About 1919 Restaurant

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Hotel Entrance

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pr - 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Tasting Menu (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Organic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Waterfront (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Upscale restaurant. Too expensive for wh ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Upscale restaurant. Too expensive for what it was. Food presentation was on par, but most dishes were a tad bland and not interesting. Not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent Food and extraordinary service ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent Food and extraordinary service. Best restaurant in Puerto Rico.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, , Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding although pricey. Se ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was outstanding although pricey. Services very good. Had to sit in Bar due to no shorts policy. The place was freezing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Me and my family were utterly disappoint ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Me and my family were utterly disappointed with this restaurant. We came in with high expectations due to the Chef's Michelin Starred restaurant in NYC but left realizing that all we had was good food in small quantities and at excessively high prices. I must admit that the Tuna crudo appetizer and the second course, Ricotta Raviolli, that I had were marvelously achieved, although the third course, slow cooked cod, left a lot to desire and was excessively salty. I must also point out that for the price was not proportional to the quality and quantity of the food. Additionally, at the end of the meal we had the bitter surprise of finding out that the Tuna crudo and the cod had an additional charge on top of the prix fixe menu that was not written on the menu nor notified to us. Finally I must comment that service was deficient and far from that which one would expect at this type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Primary server was arrogant and very unp ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Primary server was arrogant and very unprepared, could not answer basic question, ignore complains. For example my fish it smell as it was not fresh and he totally ignore the complain. The issue later was brought to the attention to the manager he indicated that we should had insist on the complain , going to him directly was insisting but nothing was done he mention he would look into it has been a week still waiting.

The other food was good, atmosphere was ok but too dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

This should have been a 5 star feedback ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This should have been a 5 star feedback from us because the food is incredible however service was mixed and forgetful, our wine glasses sat empty waiting for more wine, bread was never offered after our initial offering and then almost at the end of our entree two pieces were just placed on our b&b plates almost as to make up. The food was just placed down without describing.... Having said all that we would definitely go back to enjoy the beautiful dishes Chef is preparing, you have to remind yourself that it's a resort town so service can be forgiven but the food is totally world class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was mostly quite good although ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was mostly quite good although the entree fish was dry. The service was excellent at the beginning of the meal. Halfway through, however, the staff disappeared. We were not asked about additional beverages, coffee etc. We couldn't even get more water. Really detracted from the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Food was very good. Service was excellen ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was very good. Service was excellent. The wrong meal was brought out to me, and the waiter was extremely apologetic. So, my husband ate his meal alone while I waited for mine. I ate my meal alone once it came. There was no effort to comp anything for the inconvenience. For the money spent, it was somewhat surprising. In my experience as a waiter, you always make up for your mistake through some form of comping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was decent but the service was terr ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was decent but the service was terrible. Tasting menus and wine pairings are always tricky, however, the value wasn't there.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable ser ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable service. I took my 15 year old for Christmas dinner and he tried things he would have never tried normally. It was beautifully presented and definitely a meal to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant did not have the reservat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The restaurant did not have the reservation made through Open Table, which was confirmed by Open Table and re-confirmed directly through the restaurant's reservation office.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was one of the best moment ever that ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was one of the best moment ever that my wife and i have been expended. The services and food over-standing, and the price is kind higher but so worth it. I recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Organic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a beautiful restaurant and the s ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant and the service is impeccable. We had a nice meal and really good cocktails. It is very expensive so you have to think twice about whether it is worth the price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The experience was wonderful and we were ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The experience was wonderful and we were served by a very nice Portuguese waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, food, service, etc. Top ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great ambiance, food, service, etc. Top of the line I recommend to all! This may sound weird but they had some of the freshest water I have ever tasted, it was addictive. Everything abou tthis place was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around great great restaurant From t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

All around great great restaurant

From the moment you enter the gorgeous Vanderbilt hotel you have a sense you're in for a treat!

The host and hostess the revering we went were amazing

We even got a banana bread loaf a sweet gift to take home

The food and service was beyond compare

Don't miss this place on your trip to Puerto Rico

Ps it's not inexpensive but it's worth the splurge!😀

Marcia L

Nyc

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best experiences we have had ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of the best experiences we have had hands down! Amazing service and felt well taken care of. I rarely write reviews but this one was definitely worthy. Would recommend to anyone in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb menu, food, service, décor. Wort ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Superb menu, food, service, décor. Worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is truly outstanding and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This restaurant is truly outstanding and is NOT to be missed? The food is creative and delicious. The service is knowledge and attentive. The wine list has nice choices across the cost spectrum. The room is beautiful and quiet for conversation even when full. I congratulate the chef and owners for creating this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but wasn't anything sp ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was good but wasn't anything special you couldn't get anywhere else for a lower price. They charge you $85 for the 4 course meal and you can make your selections but watch out because many of the items have an extra surcharge so it's like paying $100 or more per person based on what you order.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

waiter Ivan was great,beautiful restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

waiter Ivan was great,beautiful restaurant which we visit multiple times in the past when we visit this American Paradise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very dissatisfied and disappointed ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very very dissatisfied and disappointed for a $590 meal.

There were only 6 table in restaurant that were occupied I asked to move to different table with better view and I was told no. Ridiculous if restaurant was busy or an early reservation I could see. It was 7:15 and by time we weee finishing at 930 it was dead.

Our main server was cold stuffy and uninteresting in us , the menu and our dining experience in general.

Again would never return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Michelin standards at Thanksgiving. Had ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Michelin standards at Thanksgiving. Had Thanksgiving dinner and was impressed at how they melded traditional Thanksgiving flavors with innovation and elegance. Lovely meal and I loved the special Coquito treat at the end.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite food and service

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Exquisite food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excelente servicio y menú. Enrique es e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excelente servicio y menú. Enrique es el mejor mesero. El chef tasting menu es riquisimo, y lo pueden preparar gluten free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is not cheap but worth every ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This place is not cheap but worth every penny. The food, the wine and the service were outstanding. This is defienlty a place suited for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Worth the wait!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food. Worth the wait!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

First time doing a chef tasting and it w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time doing a chef tasting and it was amazing. Got to sample a few of the chefs delicious recipes and was never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought the hotel, and restaurant ambi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I thought the hotel, and restaurant ambiance was amazing... very elegant and high end. There was no other choice in the menu besides the 5 course menu with the wine pairing option, my gf doesn't eat meat, so that was an issue for us... and not a heavy wine drinker to have 6 diff glasses, I thing they got to have some other options and not force people to spend $150 per person. The ambiance, music and everything else was great....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food and fine service but quite pri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Good food and fine service but quite pricey. Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very quiet, stuffy and not very fun. Tu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very quiet, stuffy and not very fun. Tuna crudo was bland. Some one in our group sent back their filet. Dessert was the best course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We ordered the 7-course meal. It was an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We ordered the 7-course meal. It was an explosion of amazing flavors and textures- just exceptional!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and so we went for th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It was my birthday and so we went for the 4 courses menu and it was delicious! A bit pricey but worth it. Great wine and cocktails (I had the mojito). And then came the most amazing chocolate birthday desert...plus an extra surprise. Really great service. The ambience is a bit soulless for my taste however I am certain we'll come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Really a great meal. Best so far in PR ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Really a great meal. Best so far in PR during one week vacation. We had the tasting 4 course and it was outstanding with a great wine paring. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great spot right in our hotel. The ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A great spot right in our hotel. The service and food was spectacular from start to finish. We enjoyed a very romantic dinner here while visiting San Juan.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food in San Juan...the resta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Outstanding food in San Juan...the restaurant is located inside inthe newest and most elegant hotels in El Condado section of the city. It's well heeled ambience fits the excellent food and service. We went with the 4 course price fixe meal and had no regrets. Incredible food starting from the tomato salad leading to the ravioli cochinillo with a perfect halibut as the entree. We finished off with mouth watering chocolate souffle. Highly recommended for an unforgettable meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I wish I had known there was a dress cod ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I wish I had known there was a dress code. No where was it mentioned so we could not sit inside the restaurant. They were however able to sit us by the bar and where we had great personal service by Luis. Ordering wine from an iPad was neat, portion sizes were small, being out by the bar means louder live music, and the address for the restaurant isnt accurate so just look for the Condado Vanderbilt Hotel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One word describe this place: INCREDIBLE ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One word describe this place: INCREDIBLE! Very well run. Great food. Great wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our expectation with the food was very h ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our expectation with the food was very high before we step in but when we tasted we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Was on Vacation at the resort and the ex ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Was on Vacation at the resort and the experience was the highlight of our stay. Excellent wine list, Food and service were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.