About 211 Clover Lane Restaurant

211 Clover Lane is an intimate, hidden gem in the heart of St. Matthews. Using the finest ingredients from local purveyors & fish from both coasts. The menu changes weekly & the wine selections are all boutique. French country decor & beautifully presented dishes are found at 211 Clover Lane.

211 Clover Lane
Louisville, KY 40207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am – 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Westport

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 896-9570

Website:
http://www.211cloverlane.com/

Parking Details:
A large private lot is adjacent to 211 Clover Lane.

Executive Chef:
Troy Schuster

Private Party Facilities:
211 Clover Lane offers semi-private space that can accommodate 15 to 20 guests.

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

211 Clover Lane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Cozy (23)
See All
Quiet Conversation (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Romantic (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Private Room (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Historic (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was really good and service very prompt and courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Once again, a delightful evening. Food was superb. Jesse is a delight in every way.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always seems like a special occasion at 211 Clover. Great care, service and a superb meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Terrific evening. Presentation and menu choices were excellent. The Carpaccio was remarkable. Loved the service and the atmosphere. 211 remains a 'go to' restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

First time visit. Couldn't find the entrance to the restaurant, Arrow pointed to the right, restaurant actually on the left. Very dark entrance way. Not very inviting, I had reservations, the person who greeted me was not very friendly.

I had the chicken salad which was dry. I think the chicken was overcooked. Not very tasty.
Don't think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a wonderful evening and an amazing dinner on 1/2 price wine night at 211.
Our servers Jessie and Katie were attentive ,
friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the wines.
Another perfect evening at 211 Clover Lanr.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A long-time favorite. Our server, Katie, was perfect! Fabulous food and ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We loved it! Everyone at our table commented several times on the superiority of 211 Clover.
Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Private Room, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Historic, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

A hidden gem in St. Matthews. Great food and classy ambience. This night, our waitress was exceptionally excellent! She offered suggestions, gave good recommendations and offered special accommodations such as splitting a salad but getting extra goat cheese. Best service I've experienced in quite a while. The two friends who went with me had never been before. Both raved about the food, service and restaurant ambience/location/decor. Both said they'd be back and would recommend to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 4, 2017

3 of the 6 of us had the walleye dinner special. It was great. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent. Both service and foor. I'll be going back, soon.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

As always had a wonderful time with friends and the food was outstanding.
This is on my
regular list of great places to dine
so we will be going back.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our dinner was the best yet. Superior food with great service. Half price wine night was a bonus! A special night with dear friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was quite poor. We were there for lunch. Sandwiches were full of grease and bread was burnt. We never saw the waiter after the food was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Every aspect of the meal was superb. Will be going back again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was the best yet. Excellent!! Everything was perfectly prepared, and special requests were welcomed and fulfilled.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Consistency is a hallmark! Great little neighborhood place. Ladies luncheon place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

211 Clover is one of the best restaurants in a very food town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My mother & I enjoyed a lovely Sunday brunch! I indulged in Shrimp & grits! My mother had the omelette. Both were delicious! Terry, as always, was charming, attentive, & fun! Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always wonderful! Lunch or dinner it's one of our favorite places. Great for later evening glass of wine also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our server, Jessie, was wonderful and elevated the experience. Wine and bread were outstanding. My miso mushroom salad had too much vinegar and was off balance, and the diver scallops, only three, though delicious, seemed skimpy and the polenta they sat upon was heavy, made heavier by pesto and extra drizzling of olive oil. My husband's stuffed pork was filling, but the meat was a bit dry and the stuffing boring and heavy, more like a pesto. His beet salad was meager. Overall, a pleasant night, wonderful ambiance, but the food left us underwhelmed. I've come for lunch before and enjoyed it a bit better. Still a lovely experience once in awhile.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Meal was outstanding and we had a wonderful time relaxing with good friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Restaurant ran out of soup. Usual bread and olive oil-balsamic was not served. Rather slack service overall. Place seemed understaffed. Food was excellent, however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every year, my husband and I have Valentine's lunch here because it was what we did for our first Valentine's Day together. I love the food, but sometimes I wonder if we should find a new tradition because the experience lacks. The service is not good here. You'll wait at the empty host stand for awhile, and then the service is not warm, and is conspicuously absent. This time, scones were slammed down on the opposite end of the table from where we were sitting as a server walked by. The area where we sat--looks almost like an addition at the front--was very cold so I ate in a full length winter coat. The trout is fantastic--I get it every time. Kale was substituted for the spinach on the menu without comment from the server, which is fine by me since I like kale, but was not the description on the menu. My husband's french toast was okay, he said it wasn't anything memorable. The scones were excellent. While there are nice touches like white table clothes at lunch, little details need attention like fraying carpet corners and lacking service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

211 Clover Lane is unique. I've eaten here many times for dinner and lunch. Has the most European feel to me of any place in Louisville to eat. Menu does not offer a great variety but what it does offer is excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here last Saturday for an early Valentine. Ambiance is great. Service excellent and food delicious. I had a perfect Filet Mignon, and my wife loved the scallops. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A most enjoyable birthday dinner. Will definitely return for dinner someday.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband & I had a lovely meal. I enjoyed the grouper! Jessie was charming & very pleasant! Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely love 211 Clover, all aspects of the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing meal the filet and mushroom risotto where excellent. We went early to have a drink at the bar and unwind before dinner the bartender was welcoming and attentive. He made suggestions and created a couple very nice and unique cocktails for us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always excellent!! A real neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fresh flavorful food. A great place for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

211 Clover Lane is one of my favorite restaurants in Louisville. The food is always delicious and the service is outstanding. Katie is absolutely the best server in the city and makes your dining experience fun. We love the bar as its very cozy, so make sure to come early and have one of their hand crafted cocktails before dinner. LOVE IT!!!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was the bartenders first night on his own and the drinks were excellent. We asked for a drink not on the menu and it was made to perfection. Only disappointment was the veal was a little tuff. Otherwise
Excellent

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very cozy place with very nice food and good service. We were there for dinner on a Friday night. Fillet was great, veal cutlets were delicious. I am glad we rediscovered this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 12, 2017

What is so attractive, is the quietness... You can have wonderful conversations with your guests

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

You have to get the pineapple upside down cake.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful meal, service, and ambiance each and every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Wonderful for a quite dinner! The food is excellent!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is Louisville gem. The food sparkles. The ambiance, complemented with stunning glass pieces by Stephen Powell, is wonderfully restful. The service is professional and friendly without being obtrusive. The foodies in our group of five appreciated the emphasis on local, fresh food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.