Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.05mi
  1. Distance: 3.05mi

About 1919 Restaurant

Global flavors. Locally-rooted. World-class cuisine ~ that truly knows its place. At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create. We believe in sourcing all our menu components with social consciousness and always at the pinnacle of good taste.

1055 Ashford Ave.
Condado, PR 00907
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 6pm-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Entrance Condado Vanderbilt Hotel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 724-1919

Website:
http://www.1919restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
VC lounge entertainment Thursdays to Saturdays

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet

Executive Chef:
Juan Jose Cuevas

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

At 1919, we are passionately committed to offering up the freshest organic and local ingredients for each and every dish we create.

1919 Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Romantic (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Waterfront (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Scenic View (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Historic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (3)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding service, excellent food. A bit pricey ($500 for 2 - prix fixe with pairings). Overall an indulgent, romantic experience. I won my wife's birthday with this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 5 days ago

We tried the Elements fixed menu w/ wine pairing. It was OK, did not meet our expectations though.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food, wonderful service-- especially the truffle risotto and the tuna crudo! It was the perfect end to a wonderful vacation at the Condado Vanderbilt hotel.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. Atmosphere

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Risotto was AMAZING. Actually everyone preferred the vegan version over the original. We also enjoyed the cucumber and avocado soup. The Sommelier was knowledgeable. The other food was ok. They made a notable effort to prepare food with vegan restrictions.

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

An elegant dinning experience with excellent service
Would prefer a bit more variety as for the menu , prix fix option available but maybe be a two hour plus choice
Overall a very enjoyable meal

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

1919 was among the top restaurants I've dined at. Coming from NYC, it rivals some of the finest where I live. I highly recommend the four course prefixe option. Creative and delicious dishes which were all organic.
Service was impeccable.
My only hope is that they could somehow incorporate the views of the ocean in Puerto Rico given we were just steps away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing Mother's Day Brunch.

The farm to table concept of the restaurant is unique. The food feels so light, fresh and tasty all at the same time.

The service is very attentive to details and the wine knowledge of the Sommelier is impressive.

A must go is you are in Puerto Rico.

Because of the waterfront location I strongly recommend late lunch or early dinner reservations to enjoy the amazing view of the Atlantic Ocean.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Durante nuestra vacaciones en la ciudad de San Juan, Puerto Rico hicimos
la reserva a través de la aplicación open table en el restaurante 1919. Todo estuvo perfecto con la reserva. Esta aplicación es segura y facil de manejar, por lo que la recomendamos 100%.

Tuvimos la grata experiencia de visitar este lugar que supero nuestras expectativas por MUCHO!!. El lugar es sofisticado y moderno, el ambiente es muy chic, la comida es riquísima y el servicio es excelente.

Lo que mas nos impacto fue el servicio que nos ofreció el señor Enrique, desde que llegamos al restaurante nos trato como VIP, como unas reinas. Con toda paciencia nos ayudo en la elección de la comida y tragos, las cuales fueron excelente recomendación de su parte, siempre estuvo sumamente atento a que no nos faltara nada y que estuviéramos pasando un momento agradable. Agradecemos de corazón su bello trato con nosotras.

Este es un lugar que no puedes dejar de visitar cuando estés en San Juan y preguntar por Ivan Enrique, para que te lleves a tu país la gran experiencia como nosotras.

DEFINITIVAMENTE VOLVEMOS A VISITARLOS PRONTO!!

"LAS DOMINICANAS" Anny, Rosanna y Stephanie.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 12, 2017

everything was perfect. service and food were outstanding

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was excellent; let the chef decide what to cook for you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Amazing service, exquisite food. Maybe best restaurant in San Juan!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The atmosphere was definitely upscale and the service was right on point. The wine selection was chosen from an iPad, which was different but a little pricey for the choices. Unfortunately I know how much the bottles actually cost, but I accept that when I am going to an upscale restaurant. We chose the chefs 4 course selection which had up charges for certain selections. The presentation was nice but the food really didn't have much flavor. The 85.00 a person , which there were 2 of us, ended up costing 375.00 including tip which they added into our bill. I was a little disappointed overall.
It wasn't terrible but when I am spending that kind of money on a dinner for two I expect a wow factor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Enjoyed very much but thought was little too expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excelente servicio, ambiente y cena. El servicio del personal es muy eficiente,respetuoso y matienen ese balance de servirte sin incomodarte por multiples interrupciones. Escelente balance. Tuvimos una agradable visita de la Pastry Chef.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was better than anything in NY! I can't explain how flavorful every dish was. Service was impeccable! Couldn't ask for anything better! Best restaurant in Condado

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food was good, service was excellent, and décor was very nice.

Overpriced though. I spent less at 4 and 5 star restaurants. Not much less but it was less and better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The Michelin Stars were the reason we had gone. Food was Fantastic with the Four Course Menu. Recommend the Fois Gras with the Homemade Corn Muffin.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Went to 1919 for our anniversary dinner and was blown away by the service and food. We were lucky enough to order a newly added item on their menu involving a homemade ravioli filled with egg that was to die for. Would recommend to anyone visiting San Juan. They gave us a special gift as we were leaving for our anniversary as well which was a nice touch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My husband and I visited 1919 while in town from Texas for my 40th birthday. From start to finish, the waitstaff, hostesses, and even the chef himself worked to make me feel special. We were given a lovely table near the windows, and were met with complimentary glasses of champagne to toast my birthday. The waitstaff and hostess slipped in and out to bring us samples of different items, as well as suggestions on what to order. The food was extraordinary. Not only was it delicious, it was absolutely gorgeous, with fresh flowers adorning well-plated meals. The waitstaff was friendly and respectful, and we were pleasantly surprised to see the chef himself stop by our table as well. At the end of our four course meal, the waitstaff surprised me with an extra dessert: a beautiful chocolate ganache cake with "Happy 40th Birthday" scrolled across the plate. Our server boxed it up for me to take home as my husband and I were both stuffed after enjoying fresh salads, seafood bisque, swordfish, and a banana bread pudding that melted in my mouth. My husband and I enjoy fine dining when traveling, and at home in Dallas, as well, where we have several fine restaurants we frequent. I would place 1919 at the top of our list as far as the whole dining experience: it was fantastic and I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing. My boyfriend and I wanted our last meal in PR to be the best from the ambiance to the food to the service. It was quite the treat and exactly what we had hoped for. The food was impeccably paired and well executed. The service was top-notch. Seriously, I would go for the 5 star service any day. Augustine and William (sp? so sorry!) were the absolute best! If you are looking for a very romantic culinary experience - this is the place to go in PR!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food, excellent service, nice ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We did the chefs tasting menu. All plates were exceptional and plenty. Note: I am not a fan of electronic wine lists, they are actually more hard to use than a book list. Wines were marked up to sometimes 200%. Mi Casa by Jose Andres was not as overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Second time at 1919. Went there when it first opened and found it very stuffy and not that great. Have enjoyed drinks at the Vanderbildt Bar recently and decided to try 1919 again. Less stuffy, but the food remained just okay, not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Perfect spot for my husband's 70th birthday. Service was impeccable, food was delicious, great wine list and lovely room. The price was very reasonable for a four course meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 12, 2017

By far the absolute best. Amazing food, stellar service and the best dining experience ever. The staff is superb, excellent customer service, attentive, cordial, polite, regardless of being assigned to our table or not. The many options are incredible but we took a chance and chose the Chef's Menu. They asked about food preferences like meat vs sea food and inquired about food allergies. Then they left it to the chef to create a menu for us. Plate after plate, it was an exquisite adventure in each and every entry, at times even matched the perfect wine. From start to finish, how amazing. To top it all, Chef Jose Cuevas, world renowned, came to our table! What a treat! We had the chance of having a conversation and learn more about his training and even some recommendations for our upcoming trip to Barcelona. At the end of our meal the staff aligned themselves at the exit to wish us a good night and handed a gift too! Cannot thank you enough for the wonderful experience. It was not just food, it was a work of art, taking food and service to a whole new level.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Good service and food, has maintained a high quality level since opening . This is our forth visit and will repeat

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The kitchen produced an excellent four course vegan dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent meal and first class service. The dishes are works of art and delicious. This should be ranked as one of the top restaurants anywhere in the world.
Just outstanding in every way. From the moment you arrive to the time you leave. This place is a must for anyone who enjoys the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Beautiful settindg, wonderful food and attentive service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

One of our best meals ever. Suckling pig was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a great experience. The food was top notch and so was the service. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The most outstanding feature of 1919 is the beautiful dining room. The food is very good. We had the raviolis, the salmon, and the tune. All were well prepared and presented. We decided against the pre fixe and were glad we did because it would have been too much for a late night dinner. The wine list is somewhat expensive but we found a nice bottle for about $100. We'd recommend 1919

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I ate here on a Friday night. Service was fine but a little cool. I had the eggplant w lobster to start - the nori flakes on top gave an off-putting gritty taste rather than provide interesting texture; and the accompanying seafood did not taste fresh. The ravioli was very good, as was the dorado. The wine pairing was actually quite good, and generous to the point of being too-much. I was very ill after eating here, perhaps the seafood, though who could know. Overall, while some of the food was quite good and the wine selections were very good, I don't think overall it was a high value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Luis and the entire staff went over and above to make our experience a very memorable experience. A perfect dinner to end our 10 day vacation! Thank you so much for everything!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Organic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Excellent food all around. None of the dishes missed and many were superb - the pastas were particularly notable. Incredible flavors and great merger of local and international. Service was first rate and very friendly - highly efficient and professional, but friendly and welcoming. Decor and overall atmosphere was elegant without veering off to gaudy. This place would be noteworthy and top tier in any major city. Highly highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

They had several large parties so the room was very loud. We are staying at the hotel and came for a romantic evening and had high expectations since it was a Wine Spectator restaurant. The room was too dark (had to use our phone to read the menu) and the service, while professional, was very stiff. The wine list app crashed repeatedly and they offered no assistance in selecting a bottle of wine. They offered a fixed price tasting menu, but just under half of the selections in each category had a supplemental charge. Overall the food was well prepared, fresh and moderately innovative with one glaring exception: one of our entrees was dreadful - don't order the Tuna. The tuna was slightly over cooked and came in a light tomato broth with squid, mussels and other highly fishy seafood. As we tried to pick though this shoreline disaster, the tuna continued to cook in the hot broth. Nothing in this dish elevated or complimented the tuna. We brought up our displeasure in this dish to the captain who assured us that he would relay our review to the chef. No apologies or any effort to smooth over our dissatisfaction. To cap off the experience, the captain gave is a packaged loaf of date nut bread as we passed the hostess stand. Not sure if this was provided to all diners or if was his effort to appease us. This is an expensive, fine dining restaurant not a local B&B - we didn't come for the date nut bread. On the other side, we had amazing meals at Marmalade, Pikayo, and Cocina Abierta.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Terribly over-rated. Food was just "okay". Beautiful so e though. We dine out at fine dining establishments often. Why anyone thinks this place is great is a mystery.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went to 1919 to celebrate my birthday and it was perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A wonderful experience all the way around !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.