About 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel

777 River City Casino Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63125
View Larger Map

It’s no coincidence that The Best City in St. Louis happens to be home to the best steakhouse in the city—and it’s not just the steaks that are well done. From Seared Skuna Salmon and Lobster Bisque, to Oysters Rockefeller and juicy prime cuts, 1904 Steak House has something to delight every taste bud at an equally tasty price point. Pair your unforgettable meal with one of 120 wines from around the world and drink in the charming surroundings. You’ll soon discover just why 1904 was awarded “Best Ambiance” and “Best Food” by Open Table, the “Award of Excellence” by Wine Spectator, and in 2015, “Best Steak House” and “Best Romantic Restaurant” by Casino Player Magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday: 5pm - 10pm; Sunday: 5pm - 9pm (Closed Monday-Tuesday)



Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 388-7630

Website:
http://rivercity.com/

Entertainment:
Live music ever Friday & Saturday nights 730pm-10pm

Parking Details:
Casino North Parking Lot. Valet, South Entrance or complimentary garage parking.

Executive Chef:
John Johnson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel
1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel

1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Louis
Steakhouse
St. Louis
Romantic
Downtown
1 More
Special Occasion
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (24)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Casual (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent experience for a couple's date ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent experience for a couple's date night. Elegant and sophisticated, the wait staff is professional and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our anniversary. Seated in a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary. Seated in a booth in the back, very quiet and secluded. Totally enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great atmosphere at 1904 Steak ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a great atmosphere at 1904 Steak House. Right off the casino floor at River City Casino, it is a wonderful place for a quiet, intimate quality dinner. Good Wine selection sets off the mood. Wonderful food at reasonable prices. Limited wine list (by the glass), but an extensive wine list by the bottle with a good variety. Food quality was top notch. Most entre's are served without a side and their sides you can buy are good size. Definitely a repeat location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated next to the kitchen entra ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were seated next to the kitchen entrance, so we heard every conversation between the staff that was happening behind the scene. Not exactly what I had pictured when imagining birthday dinner with a $50 steak. Our waitress took 45 minutes to take our order, the entire meal took almost 3 hours, which is a bit much for me on a Sunday night (especially when we arrived at 7pm). They were also apparently out of limes at the entire casino and brought me a gin and tonic with lemon. My food was delicious, my dining companion's steak was overdone.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

For a special occasion, excellent food- ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

For a special occasion, excellent food- need to celebrate for the occasion like other higher end restaurants do -give birthday/retiree person dessert- or acknowledge the event. Unfortunately, the waiter did not really take imitative to acknowledge . Disappointed only in this aspect. Food was excellent! Shrimp Cocktail a must!!! Great steak!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All the food was well portioned the des ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

All the food was well portioned the dessert was amazing highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was more than expected. It is pricey, but we got what we paid for.

Everyone who took part in making our visit "the best it could be" was certainly on their toes from our entrance through our exit.

Thank you for a great dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed doubt that I will be b ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very disappointed doubt that I will be back. Was here about three years ago and things have changed so much. Change is good but not this kind of change. Once again very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Filet was one of best we've had! Service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Filet was one of best we've had! Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and setting were great. The meal ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service and setting were great. The meal was pretty pricy but wasn't anything spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service, delicious crab cakes ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful service, delicious crab cakes and steak. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The 5-star rating for service is for our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The 5-star rating for service is for our waiter and the bus help. I can't remember our waiter's name, but he was our server two years ago, too. He is Eastern European, I believe. He is absolutely amazing. A great, personable, intuitive professional. We had a lovely relaxing evening and he made it extra special. However, if I could rate the older gentleman that seated us or the young woman at the front desk I would give them zero stars. This was a dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. I stated that on the Open Table reservation and asked for a special table. When we got there two gentlemen and the young women were at the front station. I told them my name and all three looked at the computer screen for several minutes. No one said, 'Welcome, just a moment, we are happy you are here.' Finally, the older gentleman headed off into the dining area without a 'follow me' or 'this way please'. He proceeds to seat us at a four top right at the front of the row - practically in the bar. Nothing romantic or special. I said we were hoping for a more secluded table, perhaps a booth. I said it was my wife's birthday. He didn't apologize or suggest another table - just scowled at us. 'No booths' he finally said. I said, well how about at least a table farther back. He again looked disgusted and finally allowed us to find a different table. He never suggested another table. As I said, they were the only downside to an otherwise wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Beware the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Beware the baked potato, it's ENORMOUS. Our waitress bet me a free dessert that I couldn't finish, but I did! My girlfriend got most of the dessert, I had just a taste (it was delicious as well). Wine list was small but OK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was very professional, friendly a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Waiter was very professional, friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Steaks were prepared to our specifications and very tender and juicy. Asparagus was wonderful. The only small complaint was the shrimp cocktail. The three shrimp were quite large and rather tough. However, we would order them again as we have had them on previous visits and they were very good. An extra treat was the dessert which we were treated to in honor of our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent and the ambience was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was excellent and the ambience was nice. However, the service was lacking that night. Our server had a big party and we never saw him until after we ordered and again when we flagged him down to pay our bill. Fortunately the other staff pitched in and made sure we received some service. One item we ordered was forgotten but we reordered it. The quality of the food product helped offset the poor service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Wonderful ambiance, service, and food. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, service, and food. And BTW, great wine list.

Loved it (first time)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat if you are going to a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great place to eat if you are going to a concert at the casino

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, excellent ambience an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent service, excellent ambience and yummy food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Father's Day. My husband enj ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day. My husband enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Jack was our server and he was excellent ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Jack was our server and he was excellent. The calamari was very good but very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, service and consistantly ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great ambience, service and consistantly great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good atmosphere and service. Thought al ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good atmosphere and service. Thought all the food tasted like bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great steak and excellent appetizers.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great steak and excellent appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Special day

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I love everything about this place. The service was outstanding . Everything we ordered was wonderful from the wine to the lamb chops. We will always return for a special occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a great experience. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I had a great experience. This is our third visit. The Chef did an impeccable job!!!!

ThankYou

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was excellent but the steak was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent but the steak was overly salted. Excellent cut of meat and done perfectly! Creamed spinach was delicious! The waiter was awesome! Very enjoyable meal! Next time I would ask them just to leave off the salt, or at least cut way way back on it. I would go back again if in the area. The dessert was delectable too!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was outstanding. Food was delici ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was interesting and posh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was good

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The food came to quick before we could finish each dish and for some reason it was all very salty and I love salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent steak and side dishes Good dr ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Excellent steak and side dishes

Good drinks. Nice wine selection

Scallops just ok.

Service and friendliness of staff was excellent

Seating arrangement could be cozier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Concert and Dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Reservations for dinner prior to the Dwight Yoakam concert. Steaks were cooked to order, tender and delicious. Service was timely and server informative and efficient. Recommend for a relaxing upscale dinner prior to an event to include just a short walk to the venue.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome steaks, superb service, quiet pl ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Awesome steaks, superb service, quiet place, a nice place to take a date and enjoy some company. My very dry martini was impeccable. Oh, almost forgot about the deconstructed lemon meringue pie...wow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything about 1904 is perfect. I have ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Everything about 1904 is perfect. I have not had a bad meal there. Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed 1904. The food, the staff and everything was very good. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the price

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The overall price of the food is way to much for what we received. Just not happy with the price or the the quality of the food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not a good experience.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Our waitress, Bridgett, seemed to have to many customers. Our wait time was way longer than normal. Thank goodness other waiters noticed us and refilled our drinks. Not just once but twice. I ordered a medium steak that came well done and even burnt around the edges. They did redo another steak and it was cooked better. They claimed 45 day aged steaks but mine seemed a little tough for 45 days. Then we had to call Bridgett to get the check. It was not what we were expecting for this steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great meal after a dynamite concert!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I saw the Alan Parsons Project on Saturday night. We had to really rush to the Steak House because the concert ran late. We got to the restaurant on time and despite being close to closing got excellent service from all the staff. We were not rushed. What made the meal special was the entire band, including Alan Parsons himself, came in for dinner a little later. Each member of the band stopped to say hello. The food was amazing. The steak was superb and the crab succulent. One small complaint - we only got one piece of crab and although it was large it was not nearly enough for us. Overall a tremendous evening, including a very nice hotel room. We will be back again very soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The perfect Valentines Dinner. The staf ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The perfect Valentines Dinner. The staff all thanked us as we left and not just our waiter. Perfect cooked steak. Great dessert. Subtle red lighting through out to create the mpod.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine day

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The valentine day special menu was excellent - we had the new york strip steak which was superb! Service as always was perfect

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

frequent diner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I had an 8 oz fillet with a side of mushrooms and a Garlic butter sauce which was excellent.

My wife had the brick chicken and it was a bit gristly, and had a small bone in it.\

The waiter brought a chocolate ball with bananas inside and he poured a warm caramel like topping on it and it opened up for us to eat which was pretty cool.

We had a side of lobster mac that was pretty good.

I started off with a lobster bisque that I thought was lacking a bit, the broth was pretty good but only had a sliver of lobster meat.

The atmosphere was very quiet which we really liked the service was excellent, the bill was a bit pricey, but overall a very good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Hot Plates

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The only thing missing from this wonderful experience was they didn't have the really hot plates (like Ruth's Chris). The food was all delicious but if it was kept hot, it might have been even better! Our waitress was Mary and she was wonderful!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.