About 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel

777 River City Casino Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63125
View Larger Map

It’s no coincidence that The Best City in St. Louis happens to be home to the best steakhouse in the city—and it’s not just the steaks that are well done. From Seared Skuna Salmon and Lobster Bisque, to Oysters Rockefeller and juicy prime cuts, 1904 Steak House has something to delight every taste bud at an equally tasty price point. Pair your unforgettable meal with one of 120 wines from around the world and drink in the charming surroundings. You’ll soon discover just why 1904 was awarded “Best Ambiance” and “Best Food” by Open Table, the “Award of Excellence” by Wine Spectator, and in 2015, “Best Steak House” and “Best Romantic Restaurant” by Casino Player Magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday: 5pm - 10pm; Sunday: 5pm - 9pm (Closed Monday-Tuesday)



Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 388-7630

Website:
http://rivercity.com/

Entertainment:
Live music ever Friday & Saturday nights 730pm-10pm

Parking Details:
Casino North Parking Lot. Valet, South Entrance or complimentary garage parking.

Executive Chef:
John Johnson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel
1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel

1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

special occasion (25)
romantic (21)
notable wine list (8)
See All
fit for foodies (5)
good for groups (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
298 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, excellent ambience an ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, excellent ambience and yummy food.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for Father's Day. My husband enj ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day. My husband enjoyed it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jack was our server and he was excellent ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Jack was our server and he was excellent. The calamari was very good but very salty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, service and consistantly ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great ambience, service and consistantly great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Good atmosphere and service. Thought al ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Good atmosphere and service. Thought all the food tasted like bacon.

food5
ambience4
service5

Great steak and excellent appetizers.

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Great steak and excellent appetizers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special day

Dined on June 4, 2016

I love everything about this place. The service was outstanding . Everything we ordered was wonderful from the wine to the lamb chops. We will always return for a special occasion

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I had a great experience. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I had a great experience. This is our third visit. The Chef did an impeccable job!!!! ThankYou

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was excellent but the steak was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was excellent but the steak was overly salted. Excellent cut of meat and done perfectly! Creamed spinach was delicious! The waiter was awesome! Very enjoyable meal! Next time I would ask them just to leave off the salt, or at least cut way way back on it. I would go back again if in the area. The dessert was delectable too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. Food was delici ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was interesting and posh.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was good

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food came to quick before we could finish each dish and for some reason it was all very salty and I love salt.

food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent steak and side dishes Good dr ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Excellent steak and side dishes Good drinks. Nice wine selection Scallops just ok. Service and friendliness of staff was excellent Seating arrangement could be cozier

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Concert and Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

Reservations for dinner prior to the Dwight Yoakam concert. Steaks were cooked to order, tender and delicious. Service was timely and server informative and efficient. Recommend for a relaxing upscale dinner prior to an event to include just a short walk to the venue.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome steaks, superb service, quiet pl ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Awesome steaks, superb service, quiet place, a nice place to take a date and enjoy some company. My very dry martini was impeccable. Oh, almost forgot about the deconstructed lemon meringue pie...wow!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about 1904 is perfect. I have ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Everything about 1904 is perfect. I have not had a bad meal there. Great place!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I really enjoyed 1904. The food, the staff and everything was very good. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not worth the price

Dined on March 20, 2016

The overall price of the food is way to much for what we received. Just not happy with the price or the the quality of the food.

Tags: romantic
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Not a good experience.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our waitress, Bridgett, seemed to have to many customers. Our wait time was way longer than normal. Thank goodness other waiters noticed us and refilled our drinks. Not just once but twice. I ordered a medium steak that came well done and even burnt around the edges. They did redo another steak and it was cooked better. They claimed 45 day aged steaks but mine seemed a little tough for 45 days. Then we had to call Bridgett to get the check. It was not what we were expecting for this steak house.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal after a dynamite concert!

Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I saw the Alan Parsons Project on Saturday night. We had to really rush to the Steak House because the concert ran late. We got to the restaurant on time and despite being close to closing got excellent service from all the staff. We were not rushed. What made the meal special was the entire band, including Alan Parsons himself, came in for dinner a little later. Each member of the band stopped to say hello. The food was amazing. The steak was superb and the crab succulent. One small complaint - we only got one piece of crab and although it was large it was not nearly enough for us. Overall a tremendous evening, including a very nice hotel room. We will be back again very soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The perfect Valentines Dinner. The staf ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

The perfect Valentines Dinner. The staff all thanked us as we left and not just our waiter. Perfect cooked steak. Great dessert. Subtle red lighting through out to create the mpod.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine day

Dined on February 15, 2016

The valentine day special menu was excellent - we had the new york strip steak which was superb! Service as always was perfect

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

frequent diner

Dined on January 31, 2016

I had an 8 oz fillet with a side of mushrooms and a Garlic butter sauce which was excellent. My wife had the brick chicken and it was a bit gristly, and had a small bone in it.\ The waiter brought a chocolate ball with bananas inside and he poured a warm caramel like topping on it and it opened up for us to eat which was pretty cool. We had a side of lobster mac that was pretty good. I started off with a lobster bisque that I thought was lacking a bit, the broth was pretty good but only had a sliver of lobster meat. The atmosphere was very quiet which we really liked the service was excellent, the bill was a bit pricey, but overall a very good experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hot Plates

Dined on January 30, 2016

The only thing missing from this wonderful experience was they didn't have the really hot plates (like Ruth's Chris). The food was all delicious but if it was kept hot, it might have been even better! Our waitress was Mary and she was wonderful!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of steak

Dined on January 30, 2016

Seems like the quality of the filets have lessened. Was there a change in beef provider? Service and ambiance is very good ! Also lobster was a little tough, has been better in recent visits.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

high priced, so so service, very quiet, ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

high priced, so so service, very quiet, somewhat disappointed for spending over 700 bucks that night,

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great new menu

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

The new menu is outstanding. The pork loin with the hash can change a persons view of food. It was that great. Great job team and it was worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

taylor

Dined on January 8, 2016

my wifes food was good but she was disatified with the vegtables. The vegtables were very small and didnt have much taste. The desert cake tasted stale and seemed like it was old.My steak was great.We enjoyed the evening at the steak house.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant & great food!

Dined on December 26, 2015

The food and service were awesome. Nice way to celebrate my birthday with the family.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1

Food was wonderful. Service was very p ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Food was wonderful. Service was very poor. Wouldn't go back.

food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food, lacking service

Dined on December 25, 2015

Service was very slow. We were seated by the hostess, but not given menus. There was no recognition from a waiter for a long time, and when he did arrive still did not bring menus but just took drink order. We finally received 1 menu and several minutes later the 2nd. During this time we noticed other tables being seated and given a menu at that time. I ordered the lobster bisque, which had a brown offputting color, but the large chunks of lobster made up for it. The flat iron steak and fries was very good, but the topper was the baked sweet potato. The potato was so tender, you could easily slice it with a fork and it was served with a brown sugar butter. Delicious!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

You're paying for ambiance and convenience

Dined on December 24, 2015

We shared several small plates so we could try different things. The goat cheese dip is not worth it and neither are the scallops. The lobster Mac and cheese was the best thing we got. Don't waste money on the oysters, they are the smallest thing I've ever seen in my life! The prices don't reflect the quality or the portions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistantly Excellent

Dined on December 12, 2015

As per usual our visit was excellent: Service was first rate with the Lamb and Steak selections being prepared to perfection. The bar service was exemplary with the Scotch suggestion from the Barman spot on. Hooray for the Oysters best in town! Dessert was heavenly loved the flour less Chocolate Cake!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience! Our server w ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

We had a great experience! Our server was amazing! He was one of the most attentive and pleasant servers we've had at any restaurant. I would like a bit more selection on the menu - but the service will keep us coming back time and time again!

food3
ambience5
service5

Everything was great...except the steaks!

Dined on November 14, 2015

The ambiance, decor, and service was as good as one could expect. Oddly, for the price we paid, the food itself was mediocre...primarily the steaks. My wife and I both had filet. It was OK, but nothing special at all. We've had much better at other places...like Outback Steakhouse. My daughter had NY Strip, and she basically rated it the same. Said it was good, but nothing special. The potatoes, bread, etc were all excellent. The staff was great. It was just a shame the meat was just 'OK'. We probably won't be back. For 3 people our bill was just under $200 with tip, and we had no alcohol. For that price we can find much better steaks elsewhere. We may have caught them on a bad night, it was our first time there. It is a beautiful restaurant, and I had heard they were the best in St. Louis. Unfortunately, we did not share that opinion.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4

It was johns birthday .

Dined on November 13, 2015

We have been to 1904 in the past. This meal did not disppoint. The steaks were delicious. The filet was almost fork tender.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent dining

Dined on November 1, 2015

Food and service were excellent as usual. We love the french onion soup - best in ST Louis area. The steaks also were excellent - everything prepared as requested.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Experience

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

So you think a casino in St. Louis wouldn't have a good, reasonably priced restaurant to dine. Well wrong! We were blown away by the 1904. Everything on the menu was reasonably priced. My wife and split the chop salad to start. It was very good. Believe me you need to split because all the food they brought was more than enough to eat. The bread and butter was delicious as well! We ordered a bottle of wine (one of my favorites) Chateau Gloria St. Julien. It was supposed to be a 2008 vintage but ended up being a 2003 vintage for 70 bucks! Decanted and let sit for a few minutes and it was spectacular! It was a hidden gem. Unfortunately they only had one bottle left. My wife ordered the filet and was very pleased with how it was prepared. The waiter recommended the 22 oz bone in rib eye for me. It was delicious at medium rare. We ordered asparagus and the mac & cheese for our sides and split them. Oh so glad we split! More food than we can eat. Asparagus was grilled and cooked to perfection. If you like mac & cheese, probably the best I have had in a while. Another table ordered a baked potato loaded and you could have split it 3 ways! It was huge. All in all the food, ambiance and service were very good. The waiter was very knowledgeable and not overbearing. We have eaten at a lot of fine establishments and this rates very high. We will be back again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Very peaceful and very pretty setting

Dined on October 18, 2015

We had a really nice dinner with great service. We had a quiet dinner with friends and really enjoyed it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch

Dined on October 17, 2015

Absolute wonderful find!! We will be back!! It was our anniversary and we wanted to make it special (seeing as though it was our first date night in 2 1/2 years since having our first child). And a special night is exactly what we got! I will recommend this resturant to everyone I know! Very romantic with very tasty food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Surprise birthday dinner

Dined on October 11, 2015

Our waiter, sorry I don't remember his name was very personable, knowledgeable about the menu, service was prompt, food prepared just right. We were in a little private room which was a surprise but very much appreciated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.