About 22 North

Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!

22 N Lumina Ave
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Birmingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 509-0177

Website:
http://www.22north.net/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot adjacent to our building for convenient parking as well as metered parking along Lumina Avenue. The public parking lot is located on the beach side of Banks channel bridge approximately 25 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Brent Poteat

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

22 North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

3.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Casual (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Romantic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Waterfront (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Wilmington area. Never disappoints. Two of us had the oyster salad and the oysters were some of the best I've ever tasted. Large, delicately breaded and perfectly cooked. Oh, I wish I could have them again tonight. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Farm to table - appetizers are always unique and tasty

4-5 fresh seafood dishes on the menus along with a great ribeye, duck and chicken dish.

Desserts are always great - I think they are made in house.
Very casual three star menu

This is my third time back - we came here last year - end of college season and it was a bit loud but goes with the territory near a college town; tonight was great environment.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We ended up at 22 North when we were unable to get a table at another local spot. So so glad we did. The ambiance is very low key but the food is the real star. They have no set menu and use a chalkboard to write the day's local fare. Everything is fresh and local, sort of farm to table or in the case of the fish "ocean to table". You can't go wrong here. It is a new FAVORITE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Interesting blackboard fresh menu brought tableside. However it requires a verbal explanation of how each entree is prepared & what comes with it, etc... Not my favorite way to figure out my choice. I chose the porterhouse pork chop which was terribly overcooked & nearly impossible to cut thru. I struggled but didn't want to create a scene by sending it back. Had I not read previous positive reviews the outside look of this place would have been enough to have stopped me from going in. Interesting concept & clearly gets favorable reviews... But my experience wasn't good enough to have me return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service was exceptional! Will definitely dine there again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food is creative and delicious, as good as any fine restaurant in a big city.
The decor needs a total overhaul. The owners should immediately hang shades or drapes between the bar area and the restaurant. Don't seat customers in the booth in front of the open catchall room. Close off this room. Again, I would return for the food--and wear sunglasses.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Found the restaurant on Yelp. In the area visiting family. It was WAY more than we expected! The food was GRRAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a late dinner (8 p.m.) and 22 North was quiet. Had burgers and pork sandwiches which were good. Green fried tomatoes were great. Service was good. Out of Coors Lite which was a disappointment to our guest. Disliked the dark underground feel of the restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food. I was a little surprised by the small chalkboard menu selections. The food quality was excellent. If you are not picky and can do with a small list of choices, this is a great spot to check out.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Enjoyed our meal. Food was delicious and got our table right away

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The higher end of beach life....and welcomed! Interesting wine list & well done individual meals. And the bar in the back is enjoyable for less formal but, higher quality food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The food was unreal! I've had many great meals in my lifetime but this place is incredible; the flavors were unbelievable. I'd recommend this restaurant to everyone who likes great food. It's unassuming on the outside and in but truly the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Restaurant was good. Disappointed with open table because when I check out menu on Web site it was completely different than advertised.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This restaurant is highly overrated. The menu is overly priced with a limited selection that could even remotely be considered palatable. The prices are exorbitantly expensive for the mere toddler sized portions that are served.

I would not recommend going to this restaurant unless you are not hungry and want to spend a ridiculous amount of money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food , awesome staff. Will be back to try more dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My husband & I were in town for my brother's wedding for a week. It just happened to also be our 7th/18th Anniversary & Valentine's day as well. We were able to make reservations last minute & the food, atmosphere, & service were absolutely Amazing!!! Would recommend & will definitely be back!! The menu changes daily & everything is very fresh & locally caught.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

NY strip steak was cooked perfectly and mashed potatoes were delicious. Staff was friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu which changes daily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our first visit. Friendly greeting upon entering. Fun to read the menu off a chalkboard easel. Menu changes daily with what fresh ingredients are available to the chef. The yummy lobster and corn bisque (really a chowder) had generous pieces of lobster and a little kick of hot spiciness. Three generously-sized, homemade biscuits subtly flavored with rosemary came out nice and warm. My scallops wrapped in bacon were served 3 each on two skewers and were delish, as was my husband's duck. All arrived to the table hot and fast! Attentive wait staff.

Wine menu isn't as extensive as we'd like but we had a great bottle of Carne Humana, a Napa Valley red. We skipped dessert but the offerings included bread pudding, key lime pie, chocolate cheesecake and a few others. All looked appealing. We were just full.

Our tummies went home very happy --- now for the big but-- BUT not sure we would return, even though we would suggest that others try it. The ambience was a disappointment. The restaurant itself doesn't match the classy image portrayed by the website nor the quality of the food. Somewhat dark inside. Smelled of stale beer the minute we walked in. Carpeting on the floor probably doesn't help with that. Nor the large bar area at the back. Have to assume that the place is hopping in the summer, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I ordered the pork chop with mushroom ragout and feta. I didn't see any mushrooms or feta. Instead it was smothered in a yellow spicy hot mustard sauce. It was so spicy I couldn't eat it. Not at all what I expected. And it was served over mushy over cooked carrots and collards. I was very disappointed in the food. Very pricy. There were no prices on the menu and our dinner for 2 was over $120. I wouldn't have minded if it was good. Also had to ask them to turn the music down. "Born to be wild" was blaring in the dining room. It felt like a bar. Must say our waitress was very attentive and provided great service. Courtney I believe was her name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday - husbands 52nd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our first time - we came away pleasantly impressed! While not busy, it wasn't deserted ... to be expected in the winter months. Ambiance was a little lacking, but OK. Service was good, knowledgable and attentive enough without being overbearing. A good wine selection and plenty of dining options on the chalkboard menu. We started with the shrimp martini, the cocktail sauce is unique and highly recommended. For entrees we chose the tuna and shrimp and grits ... both well prepared and presented. An interesting find on Wrightsville Beach - we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was delicious. We loved the rib appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the chef was amazing and the waiter was very attentive. The food was out of this world! The Shrimp and Grits were my favorite!

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Turner out to be a quiet winter evening with an excellent bottle of wine and enjoying truly fabulous food. Of special note were the curried scallops delicately seasoned and dressed with vegetables just cooked right. 22 North is a true gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great fresh local food constantly changing menus great value beach atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

There was only one dish without meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Went with a small plate tasting. Very good and a nice variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is one of those hidden gems. Chalkboard menu that changes daily, but a couple staples that stay on the menu. Food was perfectly prepared and the server was knowledgeable and helpful. We love coming here in the off-season as locals and leave it to the visitors for the summer months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Waitress was not attentive. Food was good but a little salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was good, as always, but it was a very slow night for the kitchen and servers. Not sure what was going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a terrible experience at 22 North. We arrived and the service was horrible
every dish they offer was spicy.
The kitchen apprearance was horrible not clean

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were spending the Labor Day weekend in wrightsville Beach and, much to our delight, 22 North was less than a block from our lodging. We had a wonderful dinner there and will return on our next visit to Wrightsville Beach, or even if we are in nearby Wilmington. Wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great touch with the menu on a portable chalkboard/easel. Friendly and attentive servers. Food was excellent - shrimp and grits and a lobster pasta dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance! Local menu that changes every day. Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was perfect while we limited ourselves to splitting 3 appetizers - they were amazing. The nit we were there they had a very limited chalkboard menu. I saw some of the entrees that came out of the kitchen and they also looked amazing.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Menu for day shown on blackboard due to being fresh seasonal selections. Limited menu but food was freshly prepared (we had scallops) and delicious. Service was attentive. Just a block from the beach.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was excellent though the kitchen was slow. Too bad this restaurant wasn't on the ocean with a good view. The decor is a little dark.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We felt that this restaurant was over-rated. The food (3 of the 4 of us had the shrimp and grits) was good, but not great. This is the first restaurant I have been to that charged extra for bread and the bread offerings were just 'OK'. The soup two of us had was probably the highlight of the meal. The service was very good, but overall, the value was just not there. We ate at a much better restaurant (Cape Fear Seafood Company) the night before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Shrimp and grits...omg..don't miss that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat on date night! Everything has always been delicious! Our favorite is the shrimp and Grits, best I have had, the bread basket, and omg that peanut butter pie is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.