About 211 Clover Lane Restaurant

211 Clover Lane is an intimate, hidden gem in the heart of St. Matthews. Using the finest ingredients from local purveyors & fish from both coasts. The menu changes weekly & the wine selections are all boutique. French country decor & beautifully presented dishes are found at 211 Clover Lane.

211 Clover Lane
Louisville, KY 40207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am – 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Westport

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 896-9570

Website:
http://www.211cloverlane.com/

Parking Details:
A large private lot is adjacent to 211 Clover Lane.

Executive Chef:
Troy Schuster

Private Party Facilities:
211 Clover Lane offers semi-private space that can accommodate 15 to 20 guests.

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

211 Clover Lane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Quiet Conversation (14)
See All
Great for Lunch (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Cozy (13)
Romantic (12)
Private Room (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Business Meals (7)
Authentic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 3 days ago

Always wonderful! Lunch or dinner it's one of our favorite places. Great for later evening glass of wine also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server, Jessie, was wonderful and elevated the experience. Wine and bread were outstanding. My miso mushroom salad had too much vinegar and was off balance, and the diver scallops, only three, though delicious, seemed skimpy and the polenta they sat upon was heavy, made heavier by pesto and extra drizzling of olive oil. My husband's stuffed pork was filling, but the meat was a bit dry and the stuffing boring and heavy, more like a pesto. His beet salad was meager. Overall, a pleasant night, wonderful ambiance, but the food left us underwhelmed. I've come for lunch before and enjoyed it a bit better. Still a lovely experience once in awhile.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Meal was outstanding and we had a wonderful time relaxing with good friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Restaurant ran out of soup. Usual bread and olive oil-balsamic was not served. Rather slack service overall. Place seemed understaffed. Food was excellent, however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every year, my husband and I have Valentine's lunch here because it was what we did for our first Valentine's Day together. I love the food, but sometimes I wonder if we should find a new tradition because the experience lacks. The service is not good here. You'll wait at the empty host stand for awhile, and then the service is not warm, and is conspicuously absent. This time, scones were slammed down on the opposite end of the table from where we were sitting as a server walked by. The area where we sat--looks almost like an addition at the front--was very cold so I ate in a full length winter coat. The trout is fantastic--I get it every time. Kale was substituted for the spinach on the menu without comment from the server, which is fine by me since I like kale, but was not the description on the menu. My husband's french toast was okay, he said it wasn't anything memorable. The scones were excellent. While there are nice touches like white table clothes at lunch, little details need attention like fraying carpet corners and lacking service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

211 Clover Lane is unique. I've eaten here many times for dinner and lunch. Has the most European feel to me of any place in Louisville to eat. Menu does not offer a great variety but what it does offer is excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here last Saturday for an early Valentine. Ambiance is great. Service excellent and food delicious. I had a perfect Filet Mignon, and my wife loved the scallops. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A most enjoyable birthday dinner. Will definitely return for dinner someday.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband & I had a lovely meal. I enjoyed the grouper! Jessie was charming & very pleasant! Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely love 211 Clover, all aspects of the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing meal the filet and mushroom risotto where excellent. We went early to have a drink at the bar and unwind before dinner the bartender was welcoming and attentive. He made suggestions and created a couple very nice and unique cocktails for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always excellent!! A real neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fresh flavorful food. A great place for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

211 Clover Lane is one of my favorite restaurants in Louisville. The food is always delicious and the service is outstanding. Katie is absolutely the best server in the city and makes your dining experience fun. We love the bar as its very cozy, so make sure to come early and have one of their hand crafted cocktails before dinner. LOVE IT!!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was the bartenders first night on his own and the drinks were excellent. We asked for a drink not on the menu and it was made to perfection. Only disappointment was the veal was a little tuff. Otherwise

Excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very cozy place with very nice food and good service. We were there for dinner on a Friday night. Fillet was great, veal cutlets were delicious. I am glad we rediscovered this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

What is so attractive, is the quietness... You can have wonderful conversations with your guests

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

You have to get the pineapple upside down cake.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful meal, service, and ambiance each and every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful for a quite dinner! The food is excellent!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is Louisville gem. The food sparkles. The ambiance, complemented with stunning glass pieces by Stephen Powell, is wonderfully restful. The service is professional and friendly without being obtrusive. The foodies in our group of five appreciated the emphasis on local, fresh food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

211 always meets my expectations. One of my favorite for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant. The owner never disappoints on service, cousine,

and atmosphere

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We had generally been pleased with this restaurant, but this time the chicken was dry and it took a long time to get bread or refills on drinks. It seemed they were understaffed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Gorgeous brunch! We enjoyed great food in a beautiful environment. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Short ribs were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I love a lunch at Clover Lane with friends. Wonderful service....food comes hot and attractively served.....lovely linens....and

views no matter where you sit....a garden...lovely artwork....flowers....don't need much more!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We like the environment. Very loud, no music. Had Olive oil had to wait for bread. Food was nice temperature Veal lacked taste. Bass was okay. Might return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Always relaxing and restful with great service and luxury but not overpriced menu - easy to park and great location - the setting feels like you are in a comfortable country inn . Highly recommend .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The server was mediocre. She did the basics but nothing beyond, including checking back with us. It seemed like she was just going thru the paces.

The kitchen was out of 2 of the entrees and the wine we ordered. Poor planning for a Saturday night when 1 of the items was chicken!

After desert was served and our bill we never saw the server again. When we left the restaurant there were no employees to be found, and we were not the last table.

I've experienced the same inattentive service at 211 previously. They just don't seem to be interested in their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Katie is the best server in town. She makes the evening fun. We there with two other couples. Everyone enjoyed their dinner. My NY Strip was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent soup

Average trout

Attenative waiter

Restaurant is very nice, understared, in an excellent location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of Louisville's finest, and definitely one-of-a-kind. Food and service are always spectacular.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 30, 2016

211 Clover Lane really needs to expand its wine by the glass options. There was one Pinot Noir option, one Merlot option, and no cabernet sauvignon choices. If I'm going out for fine dining, I am likely going to prefer a different wine for each course. Our waitress, while attentive and pleasant, didn't know the compact menu thoroughly. Our steaks had the appropriate internal temperature, but the exteriors were too well done.

Perhaps my wife and I have been spoiled by our experiences at Highland's Bar and Grill in Birmingham, but 211 Clover Lane just didn't measure up. The most frustrating thing was it obviously has the potential to really be a fine restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Enchanting. Quiet and refined. Easy to have a conversation, attentive service. Portions are just right , not excessive . Menu choices are elegant and interesting and always delicious. You won't regret choosing to book your next lunch, brunch or dinner here. Also, parking is a breeze because of its neighborhood location . 4 stars out of 4!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

LOVE 211 Clover Lane- the food and service are very, very dependably good!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Waitress started off by telling us no specialty cocktails b/c bartender wasn't there-someone was filling in. Bummer b/c they usually have good cocktails. No problem-so I ordered wine. Waitress then makes a joke about it being her 2nd day b/c she couldn't figure out what "bourbon, neat" meant when my dining companion ordered her bourbon. Not sure she was really joking. Ordered a pork chop that was partially undercooked. Not pink but almost raw. And, I and one of my dining companions ordered 2nd round of drinks to be had with dinner; the drinks didn't show up until the end of dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very good menu. Great service, efficient but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

I am a NY foodie moved down here about five years ago. Love the food scene and foodie vibe.

This was the best of the best so far. The dinners we choose were excellent. The waitress was wonderful at subtly steering the directions of appetizers and wine selection, the portions were generous without being overwhelming. Nice hush, no rush. Can't wait to bring other couples wit us next time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Ask for Katie as your server. She is terrific and a lot of fun. Everything about 211 Clover is great. I love the ease of parking in their spacious lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our dinner at 211 Clover was not up to their usual standard. My husband requested that his filet be prepared "Pittsburg style," which is charred on the outside, but the inside should be medium. The inside was rare. I ordered the trout, which as good but came with sautéed spinach and grits, so everything was soft. The dish really needed something crunchy on it. Presentation was not artistic or unique in any way. The best thing - as always - is the great bartender in the lounge.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 17, 2016

another, always consistent, place here in town where a wonderful meal can be shared as a couple or a group of friends. The bar area is an excellent before dinner gathering place and the wine list isn't the overwhelming booklet we have come to know in some newer restaurants, but is very good in the selections they offer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great Food. nice and quite with a lot of room between tables.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. We will return. _

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a dinner reservation to celebrate our anniversary and had never been there before. Our overall impression was that the restaurant is trying to be upscale and has the potential but not the level of service necessary to fulfill that potential.

We were surprised to learn there was no first course - just salads, entrees and desserts. My husband was disappointed that no domestic beer was available, nor did they have a beer list. I'm not sure where they got the one they served him.

We were offered one slice f bread before our salads were served but no more. The salads were good, as was my entree, a pork tenderloin. My husband enjoyed his ribeye but felt it was not worth the price. Despite the fact we did not order dessert, we were there an hour and a half. We only saw 3 staff members the entire time.

All in all, we were disappointed with the experience when compared to the price ($107 + tip) and the time we spent waiting for each course and the check. This amount of money is much better spent at Corbett's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 27, 2016

The ambiance was peaceful and relaxing, though a bit pretentious. The food was very good but extremely small portions. As a result of the portion size, it was more than fully priced! First visit. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 26, 2016

No matter whether it is lunch,brunch or dinner, 211 Clover is just about perfect. Portions

are just right, selections are varied and include local options and the atmosphere is like

being in someone's home. You can have conversations that can be heard without shouting.

It is a mini vacation.....a glass of chilled sparkling wine with lunch.......

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 21, 2016

As Phenomenal as I've experienced before. Filet was ridic and the chicken so flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Server was not attentive, we had to ask for bread, additional iced tea, etc. our table was in an outer hallway, wait staff walked by continuously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Louisville, the food is delicious, the space & decor is lovely, & the staff is friendly & dependable. 211 Clover Lane is consistently spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.