About 22 North

22 N Lumina Ave
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
View Larger Map

Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Birmingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 509-0177

Website:
http://www.22north.net/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot adjacent to our building for convenient parking as well as metered parking along Lumina Avenue. The public parking lot is located on the beach side of Banks channel bridge approximately 25 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Brent Poteat

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Strawberry Grand Marnier Tart
  • Bacon Wrapped Grouper
  • egg rolls
  • Scallops En Croute
  • Stuffed Portabello
  • Manhattan Clam Chowder
  • Skirt Streak topped With Bleu Cheese Butter
  • NC White Shrimp With Creole Sauce Over Grits
  • Baked Oysters
Chocolate Strawberry Grand Marnier Tart
Bacon Wrapped Grouper
egg rolls
Scallops En Croute
Stuffed Portabello
Manhattan Clam Chowder
Skirt Streak topped With Bleu Cheese Butter
NC White Shrimp With Creole Sauce Over Grits
Baked Oysters

22 North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

3.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wrightsville Beach ›

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (13)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Notable Wine List (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Romantic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We felt that this restaurant was over-ra ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We felt that this restaurant was over-rated. The food (3 of the 4 of us had the shrimp and grits) was good, but not great. This is the first restaurant I have been to that charged extra for bread and the bread offerings were just 'OK'. The soup two of us had was probably the highlight of the meal. The service was very good, but overall, the value was just not there. We ate at a much better restaurant (Cape Fear Seafood Company) the night before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Shrimp and grits...omg..don't miss that!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Shrimp and grits...omg..don't miss that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This meal was fantastic! We were a littl ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This meal was fantastic! We were a little cautious after reading some negative reviews but everything was fresh, delicious and creative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This is a great restaurant on Wrightsvil ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a great restaurant on Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina. We will definitely go back for another celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife's family beach vacation is usual ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My wife's family beach vacation is usually close to our anniversary. 22 North has become our go-to spot to celebrate. We have enjoyed all our meals here. We like not having a fixed menu and getting to discover what's on the chalkboard menu.

I usually make a reservation for opening time. Once ingredients for a dish are sold out, that item gets removed from the menu. My choice this time was blackened red-fish. The next three tables after us also made at least one order of that dish; it probably sold out.

One guest at another table informed the waitress he was vegetarian. Shortly after that, the chef came out, pulled up a chair, and started discussing options. Nice personal touch.

The only "problem" is making an entrée selection. I usually find 3 or 4 that are enticing; picking one means missing something from the others. At our last visit, there were duck breast and pork tenderloin offerings that I would have enjoyed trying, but, I've made it a personal rule to stick with seafood while at the beach. Even with that limit, it takes me some time to decide.

A meal @ 22 North is one of the highlights of our vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

22 North is our favorite restaurant sout ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

22 North is our favorite restaurant south of the Mason-Dixon line, and we have eaten at many restaurants in many different cities and states. The food has the best flavor, the menu changes daily, and the prices are extremely reasonable for the quality of the food. We have eaten there five or six times and we have never ordered anything that was not exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The calamari gazpacho and shrimp and gri ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The calamari gazpacho and shrimp and grits were super delicious! The restaurant is a little dark and the appearance is a bit dated, but the food and service more than made up for that. Word of warning: the menu changes, so what you see online won't be what your options are when you dine there, other than the shrimp and grits. This was not a negative in our view, and we were prepared for that, based on reviews we read beforehand. I definitely recommend a visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Interesting menu with lots of local food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Interesting menu with lots of local food. The hanger steak was outstanding! The pork chop was thick, but fatty and tough. It was very loud in the main dining room but mostly because of some noisy kids at one table. Service was great! Our waitress was very attentive and personable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Only had a few options (maybe 8) on the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Only had a few options (maybe 8) on the menu. Almost every dish was served with Jasmine rice. Rice is cheap, and for the prices $25-$35, I expected better sides. The restaurant was dark. Not a lot of atmosphere. We ate in Wrightsville beach 4 nights, and this was bottom of the list for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

We went back for round 2 as our last din ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We went back for round 2 as our last dinner of vacation as this is our favorite spot, hands down. Dinners we have there are always amazing and have never disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Smaller restaurant & smaller menu but, e ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Smaller restaurant & smaller menu but, extremely well done for the items presented. The owner was very accommodating to any request and again, the food was brilliant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

In the last few years we have had the op ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

In the last few years we have had the opportunity to come and visit wrightsville beach for a week of vacation, this is our #1 restaurant. We always look forward to it and chef and his team never disappoint! Menu is changing constantly but the quality never suffers. It's one of the few places you get an app, main course, and a dessert because everything is that good (regardless of how much extra walking, running, or swimming you have to do to make up for it).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food but had to wait for it to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious food but had to wait for it too long. The service and friendliness of our waitress was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Found and service excellent as usual. Th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Found and service excellent as usual. The most creative low country you'll come across. Feel free to experiment -- they never miss. Everything is fresh. You can taste/feel the care and dedication that goes into every bite and into the service. A great meal is a sure thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We both had the Shrimp and Grits and it ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We both had the Shrimp and Grits and it was excellent. We've eaten here before and the food is always delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Not a pleasant experience on the ears or ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Not a pleasant experience on the ears or wallet. It is very, very loud in the dining room. It was dark when we arrived and they turned down the lights yet again 2x making the "menu" chalkboards impossible to read. Menu changed 2x while were were there. Chicken turned to Duck, Steak turned to NY Strip (after we ordered). Certainly not a $$ price-point as Yelp and others describe. They charge for bread ($3 for 5 random pieces, some were small muffins), every cup of coffee costs ($2.50 per cup, no refills), and food portions are very small. A $25 "steak" is actually 5 tiny pieces pre-cut with maybe a half-scoop of potatoes. $35 for lobster mac & cheese...in a big dish but with no depth...perhaps one mac noodle deep. The food tasted fine but it took over 45 minutes to get. Not a good place for kids ($7 for a hot dog and no milk). $42 for the same wine you can get at the store for $14. The whole place is overpriced, slow, dark and noisy. Never again. We left still hungry with our heads and wallet hurting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

The menu was all specials - changed dail ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The menu was all specials - changed daily apparently - and our food was excellent. It happened to be a holiday weekend so the beach was busy. While the kitchen was slow, our waitress did an admirable job handling a table of 12. The interior is typical beach - a little rough and dated - but nice enough. Our food was very good and we enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and service was fabulous but th ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food and service was fabulous but the decor, ambiance, etc was not in comparison to the food and $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

When our family vacations at Wrightsvill ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

When our family vacations at Wrightsville Beach, we always dine at 22 North! It is without question our favorite restaurant. We know we are getting the freshest food the island has to offer because the menu changes daily. That alone speaks for the Chef's talent! The creative dishes are for young and old who enjoy unique low county cuisine that can't be found here in Indiana. Thanks again for the great food and service! See you next Summer!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All of the food was excellent! We were ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

All of the food was excellent! We were able to meet the Executive Chef and he talked to us about the various items on the menu and how they were prepared. It was a wonderful experience that I recommend 22 North to any foodie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The items listed on the menu on OpenTabl ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The items listed on the menu on OpenTable were not offered or available. They only offered 5 entrees that were presented to us on a chalk board positioned in front of our table. Feel like we had the bait and switch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Food was superb, service just right.

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was superb, service just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We have been to this restaurant in the p ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We have been to this restaurant in the past and have been fairly pleased. This experience was not so great. The service was very slow and not so pleasant. My husband ordered the NY strip which was cooked to order but not very flavorful. I ordered stuffed shrimp and found them to be very spicy. Vegetables were good. I don't recall ever being to a restaurant where you have to order and pay for a bread basket! My daughter, who is gluten free ordered a special meal, which the chef prepared with sauteed shrimp and veggies which she enjoyed. The restaurant is in serious need of a good cleaning and redecorating. The serve the awful sulfur smelling beach water which could be resolved simply by filtering the water as the restaurant across the street does! Of course this is the perfect opportunity to sell you bottled water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

The food was wonderful. Would recommend ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was wonderful. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love that their menu is on a chalkboar ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I love that their menu is on a chalkboard because of the daily change of fresh catches. They whipped up a vegetarian dish for my son that was not on the menu and he loved it.My new favorite when visiting Wilmington!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good at the Beach

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Conveniently located in Wrightsville Beach. Parking could be problem but not the night we were there. Menu on chalk board and diversified selections. My wife had mani mani and it was great, I had scollops and they were OK. Recommend for all you beach visitors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

22North

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Doesn't seem notable from the outside, but the food more than made up for that.

Gazpacho was refreshing; she-crab soup had loads of crab and egg. Chicken confit and Mahi were wonderful, loved the sides that accompanied. Happily surprised desserts were made in-house!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was very tasty. All of us enjoyed ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food was very tasty. All of us enjoyed our entrees. But the restaurant was deserted, decor poor and lighting really unappealing. It's a shame because the chef is doing a good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Great Restaurant

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

The food and dining experience was excellent. I recommend this restaurant to anyone in the

Wrightsville Beach / Wilmington area. #1 place around.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food can be a bit on the pricey side ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food can be a bit on the pricey side, but its totally worth if for fresh seafood. The menu also varies because they only prep meals for meats they can get fresh that day. So don't expect to get the same thing every visit. Our server was pretty "hands off". She wasn't constantly at the table, she gave us our space to enjoy the meal. Food was great, and it came out rather quickly (we came right when they opened for dinner).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Disappointed

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Always use tripadvisor to pick local restaurants for a good meal and usually happy with the choice. Unfortunately it must have been a really bad night for the chef. My husband NEVER complains about a meal but his meal consisted of over cooked and over priced scallops wrapped in bacon with old rice. I had the fried crawfish legs which were salty and tasted like fried batter. I would not recommend 22 North for anyone who enjoys well prepared fresh seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Food was very good and creative, with nice wines.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Mixed views. Food and drink choices were good and the preparation and presentation was great; however the amiabne is tired and not up to the quality coming from the kitchen. Wait staff and general management was friendly and knowledgeable. Only the decor, including rest rooms, and lack of significant separation from the bar area, detract from an otherwise very nice restaurant in downtown Wrightsville Beach, NC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Best food ever, Great Chef

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here. This is by far the best food my wife and I have ever eaten. I can't say enough about the quality of the entire experience dinning here at 22 North. Our server Jessica was terrific from the start. She was very friendly and helpful. She answered all the questions we had and took great care of us. We started with Shrimp and Grits as our appetizer and it was incredible. The best Shrimp and Grits we had ever had. Brent Poteat the chef came and checked to see how we liked the appetizer. Talk about first rate service.

The entire meal was outstanding and Brent came to check on us during our two hours there. Yes we ate for two hours. He is a great Chef and a terrific host. You can tell he takes a lot of pride preparing your food. M y wife was ready to take him home with us. We ended the night with a picture with Brent to remember our night. We will definitely be returning. I recommend anyone looking for great food to visit here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday Dinner

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

A friend wanted to take me out to dinner for my birthday and we decided to go somewhere we hadn't been before, so we chose 22 North. The menu there changes frequently and it is written on large chalkboards. There was an excellent selection and we both chose the Shrimp and Grits, which was excellent, and we ordered a bread basket. The jam they serve with the bread was really good. We also had dessert, key lime pie and their bread pudding with ice cream. Our server Skylar was very attentive and polite. The prices were reasonable for a restaurant in a tourist area. I would recommend 22 North to anyone living or visiting the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Creative Seafood

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The menu changes nightly, but, it's all good! We tried a variety of items and found all of them quite good. The tiny spinach salad that came with a lamb appetizer was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food and service. Will definitel ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Awesome food and service. Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The chef was very friendly and the menu changes daily. The staff was friendly. Very enjoyable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for valentines day. Made reservatio ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Went for valentines day. Made reservations and it was pretty empty. Not many tables filled and a couple of people were told there was a 30 minute wait on a table or they can sit at the bar. Thought that was a little strange but regardless Food was good. Scallops were overcooked but overall it was good and fresh..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great spot!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great experience...very local and excellent, fresh seafood on a menu that changes daily. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Meals were really good and served nice a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Meals were really good and served nice and hot on this chilly night. Scallops were great. Service was good. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.