About 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar

This urban wine inspired restaurant is located in the heart of San Antonio just 5 miles north of the River walk, and minutes south of the airport. Highway 29 that runs through Napa Valley inspired the restaurant’s name. The oversized patio with water fountain creates the perfect atmosphere to enjoy wine and appetizers or a four-course dinner. The bar and lounge area offers a trendy, stylish, urban setting for serious wine drinkers to sit back and enjoy a “Road Trip”. All road trips arrive with “wine itineraries” (tasting notes) for the “traveler” to refer to as they are sipping each glass. We specialize in wine country cuisine. We have an eclectic menu & makes seasonal changes to showcase fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats.

255 E Basse Rd Ste 940
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 3pm - 10:00pm Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 3:00 - 12:00am Saturday: 11:00 - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Jones Maltsberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 798-9463

Website:
http://www.20ninewine.com/

Parking Details:
Free abundant parking available in the front and rear of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Toomey

Private Party Facilities:
Events at 20nine include: Wine Tastings, Private lunches and dinners (for up to 45 people), private Parties (for up to 150 people), Wine & Cheese Receptions, Presentation and Meeting Space.

Now accepting reservations for engagement parties, baby showers, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinner presentations, birthday parties, and fundraisers.

Private Party Contact:
Troy Fulmer: 2107989463x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Grilled Flatbread - 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
  • Pinot Perfection Flight - 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX

Report a photo problem

Grilled Flatbread - 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX
Pinot Perfection Flight - 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar, San Antonio, TX

20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (9)
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Casual (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Authentic (1)
Live Music (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Special Occasion (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding but the best pa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding but the best part was the service. Meghan was outstanding!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Didn't really need a reservation as we w ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Didn't really need a reservation as we went on a Wed and it was quiet. Did the wine tasting with date plus had truffle cheese pizza. It was very nice. Dark. Intimate. Really enjoyed it. Next time champagne.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall OK but not driven to it. Three d ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall OK but not driven to it. Three desserts were tragically not so good. The almost apple pie that was served is a Pepperidge Farm puff pastry using a very unsavory Apple that had a very light Center but a stiff peeling and it lacked any character and wisdom you would expect even in the Christmas dessert. I had a bite of the chocolate cake and it was also un-eventful then I forgot what the third one was but folks the food is great the wine tasting is kind of unusual where they have the threesome to check out but the desserts: avoid them and go someplace else. The concept of stacking the entree servings was a little unusual but it worked in the sense the foods were paired together.

Well the wine list was a nice selection and it was also extremely pricey and the management does not seem to realize that there's some less-expensive ones that would be equally paired to their food so that common people could afford to have a nice bottle of wine on a slim budget and still enjoy their Cuisine so you know strike out on the wine selection. Just because you sell pricey wine doesn't mean that your place would be outstanding or otherwise turn you on for only that reason.

The takeaway here is to get some house wine or some brand that could be paired equally and not rob the kitty. I personally have had an account with some wine purveyors in San Antonio and know for a fact that the wine prices are usually marked up at least 100% per bottle and in this case this place is doing us a little worse than that.

This being said is probably worth a visit to check it out and decide for yourself.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My friend and I had a very nice Christma ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My friend and I had a very nice Christmas dinner that was tasty and enjoyable. The waitress and server were friendly and knowledgeable and provided great customer service throughout our stay. We had dined there several years ago on a Saturday night and found the noise level was over the top. This time we had a much more enjoyable experience and glad that we chose a different time and day for a return visit.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Friday night early dinner with a good fr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Friday night early dinner with a good friend. Food was amazing, service was great and dessert was spectacular!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Happy hour is exceptional! Excellent ba ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Happy hour is exceptional! Excellent bar service, great prices and high end apps! Service was top notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an early dinner before a Spurs ga ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had an early dinner before a Spurs game. The service and food were amazing. The pork fillet was among the best meals I've ever had. We also did a red wine road trip. Being early, it wasn't very crowded so it was very quiet, and we got exceptional service.

If I had a criticism of anything, the table was a bit small. We got a cheese board, which was also very good, and two entrees and a wine flight. The table was too small to accommodate all of that.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst dining experience I've had in a lo ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Worst dining experience I've had in a long time. After being seated it was 15 minutes before anyone came to our table. I think we were being served by the bartender or someone with not very much experience as a wait staff. Flow of the food arriving to our table was awkward. The restaurant itself was overly cold and during the entire meal we all kept smelling a sewer smell. Nobody likes that at dinner! The food was quite mediocre. But are not squash risotto had a good flavor but tasted like it had been over cooked or sat in the pot for days and was very starchy. The pizza was only average at best. The pumpkin cheesecake dessert was the best item but the piece was so small it was barely enough for one let alone to share. I will not be returning to this restaurant ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Awesome!! We celebrated our 15th anniver ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Awesome!!

We celebrated our 15th anniversary here and wouldn't ask for another place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were visiting San Antonio for a funer ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were visiting San Antonio for a funeral and not being very familiar with the are we searched online to find an outdoor dining location. The pictures showed exactly what we were looking for and the appetizer menu sounded right up our alley. We made the reservation and headed to the restaurant. The girl at the reception desk was happy to see us and super friendly. We requested a table outside which she was happy to accommodate us with. The waiter was efficient but not super friendly or helpful. Just doing a job instead of helping us enjoy our evening. The food was really good! We had the hummus, meatballs and arranzni (sp) appetizers which were good - the hummus one was Excellent!! We also ordered a margherita pizza and the scallops. Both of which were really good (we heard!!). We did order dessert, the bread pudding was outstanding (I heard!) The lemon tart was also outstanding and the creme brulee was delicious. I would recommend this restaurant - the food was wonderful, our waiter was good - just not super friendly even though we tried to engage him several times.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food excellent service. This was ou ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good food excellent service. This was our first time at the restaurant and our server Joann was very helpful in explaining the menu and suggesting wines which would compliment our selections.

Planning to go back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Quick Bite, Tapas, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service Amazing food Intimate ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful service

Amazing food

Intimate ambiance

Fabulous wine selection

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

went on a Sunday at 4:00pm. There were o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2016

went on a Sunday at 4:00pm. There were only 2 other tables with customers. We left at 5:30 and we were the only ones left. The place was empty. For me it was too dark. I couldn't read the menu. The menu was short not a lot of choices but the pizza was delicious the wine good. This place was not for me and my friend.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Nice outdoor seating area, wish the foun ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice outdoor seating area, wish the fountain would have been working! Road trips were awesome, pizza very good, burger fantastic...the fries to die for. Recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Only negative is that the limited number ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Only negative is that the limited number of entree choices - 1 each chicken, fish, pork, seafood, beef, pasta.... Pizzas & salads are good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

20nine is one of our regular go to spot ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 22, 2016

20nine is one of our regular go to spots for wine, food, and the ability to actually have a conversation without shouting at each other. The staff is always warm, welcoming and very service oriented. The wine list is extensive and wine flights are offered if you're not sure what you like or what you want. It's great to have the option of trying several different wines. And the best part is, if you find one you really like, unopened bottles are available for retail sale.

Our favorite way to start is with the dates and the truffle fries. They pair perfectly with a glass of bubbles. We are French fry afficionados and we think these are right up there at the top. And we just found out this past Monday, that Sundays and Mondays are happy hour the whole time the restaurant is open. There is A happy hour menu that includes chicken sliders that are a riff off their signature chicken dish. So if you're looking to eat a smaller serving, this is a perfect way to have their wonderful signature chicken.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative, flavorful food, artistically p ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Creative, flavorful food, artistically presented. Bacon-wrapped dates with goat cheese and pine nuts were a great starter. The wilted spinach salad with basted egg is large enough to split, as is the delicious thin crust pizza (try the Pig and Pear). The wine flights (called Road Trips) are a fun way to try a variety of wines in a single visit. Looking forward to returning soon to try more of their many other interesting dishes. Great location in the Quarry Market.

Tags: Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, , Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The service is excellent, but the kitche ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The service is excellent, but the kitchen, or chef is inconsistent in preparing different kinds of fish. Sometimes great, sometimes terrible.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Awesome place in NB!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 29, 2016

Awesome place in NB!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food and wine was way overpriced! Food ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food and wine was way overpriced! Food was not even great!!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Food was a little slow coming out and wh ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was a little slow coming out and when it got there my carrots and potatoes had already grown cool. The Braised Short ribs we wonderful and perfectly cooked.

My wife's Sweet Tea Chicken was very tasty!

The best thing we are were the side of Brussel Sprouts! Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great service by Eduardo Aranda!

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service by Eduardo Aranda!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Good!

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 6, 2016

In town on business and always visit 20nine Restaurant. Joined by my son and his girlfriend...we're all foodies. Never disappointed with the interesting menu...superb wine list...and well-trained, friendly staff. Another good meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice reaturant

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 5, 2016

It was a great dinner: good food, great wine selection, beautiful decoration, very good service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Not being a wine guy, I was skeptical, but the uniqueness of the food from the cheeseboard through the main course to desert was a pleasant surprise. Plating and service was impressive too! You've got to try the habenero honey lemon cheesecake!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and Mother's Day special. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent food and Mother's Day special. I highly recommend the amber jack and chocolate cake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Mother's Day lunch, not so great

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

It has to be mentioned that I went here on Mother's Day, so the experience might not have been typical. They only had a limited, and pricey, prix fixe menu - not uncommon on Mother's Day. Most of us at the table wanted the steak. I wanted medium rare, and my wife wanted rare - but we were told they could only do medium on Mother's Day. They tried to make an exception, and brought us steaks a little below medium, but I don't get it. They didn't seem particularly busy, and I don't see how having a limited menu would mean they can't cook steaks the way people want them. I also asked to substitute my mashed potatoes for asparagus (asparagus was available on one of the other prix fixe choices), but apparently that was just too complicated, so I got no side dish at all. The tab, after a 20% tip, was $240 for 5 people - that was with a single glass of wine for one person (everyone else had water or tea). I don't mind paying that kind of money for enjoying the food I want, but this felt more like a demand-driven gouge.

The waiter was fine. My 3-star Service rating is based on the overall service, not our waiter, who I think did his best to work within the Mother's Day framework.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Short ribs were excellent. Waiter was qu ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2016

Short ribs were excellent. Waiter was quite helpful at the start but later was a bit curt.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Lovely evening

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Weather was awful -- but inside was great. Cozy and dry. Had the most wonderful and delicious salmon tartare ever Hubby's chicken with pepita crust was great also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We split the salad and fish

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This was a last minute dinner reservation for us. Every table was taken so we were seated in the bar which I was a little uncomfortable with high top tables typically are uncomfortable. We were seated in the corner and we asked that the music be turned down which was perfect . My guess is there is a separate control and the hostess accommodated us.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Service

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Kitchen initially prepared wrong type of pizza (twice, two separate orders), but was caught prior to bringing meals out. Pizzas made in error were offered (and graciously accepted) free of charge whilst Kitchen remedied error. Side note, highly recommend the risotto.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Easter Brunch

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed an amazing three-course brunch on Easter Sunday. We ordered fresh salads for appetizers; Chicken and Waffles were extremely flavorful; Arctic Char was crispy on the outside and perfectly cooked on the inside; Bread Pudding and deconstructed Lemon Tart were a great closing to the meal. First mimosa was free! All for $40/person. We sat outside on the patio with our 14 month old who enjoyed the free space to roam and admire the birds. Service was excellent, but surprisingly there were very few patrons. Couldn't believe this given the quality of the establishment, food, drinks, and service. People missed out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and service

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Great atmosphere and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, service great.

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 24, 2016

Food was delicious, service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I always enjoy eating here. Meatballs a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 14, 2016

I always enjoy eating here. Meatballs are always a must!! New menu has a lot of great items to pick from. Dates were also very good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 21, 2016

I took a cousin to 20Nine to try it, as she was seeking a venue for her rehearsal dinner. I had a good experience at this establishment in 2015, but was embarrassed by the slow service and poor meals served last weekend. Service was great initially, but after we received our starters, our waiter went AWOL; it took well over 30 minutes to receive our entrees. Upon arrival, my steak was very good, but the entrees of my three guests were so overcooked that one individual declared hers to be "massacred." If the kitchen botched their job, the waiter should have let us know that there would be a delay while the meals were prepared properly. Instead, he was simply disappeared and then presented us with a good steak flanked by a ruined chop and short ribs. This did not impress any of us at the table, which is sad given that the wine list was quite favorable. Needless to say, my cousin will not hold her dinner event at 20Nine later this year, and I will not return again. Terribly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Valentine Day Delight

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Absolutely wonderful restaurant, fit for a special night out with that special someone. Experienced wait staff that know exactly how to ensure great service without being over bearing with their service. This was a first time visit and a definite jewel!!!! Only drawback was the bread, it was a little burnt other than that this place absolutely rocks a romantic spot for couples!!!! We will definitely be going back!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2016

I made the reservation two weeks in advance. When we arrived we were told of the special holiday menu with the $50 person charge. Ended up staying because of the likelihood of finding somewhere else to go. Food was great though. Memorable selections. Made up for the beginning. Overall good night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great spot for a date night. Good food & ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great spot for a date night. Good food & great service with an excellent wine selections as you can imagine. Be aware that the full menu may not be available for holidays like Valentine's Day. Definitely on the regular visitation schedule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.