About 21 Club

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Midtown West ›

special occasion (126)
notable wine list (82)
fit for foodies (60)
See All
romantic (59)
great for lunch (57)
neighborhood gem (54)
good for groups (47)
vibrant bar scene (40)
hot spot (29)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (7)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience at the 21 ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience at the 21 Club. Our pre theatre dinner was first class, wait staff and all! Thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food, impeccable service, grea ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Fantastic food, impeccable service, great ambiance. 21 has been on my wish list for a long time and it met all my expectations. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had dinner at 21 Club. It was very g ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had dinner at 21 Club. It was very good, but very, very expensive. You are paying for the history of the restaurant. We enjoyed going there for dinner once; we will not return simply because it is so expensive. The service and food is outstanding, but not nearly worth the high price you will pay for it. Great for a special occasion. Lunch may be a better time to visit.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best all around restaurants-- ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best all around restaurants--great food, great service, great place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, fabulous service, wonder ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great ambiance, fabulous service, wonderful food!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I like 21 and am always satisfied when I ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I like 21 and am always satisfied when I take friends and family there Good for just going out for dinner or a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were interested to see the decor, but ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We were interested to see the decor, but did not know what the background story for all the toys on the ceiling. A friend gave us the story about Howard Hughes and then everyone else wanting the free advertising. What fun! A fabulous martini and the osso bucco was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always when I visit New York from the ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

As always when I visit New York from the UK the 21 did not let me down

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice nostalgia trip for one of us whose ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Nice nostalgia trip for one of us whose parents used to go there a great deal, and very good waiter with fascinating anecdotes.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Twenty One continues to shine as an outp ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Twenty One continues to shine as an outpost of quality, intimacy and taste. This outing was to celebrate the birthday of a prized family patriarch and the staff of Twenty One rose to the occasion. Thank you for making this an even more memorable event. We look forward to returning often.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is always a must do for us when we ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This is always a must do for us when we get to visit NYC. They treat you like royalty. The food is great, love getting dressed up to dine and being around others doing the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a great time for us , will return a ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Just a great time for us , will return again. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place if you will be attending a t ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great place if you will be attending a theater show afterwards...service is over the top very gracious and humble the staff at 21 was the night I went for pre fix dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just What the Doctor Ordered

Dined on June 8, 2016

Debbie and I stopped into 30W44th Street as she gave me a membership to the Penn Club for my first retirement birthday, but only 21W52nd Street will do for a celebratory luncheon. From the moment we were greeted (by name, or course) until we left to face a downpour, “21” remains, in the words of Bryan Miller, “a marvelous rich man’s sandbox.” Debbie had the incomparable Idaho Trout Almondine and I enjoyed the legendary ‘21’ burger; we had just enough room left to split a decadent Saint-Domingue Chocolate Soufflé. Naturally, the service is impeccable, the atmosphere delightful, and the clientele without compare. Incidentally, Billy Seeman’s table (#11, now frequented by The Donald) is ideal to see the panorama of the Bar Room without being seen. Although “21” has never been a private club, it feels like one; today Debbie wore her Nr. XXV scarf (jockeys) and I surprised her with a Nr. XXXXX (Remington), and, to express my thanks to the staff, I left a 1950 edition of “’The Iron Gate’ of Jack & Charlie’s ‘21’” in which patrons of renown wrote and drew their impressions of the former SpeakEasy. Truly, at “21” one does not just visit an icon, one is permitted to become a part of it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Even though our reservation at 8 pm and ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Even though our reservation at 8 pm and I was there on time (barely) but other 3 guests were late by 10-15 minutes due to downpour and couldn't get tax. We were told that we needed to wait for 15 minutes but we ended up waiting till 9.15 pm. More upsetting was that the group that came after us.. were seated about 30 minutes before us. 3 of the 4 people had drinks at the bar while waiting but the establishment didn't even offer to absorb the cost of the drinks. This place has changed quite a lot (tie is no longer mandatory) since I used to frequent this place 30 years ago when my office was nearby... Very disappointing ...

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good for a one time visit

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and service were good but the tables were on top of one another making it almost impossible to have a conversation. We had a drink at the bar before dinner and the atmosphere was far more relaxed and intimate.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place! Nice for a special nigh ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful place! Nice for a special night or just celebrating for no reason. Just make sure your pockets are full!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A+++ evening!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Our wait staff was EXCELLENT--bartender/waiter/sommelier/waitress! Everyone one of them. Same for the staff who greeted us at the door. A+++ all the way. Treated us like celebrities. Great drinks. Nice/thoughtful "Happy Anniversary " sign made of chocolate on our dessert. Lump crabmeat delicious! Chicken hash a slight disappointment--huge portion, too thick. But we will defintely return. Ambience was out of this world. A wonderful evening. Thank you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Just a Memory.

Dined on June 2, 2016

21 Club may be a NYC Icon but the quality and price do not meet the expectations and comparison to other currently appreciated restaurants in the area. The staff was absolutely the best part of the experience.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, cozy place.

Dined on June 1, 2016

Good food, cozy place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Memorable - expensive, but worth every penny.

Dined on June 1, 2016

One of the most memorable dining experiences I have ever had. Good to see the ceiling. Expensive but I knew it would be. The overall experience was amazing. My friends stunned. And capped off with a private tour of the secret cellar.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Most "Powerful" Restaurant in New York

Dined on June 1, 2016

When it comes to power, there's no place like 21 Club. The speakeasy history of 21 Club is powerful NYC lore. The legends, the people who dine there and hang at the bar define power, globally. The dining rooms are elegant, quiet and still bursting with electric energy. Besides being an amazing power spot, 21 Club is incredibly romantic. If I ever propose, again :), it will be in the wine cellar at 21 Club...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Quality Classic

Dined on May 31, 2016

Where established New Yorker's enjoy fine dinning with an excellent sellection of wine. There is an interesting atmosphere which feels refined, calm and intelegent. The staff interaction with other guests suggested that there were a number of regulars which gave it a slight homely tone.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointing. I have been to 21 for tw ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Disappointing. I have been to 21 for two other special occasions, including New Years Eve about 8 years ago. Our experience then was great, this time we were really disappointed, especially for $300+. The service was mediocre. We were not offered pepper with our Cesar, and the follow up by the waiter was "you ok?" rather than a "I hope you find everything to your liking". At the table next to us, a server spilled an entire Cesar salad on a patron, and while it was cleaned up, I know her clothes were stained with dressing, including her expensive bag. Never did I see a manager apologize to the table, and the patrons were really unhappy. For the cost of this place, there are MUCH better restaurants to visit. I guess they rely on the tourist traffic so much that they have let it slide. We won't be back.

food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Four of us had lunch on Wednesday May 25 ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Four of us had lunch on Wednesday May 25th. Everything was great with one big exception. My wife and I ordered two glasses of Pinot noir. Was totally shocked when I got the bill that the two glasses cost $52. The waiter never mentioned the wine was that expensive. A companion had wine at $14 per glass. I feel I was totally ripped off.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone we encountered went out of thei ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everyone we encountered went out of their way to make us feel welcome...I was treating my friend for her birthday, and I so appreciated Chauncey bringing a special desert to the table...it made her day....it was our first visit and it was everything we had hoped it would be.....thank you again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fun and tasty pre show dining. Would hav ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Fun and tasty pre show dining. Would have enjoyed reading about restaurant history on menu perhaps.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I go often. The service, as ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I go often. The service, as well as the food is excellent. This time there was a desert with "white strawberries" which we had never heard of. Well, it was heaven.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

adorable

Dined on May 19, 2016

it might be your best date, your very special occasion. It is one of the best in NYC

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place for a business lunch. Servic ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great place for a business lunch. Service and food very good.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a unique venue in which to meet ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

This is a unique venue in which to meet friends. I would suggest asking your server about the toys hanging from the ceiling. The menu is what you would expect; predictable eponymous dishes, priced for business expense clientele. My $26 dollar "21" hamburger was very good but one would only pay that much for either a Kobe burger (which it wasn't) or for the privilege of eating at this iconic location

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

extraordinary service, extremely graciou ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

extraordinary service, extremely gracious and welcoming from the moment we entered the restaurant. the food was exceptional. the mac and cheese my 12 daughter had was the best she has ever had to the filet I had enjoyed, the food was wonderful. we were surprised by how perfect the service was.

Tags: romance, special occasions, late night find, hot spot
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Forever 21, But Glory Is Fading

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

A glorious institution but the glory days are a memory. Half-empty testosterone palace now serves its classic burger hopelessly overcooked but boastfully overpriced. The stockbroker crowd munches the mediocre food, arguing about Trump and too young to know what 21 was in The Day. But the conversations were lively and the clientele, though sparse at 8 p.m. on a weeknight, appeared satisfied. It's still a great place for a drink. And If you're OK with risking sending something back until it's cooked properly, you can soak up some old-school New York glamour and imagine what it was like in its heyday. 21 still looks spit-shined and immaculate, the service is deft and confident, but with 1,000-point bonuses from Open Table, the restaurant appears to be gasping for breath. Want the real thing, circa 2016? Try Minetta.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old time favorite.

Dined on May 10, 2016

Vibrant, great food and wine, sophisticated. Love this place!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere! Splendid steak and s ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Amazing atmosphere! Splendid steak and superb drinks. Very very good place. Like it a lot. Will definitely go back there!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

21 Club is a classic and must dine NY restaurant

Dined on May 9, 2016

Steeped in history, stories and tradition, one of my favorite restaurants with outstanding service. Get Phil the wine sommelier to help you select from the fabulous wine list, the food is great, ambiance excellent, the standards remain high throughout theirs, a real treat! Wonderful for cocktails too, just get the captain with the bow tie to help you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding!!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to The 21 Club for our friend's Birthday - it was GREAT!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chauncey and John P made us feel like ol ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Chauncey and John P made us feel like old friends. Dover sole top notch. It's a NYC tradition for a reason.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great for business meetings!

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great for business meetings!

food5
ambience5
service5

Well you are never disappointed at the 2 ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Well you are never disappointed at the 21 but maybe ruined. For example, I can never have baked mac and cheese anywhere else. Truffle Mac and cheese redefined Mac and cheese for me. Thank you 21 for yet another unforgettable and lovely experience.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.