About 211 Clover Lane Restaurant

211 Clover Lane
Louisville, KY 40207
View Larger Map

211 Clover Lane is an intimate, hidden gem in the heart of St. Matthews. Using the finest ingredients from local purveyors & fish from both coasts. The menu changes weekly & the wine selections are all boutique. French country decor & beautifully presented dishes are found at 211 Clover Lane.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am – 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Westport

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 896-9570

Website:
http://www.211cloverlane.com/

Parking Details:
A large private lot is adjacent to 211 Clover Lane.

Executive Chef:
Troy Schuster

Private Party Facilities:
211 Clover Lane offers semi-private space that can accommodate 15 to 20 guests.

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

211 Clover Lane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Louisville
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Louisville
Contemporary American
Louisville
Best Restaurants in St Matthews ›

Fit for Foodies (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Romantic (8)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Private Room (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enchanting. Quiet and refined. Easy to h ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enchanting. Quiet and refined. Easy to have a conversation, attentive service. Portions are just right , not excessive . Menu choices are elegant and interesting and always delicious. You won't regret choosing to book your next lunch, brunch or dinner here. Also, parking is a breeze because of its neighborhood location . 4 stars out of 4!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE 211 Clover Lane- the food and servi ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

LOVE 211 Clover Lane- the food and service are very, very dependably good!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress started off by telling us no sp ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Waitress started off by telling us no specialty cocktails b/c bartender wasn't there-someone was filling in. Bummer b/c they usually have good cocktails. No problem-so I ordered wine. Waitress then makes a joke about it being her 2nd day b/c she couldn't figure out what "bourbon, neat" meant when my dining companion ordered her bourbon. Not sure she was really joking. Ordered a pork chop that was partially undercooked. Not pink but almost raw. And, I and one of my dining companions ordered 2nd round of drinks to be had with dinner; the drinks didn't show up until the end of dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Very good menu. Great service, efficien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very good menu. Great service, efficient but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I am a NY foodie moved down here about ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I am a NY foodie moved down here about five years ago. Love the food scene and foodie vibe.

This was the best of the best so far. The dinners we choose were excellent. The waitress was wonderful at subtly steering the directions of appetizers and wine selection, the portions were generous without being overwhelming. Nice hush, no rush. Can't wait to bring other couples wit us next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Ask for Katie as your server. She is te ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Ask for Katie as your server. She is terrific and a lot of fun. Everything about 211 Clover is great. I love the ease of parking in their spacious lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner at 211 Clover was not up to t ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our dinner at 211 Clover was not up to their usual standard. My husband requested that his filet be prepared "Pittsburg style," which is charred on the outside, but the inside should be medium. The inside was rare. I ordered the trout, which as good but came with sautéed spinach and grits, so everything was soft. The dish really needed something crunchy on it. Presentation was not artistic or unique in any way. The best thing - as always - is the great bartender in the lounge.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

another, always consistent, place here i ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

another, always consistent, place here in town where a wonderful meal can be shared as a couple or a group of friends. The bar area is an excellent before dinner gathering place and the wine list isn't the overwhelming booklet we have come to know in some newer restaurants, but is very good in the selections they offer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food. nice and quite with a lot of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great Food. nice and quite with a lot of room between tables.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. We will ret ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. We will return. _____________________________________________________________

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a dinner reservation to celebrate ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a dinner reservation to celebrate our anniversary and had never been there before. Our overall impression was that the restaurant is trying to be upscale and has the potential but not the level of service necessary to fulfill that potential.

We were surprised to learn there was no first course - just salads, entrees and desserts. My husband was disappointed that no domestic beer was available, nor did they have a beer list. I'm not sure where they got the one they served him.

We were offered one slice f bread before our salads were served but no more. The salads were good, as was my entree, a pork tenderloin. My husband enjoyed his ribeye but felt it was not worth the price. Despite the fact we did not order dessert, we were there an hour and a half. We only saw 3 staff members the entire time.

All in all, we were disappointed with the experience when compared to the price ($107 + tip) and the time we spent waiting for each course and the check. This amount of money is much better spent at Corbett's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The ambiance was peaceful and relaxing, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The ambiance was peaceful and relaxing, though a bit pretentious. The food was very good but extremely small portions. As a result of the portion size, it was more than fully priced! First visit. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

No matter whether it is lunch,brunch or ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

No matter whether it is lunch,brunch or dinner, 211 Clover is just about perfect. Portions

are just right, selections are varied and include local options and the atmosphere is like

being in someone's home. You can have conversations that can be heard without shouting.

It is a mini vacation.....a glass of chilled sparkling wine with lunch.......

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As Phenomenal as I've experienced before ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As Phenomenal as I've experienced before. Filet was ridic and the chicken so flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Clover

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Server was not attentive, we had to ask for bread, additional iced tea, etc. our table was in an outer hallway, wait staff walked by continuously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in Louisv ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Louisville, the food is delicious, the space & decor is lovely, & the staff is friendly & dependable. 211 Clover Lane is consistently spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Terry is the very best waiter ever!!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Terry is the very best waiter ever!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 5, 2015

Excellent food, excellent experience. Do not like my food piled a la the current fad, prefer it arranged discretely (separately) on the plate. Will request it next time. Coffee was undistinguished and having it served in a glass cup is rather off-putting. Lovely trout, tasty ice cream. Spinach properly cooked, as were potatoes. Upgrade flatware. Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Another fabulous meal!

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 27, 2015

This restaurant constantly hits it out of the park. Had a fabulous pasta dish with asparagus, roasted peppers and cream. And Weds are 1/2 price wine nights so nothing not to like about that. And, as always, Katie continues to demostrate why she's the best at her job!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

211 Clover Lane is worth the 'find'

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

Although it is hard to explain how to find 211 Clover Lane Restaurant, once new patrons arrive, they are relieved they did not give up on the search for one of the best lunches in town! My two friends who were new to this 'best kept secret' were most pleased with their lunch choices. The server, who has worked there for many years, was attentive and knowledgeable as usual!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are always outstand ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

The food and service are always outstanding. 211 Clover Lane e. It is our favorite go-to place in the neighborhood with both class, stay and great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

Wonderful food and impeccable service. Quiet for conversation

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the best kept secret in town

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on November 13, 2014

211 Clover Lane continues to be a 'hidden' eatery that does not disappoint! Regardless of the number of people dining, the guests are always provided with exceptional food and beverage. Keep it up 211 Clover Lane!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful food, very slow service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on November 7, 2014

Fortunately we weren't in a hurry. Loved the trout.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

A perfect Anniversary Dinner

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Thank you to the staff at 211 Clover Lane for making our Anniversary dinner so special. It was our first visit to the restaurant but it will not be our last. Everything here was fantastic -- the ambiance, the menu, the food, the service, the recognition of our Anniversary (complimentary dessert)! I had the goat cheese stuffed peppers as a starter and they were wonderful - for my main course I had the salmon, stone ground grits and spinach - all cooked to perfection and the best salmon I've ever had! My husband had the house salad and the walleye and he raved about both. Our server was wonderful - knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Thanks for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent lunch with excellent and atten ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 31, 2014

Excellent lunch with excellent and attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Great Meal!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 17, 2014

Everyone in our group of four really enjoyed their meal! The salads were great and the entrees were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Never disappointed

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

211 Clover Lane is such a steady wonderful place to dine. I have never had a bad meal or had bad service. The flavor of the dining is great and they have an outstanding wine list. Can be a bit noisy if you're sitting next to the wrong table. They do have a recessed area for a larger party that feels very private.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy eating at 211 Clover Lane. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

Always enjoy eating at 211 Clover Lane. The food, the service and the atmosphere are top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very nice place to go without TVs in e ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 7, 2014

A very nice place to go without TVs in every corner. Had the salmon and it was prepared perfectly. Service was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lunch at 211 Clover

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on October 7, 2014

We recently joined friends for lunch at 211 Clover. We had not been there in several years. It will not be so long til the next time we visit. The atmosphere is very cozy. Our server was very professional. Although he was efficient and friendly, he was also unobtrusive and we enjoyed a leisurely lunch. The food was delicious. Well prepared. Very fresh ingredients. Will definitely return and soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still great with new chef

vip
 (London)
·Dined on September 30, 2014

Clover Lane is one of our favs in Louisville. The stuffed squash blossoms, the veg. special, and the mussels were esp. good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Lunch

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 27, 2014

I had lunch with a girlfriend on a Saturday afternoon. The food was excellent and there were several light, yet satisfying options. Price was great as we'll. The ambiance is definitely a girls' lunch, nice GNO, or a nice date with your SO. Probably not a "guys" choice for an everyday date but definitely great food and nice atmosphere. Fun to dress up a bit for lunch too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious Lunch

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 16, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed a birthday celebration lunch with eight women. All lunch entrees were delicious, especially the chicken curry, and the selection is great. Fresh ingredients, nice portions, fair prices. Fresh bread was served with olive oil. Desserts were a highlight, particularly the chocolate pot de crème and the apply tart... delicious. Service was attentive, and were able to enjoy a room just for our small group. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 11, 2014

Food, service, atmosphere - it's all at 211 Clover Lane. Of course the company of my husband was a bonus. We are born and bred New Yorkers and it's thrilling to go to a restaurant and have an incredibly delicious, comfortably classy personal dining experience. Since moving to Louisville, this has become my favorite

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good and moderately quiet which i ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 5, 2014

Always good and moderately quiet which is important to me. Trout is the best. The shrimp is a little too spicy. Bring back the leek tart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Difficult to find. Off the beaten path. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 19, 2014

Difficult to find. Off the beaten path. Food, service, and atmosphere very nice. Tables a little too close together. Once more guests arrived, the noise level became distracting and it made having a quiet conversation impossible.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Happy

vip
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on August 19, 2014

I love going to this local spot for lunch or dinner with girlfriends. I have never been disappointed with the

food or atmosphere. I enjoy that it is quiet but really like the new bar area. I would highly recommend it

for a great spot with friends or just the one you love.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Hidden Gem

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2014

We ate at 211 Clover Lane on 8/9/14. Both the black grouper and the trout were very good. Everything was well prepared and the service was excellent. Our entrees took longer than expected and we were offered a free dessert. Nice wine list with reasonable prices. It is a bit difficult to find but worth the search.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great food, need better signage

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2014

Great food at a great price. The signage leaves a lot to be desired, and they need to work with their property management to improve this. Now that I know where it is, I will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.