About 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar

255 E Basse Rd Ste 940
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This urban wine inspired restaurant is located in the heart of San Antonio just 5 miles north of the River walk, and minutes south of the airport. Highway 29 that runs through Napa Valley inspired the restaurant’s name. The oversized patio with water fountain creates the perfect atmosphere to enjoy wine and appetizers or a four-course dinner. The bar and lounge area offers a trendy, stylish, urban setting for serious wine drinkers to sit back and enjoy a “Road Trip”. All road trips arrive with “wine itineraries” (tasting notes) for the “traveler” to refer to as they are sipping each glass. We specialize in wine country cuisine. We have an eclectic menu & makes seasonal changes to showcase fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 3pm - 10:00pm Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 3:00 - 12:00am Saturday: 11:00 - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Jones Maltsberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 798-9463

Website:
http://www.20ninewine.com/

Parking Details:
Free abundant parking available in the front and rear of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Toomey

Private Party Facilities:
Events at 20nine include: Wine Tastings, Private lunches and dinners (for up to 45 people), private Parties (for up to 150 people), Wine & Cheese Receptions, Presentation and Meeting Space.

Now accepting reservations for engagement parties, baby showers, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinner presentations, birthday parties, and fundraisers.

Private Party Contact:
Troy Fulmer: 2107989463x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

notable wine list (15)
special occasion (14)
fit for foodies (14)
See All
romantic (12)
good for groups (6)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (2)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
329 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent food and Mother's Day special. ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and Mother's Day special. I highly recommend the amber jack and chocolate cake!

food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Mother's Day lunch, not so great

Dined on May 8, 2016

It has to be mentioned that I went here on Mother's Day, so the experience might not have been typical. They only had a limited, and pricey, prix fixe menu - not uncommon on Mother's Day. Most of us at the table wanted the steak. I wanted medium rare, and my wife wanted rare - but we were told they could only do medium on Mother's Day. They tried to make an exception, and brought us steaks a little below medium, but I don't get it. They didn't seem particularly busy, and I don't see how having a limited menu would mean they can't cook steaks the way people want them. I also asked to substitute my mashed potatoes for asparagus (asparagus was available on one of the other prix fixe choices), but apparently that was just too complicated, so I got no side dish at all. The tab, after a 20% tip, was $240 for 5 people - that was with a single glass of wine for one person (everyone else had water or tea). I don't mind paying that kind of money for enjoying the food I want, but this felt more like a demand-driven gouge. The waiter was fine. My 3-star Service rating is based on the overall service, not our waiter, who I think did his best to work within the Mother's Day framework.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Short ribs were excellent. Waiter was qu ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Short ribs were excellent. Waiter was quite helpful at the start but later was a bit curt.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We split the salad and fish

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was a last minute dinner reservation for us. Every table was taken so we were seated in the bar which I was a little uncomfortable with high top tables typically are uncomfortable. We were seated in the corner and we asked that the music be turned down which was perfect . My guess is there is a separate control and the hostess accommodated us.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening

Dined on April 30, 2016

Weather was awful -- but inside was great. Cozy and dry. Had the most wonderful and delicious salmon tartare ever Hubby's chicken with pepita crust was great also.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service

Dined on April 19, 2016

Kitchen initially prepared wrong type of pizza (twice, two separate orders), but was caught prior to bringing meals out. Pizzas made in error were offered (and graciously accepted) free of charge whilst Kitchen remedied error. Side note, highly recommend the risotto.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed an amazing three-course brunch on Easter Sunday. We ordered fresh salads for appetizers; Chicken and Waffles were extremely flavorful; Arctic Char was crispy on the outside and perfectly cooked on the inside; Bread Pudding and deconstructed Lemon Tart were a great closing to the meal. First mimosa was free! All for $40/person. We sat outside on the patio with our 14 month old who enjoyed the free space to roam and admire the birds. Service was excellent, but surprisingly there were very few patrons. Couldn't believe this given the quality of the establishment, food, drinks, and service. People missed out!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Great atmosphere and service

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Great atmosphere and service

food4
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious, service great.

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was delicious, service great.

food4
ambience4
service4

I always enjoy eating here. Meatballs a ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

I always enjoy eating here. Meatballs are always a must!! New menu has a lot of great items to pick from. Dates were also very good .

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing

Dined on February 21, 2016

I took a cousin to 20Nine to try it, as she was seeking a venue for her rehearsal dinner. I had a good experience at this establishment in 2015, but was embarrassed by the slow service and poor meals served last weekend. Service was great initially, but after we received our starters, our waiter went AWOL; it took well over 30 minutes to receive our entrees. Upon arrival, my steak was very good, but the entrees of my three guests were so overcooked that one individual declared hers to be "massacred." If the kitchen botched their job, the waiter should have let us know that there would be a delay while the meals were prepared properly. Instead, he was simply disappeared and then presented us with a good steak flanked by a ruined chop and short ribs. This did not impress any of us at the table, which is sad given that the wine list was quite favorable. Needless to say, my cousin will not hold her dinner event at 20Nine later this year, and I will not return again. Terribly disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine Day Delight

Dined on February 15, 2016

Absolutely wonderful restaurant, fit for a special night out with that special someone. Experienced wait staff that know exactly how to ensure great service without being over bearing with their service. This was a first time visit and a definite jewel!!!! Only drawback was the bread, it was a little burnt other than that this place absolutely rocks a romantic spot for couples!!!! We will definitely be going back!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Valentine's Day...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I made the reservation two weeks in advance. When we arrived we were told of the special holiday menu with the $50 person charge. Ended up staying because of the likelihood of finding somewhere else to go. Food was great though. Memorable selections. Made up for the beginning. Overall good night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a date night. Good food & ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great spot for a date night. Good food & great service with an excellent wine selections as you can imagine. Be aware that the full menu may not be available for holidays like Valentine's Day. Definitely on the regular visitation schedule.

food5
ambience4
service4

Bread and butter were really good. We li ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Bread and butter were really good. We liked the sweet moscato & the chowder was very delicious as well as the scallops. The portion of scallops was more of an appetizer portion than dinner portion so a bit disappointed.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Date night

Dined on January 30, 2016

Had a wonderful date night with my wife of 26 years. The food and service was superb especially the wine. Recommend this restaurant for foodies and wine lovers.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Not what it once was

Dined on January 10, 2016

We used to really enjoy 20nine, but our last two visits have been lacking. This visit, we were served burned bread and our dinner was just so-so. Before this visit, they couldn't keep our wine order straight. Service is definitely not what it once was.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed My Out-of-Town Guests

Dined on December 27, 2015

We had 3 meals: Not a Pot Pie, Cheeseburger and a Filet. All were spectacular. My guests both said it was the best food they'd had in a while. The server was attentive, but not intrusive. We thought the music overhead was odd for a Sunday afternoon, but tuned it out. Nirvana mostly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was wonderful. Glazed Ham dish ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Ambiance was wonderful. Glazed Ham dish was very taster. Server picked my wine he made a great choice. Sorry they were out of the bread pudding we really were looking forward to it but the dessert we had was good. Service was wonderful. I will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Not a good Christmas meal experience

Dined on December 25, 2015

We went to 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar for a Christmas Day 3 course set meal with 3 choices for each course. The courses were skimpy, and the entre' was cold. As we departed, we noticed every table had a basket of bread on it, which we never got. Not a good value or experience. Needless to say, we won't go back.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Went for Christmas Dinner and was not di ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

Went for Christmas Dinner and was not disappointed. The Turkey Stew was very good. I had the ham and it was good. The food went out fast and the wait staff was great.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Jeremy was great and very kno ...

Dined on November 29, 2015

Our waiter Jeremy was great and very knowledgeable and personable. Great food and ambiance. Great place for a date.

food5
ambience1
service4

Great food....marred by the experience

Dined on November 28, 2015

The food was EXCELLENT. Our server was GREAT. BUT due to the fact that there's an open window to the kitchen, my husband and I heard ALL of the conversations coming from the kitchen staff....this included several "N" words and if that wasn't enough - STRONG vulgarities. I was very offended and my husband was too. This was our first time there, and sadly our last because the food really was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1

Poor Waitstaff

Dined on November 8, 2015

Absolutely, the worst food experience...the waitstaff lack of knowledge and poor presentation, had to ask every time we ask what the dish comes with it, did not know about sauces not wines, had no clue, we waited for over 20 minutes for a single fish plate and it was way over cooked, bad taste and poor execution of the dishes, never coming back.

food2
ambience2
service2

20 Nine Bar and Restaurant

Dined on November 1, 2015

This restaurant is more of a late-night hang out spot that offers tappas/small plate options. While the food wasn't bad, it wasn't that good either; it was sufficient in that it was palatable and it met the requirement. The restaurant is definitely not kid friendly!

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service3

Great Food!

Dined on October 18, 2015

Food was amazing. Wine Selection is good but could be better. Dessert was good but not as amazing as the main course. Waitress was ok, not talkative but not rude. I guess we expected more explanation regarding menu, food, options. Overall really good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Only word --- INCREDBILE!!

Dined on October 11, 2015

This place is a gem hidden within our community. Ambiance is phenomenal, but more importantly the food was beyond incredible. The young chef is one of the most creative and talented that I have come across. His talent in food pairing and preparation rivals the larger branded chains that are known for the high-end excellence. 20Nine will be one of our regular "go to's" from now on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth the trip

Dined on October 9, 2015

Our pizza - both the Pig & Pear and Pepperoni - as well as the salad were delicious. My husband enjoyed the wine that was suggested so much he bought a bottle. Next time we'll hit the Rush Hour.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

Service was horrible. The wine selectio ...

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

Service was horrible. The wine selection was good but we had empty glasses most of the night. It took over 20 minutes to get our wine after ordering and another 40 minutes before we got our food that was ordered at the same time. I will not go back. It's too bad to because it looks like a real cool place

food5
ambience5
service5

great wine list and environment. staff was fast.

Dined on October 2, 2015

Great location, quiet and lighting make the place have good flow. No juke box but their music was kickass. Nice mix of house and alternative.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the 20Nine Burger

Dined on October 1, 2015

Had the 20Nine Burger ..... awesome, biggest burger I've ever had. Had to take it apart and eat in sections. Took 1/2 home for lunch next day. Beef patty was infused with cheese. Wonderful fries.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Food wasn't good. Service was good

Dined on September 25, 2015

Food wasn't good. Service was good, but when we told the server that food wasn't good, no action from him was taken.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

like it

Dined on September 10, 2015

A bit pricy for regular night out but food is reliably good and service is generally ok. Always have a fun time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Date night with wine

Dined on August 16, 2015

Diverse and excellent wine choices with wine flights! Food is a tad pricey with small portions, but very well prepared and presented. Service was attentive and very helpful. A great place to bring a date and have a nice evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

20nine Delight!

Dined on July 12, 2015

This hangout will become one of my favorites wine places in SA. It's got a very nice wine list complemented by a great menu. You can't go wrong with 20nine!

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Consistently Good

vip
Dined on July 11, 2015

I love 20Nine. The food is wonderful and the wine list is impressive - if a little expensive.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Nice Date Spot

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

Nice and quiet, good appetizers, decent wine selection.

food4
ambience4
service4

Recommend: Pig & Pear Pizza; Best Pork Chop Ever!

Dined on June 6, 2015

We were in San Antonio for the weekend, and wanted something different outside of the downtown area. 20nine did not disappoint! We felt like we escaped to Napa Valley for the evening. My husband enjoyed the Cab Roadtrip and we ended up ordering the mixed green salad, Pig & Pear pizza and the Pork chop. Both the pizza and entrée were amazing! This is definitely somewhere we will come back to next time we are in San Antonio, as well as recommend to friends-wish there was one in Dallas!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

The cheese board was fantastic, loved th ...

Dined on June 4, 2015

The cheese board was fantastic, loved the presentation. I had the Za'tar roasted chicken, it was delicious and juicy. Boyfriend had the roasted duck per Chef Jerry's suggestion and it was excellent. The brussel sprouts and mac and cheese were our sides, both were wonderful. The mac and cheese was sinfully decadent.

food5
ambience2
service1

Great restaurant overall.

vip
Dined on June 3, 2015

The food was Exceptional, my compliments to the chef!The service was horrible. I'm not sure if the restaurant was short staff or what. We waited over 30 minutes to pay our bill!!!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.