Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar

This urban wine inspired restaurant is located in the heart of San Antonio just 5 miles north of the River walk, and minutes south of the airport. Highway 29 that runs through Napa Valley inspired the restaurant’s name. The oversized patio with water fountain creates the perfect atmosphere to enjoy wine and appetizers or a four-course dinner. The bar and lounge area offers a trendy, stylish, urban setting for serious wine drinkers to sit back and enjoy a “Road Trip”. All road trips arrive with “wine itineraries” (tasting notes) for the “traveler” to refer to as they are sipping each glass. We specialize in wine country cuisine. We have an eclectic menu & makes seasonal changes to showcase fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats.

255 E Basse Rd Ste 940
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 3pm - 10:00pm Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 3:00 - 12:00am Saturday: 11:00 - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Jones Maltsberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 798-9463

Website:
http://www.20ninewine.com/

Parking Details:
Free abundant parking available in the front and rear of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Toomey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

67% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Happy Hour (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The evening was just unimpressive. The service was slow and seamed uninterested. For a wine bar i find the selection very limited, which is odd, and priced well above what other high end restaurants sell the same bottles for. The pizza is quite good but it cannot make up for all of the other areas where the restaurant is lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Awesome customer service and an excellent wine list. Kenny was super too!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Good food... it will keep you coming back... along with the wine list...

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Food is fantastic, and the wine is even better. You can't beat their Happy Hour prices! And the service is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I should have paid attention to the reviews about the food. My duck was tough not tender. That is pretty difficult since duck tends to be extremely rich. The manager had absolutely no people skills and was not interested in making anything right. He seemed to think it was the fault of the diner if anything went wrong. No customer service what so ever. For mcdonalds ok, I can understand that attitude, but for a restaurant charging what they do...well, I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food & Great atmosphere! I will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great food and wine, portions were good for the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Beautifully done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Nice spot for datenight, good wine and food selection. This place could benefit from a piano or light jazz music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Loved our server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Friends just got back from overseas, and we wanted to get together over good food and wine. The noise level suited being able to hear all the conversation. I had the flat iron steak, and it was okay. A little too much seasoning for my palette. The wine was really good, though. We had the calamari as an appetizer, and it was excellent. I would go back and try other entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Everything was amazing. Just wish they had put us in a more private area since I had indicated it was a date night. The food was beyond superb. The duck with the blood orange was to die for! And the wine flights were an excellent touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 7, 2017

It's a handsome venue and the food is quite good -- but the portions are small and prices quite high by San Antonio standards for equal quality cuisine. In fact, some of the really good local fine dining places are less expensive than 20nine. The service wasn't bad but not great, either. Even though this wine bar idea appeals to some I don't think we'll be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The Wild Mushroom and Truffle pizza was amazing! We also enjoyed ordering the wine flights.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Loved the ambiance, and the waiter gave great suggestions

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent wine selection and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The wine and the truffle fries highlighted the evening. Our first visit there and we may go back for wine and apps. The entrees were incredibly salty. So much so we couldn't finish either entree and when I mentioned it to the server, he just took our plates and walked off. No apologies or anything. The server over all was rude and could only stick to "the script". They did have tasting flights of wine which we did enjoy. So I recommend this for wine and apps.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Absolutely one of our favorite spots! Ask for Keith, he's the best!
When any friends of ours are in town this place is a must! A+

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a complete surprise, knowing the Quarry as we do, and never having come here. The food was wonderful, the service excellent, the mimosas were a kicker and we had a wonderful time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I usually really love 20nine but my most recent experience was less than impressive. I went by myself for Happy hour on the patio and I ordered the fries which took at least 35 minutes to come out. They were also out of personal pizzas which is why I went. The calamari was a very good replacement, though. There were lots of screaming children running around which is not 20nine'S fault and is not usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The service was excellent but the food was a bit overpriced and not worth that price. I ordered the steak, which was not nearly as good as those at Ruth's Chris or Myron's. My husband ordered the chicken but said his meal was rather bland. Happy hour appetizers were good, though.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 24, 2017

I was greeted by the server saying "Hey, need anything?" which was strange. I went for Happy Hour on a Monday which is a great deal. I ordered the Caesar salad and although the dressing was great, the chicken was chopped so tiny, I could barely fork it. Would definitely go back, at least for Happy Hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautiful establishment! ♥ Waiter prompt and courses were amazing. Really enjoyed celebrating our 22nd Anniversary with the 29th restaurant and wine bar♥

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 21, 2017

They were understaffed and service was slow and the food was not worth the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The 3 course menu was nice. The restaurant is a little dark; they should open the curtains during the day. The server was attentive. Overall, a nice Easter experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 1, 2017

great wines, great service and we were not rushed when we stayed to talk after finishing dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The chicken was rae

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Its always an open spot for late dinner, and some great wine selection. Love their wine flights, which are very reasonably priced. Best for dinner after a Spurs game, preferably a win!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Best lamb dish excellent wine selection The experience exceeded my expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Very nice and cool environment. Great wine selection and great for happy hour wine. The pizza was really good as was the calamari.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good but the service wasn't real great. Atmosphere was ok.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband, son and I went for dinner recently while in town visiting my mother in law. My son is 6 and there is no kids menu but he ate the calamari and loved it.
I ordered the spinach salad without bacon and have to say it was one of the best salads I have ever had! I also ordered the Brussels sprouts which were pretty good.
My husband had the halibut special which he said was excellent.
Only issue is that my husband ordered a salad to start and they sent it at the same time as the entree. Likely a waiter issue.
Overall, very good. Wine is pricey though. Glass prices are pretty steep!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was really adventurous and tasty! (Like bacon-wrapped dates). Only downside that the server was overly friendly to the point of obnoxious, and the top pop tunes were on a little too loud. But otherwise the place is still worth a good recommendation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was a girls night out and we loved that we could all really visit....great noise level. Food was delicious, a little pricey, but great!!! Wonderful wine selection....fun to do flights!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Since it was a nice evening we opted to eat outside. The service was great and my wife and I started out ordering a "road trip" where you get 3 glasses (approx. 1/3 filled) of wine. My wife had the daily fresh fish special and I had the chicken breast. The food was great tasting and makes me want to try other dishes on their menu, to include the pizzas. Afterwards we shared a slice of the vanilla bean cheesecake, very delicious and a wonderful way to end the evening. Overall, great food, great service, great ambiance, best of all, it was all under $100.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Normally this is a great place. But we reserved a table on valentine's day and no one informed us before handthat we would have to order from the Valentine's menu not even when they called to confirm our reservation. As a result, we left because the Valentine's day menu was much more than we have spent at 20nine before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went to dinner with a girlfriend for Valentine's Day. I am absolutely shocked by the poor etiquette of the staff including the owner. This was our first time at the restaurant and decided to go based on the great reviews. I was greatly disappointed. From the beginning, I felt rushed by the waiter. We ordered a bottle of champagne and a three course meal from the Valentine's Day menu. We ordered everything at the beginning of the meal and the waiter never came back to make sure we didn't need anything else or ensure or meal was prepare to our satisfaction. The starter was a Caesar salad that was not fresh as the lettuce was brown. Secondly, I ordered the Petite Filet medium rare. I did not have any issues with the steak as it was properly cooked. For the dessert, I had the cheesecake which was delicious. My disappointment with the restaurant didn't come until the end of the meal as my friend and I were still enjoying our glass of champagne and the owner asked us to sit at the bar to finish our glass of champagne as his friends were requesting our table. We were at the table less than an hour. Needless to say, I was absolutely flabbergasted at the poor level of customer service and poor etiquette from upper management. This was not only tasteless but tacky. He offered to buy a glass of champagne for us at the bar and we politely declined as we were embarrassed by his poor delivery of request. I will NEVER step foot on this establishment ever again. Extremely disappointed in the management of this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My first time to dine at this restaurant. The food was very well prepared and the service was wonderful. It was much noisier than I expected but I will know what to expect the next time. That will not be a problem for me.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

All of the food was amazing. My husband loved the fried chicken! Great signature recipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.