About 21 Club

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
  • 21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club
21 Club

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (108)
notable wine list (66)
romantic (52)
See All
great for lunch (51)
fit for foodies (50)
neighborhood gem (41)
good for groups (36)
vibrant bar scene (33)
hot spot (25)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tables very closely spaced to the point ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Tables very closely spaced to the point you can overhear the conversations of others. Very much a gentleman's club but worth the ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

So personable and interesting in providi ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

So personable and interesting in providing a great experience for new guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unique setting with lots of sports & oth ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Unique setting with lots of sports & other memorabilia hanging from the ceiling. The waitstaff was very attentive & friendly and the food was fabulous. We had a pre -fixed dinner before the theater which included a three course meal for a very reasonable price. The restaurant is centrally located to many theaters, so it was no problem to get there in plenty of time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A return visit to my husband's favourite ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A return visit to my husband's favourite New York restaurant. The cocktails are excellent ,a good wine list. Very busy when we arrived earlier than the appointed time but we were accommodated- suddenly the place empties- not our doing- but clearly popular for business lunches. Good efficient service. We shared a tuna starter, each had the filet mignon with peppercorn sauce which was excellent and then shared profiteroles. Not cheap but a lovely meal in ambient surroundings

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've been waiting to go to the restauran ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I've been waiting to go to the restaurant for many years. I was pricey but well worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here many times and have ne ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been here many times and have never been disappointed. We have introduced many friends who feel the trip from Long Island is well worth the traffic. Sit at Chauncy and John's area for a truly enjoyable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we picked this restaurant on one of our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

we picked this restaurant on one of our trips to new york city given it's history, location, and desirable menu. the food really was excellent, however the service was lacking on our visit. we arrived at 7pm on a friday night and the restaurant was not that busy, however it took over five minutes just to get drinks ordered, no water as we sat down or menus placed at our table. we found this interesting, as we were seated right next to the bar and being that the restaurant was well staffed and plenty of individuals standing around. once we finally ordered service did improve. for the price point, the evening should have been flawless. we probably won't go back or if we do, we'll eat at the bar in the front of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We had a terrific waiter and he was very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a terrific waiter and he was very good to the children. The only downside was a dog at the table next to us. Very yucky--whimpering and smelly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We loved our dinner at 21 Club. The foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We loved our dinner at 21 Club. The food was delicious, the waiters were attentive and the decorations were fascinating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch! Absolutely spectacular food ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Top notch! Absolutely spectacular food and the 21 Club did such a nice job of making us feel like honored guests for our daughter's 21st Birthday celebration. I would recommend this as a wonderful special occasion spot for any occasion. The steak tartare was perfection! The extensive wine list is pricey, but worth it. And the waitstaff was all wonderfully attentive. A+ all around!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed the 21 club for over 40y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have enjoyed the 21 club for over 40years. Great service ambiance and food

Always get there when we are in town

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful experience at the 21 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at the 21 Club. Our pre theatre dinner was first class,

wait staff and all! Thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, impeccable service, grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Fantastic food, impeccable service, great ambiance. 21 has been on my wish list for a long time and it met all my expectations. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner at 21 Club. It was very g ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had dinner at 21 Club. It was very good, but very, very expensive. You are paying for the history of the restaurant. We enjoyed going there for dinner once; we will not return simply because it is so expensive. The service and food is outstanding, but not nearly worth the high price you will pay for it. Great for a special occasion. Lunch may be a better time to visit.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the best all around restaurants-- ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

One of the best all around restaurants--great food, great service, great place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, fabulous service, wonder ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great ambiance, fabulous service, wonderful food!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening with a delicious m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Another great evening with a delicious meal at 21. We always enjoy a dinner here. Price fixed meals are a NYC bargain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like 21 and am always satisfied when I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I like 21 and am always satisfied when I take friends and family there Good for just going out for dinner or a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were interested to see the decor, but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were interested to see the decor, but did not know what the background story for all the toys on the ceiling. A friend gave us the story about Howard Hughes and then everyone else wanting the free advertising. What fun! A fabulous martini and the osso bucco was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As always when I visit New York from the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

As always when I visit New York from the UK the 21 did not let me down

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice nostalgia trip for one of us whose ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Nice nostalgia trip for one of us whose parents used to go there a great deal, and very good waiter with fascinating anecdotes.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Twenty One continues to shine as an outp ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Twenty One continues to shine as an outpost of quality, intimacy and taste. This outing was to celebrate the birthday of a prized family patriarch and the staff of Twenty One rose to the occasion. Thank you for making this an even more memorable event. We look forward to returning often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is always a must do for us when we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is always a must do for us when we get to visit NYC. They treat you like royalty. The food is great, love getting dressed up to dine and being around others doing the same.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a great time for us , will return a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Just a great time for us , will return again. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place if you will be attending a t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great place if you will be attending a theater show afterwards...service is over the top very gracious and humble the staff at 21 was the night I went for pre fix dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just What the Doctor Ordered

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Debbie and I stopped into 30W44th Street as she gave me a membership to the Penn Club for my first retirement birthday, but only 21W52nd Street will do for a celebratory luncheon. From the moment we were greeted (by name, or course) until we left to face a downpour, “21” remains, in the words of Bryan Miller, “a marvelous rich man’s sandbox.” Debbie had the incomparable Idaho Trout Almondine and I enjoyed the legendary ‘21’ burger; we had just enough room left to split a decadent Saint-Domingue Chocolate Soufflé. Naturally, the service is impeccable, the atmosphere delightful, and the clientele without compare. Incidentally, Billy Seeman’s table (#11, now frequented by The Donald) is ideal to see the panorama of the Bar Room without being seen. Although “21” has never been a private club, it feels like one; today Debbie wore her Nr. XXV scarf (jockeys) and I surprised her with a Nr. XXXXX (Remington), and, to express my thanks to the staff, I left a 1950 edition of “’The Iron Gate’ of Jack & Charlie’s ‘21’” in which patrons of renown wrote and drew their impressions of the former SpeakEasy. Truly, at “21” one does not just visit an icon, one is permitted to become a part of it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though our reservation at 8 pm and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Even though our reservation at 8 pm and I was there on time (barely) but other 3 guests were late by 10-15 minutes due to downpour and couldn't get tax.

We were told that we needed to wait for 15 minutes but we ended up waiting till 9.15 pm.

More upsetting was that the group that came after us.. were seated about 30 minutes before us.

3 of the 4 people had drinks at the bar while waiting but the establishment didn't even offer to absorb the cost of the drinks.

This place has changed quite a lot (tie is no longer mandatory) since I used to frequent this place 30 years ago when my office was nearby...

Very disappointing ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good for a one time visit

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food and service were good but the tables were on top of one another making it almost impossible to have a conversation. We had a drink at the bar before dinner and the atmosphere was far more relaxed and intimate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful place! Nice for a special nigh ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wonderful place! Nice for a special night or just celebrating for no reason. Just make sure your pockets are full!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A+++ evening!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our wait staff was EXCELLENT--bartender/waiter/sommelier/waitress! Everyone one of them. Same for the staff who greeted us at the door. A+++ all the way. Treated us like celebrities. Great drinks. Nice/thoughtful "Happy Anniversary " sign made of chocolate on our dessert. Lump crabmeat delicious! Chicken hash a slight disappointment--huge portion, too thick. But we will defintely return. Ambience was out of this world. A wonderful evening. Thank you.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a Memory.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

21 Club may be a NYC Icon but the quality and price do not meet the expectations and comparison to other currently appreciated restaurants in the area. The staff was absolutely the best part of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food, cozy place.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Good food, cozy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Memorable - expensive, but worth every penny.

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

One of the most memorable dining experiences I have ever had. Good to see the ceiling. Expensive but I knew it would be. The overall experience was amazing. My friends stunned. And capped off with a private tour of the secret cellar.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The Most "Powerful" Restaurant in New York

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

When it comes to power, there's no place like 21 Club.

The speakeasy history of 21 Club is powerful NYC lore.

The legends, the people who dine there and hang at the bar define power, globally.

The dining rooms are elegant, quiet and still bursting with electric energy.

Besides being an amazing power spot, 21 Club is incredibly romantic.

If I ever propose, again :), it will be in the wine cellar at 21 Club...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality Classic

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Where established New Yorker's enjoy fine dinning with an excellent sellection of wine. There is an interesting atmosphere which feels refined, calm and intelegent. The staff interaction with other guests suggested that there were a number of regulars which gave it a slight homely tone.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointing. I have been to 21 for tw ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Disappointing. I have been to 21 for two other special occasions, including New Years Eve about 8 years ago. Our experience then was great, this time we were really disappointed, especially for $300+. The service was mediocre. We were not offered pepper with our Cesar, and the follow up by the waiter was "you ok?" rather than a "I hope you find everything to your liking". At the table next to us, a server spilled an entire Cesar salad on a patron, and while it was cleaned up, I know her clothes were stained with dressing, including her expensive bag. Never did I see a manager apologize to the table, and the patrons were really unhappy. For the cost of this place, there are MUCH better restaurants to visit. I guess they rely on the tourist traffic so much that they have let it slide. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Four of us had lunch on Wednesday May 25 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Four of us had lunch on Wednesday May 25th. Everything was great with one big exception. My wife and I ordered two glasses of Pinot noir. Was totally shocked when I got the bill that the two glasses cost $52. The waiter never mentioned the wine was that expensive. A companion had wine at $14 per glass. I feel I was totally ripped off.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Everyone we encountered went out of thei ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Everyone we encountered went out of their way to make us feel welcome...I was treating my friend for her birthday, and I so appreciated Chauncey bringing a special desert to the table...it made her day....it was our first visit and it was everything we had hoped it would be.....thank you again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun and tasty pre show dining. Would hav ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fun and tasty pre show dining. Would have enjoyed reading about restaurant history on menu perhaps.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I go often. The service, as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I go often. The service, as well as the food is excellent. This time there was a desert with "white strawberries" which we had never heard of. Well, it was heaven.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.