About 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel

777 River City Casino Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63125
View Larger Map

It’s no coincidence that The Best City in St. Louis happens to be home to the best steakhouse in the city—and it’s not just the steaks that are well done. From Seared Skuna Salmon and Lobster Bisque, to Oysters Rockefeller and juicy prime cuts, 1904 Steak House has something to delight every taste bud at an equally tasty price point. Pair your unforgettable meal with one of 120 wines from around the world and drink in the charming surroundings. You’ll soon discover just why 1904 was awarded “Best Ambiance” and “Best Food” by Open Table, the “Award of Excellence” by Wine Spectator, and in 2015, “Best Steak House” and “Best Romantic Restaurant” by Casino Player Magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday: 5pm - 10pm; Sunday: 5pm - 9pm (Closed Monday-Tuesday)



Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 388-7630

Website:
http://rivercity.com/

Entertainment:
Live music ever Friday & Saturday nights 730pm-10pm

Parking Details:
Casino North Parking Lot. Valet, South Entrance or complimentary garage parking.

Executive Chef:
John Johnson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel, St. Louis, MO
1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel, St. Louis, MO

1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
St. Louis
Special Occasion
St. Louis
Steakhouse
St. Louis
5 More
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
People Watching (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The filet is 26. There's the warning. Ev ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The filet is 26. There's the warning. Every other steak house it is 40-50. How do they do it? They claim their meat is choice/prime, aged in a special process.

What was delivered was pseudo filet, obvious from the first cut. The grain was coarse and structured totally unlike a filet. It had been infused with sufficient tenderizer that the msg/salt burned the tongue. It was properly prepared.

The apps were good and properly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Typical high priced steak house, Food wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Typical high priced steak house, Food was good, nice quite setting. I prefer J. Gilberts restaurant and food better but my wife and I wanted to try something new. We are satisfied with our experience, doubt we'll ever go back as we prefer J. Gilbert's restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The atmosphere was great for our anniver ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere was great for our anniversary dinner. The romantic ambiance, the seating, the great calamari (the best we've ever had!) all added to the enjoyment of our date!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere, food and service. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, food and service. The half moon shaped both was a unique cozy table for two. The steak and the lamb were packed with flavor. The wait staff worked well as a team. The background music could have been a bit louder as it would have helped drown out the rowdy crowd of gamblers that were enjoying the restaurants bar. Otherwise glad to have made the drive. Well worth the money spent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Have been there several times for A grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Have been there several times for A great dinner with friends and for special events. The food and service is always outstanding and will be back for the holidays

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was phenomenal! Service was outsta ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was phenomenal! Service was outstanding! Sadly, the outer bar has been turned into a lounge like area wherein the electric guitar could be heard throughout dinner (along with the applause for him), and there were several sporting events on the tv's. Either this should be fine dining, with little interruption, or a sports bar/lounge, but not all 3. Several times, conversation was drowned out by the cheers from the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

we went to pinnacle club with another co ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

we went to pinnacle club with another couple had a blast. Chris was a excellent bartender and the service was awesome. Perry woods was playing guitar an also was excellent we left good tips for both and will b e back again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. The bread and but ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The service was great. The bread and butter at the start of the meal was delicious, with a truffle butter. My husband ordered a steak. It was the best steak either of us had ever eaten. You could cut through it like butter. I ordered the brick chicken. The chicken was moist and the skin crunchy. It came with a delicious au jus sauce with a buttery flavor. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for an exceptional meal in a great environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiters were very friendly and knowledge ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waiters were very friendly and knowledgeable, atmosphere was very warm and inviting, food was beyond delicious. Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster Mac and Cheese was awesome! Sal ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Lobster Mac and Cheese was awesome! Salad and rolls good too. Steak was probably the most tender we have ever had, but it lacked in flavor. Service was great!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were at the 1904 Steakhouse on Oct. 1 ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were at the 1904 Steakhouse on Oct. 15, 2016 for our anniversary. We totally enjoyed our dining experience. We split the bone in cowboy ribeye and it was fabulous. Mary was our waitress and she was so nice. We will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grouper was very good and the chicke ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The grouper was very good and the chicken was excellent... The creme bruele was one of the best that I have had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Truly fantastic. The food, drinks and st ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Truly fantastic. The food, drinks and staff were tremendous along with a relaxed vibe that added to the meal. Great restaurant...not simply a good "casino restaurant." I would dine here again regardless of whether I planned to gamble. Yes, it was that good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a birthday celebration. Stea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went for a birthday celebration. Steaks were good,as well as all the vegetable dishes.

We hope to be back soon

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1904 has always been one of our favorite ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

1904 has always been one of our favorite places to eat. Jim has created a wonderful team that makes your meal very enjoyable. First time I had the new lamb chop option and it was wonderful. Great meal to share with someone special. The wine list is perfect for any dollar amount you are willing to spend. Great value priced wines along with the standard higher priced levels.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food at the 1904 Steakhouse was amaz ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food at the 1904 Steakhouse was amazing! Our server, Mary, made us feel right at home from the get-go, and was very friendly, wishing us a Happy Anniversary (me and my wife's 4th and her parent's 34th was a few days prior) as she introduced herself and took our initial drink orders.

After we ordered the Calamari as an appetizer (Delicious!) Mary was replaced by Mike (who had a great sense of humor when we joked about 'Mary' having had a drastic change in appearance) who also did an excellent job. Turns out that Mary had been selected from the wait-staff to showcase her skills behind the bar, mixing up drinks for some of the other patrons.

The food was amazing, the setting was intimate, yet relaxed and very comfortable, and the friendliness of all of the staff, from the Manager all the way down the line to the bussers, was exceedingly friendly. Mary even took the liberty of ordering the Crème brûlée and a slice of the chocolate/caramel cheesecake for our dessert.

In short, it really was a wonderful evening, and I would be thrilled to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we ate at and drank at the Pinnacle Club ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

we ate at and drank at the Pinnacle Club Lindsey and Aleesia were awesome along with the guitar player I will be back!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience for a couple's date ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent experience for a couple's date night. Elegant and sophisticated, the wait staff is professional and knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated our anniversary. Seated in a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary. Seated in a booth in the back, very quiet and secluded. Totally enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great atmosphere at 1904 Steak ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always a great atmosphere at 1904 Steak House. Right off the casino floor at River City Casino, it is a wonderful place for a quiet, intimate quality dinner. Good Wine selection sets off the mood. Wonderful food at reasonable prices. Limited wine list (by the glass), but an extensive wine list by the bottle with a good variety. Food quality was top notch. Most entre's are served without a side and their sides you can buy are good size. Definitely a repeat location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were seated next to the kitchen entra ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were seated next to the kitchen entrance, so we heard every conversation between the staff that was happening behind the scene. Not exactly what I had pictured when imagining birthday dinner with a $50 steak. Our waitress took 45 minutes to take our order, the entire meal took almost 3 hours, which is a bit much for me on a Sunday night (especially when we arrived at 7pm). They were also apparently out of limes at the entire casino and brought me a gin and tonic with lemon. My food was delicious, my dining companion's steak was overdone.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

For a special occasion, excellent food- ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

For a special occasion, excellent food- need to celebrate for the occasion like other higher end restaurants do -give birthday/retiree person dessert- or acknowledge the event. Unfortunately, the waiter did not really take imitative to acknowledge . Disappointed only in this aspect. Food was excellent! Shrimp Cocktail a must!!! Great steak!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All the food was well portioned the des ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

All the food was well portioned the dessert was amazing highly recommend

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was more than expected. It is pricey, but we got what we paid for.

Everyone who took part in making our visit "the best it could be" was certainly on their toes from our entrance through our exit.

Thank you for a great dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed doubt that I will be b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very disappointed doubt that I will be back. Was here about three years ago and things have changed so much. Change is good but not this kind of change. Once again very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Filet was one of best we've had! Service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Filet was one of best we've had! Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and setting were great. The meal ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service and setting were great. The meal was pretty pricy but wasn't anything spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service, delicious crab cakes ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful service, delicious crab cakes and steak. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The 5-star rating for service is for our ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The 5-star rating for service is for our waiter and the bus help. I can't remember our waiter's name, but he was our server two years ago, too. He is Eastern European, I believe. He is absolutely amazing. A great, personable, intuitive professional. We had a lovely relaxing evening and he made it extra special. However, if I could rate the older gentleman that seated us or the young woman at the front desk I would give them zero stars. This was a dinner to celebrate my wife's birthday. I stated that on the Open Table reservation and asked for a special table. When we got there two gentlemen and the young women were at the front station. I told them my name and all three looked at the computer screen for several minutes. No one said, 'Welcome, just a moment, we are happy you are here.' Finally, the older gentleman headed off into the dining area without a 'follow me' or 'this way please'. He proceeds to seat us at a four top right at the front of the row - practically in the bar. Nothing romantic or special. I said we were hoping for a more secluded table, perhaps a booth. I said it was my wife's birthday. He didn't apologize or suggest another table - just scowled at us. 'No booths' he finally said. I said, well how about at least a table farther back. He again looked disgusted and finally allowed us to find a different table. He never suggested another table. As I said, they were the only downside to an otherwise wonderful evening.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Beware the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Beware the baked potato, it's ENORMOUS. Our waitress bet me a free dessert that I couldn't finish, but I did! My girlfriend got most of the dessert, I had just a taste (it was delicious as well). Wine list was small but OK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter was very professional, friendly a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Waiter was very professional, friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Steaks were prepared to our specifications and very tender and juicy. Asparagus was wonderful. The only small complaint was the shrimp cocktail. The three shrimp were quite large and rather tough. However, we would order them again as we have had them on previous visits and they were very good. An extra treat was the dessert which we were treated to in honor of our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent and the ambience was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was excellent and the ambience was nice. However, the service was lacking that night. Our server had a big party and we never saw him until after we ordered and again when we flagged him down to pay our bill. Fortunately the other staff pitched in and made sure we received some service. One item we ordered was forgotten but we reordered it. The quality of the food product helped offset the poor service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Wonderful ambiance, service, and food. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful ambiance, service, and food. And BTW, great wine list.

Loved it (first time)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to eat if you are going to a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great place to eat if you are going to a concert at the casino

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, excellent ambience an ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent service, excellent ambience and yummy food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Father's Day. My husband enj ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Father's Day. My husband enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Jack was our server and he was excellent ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Jack was our server and he was excellent. The calamari was very good but very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, service and consistantly ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great ambience, service and consistantly great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good atmosphere and service. Thought al ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Good atmosphere and service. Thought all the food tasted like bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great steak and excellent appetizers.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great steak and excellent appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.