Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

About 1919 Restaurant

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Entrance Condado Vanderbilt Hotel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
VC lounge entertainment Thursdays to Saturdays

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romance (41)
SpecialOccasions (40)
CreativeCuisine (31)
See All
GoodForDates (29)
Foodies (27)
Anniversaries (27)
Waterfront (24)
QuietConversation (21)
LocalIngredients (19)
TastingMenu (19)
NotableWineList (19)
ScenicView (15)
Birthdays (9)
Authentic (9)
HandcraftedCocktails (9)
BusinessMeals (9)
Cozy (8)
ModernDecor (7)
Seasonal (6)
WorthTheDrive (5)
PrePostTheatre (4)
Historic (4)
NeighborhoodGem (4)
Organic (3)
Healthy (3)
Groups (2)
OutstandingValue (2)
VegetarianOptions (2)
Casual (2)
PeopleWatching (2)
MolecularGastronomy (2)
DisabledAccess (2)
GlutenFree (2)
PaleoFriendly (2)
FamilyStyle (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
ComfortFood (1)
Fun (1)
HappyHour (1)
BarSeating (1)
HotSpot (1)
LateNightFind (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
488 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Nice but outraigously expensive!! 2 people with the cheapest wine 250 usd ? Not value!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excelente servicio y atencion ideal para un grupo con un comensal que es alérgico al gluten

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excelent service and fabulous food. Since you entered the restaurant the wonderful experience begin

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wow! I am comfortable eating in a dive and in a Michelin-starred restaurant. What is important to me is the quality of the food, the dedication of the staff and the overwhelming urge to give the diner an experience. On a recent visit to 1919, we experienced all three. Starting with the amuse bouche, we knew it would be an unforgettable experience. Ending with the dessert, we knew it had been and it consumed our conversation for days. Well done.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was superb. Service and attention to detail was extraordinary, with special thanks to Enrique and Luis. We can't wait to go back and plan to make another trip to the island just to dine at 1919.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I went with my wife to 1919 Restaurant to celebrate our first anniversary, and the team made sure it was a special night since the welcome. William and Ivan were excellent from the beginning to the end. They have lots of knowledge on what they do, and made sure that everything with the dinner was perfect in every moment. The food and wine pairing as well were really impressive and exquisite. Every wine William paired with each course were perfect. He explained to us everything (even the story of each one) of the wines he served. After dessert they brought us a plate with different chocolates, macaroons and jelly along with a chocolate message of Happy Anniversary, my wife and I were really impressed with such detail. The chef came by to our table to say hi, which made us feel very special.
Once again Thank You 1919 Team for such a great night!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful place - the service was exceptional and the food was fantastic. Unfortunately my partner didn't adhere to the dress code - guys, no shorts, please - so we had to sit at the bar area. Regardless, the view was great and service was outstanding. Even with my dietary restrictions they gave me plenty of choices. Pricey but worth to have that experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 10, 2017

On the pricey side but you forget about it once you taste the delicious food with the excellent service that is provided. Enrique was our waiter and he excel assuring our dinner was a great experience. Ask for him!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was awesome! I went with very high expectations and they were all met. The food was excellent and my dessert, it was the most exquisite dessert. For my boyfriend the cocktails were on point, for me were a little strong but that's me. The service was extraordinary, I felt like a queen.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This has been one of the best fine dinning experience so far. Attention to detail since you enter the hotel and heightened at the beautiful restaurant.
Great wine list and cocktails. All our different dishes were spectacular. The service was excellent and paired with extra surprise details that completed the luxury ambiance of the place.
Excellent!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Wesley and Alfredo are amazing!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 8, 2017

In overall our experience was great! Excellent service and tasty food. *

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excelent food and service. Great value for the food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was by far the best dinner experience my husband and I have ever had. The service was amazing, professional and extremely attentive. Luis the manager was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Food and drinks were good, the Waiter was rude and did not provide the quality service for the pric e.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Just exemplary, love from beggining to end, treatment, profesionalism, knowledge , service. I felt being in a movie of Michelin restaurant. We both loved every entry, sauce, and desert, just delicious chocolate mix! Thank you all

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Outstanding service, excellent food. A bit pricey ($500 for 2 - prix fixe with pairings). Overall an indulgent, romantic experience. I won my wife's birthday with this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We tried the Elements fixed menu w/ wine pairing. It was OK, did not meet our expectations though.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Delicious food, wonderful service-- especially the truffle risotto and the tuna crudo! It was the perfect end to a wonderful vacation at the Condado Vanderbilt hotel.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great service. Atmosphere

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Risotto was AMAZING. Actually everyone preferred the vegan version over the original. We also enjoyed the cucumber and avocado soup. The Sommelier was knowledgeable. The other food was ok. They made a notable effort to prepare food with vegan restrictions.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

An elegant dinning experience with excellent service
Would prefer a bit more variety as for the menu , prix fix option available but maybe be a two hour plus choice
Overall a very enjoyable meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

1919 was among the top restaurants I've dined at. Coming from NYC, it rivals some of the finest where I live. I highly recommend the four course prefixe option. Creative and delicious dishes which were all organic.
Service was impeccable.
My only hope is that they could somehow incorporate the views of the ocean in Puerto Rico given we were just steps away.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing Mother's Day Brunch.

The farm to table concept of the restaurant is unique. The food feels so light, fresh and tasty all at the same time.

The service is very attentive to details and the wine knowledge of the Sommelier is impressive.

A must go is you are in Puerto Rico.

Because of the waterfront location I strongly recommend late lunch or early dinner reservations to enjoy the amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Durante nuestra vacaciones en la ciudad de San Juan, Puerto Rico hicimos
la reserva a través de la aplicación open table en el restaurante 1919. Todo estuvo perfecto con la reserva. Esta aplicación es segura y facil de manejar, por lo que la recomendamos 100%.

Tuvimos la grata experiencia de visitar este lugar que supero nuestras expectativas por MUCHO!!. El lugar es sofisticado y moderno, el ambiente es muy chic, la comida es riquísima y el servicio es excelente.

Lo que mas nos impacto fue el servicio que nos ofreció el señor Enrique, desde que llegamos al restaurante nos trato como VIP, como unas reinas. Con toda paciencia nos ayudo en la elección de la comida y tragos, las cuales fueron excelente recomendación de su parte, siempre estuvo sumamente atento a que no nos faltara nada y que estuviéramos pasando un momento agradable. Agradecemos de corazón su bello trato con nosotras.

Este es un lugar que no puedes dejar de visitar cuando estés en San Juan y preguntar por Ivan Enrique, para que te lleves a tu país la gran experiencia como nosotras.

DEFINITIVAMENTE VOLVEMOS A VISITARLOS PRONTO!!

"LAS DOMINICANAS" Anny, Rosanna y Stephanie.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 12, 2017

everything was perfect. service and food were outstanding

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was excellent; let the chef decide what to cook for you

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing service, exquisite food. Maybe best restaurant in San Juan!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The atmosphere was definitely upscale and the service was right on point. The wine selection was chosen from an iPad, which was different but a little pricey for the choices. Unfortunately I know how much the bottles actually cost, but I accept that when I am going to an upscale restaurant. We chose the chefs 4 course selection which had up charges for certain selections. The presentation was nice but the food really didn't have much flavor. The 85.00 a person , which there were 2 of us, ended up costing 375.00 including tip which they added into our bill. I was a little disappointed overall.
It wasn't terrible but when I am spending that kind of money on a dinner for two I expect a wow factor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoyed very much but thought was little too expensive

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excelente servicio, ambiente y cena. El servicio del personal es muy eficiente,respetuoso y matienen ese balance de servirte sin incomodarte por multiples interrupciones. Escelente balance. Tuvimos una agradable visita de la Pastry Chef.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was better than anything in NY! I can't explain how flavorful every dish was. Service was impeccable! Couldn't ask for anything better! Best restaurant in Condado

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food was good, service was excellent, and décor was very nice.

Overpriced though. I spent less at 4 and 5 star restaurants. Not much less but it was less and better.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The Michelin Stars were the reason we had gone. Food was Fantastic with the Four Course Menu. Recommend the Fois Gras with the Homemade Corn Muffin.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Went to 1919 for our anniversary dinner and was blown away by the service and food. We were lucky enough to order a newly added item on their menu involving a homemade ravioli filled with egg that was to die for. Would recommend to anyone visiting San Juan. They gave us a special gift as we were leaving for our anniversary as well which was a nice touch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My husband and I visited 1919 while in town from Texas for my 40th birthday. From start to finish, the waitstaff, hostesses, and even the chef himself worked to make me feel special. We were given a lovely table near the windows, and were met with complimentary glasses of champagne to toast my birthday. The waitstaff and hostess slipped in and out to bring us samples of different items, as well as suggestions on what to order. The food was extraordinary. Not only was it delicious, it was absolutely gorgeous, with fresh flowers adorning well-plated meals. The waitstaff was friendly and respectful, and we were pleasantly surprised to see the chef himself stop by our table as well. At the end of our four course meal, the waitstaff surprised me with an extra dessert: a beautiful chocolate ganache cake with "Happy 40th Birthday" scrolled across the plate. Our server boxed it up for me to take home as my husband and I were both stuffed after enjoying fresh salads, seafood bisque, swordfish, and a banana bread pudding that melted in my mouth. My husband and I enjoy fine dining when traveling, and at home in Dallas, as well, where we have several fine restaurants we frequent. I would place 1919 at the top of our list as far as the whole dining experience: it was fantastic and I highly recommend it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing. My boyfriend and I wanted our last meal in PR to be the best from the ambiance to the food to the service. It was quite the treat and exactly what we had hoped for. The food was impeccably paired and well executed. The service was top-notch. Seriously, I would go for the 5 star service any day. Augustine and William (sp? so sorry!) were the absolute best! If you are looking for a very romantic culinary experience - this is the place to go in PR!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food, excellent service, nice ambience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We did the chefs tasting menu. All plates were exceptional and plenty. Note: I am not a fan of electronic wine lists, they are actually more hard to use than a book list. Wines were marked up to sometimes 200%. Mi Casa by Jose Andres was not as overpriced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Second time at 1919. Went there when it first opened and found it very stuffy and not that great. Have enjoyed drinks at the Vanderbildt Bar recently and decided to try 1919 again. Less stuffy, but the food remained just okay, not great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.