About 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar

255 E Basse Rd Ste 940
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This urban wine inspired restaurant is located in the heart of San Antonio just 5 miles north of the River walk, and minutes south of the airport. Highway 29 that runs through Napa Valley inspired the restaurant’s name. The oversized patio with water fountain creates the perfect atmosphere to enjoy wine and appetizers or a four-course dinner. The bar and lounge area offers a trendy, stylish, urban setting for serious wine drinkers to sit back and enjoy a “Road Trip”. All road trips arrive with “wine itineraries” (tasting notes) for the “traveler” to refer to as they are sipping each glass. We specialize in wine country cuisine. We have an eclectic menu & makes seasonal changes to showcase fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 3pm - 10:00pm Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 3:00 - 12:00am Saturday: 11:00 - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Jones Maltsberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 798-9463

Website:
http://www.20ninewine.com/

Parking Details:
Free abundant parking available in the front and rear of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Toomey

Private Party Facilities:
Events at 20nine include: Wine Tastings, Private lunches and dinners (for up to 45 people), private Parties (for up to 150 people), Wine & Cheese Receptions, Presentation and Meeting Space.

Now accepting reservations for engagement parties, baby showers, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinner presentations, birthday parties, and fundraisers.

Private Party Contact:
Troy Fulmer: 2107989463x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Flatbread
  • Pinot Perfection Flight
Grilled Flatbread
Pinot Perfection Flight

20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (12)
Special Occasion (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

20nine is one of our regular go to spot ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

20nine is one of our regular go to spots for wine, food, and the ability to actually have a conversation without shouting at each other. The staff is always warm, welcoming and very service oriented. The wine list is extensive and wine flights are offered if you're not sure what you like or what you want. It's great to have the option of trying several different wines. And the best part is, if you find one you really like, unopened bottles are available for retail sale.

Our favorite way to start is with the dates and the truffle fries. They pair perfectly with a glass of bubbles. We are French fry afficionados and we think these are right up there at the top. And we just found out this past Monday, that Sundays and Mondays are happy hour the whole time the restaurant is open. There is A happy hour menu that includes chicken sliders that are a riff off their signature chicken dish. So if you're looking to eat a smaller serving, this is a perfect way to have their wonderful signature chicken.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative, flavorful food, artistically p ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Creative, flavorful food, artistically presented. Bacon-wrapped dates with goat cheese and pine nuts were a great starter. The wilted spinach salad with basted egg is large enough to split, as is the delicious thin crust pizza (try the Pig and Pear). The wine flights (called Road Trips) are a fun way to try a variety of wines in a single visit. Looking forward to returning soon to try more of their many other interesting dishes. Great location in the Quarry Market.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is excellent, but the kitche ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service is excellent, but the kitchen, or chef is inconsistent in preparing different kinds of fish. Sometimes great, sometimes terrible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and wine was way overpriced! Food ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and wine was way overpriced! Food was not even great!!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Food was a little slow coming out and wh ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was a little slow coming out and when it got there my carrots and potatoes had already grown cool. The Braised Short ribs we wonderful and perfectly cooked.

My wife's Sweet Tea Chicken was very tasty!

The best thing we are were the side of Brussel Sprouts! Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great service by Eduardo Aranda!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service by Eduardo Aranda!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Good!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

In town on business and always visit 20nine Restaurant. Joined by my son and his girlfriend...we're all foodies. Never disappointed with the interesting menu...superb wine list...and well-trained, friendly staff. Another good meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice reaturant

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was a great dinner: good food, great wine selection, beautiful decoration, very good service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Not being a wine guy, I was skeptical, but the uniqueness of the food from the cheeseboard through the main course to desert was a pleasant surprise. Plating and service was impressive too! You've got to try the habenero honey lemon cheesecake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and Mother's Day special. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and Mother's Day special. I highly recommend the amber jack and chocolate cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Mother's Day lunch, not so great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It has to be mentioned that I went here on Mother's Day, so the experience might not have been typical. They only had a limited, and pricey, prix fixe menu - not uncommon on Mother's Day. Most of us at the table wanted the steak. I wanted medium rare, and my wife wanted rare - but we were told they could only do medium on Mother's Day. They tried to make an exception, and brought us steaks a little below medium, but I don't get it. They didn't seem particularly busy, and I don't see how having a limited menu would mean they can't cook steaks the way people want them. I also asked to substitute my mashed potatoes for asparagus (asparagus was available on one of the other prix fixe choices), but apparently that was just too complicated, so I got no side dish at all. The tab, after a 20% tip, was $240 for 5 people - that was with a single glass of wine for one person (everyone else had water or tea). I don't mind paying that kind of money for enjoying the food I want, but this felt more like a demand-driven gouge.

The waiter was fine. My 3-star Service rating is based on the overall service, not our waiter, who I think did his best to work within the Mother's Day framework.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Short ribs were excellent. Waiter was qu ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Short ribs were excellent. Waiter was quite helpful at the start but later was a bit curt.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We split the salad and fish

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was a last minute dinner reservation for us. Every table was taken so we were seated in the bar which I was a little uncomfortable with high top tables typically are uncomfortable. We were seated in the corner and we asked that the music be turned down which was perfect . My guess is there is a separate control and the hostess accommodated us.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lovely evening

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Weather was awful -- but inside was great. Cozy and dry. Had the most wonderful and delicious salmon tartare ever Hubby's chicken with pepita crust was great also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Kitchen initially prepared wrong type of pizza (twice, two separate orders), but was caught prior to bringing meals out. Pizzas made in error were offered (and graciously accepted) free of charge whilst Kitchen remedied error. Side note, highly recommend the risotto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Easter Brunch

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed an amazing three-course brunch on Easter Sunday. We ordered fresh salads for appetizers; Chicken and Waffles were extremely flavorful; Arctic Char was crispy on the outside and perfectly cooked on the inside; Bread Pudding and deconstructed Lemon Tart were a great closing to the meal. First mimosa was free! All for $40/person. We sat outside on the patio with our 14 month old who enjoyed the free space to roam and admire the birds. Service was excellent, but surprisingly there were very few patrons. Couldn't believe this given the quality of the establishment, food, drinks, and service. People missed out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and service

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great atmosphere and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, service great.

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was delicious, service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I always enjoy eating here. Meatballs a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

I always enjoy eating here. Meatballs are always a must!! New menu has a lot of great items to pick from. Dates were also very good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

I took a cousin to 20Nine to try it, as she was seeking a venue for her rehearsal dinner. I had a good experience at this establishment in 2015, but was embarrassed by the slow service and poor meals served last weekend. Service was great initially, but after we received our starters, our waiter went AWOL; it took well over 30 minutes to receive our entrees. Upon arrival, my steak was very good, but the entrees of my three guests were so overcooked that one individual declared hers to be "massacred." If the kitchen botched their job, the waiter should have let us know that there would be a delay while the meals were prepared properly. Instead, he was simply disappeared and then presented us with a good steak flanked by a ruined chop and short ribs. This did not impress any of us at the table, which is sad given that the wine list was quite favorable. Needless to say, my cousin will not hold her dinner event at 20Nine later this year, and I will not return again. Terribly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Valentine Day Delight

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Absolutely wonderful restaurant, fit for a special night out with that special someone. Experienced wait staff that know exactly how to ensure great service without being over bearing with their service. This was a first time visit and a definite jewel!!!! Only drawback was the bread, it was a little burnt other than that this place absolutely rocks a romantic spot for couples!!!! We will definitely be going back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I made the reservation two weeks in advance. When we arrived we were told of the special holiday menu with the $50 person charge. Ended up staying because of the likelihood of finding somewhere else to go. Food was great though. Memorable selections. Made up for the beginning. Overall good night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great spot for a date night. Good food & ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great spot for a date night. Good food & great service with an excellent wine selections as you can imagine. Be aware that the full menu may not be available for holidays like Valentine's Day. Definitely on the regular visitation schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bread and butter were really good. We li ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Bread and butter were really good. We liked the sweet moscato & the chowder was very delicious as well as the scallops. The portion of scallops was more of an appetizer portion than dinner portion so a bit disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Date night

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Had a wonderful date night with my wife of 26 years. The food and service was superb especially the wine. Recommend this restaurant for foodies and wine lovers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not what it once was

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We used to really enjoy 20nine, but our last two visits have been lacking. This visit, we were served burned bread and our dinner was just so-so. Before this visit, they couldn't keep our wine order straight. Service is definitely not what it once was.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Impressed My Out-of-Town Guests

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We had 3 meals: Not a Pot Pie, Cheeseburger and a Filet. All were spectacular. My guests both said it was the best food they'd had in a while. The server was attentive, but not intrusive. We thought the music overhead was odd for a Sunday afternoon, but tuned it out. Nirvana mostly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was wonderful. Glazed Ham dish ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Ambiance was wonderful. Glazed Ham dish was very taster. Server picked my wine he made a great choice. Sorry they were out of the bread pudding we really were looking forward to it but the dessert we had was good. Service was wonderful. I will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a good Christmas meal experience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We went to 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar for a Christmas Day 3 course set meal with 3 choices for each course. The courses were skimpy, and the entre' was cold. As we departed, we noticed every table had a basket of bread on it, which we never got. Not a good value or experience. Needless to say, we won't go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Went for Christmas Dinner and was not di ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Went for Christmas Dinner and was not disappointed. The Turkey Stew was very good. I had the ham and it was good. The food went out fast and the wait staff was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our waiter Jeremy was great and very kno ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Our waiter Jeremy was great and very knowledgeable and personable. Great food and ambiance. Great place for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food....marred by the experience

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

The food was EXCELLENT. Our server was GREAT.

BUT due to the fact that there's an open window to the kitchen, my husband and I heard ALL of the conversations coming from the kitchen staff....this included several "N" words and if that wasn't enough - STRONG vulgarities. I was very offended and my husband was too. This was our first time there, and sadly our last because the food really was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4

Poor Waitstaff

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Absolutely, the worst food experience...the waitstaff lack of knowledge and poor presentation, had to ask every time we ask what the dish comes with it, did not know about sauces not wines, had no clue, we waited for over 20 minutes for a single fish plate and it was way over cooked, bad taste and poor execution of the dishes, never coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

20 Nine Bar and Restaurant

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

This restaurant is more of a late-night hang out spot that offers tappas/small plate options. While the food wasn't bad, it wasn't that good either; it was sufficient in that it was palatable and it met the requirement. The restaurant is definitely not kid friendly!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great Food!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Food was amazing. Wine Selection is good but could be better.

Dessert was good but not as amazing as the main course.

Waitress was ok, not talkative but not rude. I guess we expected more explanation regarding menu, food, options.

Overall really good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Only word --- INCREDBILE!!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

This place is a gem hidden within our community. Ambiance is phenomenal, but more importantly the food was beyond incredible. The young chef is one of the most creative and talented that I have come across. His talent in food pairing and preparation rivals the larger branded chains that are known for the high-end excellence. 20Nine will be one of our regular "go to's" from now on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth the trip

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

Our pizza - both the Pig & Pear and Pepperoni - as well as the salad were delicious. My husband enjoyed the wine that was suggested so much he bought a bottle. Next time we'll hit the Rush Hour.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was horrible. The wine selectio ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Service was horrible. The wine selection was good but we had empty glasses most of the night. It took over 20 minutes to get our wine after ordering and another 40 minutes before we got our food that was ordered at the same time. I will not go back. It's too bad to because it looks like a real cool place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

great wine list and environment. staff was fast.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

Great location, quiet and lighting make the place have good flow. No juke box but their music was kickass. Nice mix of house and alternative.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the 20Nine Burger

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on October 1, 2015

Had the 20Nine Burger ..... awesome, biggest burger I've ever had. Had to take it apart and eat in sections. Took 1/2 home for lunch next day. Beef patty was infused with cheese. Wonderful fries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.