About 22 North

22 N Lumina Ave
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480
View Larger Map

Located on historic Wrightsville Beach, 22 North has earned a reputation by visitors and locals alike as "the best kept secret on the beach." Embodying the best of traditional Lower Cape Fear cuisine with classic French and rustic Creole fare, we take pride in providing our guests with the most unique and eclectic Southern comfort food in the Wilmington area. Taking full advantage of the naturally abundant resources Cape Fear is blessed with, our menu changes virtually every day. You're sure to find local favorites along with bold, exciting, and fresh new creations! House specialties like our award-winning silky She-Crab soup, grilled Skirt Steak or our famous Shrimp n'Grits are featured along with more innovative fare such as Sweet Potato Crusted Grouper, Buttermilk fried Alligator and country ham Blue Crab Cakes. And of course our wonderful homemade desserts such as Key Lime Pie and Caramel Bread Pudding are pure delight. We invite you to come on in and make yourself at home!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Birmingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 509-0177

Website:
http://www.22north.net/

Parking Details:
We have a private lot adjacent to our building for convenient parking as well as metered parking along Lumina Avenue. The public parking lot is located on the beach side of Banks channel bridge approximately 25 yards away.

Executive Chef:
Brent Poteat

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

22 North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Cozy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Business Meals (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food , awesome staff. Will be back ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined a day ago

Great food , awesome staff. Will be back to try more dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband & I were in town for my broth ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband & I were in town for my brother's wedding for a week. It just happened to also be our 7th/18th Anniversary & Valentine's day as well. We were able to make reservations last minute & the food, atmosphere, & service were absolutely Amazing!!! Would recommend & will definitely be back!! The menu changes daily & everything is very fresh & locally caught.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Romantic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, , Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NY strip steak was cooked perfectly and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

NY strip steak was cooked perfectly and mashed potatoes were delicious. Staff was friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu which changes daily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our first visit. Friendly greeting upon ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Our first visit. Friendly greeting upon entering. Fun to read the menu off a chalkboard easel. Menu changes daily with what fresh ingredients are available to the chef. The yummy lobster and corn bisque (really a chowder) had generous pieces of lobster and a little kick of hot spiciness. Three generously-sized, homemade biscuits subtly flavored with rosemary came out nice and warm. My scallops wrapped in bacon were served 3 each on two skewers and were delish, as was my husband's duck. All arrived to the table hot and fast! Attentive wait staff.

Wine menu isn't as extensive as we'd like but we had a great bottle of Carne Humana, a Napa Valley red. We skipped dessert but the offerings included bread pudding, key lime pie, chocolate cheesecake and a few others. All looked appealing. We were just full.

Our tummies went home very happy --- now for the big but-- BUT not sure we would return, even though we would suggest that others try it. The ambience was a disappointment. The restaurant itself doesn't match the classy image portrayed by the website nor the quality of the food. Somewhat dark inside. Smelled of stale beer the minute we walked in. Carpeting on the floor probably doesn't help with that. Nor the large bar area at the back. Have to assume that the place is hopping in the summer, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

I ordered the pork chop with mushroom ra ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

I ordered the pork chop with mushroom ragout and feta. I didn't see any mushrooms or feta. Instead it was smothered in a yellow spicy hot mustard sauce. It was so spicy I couldn't eat it. Not at all what I expected. And it was served over mushy over cooked carrots and collards. I was very disappointed in the food. Very pricy. There were no prices on the menu and our dinner for 2 was over $120. I wouldn't have minded if it was good. Also had to ask them to turn the music down. "Born to be wild" was blaring in the dining room. It felt like a bar. Must say our waitress was very attentive and provided great service. Courtney I believe was her name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Birthday - husbands 52nd

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday - husbands 52nd

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time - we came away pleasantly ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our first time - we came away pleasantly impressed! While not busy, it wasn't deserted ... to be expected in the winter months. Ambiance was a little lacking, but OK. Service was good, knowledgable and attentive enough without being overbearing. A good wine selection and plenty of dining options on the chalkboard menu. We started with the shrimp martini, the cocktail sauce is unique and highly recommended. For entrees we chose the tuna and shrimp and grits ... both well prepared and presented. An interesting find on Wrightsville Beach - we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was delicious. We loved the rib app ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was delicious. We loved the rib appetizer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the chef was amazing and the waiter was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the chef was amazing and the waiter was very attentive. The food was out of this world! The Shrimp and Grits were my favorite!

Tags: Business Meals, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, , Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Turner out to be a quiet winter evening ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Turner out to be a quiet winter evening with an excellent bottle of wine and enjoying truly fabulous food. Of special note were the curried scallops delicately seasoned and dressed with vegetables just cooked right. 22 North is a true gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great fresh local food constantly changi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great fresh local food constantly changing menus great value beach atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

There was only one dish without meat.

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

There was only one dish without meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Went with a small plate tasting. Very g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Went with a small plate tasting. Very good and a nice variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This is one of those hidden gems. Chalk ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This is one of those hidden gems. Chalkboard menu that changes daily, but a couple staples that stay on the menu. Food was perfectly prepared and the server was knowledgeable and helpful. We love coming here in the off-season as locals and leave it to the visitors for the summer months.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was not attentive. Food was goo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Waitress was not attentive. Food was good but a little salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was good, as always, but it was ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was good, as always, but it was a very slow night for the kitchen and servers. Not sure what was going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We had a terrible experience at 22 North ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a terrible experience at 22 North. We arrived and the service was horrible

every dish they offer was spicy.

The kitchen apprearance was horrible not clean

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We were spending the Labor Day weekend i ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were spending the Labor Day weekend in wrightsville Beach and, much to our delight, 22 North was less than a block from our lodging. We had a wonderful dinner there and will return on our next visit to Wrightsville Beach, or even if we are in nearby Wilmington. Wonderful restaurant!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, , Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great touch with the menu on a portable ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great touch with the menu on a portable chalkboard/easel. Friendly and attentive servers. Food was excellent - shrimp and grits and a lobster pasta dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and ambiance! Local menu ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance! Local menu that changes every day. Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was perfect while we limited ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was perfect while we limited ourselves to splitting 3 appetizers - they were amazing. The nit we were there they had a very limited chalkboard menu. I saw some of the entrees that came out of the kitchen and they also looked amazing.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Menu for day shown on blackboard due to ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Menu for day shown on blackboard due to being fresh seasonal selections. Limited menu but food was freshly prepared (we had scallops) and delicious. Service was attentive. Just a block from the beach.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was excellent though the kitche ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was excellent though the kitchen was slow. Too bad this restaurant wasn't on the ocean with a good view. The decor is a little dark.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

We felt that this restaurant was over-ra ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We felt that this restaurant was over-rated. The food (3 of the 4 of us had the shrimp and grits) was good, but not great. This is the first restaurant I have been to that charged extra for bread and the bread offerings were just 'OK'. The soup two of us had was probably the highlight of the meal. The service was very good, but overall, the value was just not there. We ate at a much better restaurant (Cape Fear Seafood Company) the night before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Shrimp and grits...omg..don't miss that!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Shrimp and grits...omg..don't miss that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places to eat on dat ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 14, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat on date night! Everything has always been delicious! Our favorite is the shrimp and Grits, best I have had, the bread basket, and omg that peanut butter pie is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This meal was fantastic! We were a littl ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This meal was fantastic! We were a little cautious after reading some negative reviews but everything was fresh, delicious and creative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This is a great restaurant on Wrightsvil ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a great restaurant on Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina. We will definitely go back for another celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife's family beach vacation is usual ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 11, 2016

My wife's family beach vacation is usually close to our anniversary. 22 North has become our go-to spot to celebrate. We have enjoyed all our meals here. We like not having a fixed menu and getting to discover what's on the chalkboard menu.

I usually make a reservation for opening time. Once ingredients for a dish are sold out, that item gets removed from the menu. My choice this time was blackened red-fish. The next three tables after us also made at least one order of that dish; it probably sold out.

One guest at another table informed the waitress he was vegetarian. Shortly after that, the chef came out, pulled up a chair, and started discussing options. Nice personal touch.

The only "problem" is making an entrée selection. I usually find 3 or 4 that are enticing; picking one means missing something from the others. At our last visit, there were duck breast and pork tenderloin offerings that I would have enjoyed trying, but, I've made it a personal rule to stick with seafood while at the beach. Even with that limit, it takes me some time to decide.

A meal @ 22 North is one of the highlights of our vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

22 North is our favorite restaurant sout ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 10, 2016

22 North is our favorite restaurant south of the Mason-Dixon line, and we have eaten at many restaurants in many different cities and states. The food has the best flavor, the menu changes daily, and the prices are extremely reasonable for the quality of the food. We have eaten there five or six times and we have never ordered anything that was not exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The calamari gazpacho and shrimp and gri ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The calamari gazpacho and shrimp and grits were super delicious! The restaurant is a little dark and the appearance is a bit dated, but the food and service more than made up for that. Word of warning: the menu changes, so what you see online won't be what your options are when you dine there, other than the shrimp and grits. This was not a negative in our view, and we were prepared for that, based on reviews we read beforehand. I definitely recommend a visit to this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Interesting menu with lots of local food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Interesting menu with lots of local food. The hanger steak was outstanding! The pork chop was thick, but fatty and tough. It was very loud in the main dining room but mostly because of some noisy kids at one table. Service was great! Our waitress was very attentive and personable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Only had a few options (maybe 8) on the ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Only had a few options (maybe 8) on the menu. Almost every dish was served with Jasmine rice. Rice is cheap, and for the prices $25-$35, I expected better sides. The restaurant was dark. Not a lot of atmosphere. We ate in Wrightsville beach 4 nights, and this was bottom of the list for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

We went back for round 2 as our last din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We went back for round 2 as our last dinner of vacation as this is our favorite spot, hands down. Dinners we have there are always amazing and have never disappointed.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Smaller restaurant & smaller menu but, e ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Smaller restaurant & smaller menu but, extremely well done for the items presented. The owner was very accommodating to any request and again, the food was brilliant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

In the last few years we have had the op ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2016

In the last few years we have had the opportunity to come and visit wrightsville beach for a week of vacation, this is our #1 restaurant. We always look forward to it and chef and his team never disappoint! Menu is changing constantly but the quality never suffers. It's one of the few places you get an app, main course, and a dessert because everything is that good (regardless of how much extra walking, running, or swimming you have to do to make up for it).

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food but had to wait for it to ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious food but had to wait for it too long. The service and friendliness of our waitress was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Found and service excellent as usual. Th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Found and service excellent as usual. The most creative low country you'll come across. Feel free to experiment -- they never miss. Everything is fresh. You can taste/feel the care and dedication that goes into every bite and into the service. A great meal is a sure thing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We both had the Shrimp and Grits and it ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We both had the Shrimp and Grits and it was excellent. We've eaten here before and the food is always delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Not a pleasant experience on the ears or ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Not a pleasant experience on the ears or wallet. It is very, very loud in the dining room. It was dark when we arrived and they turned down the lights yet again 2x making the "menu" chalkboards impossible to read. Menu changed 2x while were were there. Chicken turned to Duck, Steak turned to NY Strip (after we ordered). Certainly not a $$ price-point as Yelp and others describe. They charge for bread ($3 for 5 random pieces, some were small muffins), every cup of coffee costs ($2.50 per cup, no refills), and food portions are very small. A $25 "steak" is actually 5 tiny pieces pre-cut with maybe a half-scoop of potatoes. $35 for lobster mac & cheese...in a big dish but with no depth...perhaps one mac noodle deep. The food tasted fine but it took over 45 minutes to get. Not a good place for kids ($7 for a hot dog and no milk). $42 for the same wine you can get at the store for $14. The whole place is overpriced, slow, dark and noisy. Never again. We left still hungry with our heads and wallet hurting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.