Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

About 1919 Restaurant

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Hotel Entrance

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Tasting Menu (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Notable Wine List (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Waterfront (12)
Scenic View (10)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Historic (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
440 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 21 hours ago

We had a great experience. The food was top notch and so was the service. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The most outstanding feature of 1919 is the beautiful dining room. The food is very good. We had the raviolis, the salmon, and the tune. All were well prepared and presented. We decided against the pre fixe and were glad we did because it would have been too much for a late night dinner. The wine list is somewhat expensive but we found a nice bottle for about $100. We'd recommend 1919

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

I ate here on a Friday night. Service was fine but a little cool. I had the eggplant w lobster to start - the nori flakes on top gave an off-putting gritty taste rather than provide interesting texture; and the accompanying seafood did not taste fresh. The ravioli was very good, as was the dorado. The wine pairing was actually quite good, and generous to the point of being too-much. I was very ill after eating here, perhaps the seafood, though who could know. Overall, while some of the food was quite good and the wine selections were very good, I don't think overall it was a high value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food all around. None of the dishes missed and many were superb - the pastas were particularly notable. Incredible flavors and great merger of local and international. Service was first rate and very friendly - highly efficient and professional, but friendly and welcoming. Decor and overall atmosphere was elegant without veering off to gaudy. This place would be noteworthy and top tier in any major city. Highly highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

They had several large parties so the room was very loud. We are staying at the hotel and came for a romantic evening and had high expectations since it was a Wine Spectator restaurant. The room was too dark (had to use our phone to read the menu) and the service, while professional, was very stiff. The wine list app crashed repeatedly and they offered no assistance in selecting a bottle of wine. They offered a fixed price tasting menu, but just under half of the selections in each category had a supplemental charge. Overall the food was well prepared, fresh and moderately innovative with one glaring exception: one of our entrees was dreadful - don't order the Tuna. The tuna was slightly over cooked and came in a light tomato broth with squid, mussels and other highly fishy seafood. As we tried to pick though this shoreline disaster, the tuna continued to cook in the hot broth. Nothing in this dish elevated or complimented the tuna. We brought up our displeasure in this dish to the captain who assured us that he would relay our review to the chef. No apologies or any effort to smooth over our dissatisfaction. To cap off the experience, the captain gave is a packaged loaf of date nut bread as we passed the hostess stand. Not sure if this was provided to all diners or if was his effort to appease us. This is an expensive, fine dining restaurant not a local B&B - we didn't come for the date nut bread. On the other side, we had amazing meals at Marmalade, Pikayo, and Cocina Abierta.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Terribly over-rated. Food was just "okay". Beautiful so e though. We dine out at fine dining establishments often. Why anyone thinks this place is great is a mystery.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went to 1919 to celebrate my birthday and it was perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A wonderful experience all the way around !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Creative cuisine with a focus on local ingredients and refined cooking technique. The wine list was expansive and had lots of variety, but not very much value driven options - big gaps in under $70.00 & $100.00 range. Servers were well trained in knowledge and presentation skills.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Amazing food. Attention to detail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 16, 2017

During my visit, it took much to give us the menu and offer us drinks.

When I get the time Marshall was the pasta was over; and they changed the fish 2 times because you term them also.

They never gave us the wine list, we had to request it to us.

The little attentive waiters to know if we needed something extra, almost never came to the table.

At the end when we asked for the Bill, had included a 20% service.

We ask which service..?

We called the manager who takes nearly 15 minutes to arrive and that we could discuss this sad experience.

Hopefully do something, because for me was one of the 5 best restaurants in Puerto Rico.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I'm now a fan. Good experience, food is outstanding.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Place was freezing
Empty tables and they tried to seat us at the worst tables
Crudo good, angle hair pasta heavy and crab( almost none) was old, Ribeye was overly tenderized and seared hamachi was awful. I told them that it was my husbands birthday , it was never acknowledged. The Hotel parking attendant was the one to tell us to get our ticket stamped by the restaurant , not the hostess, in order to avoid $25 fee; my husband had to trek back to the restaurant to do this. Very expensive and NOT worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Second time dining at 1919. This time they had a special chef guest and somilier working with 1919. Fabulous 5 course wine pairing dinner which was creative, delicious and elegantly served. Unusual Hungarian wines complimented three of the courses. Outstanding gnocchi with khale and nuts, memorable squab and decadent small warm chocolate cake. Grand way to end a vacation. Do go to 1919 and if they are holding a special event - sign up!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Atmosphere a bit formal with cast of service personnel from Maitre D through head waiter to waiter none of which were particularly attentive to our table on a weeknight with a half full room. This yielded among other things a forgotten dessert order though the friendly young waiter scrambled once this was recognized.

The food is worth navigating the service bumps, inventive , modern rifts on local cuisine were all delicious! A parting gift of banana bread a nice touch too. Frustrating to see the thought put into the menu execution fall apart by poor service. At these prices service needs to perform at the same high level as the kitchen.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The restaurant is absolutely gorgeous! Wonderful ambiance and the menu caters to a sophisticated pallet. Super fresh ingredients, wonderfully concocted for an exceptional dining experience. Their wine and drink list is extensive, and everything was magnificent. Staff and service was top notch as well. I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a fine dining experience or celebrating a special occasion!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The evening was lovely, the food delicious and the service for the most part, attentive. My only suggestion would be to let the diner know ahead of time, there is a wine pairing option with the meal. We would not have ordered a bottle of wine, instead opting to enjoy the wine pairings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fantastic. Great design. Comfortable seating and great service.

Food was fantastic. My wife, daughter and I loved the food. We would highly recommend and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Average food at ridiculous prices. We are very experienced fine diners and were put off by several things at this restaurant. Number one, we ordered one of the two champagnes by the glass to start only to be told they didn't have it. After checking, the waiter offered another selection, a California sparkling wine, and when we asked the price he indicated it would be the same as the French rose champagne they didn't have. My husband complained and then the waiter came back and said his manager found a bottle of the original champagne they were out of... Ok, problem solved. Next the waiter said we could choose the pre fix menu ($85) or a la carte, however the menu had no a la carte prices. Also nearly all of the selections on the menu required "supplements" to the pre fix pricing (why not just price the pre fix higher? I hate being nickel and dimed) . We were also told they were out of 2 of the main dishes (out of 6) ..... The 2 that I wanted. Ended up ordering the roast pork.... Again, no price .... Found out at the end of the meal the pork leg was $60..... Really? Perhaps that was because they kept the Foot attached for special effect.

Another point about the wine service...we ordered a bottle with our meal only to be presented with a different vintage than what the wine list stated. Now, the wine list is on an iPad so why the heck doesn't the somm keep it updated with the correct info.

Sounds like I am being super picky here, but the little things add up. And when you are paying top dollar you should expect and GET top service and food.

So my question is, where do locals go for a fine dining experience? This place was top rated... In our opinion, over hyped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The service was very good and top notch. The food was good as we chose the 4 course dinner. Everything seemed to be enjoyable except the other patrons in the restaurant. The dress code of others was not up to par with restaurant policy and the noise of others was overwhelming. Went to Mario Pagan two nights before and that seemed to be better bang for the buck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Called to inform us of the "dress code". No shorts or sandals permitted. There were quite a few that were admitted like this.
Pushed the 'prix fix' beyond appropriate. After we did not chose this, we received a bill for the 'prix fix' and was told it was "still cheaper this way" -- it was $19 more than we should have been charged. I found the manager and he apologized. You decide.....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Excellent restaurant , wonderful 4 course prix fixe menu . Our server Enrique was a consummate pro , great service and a lot of laughs too ! Cant say enough about this wonderful restaurant and the creative food .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Not only was the food absolutely great, but the service was top-notch. My wife and I will definitely be there again during our next visit to Puerto Rico.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Had the chef's choice tasting menu and it was unbelievable. We ate at several of the top-rated restaurants in San Juan (Oceano, Marmalade, Pikayo) and this was the best.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We got there right when they opened. They were NOT ready. But very nice. However, waiting for the waitress to head back to the kitchen because she couldn't answer a single question about the menu made for a long and hungry wait for our food. We asked three people for bread over the span of 15 minutes. Two showed up with bread at some point later. The muse bush came after our meals. T honestly believe that it was a fluke. But a messy fluke it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

1919 has all the possibilities of a great dining experience but falls short with attention to detail. We were looking forward to a nice fine dining event. We ordered the chefs tasting menu and most courses were under seasoned and lacked acid to give the dish brightness. It was also loud with kids and families being noisy and not paying attention to others around. We did give the manager and chef feedback and hope they will take it and learn. Best of luck to 1919.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

1919 is simply a top shelf dining experience--you cannot go wrong--it's deservedly a five star restaurant

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent atmosphere and service!!! The bar outside the restaurant is phenomenal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The meal is very overpriced for what you get. We travel all over the world and were not impressed with the combination of food and taste. One of my four courses was delicious (Rissotto). The other four were not nearly as good. The options that you may want add way more to the price but were not worth it. The wait staff was the best part of the meal. Very high quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Fabulous dinner with fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food in a pretentious setting. Being asked to wait 40 minutes for a table with a confirmed reservation is bad enough but then to be greeted with "the chef is only offering our 4 course prix fixe tonight. He is not offering the 3 course menu" was upsetting. In the end they comped the 4th course and charged for the 3 course menu but only after we said we were walking out. We will certainly not return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Perfect experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Many minor service flaws, from begin asked to wait at the bar just long enough to order a drink because the "kitchen was behind" to forgetting ordered items, to billing us for an additional bottle of champagne, and the air conditioning cranked up to where the service staff would be comfortable but not the guests. A beautiful room, stunning really, and very comfortable furniture. The food was very inventive and impressive in many ways, except for a eye of rib entree, a cut that a restaurant of this quality and price should not be serving. When you are as pricey as this, the overall experience should be flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of the best dining experiences ever! Ambiance. Wait staff and of course food. And there was a screw up. Date and I ordered the prix fixe menu. I had Chayote Salad, Angel Hair pasta, Duck Breast with Brown Butter Sabayon and Sorbet. Date had: Grain Salad, Gemelli, Ribeye, and Local Lime Pie for desert. Not a single bad dish. Great mix of distinct flavors and sensations. One slip up. Date ordered steak medium rare. It was delivered medium well. Got waiter's attention and the problem was remedied within the time it takes to cook it correctly. Wait staff especially Enrique were very attentive, but not to the point of annoying or fawning. I also loved the amuse bouche (avocado cucumber shooter) and palette cleansers that were delivered with the meal.

If the world were ending tomorrow, this is one place I would want to go for dinner tonight!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The delivery of the food from the kitchen was extremley slow!!!
More than twenty minutes beetween dishes.
By the time they arrive to the table We had lost the appetite.
The service at the table was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was very good and service was impeccable, but we had the absolute worst table in the restaurant. They seated us right next to the service area and door when there were hardly any other tables filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent culinary experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was exceptional. Enjoyed the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful experience all around. Great food from Chef Cueves, artisanal with full complex flavors in every bite. Hospitality was a perfect 10 from Raul's well trained and caring staff. Thank you for a wonderful evening, we will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Beautiful setting but...This was terrible. Truly a rip off. The service was very spotty and drawn out. $85 price fix is something that we are used to living in Manhattan. There were 5 people and the bill was $720 without tip. Let's review...
1st course Organic Grain Salad non discript. Tuna crudo was passable but nothing outrageous. Eggplant-Lobster is the choice here. That was good.
2nd course We all agree every pasta was over cooked. The angel hair was good but so over cooked it was a lump. The Gimilli was inedible. It was pure salt. Probably the worse pasta I tasted. The choice here is the risotto.
3rd course The chicken for 2 is a dried out lump. So far removed from moist. Our friend said the saloon was good although nothing remarkable that you can't get anywhere.
Deserts were ok. Also no wow factor.
All in agreement they make an excellent sazarac,
All in all absolutely skip this resturant. There are far better. Over priced lunchroom fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.