About 21 Club

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 12:00PM - 2:30PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 12:00PM - 2:30PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (171)
notable wine list (111)
fit for foodies (91)
See All
great for lunch (84)
romantic (82)
neighborhood gem (79)
good for groups (67)
vibrant bar scene (57)
hot spot (44)
late-night find (24)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I go often. The service, as ...

Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I go often. The service, as well as the food is excellent. This time there was a desert with "white strawberries" which we had never heard of. Well, it was heaven.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

adorable

Dined 6 days ago

it might be your best date, your very special occasion. It is one of the best in NYC

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for a business lunch. Servic ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great place for a business lunch. Service and food very good.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a unique venue in which to meet ...

Dined 7 days ago

This is a unique venue in which to meet friends. I would suggest asking your server about the toys hanging from the ceiling. The menu is what you would expect; predictable eponymous dishes, priced for business expense clientele. My $26 dollar "21" hamburger was very good but one would only pay that much for either a Kobe burger (which it wasn't) or for the privilege of eating at this iconic location

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

extraordinary service, extremely graciou ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

extraordinary service, extremely gracious and welcoming from the moment we entered the restaurant. the food was exceptional. the mac and cheese my 12 daughter had was the best she has ever had to the filet I had enjoyed, the food was wonderful. we were surprised by how perfect the service was.

Tags: romance, special occasions, late night find, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Forever 21, But Glory Is Fading

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

A glorious institution but the glory days are a memory. Half-empty testosterone palace now serves its classic burger hopelessly overcooked but boastfully overpriced. The stockbroker crowd munches the mediocre food, arguing about Trump and too young to know what 21 was in The Day. But the conversations were lively and the clientele, though sparse at 8 p.m. on a weeknight, appeared satisfied. It's still a great place for a drink. And If you're OK with risking sending something back until it's cooked properly, you can soak up some old-school New York glamour and imagine what it was like in its heyday. 21 still looks spit-shined and immaculate, the service is deft and confident, but with 1,000-point bonuses from Open Table, the restaurant appears to be gasping for breath. Want the real thing, circa 2016? Try Minetta.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old time favorite.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Vibrant, great food and wine, sophisticated. Love this place!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere! Splendid steak and s ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing atmosphere! Splendid steak and superb drinks. Very very good place. Like it a lot. Will definitely go back there!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21 Club is a classic and must dine NY restaurant

Dined on May 9, 2016

Steeped in history, stories and tradition, one of my favorite restaurants with outstanding service. Get Phil the wine sommelier to help you select from the fabulous wine list, the food is great, ambiance excellent, the standards remain high throughout theirs, a real treat! Wonderful for cocktails too, just get the captain with the bow tie to help you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to The 21 Club for our friend's Birthday - it was GREAT!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chauncey and John P made us feel like ol ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Chauncey and John P made us feel like old friends. Dover sole top notch. It's a NYC tradition for a reason.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great for business meetings!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great for business meetings!

food5
ambience5
service5

Well you are never disappointed at the 2 ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Well you are never disappointed at the 21 but maybe ruined. For example, I can never have baked mac and cheese anywhere else. Truffle Mac and cheese redefined Mac and cheese for me. Thank you 21 for yet another unforgettable and lovely experience.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New York Gem

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

I love the 21 Club for out of town business guests especially. It is a wonderful blend of old New York, great service, style and grace. Servers and guests alike are friendly and in good spirits. This is destination dining and cocktails.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

NYC Icon

Dined on May 3, 2016

Always heard about the 21 Club, but I never had an occasion to go there. I wanted to try it out, so I used a Nephew's Bday as the excuse. The service really was outstanding; very attentative, but not hovering. The food was also excellent. I wouldn't categorize it as "foodie" level, but just really well done and tasty. Worth the special splurge.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service2

Horrible. Crazy overpriced. Empty for ...

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Horrible. Crazy overpriced. Empty for lunch. Never again.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Ask for Chauncey

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Since 21 Club is a new gem, I have entertained clients over 20 times but have never been remembered nor greeted with a warm welcome. Until I Chauncey was my server. He remembered and gave outstanding service. His service changed my experiences at 21 Club. This establishment maybe famous and have old clientele but for any business I think it's important to attract new guests. The food has always been good but the service makes the dining experience that much more special. I highly recommend you request for Chauncey! I'm a fan.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

anniversary disappointment

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I celebrated out anniversary in NYC and used a gift certificate our daughter had given us for Christmas. While the wait staff and receptionist wished us a happy anniversary when we arrived, we were not made to feel special during our entire meal.....no complementary drink or small dessert. We also sat for almost ten minutes before our dinner dishes were cleared and had to ask for our check. Given the prices at the 21 Club, we felt we should have had a more positive experience. We doubt we'll go there again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Time!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had a great time. This was our third time dining here and everything was fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our choice for dining at 21 Club was excellent. We were seated at a lovely table that gave us a broad view of the dining room. The ceiling was unique , historical and yet comfortable. All of our servers were attentive without being annoying. Food was delicious and perfectly served. Since we were going to a play after dinner, the location was great. We enjoyed every moment of our evening and would certainly return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a trip down memory lane for me!

Dined on April 29, 2016

Seated at Bogart/Bacall's table with my daughter where I sat for lunch during a honeymoon stop-over in 1962 added to the overall thrill of being back at 21. The wonderful service was highlighted by our conversations with John who took excellent care of us. The cocktails, wines and foods were perfect and I hope to be back at 21 again before so many years go by! The warmth of the atmosphere made us forget we'd have to go back into the rain before taking our seats in the theatre!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy - Easy going Dining

Dined on April 29, 2016

Service was amazing, people were great . They gave us a private tour down at the cellar. Everything we ordered was just spectacular . Dessert was great too! Overall a great place to go if you want to feel relaxed and enjoy some great food and good wine! Very CLASSY .

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a treat. So nice to step into the ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

What a treat. So nice to step into the past, and we really appreciated all the love that went into the traditional dishes and the gracious and fun service.

food3
ambience3
service3

Fun place, with all the funny stuff hang ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Fun place, with all the funny stuff hanging from the ceiling!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Happy anniversary

Dined on April 27, 2016

From the moment we walked in the door we were treated very special. We were 2 couples celebrating anniversaries and we thought 21 club would be a typical New York experience and we were not disappointed

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Dinner!

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I celebrated his birthday at the 21 Club; it was fabulous! We enjoyed our dinners, and our servers were very attentive and professional. We're looking forward to dining here again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great meal with comfortable ambience

Dined on April 26, 2016

We enjoyed the pre-theater prix fixe menu. The salads and appetizers were excellent. We had both vegetarian cavatelli and steak entrees, uniformly praised. The desserts were equally fine. The Charles Krug cabernet we enjoyed was a hit with all three of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

21 is one of the few remaining bulwarks ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

21 is one of the few remaining bulwarks of the kind of legendary and historic New York fine dining establishments that haute cuisine dreams are made of. Beautifully executed classical American fare (aged bone-in rib-eye, crabcakes, wild mushrooms, corn chowder) with a keen update here and there; impeccable old school service from all levels of the staff; a vibrantly nostalgic main dining room and elegant front bar area; and whimsically crafted and presented desserts (21 Express) are what I expected and got on my visit to 21 this past weekend.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The decor is odd and quirky which adds t ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The decor is odd and quirky which adds to the old world charm. The service is impeccable, we were well taken care of but never rushed or hovered over. The staff are the most professional in the business. The food is pricey but worth every penny. The classic menu sections were exactly what we were looking for the the execution perfect. Wonderful experience all around.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration

Dined on April 20, 2016

A lovely place for a birthday celebration. It was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

No service for 25 minutes. We ordered a ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

No service for 25 minutes. We ordered a bottle of wine, which they didn't know was on the menu. Never tasted the food, or the wine. Left after 30 minutes, when a glass of water was spilled on us and wine still not served. Clearly an establishment that people revisit due to nostalgia sake, not because it can compete in this foodie city. By he way, we never walk out on meals. We just couldn't fathom paying $300 for a meal with such poor service.

food5
ambience5
service5

No longer featuring a prix fixe at lunch ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

No longer featuring a prix fixe at lunch so it is rather pricey. Wine is of high quality. Also expensive, even for NYC prices. Food is great and service is timely without being rushed.

food3
ambience4
service4

It was fun to go to the famed 21 Club. G ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

It was fun to go to the famed 21 Club. Great service and loved the ceiling decor! The food was adequate but not necessarily good enough to bring me back. Might consider going with friends for drinks though.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21

Dined on April 11, 2016

I think that this is the best restaurant in New York City.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Cold and missing

Dined on April 9, 2016

Entrees were cold. Wine course with entrees was forgotten and delivered with desert. Cool place that needs to refocus on being a restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

bar review

Dined on April 9, 2016

My wife and i had drinks and dinner at the bar. Eddie K. Dinner was great, and service as well. Thanks to all! Doug Thomas

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food/ great service alway!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Great food/ great service alway!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Mixture of an Experience

Dined on April 5, 2016

Great location, ambience & setting. Service was cold & not overly friendly. Good expensive.

Tags: lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

21 keeps getting better and better

Dined on April 4, 2016

Lunch with friends at 21 this past Monday was superb, as usual -- outstanding fare, superior, unobtrusive service, and that oh-so-cozy and charming and most intimate setting -- a true oasis in the heart of mid-town Manhattan -- an absolute favorite of mine -- 38 years and counting!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic New York experience!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We loved this NYC iconic spot for our pre theater dinner! The food was fabulous, the service was excellent and the cocktails were delightful!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.