About 1919 Restaurant

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Organic, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Hotel Entrance

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
  • 1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant
1919 Restaurant

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Elements Menu $49

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $38.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 13, 2016 - Sep 10, 2016 on Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Elements Menu $49

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

First Tuna Tartar Avocado, Yuzu, Cucumber, Cilantro, Aji Little Gem Salad Radicchio, Mango, Peanuts, Capaez Cheese, Herb Vinaigrette Second Grilled Hanger Steak Black Beluga Lentils, Spinach, Light Curry Rico Desserts Choice. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Dec 29, 2016 on Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
Romantic
Puerto Rico
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Scenic View (16)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was for our first anniversary celeb ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was for our first anniversary celebration, so I really wanted something special for my wife and I.

1) Excellent Service. They were very attentive to our needs and made our evening very pleasent. The waiters/ress were continually keeping a good table and the food services was reasonably quick.

2) Their menu is straigthforward and also has the Pre-Fix (4 course) and the Chef Inspiration (6-8 courses created at the moment by the chef. That's not the actual name). My recommendation is to go with the Pre Fix or Chef menu because its a complete experience of the menu for a good cost.

3) The wine pairing is Clasic or Prestige. Very good pairings.

4) The restaurant uses 60-80% of local ingredients accordingly to the captain.

5) The Rosemary Créme Brule was amazing and the cochinillo.

5) At our exit the hostest gifted us the best Banana Bread I've ever tasted, which was awesome for breakfast the next morning :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing, all in one experience!!! ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

It was amazing, all in one experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic every time. This is a top go-t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

fantastic every time. This is a top go-to for us in Puerto Rico.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There is a dress code! We were not aware ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

There is a dress code! We were not aware of it and they actually wouldn't seat us in the restaurant. They sat us in the bar. It was a little degrading and embarrassing. We were dressed up but not to their standards. The food was excellent though! Worth sitting in the bar!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at 1919 Restaurant was gr ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our experience at 1919 Restaurant was great! A restaurant is made by three things: space, people and ingredients. All three key areas were amazing and their staff deserves all credit for making a great experience for their guests.

Special thanks to our Captain Raul, Manager Luis and Chef Juan Jose. Keep the good work and be our ambassadors from your place.

Thanks;

Edwin

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extravagant! Perfect for a very special ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Extravagant! Perfect for a very special occasion. Elegant atmosphere with a breathtaking view of the ocean. Impeccable service, the staff made us feel like royalty from the moment we walked in. We chose the chefs selection which was beyond satisfying with a great variety of flavorful dishes. With that said, it was very expensive. We were able to justify our hefty bill with the celebration of our engagement.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Chef in San Juan and Caribbean Area ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Best Chef in San Juan and Caribbean Area!!! Top Notch

Superb service.

Should be PR 1st Star Michelin Rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FANTASTIC ! World class food and arrive ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

FANTASTIC ! World class food and arrive - live the wine list here .....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Located in the historic Vanderbilt Hotel ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Located in the historic Vanderbilt Hotel, rich with history and elegance. The view is spectacular. Service was supurb with every attention to detail.

Wine selection more than adequate. Food was excellent and very nicely presented.

It was everything you would expect in a 5 star establishment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Exquisite food and be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service. Exquisite food and beautiful ambiance. Perfect for a romantic dinner. Definitely would recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

$$$ but worth it. Fantastic food, and th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

$$$ but worth it. Fantastic food, and the service makes it even better.

If you get Ivan to introduce the menu and suggest drinks, you are in for a treat.

A wonderful culinary experience with a service that takes it to another level.

Do not miss if you are in San Juan.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While in Puerto Rico visiting family we ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

While in Puerto Rico visiting family we took them to this restaurant (6 of us.

The decor in perfect . Having been to other high end fine dinning restaurants

this place I will compare to Daniel in NY City but that is it. After a check of $1,600.00

(expensive wine) i will say that in service and food quality it does not measure up.

The Maitre D' of whatever position that guy had in the restaurant was loud as if he

was in a stake house (where everybody is loud) and even mention the chef having

a Michelin star, like the chefs could take the star with them when they live a restaurant,

any way said and repeat FINE DINNING is a standard that starting from the chef (owner

or not )keep them selfs not just expensive food. if you want to be treated to a real

fine dinning experience go to Pikayo. My opinion, Thank's.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We went in our anniversary and wanted it ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went in our anniversary and wanted it to be special. They met all our expectations. We selected the chef selection menu. We were amused by 7 courses all of them perfectly prepared and paired with an exquisite selection of wines. Excellent diner and service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1919 never disappoints. Extraordinary s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

1919 never disappoints. Extraordinary service and excellent, fresh food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very poor quality food!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Very poor quality food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The food was good yet the desserts could ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The food was good yet the desserts could've been better. Also, in the past experience and friends had recommended saying that a pre dessert panacotta was given and an after treat too yet out experience did not include any of these.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My Happy Birthday

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It was a very special night for me, it was spectacular. I was celebrating my birthday with my beautiful friends. Thanks for all the attention for myself and my guests

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the Best in San Juan

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our expericence at 1919 was out of this world!!! The service is outstanding and the detail in every plate was amazing!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is beautiful and elegant ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful and elegant, but is also pretentious and way overpriced. The food was good but not great -- we found much better nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The place is pristine and service is out ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The place is pristine and service is outstanding. Choice of a full 4-course meal for a flat fee or a choice between the offerings of each course. I would add a vegetarian or vegan option at the main course but that would be all. A vast selection of wine. We never heard a "no" no any request- and we love that :).

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I requested my Salmon to be cooked well ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I requested my Salmon to be cooked well done and they did not do it. Also the menu was slightly misleading with regard to the squid ink dish. It actually was quite heavy and rich and contained too many squid rather than just using the ink.

The drinks were good but it was not good value for money even if I had arrived for the early bird special which I did not.

Very nice wine list and great wine parings if you like that sort of thing.

The whole place reminds me of the dining room on a ship but with less attention to the customers. At the front door when we arrived nobody was there to open it or welcome us and even when we left it was unattended. They get a zero for customer service and friendliness.

Restaurant staff was much better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

Vacation in Puerto Rico

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

I cannot wait to go back to Puerto Rico - mainly so that I can stay at the Vanderbilt Hotel and eat at 1919, again. The service at 1919 was amazing - we all felt so special and the food was wonderful. When we left they gave us banana bread to have for breakfast the next morning - a very nice touch and it was delicious, too!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely stunning.

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The view was magnificent, the service was spectacular and the food was exquisite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not cheap, but worth it.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for mother brunch, the food and ambiance was great but the service was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous! From beginning to end. We enjo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fabulous! From beginning to end. We enjoyed the Chef's Tasting Menu and everything was superb - and not skimpy at all! Great wines. We were attended to all the way through the meal. Our captain and server were both friendly and knowledgeable. We had a fabulous evening! Gracias...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very professional staff - great wine lis ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Very professional staff - great wine list with professional wine knowledge to back it up - food is amazing and always wonderful choices from the menu .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Chef tasting menu was fabulous, clos ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The Chef tasting menu was fabulous, closest tasting to Ramsey's London restaurant we have ever had. From Lobster Salad w/caviar to Salmon to Venison Cheeks.. Flavors amazing. Wow wow wow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Lived up to the expectation A+

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had AWESOME birthday dinner at 1919 loved the ambiance, Enrique our waiter was extremely accommodating and attentive. He offered recommendations as well as provided details of each dish served. We selected the 4 course meal which had a few surprises in between the courses "yummy". The food was delicious it definitely lived up to our fine dining expectations. Thank you 1919 we left with "Smiley Faces" by the way the banana bread was AMAZING !!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as usual

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Outstanding as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Found this restaurant by surprise. I would go to this restaurant whenever there is a special occasion. Elegant setting, unbeatable service, wonderful food. Rate 5 stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was expecting more...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

The ambiance was superb and service top notch! Raul was fantastic! What lacked was the food. Presentation was a 10 but some flavours were lacking. We had eaten at other top restaurants in PR and would not rate 1919 in my top 5. The total bill was $700.00 which is what we expected and have no problem paying, but I would hope that the food would compliment the high prices. Portions were small, but enough if going it's the tasting menu. There were only a few other couples in the restaurant which surprised me, I would have expected it to be busier.

Overall it was lovely, however would not go again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is inside an historic hotel a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

This place is inside an historic hotel and it's gorgeous . The meal was amazing and the service top notch. This was a wonderful dining experience. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely looking with pretentious food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The chef was trying to impress with strange combos of ingredients. Braised endive and lobster in cold coconut soup. Even the dessert was unsatisfying. The food just didn't taste good. Left hungry and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Too expensive for the quality

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Too expensive for the quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Amazing upscale restaurant

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing upscale restaurant in the Vanderbilt Hotel. Recently revamped menu... Superb. For us, romantic. Ambiance is subdued and relaxing. We didn't want to leave. You will not feel rushed one bit, but each course is nicely paced. We chose the pre-fix menu (4 courses) and had our waiter choose our wine. They KNOW their product and their menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal. Artistic presentation Fa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Wonderful meal. Artistic presentation Fabulous service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wicked

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

The food TASTED great but Unfortunately we got food poisoning in addition to our $300 tab! Currently on my 3rd day of it. We told the restaurant the next day but didn't even receive an apology.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

This restaraunt is VERY pricey. The food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This restaraunt is VERY pricey. The food was excellent, and everything is served in small plate style. Front of the house management did not match kitchen quality. Our window seat reservation got bumped off by a frequent visiting local. That was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Impeccable service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Wonderful food, great service, beautiful!

We were disappointed that our reservation request for a table with a view was not accommodated and we ended up near the kitchen. :( and the restraunt was not even close to full. Be assertive.

The other comment is that we ordered wine pairings with our 4 course dinners. My husband and I ordered totally different dishes so it was perplexing that every wine was the same for each course?

Needless to say, we'll go back. Just need to be assertive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great! Service was horrible!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was great! Service was horrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.