tired and not up to the quality coming from the kitchen. Wait staff and general management was friendly and knowledgeable. Only the decor, including rest rooms, and lack of significant separation from the bar area, detract from an otherwise very nice restaurant in downtown Wrightsville Beach, NC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food ever, Great Chef

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here. This is by far the best food my wife and I have ever eaten. I can't say enough about the quality of the entire experience dinning here at 22 North. Our server Jessica was terrific from the start. She was very friendly and helpful. She answered all the questions we had and took great care of us. We started with Shrimp and Grits as our appetizer and it was incredible. The best Shrimp and Grits we had ever had. Brent Poteat the chef came and checked to see how we liked the appetizer. Talk about first rate service. The entire meal was outstanding and Brent came to check on us during our two hours there. Yes we ate for two hours. He is a great Chef and a terrific host. You can tell he takes a lot of pride preparing your food. M y wife was ready to take him home with us. We ended the night with a picture with Brent to remember our night. We will definitely be returning. I recommend anyone looking for great food to visit here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 27, 2016

A friend wanted to take me out to dinner for my birthday and we decided to go somewhere we hadn't been before, so we chose 22 North. The menu there changes frequently and it is written on large chalkboards. There was an excellent selection and we both chose the Shrimp and Grits, which was excellent, and we ordered a bread basket. The jam they serve with the bread was really good. We also had dessert, key lime pie and their bread pudding with ice cream. Our server Skylar was very attentive and polite. The prices were reasonable for a restaurant in a tourist area. I would recommend 22 North to anyone living or visiting the area.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Creative Seafood

Dined on March 26, 2016

The menu changes nightly, but, it's all good! We tried a variety of items and found all of them quite good. The tiny spinach salad that came with a lamb appetizer was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome food and service. Will definitel ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Awesome food and service. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

Dined on February 20, 2016

The chef was very friendly and the menu changes daily. The staff was friendly. Very enjoyable

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Went for valentines day. Made reservatio ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went for valentines day. Made reservations and it was pretty empty. Not many tables filled and a couple of people were told there was a 30 minute wait on a table or they can sit at the bar. Thought that was a little strange but regardless Food was good. Scallops were overcooked but overall it was good and fresh..

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great experience...very local and excellent, fresh seafood on a menu that changes daily. We would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

Meals were really good and served nice a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Meals were really good and served nice and hot on this chilly night. Scallops were great. Service was good. We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very pleased having dinner here for Valentine's Day. The food was just delicious and the service was fantastic. It's the only place my husband will order food he's never tried before and that says a lot!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and attentive service.

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent food and attentive service.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Just dinner nothing special

Dined on February 14, 2016

The dinning experience is unique in that the chef creates a menu every day. That is a true plus since they use only local fresh ingredients. The limitation is there are only 6-8 main's. One of my pet peeves was they couldn't be bothered to make a menu, but rather had chalkboards they placed by your table without explanations of the dish. We were required to inquire for additional information on each menu item we were curious about. That might not have been as big of a deal if we had an available waitress. Our waitress was not readily available. I had currie scallops and it was quite good. The sauce and vegetables were well paired and the curry was really just a hint of flavor without an overpowering heat. My wife had stuffed shrimp and, but what I tasted was a bar appetizer rather than a dish fitting of a $21 price tag. Overall we spent $100 and had dinner without any real sense of the need to return.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great spot for Valentine's Day

Dined on February 13, 2016

I surprised my wife with a reservation to 22 North. We'd never been for supper before. Being near the beach was great. The food was quality and came out in good time. We will be back.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on February 11, 2016

The chef even walked us out. We could thank him in person. Cool

food5
ambience3
service3

Food was excellent!!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Food was excellent!!

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was so so. Certainly does not deser ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Food was so so. Certainly does not deserve 4.5 stars. Definitely a smelly bar atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best food value on the North Carolina coast!

Dined on February 6, 2016

We always eat at 22 North when we visit the Wilmington, NC area. The food quality and taste cannot be beat and the prices are extremely reasonable for the quality. The menu is limited and varies frequently, so do not expect dozens of entrée choices and the same entrée each time you visit, but I have never been disappointed there. We do not go in for the bar scene, but we hear that the late night bar spirits and energy are excellent. The martinis we had at dinner were strong and delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Went with a group of 6 for a work lunch during Triangle Restaurant Week. Two of us selected from the TRW menu, while everyone else ordered off the regular menu. Everyone all around the table was happy with what they ordered. No alcohol drinks to review because it was lunch. Would love to go back and try the sake menu. Only negative was the green tea pot had only one tea bag to serve three of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining bar style

Dined on November 1, 2015

We have never been disappointed in anything we have ordered. The food is of the best quality and the service is excellent. Even the décor is a fun situation. Fine dining in a bar atmosphere. You can't beat it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience2
service4

Noisy but tasty

Dined on October 17, 2015

22 North apparently was/is a hopping bar a bit later in the evening. We had reservations for 6:45 PM & thought we'd be OK with our 4 year old granddaughter. However, it was a Saturday evening & the noise level was uncomfortable. There is a partial wall between the dining room & the bar, but the noise just floats around the edges & overwhelms diners in the booths. With all that said, the food was great & the service was very good. We'd go back, but likely go earlier to have a quieter dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

All the dishes that we had were deliciou ...

Dined on September 24, 2015

All the dishes that we had were delicious. The scallops in a curry sauce were tender and savory without being overwhelmed by turmeric or spiciness. English style curry as there were peas in the sauce. Get the bread basket to soak up all the sauce.

food5
ambience2
service5

Very Suprised

Dined on September 7, 2015

Upon entering my wife and I had our doubts, we were the only people there for dinner at the time. We both had scallops hers with a curry sauce and I had bacon wrapped scallops with an andouille cream sauce. Both were excellent! If you want good food, this is the place. If your looking for dinner with a view, you should pass. I would recommend to my friends!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service3

Poor restaurant

Dined on September 5, 2015

The restaurant was recommended to us but they must of had a different chef. My crab cakes were burned and my husbands duck was so tough it was almost unedible. We would not go back .

food3
ambience3
service4

Favorite restaurants disappoints

Dined on August 21, 2015

22 North is one of our favorite restaurants in the Wilmington area. However, our last visit was disappointing. The grouper was over cooked, and the stuffed flounder was just average. We will try it once more, hoping that this was just an off night.

food3
ambience2
service4

VERY quiet at 8:00 on a Thursday night i ...

Dined on August 20, 2015

VERY quiet at 8:00 on a Thursday night in late August. Too quiet. Only one other table filled. A bit run down. Food OK. No calabash style seafood. Not sure if that's a good or a bad thing.

food5
ambience3
service3

Great place, experience was just "good"

Dined on August 13, 2015

Dinner for a party of 7 on a Thursday night for a work event for my husband, and 3 of his sales executives & 2 other spouses. Here's the deal: this place was awesome, the food (selection & taste) was great, the service was great..... The only drawback is that we attempted to have a business dinner (an award dinner) in a resort location - and that just didn't work. The ambiance of the place was very nice but casual - our party was clearly the most dressed (business casual) but unfortunately that did not seem to resonate with our server. For example, while my husband was attempting to make a toast for the honoree, our waitress would just interrupt with a "is everything ok?"... I mean, at one point we had our glasses raised for a toast & she still hovered - which I found odd. I get that you may not have a lot of business dinners @ a beach restaurant but .............. There were 2+ mix-ups with orders (there were only 7 of us) and the person that appeared to be the manager on the floor was quick to apologize and offer to remove those items from the ticket. Again, when this is a business dinner, having an entree removed from the bill is not a big deal. Get it right in the first place or bring additional wine or something like that................... I think if you are on vacation or date night or just a regular Thursday night dinner this place is PERFECT. The menu changes daily & the selection was varied. Our waitress was very knowledgeable of each entree (which could be a chore since things are always different). I will definitely go here if I'm in the area again, but would not select it or suggest it for business.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5

Finally a great meal at the beach

Dined on August 12, 2015

Deserved of all accolades. Chef Brent's kitchen prepared us a meal that was both delicious and beautifully presented. Loved the chalkboard menu. They graciously accommodated my dietary restrictions without compromising quality. We will return

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

22 North is an excellent restaurant and ...

Dined on August 12, 2015

22 North is an excellent restaurant and my dinner companions and I had a truly exceptional experience. The food was amazing, I really enjoyed how the menu changes based on product availability and how the chef makes pretty much everything day of! I ate dinner with two other companions and all three of us considered it to be a stellar meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best

Dined on August 2, 2015

Since 2012, my first time coming here, this has been the restaurant to measure all others against for me. The quality of the food, the taste of the dishes, and the clear passion to produce an excellent product make sure that I will return if I am fortunate enough to be in the area; we generally try to get here once a year for a vacation week. In my opinion, this is a food lover's mini-paradise. This most recent time, the wife and I enjoyed the pork cheek and grits starter, duck confit and mahi mahi for the main, and the chess pie (with cocnut) for dessert. The kitchen does an excellent job under Chef Brent's leadership and creativity! Cheers to the entire team!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

AMAZING!

Dined on August 1, 2015

From cocktails to dessert-every sip and bite beyond delicious. Best scallops ever. Red fish, grouper and shrimp and grits all divine. The sides that came with the entrees were the freshest vegetables available. Blueberry goat cheese salad, crab cakes and the bread basket with homemade jam excellent appetizers. Key lime pie and brownie desserts perfect endings. Three of us traded plates to savor it all. We ate here two of four nights and next time will make it every night because the menu changes daily. The atmosphere isn't flashy but the meal so amazing I will call it understated elegance. The staff was knowledgeable, pleasant and efficient. The prices were very fair for the unbelievable quality and presentation. Superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

excellent food

Dined on July 28, 2015

We have visited wrightsville beach several times. 22 North was the best restaurant that we have found. We like that even though the menu is small, everything on it is done very well. The food is fresh and local, quality and flavors way above your aveage beach seafood restaurant. The portions were an appropriate size, not too small or so big you have to get a take out container. We will make this a regular spot when we come back to the beach next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

A Wrightsville Beach Gem

Dined on July 17, 2015

We found 22 North on our very last night in Wrightsville Beach. The menu is just large enough to fit on portable blackboards, but what it lacks in size, it more than makes up in flavor! The crab cake appetizer was amazing, and it just got better from there... For our main course, we had the excellent Blueberry Goat Cheeae Salad, the awesome Shrimp and Grits (best grits we ever had!) and the flavor-filled Grouper. We saved just enough room for their incredible Peanut Butter Pie. The menu is fresh, local, and organic whenever possible. Our only regret is not finding this gem of a restaurant earlier on in our vacation...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3

This restaurant is just ok. We enjoyed t ...

Dined on July 4, 2015

This restaurant is just ok. We enjoyed the scallop appetizer and the soup. The crab cake entree was quite mediocre. We didn't have dessert but they looked delicious. Our server was good and accommodating but the place looks likes pool hall.

food3
ambience2
service2

The service spoiled everything.

Dined on June 16, 2015

The waitress didn't know very much about the menu. Gave us the menu on a chalkboard, but never took our drink order until we specifically asked and then took a long time to deliver the drinks. What's with the BLACK carrots?? Food was way over priced though it was pretty tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5

romantic experience with awesome food!

Dined on June 16, 2015

My wife and I had a romantic experience with awesome food. I will always hold 22 North fondly in my heart, and consider eating there again everytime we visit Wrightsville Beach!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good things come in small packages!

vip
Dined on June 9, 2015

Intimate dining in a fun, casual bar setting. Fabulous food -all from the blackboard specials. Great service -an excellent value! Nice wine list with thoughtful choices. We will be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4

Too rich for me

Dined on May 24, 2015

The menu changes daily and the items are creative in inference to pairing, which are definitely a pluses. For me the shrimp and grits were very very rich in flavor in every part of the dish (creamy grits had bits of ham or sausage, the sauce is rich and the shrimp was well seasoned), which was over the top for my palette. Also, there was no option for a simple side salad (the salad offered was very flavorful as well), when I asked for a simple salad the waitress looked ourselves and rotate r what was offered on the menu. The bread also was not good for parking w such a rich meal; I wanted a plain dinner roll to give me tastebuds a break-there's no such thing here (at least the night we had dinner. There's something to be said for simplicity and its lost not here. My significant other ordered the scallops, which were lightly breaded and fried(again no need to dry them esp w this dish), and it came w succotash and rice (I think jasmine); wonderful pairing, less the frying of th scallops. He really enjoyed the succotash and rice combo and the scallops were obviously really fresh and delish once he got around the fried breading. With all of that said, the desserts looked relish, I'd go back for dessert only.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.