Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi

About 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel

It’s no coincidence that The Best City in St. Louis happens to be home to the best steakhouse in the city—and it’s not just the steaks that are well done. From Seared Skuna Salmon and Lobster Bisque, to Oysters Rockefeller and juicy prime cuts, 1904 Steak House has something to delight every taste bud at an equally tasty price point. Pair your unforgettable meal with one of 120 wines from around the world and drink in the charming surroundings. You’ll soon discover just why 1904 was awarded “Best Ambiance” and “Best Food” by Open Table, the “Award of Excellence” by Wine Spectator, and in 2015, “Best Steak House” and “Best Romantic Restaurant” by Casino Player Magazine.

777 River City Casino Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63125
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday: 5pm - 10pm; Sunday: 5pm - 9pm (Closed Monday-Tuesday)



Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 388-7630

Website:
http://rivercity.com/

Entertainment:
Live music ever Friday & Saturday nights 730pm-10pm

Parking Details:
Casino North Parking Lot. Valet, South Entrance or complimentary garage parking.

Executive Chef:
John Johnson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Quiet Conversation (11)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We both started with the lobster bisque, and it literally looked and smelled like fish guts. It had one piece of lobster in it that was flat; that's right...flat! I couldn't eat it. We went on to order the grouper, which came with butternut squash risotto and kale. The grouper was okay, but they put it on top of the risotto, which was mushy and greasy. We will never be returning to this restaurant. It was very overpriced for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was excellent. The steak is aged and some of the best I've had. We ordered roasted asparagus and brussel sprouts as sides and they were very good. The restaurant is attached to the casino so the clientele was largely comped I think. Only a couple of tables had people dressed up. Four tables away from us was a guy talking so loud to the next table we could hear every word he said. The service was good but not necessarily fine dining service. The steaks made this trip worth our while.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was very good Food was very good
The Strip steak and Filet were cooked perfectly! Did not like the mushrooms- they should note on the menu that they have bacon in them- too smoky flavor that did not mix well with the other seasonings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good food and service ! Highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Have dined there before. Food excellent, however, my filet mignon was just warm and not hot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Ribeye steak was the best I have had in a long time. Cook to perfection and the Brussels sprouts is a good choice for a side dish. Shrimp cocktail for an app in the way to go HUGE shrimp.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was wonderful. Our server was very helpful in making suggestions and answering all our questions. First time there and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a great steak and sides! Shrimp cocktail is exceptional. Sat in one of the private alcoves which was really great for an anniversary meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 18th wedding anniversary. The staff was great!!!!! Special thanks to our waiter who made a special point to bring us a dessert to share. Excellent food and price was not too bad. Just stay away from the casino.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our first time to visit the restaurant. We were impressed with the interior design.
A little disappointed that a salad was not included with our main course.
With a restaurant of this price range, a salad is a minimal expense.
We will return, but for us it is a place we will only visit occasionally

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Steak was good. Worst cream spinach I have eaten. Very pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Perfect night. The food was superb, the servers were very attentive but not smothering.
Great place for a romantic dinner or friends get together.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The two young hostesses were on their phones when we arrived and they did not notice us standing there for a few minutes until I said "excuse me". Also, the attire of the newest hostess was inappropriate for such an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was amazing, one of the best steaks I've ever had. The table we were in was somewhat secluded so we could have a conversation and clearly hear each other. The staff were all very polite and professional. Overall it's was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Apps were not good however entrées were great. Need this to be at least 50 characters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and atmosphere were very good. The steak especially was tasty and the service was great. All of the waiters and other staff were great

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

PERFECT in every way. Food was excellent and service top shelf.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I guess, if you are at river city, I f s the best you can do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took my wife for an early Valentines dinner. It is a little pricey, but well worth it. She had the Valentines dinner special. It was started off with huge shrimp cocktail, lobster bisque, followed by the entree of filet and lobster tail then dessert. Not quite sure what you cal it, but was 3 different small desserts. She said it was the best chocolate she has ever had.
I had lobster bisque followed by a grouper entree and a side of creamed spinach. Grouper was great. The creamed spinach is made fresh and is fabulous. I would definitely recommend 1904 to anyone that wants a fabulous meal. As I said, a little pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was terrible and the food mediocre. Unless you are on a comp from the casino, avoid this resteraunt. The only thing high end about this place is the prices. Sorry, won't dine here again, or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was excellent and the service went above and beyond without having to ask for services. Very helpful in choosing dinner entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

1904 was way overpriced and extremely mediocre. The menu had a dismal selection. I lover flavorful food, but my ribeye has a charred like bark on the outside that overpowered what I considered a tough steak for $40. That price didn't include salad or potato. I've had better steaks at Applebee's. We had one drink a piece, and no appetizer. The bill for two was $148 before tip. No problem had the food been good. If you are mad at your money, and have a yearning for average food, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

When we were seated we told our server, Troy, of our upcoming show plans at 7 p.m. Great experience until near the end. we asked our server for a leftover box and the change from the bill as we were attending the 7 p.m. show of Rodney Carrington. It was nearing 7 p.m. to get change and the box! I decided to head to restroom and who did I encounter on way to restroom? Our server was showing another party to their table! Why couldn't he get our change and leftover box in a more timely fashion?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was great! Decided upon 1904 Steak House because we saw Grouper on the menu. The Grouper was delicious and the steak was amazing.
We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very good food and quiet for conversation. Better than expected at a Casino.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is difficult for me to review. The food and staff were excellent and as a restaurant it is a wonderful place. However, as part of a casino complex getting to it required a trip through a smoke (cigarette) filled area. My wife has asthma and it took three hits of her emergency inhaler to calm her breathing. We won't (can't) go back, but not because of the restaurant itself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The steak was very dry and the salad wasn't good. The server never even asked how the food was. I have ate here several times before and this was the worst experience I have had there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Over priced. Steaks were very salty and very bland. $60 porterhouse was definitely not worth the price hardly any marbling. Was my second visit, first visit I loved this time around not so much. Service was just fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

In order to get to the dining room, one must pass through the lounge. The carry over noise from the lounge is disturbing for a quiet dinner. The lounge then has its patrons opening the door to go outside to smoke. The door opening makes it extremely cold in the dining room.
The filet mignon is always tender and flavorful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My wife and I ate dinner before attending the Sara Evans concert in the Event Center. The meal was a great start to a wonderful evening. We loved the atmosphere and friendly staff. Steaks were absolutely perfect and dessert was the perfect end to our experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband & I had our Christmas company dinner here and it was wonderful. The service was outstanding and the steaks were exceptional along with creamed spinach. We will definitely be back !

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The filet is 26. There's the warning. Every other steak house it is 40-50. How do they do it? They claim their meat is choice/prime, aged in a special process.
What was delivered was pseudo filet, obvious from the first cut. The grain was coarse and structured totally unlike a filet. It had been infused with sufficient tenderizer that the msg/salt burned the tongue. It was properly prepared.
The apps were good and properly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Typical high priced steak house, Food was good, nice quite setting. I prefer J. Gilberts restaurant and food better but my wife and I wanted to try something new. We are satisfied with our experience, doubt we'll ever go back as we prefer J. Gilbert's restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere was great for our anniversary dinner. The romantic ambiance, the seating, the great calamari (the best we've ever had!) all added to the enjoyment of our date!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, food and service. The half moon shaped both was a unique cozy table for two. The steak and the lamb were packed with flavor. The wait staff worked well as a team. The background music could have been a bit louder as it would have helped drown out the rowdy crowd of gamblers that were enjoying the restaurants bar. Otherwise glad to have made the drive. Well worth the money spent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Have been there several times for A great dinner with friends and for special events. The food and service is always outstanding and will be back for the holidays

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was phenomenal! Service was outstanding! Sadly, the outer bar has been turned into a lounge like area wherein the electric guitar could be heard throughout dinner (along with the applause for him), and there were several sporting events on the tv's. Either this should be fine dining, with little interruption, or a sports bar/lounge, but not all 3. Several times, conversation was drowned out by the cheers from the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

we went to pinnacle club with another couple had a blast. Chris was a excellent bartender and the service was awesome. Perry woods was playing guitar an also was excellent we left good tips for both and will b e back again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The service was great. The bread and butter at the start of the meal was delicious, with a truffle butter. My husband ordered a steak. It was the best steak either of us had ever eaten. You could cut through it like butter. I ordered the brick chicken. The chicken was moist and the skin crunchy. It came with a delicious au jus sauce with a buttery flavor. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for an exceptional meal in a great environment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Waiters were very friendly and knowledgeable, atmosphere was very warm and inviting, food was beyond delicious. Will definitely return.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.