1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel

4.6
468 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
  • Romantic
It’s no coincidence that The Best City in St. Louis happens to be home to the best steakhouse in the city—and it’s not just the steaks that are well done. From Seared Skuna Salmon and Lobster Bisque, to Oysters Rockefeller and juicy prime cuts, 1904 Steak House has something to delight every taste bud at an equally tasty price point. Pair your unforgettable meal with one of 120 wines from around the world and drink in the charming surroundings. You’ll soon discover just why 1904 was awarded “Best Ambiance” and “Best Food” by Open Table, the “Award of Excellence” by Wine Spectator, and in 2015, “Best Steak House” and “Best Romantic Restaurant” by Casino Player Magazine.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, Dessert
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday: 5pm - 10pm; Sunday: 5pm - 9pm (Closed Monday-Tuesday)



icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 388-7630
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Johnson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Casino North Parking Lot. Valet, South Entrance or complimentary garage parking.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music ever Friday & Saturday nights 730pm-10pm
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 468 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

We were celebrating our 28th Anniversary and I like the little parlor in the back. Chris our waiter was excellent,very observant and witty. We will come back. The side dishes are large enough for two people to split. Enjoyed the chocolate Carmel cake they gave us for our Anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The restaurant, food and service were excellent. It is a shame that you have to enter through the cloud of smoke from the casino to get to the restaurant...fortunately there was no smell of cigarette smoke in the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Out of town visitors enjoyed the ambiance and food!! Very impressed by staff recommendations and attentiveness!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

My wife and I were visiting the adjoining hotel/casino to attend a Three Dog Night concert. Wanted a romantic dinner prior to the concert event. Came to 1904 Steakhouse. The dinner was spectacular; food delicious; wonderful, attentive waiter. The steaks were out of this world. They also had onion rings which were freshly made, hand cut and delicious! Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

We had the sunset dinner. I had the chicken and husband had sirloin. They were plated beautifully, generous portion, tasted first class and dessert was to die for! I absolutely loved the decor. Could almost imagine the cancan girls hanging around. Headed back this summer with girlfriends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

This is the best steak house i have been to very good and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I am a widow, dining alone, Mario (my waiter) was extremely attentive and made my experience very enjoyable. Will definitely make this restaurant tops on my list for
my monthly "dine out treat". The sunset menu is a true value and the French onion soup is
a must have.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Food was good, service outstanding. Hostess is always friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

My only complaint is going at 5pm when it opens, the kitchen was flooded with orders and it took longer than normal to start our meal. Otherwise, everything was great, as usual! :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Love the atmosphere of this restaurant. Wine was good and affordable. Food great. Our waiter was excellent! Would recommend to anyone. Side comment which has nothing to do with the restaurant: smoke hits you in the face upon entering building even though you don't go through the casino to get to the restaurant. Others commented same thing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food and service were fantastic, and the decor is interesting. The attached casino still allows smoking and reeks of cigarettes, but somehow that smell doesn't permeate into the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was excellent and vestry quick after we ordered. The staff was amazing!! We will be coming back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

everything you expect from a fine dining establishment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great food and great service. Would recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great meal selection and dinner specials. I highly recommend this restaurant. Mary was a very good server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Mario was our server and it was a wonderful experience. Everything was perfect and we will definitely return and recommend to others!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great steak but a little on the pricey side considering the location within the casino. More like an Al La Cart menu. $5.00 for whipped potato's was surprising after a $45.00 steak.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Best steaks we have had in a long time and the service once we were seated at our table was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The food was amazing, this was our second time eating here and will definitely go back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Mario was excellent and very attentive. We had a wonderful Easter dinner :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Mario was our server, he was excellent! The food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Food was great. Service was wonderful. We really enjoy dinner at 1904.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Everything was great . Our waiter was good . It was very quite and could hear.everyone at the table

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Greatly appreciated a late call to reserve for Thursday. Left message and received a very gracious return call Thursday. All our requests were met with added options. Food as usual was excellent and prepared perfectly. All service personnel esp. Mary our waitress most genial; she made our dessert drink with precision. The anniversary dessert was a nice and tasty surprise.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Nothing exceptional to justify the price point. One and done for me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We have had dinner at 1904 many times. It never fails to disappoint. The food is consistently good, service is outstanding, and the ambiance is truly relaxing. They offer a good wine menu, steaks are unbelievably tender and full of flavor. The meal is always fresh and served hot. It is always a wonderful dining experience, no exceptions...ever.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The restaurant was great and the food was fine. However, the experience we had in the casino was awful. My date put a twenty dollar bill in a slot machine at the bar and it froze up. We called for service and a tech showed up. He messed with the machine for a few minutes and closed it back up. He said it would come back on line in two or three minutes and her $20 would be there. It came back on line, but froze up again with no $20 showing. Another tech came by, with a security man in a red jacket. That man was very rude. They took the machine apart, then closed it back up. Then he said there was no $20 bill in there. He told us that there was nothing he could do because they could not find the $20 bill. They didn't offer to look at the video that would have showed her putting the money in the machine. It was like they were accusing her of lying about it. We will never return to that casino. Our entire night was ruined by them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Everything was wonderful! Service was excellent. Food was delicious. Will be happy to return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

I have been to this restaurant a few times before and the food is always excellent, the service is excellent and I will definitely return for another visit. I have recommended this restaurant to family and friends and they have eaten at this establishment and loved it too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Place was exceptional. The food was very good and it came out really fast. Will be going back for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Anniversary dinner was excellent, wait staff friendly and fun to talk to. Service and food quality excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Excellent food and ambiance. Will definitely dine again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The food was great, however, the experience was a comp and when the waiter Jackie I think, brought our bill he leaned down and said “you know the gratuity isn’t included in this right?” Very RUDE.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Started out ok, appetizer and salad came out fairly quickly and were good. After that my husband had a hard time getting refilled on his beer and we waited an usually long time for entrees to come out. My husband's steak was undercooked, while my salmon was overcooked. My husband does not like to complain, but we did mention how long it took to get our food.My husband's answer was to leave 15% instead of 20%. It was our anniversary and she did offer us dessert, which we were too full to eat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Our waiter was excellent. Service was outstanding. The shrimp were ginormous. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Everything (service, food, atmosphere) was exceptional!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

I had $10.00 credit from Open Table that I wanted to use here, since I made my reservations here, but they would not accept it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Food was fabulous, service great as usual.
We always enjoy dinner at the steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Wonderful food! Service and wait staff were great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 15, 2018

Our server was great and very attentive. Great selection of wine, Caesar salad was delicious and the table bread was pretty good. The temperature of my medium-rare filet was perfect although the steak could use a bit more flavor. The crabcake add-on was a bit too crispy, border line burnt. However the sauce to complement the crabcake was great and the asparagus. Even though my expectations we're not met, I'd give this restaurant another try.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12

Tweets by 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel