About 21 Club

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (152)
Great for Lunch (87)
Notable Wine List (80)
See All
Fit for Foodies (78)
Romantic (76)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Good for Groups (49)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Hot Spot (34)
Late-night Find (21)
Great for Brunch (15)
Kid-friendly (9)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The 21 Club was wonderful in every way! ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The 21 Club was wonderful in every way! The decor in the Bar Room was incredible (toys hanging from the ceiling brought in from CEO's, professional athletes, political figures, and celebrities), the 21 burger lived up to the hype and more, and the waitstaff was friendly & personable. We're kicking ourselves for waiting so long to pay this place a visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was terrific, the ambience love ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was terrific, the ambience lovely and the 21 Club is always a treat. BUT when we ordered a $35 bottle of White Burgundy with the Restaurant Week Menu our waiter reacted with dismay, saying no one ever ordered it. The waiter then mostly ignored us for the meal, never even asking if we wanted coffee or an after-dinner drink. By contrast, the Sommelier was absolutely charming and he and we loved the white burgundy, and the bartender where we went to sit for a nightcap was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I have been going to "21" for years and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been going to "21" for years and have never been disappointed with the food or service, both of which are outstanding. The standard for excellence from this marvelous restaurant is very high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service including help with massiv ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great service including help with massive wine list - suggestion was awesome & not the most expensive. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for old school NYC, t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

If you are looking for old school NYC, this is it. Classic and old fashioned all around but an icon that is worth the experience if it is something on your list! Food was good but not spectacular, as there are so many great places to eat in the city with more creative and modern flare. But they did the basics well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Maybe my expectations were too high give ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Maybe my expectations were too high given the name. Lunch was ok. Service was ok. I have had better and expected better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

The service is the best of any restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The service is the best of any restaurant I have ever been to. Knowledgable, friendly, and efficient from the waiters, maitre d' and the washroom attendants. The food is very good and the ambiance is unique. I look forward to my next visit. The parking for $15.00 is a steal!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, ambiance, all top notch. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food, service, ambiance, all top notch. A little pricey for every day dining, but definitely worthy of special occasion consideration. Ranks among top NY dining experiences.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So professional while remaining amiable, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

So professional while remaining amiable, it's still a great place after all these years. And they make one of the finest Old Fashioneds I've ever had.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The 21 Club comes through again. Been t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The 21 Club comes through again. Been there several times before and it, once again, didn't disappoint. Brought 2 first-timers there for lunch, and they enjoyed the experience as well. A real bargain for $29 during Restaurant Week.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a fine experience. Some new offe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always a fine experience. Some new offerings forRestaurant Week. Very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The bar area is lovely, but what's with ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The bar area is lovely, but what's with the hanging trucks & football helmets in the dining area? Is this turning into a sports bar? Really disappointed w the decor or should I say lack of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Two gentlemen in the wait staff made our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Two gentlemen in the wait staff made our visit particularly memorable, their names were Chauncey and John. We could not have asked for better treatment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honestly, when dining with the 21 Club y ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Honestly, when dining with the 21 Club you come in with high expectations; however, our expectations were served a lackluster experience.

The food, while artfully prepared, lacked flavor in most cases. The caesar salad was watery and wilted. The foie gras had more of a sausage consistency than a pate. The fish was delicious, but the steak was fatty. The desserts did not make us want to rave about the place.

The kicker is when our table was forgotten about by the staff at the end. While waiting for our dessert, our waters were never filled, no drinks were offered, and 30 minutes later our dessert had yet to be deliver. Just a sour experience to top it off.

For years on years, the 21 Club has been ranked among the highest places to eat, but there are better and more notable restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

It was a fun place and maybe not exactly ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was a fun place and maybe not exactly what I expected. For all its reputation I was thinking something more along the lines of Delmonico's with fine table cloths and top rate service but this was a little more kitchsy with lots of memorabilia and kin knacks. Still, really fun place with a lot of history. They make s really great cocktail. It's a fun place with lively atmosphere and the food is not bad at all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a wonderful old-world restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This is a wonderful old-world restaurant that I like to get to annually. Service is always great -

I have a feeling their staff has been there for years. Food is always delicious. I have never had a dish I did not love.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Incredible food by Chef Delpique! Such a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Incredible food by Chef Delpique! Such a great night overall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We come here twice a year for Restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We come here twice a year for Restaurant Week. We are usually in and out in an hr. One person couldn't make it so we alerted them of that fact. They seated us 1/2 hour AFTER our reservation time, and we got there on time, on our lunch hour. Went up to the a couple of times to check our status. They told us we should be seated in 4-5 mins. Fifteen minutes later, we were still waiting. They said they'll get us in and out. I asked "in a 1/2 hr?" since we only had 1/2 hr left. They responded 45 mins. When we were seated, we saw plenty of empty tables next to ours. They claimed a group of ppl just finished, which was not true because we were waiting for seats at the door the whole time. Needless to say, our lunch hour ended up being 1 1/2 hours. Food was good but annoyed that they did not respect our reservation time. Nor did they tell us or give us a heads up they were running late when we announced ourselves. I'll be further annoyed if they had our table for our reservation time but waited on giving us a table suited for the number of people we were reduced to (1 less), delaying our seats assignments.

I also had issues with the person answering the phones for reservations. She seemed annoyed from just answering the phones. Changed reservation time once, when I tried to cancel our reservations the following week, she was annoyed right off the bat after picking up the phone. Proceeded to yell at me for already changing my reservations once before. I understand restaurants would all like diners to keep their reservations, but things happen, I don't need to justify my reasons for making changes but I think this woman's job is to guilt you into not changing your reservations, or don't call her at all.

Of all the times I've been here, this has got to be the hands down worst experience, ever.

To be clear, food and waitstaff were great. Issues were with front desk/host and reservations desk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a great place for friend get-toge ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was a great place for friend get-together at 21 Club during restaurant week. TO experience a high-end restaurant and amble price. We appreciate the experience, and hope to make it a yearly ritual.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

Was celebrating my 25 year old son's suc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Was celebrating my 25 year old son's success at his new job in the area. Took advantage of the Restaurant Week menu. Truly think such wonderful chefs (and management) could have made an effort to improve the choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant week and it was an a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Went for restaurant week and it was an amazing value. The food is great.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

We had a cocktail while waiting for gues ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We had a cocktail while waiting for guests and the bartenders were very friendly and attentive. The waiter, although quite friendly, took an extraordinarily long time to arrive at the table and take our order. The food was fine but not worth the high price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Historic significance - exterior decorat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Historic significance - exterior decorations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We went for "Restaurant Week". The food ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went for "Restaurant Week". The food was at best mediocre. The service at our table was fairly good but wait staff dropped forks and one table had something dumped on them and had to move to another table. We thought the restaurant would be a bit more elegant. The hanging plastic trucks, old footballs, etc. made it more on the tacky side, in our opinion. It was very loud and therefore difficult to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

We felt pampered by the excellent servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We felt pampered by the excellent service. This was our first time at the 21 Club despite being diehard lifelong New Yorkers. Most of our fellow diners appeared to be locals having business lunches, not tourists. The restaurant has a dress code and feels like a special, clubby place, with dark wood and sports objects hanging from above. We went during restaurant week and had the 3 course lunch. Everything was delicious but a standout was the molten lava chocolate cake. I was a bit surprised that my husband's wine was only $8 per glass but my Diet Cokes were $6 each!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was pleasantly surprised. Outstanding fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised. Outstanding food and presentation

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall nice time to meet up with frien ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Overall nice time to meet up with friends And enjoy a good meal and drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

WE ENJOYED A WONDERFUL JOINT BIRTHDAY LU ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

WE ENJOYED A WONDERFUL JOINT BIRTHDAY LUNCH AND APPRECIATED THE EXCELLENT SERVICE AND LOVELY MANNER OF THE STAFF - IN ADDITION TO THE GREAT FOOD.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal at the 21 Club. Recently had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great meal at the 21 Club. Recently had the pleasure of taking my son to lunch here. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the warm and professional staff. Wonderful old school vibe. The waiter was very attentive. We both enjoyed our steaks prepared med rare as ordered.

The dessert we ordered was a delicious well balanced chocolate lava cake with fresh berries and vanilla ice cream. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice and typical American style restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nice and typical American style restaurant. There's a small garden in the front of the restaurant so if you arrive earlier than your friends it's a good place to sit. Cocktails is a little bit pricy but there's a variety of choices. The grilled steak on the prefix lunch menu is surprisingly good. It's a good place to have lunch with friends in business.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is not impressive at all. Servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food is not impressive at all. Service is rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent location for pre-theatre dinne ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent location for pre-theatre dinner. A very interesting decor and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stayed in New York for four days and wan ...

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Stayed in New York for four days and wanted to take our nine year old daughter to a really special and iconic restaurant. She (and we) loved it. Great service and plenty on menu for her to choose from. Would recommend without hesitation. Can't wait to visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighbourhood Gem, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was attentive. Wonderful wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service was attentive. Wonderful waiter. Explained the history of the restaurant. We sat at Fred Trump's "Table". We went for restaurant week menu. Delicious food. Must go there once in your lifetime, and the least expensive way is through Restaurant Week. We were treated so well and the drinks were exquisite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First class all the way. Was here during ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

First class all the way. Was here during Restaurant Week. Tried the RW menu and it was excellent. Great service and ambiance in the Bar Room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Restaurant Week favorite. Enjoy the h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

A Restaurant Week favorite. Enjoy the history, the great service and the atmosphere. Portions are a bit small but that's understandable. Good wine bargains. Our waiter Mike was especially attentive and thoughtful as was our maitre d' .

Thank you for an overall delightful lunch experience.

J Maxwell Barrett

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to go for an intimate experi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great place to go for an intimate experience. They sit mixed couples next to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful experience. Service was impe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

A wonderful experience. Service was impeccable, it lived up to its reputation. It was just like I remember it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great best in New York old school

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great best in New York old school

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had high expectations for this place, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I had high expectations for this place, but much to my surprise, I found the food to be absolutely tasteless and terrible. I thought I was the only one feeling this way, but both my friends commented on how terrible their entrees were; we all got something difference. The place itself was really nice. Also, our waiter only checked on us once during our entire stay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.