Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

About 1919 Restaurant

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Entrance Condado Vanderbilt Hotel

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
VC lounge entertainment Thursdays to Saturdays

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (40)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Waterfront (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Scenic View (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (6)
Seasonal (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was an outstanding experience from beginning to end. The food was creative,tasteful,innovative and on time. The staff is well trained and fit for a michelin star. And lastly the chef is an outstanding superstar in the kitchen,well underated ,this might very well be the best restaurant in the caribean. Thank you chef for an anniversary meal that we will remember forever.!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Spectacular dinner in 1919 Restaurant, our servers Enrique and Luis were exceptional. We order the 7 course menu and it was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 6, 2017

One of San Juan's top dining experiences, an excellent combination of local ingredients and fine cooking techniques to bring out the best natural flavors in every bite. Top to bottom, start to finish, a win-win choice, if you're lucky enough to be in Puerto Rico for dinner!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Fabulous food and very attentive service. 5 stars!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Great place with your special someone, lovely food with perfect services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 4, 2017

It was a great night, service was top notch, and a great way to celebrate our anniversary, thanks once again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We loved this place! The service was absolutely top-notch! We had the chef's tasting menu and loved just about everything on it. A few things were just a bit too salty for me, but we generally found it to be clean, inventive in a good way, delicious food. We hope to be able to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

My husband and I dined here on our 25th wedding anniversary. We had the 4 course tasting menu with wine pairings- every course was fabulous, and the wines were excellent. My one small critique would be that a red wine was chosen for our fish course, and although it was light and fruity, I would have preferred a white. The service was amazing and everyone at the restaurant treated us as special as the occasion itself. As I am a chef and sommelier myself, I am a harsh dining critic! I would recommend 1919- the food was expertly prepared, beautifully presented and professionally served. A lovely experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Very unique food; 4 course meal with fairly small portions; our group enjoyed the experience and left 1919 satisfied. $$$$

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was excellent. Top quality ingredients. Excellent service. Try the asparagus salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Nice but outraigously expensive!! 2 people with the cheapest wine 250 usd ? Not value!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excelente servicio y atencion ideal para un grupo con un comensal que es alérgico al gluten

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excelent service and fabulous food. Since you entered the restaurant the wonderful experience begin

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Wow! I am comfortable eating in a dive and in a Michelin-starred restaurant. What is important to me is the quality of the food, the dedication of the staff and the overwhelming urge to give the diner an experience. On a recent visit to 1919, we experienced all three. Starting with the amuse bouche, we knew it would be an unforgettable experience. Ending with the dessert, we knew it had been and it consumed our conversation for days. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was superb. Service and attention to detail was extraordinary, with special thanks to Enrique and Luis. We can't wait to go back and plan to make another trip to the island just to dine at 1919.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I went with my wife to 1919 Restaurant to celebrate our first anniversary, and the team made sure it was a special night since the welcome. William and Ivan were excellent from the beginning to the end. They have lots of knowledge on what they do, and made sure that everything with the dinner was perfect in every moment. The food and wine pairing as well were really impressive and exquisite. Every wine William paired with each course were perfect. He explained to us everything (even the story of each one) of the wines he served. After dessert they brought us a plate with different chocolates, macaroons and jelly along with a chocolate message of Happy Anniversary, my wife and I were really impressed with such detail. The chef came by to our table to say hi, which made us feel very special.
Once again Thank You 1919 Team for such a great night!

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dublin)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was the best restaurant I've been to in a very long time. The food was delicious and the service was absolutely impeccable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 10, 2017

On the pricey side but you forget about it once you taste the delicious food with the excellent service that is provided. Enrique was our waiter and he excel assuring our dinner was a great experience. Ask for him!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful place - the service was exceptional and the food was fantastic. Unfortunately my partner didn't adhere to the dress code - guys, no shorts, please - so we had to sit at the bar area. Regardless, the view was great and service was outstanding. Even with my dietary restrictions they gave me plenty of choices. Pricey but worth to have that experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was awesome! I went with very high expectations and they were all met. The food was excellent and my dessert, it was the most exquisite dessert. For my boyfriend the cocktails were on point, for me were a little strong but that's me. The service was extraordinary, I felt like a queen.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

This has been one of the best fine dinning experience so far. Attention to detail since you enter the hotel and heightened at the beautiful restaurant.
Great wine list and cocktails. All our different dishes were spectacular. The service was excellent and paired with extra surprise details that completed the luxury ambiance of the place.
Excellent!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Wesley and Alfredo are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 7, 2017

In overall our experience was great! Excellent service and tasty food. *

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excelent food and service. Great value for the food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This was by far the best dinner experience my husband and I have ever had. The service was amazing, professional and extremely attentive. Luis the manager was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food and drinks were good, the Waiter was rude and did not provide the quality service for the pric e.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Just exemplary, love from beggining to end, treatment, profesionalism, knowledge , service. I felt being in a movie of Michelin restaurant. We both loved every entry, sauce, and desert, just delicious chocolate mix! Thank you all

Tags: Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Outstanding service, excellent food. A bit pricey ($500 for 2 - prix fixe with pairings). Overall an indulgent, romantic experience. I won my wife's birthday with this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 23, 2017

We tried the Elements fixed menu w/ wine pairing. It was OK, did not meet our expectations though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Delicious food, wonderful service-- especially the truffle risotto and the tuna crudo! It was the perfect end to a wonderful vacation at the Condado Vanderbilt hotel.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Great service. Atmosphere

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Risotto was AMAZING. Actually everyone preferred the vegan version over the original. We also enjoyed the cucumber and avocado soup. The Sommelier was knowledgeable. The other food was ok. They made a notable effort to prepare food with vegan restrictions.

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 19, 2017

An elegant dinning experience with excellent service
Would prefer a bit more variety as for the menu , prix fix option available but maybe be a two hour plus choice
Overall a very enjoyable meal

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

1919 was among the top restaurants I've dined at. Coming from NYC, it rivals some of the finest where I live. I highly recommend the four course prefixe option. Creative and delicious dishes which were all organic.
Service was impeccable.
My only hope is that they could somehow incorporate the views of the ocean in Puerto Rico given we were just steps away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 18, 2017

If you 're looking for a great food experience, this is the place! We ordered Chef Table, and everything was exquisite! great flavors! The service was impecable! special mention to Ivan who made this anniversary dinner unique!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing Mother's Day Brunch.

The farm to table concept of the restaurant is unique. The food feels so light, fresh and tasty all at the same time.

The service is very attentive to details and the wine knowledge of the Sommelier is impressive.

A must go is you are in Puerto Rico.

Because of the waterfront location I strongly recommend late lunch or early dinner reservations to enjoy the amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Durante nuestra vacaciones en la ciudad de San Juan, Puerto Rico hicimos
la reserva a través de la aplicación open table en el restaurante 1919. Todo estuvo perfecto con la reserva. Esta aplicación es segura y facil de manejar, por lo que la recomendamos 100%.

Tuvimos la grata experiencia de visitar este lugar que supero nuestras expectativas por MUCHO!!. El lugar es sofisticado y moderno, el ambiente es muy chic, la comida es riquísima y el servicio es excelente.

Lo que mas nos impacto fue el servicio que nos ofreció el señor Enrique, desde que llegamos al restaurante nos trato como VIP, como unas reinas. Con toda paciencia nos ayudo en la elección de la comida y tragos, las cuales fueron excelente recomendación de su parte, siempre estuvo sumamente atento a que no nos faltara nada y que estuviéramos pasando un momento agradable. Agradecemos de corazón su bello trato con nosotras.

Este es un lugar que no puedes dejar de visitar cuando estés en San Juan y preguntar por Ivan Enrique, para que te lleves a tu país la gran experiencia como nosotras.

DEFINITIVAMENTE VOLVEMOS A VISITARLOS PRONTO!!

"LAS DOMINICANAS" Anny, Rosanna y Stephanie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 12, 2017

everything was perfect. service and food were outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was excellent; let the chef decide what to cook for you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing service, exquisite food. Maybe best restaurant in San Juan!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.