About 211 Clover Lane Restaurant

211 Clover Lane is an intimate, hidden gem in the heart of St. Matthews. Using the finest ingredients from local purveyors & fish from both coasts. The menu changes weekly & the wine selections are all boutique. French country decor & beautifully presented dishes are found at 211 Clover Lane.

211 Clover Lane
Louisville, KY 40207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am – 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Westport

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 896-9570

Website:
http://www.211cloverlane.com/

Parking Details:
A large private lot is adjacent to 211 Clover Lane.

Executive Chef:
Troy Schuster

Private Party Facilities:
211 Clover Lane offers semi-private space that can accommodate 15 to 20 guests.

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

211 Clover Lane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Cozy (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fun (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Always god, dependable, good service and reasonable value.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My husband & I were celebrating our 48 yr Anniversary. Made reservation 2 wks ago on Open Table. We arrived about 15 min early. We were seated @ the worst spot in the restaurant, very small table next to a wall! My fillet was rare instead of medium, my husband's meal was very salty. Katie was the best part of the experience! She didn't charge us for his meal. We were really disappointed! We like the restaurant, but this was the second time, celebrating an anniversary, that things went awry!!! Lunch time has been a better experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The food was incredible and the service was fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Louisville! Beautiful, relaxing atmosphere, wonderful wine list and the food is so delicious and extremely consistent!!!! The service is also fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Lovely lunch! We were greeted promptly and seated quickly with a lovely window view. We tried the chicken salad and trout. Both were really good. This is a really lovely spot to meet friends. Service is very good and the food is excellent. This is worth your time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Server Jesse was AWESOME! She was friendly, accommodating and exceeded our expectations. She is who made our visit worthwhile.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

As always, Andrew's hospitality is unmatched. Exceptional menu for varying tastes and impeccable service continue to make 211 Clover Lane a gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Lunch
My lunch Chicken dry
Salad soggy with dressing

Grilled cheese a heart attack of grease my 10 y/o
Sent it back

Replaced by fishy shrimp salad confirmed by me .. I would have sent it back but it was the second try.

My elderly mom are her trout without complaint

Peach dessert I got the bite with the pit .. Thank God I was now eating with caution

The service went something like may we have more water ? Our glasses were empty for quite a awhile .. May I have more coffee .. Long gone cold .. Do you serve bread ?

To another server .. Can we get the check from you ?

70.00 with tip I think

Seriously 211 could do a whole lot better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Restaurant is consistently one of the better spots in town. Everything on the menu is done with fresh ingredients and great care. A farm to table restaurant that can compete with NYC, Chicago, Boston, San Francisco. Great atmosphere!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A delight as always. The corn vichyssoise was a big hit. Service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Outdoor area needs to be spruced up a little. Very attentive wait staff

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

211 is one of our go to's! It's always a wonderful meal and a great service. It's one of the only places you can have a conversation without yelling over music or chatter. When we're ready for a relaxing, tasty meal and long talks, 211 is our choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Our visit started with an encounter with less than polite server.
Food was mediocre and not worth the price.
Even the bread was provided as one small piece at a time and you have to ask for more.
The place was basically empty on a Saturday evening, which was a red flag.
Not to be repeated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My mother treated me to lunch @ 211 Clover Lane for my birthday! My daughter joined us! Wonderful day, special people, delicious food, & great service from Terry! Thank you!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Still the best kept secret in Louisville. Always fantastic. Andrew Smith continues to impress us with his seasonal menu items and charming ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

It's surprising to find such a unique and distinctive place in such an unlikely location - it's in a commercial area off of Westport Road but looks like it belongs in a pastoral setting in a quaint little town. I've only had lunch here a few times, but it's perfect for that! If you are looking for burgers and big sandwiches, this is not the place to go. Most of the lunch offerings are on the lighter size and the portions are not huge. Generally, the food is good but this time not everything was successful. My two sisters both ordered the vichyssoise, which was the soup of the day and would have been perfect for the 90 degrees weather. However, the soup was so watery and tasteless, both declined to eat it. When this was mentioned to our server he said he would tell the chef and removed the soups from the bill. One sister enjoyed the chicken salad immensely and my green salad with blackened shrimp, avocado and mango was very good. My other sister ordered the onion tart and commented that, not only was the portion quite small, but rather lacking in flavor. It really needed some herbs, cheese or something to improve the taste. As we were celebrating a birthday, we each ordered a dessert and the restaurant gave the birthday girl a complimentary slice of chocolate cake that was rich and decadent, but slightly dry. My creme brulee was lovely and the other sister's 'pot du chocolate' was creamy and fresh tasting. Overall, not an A+ meal, but certainly good enough to bring me back to 211 Clover Lane.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a late reservation at 9, which was available online. The kitchen closes at 10. We were given a table by ourselves in a side room, that was fine,I don't mind having an intimate setting.
The problem was there was no air back in that area. We all got extremely warm. The waitress was wonderful and eventually got us a small fan, which helped some. I get why they put us there we were going to close the restaurant and they wanted to prep the restaurant for the next day without distributing us. My complaint is don't' take a 9 o'clock reservation if the customer is going to feel slighted. This has always been one of my favorite restaurants in Lousiville and I probable will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

211 Clover appears to be fading from what it once was. The restaurant's customers are loyal, but the business has not appealed to a newer generation. Very mature crowds at lunch. Service continues to be an issue. Insufficient staff = long wait times. In the past, I would overlook slow service as the food was excellent. Sad to say, lunch on Friday did not live up to past standards. The onion tart lacked any onion flavor and the vinaigrette on the greens lacked any acidic tones or seasoning. Might as well have just used straight olive oil.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The table we were assigned< there was a three-some behind us. Thay got up and left, which I think we were too loud or we were too close to them anyway. I felt like we were sitting in their laps, so hard to have a quiet conversation. Otherwises I love 211, especially at a corner table.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We found The Clover to be a very nice place tucked away off the road for a family Sunday Brunch. The food was excellent as we tried four different dishes each very tasty and good comfort. Our waitress accommodated us even to the extreme of trying to find a dish for our 18 yr old son could be satisfied with. The place was inviting and staff there was very helpful. My only complaint is the A.C. broke on one of the hottest Sunday afternoon to dine out however the staff accommodated us with fans that circulated a nice breeze.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our food was great and our server terry gave us a good movie tip!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food and service were superb. 211 is truly one of our most favorite places to be with friends and enjoy a meal. Special kudos once again to Jesse, whose hard work and smile make everything even better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Restaurant was very nice, and clean. However it was a bit pretentious for us and we felt uncomfortable. We went for father's day with our 4 year old, well behaved daughter. It was very apparent that they'd rather we not be there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Accessibility is not completely valid. A wheel chair user cannot maneuver with out assistance.....tables are extremely close. Doors too heavy. Conversations cannot be private. For such a lovely restaurant it is rather loud .

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great decor and food. The room was very noisy for awhile until some people left

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was really good and service very prompt and courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of our top five go-to spots in Louisville. We adore Clover Lane. Andrew is great for recommended fabulous, undiscovered wines, and the seasonal menu is always delicious. We love that there is no intrusive music, and the conversation level is quiet. The perfect spot to relax!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Once again, a delightful evening. Food was superb. Jesse is a delight in every way.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always seems like a special occasion at 211 Clover. Great care, service and a superb meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Terrific evening. Presentation and menu choices were excellent. The Carpaccio was remarkable. Loved the service and the atmosphere. 211 remains a 'go to' restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

First time visit. Couldn't find the entrance to the restaurant, Arrow pointed to the right, restaurant actually on the left. Very dark entrance way. Not very inviting, I had reservations, the person who greeted me was not very friendly.

I had the chicken salad which was dry. I think the chicken was overcooked. Not very tasty.
Don't think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a wonderful evening and an amazing dinner on 1/2 price wine night at 211.
Our servers Jessie and Katie were attentive ,
friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the wines.
Another perfect evening at 211 Clover Lanr.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A long-time favorite. Our server, Katie, was perfect! Fabulous food and ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We loved it! Everyone at our table commented several times on the superiority of 211 Clover.
Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

A hidden gem in St. Matthews. Great food and classy ambience. This night, our waitress was exceptionally excellent! She offered suggestions, gave good recommendations and offered special accommodations such as splitting a salad but getting extra goat cheese. Best service I've experienced in quite a while. The two friends who went with me had never been before. Both raved about the food, service and restaurant ambience/location/decor. Both said they'd be back and would recommend to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 4, 2017

3 of the 6 of us had the walleye dinner special. It was great. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent. Both service and foor. I'll be going back, soon.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

As always had a wonderful time with friends and the food was outstanding.
This is on my
regular list of great places to dine
so we will be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our dinner was the best yet. Superior food with great service. Half price wine night was a bonus! A special night with dear friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was quite poor. We were there for lunch. Sandwiches were full of grease and bread was burnt. We never saw the waiter after the food was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.