About 211 Clover Lane Restaurant

211 Clover Lane is an intimate, hidden gem in the heart of St. Matthews. Using the finest ingredients from local purveyors & fish from both coasts. The menu changes weekly & the wine selections are all boutique. French country decor & beautifully presented dishes are found at 211 Clover Lane.

211 Clover Lane
Louisville, KY 40207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday Brunch: 10:30am – 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Westport

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 896-9570

Website:
http://www.211cloverlane.com/

Parking Details:
A large private lot is adjacent to 211 Clover Lane.

Executive Chef:
Troy Schuster

Private Party Facilities:
211 Clover Lane offers semi-private space that can accommodate 15 to 20 guests.

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wine

211 Clover Lane Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Cozy (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Great for Lunch (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Authentic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Private Room (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined a day ago

My mother treated me to lunch @ 211 Clover Lane for my birthday! My daughter joined us! Wonderful day, special people, delicious food, & great service from Terry! Thank you!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 2 days ago

Still the best kept secret in Louisville. Always fantastic. Andrew Smith continues to impress us with his seasonal menu items and charming ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

It's surprising to find such a unique and distinctive place in such an unlikely location - it's in a commercial area off of Westport Road but looks like it belongs in a pastoral setting in a quaint little town. I've only had lunch here a few times, but it's perfect for that! If you are looking for burgers and big sandwiches, this is not the place to go. Most of the lunch offerings are on the lighter size and the portions are not huge. Generally, the food is good but this time not everything was successful. My two sisters both ordered the vichyssoise, which was the soup of the day and would have been perfect for the 90 degrees weather. However, the soup was so watery and tasteless, both declined to eat it. When this was mentioned to our server he said he would tell the chef and removed the soups from the bill. One sister enjoyed the chicken salad immensely and my green salad with blackened shrimp, avocado and mango was very good. My other sister ordered the onion tart and commented that, not only was the portion quite small, but rather lacking in flavor. It really needed some herbs, cheese or something to improve the taste. As we were celebrating a birthday, we each ordered a dessert and the restaurant gave the birthday girl a complimentary slice of chocolate cake that was rich and decadent, but slightly dry. My creme brulee was lovely and the other sister's 'pot du chocolate' was creamy and fresh tasting. Overall, not an A+ meal, but certainly good enough to bring me back to 211 Clover Lane.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a late reservation at 9, which was available online. The kitchen closes at 10. We were given a table by ourselves in a side room, that was fine,I don't mind having an intimate setting.
The problem was there was no air back in that area. We all got extremely warm. The waitress was wonderful and eventually got us a small fan, which helped some. I get why they put us there we were going to close the restaurant and they wanted to prep the restaurant for the next day without distributing us. My complaint is don't' take a 9 o'clock reservation if the customer is going to feel slighted. This has always been one of my favorite restaurants in Lousiville and I probable will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

211 Clover appears to be fading from what it once was. The restaurant's customers are loyal, but the business has not appealed to a newer generation. Very mature crowds at lunch. Service continues to be an issue. Insufficient staff = long wait times. In the past, I would overlook slow service as the food was excellent. Sad to say, lunch on Friday did not live up to past standards. The onion tart lacked any onion flavor and the vinaigrette on the greens lacked any acidic tones or seasoning. Might as well have just used straight olive oil.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The table we were assigned< there was a three-some behind us. Thay got up and left, which I think we were too loud or we were too close to them anyway. I felt like we were sitting in their laps, so hard to have a quiet conversation. Otherwises I love 211, especially at a corner table.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We found The Clover to be a very nice place tucked away off the road for a family Sunday Brunch. The food was excellent as we tried four different dishes each very tasty and good comfort. Our waitress accommodated us even to the extreme of trying to find a dish for our 18 yr old son could be satisfied with. The place was inviting and staff there was very helpful. My only complaint is the A.C. broke on one of the hottest Sunday afternoon to dine out however the staff accommodated us with fans that circulated a nice breeze.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Our food was great and our server terry gave us a good movie tip!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food and service were superb. 211 is truly one of our most favorite places to be with friends and enjoy a meal. Special kudos once again to Jesse, whose hard work and smile make everything even better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Restaurant was very nice, and clean. However it was a bit pretentious for us and we felt uncomfortable. We went for father's day with our 4 year old, well behaved daughter. It was very apparent that they'd rather we not be there.

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Accessibility is not completely valid. A wheel chair user cannot maneuver with out assistance.....tables are extremely close. Doors too heavy. Conversations cannot be private. For such a lovely restaurant it is rather loud .

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great decor and food. The room was very noisy for awhile until some people left

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food was really good and service very prompt and courteous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of our top five go-to spots in Louisville. We adore Clover Lane. Andrew is great for recommended fabulous, undiscovered wines, and the seasonal menu is always delicious. We love that there is no intrusive music, and the conversation level is quiet. The perfect spot to relax!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Once again, a delightful evening. Food was superb. Jesse is a delight in every way.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always seems like a special occasion at 211 Clover. Great care, service and a superb meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Terrific evening. Presentation and menu choices were excellent. The Carpaccio was remarkable. Loved the service and the atmosphere. 211 remains a 'go to' restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

First time visit. Couldn't find the entrance to the restaurant, Arrow pointed to the right, restaurant actually on the left. Very dark entrance way. Not very inviting, I had reservations, the person who greeted me was not very friendly.

I had the chicken salad which was dry. I think the chicken was overcooked. Not very tasty.
Don't think we will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We had a wonderful evening and an amazing dinner on 1/2 price wine night at 211.
Our servers Jessie and Katie were attentive ,
friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and the wines.
Another perfect evening at 211 Clover Lanr.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A long-time favorite. Our server, Katie, was perfect! Fabulous food and ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We loved it! Everyone at our table commented several times on the superiority of 211 Clover.
Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

A hidden gem in St. Matthews. Great food and classy ambience. This night, our waitress was exceptionally excellent! She offered suggestions, gave good recommendations and offered special accommodations such as splitting a salad but getting extra goat cheese. Best service I've experienced in quite a while. The two friends who went with me had never been before. Both raved about the food, service and restaurant ambience/location/decor. Both said they'd be back and would recommend to others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 4, 2017

3 of the 6 of us had the walleye dinner special. It was great. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent. Both service and foor. I'll be going back, soon.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

As always had a wonderful time with friends and the food was outstanding.
This is on my
regular list of great places to dine
so we will be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our dinner was the best yet. Superior food with great service. Half price wine night was a bonus! A special night with dear friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was quite poor. We were there for lunch. Sandwiches were full of grease and bread was burnt. We never saw the waiter after the food was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Every aspect of the meal was superb. Will be going back again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was the best yet. Excellent!! Everything was perfectly prepared, and special requests were welcomed and fulfilled.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Consistency is a hallmark! Great little neighborhood place. Ladies luncheon place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

211 Clover is one of the best restaurants in a very food town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My mother & I enjoyed a lovely Sunday brunch! I indulged in Shrimp & grits! My mother had the omelette. Both were delicious! Terry, as always, was charming, attentive, & fun! Thank you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Always wonderful! Lunch or dinner it's one of our favorite places. Great for later evening glass of wine also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our server, Jessie, was wonderful and elevated the experience. Wine and bread were outstanding. My miso mushroom salad had too much vinegar and was off balance, and the diver scallops, only three, though delicious, seemed skimpy and the polenta they sat upon was heavy, made heavier by pesto and extra drizzling of olive oil. My husband's stuffed pork was filling, but the meat was a bit dry and the stuffing boring and heavy, more like a pesto. His beet salad was meager. Overall, a pleasant night, wonderful ambiance, but the food left us underwhelmed. I've come for lunch before and enjoyed it a bit better. Still a lovely experience once in awhile.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Meal was outstanding and we had a wonderful time relaxing with good friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Restaurant ran out of soup. Usual bread and olive oil-balsamic was not served. Rather slack service overall. Place seemed understaffed. Food was excellent, however.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every year, my husband and I have Valentine's lunch here because it was what we did for our first Valentine's Day together. I love the food, but sometimes I wonder if we should find a new tradition because the experience lacks. The service is not good here. You'll wait at the empty host stand for awhile, and then the service is not warm, and is conspicuously absent. This time, scones were slammed down on the opposite end of the table from where we were sitting as a server walked by. The area where we sat--looks almost like an addition at the front--was very cold so I ate in a full length winter coat. The trout is fantastic--I get it every time. Kale was substituted for the spinach on the menu without comment from the server, which is fine by me since I like kale, but was not the description on the menu. My husband's french toast was okay, he said it wasn't anything memorable. The scones were excellent. While there are nice touches like white table clothes at lunch, little details need attention like fraying carpet corners and lacking service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

211 Clover Lane is unique. I've eaten here many times for dinner and lunch. Has the most European feel to me of any place in Louisville to eat. Menu does not offer a great variety but what it does offer is excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My wife and I had dinner here last Saturday for an early Valentine. Ambiance is great. Service excellent and food delicious. I had a perfect Filet Mignon, and my wife loved the scallops. Highly recommended.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A most enjoyable birthday dinner. Will definitely return for dinner someday.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.