About 1919 Restaurant

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Hotel Entrance

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Tasting Menu (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Scenic View (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Business Meals (6)
Waterfront (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Organic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Cozy (3)
Historic (3)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

1919 has all the possibilities of a great dining experience but falls short with attention to detail. We were looking forward to a nice fine dining event. We ordered the chefs tasting menu and most courses were under seasoned and lacked acid to give the dish brightness. It was also loud with kids and families being noisy and not paying attention to others around. We did give the manager and chef feedback and hope they will take it and learn. Best of luck to 1919.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

1919 is simply a top shelf dining experience--you cannot go wrong--it's deservedly a five star restaurant

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent atmosphere and service!!! The bar outside the restaurant is phenomenal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

The meal is very overpriced for what you get. We travel all over the world and were not impressed with the combination of food and taste. One of my four courses was delicious (Rissotto). The other four were not nearly as good. The options that you may want add way more to the price but were not worth it. The wait staff was the best part of the meal. Very high quality.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous dinner with fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food in a pretentious setting. Being asked to wait 40 minutes for a table with a confirmed reservation is bad enough but then to be greeted with "the chef is only offering our 4 course prix fixe tonight. He is not offering the 3 course menu" was upsetting. In the end they comped the 4th course and charged for the 3 course menu but only after we said we were walking out. We will certainly not return.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Perfect experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Many minor service flaws, from begin asked to wait at the bar just long enough to order a drink because the "kitchen was behind" to forgetting ordered items, to billing us for an additional bottle of champagne, and the air conditioning cranked up to where the service staff would be comfortable but not the guests. A beautiful room, stunning really, and very comfortable furniture. The food was very inventive and impressive in many ways, except for a eye of rib entree, a cut that a restaurant of this quality and price should not be serving. When you are as pricey as this, the overall experience should be flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of the best dining experiences ever! Ambiance. Wait staff and of course food. And there was a screw up. Date and I ordered the prix fixe menu. I had Chayote Salad, Angel Hair pasta, Duck Breast with Brown Butter Sabayon and Sorbet. Date had: Grain Salad, Gemelli, Ribeye, and Local Lime Pie for desert. Not a single bad dish. Great mix of distinct flavors and sensations. One slip up. Date ordered steak medium rare. It was delivered medium well. Got waiter's attention and the problem was remedied within the time it takes to cook it correctly. Wait staff especially Enrique were very attentive, but not to the point of annoying or fawning. I also loved the amuse bouche (avocado cucumber shooter) and palette cleansers that were delivered with the meal.

If the world were ending tomorrow, this is one place I would want to go for dinner tonight!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The delivery of the food from the kitchen was extremley slow!!!

More than twenty minutes beetween dishes.

By the time they arrive to the table We had lost the appetite.

The service at the table was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was very good and service was impeccable, but we had the absolute worst table in the restaurant. They seated us right next to the service area and door when there were hardly any other tables filled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent culinary experience!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Service was exceptional. Enjoyed the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful experience all around. Great food from Chef Cueves, artisanal with full complex flavors in every bite. Hospitality was a perfect 10 from Raul's well trained and caring staff. Thank you for a wonderful evening, we will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Beautiful setting but...This was terrible. Truly a rip off. The service was very spotty and drawn out. $85 price fix is something that we are used to living in Manhattan. There were 5 people and the bill was $720 without tip. Let's review...

1st course Organic Grain Salad non discript. Tuna crudo was passable but nothing outrageous. Eggplant-Lobster is the choice here. That was good.

2nd course We all agree every pasta was over cooked. The angel hair was good but so over cooked it was a lump. The Gimilli was inedible. It was pure salt. Probably the worse pasta I tasted. The choice here is the risotto.

3rd course The chicken for 2 is a dried out lump. So far removed from moist. Our friend said the saloon was good although nothing remarkable that you can't get anywhere.

Deserts were ok. Also no wow factor.

All in agreement they make an excellent sazarac,

All in all absolutely skip this resturant. There are far better. Over priced lunchroom fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

From Dental to, Enrique to Jose to Jesica even Ivan St the end. Was espectacular. I always go for drinks but my first sitting and dinning and awesomeness. No doubt my new favorite place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were in San Juan on vacation and we're looking for a fancy restaurant to end our trip with. 1919 did not disappoint. The food and service were both impeccable. If the opportunity arises we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Continues to satisfy your expectations Very Good Food!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was very good but the portions were extremely small. It was lovely to receive a gift of a fruitcake as we left

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Platos excepcionalmente deliciosos. Servicio extraordinario. Altamente recomendable. La atención de Enrique 5 estrellas!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This restaurant was spectacular from service to the food preparation and presentation. The staff is wonderfully attentive and the scenery is amazing -- the restaurant itself if gorgeous and its right next to the ocean. This is a "do not miss" restaurant, and while on the more expensive end, worth every penny.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent food, outstanding service, beautiful ambience. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

As a guest staying at the hotel my husband and I expected much better treatment from the staff. Even though I made the reservation weeks in advance we were stuck in back of restaurant with zero view. Food was rushed, servers not at all helpful with tasting menu, and after the first glass of wine we were flagging them down for anything after that, in addition to the pours smaller and smaller with each glass. Completely overrated and over-priced. Go to Marmalade, top service food and atmosphere- treated like royalty! Will never recommend this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A four course meal type place that is very pricey and very upscale. With that being said, the food is very good, service was fabulous and the ambiance was perfect. Just be prepared for a long expensive meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

1919 is one of the best restaurants I have ever had the pkeasure of eating in. The foid is consistently delicious.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went to 1919 after a day of jet skis and laying out on the beach. We got dresses up and looked forward to go to the restaurant (we did a quick dry run and saw how beautiful the restaurant is). The decor and ambiance was amazing and the food remarkable. What disappointed me the most was the waiter that escorted my date to the restroom and asked her out on a date. I mean, she is drop dead gorgeous and I am flattered that someone would take that much of a risk to ask her out. But at the same time I felt disrespected and not because I am jealous but more the principal of the matter She immediately came back and told me. I am not a fan of ruining how someone supports their family, so I am not calling out the waiter by name, although I do remember it! Every otherfine dining establishment we hit up was top notch with the level of respect they give you. 1919 needs to train there staff on how to keep it in their pants. I am sure they have gotten away with flirtation and crossing the line with other patrons but I know they didn't expect my date to come back and spill the details. Addressing the issue head on would not have been conducive to the type of night I was trying to have and I also didn't want to get Mr. suit and tie fired but need the public to know about my encounter.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Upscale restaurant. Too expensive for what it was. Food presentation was on par, but most dishes were a tad bland and not interesting. Not worth the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

In port for a day during a cruise. The restaurant is within the Condado Vanderbilt Hotel. The public areas of the hotel, and the restaurant, are gorgeous. The food was astoundingly good, the portions generous, and the wine list very impressive. Raul and Wesley took great care of our party of 6. An unforgettable dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent Food and extraordinary service. Best restaurant in Puerto Rico.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was outstanding although pricey. Services very good. Had to sit in Bar due to no shorts policy. The place was freezing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Me and my family were utterly disappointed with this restaurant. We came in with high expectations due to the Chef's Michelin Starred restaurant in NYC but left realizing that all we had was good food in small quantities and at excessively high prices. I must admit that the Tuna crudo appetizer and the second course, Ricotta Raviolli, that I had were marvelously achieved, although the third course, slow cooked cod, left a lot to desire and was excessively salty. I must also point out that for the price was not proportional to the quality and quantity of the food. Additionally, at the end of the meal we had the bitter surprise of finding out that the Tuna crudo and the cod had an additional charge on top of the prix fixe menu that was not written on the menu nor notified to us. Finally I must comment that service was deficient and far from that which one would expect at this type of restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Primary server was arrogant and very unprepared, could not answer basic question, ignore complains. For example my fish it smell as it was not fresh and he totally ignore the complain. The issue later was brought to the attention to the manager he indicated that we should had insist on the complain , going to him directly was insisting but nothing was done he mention he would look into it has been a week still waiting.

The other food was good, atmosphere was ok but too dark.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This should have been a 5 star feedback from us because the food is incredible however service was mixed and forgetful, our wine glasses sat empty waiting for more wine, bread was never offered after our initial offering and then almost at the end of our entree two pieces were just placed on our b&b plates almost as to make up. The food was just placed down without describing.... Having said all that we would definitely go back to enjoy the beautiful dishes Chef is preparing, you have to remind yourself that it's a resort town so service can be forgiven but the food is totally world class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was mostly quite good although the entree fish was dry. The service was excellent at the beginning of the meal. Halfway through, however, the staff disappeared. We were not asked about additional beverages, coffee etc. We couldn't even get more water. Really detracted from the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was very good. Service was excellent. The wrong meal was brought out to me, and the waiter was extremely apologetic. So, my husband ate his meal alone while I waited for mine. I ate my meal alone once it came. There was no effort to comp anything for the inconvenience. For the money spent, it was somewhat surprising. In my experience as a waiter, you always make up for your mistake through some form of comping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food was decent but the service was terrible. Tasting menus and wine pairings are always tricky, however, the value wasn't there.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with impeccable service. I took my 15 year old for Christmas dinner and he tried things he would have never tried normally. It was beautifully presented and definitely a meal to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The restaurant did not have the reservation made through Open Table, which was confirmed by Open Table and re-confirmed directly through the restaurant's reservation office.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was one of the best moment ever that my wife and i have been expended. The services and food over-standing, and the price is kind higher but so worth it. I recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Organic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant and the service is impeccable. We had a nice meal and really good cocktails. It is very expensive so you have to think twice about whether it is worth the price.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The experience was wonderful and we were served by a very nice Portuguese waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great ambiance, food, service, etc. Top of the line I recommend to all! This may sound weird but they had some of the freshest water I have ever tasted, it was addictive. Everything abou tthis place was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

All around great great restaurant

From the moment you enter the gorgeous Vanderbilt hotel you have a sense you're in for a treat!

The host and hostess the revering we went were amazing

We even got a banana bread loaf a sweet gift to take home

The food and service was beyond compare

Don't miss this place on your trip to Puerto Rico

Ps it's not inexpensive but it's worth the splurge!😀

Marcia L

Nyc

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of the best experiences we have had hands down! Amazing service and felt well taken care of. I rarely write reviews but this one was definitely worthy. Would recommend to anyone in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Superb menu, food, service, décor. Worth the money.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 7, 2016

This restaurant is truly outstanding and is NOT to be missed? The food is creative and delicious. The service is knowledge and attentive. The wine list has nice choices across the cost spectrum. The room is beautiful and quiet for conversation even when full. I congratulate the chef and owners for creating this wonderful restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was good but wasn't anything special you couldn't get anywhere else for a lower price. They charge you $85 for the 4 course meal and you can make your selections but watch out because many of the items have an extra surcharge so it's like paying $100 or more per person based on what you order.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

waiter Ivan was great,beautiful restaurant which we visit multiple times in the past when we visit this American Paradise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very very dissatisfied and disappointed for a $590 meal.

There were only 6 table in restaurant that were occupied I asked to move to different table with better view and I was told no. Ridiculous if restaurant was busy or an early reservation I could see. It was 7:15 and by time we weee finishing at 930 it was dead.

Our main server was cold stuffy and uninteresting in us , the menu and our dining experience in general.

Again would never return.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Michelin standards at Thanksgiving. Had Thanksgiving dinner and was impressed at how they melded traditional Thanksgiving flavors with innovation and elegance. Lovely meal and I loved the special Coquito treat at the end.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.