About 1919 Restaurant

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Organic, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Hotel Entrance

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Restaurant Week Menu $38

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Guest Chef from Spain $165

Thursdays - Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 12, 2016 - Jul 12, 2016 on Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM.
Restaurant Week Menu $38

Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
3 Course Menu for $38 per person. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 1, 2016 - Jun 8, 2016 on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.
Guest Chef from Spain $165

Thursdays - Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Wine dinner on June 9th with with special guest chef José Antonio González from Restaurante Serbal- El Nuevo Molino (7:00pm Canapes and Cocktail). Friday and Saturday, Choice of Pre Fix Menu or A la Carte. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 9, 2016 - Jun 11, 2016 on Thursdays - Saturdays from 7:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

special occasion (38)
romantic (31)
fit for foodies (30)
See All
notable wine list (21)
scenic view (15)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4

This restaurant is beautiful and elegant ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant is beautiful and elegant, but is also pretentious and way overpriced. The food was good but not great -- we found much better nearby.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation in Puerto Rico

Dined on May 17, 2016

I cannot wait to go back to Puerto Rico - mainly so that I can stay at the Vanderbilt Hotel and eat at 1919, again. The service at 1919 was amazing - we all felt so special and the food was wonderful. When we left they gave us banana bread to have for breakfast the next morning - a very nice touch and it was delicious, too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely stunning.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The view was magnificent, the service was spectacular and the food was exquisite.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not cheap, but worth it.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for mother brunch, the food and ambiance was great but the service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! From beginning to end. We enjo ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous! From beginning to end. We enjoyed the Chef's Tasting Menu and everything was superb - and not skimpy at all! Great wines. We were attended to all the way through the meal. Our captain and server were both friendly and knowledgeable. We had a fabulous evening! Gracias...

food5
ambience4
service5

The Chef tasting menu was fabulous, clos ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The Chef tasting menu was fabulous, closest tasting to Ramsey's London restaurant we have ever had. From Lobster Salad w/caviar to Salmon to Venison Cheeks.. Flavors amazing. Wow wow wow

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lived up to the expectation A+

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had AWESOME birthday dinner at 1919 loved the ambiance, Enrique our waiter was extremely accommodating and attentive. He offered recommendations as well as provided details of each dish served. We selected the 4 course meal which had a few surprises in between the courses "yummy". The food was delicious it definitely lived up to our fine dining expectations. Thank you 1919 we left with "Smiley Faces" by the way the banana bread was AMAZING !!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as usual

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Outstanding as usual

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 26, 2016

Found this restaurant by surprise. I would go to this restaurant whenever there is a special occasion. Elegant setting, unbeatable service, wonderful food. Rate 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Was expecting more...

Dined on April 20, 2016

The ambiance was superb and service top notch! Raul was fantastic! What lacked was the food. Presentation was a 10 but some flavours were lacking. We had eaten at other top restaurants in PR and would not rate 1919 in my top 5. The total bill was $700.00 which is what we expected and have no problem paying, but I would hope that the food would compliment the high prices. Portions were small, but enough if going it's the tasting menu. There were only a few other couples in the restaurant which surprised me, I would have expected it to be busier. Overall it was lovely, however would not go again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is inside an historic hotel a ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

This place is inside an historic hotel and it's gorgeous . The meal was amazing and the service top notch. This was a wonderful dining experience. Loved it

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Lovely looking with pretentious food

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

The chef was trying to impress with strange combos of ingredients. Braised endive and lobster in cold coconut soup. Even the dessert was unsatisfying. The food just didn't taste good. Left hungry and will not return.

food1
ambience3
service1

Too expensive for the quality

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Too expensive for the quality

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing upscale restaurant

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing upscale restaurant in the Vanderbilt Hotel. Recently revamped menu... Superb. For us, romantic. Ambiance is subdued and relaxing. We didn't want to leave. You will not feel rushed one bit, but each course is nicely paced. We chose the pre-fix menu (4 courses) and had our waiter choose our wine. They KNOW their product and their menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Artistic presentation Fa ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful meal. Artistic presentation Fabulous service.

food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Wicked

Dined on March 22, 2016

The food TASTED great but Unfortunately we got food poisoning in addition to our $300 tab! Currently on my 3rd day of it. We told the restaurant the next day but didn't even receive an apology.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaraunt is VERY pricey. The food ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

This restaraunt is VERY pricey. The food was excellent, and everything is served in small plate style. Front of the house management did not match kitchen quality. Our window seat reservation got bumped off by a frequent visiting local. That was disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Impeccable service

Dined on March 17, 2016

Wonderful food, great service, beautiful! We were disappointed that our reservation request for a table with a view was not accommodated and we ended up near the kitchen. :( and the restraunt was not even close to full. Be assertive. The other comment is that we ordered wine pairings with our 4 course dinners. My husband and I ordered totally different dishes so it was perplexing that every wine was the same for each course? Needless to say, we'll go back. Just need to be assertive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

Food was great! Service was horrible!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was great! Service was horrible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mucho Gusto

Dined on March 16, 2016

Very nice place for special dinner. Service was excellent. Food it awesome. Very remarkable and memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must-do dining experience in San Juan!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Overall excellent dining experience...but you pay for it. The service is impeccable, as is the food. Thank goodness reservations at Marmalade were impossible to get because this place is a complete and total gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at 1919 is impeccable. The s ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The service at 1919 is impeccable. The staff are very friendly and do their best to make your dinner with them excellent. I got the 4 course prix fixe dinner and was stuffed by the time the main course came out (seeing and smelling the meal gave me my second wind though). I was a little disappointed with the grass fed steak and ribs. I didn't taste anything else unique from the meats. The foie gras was spectacular and I really enjoyed that part of the meal. The experience overall was excellent and I would definitely come back to sample more of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

False advertising

Dined on March 5, 2016

You advertise 80$ on the internet and when you get there it is 100 I am angry and want my 2x20 plus tax and fees back. This is fraud and took place saturday 5th at 7.00PM Regards Morten

food5
ambience5
service5

We visited this restaurant a few times, ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

We visited this restaurant a few times, always in crescendo. They are an example when your wishes comes true. Excellent ambience, superb service and exquisite food!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had an absolutely wonderful experienc ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. We each had the prix fixe dinner with the premier wine accompaniment. Every dish was delicious and fresh. The wines were first rate. The service was attentive and well paced. I highly recommend 1919 if you are interested in truly fine dining.

food4
ambience5
service4

Food not,as good as,the first time there ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Food not,as good as,the first time there on valentines,day. It was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Best meal we had in san jua ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent. Best meal we had in san juan

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect valentines dinner.

Dined on February 14, 2016

One of the best restaurants in San Juan. The food and the service were extraordinary and the special menu for Valentine's Day was perfect. Would recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Warning

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

1919 is fine dining. Each course was perfect. Food snobs will be pleased. Why the warning then? Our wine bill was more then the meal - yes that can be normal. However, the sommelier heard our conversation that we were not into all the wine pairings. They provided us a wine list tablet that was so overwhelming and the search function brought you right back to the home page (and we were all tech friendly). He then recommended various glasses. Each superb -at $78 a glass. Now this is 30% our fault, but 70% his. The wine tablet clearly didn't work. He heard us discuss buying bottles instead of glasses. I have been to some of the finest restaurants and know what a meal plus good wine costs and will gladly pay, but the way this was done left me with a bad taste in my mouth. My entire party felt wronged after a beautiful meal. So ask questions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The gold standard for dining in Puerto R ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

The gold standard for dining in Puerto Rico. You won't find a place that echoes the virtues set by such great locales as Jean Georges or Le Cirque as 1919 in Puerto Rico. This place is amazing. Worth every dollar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

fine dining

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Fantastic cousin, locally sourced, the wine pairing was a great value for the quality of the wines

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious Fancy Food

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Wonderful food, beautiful decor, gracious service. This is very much a fine dining restaurant and has a formal, old school, special occasion feel. Quite pricey, especially the wine list, but the food did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neil our server was incredible a true re ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Neil our server was incredible a true restaurant professional. Knowledgeable about both food and wine. Many exquisite recommendation. We had an exceptional evening down to Neil reminding is to notify our driver that we would be out in 20 minutes exactly. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Not what was expected

Dined on February 5, 2016

Restaurant was not all that was expected . Yogurt sauce on top of lobster dish was fishy and could not even finish more than one bite. Honestly if we knew the 2 courses before the main entree we would have NOT done the prefixed menu at all. Chicken for two would have been more than plenty. The cost of the dishes were not worth the expensives prices AT ALL Overall, service was decent, but food was NOT

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Nice and excellent service, but very expensive.

Dined on February 5, 2016

We celebrated my friends birthday here with a good dinner. We felt very welcome from start to end and there is nothing to say about the service other then it was great. They knew it was my friends birthday (i told them in advance) and they made him feel special about this. We choose the 4 course menu for 85$ per person, and started with a glass of champagne. To our surprise the price was 42 $ per glass, which is a bit overpriced for this brand of champagne. The 2 first meals was okey but not great, for the third course we had Lamb and this was very good. We also got two "pre-desserts" before the actual dessert. All the desserts where very good, but it was a bit to much and on top of this we got a chocolate cake that we could not finish. To sum it up: Excellent service, good food but not worth the amount we paid for it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service3

Just ok The tuna crudo was two bites for ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Just ok The tuna crudo was two bites for $24! Gem salad was just ok but a little on the small side 6. The salmon and cod were just ok. The highlight was the chocolate cake- excellent. Service was good and ambiance was nice. However, we won't be rushing back

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food! Great Service!! We were tire ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great Food! Great Service!! We were tired from a day exploring the island, so we decided to eat here at our hotel. We were really impressed. Portions are on the bit of the small size but the food is tasty!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around. Beautiful place. F ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Excellent all around. Beautiful place. Food was amazing. Wonderful service. The cheese course perfectly presented and exceeded expectations.

food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Its perfect for special occasions because is $$$$.

Dined on January 16, 2016

This is my second time, We were celebrating anniversary again. This time I didn't found comfortable and did not enjoy so much because of the noise, persons voices were too loud, boisterous.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

my experience with 1919

Dined on January 15, 2016

I was expecting to enjoy the tasting menu even though the price was fairly high. However, I found that the choices in each category was limited and most of the items in each category had a supplement attached to it . This would have made the price of the tasting menu much too high for the value. Instead my party took and appetizer and a main course which were very well prepared. I thought this policy of adding to many of the items a "rip off" and would not send any of my friends there.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.