About 21 Club

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 21 Club, New York, NY
  • 21 Club, New York, NY
  • 21 Club, New York, NY
  • 21 Club, New York, NY
  • 21 Club, New York, NY
21 Club, New York, NY
21 Club, New York, NY
21 Club, New York, NY
21 Club, New York, NY
21 Club, New York, NY

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

6PM Seating: regular á la carte menu; 9PM Seating: enjoy a sumptuous 4-course menu in the famous Bar Room or intimate Upstairs at '21', live music, dancing, & midnight Champagne toast ($275/person)

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Historic (50)
Notable Wine List (45)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (42)
Romantic (39)
Great for Lunch (37)
Good for a Date (33)
Business Meals (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (26)
People Watching (25)
Cozy (25)
Fun (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Authentic (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Comfort Food (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fireplace (8)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Private Room (4)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A fun once a year spot

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

A fun once a year spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Super festive atmosphere, delish drinks ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Super festive atmosphere, delish drinks and food, and happily accommodated our last minute reservation change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous place to spend a birthday!

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous place to spend a birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a great evening. Lobby area ver ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall a great evening. Lobby area very nice and service outstanding. The most impressive was the overall service and attention to patrons.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21 Club is a New York institution. An i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

21 Club is a New York institution. An iconic restaurant that never disappoints. We go there on every visit we make to NYC. The Dover sole is to die for and the atmosphere bustles with the pulse of the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very expensive but worth every penny. Gr ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very expensive but worth every penny. Great ambience and the most delicious food. The beef filet melted in your mouth. The burger was fantastic and the Rum cake was to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great, as always!!! Alwa ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Everything was great, as always!!! Always love meeting new people when we are there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience. The dessert is absol ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

A great experience. The dessert is absolutely impressive! Also a good choice for NYC visitors.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were told by several friends that the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We were told by several friends that the 21 Club was the ultimate in NY dining, and it did not disappoint. Drinks at the bar while waiting on our reservation, followed by a great meal. It is worth every penny and more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best. New York's only 6 star ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always the best. New York's only 6 star experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was such a magical experience. A lo ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This was such a magical experience. A lot of history- amazing drinks! Perfect steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was superb, as we knew it woul ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The meal was superb, as we knew it would be. The only difficulty was that when we showed up, they had no record of a reservation. They finally searched by my phone number and said we'd actually reserved a table for 12/14 and not for 11/30. They very kindly sat us anyway, and at a great table, but I was made to feel that it was my mistake -- when apparently it was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21 Club is so very Classic and full of S ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

21 Club is so very Classic and full of Style.

We always love dining there. We can't wait to attend lunch during the Salvation Army Band show later in December.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was a great dining experience ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Overall it was a great dining experience. It was my husband's first time in NYC during the holidays and I wanted to take him to all the iconic locations. The food and service were outstanding, however the noise level almost made it unbearable. We could not hear each other talk at all. I would recommend going to 21 if you are with a large group, but one on one for a date, I'd definitely pick another spot. I do want to emphasize, though, that the food and service remains outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a fantastic time at this venerabl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had a fantastic time at this venerable New York establishment. I had not eaten there in at least five years and I was happy to see the food, the service and the ambiance were still top notch. Thank you for a wonderful night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A trip in the wayback machine to old New ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A trip in the wayback machine to old New York. Great steaks, great cocktails, kindly waiters.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eclectic atmosphere. Great food.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Eclectic atmosphere. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It does not get any better. The wait sta ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It does not get any better. The wait staff was so attentive to our every need. They even presented a beautiful anniversary dessert for our friends that were celebrating. Their anniversary. Food was perfect. What a treat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tis was a special get-together for frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tis was a special get-together for friends visiting from U.K. who were thrilled

to enjoy historic New York - 5 stars all around. Thank you.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have dined at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is the second time we have dined at Club 21 whilst holidaying in New York. We celebrated our daughter's 21st birthday there last year and had booked the more formal and intimate dining room upstairs at 21.

This year we booked downstairs and although the seating is very close together, the atmosphere was more lively and more fun. The staff were very attentive and helpful - eg. I didn't see a cocktail on the drinks menu that appealed to my palette and immediately the server said he would get one made up at the bar for me...(and it was delicious!)

I would recommend Club 21 as a rather special place to dine..... enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

21 is a perfectly delightful experience ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

21 is a perfectly delightful experience in all ways. It's an institution in NYC, serves fabulous food, and the waitstaff is friendly and knowledgeable. They even told us about President-elect Trump's visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been a long time since a waiter h ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 25, 2016

It has been a long time since a waiter has asked if we would like something from the bar, served our requested cocktail and then actually gave us time to enjoy it before providing menus. The meal was fabulous and on our time. Lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic place

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Fantastic place

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Club 21 is over priced and over rated, t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Club 21 is over priced and over rated, the food was very basic for the price we paid and the waiters acted as if they were entitled to a tip even though the service was poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

This is the letter that I sent the Gener ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is the letter that I sent the General Manager, Teddy Suric, and haven't heard a word back.

Dear Mr. Suric,

I have been a customer of the 21 Club

For 38 years and every Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve we spend at the 21 Club. I have a confirmation number

97322241 for my Reservation.

Yet I received a phone call today from a woman from the 21 Club saying their was a glitch and my reservation was being cancelled.

We go there 6-10x a year. We were just there for Thanksgiving.

We get treated so well there and all the guys feel like family to me. My sister passed & my mom passed & it is my first Christmas without my Mom-and then I get a phone call telling me there was a glitch and she is cancelling our reservation. This just isn't right. It's our family tradition to go there. We even look forward to the Salvation Army Christmas Carols.

I would appreciate any assistance you can give me.

Sincerely,

Barbara Ann Reilly

732-779-7369

Sent from my iPhone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Always fun--a great experience.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always fun--a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, delicious food and hu ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food and huge portions. Nice drink menu too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was slow but was made up by an a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Service was slow but was made up by an amazing experience. The food is spectacular. Try to get a more senior server to talk about the people who have been through this place. The stories are worth more than the food. The wait staff were great, albeit slow. But the experience was worth every minute. Oh yea and the good was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

NY iconic spot for a reason! Incomparabl ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 22, 2016

NY iconic spot for a reason! Incomparable experience from start to finish. Can't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our new go to NYC steak house We are onl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Our new go to NYC steak house

We are only 80 years late to the party !

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great time. Great atmosphere and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had great time. Great atmosphere and food and service fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and Phillip did a great ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and Phillip did a great job. The chicken has is like chicken a la king. 😊 great place to eat dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Just a wonderful and a more casual/elega ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Just a wonderful and a more casual/elegant dining venue in Manhattan. Food and service was outstanding. Lovely restaurant with lots of history. It's a NYC landmark. Missed seeing Trump by only 2-days!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The board oh health decided to inspect 2 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The board oh health decided to inspect 21 Club Friday evening right after we were seated and ordered our dinner. And that's the one inspection per year given . The kitchen was shut down until at least 8 pm and everyone there apologized profusely and called another quality restaurant close by and made reservations for us. That was the BofH taking revenge on 21 Club because Trump dined there the week before. Maybe put up by the idiotic mayor of New York city. How insane was that.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant service was stopped before ou ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Restaurant service was stopped before our main course was served because the health department decided to show up for their annual review on a Friday night at 7:00pm. That was one for the books!!!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Best steak ever, rib eye. Wonderful, v ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Best steak ever, rib eye. Wonderful, very well stocked bar with great bartenders. Celebrity sighting occasionally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was sat at a table that bumped every f ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I was sat at a table that bumped every few minutes/ it was hot/ bartenders did not serve me nibbles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Air conditioning was out of service and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Air conditioning was out of service and it was so hot that my shirt was soaked. Steak was over cooked which of course meant my guest ate alone and then I ate alone. Very unprofessional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Seating side by side was lovely. Attenti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Seating side by side was lovely.

Attentive wait staff.

Delicious food.

Generous cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is one of our favorite places. We ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is one of our favorite places. We were traveling with our teenage nieces and we were working to find places that we love but would also be interesting to them. The food here is always incredible and the service is excellent. The chicken hash is brilliant - must have!

We did have a slight hiccup when we first arrived. Our table was not ready so they invited us to sit in the bar, but teengagers can't sit in the bar. The bartender invited us to sit in red leather wing chairs near the fireplace and adjacent to the bar, only to be told by another waiter that the seats were reserved. Yet another waiter/host told us we would have to vacate the seats by 9:30pm as they were reserved. I said great - we would gladly move as soon as our table was ready which was supposed to be at 8:30pm, but it was nearing 9pm..... A bit of a miscommunication by their staff, but overall we had a great time.

Highly recommended -

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.