About 1919 Restaurant

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Hotel Entrance

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
  • 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
  • 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
  • 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
  • 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
  • 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
  • 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
  • 1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR
1919 Restaurant, Condado, PR

Specials

Elements Menu $49

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Elements Menu $49

Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

First Tuna Tartar Avocado, Yuzu, Cucumber, Cilantro, Aji Little Gem Salad Radicchio, Mango, Peanuts, Capaez Cheese, Herb Vinaigrette Second Grilled Hanger Steak Black Beluga Lentils, Spinach, Light Curry Rico Desserts Choice. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Dec 29, 2016 on Tuesdays - Saturdays from 6:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Romantic
Caribbean
Best Ambiance
Puerto Rico
2 More
Special Occasion
Puerto Rico
Most Booked
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in San Juan ›

Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (19)
Creative Cuisine (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for a Date (6)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Organic (5)
Waterfront (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Scenic View (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
358 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

waiter Ivan was great,beautiful restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

waiter Ivan was great,beautiful restaurant which we visit multiple times in the past when we visit this American Paradise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very very dissatisfied and disappointed ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 7 days ago

Very very dissatisfied and disappointed for a $590 meal.

There were only 6 table in restaurant that were occupied I asked to move to different table with better view and I was told no. Ridiculous if restaurant was busy or an early reservation I could see. It was 7:15 and by time we weee finishing at 930 it was dead.

Our main server was cold stuffy and uninteresting in us , the menu and our dining experience in general.

Again would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Exquisite food and service

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Exquisite food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excelente servicio y menú. Enrique es e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excelente servicio y menú. Enrique es el mejor mesero. El chef tasting menu es riquisimo, y lo pueden preparar gluten free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is not cheap but worth every ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This place is not cheap but worth every penny. The food, the wine and the service were outstanding. This is defienlty a place suited for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Worth the wait!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great food. Worth the wait!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

First time doing a chef tasting and it w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

First time doing a chef tasting and it was amazing. Got to sample a few of the chefs delicious recipes and was never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought the hotel, and restaurant ambi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I thought the hotel, and restaurant ambiance was amazing... very elegant and high end. There was no other choice in the menu besides the 5 course menu with the wine pairing option, my gf doesn't eat meat, so that was an issue for us... and not a heavy wine drinker to have 6 diff glasses, I thing they got to have some other options and not force people to spend $150 per person. The ambiance, music and everything else was great....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food and fine service but quite pri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Good food and fine service but quite pricey. Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very quiet, stuffy and not very fun. Tu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Very quiet, stuffy and not very fun. Tuna crudo was bland. Some one in our group sent back their filet. Dessert was the best course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We ordered the 7-course meal. It was an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We ordered the 7-course meal. It was an explosion of amazing flavors and textures- just exceptional!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and so we went for th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

It was my birthday and so we went for the 4 courses menu and it was delicious! A bit pricey but worth it. Great wine and cocktails (I had the mojito). And then came the most amazing chocolate birthday desert...plus an extra surprise. Really great service. The ambience is a bit soulless for my taste however I am certain we'll come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Really a great meal. Best so far in PR ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Really a great meal. Best so far in PR during one week vacation. We had the tasting 4 course and it was outstanding with a great wine paring. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great spot right in our hotel. The ser ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A great spot right in our hotel. The service and food was spectacular from start to finish. We enjoyed a very romantic dinner here while visiting San Juan.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food in San Juan...the resta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Outstanding food in San Juan...the restaurant is located inside inthe newest and most elegant hotels in El Condado section of the city. It's well heeled ambience fits the excellent food and service. We went with the 4 course price fixe meal and had no regrets. Incredible food starting from the tomato salad leading to the ravioli cochinillo with a perfect halibut as the entree. We finished off with mouth watering chocolate souffle. Highly recommended for an unforgettable meal.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I wish I had known there was a dress cod ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I wish I had known there was a dress code. No where was it mentioned so we could not sit inside the restaurant. They were however able to sit us by the bar and where we had great personal service by Luis. Ordering wine from an iPad was neat, portion sizes were small, being out by the bar means louder live music, and the address for the restaurant isnt accurate so just look for the Condado Vanderbilt Hotel.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One word describe this place: INCREDIBLE ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One word describe this place: INCREDIBLE! Very well run. Great food. Great wine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our expectation with the food was very h ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our expectation with the food was very high before we step in but when we tasted we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Was on Vacation at the resort and the ex ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Was on Vacation at the resort and the experience was the highlight of our stay. Excellent wine list, Food and service were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great evening. excellent food and servic ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 29, 2016

great evening. excellent food and service. excellent choices if wine

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and desserts were outstanding! Wine ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food and desserts were outstanding! Wine pairing was an extraordinary choice! It was a complete experience.

Service was highly attentive.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Good service. Enrique was phenomenal. Li ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Good service. Enrique was phenomenal. Little overpriced wine. More seasoning in the fish, but overall good experience very competitive with marmalade restaurant. Suggestion the chef has to be present sometimes, at the end is a high cuisine restaurant. At least I expect to see the chef in charge of the place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Healthy, Authentic, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Organic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is really fancy. Great for a ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 22, 2016

This place is really fancy. Great for a date or a special occasion. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I like to dine out. A lot. And at the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I like to dine out. A lot. And at the risk of seeming to over-exaggerate, dinner at 1919 was the best meal I have ever had. Period. The food was perfectly presented, incredibly fresh, and combined flavors in unique and thoughtful ways. The service was spot on...we were left alone to have quiet dinner conversation and then, somehow, the minute a glass would need to be refilled or a plate cleared, staff would appear, seemingly from nowhere, to cater to our needs. Bravo.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a most enjoyable place. The ambi ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This is a most enjoyable place. The ambience is outstanding. The staff is most attentive to your desires.

Excellent menu and reasonably priced for such a fine restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine by the glass extraordinarily expens ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wine by the glass extraordinarily expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was for our first anniversary celeb ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was for our first anniversary celebration, so I really wanted something special for my wife and I.

1) Excellent Service. They were very attentive to our needs and made our evening very pleasent. The waiters/ress were continually keeping a good table and the food services was reasonably quick.

2) Their menu is straigthforward and also has the Pre-Fix (4 course) and the Chef Inspiration (6-8 courses created at the moment by the chef. That's not the actual name). My recommendation is to go with the Pre Fix or Chef menu because its a complete experience of the menu for a good cost.

3) The wine pairing is Clasic or Prestige. Very good pairings.

4) The restaurant uses 60-80% of local ingredients accordingly to the captain.

5) The Rosemary Créme Brule was amazing and the cochinillo.

5) At our exit the hostest gifted us the best Banana Bread I've ever tasted, which was awesome for breakfast the next morning :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing, all in one experience!!! ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 24, 2016

It was amazing, all in one experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic every time. This is a top go-t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

fantastic every time. This is a top go-to for us in Puerto Rico.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There is a dress code! We were not aware ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

There is a dress code! We were not aware of it and they actually wouldn't seat us in the restaurant. They sat us in the bar. It was a little degrading and embarrassing. We were dressed up but not to their standards. The food was excellent though! Worth sitting in the bar!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at 1919 Restaurant was gr ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our experience at 1919 Restaurant was great! A restaurant is made by three things: space, people and ingredients. All three key areas were amazing and their staff deserves all credit for making a great experience for their guests.

Special thanks to our Captain Raul, Manager Luis and Chef Juan Jose. Keep the good work and be our ambassadors from your place.

Thanks;

Edwin

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extravagant! Perfect for a very special ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Extravagant! Perfect for a very special occasion. Elegant atmosphere with a breathtaking view of the ocean. Impeccable service, the staff made us feel like royalty from the moment we walked in. We chose the chefs selection which was beyond satisfying with a great variety of flavorful dishes. With that said, it was very expensive. We were able to justify our hefty bill with the celebration of our engagement.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Chef in San Juan and Caribbean Area ...

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Best Chef in San Juan and Caribbean Area!!! Top Notch

Superb service.

Should be PR 1st Star Michelin Rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

FANTASTIC ! World class food and arrive ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 16, 2016

FANTASTIC ! World class food and arrive - live the wine list here .....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Located in the historic Vanderbilt Hotel ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Located in the historic Vanderbilt Hotel, rich with history and elegance. The view is spectacular. Service was supurb with every attention to detail.

Wine selection more than adequate. Food was excellent and very nicely presented.

It was everything you would expect in a 5 star establishment.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Exquisite food and be ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service. Exquisite food and beautiful ambiance. Perfect for a romantic dinner. Definitely would recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

$$$ but worth it. Fantastic food, and th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2016

$$$ but worth it. Fantastic food, and the service makes it even better.

If you get Ivan to introduce the menu and suggest drinks, you are in for a treat.

A wonderful culinary experience with a service that takes it to another level.

Do not miss if you are in San Juan.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While in Puerto Rico visiting family we ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 28, 2016

While in Puerto Rico visiting family we took them to this restaurant (6 of us.

The decor in perfect . Having been to other high end fine dinning restaurants

this place I will compare to Daniel in NY City but that is it. After a check of $1,600.00

(expensive wine) i will say that in service and food quality it does not measure up.

The Maitre D' of whatever position that guy had in the restaurant was loud as if he

was in a stake house (where everybody is loud) and even mention the chef having

a Michelin star, like the chefs could take the star with them when they live a restaurant,

any way said and repeat FINE DINNING is a standard that starting from the chef (owner

or not )keep them selfs not just expensive food. if you want to be treated to a real

fine dinning experience go to Pikayo. My opinion, Thank's.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We went in our anniversary and wanted it ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We went in our anniversary and wanted it to be special. They met all our expectations. We selected the chef selection menu. We were amused by 7 courses all of them perfectly prepared and paired with an exquisite selection of wines. Excellent diner and service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1919 never disappoints. Extraordinary s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2016

1919 never disappoints. Extraordinary service and excellent, fresh food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.