About 1919 Restaurant

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Organic, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Hotel Entrance

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Cigar Room, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00

Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 12, 2016 - Jul 12, 2016 on Saturdays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays from 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM.
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 13, 2016 - Sep 10, 2016 on Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Caribbean
Fit for Foodies
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

special occasion (33)
romantic (28)
fit for foodies (21)
See All
notable wine list (21)
scenic view (15)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We went in our anniversary and wanted it ...

Dined 4 days ago

We went in our anniversary and wanted it to be special. They met all our expectations. We selected the chef selection menu. We were amused by 7 courses all of them perfectly prepared and paired with an exquisite selection of wines. Excellent diner and service.

food5
ambience5
service5

1919 never disappoints. Extraordinary s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

1919 never disappoints. Extraordinary service and excellent, fresh food!

food2
ambience3
service4

Very poor quality food!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Very poor quality food!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good yet the desserts could ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was good yet the desserts could've been better. Also, in the past experience and friends had recommended saying that a pre dessert panacotta was given and an after treat too yet out experience did not include any of these.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Happy Birthday

Dined on June 4, 2016

It was a very special night for me, it was spectacular. I was celebrating my birthday with my beautiful friends. Thanks for all the attention for myself and my guests

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best in San Juan

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our expericence at 1919 was out of this world!!! The service is outstanding and the detail in every plate was amazing!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

This restaurant is beautiful and elegant ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful and elegant, but is also pretentious and way overpriced. The food was good but not great -- we found much better nearby.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The place is pristine and service is out ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The place is pristine and service is outstanding. Choice of a full 4-course meal for a flat fee or a choice between the offerings of each course. I would add a vegetarian or vegan option at the main course but that would be all. A vast selection of wine. We never heard a "no" no any request- and we love that :).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

I requested my Salmon to be cooked well ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

I requested my Salmon to be cooked well done and they did not do it. Also the menu was slightly misleading with regard to the squid ink dish. It actually was quite heavy and rich and contained too many squid rather than just using the ink. The drinks were good but it was not good value for money even if I had arrived for the early bird special which I did not. Very nice wine list and great wine parings if you like that sort of thing. The whole place reminds me of the dining room on a ship but with less attention to the customers. At the front door when we arrived nobody was there to open it or welcome us and even when we left it was unattended. They get a zero for customer service and friendliness. Restaurant staff was much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation in Puerto Rico

Dined on May 17, 2016

I cannot wait to go back to Puerto Rico - mainly so that I can stay at the Vanderbilt Hotel and eat at 1919, again. The service at 1919 was amazing - we all felt so special and the food was wonderful. When we left they gave us banana bread to have for breakfast the next morning - a very nice touch and it was delicious, too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely stunning.

Dined on May 14, 2016

The view was magnificent, the service was spectacular and the food was exquisite.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not cheap, but worth it.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for mother brunch, the food and ambiance was great but the service was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! From beginning to end. We enjo ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous! From beginning to end. We enjoyed the Chef's Tasting Menu and everything was superb - and not skimpy at all! Great wines. We were attended to all the way through the meal. Our captain and server were both friendly and knowledgeable. We had a fabulous evening! Gracias...

food5
ambience4
service5

The Chef tasting menu was fabulous, clos ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The Chef tasting menu was fabulous, closest tasting to Ramsey's London restaurant we have ever had. From Lobster Salad w/caviar to Salmon to Venison Cheeks.. Flavors amazing. Wow wow wow

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Lived up to the expectation A+

Dined on April 29, 2016

We had AWESOME birthday dinner at 1919 loved the ambiance, Enrique our waiter was extremely accommodating and attentive. He offered recommendations as well as provided details of each dish served. We selected the 4 course meal which had a few surprises in between the courses "yummy". The food was delicious it definitely lived up to our fine dining expectations. Thank you 1919 we left with "Smiley Faces" by the way the banana bread was AMAZING !!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding as usual

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Outstanding as usual

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 26, 2016

Found this restaurant by surprise. I would go to this restaurant whenever there is a special occasion. Elegant setting, unbeatable service, wonderful food. Rate 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Was expecting more...

Dined on April 20, 2016

The ambiance was superb and service top notch! Raul was fantastic! What lacked was the food. Presentation was a 10 but some flavours were lacking. We had eaten at other top restaurants in PR and would not rate 1919 in my top 5. The total bill was $700.00 which is what we expected and have no problem paying, but I would hope that the food would compliment the high prices. Portions were small, but enough if going it's the tasting menu. There were only a few other couples in the restaurant which surprised me, I would have expected it to be busier. Overall it was lovely, however would not go again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is inside an historic hotel a ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

This place is inside an historic hotel and it's gorgeous . The meal was amazing and the service top notch. This was a wonderful dining experience. Loved it

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Lovely looking with pretentious food

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

The chef was trying to impress with strange combos of ingredients. Braised endive and lobster in cold coconut soup. Even the dessert was unsatisfying. The food just didn't taste good. Left hungry and will not return.

food1
ambience3
service1

Too expensive for the quality

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Too expensive for the quality

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing upscale restaurant

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing upscale restaurant in the Vanderbilt Hotel. Recently revamped menu... Superb. For us, romantic. Ambiance is subdued and relaxing. We didn't want to leave. You will not feel rushed one bit, but each course is nicely paced. We chose the pre-fix menu (4 courses) and had our waiter choose our wine. They KNOW their product and their menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Artistic presentation Fa ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful meal. Artistic presentation Fabulous service.

food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Wicked

Dined on March 22, 2016

The food TASTED great but Unfortunately we got food poisoning in addition to our $300 tab! Currently on my 3rd day of it. We told the restaurant the next day but didn't even receive an apology.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaraunt is VERY pricey. The food ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

This restaraunt is VERY pricey. The food was excellent, and everything is served in small plate style. Front of the house management did not match kitchen quality. Our window seat reservation got bumped off by a frequent visiting local. That was disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Impeccable service

Dined on March 17, 2016

Wonderful food, great service, beautiful! We were disappointed that our reservation request for a table with a view was not accommodated and we ended up near the kitchen. :( and the restraunt was not even close to full. Be assertive. The other comment is that we ordered wine pairings with our 4 course dinners. My husband and I ordered totally different dishes so it was perplexing that every wine was the same for each course? Needless to say, we'll go back. Just need to be assertive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

Food was great! Service was horrible!

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was great! Service was horrible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mucho Gusto

Dined on March 16, 2016

Very nice place for special dinner. Service was excellent. Food it awesome. Very remarkable and memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must-do dining experience in San Juan!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Overall excellent dining experience...but you pay for it. The service is impeccable, as is the food. Thank goodness reservations at Marmalade were impossible to get because this place is a complete and total gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at 1919 is impeccable. The s ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The service at 1919 is impeccable. The staff are very friendly and do their best to make your dinner with them excellent. I got the 4 course prix fixe dinner and was stuffed by the time the main course came out (seeing and smelling the meal gave me my second wind though). I was a little disappointed with the grass fed steak and ribs. I didn't taste anything else unique from the meats. The foie gras was spectacular and I really enjoyed that part of the meal. The experience overall was excellent and I would definitely come back to sample more of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

False advertising

Dined on March 5, 2016

You advertise 80$ on the internet and when you get there it is 100 I am angry and want my 2x20 plus tax and fees back. This is fraud and took place saturday 5th at 7.00PM Regards Morten

food5
ambience5
service5

We visited this restaurant a few times, ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

We visited this restaurant a few times, always in crescendo. They are an example when your wishes comes true. Excellent ambience, superb service and exquisite food!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had an absolutely wonderful experienc ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

We had an absolutely wonderful experience from the moment we arrived. We each had the prix fixe dinner with the premier wine accompaniment. Every dish was delicious and fresh. The wines were first rate. The service was attentive and well paced. I highly recommend 1919 if you are interested in truly fine dining.

food4
ambience5
service4

Food not,as good as,the first time there ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Food not,as good as,the first time there on valentines,day. It was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Best meal we had in san jua ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent. Best meal we had in san juan

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect valentines dinner.

Dined on February 14, 2016

One of the best restaurants in San Juan. The food and the service were extraordinary and the special menu for Valentine's Day was perfect. Would recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Warning

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

1919 is fine dining. Each course was perfect. Food snobs will be pleased. Why the warning then? Our wine bill was more then the meal - yes that can be normal. However, the sommelier heard our conversation that we were not into all the wine pairings. They provided us a wine list tablet that was so overwhelming and the search function brought you right back to the home page (and we were all tech friendly). He then recommended various glasses. Each superb -at $78 a glass. Now this is 30% our fault, but 70% his. The wine tablet clearly didn't work. He heard us discuss buying bottles instead of glasses. I have been to some of the finest restaurants and know what a meal plus good wine costs and will gladly pay, but the way this was done left me with a bad taste in my mouth. My entire party felt wronged after a beautiful meal. So ask questions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The gold standard for dining in Puerto R ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

The gold standard for dining in Puerto Rico. You won't find a place that echoes the virtues set by such great locales as Jean Georges or Le Cirque as 1919 in Puerto Rico. This place is amazing. Worth every dollar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

fine dining

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Fantastic cousin, locally sourced, the wine pairing was a great value for the quality of the wines

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Delicious Fancy Food

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Wonderful food, beautiful decor, gracious service. This is very much a fine dining restaurant and has a formal, old school, special occasion feel. Quite pricey, especially the wine list, but the food did not disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.