Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

1919 Restaurant

4.6
628 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Farm-to-table
Top Tags:
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Elegant Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(787) 724-1919
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Juan Jose Cuevas
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Main Entrance Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
VC lounge entertainment Thursdays to Saturdays
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

View Private Dining Details
What 628 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

The food and presentation was outstanding. Great service. It’s expensive but you get what you pay for. The ambiance was comfortable, easy to talk but still alive. One of the top places in Puerto Rico right now.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Food is passable at best. Flavors are undefined or unbalanced, often over spiced. Portions are ridiculously small. That kind of size/price ratio could only be justified by exceptional flavors and platting, which are both amiss. Service is over friendly and not proper and poised as it should be, for the level this restaurant intends to portray.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Oustanding service at all levels. Exceptional dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Each course of my meal was beautifully prepared and served. 1919 is a refined space serving refined foods above the beach. The service was constantly attentive without being in anyway intrusive. Each course was an individual delight, although the tuna tartar was a standout.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We had the most wonderful dinner here for a birthday celebration while on vacation. I gave the service four stars only because I had made a request upon making my reservation that two glasses of champagne be waiting at the table for a little birthday toast, but that did not happen.

With that being said, the service we received from William was absolutely wonderful! Attentive, informative, kind, yet still unobtrusive. William was great, even providing some recommendations for other things to do and personally escorting my boyfriend to see the cigar lounge where we headed after dinner. After our amazing three course meal we were sent off with some delicious blueberry bread for the next morning.

I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. Make it a point to go if you are in town and desiring an upscale experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We are frequent at 1919.
Overall was good and food as always was great, but service was not up to the 1919 standard. Seems like they did not have enough personel to serve a packed restaurant. service quality can not be lowered due to a packed restaurant. Small detail, but post dessert was not served. Service at some point was rushed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Food awful and service very slow. It's a joke that the hotel staff mentioned that the chef worked at a 2 Star Michelin restaurant. 1919 doesn't know what a Michelin restaurant is!!!

Very expensive for the poor food and service!

My family are foodies and have visited 3 star restaurants in Paris and around the world 1919 has a long way to go!

I will NOT recommend this restaurant to my friends and family!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Anniversary or Birthday celebration this is the place. romantic water view with outstanding menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We are In Puerto Rico for the wedding of a family friend. We read that it was Puerto Rico Restaurant Week and decided to try 1919 as the menu appealed to us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I was a little worried about the price, but the fixed menu came with so many freebies! We even walked away with individually packaged, homemade, banana bread loaves. Delicious meals from salad to dessert. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The whole experience was amazing, food was great, the staff is very professional and they were great with kids

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Started with amazing service and customer attention. But when first course came i found a small metal piece on my mouth ;((
Staff was notified and they quickly apologize and offer to make new plate of the same appetizer. I didnt accept, as more courses were coming.
Everything after that came fantastic, until it was time for the bill, you would imagine they would compliment SOMETHING on the high bill, BUT to my surprise NOTHING was taken off. And worst, when I took time to examined the bill, waiter made us feel like we were wrong by checking it AND that we couldnt afford the service.
Don't think their great food and ambiance can overcame my disappointment and bad taste. Specially while celebrating a special ocassion.

For a high end establishment that is unacceptable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The food was exquisite, our waiter Enrique was excellent and all his recomendations were on point. Excellent restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Perfect for a romantic date, girls night or an important business meeting. Ask for Enrique. Excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Excellent service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Amazing in every way. Had the Chef’s menu with the wine pairing and was one of the best we’ve ever had!! Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We first started as a couple wanting to order the special fixed price menu for Restaurant Week, later, we decided to combine with some items from the main menu, including two bottles of wine. My impression was of a very inferior service as "special price guests" and then improved once we ordered wine and regular meals. Initially we were ignored for a good 20 minutes, later meals took too long to be serviced. I really expected more from this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

LOVED our visit to 1919 during the PR Restaurant Week! Since the moment you walk in, you're transported into an unique romantic, private, and sophisticated ambiance; where everything from the lighting, background music, and personalized service make up for an excellent occasion. The food taste, portion and variety during the event was excellent. We'd recommend the Organic Polenta for appetizer, Angus Hanger Steak for main course, and the 1919 Vanderbilt Sundae for dessert!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Excellent service, and atmosphere. The food is presented as a whole work of art, a mixture of original flavors that delights the palate. The same could be said of their delicious desserts. They have an extensive wine list. In short, highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Wonderful restaurant, great food, and impeccable service. Would highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The service and the food exceed our expectations. Everything was so good and delicious. The details ready surprise me. We will definitely visit it again. Thanks so much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great food and service! Everything was splendid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

We love dining at 1919. This visit happened to be restaurant week so we chose the pre-fixe menu. Another excellent meal, wine paring and service. Do not miss an opportunity to enjoy this wonderful epicurean delight

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 1, 2018

At first everything was great. But after the main course, we waited 15minutes for a $17 simple bourbon drink (alcohol in Puerto Rico is quite inexpensive, even if imported from Kentucky). I canceled my prosecco glass as it took forever also. The desserts offered for restaurant week were horrible. Mine wasn't properly served as it was still so cold that you couldn't get the flavor and my husband's tasted like Tylenol with cherry Coke. We have no problem with paying for quality but this wasn't it. I'd rather go to CRU or Vianda.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

1919 is an extraordinary restaurant with outstanding service. The wonderful experience starts when they greet you at the door. The restaurant is elegant and beautifully decorated. The food is superb. The salmon was moist, the polenta was delightful and the dessert was out of this world. I highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

This is an upscale restaurant with good ambiance, tasty food, and superb service and attention from all its personnel. The place to take someone you care about.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wines are over priced, about 4x

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food was cold and the service was slow. The buffet was unappealing and although we had made a previous reservation, a tanle was not reserved for us. The buffet food was cold and overall bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

EXELNTE PARA UNA NOCHE ROMANTICA. SERVICIO DE EXELENCIA Y CALIDAD EN SUS PLATOS

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This delicious fine dining restaurant does not require to play tropical or dancing music. It is not adequate.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Food is Ok, not remarkable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Amazing ambience and first class service. I was unimpressed with the beer list, and our waiter offered to go to the beach bar at the hotel and grab me a couple Belgian ales. That’s incredible service. The food was very, very good - just a notch below some of the best food we’ve had in NYC. I definitely recommend 1919 for date night or a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

First, we ordered the octopus appetizer which contained a large live spider, the plate was changed but the meal not replaced.

Second, the steamed muscles were dry, and the fish dishes not particularly good (perhaps not fresh)

Third, the bill had a $100 mistake, intentional or non-intentional, it is an unpleasant overlook on behalf of the restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Exelente combinaciòn de sabores con ingredientes frescos de la Isla e importados..Comida creativa,ambiente elegante,muy linda la decoraciòn.
Servicio eficiente y amable,sin ser cargosos.
Mi ùnica crítica es el alto precio de la lista de vinos.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We loved the food (we chose the pre fixe menu) and the service was great. They were attentive and friendly. The website was misleading on the dress code (e.g. dressy shorts were not appropriate) and we were underdress and "banished" to the bar area. Turned out to be better as there was a DJ in the bar area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I was looking for somewhere special for my boyfriend's birthday and a friend recommended this spot. It did not disappoint. The ambience is amazing and you get that wow factor when you step in. The service was fantastic and the food, sooo good. We went for the set 3 course menu. It's a great place for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food at this restaurant was really good; however the service could use some improvement. My husband and I recently stayed at Vanderbilt Condado to celebrate our Anniversary. Overall the service was ok, but the server did mess up our appetizer order. The wrong appetizer was brought out for me, and apparently the correct appetiser took a while to make, which resulted in my husband eating for 10 minutes while his appetizer got cold. I finally talked him into going ahead without me, but then when mine finally came out he just had to sit there and watch me eat.
The main course went well and the food was good. Then when they brought out dessert, I saw they had written on the plate in chocolate. They would have gotten accolades for this gesture, however, they wrote “Happy Birthday” instead of Happy Anniversary.
Overall, the experience wasn’t horrible but I expected much much more from a restaurant at the Vanderbilt hotel.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Wife birthday

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

excellent presentation of the meal, outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16