Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.45mi
  3. Distance: 0.99mi
  4. Distance: 1.15mi

About 20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar

This urban wine inspired restaurant is located in the heart of San Antonio just 5 miles north of the River walk, and minutes south of the airport. Highway 29 that runs through Napa Valley inspired the restaurant’s name. The oversized patio with water fountain creates the perfect atmosphere to enjoy wine and appetizers or a four-course dinner. The bar and lounge area offers a trendy, stylish, urban setting for serious wine drinkers to sit back and enjoy a “Road Trip”. All road trips arrive with “wine itineraries” (tasting notes) for the “traveler” to refer to as they are sipping each glass. We specialize in wine country cuisine. We have an eclectic menu & makes seasonal changes to showcase fresh fruits, vegetables, and meats.

255 E Basse Rd Ste 940
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday: 3pm - 10:00pm Tuesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday: 3:00 - 12:00am Saturday: 11:00 - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:00am - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Jones Maltsberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 798-9463

Website:
http://www.20ninewine.com/

Parking Details:
Free abundant parking available in the front and rear of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jerry Toomey

Private Party Facilities:
Events at 20nine include: Wine Tastings, Private lunches and dinners (for up to 45 people), private Parties (for up to 150 people), Wine & Cheese Receptions, Presentation and Meeting Space.

Now accepting reservations for engagement parties, baby showers, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinner presentations, birthday parties, and fundraisers.

Private Party Contact:
Troy Fulmer: (210) 798-9463

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

20nine Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Happy Hour (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 8, 2017

The wine and the truffle fries highlighted the evening. Our first visit there and we may go back for wine and apps. The entrees were incredibly salty. So much so we couldn't finish either entree and when I mentioned it to the server, he just took our plates and walked off. No apologies or anything. The server over all was rude and could only stick to "the script". They did have tasting flights of wine which we did enjoy. So I recommend this for wine and apps.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Absolutely one of our favorite spots! Ask for Keith, he's the best!
When any friends of ours are in town this place is a must! A+

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Casual, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a complete surprise, knowing the Quarry as we do, and never having come here. The food was wonderful, the service excellent, the mimosas were a kicker and we had a wonderful time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I usually really love 20nine but my most recent experience was less than impressive. I went by myself for Happy hour on the patio and I ordered the fries which took at least 35 minutes to come out. They were also out of personal pizzas which is why I went. The calamari was a very good replacement, though. There were lots of screaming children running around which is not 20nine'S fault and is not usual.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The service was excellent but the food was a bit overpriced and not worth that price. I ordered the steak, which was not nearly as good as those at Ruth's Chris or Myron's. My husband ordered the chicken but said his meal was rather bland. Happy hour appetizers were good, though.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I was greeted by the server saying "Hey, need anything?" which was strange. I went for Happy Hour on a Monday which is a great deal. I ordered the Caesar salad and although the dressing was great, the chicken was chopped so tiny, I could barely fork it. Would definitely go back, at least for Happy Hour.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Beautiful establishment! ♥ Waiter prompt and courses were amazing. Really enjoyed celebrating our 22nd Anniversary with the 29th restaurant and wine bar♥

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They were understaffed and service was slow and the food was not worth the cost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The 3 course menu was nice. The restaurant is a little dark; they should open the curtains during the day. The server was attentive. Overall, a nice Easter experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

great wines, great service and we were not rushed when we stayed to talk after finishing dinner.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The chicken was rae

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Its always an open spot for late dinner, and some great wine selection. Love their wine flights, which are very reasonably priced. Best for dinner after a Spurs game, preferably a win!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The food and service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Best lamb dish excellent wine selection The experience exceeded my expectations.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very nice and cool environment. Great wine selection and great for happy hour wine. The pizza was really good as was the calamari.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good but the service wasn't real great. Atmosphere was ok.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My husband, son and I went for dinner recently while in town visiting my mother in law. My son is 6 and there is no kids menu but he ate the calamari and loved it.
I ordered the spinach salad without bacon and have to say it was one of the best salads I have ever had! I also ordered the Brussels sprouts which were pretty good.
My husband had the halibut special which he said was excellent.
Only issue is that my husband ordered a salad to start and they sent it at the same time as the entree. Likely a waiter issue.
Overall, very good. Wine is pricey though. Glass prices are pretty steep!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was really adventurous and tasty! (Like bacon-wrapped dates). Only downside that the server was overly friendly to the point of obnoxious, and the top pop tunes were on a little too loud. But otherwise the place is still worth a good recommendation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 20, 2017

This was a girls night out and we loved that we could all really visit....great noise level. Food was delicious, a little pricey, but great!!! Wonderful wine selection....fun to do flights!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Since it was a nice evening we opted to eat outside. The service was great and my wife and I started out ordering a "road trip" where you get 3 glasses (approx. 1/3 filled) of wine. My wife had the daily fresh fish special and I had the chicken breast. The food was great tasting and makes me want to try other dishes on their menu, to include the pizzas. Afterwards we shared a slice of the vanilla bean cheesecake, very delicious and a wonderful way to end the evening. Overall, great food, great service, great ambiance, best of all, it was all under $100.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Normally this is a great place. But we reserved a table on valentine's day and no one informed us before handthat we would have to order from the Valentine's menu not even when they called to confirm our reservation. As a result, we left because the Valentine's day menu was much more than we have spent at 20nine before.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I went to dinner with a girlfriend for Valentine's Day. I am absolutely shocked by the poor etiquette of the staff including the owner. This was our first time at the restaurant and decided to go based on the great reviews. I was greatly disappointed. From the beginning, I felt rushed by the waiter. We ordered a bottle of champagne and a three course meal from the Valentine's Day menu. We ordered everything at the beginning of the meal and the waiter never came back to make sure we didn't need anything else or ensure or meal was prepare to our satisfaction. The starter was a Caesar salad that was not fresh as the lettuce was brown. Secondly, I ordered the Petite Filet medium rare. I did not have any issues with the steak as it was properly cooked. For the dessert, I had the cheesecake which was delicious. My disappointment with the restaurant didn't come until the end of the meal as my friend and I were still enjoying our glass of champagne and the owner asked us to sit at the bar to finish our glass of champagne as his friends were requesting our table. We were at the table less than an hour. Needless to say, I was absolutely flabbergasted at the poor level of customer service and poor etiquette from upper management. This was not only tasteless but tacky. He offered to buy a glass of champagne for us at the bar and we politely declined as we were embarrassed by his poor delivery of request. I will NEVER step foot on this establishment ever again. Extremely disappointed in the management of this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My first time to dine at this restaurant. The food was very well prepared and the service was wonderful. It was much noisier than I expected but I will know what to expect the next time. That will not be a problem for me.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

All of the food was amazing. My husband loved the fried chicken! Great signature recipe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was outstanding but the best part was the service. Meghan was outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Didn't really need a reservation as we went on a Wed and it was quiet. Did the wine tasting with date plus had truffle cheese pizza. It was very nice. Dark. Intimate. Really enjoyed it. Next time champagne.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Overall OK but not driven to it. Three desserts were tragically not so good. The almost apple pie that was served is a Pepperidge Farm puff pastry using a very unsavory Apple that had a very light Center but a stiff peeling and it lacked any character and wisdom you would expect even in the Christmas dessert. I had a bite of the chocolate cake and it was also un-eventful then I forgot what the third one was but folks the food is great the wine tasting is kind of unusual where they have the threesome to check out but the desserts: avoid them and go someplace else. The concept of stacking the entree servings was a little unusual but it worked in the sense the foods were paired together.

Well the wine list was a nice selection and it was also extremely pricey and the management does not seem to realize that there's some less-expensive ones that would be equally paired to their food so that common people could afford to have a nice bottle of wine on a slim budget and still enjoy their Cuisine so you know strike out on the wine selection. Just because you sell pricey wine doesn't mean that your place would be outstanding or otherwise turn you on for only that reason.

The takeaway here is to get some house wine or some brand that could be paired equally and not rob the kitty. I personally have had an account with some wine purveyors in San Antonio and know for a fact that the wine prices are usually marked up at least 100% per bottle and in this case this place is doing us a little worse than that.

This being said is probably worth a visit to check it out and decide for yourself.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My friend and I had a very nice Christmas dinner that was tasty and enjoyable. The waitress and server were friendly and knowledgeable and provided great customer service throughout our stay. We had dined there several years ago on a Saturday night and found the noise level was over the top. This time we had a much more enjoyable experience and glad that we chose a different time and day for a return visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Friday night early dinner with a good friend. Food was amazing, service was great and dessert was spectacular!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Happy hour is exceptional! Excellent bar service, great prices and high end apps! Service was top notch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had an early dinner before a Spurs game. The service and food were amazing. The pork fillet was among the best meals I've ever had. We also did a red wine road trip. Being early, it wasn't very crowded so it was very quiet, and we got exceptional service.

If I had a criticism of anything, the table was a bit small. We got a cheese board, which was also very good, and two entrees and a wine flight. The table was too small to accommodate all of that.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Worst dining experience I've had in a long time. After being seated it was 15 minutes before anyone came to our table. I think we were being served by the bartender or someone with not very much experience as a wait staff. Flow of the food arriving to our table was awkward. The restaurant itself was overly cold and during the entire meal we all kept smelling a sewer smell. Nobody likes that at dinner! The food was quite mediocre. But are not squash risotto had a good flavor but tasted like it had been over cooked or sat in the pot for days and was very starchy. The pizza was only average at best. The pumpkin cheesecake dessert was the best item but the piece was so small it was barely enough for one let alone to share. I will not be returning to this restaurant ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Awesome!!
We celebrated our 15th anniversary here and wouldn't ask for another place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were visiting San Antonio for a funeral and not being very familiar with the are we searched online to find an outdoor dining location. The pictures showed exactly what we were looking for and the appetizer menu sounded right up our alley. We made the reservation and headed to the restaurant. The girl at the reception desk was happy to see us and super friendly. We requested a table outside which she was happy to accommodate us with. The waiter was efficient but not super friendly or helpful. Just doing a job instead of helping us enjoy our evening. The food was really good! We had the hummus, meatballs and arranzni (sp) appetizers which were good - the hummus one was Excellent!! We also ordered a margherita pizza and the scallops. Both of which were really good (we heard!!). We did order dessert, the bread pudding was outstanding (I heard!) The lemon tart was also outstanding and the creme brulee was delicious. I would recommend this restaurant - the food was wonderful, our waiter was good - just not super friendly even though we tried to engage him several times.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good food excellent service. This was our first time at the restaurant and our server Joann was very helpful in explaining the menu and suggesting wines which would compliment our selections.
Planning to go back soon.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Quick Bite, Tapas, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Wonderful service
Amazing food
Intimate ambiance
Fabulous wine selection

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2016

went on a Sunday at 4:00pm. There were only 2 other tables with customers. We left at 5:30 and we were the only ones left. The place was empty. For me it was too dark. I couldn't read the menu. The menu was short not a lot of choices but the pizza was delicious the wine good. This place was not for me and my friend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice outdoor seating area, wish the fountain would have been working! Road trips were awesome, pizza very good, burger fantastic...the fries to die for. Recommend!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Only negative is that the limited number of entree choices - 1 each chicken, fish, pork, seafood, beef, pasta.... Pizzas & salads are good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 22, 2016

20nine is one of our regular go to spots for wine, food, and the ability to actually have a conversation without shouting at each other. The staff is always warm, welcoming and very service oriented. The wine list is extensive and wine flights are offered if you're not sure what you like or what you want. It's great to have the option of trying several different wines. And the best part is, if you find one you really like, unopened bottles are available for retail sale.

Our favorite way to start is with the dates and the truffle fries. They pair perfectly with a glass of bubbles. We are French fry afficionados and we think these are right up there at the top. And we just found out this past Monday, that Sundays and Mondays are happy hour the whole time the restaurant is open. There is A happy hour menu that includes chicken sliders that are a riff off their signature chicken dish. So if you're looking to eat a smaller serving, this is a perfect way to have their wonderful signature chicken.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.