Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today

1919 Restaurant

4.6
600 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Farm-to-table
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
  • Good for a Date
Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Elegant Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 724-1919
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Juan Jose Cuevas
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main Entrance Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
VC lounge entertainment Thursdays to Saturdays
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

View Private Dining Details
What 600 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wines are over priced, about 4x

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was cold and the service was slow. The buffet was unappealing and although we had made a previous reservation, a tanle was not reserved for us. The buffet food was cold and overall bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

EXELNTE PARA UNA NOCHE ROMANTICA. SERVICIO DE EXELENCIA Y CALIDAD EN SUS PLATOS

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This delicious fine dining restaurant does not require to play tropical or dancing music. It is not adequate.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food is Ok, not remarkable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Amazing ambience and first class service. I was unimpressed with the beer list, and our waiter offered to go to the beach bar at the hotel and grab me a couple Belgian ales. That’s incredible service. The food was very, very good - just a notch below some of the best food we’ve had in NYC. I definitely recommend 1919 for date night or a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

First, we ordered the octopus appetizer which contained a large live spider, the plate was changed but the meal not replaced.

Second, the steamed muscles were dry, and the fish dishes not particularly good (perhaps not fresh)

Third, the bill had a $100 mistake, intentional or non-intentional, it is an unpleasant overlook on behalf of the restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Exelente combinaciòn de sabores con ingredientes frescos de la Isla e importados..Comida creativa,ambiente elegante,muy linda la decoraciòn.
Servicio eficiente y amable,sin ser cargosos.
Mi ùnica crítica es el alto precio de la lista de vinos.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We loved the food (we chose the pre fixe menu) and the service was great. They were attentive and friendly. The website was misleading on the dress code (e.g. dressy shorts were not appropriate) and we were underdress and "banished" to the bar area. Turned out to be better as there was a DJ in the bar area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I was looking for somewhere special for my boyfriend's birthday and a friend recommended this spot. It did not disappoint. The ambience is amazing and you get that wow factor when you step in. The service was fantastic and the food, sooo good. We went for the set 3 course menu. It's a great place for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food at this restaurant was really good; however the service could use some improvement. My husband and I recently stayed at Vanderbilt Condado to celebrate our Anniversary. Overall the service was ok, but the server did mess up our appetizer order. The wrong appetizer was brought out for me, and apparently the correct appetiser took a while to make, which resulted in my husband eating for 10 minutes while his appetizer got cold. I finally talked him into going ahead without me, but then when mine finally came out he just had to sit there and watch me eat.
The main course went well and the food was good. Then when they brought out dessert, I saw they had written on the plate in chocolate. They would have gotten accolades for this gesture, however, they wrote “Happy Birthday” instead of Happy Anniversary.
Overall, the experience wasn’t horrible but I expected much much more from a restaurant at the Vanderbilt hotel.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Wife birthday

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

excellent presentation of the meal, outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great ambiance, excellent food and dining experience, excellent service and attention. The service team is excellent. A bit overpriced but the place and service and food makes it worth it.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Do not eat here. We started our dining experience by ordering a bottle of sparkling wine. After the first course was served the wine never came and when I said something to the waiter he gave me a glass of white wine from the same country but wasn’t the bottle of sparkling wine I ordered. The waiter then tells me they are out of the bottle of sparkling wind I ordered which was not true because the wine sommelier of the restaurant said it was in stock which indicated that either the waiter ill informed or even worse too lazy to ask.
After this my fellow diner ordered the tasting menu with the “prestige” wine pairing which is $120 for the wine alone. The waiter then proceeds to pour him a glass of Duckhorn Chardonnay. As a wine sommelier of a fine dining restaurant I know this wine would never be served or labeled as a “prestige” wine and when I asked the sommelier about this he admitted that the waiter did not pour the correct wine. What upset me the most about this dining experience is that the waiters and managers said this was all miscommunications between the service staff when point blank it was them dropping the ball. I always tell my restaurant staff to be real, be knowledgeable, and to never fake it. For a restaurant that we spent $1,000 between four people and with the accolades that were advertised I would expect the same. If you want a great dining experience go to Marmalade. This place could learn a thing or two on how to have a knowledgeable staff with props wine service from them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Birthday Dinner

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Not as good as last month. Disappointing actually. Surly heavy set man at door pretty nasty. Not a good way to start an evening of a 3 hour tasting menu $500 meal. The courses fell short this time. Not certain if the chef was even in the kitchen the evening we dined. Like last month a 40 minute lull between fourth and fifth course. Couldn’t wait to get out of there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

This was an outstanding meal that was unexpected in quality. Our snapper and halibut entrees were perfectly cooked. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Un lugar excelente para pasar una velada en pareja. La atención es de primera. Los platos exquisitos.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Fabulous food. Very special experience. Lots of special touches.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

We love this hotel and this restaurant. Fine dining the way I like it. Attentive service without being too stuffy. The food is elegant and approachable. Fresh flavors, beautiful presentation and a thoughtful, complete wine list. Don't skip dessert. They are good too, even the ice cream.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Service was very rushed. We even commented on it and they continued to rush us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The arrival experience and service throughout the meal was spectacular. The food was some of the best that I have tasted on the Island after living here for 12 years and being in the hospitality industry. The Culinary team maybe a little heavy handed in seasoning but, apart from that, amazing food experience. The price puts pressure on the value of the meal but as far as experiences go in San Juan, it is very difficult to beat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Awesome! Ivan and William were excellent hosts.
Food was superb

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Excellent metre di and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Pleasant experience in a glamorous environment!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Over all, this is my favorite restaurant for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Service was outstanding and the food was great and very creative. I will return again in a heartbeat

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

We went for our wedding anniversary and had a memorable experience. The food quality is top notch from our experience. You may note that we are two vegetarian foodies that love the art of cooking, so this place definitely appealed to us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We ate here for dinner. The ambience was chill and and the decor was beautiful. The service was amazing. Everyone was very on top of things and friendly. The food was amazing we did the prefixed meals and got the lobster sliders which were delicious, the tuna tartare was amazing and the duck breast which was also amazing. We had the brownie for dessert. It’s more of a dark chocolate brownie. Pretty good but very rich so I couldn’t eat the whole thing. Right before the brown came out they gave us a sample of the panna cotta dessert which was absolutely delicious. I’d suggest that as your dessert. As we walk out they gave us a banana nut bread to go and it was very moist and delicious. Overall 5 stars +

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Great service from start to finish, fab food, wine to match.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Fantastic service and beautiful decor. The food was sublime!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Excellent service and very friendly staff. It’s not cheap, but if you appreciate good food and service then you should treat yourself

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Excellent food, service and ambiance... good for special occasions.. adult environmnet..had the Chef’s Table

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Amazing. Did the 7 course chef tasting. One of the best meals I’ve had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

The best restaurant in Puerto Rico hands down!
Chef Cuevas is a magician.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We did the chef’s menu and every one of the 6 courses was a surprise. We did ours with no carbs and there was no disappointment! Even the salmon was delicious and I HATE fish, especially salmon. Everything was super fresh and prepared and presented so beautifully. Perfect combination of flavors, where I could still taste each individual flavor. And I like be combinations of tender meat with creamy and crunchy. Will only order the 6 course chef’s menu ever again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I have visited this place previously, unfortunately on this occasion was presented with a prefixed 5 course (only option) that was not worth the $130 per person charge. Also, was offered a wine pairing at $100 per person that was more a wine tasting because of the amount of wine on each option. I will need to reconsider future visits if this continues.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Excelent food but small amount for the value. Good Ambience .

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15