About 21 Club

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 21 Club, New York, NY
  • 21 Club, New York, NY
  • 21 Club, New York, NY
  • 21 Club, New York, NY
  • 21 Club, New York, NY

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate your love at ‘21’ on Tuesday, February 14th with a superb 4-course dinner ($125 per person). Reduced parking available.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (81)
Historic (62)
Pre/post Theatre (62)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Business Meals (46)
Good for a Date (43)
People Watching (42)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Notable Wine List (35)
Cozy (34)
Romantic (32)
Fun (31)
Authentic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Groups (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Great for Lunch (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Fireplace (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Seasonal (9)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Private Room (7)
Casual (6)
Family Style (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2800 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food: 1/2 chicken had a goopy sauce. fil ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food: 1/2 chicken had a goopy sauce. filet very good. tuna tartare good but spare.

baked alaska tiny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We went for a pre fix theater dinner. Th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

We went for a pre fix theater dinner. The entire meal was wonderful. The cream of wild mushroom soup was out of this world.They were very attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner for me! Very businessli ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always a winner for me! Very businesslike as usual and a vibrant scene. No food specials tonite which have been a great addition to their traditional menu in the past. A great place for business and special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always great, and, hallelujah, still her ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always great, and, hallelujah, still here! So many of the wonderful and legendary NY restaurants are now gone, but 21 Club is still here and still in top form.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DRINKS WERE A LITTLE PRICEY. THE SERVICE ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

DRINKS WERE A LITTLE PRICEY. THE SERVICE AT BAR AND TABLE WAS GREAT. FOOD WAS SPECTACULAR. FIRST TIME THERE AND WE HAD A NICE NIGHT.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crowded and claustrophobic. Fish was ov ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Crowded and claustrophobic. Fish was overcooked. A neighboring table's fish dish smelled so strongly that I feared what we might be served when ours was delivered. Thankfully, it didn't have the fishy smell of our neighbor's, but it was still disappointing in texture (rubbery). Could not recommend this establishment based on quality as compared to cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Have enjoyed this venerable restaurant s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Have enjoyed this venerable restaurant since the 60's and love that it never changes: jackets for men, wonderful American speakeasy kinda food, attentive service, great pours, same decor, and oh so comfortable...and pricey. Well worth it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there in 3 months and it's f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Second time there in 3 months and it's fabulous! Can't wait to go back. Meal was delicious, the staff is the best - courteous, helpful you name it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have only dined at 21 a couple of time ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I have only dined at 21 a couple of times in the past ten years, and in both instances greatly enjoyed their classic chicken hash - delicious! Unfortunately when I returned this weekend I discovered a very different dish - dry and lacking effort. The souffle followed suit. The meal overall was a disappointment. While the service was still high caliber, the price tag was unfortunately no longer commensurate with the experience.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Service was poor and long wait for waite ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was poor and long wait for waiter and food. This place has a great history but is way past its prime. Basically irrelevant in today's NYC food scene.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Excellent. The only problem was that we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent. The only problem was that we were billed for something we did not order. Hopefully, just an over sight.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disapointed with my experience at the 21 ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Disapointed with my experience at the 21 Club on Friday Jan. 6th mainly due to the food but the service was not as it typically is either. The staff were not on top of their game as the feel was just not the same as in my previous visits here. Usually they make you feel really special but that was not the case this evening. Now on to the food. Mom ordered the Filet and ordered it medium well. It was not prepared properly as it came out medium. She did not say anything to me about it and just ate the sides that were more done. When I noticed I mentioned it to our server and he offered to take it back and have them cook it more... But we were finishing up and she did not want them to do that and we had a play to get to. He said ok and he would tell the chef. No apology from him or anyone. I was just going to let this go but when given this opportunity to give my review I felt it important to do so. Normally it is a great experience at the 21 Club but not his night and that was disappointing to me because Mom has heard me talk about the restaurant for years.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

21 Club is a NYC gem. Great food, outsta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

21 Club is a NYC gem. Great food, outstanding wine list. One of my favorite spots for dinner with friends or for a biz dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. Excellent fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It was a great experience. Excellent food. The Dover Sole is a must!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal. Great people. My favorite p ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great meal. Great people. My favorite place in manhattan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What an exciting place. This is a must f ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 5, 2017

What an exciting place. This is a must for anyone visiting NYC !!

Truly the best that NY has to offer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ann-Marie was outstanding. The good was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Ann-Marie was outstanding. The good was disappointing and lacking flavor. We live in TX and this steak didn't impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

Our family was very disappointed in our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our family was very disappointed in our evening here. We were put in a very tight corner, the wait staff was very stand offish, never engaged with us, and left us to ask for everything we needed.

The seafood tower was less than impressive, Chicken dish was tasteless, red meat dishes were fine. Spent $500 on a night out with my

Family that was supposed to be a great experience for our teenage boys as to how to dine at an exclusive place in a great city. Sad experience for all of us.

If looking for a nice place I would highly advise against it. Never will I do this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

One of our favorite restaurants in the w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the world! Typifies NYC. Great people watching. Diners sitting around you are very friendly. I was there to celebrate my birthday, and when the waiter arrived with a little comlimentary dessert, the ENTIRE room sang Happy Birthday! Can't beat that!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fireplace, Romantic, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

By far one of the best meals I have ever ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

By far one of the best meals I have ever eaten! The service was spectacular. The waiters weren't pushy or intrusive but I never had to ask for anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding services and food. Recommen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outstanding services and food. Recommend great for pre or post theatre

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Healthy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals ever! The staff ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 30, 2016

One of the best meals ever! The staff made us feel like regulars here in this casually elegant restaurant frequented by the truly rich and famous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For all the rave this place gets, the fi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

For all the rave this place gets, the filet was forgettable. Service staff was nice though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was very good, atmosphere was wonde ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was very good, atmosphere was wonderful...very festive. Unfortunately, our waiter did not seem like he wanted to deal with us....he behaved in a gruff, impatient manner....maybe too much holiday stress? Anyway, have had many wonderful dinners in the past, here so will keep coming back...service in the past was always top notch!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

took our granddaughter to experience New ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

took our granddaughter to experience New York and had to include a NY icon Restaurant, will be back there whenever we visit NY

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although this is a New York experience e ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Although this is a New York experience everyone said we needed to try I was hugely underwhelmed. We arrived on time for our reservation but were told our table was not ready and that we should wait in the bar. Even though there was only 1 other small group in the bar we had to wait 10 minutes for our drinks. After delivering our drinks the bartender ignored us by talking with other employees and did not check back on us the entire time we were there. 20 minutes past our reservation time, I went back to the host to inquire about our table. He informed me that it was not ready yet and to "check back with him in a while." Again there were no other parties waiting to be seated so I assumed he would come to the bar to tell us when the table was ready. 15 minutes later I returned to the host to inquire about our table to be told "I was just coming to get you because I was waiting for you to come back." Once seated at our table (small and located in the very back corner of the restaurant) the poor service continued through out our meal. Our waiter was not informative about the menu, slow to bring any item we ordered and I had to ask for the check 2 times before it was brought to the table. The food was not memorable and the wine list was overpriced.

There are many fabulous restaurants in NYC. This isn't one of them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

This place is great- if terribly expensi ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This place is great- if terribly expensive. I got a salad-which was good- just not $33 good. My husband got a hamburger which also was good - just not $36 good. Parking next door was a nightmare -over an hour before an attendant showed up. The wait staff was fast and everyone in there was in a suit and nice high end outfit- lace gowns etc. It is definitely an experience- just expect a $200 lunch bill.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Meal was over the top as was the wine st ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Meal was over the top as was the wine stewards recommendation for a red to accompany our dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old school, NYC experience

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Old school, NYC experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While there was nothing wrong with 21 Cl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

While there was nothing wrong with 21 Club, it was just sort of blah. When our table was finally ready at 9:10, 25 mins after our 8:45 reservation it was wedged into a corner. The host had to pull the table out to make room for my wife to squeeze into her seat. I felt like we were right on top of the next table. We went to 21 Club more out of curiosity than real desire to go there, the jacket and no jeans rule is silly as people had on jackets and pants that looked like they were only worn once per year.

We always order our appetizer and indicate that might be all we are eating to gauge the wait staff reaction. A negative reaction always is an indication of the rest of the service and our desire to stay or not. We decided based on the waiter reaction to have only an appetizer, dessert and cordial. We skipped dinner as it had gotten late.

Overall 21 Club was not awful but if you desire blah food, silly dress code and high prices be my guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Went for the name and reputation. But wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went for the name and reputation. But was tacky and lacked the quality I was looking for. Busy and loud and poor eentrance staff and bar. Felt like I was in a budget hotel lobby at times.

Tags: Historic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Amazing service and great food!!! Celeb ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing service and great food!!! Celebrated my birthday there a couple days ago and will be a dinner I will never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best restaurant in NYC !

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best restaurant in NYC !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to the 21 Club based on the reco ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went to the 21 Club based on the recommendation of friends who had gone years ago. With all of the options in New York City giving up an evening for dinner in the city should be epic and for the price point it was expected. The food was good, very good in fact but not based on the prices charged. When I am paying $61 for a filet I want it to be a mind blowing experience. It was good, it was not mind blowing. The Sea Bass was flavorful but not filling and the chicken honestly was the best thing we ordered. What we found most interesting is when we ordered martinis and asked for Bleu Cheese olives on the side the server informed us that they charge extra for the olives, this was fine. My daughter ordered Arnold Palmers (lemonade and unsweet tea) and the server never told us that they were individually priced. You tell me about olives but not non alcoholic drinks? The décor was beautiful and very classic. The toys on the ceiling were interesting and sparked conversation but not too much conversation as there were about eight inches between our table and the one next to us. Service was fine, nothing that stood out, but nothing wrong. We were told to get the burger which we did not get so I suppose I would get the burger if going to the 21 Club was a bucket list experience.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We love going to the 21 Club! It is our ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We love going to the 21 Club! It is our favorite place in NYC!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

It was exciting to be in a place with so ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It was exciting to be in a place with so much history but like many NY gems it has become a tourist trap for families with too much money. As my friend said when we left, "Sinatra is rolling over in his grave with this crowd."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food is mediocre at best, good ingredien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food is mediocre at best, good ingredients and presentation but everything is plain, burger arrived well done instead of medium. Same story with four courses. BUT, if you don't mind spending that amount of money for visiting an "establishment" such as this then knock yourself out. Not sure why the rich and famous would unless they have no taste (wouldn't surprise me). Even the coffee was 5/10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Food was bland... Way over priced for wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was bland... Way over priced for what you received. Very disappointing.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Terrible. We waited 40 mins for our tabl ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Terrible. We waited 40 mins for our table, by 10pm we still had not had starters. Treated like second rate citizens, as non Americans, service poor, manners of the staff unacceptable and a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Outstanding restaurant. One of the best ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding restaurant. One of the best in the country

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Business Meals, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.