Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar

This urban wine inspired restaurant is located in the heart of San Antonio just 5 miles north of the River walk, and minutes south of the airport. Highway 29 that runs through Napa Valley inspired the restaurant’s name. The oversized patio with water fountain creates the perfect atmosphere to enjoy wine and appetizers or a four-course dinner. The bar and lounge area offers a trendy, stylish, urban setting for serious wine drinkers to sit back and enjoy a “Road Trip”. All road trips arrive with “wine itineraries” (tasting notes) for the “traveler” to refer to as they are sipping each glass. We specialize in wine country cuisine. We have an eclectic menu & makes seasonal changes to showcase fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats.

255 E Basse Rd Ste 940
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 3pm - 10:00pm Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 3:00 - 12:00am Saturday: 11:00 - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Jones Maltsberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 798-9463

Website:
http://www.20ninewine.com/

Parking Details:
Free abundant parking available in the front and rear of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Toomey

Private Party Facilities:
Events at 20nine include: Wine Tastings, Private lunches and dinners (for up to 45 people), private Parties (for up to 150 people), Wine & Cheese Receptions, Presentation and Meeting Space.

Now accepting reservations for engagement parties, baby showers, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinner presentations, birthday parties, and fundraisers.

Private Party Contact:
Troy Fulmer: (210) 798-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Happy Hour (5)
See All
Notable Wine List (5)
Cozy (4)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (3)
Casual (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food & Great atmosphere! I will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and wine, portions were good for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Beautifully done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Nice spot for datenight, good wine and food selection. This place could benefit from a piano or light jazz music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Loved our server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Friends just got back from overseas, and we wanted to get together over good food and wine. The noise level suited being able to hear all the conversation. I had the flat iron steak, and it was okay. A little too much seasoning for my palette. The wine was really good, though. We had the calamari as an appetizer, and it was excellent. I would go back and try other entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything was amazing. Just wish they had put us in a more private area since I had indicated it was a date night. The food was beyond superb. The duck with the blood orange was to die for! And the wine flights were an excellent touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It's a handsome venue and the food is quite good -- but the portions are small and prices quite high by San Antonio standards for equal quality cuisine. In fact, some of the really good local fine dining places are less expensive than 20nine. The service wasn't bad but not great, either. Even though this wine bar idea appeals to some I don't think we'll be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The Wild Mushroom and Truffle pizza was amazing! We also enjoyed ordering the wine flights.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Loved the ambiance, and the waiter gave great suggestions

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent wine selection and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The wine and the truffle fries highlighted the evening. Our first visit there and we may go back for wine and apps. The entrees were incredibly salty. So much so we couldn't finish either entree and when I mentioned it to the server, he just took our plates and walked off. No apologies or anything. The server over all was rude and could only stick to "the script". They did have tasting flights of wine which we did enjoy. So I recommend this for wine and apps.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Absolutely one of our favorite spots! Ask for Keith, he's the best!
When any friends of ours are in town this place is a must! A+

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a complete surprise, knowing the Quarry as we do, and never having come here. The food was wonderful, the service excellent, the mimosas were a kicker and we had a wonderful time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I usually really love 20nine but my most recent experience was less than impressive. I went by myself for Happy hour on the patio and I ordered the fries which took at least 35 minutes to come out. They were also out of personal pizzas which is why I went. The calamari was a very good replacement, though. There were lots of screaming children running around which is not 20nine'S fault and is not usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The service was excellent but the food was a bit overpriced and not worth that price. I ordered the steak, which was not nearly as good as those at Ruth's Chris or Myron's. My husband ordered the chicken but said his meal was rather bland. Happy hour appetizers were good, though.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I was greeted by the server saying "Hey, need anything?" which was strange. I went for Happy Hour on a Monday which is a great deal. I ordered the Caesar salad and although the dressing was great, the chicken was chopped so tiny, I could barely fork it. Would definitely go back, at least for Happy Hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautiful establishment! ♥ Waiter prompt and courses were amazing. Really enjoyed celebrating our 22nd Anniversary with the 29th restaurant and wine bar♥

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 21, 2017

They were understaffed and service was slow and the food was not worth the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The 3 course menu was nice. The restaurant is a little dark; they should open the curtains during the day. The server was attentive. Overall, a nice Easter experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 1, 2017

great wines, great service and we were not rushed when we stayed to talk after finishing dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The chicken was rae

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Its always an open spot for late dinner, and some great wine selection. Love their wine flights, which are very reasonably priced. Best for dinner after a Spurs game, preferably a win!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Best lamb dish excellent wine selection The experience exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very nice and cool environment. Great wine selection and great for happy hour wine. The pizza was really good as was the calamari.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good but the service wasn't real great. Atmosphere was ok.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband, son and I went for dinner recently while in town visiting my mother in law. My son is 6 and there is no kids menu but he ate the calamari and loved it.
I ordered the spinach salad without bacon and have to say it was one of the best salads I have ever had! I also ordered the Brussels sprouts which were pretty good.
My husband had the halibut special which he said was excellent.
Only issue is that my husband ordered a salad to start and they sent it at the same time as the entree. Likely a waiter issue.
Overall, very good. Wine is pricey though. Glass prices are pretty steep!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was really adventurous and tasty! (Like bacon-wrapped dates). Only downside that the server was overly friendly to the point of obnoxious, and the top pop tunes were on a little too loud. But otherwise the place is still worth a good recommendation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was a girls night out and we loved that we could all really visit....great noise level. Food was delicious, a little pricey, but great!!! Wonderful wine selection....fun to do flights!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Since it was a nice evening we opted to eat outside. The service was great and my wife and I started out ordering a "road trip" where you get 3 glasses (approx. 1/3 filled) of wine. My wife had the daily fresh fish special and I had the chicken breast. The food was great tasting and makes me want to try other dishes on their menu, to include the pizzas. Afterwards we shared a slice of the vanilla bean cheesecake, very delicious and a wonderful way to end the evening. Overall, great food, great service, great ambiance, best of all, it was all under $100.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Normally this is a great place. But we reserved a table on valentine's day and no one informed us before handthat we would have to order from the Valentine's menu not even when they called to confirm our reservation. As a result, we left because the Valentine's day menu was much more than we have spent at 20nine before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went to dinner with a girlfriend for Valentine's Day. I am absolutely shocked by the poor etiquette of the staff including the owner. This was our first time at the restaurant and decided to go based on the great reviews. I was greatly disappointed. From the beginning, I felt rushed by the waiter. We ordered a bottle of champagne and a three course meal from the Valentine's Day menu. We ordered everything at the beginning of the meal and the waiter never came back to make sure we didn't need anything else or ensure or meal was prepare to our satisfaction. The starter was a Caesar salad that was not fresh as the lettuce was brown. Secondly, I ordered the Petite Filet medium rare. I did not have any issues with the steak as it was properly cooked. For the dessert, I had the cheesecake which was delicious. My disappointment with the restaurant didn't come until the end of the meal as my friend and I were still enjoying our glass of champagne and the owner asked us to sit at the bar to finish our glass of champagne as his friends were requesting our table. We were at the table less than an hour. Needless to say, I was absolutely flabbergasted at the poor level of customer service and poor etiquette from upper management. This was not only tasteless but tacky. He offered to buy a glass of champagne for us at the bar and we politely declined as we were embarrassed by his poor delivery of request. I will NEVER step foot on this establishment ever again. Extremely disappointed in the management of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My first time to dine at this restaurant. The food was very well prepared and the service was wonderful. It was much noisier than I expected but I will know what to expect the next time. That will not be a problem for me.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

All of the food was amazing. My husband loved the fried chicken! Great signature recipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was outstanding but the best part was the service. Meghan was outstanding!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Didn't really need a reservation as we went on a Wed and it was quiet. Did the wine tasting with date plus had truffle cheese pizza. It was very nice. Dark. Intimate. Really enjoyed it. Next time champagne.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall OK but not driven to it. Three desserts were tragically not so good. The almost apple pie that was served is a Pepperidge Farm puff pastry using a very unsavory Apple that had a very light Center but a stiff peeling and it lacked any character and wisdom you would expect even in the Christmas dessert. I had a bite of the chocolate cake and it was also un-eventful then I forgot what the third one was but folks the food is great the wine tasting is kind of unusual where they have the threesome to check out but the desserts: avoid them and go someplace else. The concept of stacking the entree servings was a little unusual but it worked in the sense the foods were paired together.

Well the wine list was a nice selection and it was also extremely pricey and the management does not seem to realize that there's some less-expensive ones that would be equally paired to their food so that common people could afford to have a nice bottle of wine on a slim budget and still enjoy their Cuisine so you know strike out on the wine selection. Just because you sell pricey wine doesn't mean that your place would be outstanding or otherwise turn you on for only that reason.

The takeaway here is to get some house wine or some brand that could be paired equally and not rob the kitty. I personally have had an account with some wine purveyors in San Antonio and know for a fact that the wine prices are usually marked up at least 100% per bottle and in this case this place is doing us a little worse than that.

This being said is probably worth a visit to check it out and decide for yourself.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My friend and I had a very nice Christmas dinner that was tasty and enjoyable. The waitress and server were friendly and knowledgeable and provided great customer service throughout our stay. We had dined there several years ago on a Saturday night and found the noise level was over the top. This time we had a much more enjoyable experience and glad that we chose a different time and day for a return visit.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Friday night early dinner with a good friend. Food was amazing, service was great and dessert was spectacular!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.