About 21 Club

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (138)
Great for Lunch (78)
Notable Wine List (76)
See All
Romantic (76)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Vibrant Bar Scene (43)
Good for Groups (42)
Hot Spot (32)
Late-night Find (19)
Historic (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Kid-friendly (7)
Cozy (6)
Scenic View (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2523 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I haven't been to 21 in many years, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 15 hours ago

I haven't been to 21 in many years, and I came away so happy, but upset with myself that I hadn't made this my favorite restaurant in NYC many years. I think I blocked it out because of the completely wrong perception that it was so much more than other NY restaurants and it was nearly impossible to get a reservation. How wrong I was, and have been for many years. When you are in your 20's.and 30's, everything seemed expensive in the city. In today's world in NYC even the smallest, non-descript, places cost as much, if not more than the 21 Club! Great food, service, ambiance , and a feeling of the history and famous patrons who sat where you are sitting in the past 80 or so years, makes it a truly rewarding experience. I hope to return many times and I strongly suggest others do the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time at the 21 Club last Sat ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a great time at the 21 Club last Saturday before a show. The food was delicious, the wine list comprehensive, and the service impeccable. Would definitely recommend for a special occasion/date night out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time, great service, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful time, great service, a great bottle of Shaeffer wine, food was great and again, the service was impeccable...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my wedding anniversary and I want ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was my wedding anniversary and I wanted a majestic place, a place with history and that what I felt. Thanks a lot Club 21. food and atmosphere was awesome!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, the service at 21 is impeccab ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

As always, the service at 21 is impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21 Club has been my wife's favorite NYC ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

21 Club has been my wife's favorite NYC stop for a few years now. Classic ambiance, impeccable service, and a great steak. We usually get the ribeye and split it with an appetizer. If you haven't tried this classic establishment, go. You won't be sorry.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been a fan of 21 Club for decades ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

I have been a fan of 21 Club for decades. Old school, clubby fantastic atmosphere. I was very disappointed with my recent visit. We were seated on time in the center section of the Bar Room at a banquette. I was hosting a couple that had not been there before. I asked the waiter to explain the history--he brought over a Captain. I told him I had been coming to 21 Club for decades--his response was, "then how come I have never seen you before." I live in Texas and travel to NYC several times year--21 Club is usually on my agenda. I learned during his brief talk that I was usually seated in the far section from the entrance which they refer to as Siberia. Nice. He followed with a very lackluster, unenthusiastic description. I had to prompt him to explain the ceiling hangings and the speakeasy history. We ordered drinks and a dozen East Coast oysters. We had to send the oysters back which we replaced with West Coast. They were better, but far from the best. We were not starving so decided to split a hamburger--ordered medium, caesar salad and were stumped on what else to order. The chicken hash was suggested. I had never had it and know it has been on the menu forever, so I decided to give it a try. The hamburger arrived basically raw and the chicken hash was terrible. Prior to dinner I asked the wine steward for a recommendation. He offered 2 selections from the same vineyard. One was an older vintage and the other younger. The older vintage was double the price. Since I was entertaining I asked his opinion if the more expensive was worth the price tag, which is recommended. We were not impressed. All in all the evening was a bust except for the delightful Europeans sitting next to us which we thoroughly enjoyed visiting with. I will give 21 Club another chance. However if it does not live up, I will strike it from my list. NYC has plenty of options, especially for a $700 dinner for 3 people.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Excellent food and service. Will defini ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent food and service. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was on my bucket list. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This restaurant was on my bucket list. Well worth the hype and wait. Loved it!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding service, notable wine list a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Outstanding service, notable wine list and the Best Burger in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a classic institution, I was disappoi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

As a classic institution, I was disappointed today. The air conditioning was malfunctioning, I asked three times if I could remove my jacket (finally was "approved" ) and the wines were poorly advised. My wife asked if the tuna was spicy, she was told no. It was too spicy. Our main courses were fine. Burger was excellent but not sure if worth $36 on its own. The ambiance is lovely. I should have stuck with the house Hobbs cabernet however. After a glass of the house Hobbs, I ordered a 2011 Bordeaux and they brought me a 2013 without declaring the updated year. Then took the sommelier's recommendation on a 2010 Bordeaux (in theory better than 2011) and it felt turned. I felt like I couldn't send back another bottle. Overall, a big disappointment for a place my father used to rave about in the 80s and 90s. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The restaurant severed what may have bee ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The restaurant severed what may have been the best steak that we had ever ordered in any restaurant. Our server and wait staff were beyond excellent. While very professional, they were all very nice. Gave us some fun facts and interesting history plus made my daughter's 21st birthday celebration more than special. Beautiful setting, nice and quiet for the ability to have pleasant conversation.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the 21 Club for a special occasi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Went to the 21 Club for a special occasion. Easily one of the best dining experiences ever. Exceeded our high expectations. Service and food 5 star. This coming from a professional cook, 25 years in the biz. Drop what your doing and go right now. . . Don't go on a hot day though. AC wasn't working to well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing experience. Hadn't be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Very disappointing experience. Hadn't been in years and while the interior is the same, it was really an overpriced disappointment. When I arrived on time for my 1230 reservation I was shown to a table next to the service station in an almost empty dining room -- which never got more than half full. I complained and was given a slightly better table but any maitre 'd who pulls that stunt automatically gets a negative review. The waitstaff were fine, but the air conditioning wasn't working and the famous 21 hamburgers were nothing special and certainly not worth the exorbitant prices

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The 21 Club was wonderful in every way! ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The 21 Club was wonderful in every way! The decor in the Bar Room was incredible (toys hanging from the ceiling brought in from CEO's, professional athletes, political figures, and celebrities), the 21 burger lived up to the hype and more, and the waitstaff was friendly & personable. We're kicking ourselves for waiting so long to pay this place a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was terrific, the ambience love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was terrific, the ambience lovely and the 21 Club is always a treat. BUT when we ordered a $35 bottle of White Burgundy with the Restaurant Week Menu our waiter reacted with dismay, saying no one ever ordered it. The waiter then mostly ignored us for the meal, never even asking if we wanted coffee or an after-dinner drink. By contrast, the Sommelier was absolutely charming and he and we loved the white burgundy, and the bartender where we went to sit for a nightcap was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I have been going to "21" for years and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been going to "21" for years and have never been disappointed with the food or service, both of which are outstanding. The standard for excellence from this marvelous restaurant is very high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service including help with massiv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great service including help with massive wine list - suggestion was awesome & not the most expensive. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for old school NYC, t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

If you are looking for old school NYC, this is it. Classic and old fashioned all around but an icon that is worth the experience if it is something on your list! Food was good but not spectacular, as there are so many great places to eat in the city with more creative and modern flare. But they did the basics well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Maybe my expectations were too high give ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Maybe my expectations were too high given the name. Lunch was ok. Service was ok. I have had better and expected better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Went during restaurant week. Will come b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went during restaurant week. Will come back anytime!! This place is fabulous. It is a true NY experience. The service, food, ambiance all superior. Consider the prix fixe as that is the real bargain. Regardless, worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is the best of any restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The service is the best of any restaurant I have ever been to. Knowledgable, friendly, and efficient from the waiters, maitre d' and the washroom attendants. The food is very good and the ambiance is unique. I look forward to my next visit. The parking for $15.00 is a steal!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, ambiance, all top notch. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food, service, ambiance, all top notch. A little pricey for every day dining, but definitely worthy of special occasion consideration. Ranks among top NY dining experiences.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So professional while remaining amiable, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

So professional while remaining amiable, it's still a great place after all these years. And they make one of the finest Old Fashioneds I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The 21 Club comes through again. Been t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The 21 Club comes through again. Been there several times before and it, once again, didn't disappoint. Brought 2 first-timers there for lunch, and they enjoyed the experience as well. A real bargain for $29 during Restaurant Week.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a fine experience. Some new offe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always a fine experience. Some new offerings forRestaurant Week. Very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar area is lovely, but what's with ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The bar area is lovely, but what's with the hanging trucks & football helmets in the dining area? Is this turning into a sports bar? Really disappointed w the decor or should I say lack of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Two gentlemen in the wait staff made our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Two gentlemen in the wait staff made our visit particularly memorable, their names were Chauncey and John. We could not have asked for better treatment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly, when dining with the 21 Club y ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Honestly, when dining with the 21 Club you come in with high expectations; however, our expectations were served a lackluster experience.

The food, while artfully prepared, lacked flavor in most cases. The caesar salad was watery and wilted. The foie gras had more of a sausage consistency than a pate. The fish was delicious, but the steak was fatty. The desserts did not make us want to rave about the place.

The kicker is when our table was forgotten about by the staff at the end. While waiting for our dessert, our waters were never filled, no drinks were offered, and 30 minutes later our dessert had yet to be deliver. Just a sour experience to top it off.

For years on years, the 21 Club has been ranked among the highest places to eat, but there are better and more notable restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

It was a fun place and maybe not exactly ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was a fun place and maybe not exactly what I expected. For all its reputation I was thinking something more along the lines of Delmonico's with fine table cloths and top rate service but this was a little more kitchsy with lots of memorabilia and kin knacks. Still, really fun place with a lot of history. They make s really great cocktail. It's a fun place with lively atmosphere and the food is not bad at all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a wonderful old-world restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is a wonderful old-world restaurant that I like to get to annually. Service is always great -

I have a feeling their staff has been there for years. Food is always delicious. I have never had a dish I did not love.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Incredible food by Chef Delpique! Such a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Incredible food by Chef Delpique! Such a great night overall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We come here twice a year for Restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We come here twice a year for Restaurant Week. We are usually in and out in an hr. One person couldn't make it so we alerted them of that fact. They seated us 1/2 hour AFTER our reservation time, and we got there on time, on our lunch hour. Went up to the a couple of times to check our status. They told us we should be seated in 4-5 mins. Fifteen minutes later, we were still waiting. They said they'll get us in and out. I asked "in a 1/2 hr?" since we only had 1/2 hr left. They responded 45 mins. When we were seated, we saw plenty of empty tables next to ours. They claimed a group of ppl just finished, which was not true because we were waiting for seats at the door the whole time. Needless to say, our lunch hour ended up being 1 1/2 hours. Food was good but annoyed that they did not respect our reservation time. Nor did they tell us or give us a heads up they were running late when we announced ourselves. I'll be further annoyed if they had our table for our reservation time but waited on giving us a table suited for the number of people we were reduced to (1 less), delaying our seats assignments.

I also had issues with the person answering the phones for reservations. She seemed annoyed from just answering the phones. Changed reservation time once, when I tried to cancel our reservations the following week, she was annoyed right off the bat after picking up the phone. Proceeded to yell at me for already changing my reservations once before. I understand restaurants would all like diners to keep their reservations, but things happen, I don't need to justify my reasons for making changes but I think this woman's job is to guilt you into not changing your reservations, or don't call her at all.

Of all the times I've been here, this has got to be the hands down worst experience, ever.

To be clear, food and waitstaff were great. Issues were with front desk/host and reservations desk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a great place for friend get-toge ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was a great place for friend get-together at 21 Club during restaurant week. TO experience a high-end restaurant and amble price. We appreciate the experience, and hope to make it a yearly ritual.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Was celebrating my 25 year old son's suc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Was celebrating my 25 year old son's success at his new job in the area. Took advantage of the Restaurant Week menu. Truly think such wonderful chefs (and management) could have made an effort to improve the choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week and it was an a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Went for restaurant week and it was an amazing value. The food is great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

We had a cocktail while waiting for gues ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had a cocktail while waiting for guests and the bartenders were very friendly and attentive. The waiter, although quite friendly, took an extraordinarily long time to arrive at the table and take our order. The food was fine but not worth the high price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Historic significance - exterior decorat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Historic significance - exterior decorations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We went for "Restaurant Week". The food ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went for "Restaurant Week". The food was at best mediocre. The service at our table was fairly good but wait staff dropped forks and one table had something dumped on them and had to move to another table. We thought the restaurant would be a bit more elegant. The hanging plastic trucks, old footballs, etc. made it more on the tacky side, in our opinion. It was very loud and therefore difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

We felt pampered by the excellent servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We felt pampered by the excellent service. This was our first time at the 21 Club despite being diehard lifelong New Yorkers. Most of our fellow diners appeared to be locals having business lunches, not tourists. The restaurant has a dress code and feels like a special, clubby place, with dark wood and sports objects hanging from above. We went during restaurant week and had the 3 course lunch. Everything was delicious but a standout was the molten lava chocolate cake. I was a bit surprised that my husband's wine was only $8 per glass but my Diet Cokes were $6 each!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.