Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

About 1919 Restaurant

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Entrance Condado Vanderbilt Hotel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
VC lounge entertainment Thursdays to Saturdays

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Notable Wine List (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Waterfront (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Scenic View (11)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great ambiance and impressive wine list. Service could be better for this caliber of a restaurant. We had to wait to place our order and wait a long time for our check.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Really amazing food. And the service was at another level. Everyone was very attentive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to the restaurant several times before and this was by far he best food we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 10, 2017

The Four course pairing was exceptional. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent Service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My birthday.. excellent food and service. Highly recc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We did a Chef's tasting menu, with a wine pairing with each course. Each wine was better then the next. One of the best dinning experiences I have had. Service was amazing and the servers tended to every need. 1919 is a can't missing if in San Juan. It is on par or better then any top rated restaurants in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

My husband and I are on our honeymoon and staying at the Vanderbilt. We made the smart choice of making reservations at 1919 Restaurant! Everything was amazing from the food to exceptional service! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Very good food. Not sure cost justified. Extremely tiny cup of coffee that seemed and tasted like espresso but asked for decaf. Asked for refill and ended up getting charged for 2 cups. Got that taken off bill. Some of price fixed options have upcharge. Tuna app did not but $5 was added to the bill for an upcharge so one should carefully check their bill. Salad portions small. Entree sizes good but fish of day entree small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I cannot give enough praise to the staff, the management, the chef, the service, the ambience... everything was perfect! I came here with my girlfriend for a farewell to San Juan dinner and every dish I tasted brought me close to tears it was so good! Even the palate cleansers were delicious! We cannot stop raving about this place! Advanced warning, it is obviously on the pricey side, but do not let that deter you. Save some cash, dress in your best smart casual attire, and pay a visit to this restaurant. It is an experience worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Two items were almost too salty to eat. Both of us are Chefs, the food was over salted. Service was very good but they seemed unorganized. You almost have too many servers on the floor. More efficiency would decrease the number of staff members.
It was a very nice upscale dining experience but I doubt I would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We did the Chef's table and we did not regret it. Every course was great, but the service the exceptional. Agustin and Hector made everything special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The best restaurant in Puerto Rico we highly recommend it. We've been here 5 times and it has never disappointed, always a grate experience and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Appetizers and wine pairing was excellent, but the suckling pig was so well done that it was difficult to eat

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 26, 2017

3 hours to finished eating. They took 30 mins in between meals. No taste at all. Blah food. Overpriced. They tried to overcharged $100 extra on my credit card. And it looked like the waiter knew about it. He didn't apologized. Bad bad bad. Malo malo terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent service, food and wine pairing; Agustin, Luis Alfonso, Jorge and the rest of the staff were an instrumental part in transforming a fine dinning experience into an unforgettable experience!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The server Enrique was great. The host was very welcoming. Great experience overall. Celebrated my girlfriends birthday. I reserved a table on a tuesday night in order to ensure a nice romantic evening and to avoid crowds as i was also proposing, however, a group of about 70 people arrived and made the resaturant extremely loud and killed the ambience. This just added a funny side to our proposal memories which did not bother us. The staff was still attentive and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was an outstanding experience from beginning to end. The food was creative,tasteful,innovative and on time. The staff is well trained and fit for a michelin star. And lastly the chef is an outstanding superstar in the kitchen,well underated ,this might very well be the best restaurant in the caribean. Thank you chef for an anniversary meal that we will remember forever.!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Spectacular dinner in 1919 Restaurant, our servers Enrique and Luis were exceptional. We order the 7 course menu and it was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 6, 2017

One of San Juan's top dining experiences, an excellent combination of local ingredients and fine cooking techniques to bring out the best natural flavors in every bite. Top to bottom, start to finish, a win-win choice, if you're lucky enough to be in Puerto Rico for dinner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Fabulous food and very attentive service. 5 stars!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great place with your special someone, lovely food with perfect services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was a great night, service was top notch, and a great way to celebrate our anniversary, thanks once again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We loved this place! The service was absolutely top-notch! We had the chef's tasting menu and loved just about everything on it. A few things were just a bit too salty for me, but we generally found it to be clean, inventive in a good way, delicious food. We hope to be able to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent service
Food quality great
Elegant environment
Dishes are tasting and creative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My husband and I dined here on our 25th wedding anniversary. We had the 4 course tasting menu with wine pairings- every course was fabulous, and the wines were excellent. My one small critique would be that a red wine was chosen for our fish course, and although it was light and fruity, I would have preferred a white. The service was amazing and everyone at the restaurant treated us as special as the occasion itself. As I am a chef and sommelier myself, I am a harsh dining critic! I would recommend 1919- the food was expertly prepared, beautifully presented and professionally served. A lovely experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Very unique food; 4 course meal with fairly small portions; our group enjoyed the experience and left 1919 satisfied. $$$$

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was excellent. Top quality ingredients. Excellent service. Try the asparagus salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Nice but outraigously expensive!! 2 people with the cheapest wine 250 usd ? Not value!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excelente servicio y atencion ideal para un grupo con un comensal que es alérgico al gluten

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excelent service and fabulous food. Since you entered the restaurant the wonderful experience begin

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wow! I am comfortable eating in a dive and in a Michelin-starred restaurant. What is important to me is the quality of the food, the dedication of the staff and the overwhelming urge to give the diner an experience. On a recent visit to 1919, we experienced all three. Starting with the amuse bouche, we knew it would be an unforgettable experience. Ending with the dessert, we knew it had been and it consumed our conversation for days. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was superb. Service and attention to detail was extraordinary, with special thanks to Enrique and Luis. We can't wait to go back and plan to make another trip to the island just to dine at 1919.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I went with my wife to 1919 Restaurant to celebrate our first anniversary, and the team made sure it was a special night since the welcome. William and Ivan were excellent from the beginning to the end. They have lots of knowledge on what they do, and made sure that everything with the dinner was perfect in every moment. The food and wine pairing as well were really impressive and exquisite. Every wine William paired with each course were perfect. He explained to us everything (even the story of each one) of the wines he served. After dessert they brought us a plate with different chocolates, macaroons and jelly along with a chocolate message of Happy Anniversary, my wife and I were really impressed with such detail. The chef came by to our table to say hi, which made us feel very special.
Once again Thank You 1919 Team for such a great night!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dublin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was the best restaurant I've been to in a very long time. The food was delicious and the service was absolutely impeccable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 10, 2017

On the pricey side but you forget about it once you taste the delicious food with the excellent service that is provided. Enrique was our waiter and he excel assuring our dinner was a great experience. Ask for him!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful place - the service was exceptional and the food was fantastic. Unfortunately my partner didn't adhere to the dress code - guys, no shorts, please - so we had to sit at the bar area. Regardless, the view was great and service was outstanding. Even with my dietary restrictions they gave me plenty of choices. Pricey but worth to have that experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was awesome! I went with very high expectations and they were all met. The food was excellent and my dessert, it was the most exquisite dessert. For my boyfriend the cocktails were on point, for me were a little strong but that's me. The service was extraordinary, I felt like a queen.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This has been one of the best fine dinning experience so far. Attention to detail since you enter the hotel and heightened at the beautiful restaurant.
Great wine list and cocktails. All our different dishes were spectacular. The service was excellent and paired with extra surprise details that completed the luxury ambiance of the place.
Excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Wesley and Alfredo are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.