Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi
  1. Distance: 0.79mi
  2. Distance: 1.32mi
  3. Distance: 2.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.79mi

About 1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel

It’s no coincidence that The Best City in St. Louis happens to be home to the best steakhouse in the city—and it’s not just the steaks that are well done. From Seared Skuna Salmon and Lobster Bisque, to Oysters Rockefeller and juicy prime cuts, 1904 Steak House has something to delight every taste bud at an equally tasty price point. Pair your unforgettable meal with one of 120 wines from around the world and drink in the charming surroundings. You’ll soon discover just why 1904 was awarded “Best Ambiance” and “Best Food” by Open Table, the “Award of Excellence” by Wine Spectator, and in 2015, “Best Steak House” and “Best Romantic Restaurant” by Casino Player Magazine.

777 River City Casino Boulevard
St. Louis, MO 63125
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Dessert

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Thursday: 5pm - 9pm; Friday & Saturday: 5pm - 10pm; Sunday: 5pm - 9pm (Closed Monday-Tuesday)



Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 388-7630

Website:
http://rivercity.com/

Entertainment:
Live music ever Friday & Saturday nights 730pm-10pm

Parking Details:
Casino North Parking Lot. Valet, South Entrance or complimentary garage parking.

Executive Chef:
John Johnson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1904 Steak House at River City Casino & Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (10)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Five minutes until kitchen closing our waiter informed us, we ordered the oysters Rockefeller, and 2 steak plates. All was beyond perfection! A meal to remember! Thank you to all that night at 1904 Steak House, XoXo..

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Everything is super salty. We complained about the side too salty and they exchanged and still salty. Not sure why they need to put so much salt in all the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

It was a horrible experience. We were rushed it showed on Sunday that the restaurant closed at 10 on the website but it actually closed at 9. So we got there at 8:40 and we're told we had to order right away and then rushed to eat our food. The food was cold and we had to pay 135 for our food even when we asked to speak to a manger they said they were busy and that we would have to pay still and just call on Wednesday because they are closed Monday and Tuesday. I'm very disappointed and I will share my review. Horrible food and customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Seated in a booth. I had to squeeze in and the table was anchored to the floor and could not be moved. Never had this problem at another restaurant (a little over weight but not that bad). Requested a table and was moved. The service was ok. The onion soup was very salty along with the bread, steak and salad. The broccoli was over cooked. I had a chicken dish and it was somewhat dry and tough for chicken. My wife's medium steak was very rare. Overall the food was not very good for the price they were charging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 30, 2017

excellent food, have ate there a few times now.
Mary is the best hostess

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food very good & service was excellent. Pricey ala carte/entrees. Good for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Bar tender was friendly , food was amazing and waiter was very experienced and friendly .
Steak was high quality , Booth table was very comfortable . Hosts that greeted us was very friendly also .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had great service and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We enjoyed the steaks, but the Brussels sprouts and creamed spinach and beet salad were delicious creations!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We try to eat here whenever we are at the casino. We have never had a bad meal here. The service is great and food is prepared to specifications. I believe people are overlooking this restaurant because of it's location.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday so were wanting a nice evening. The place is very nice and was a nice quiet place for a nice dinner. However we ordered oysters on the half shell for an appetizer and couldn't believe it when they were served as they were very tiny. They were $22 for a dozen. We had the scallops for our entrees and they were very good.
Also we had made reservations requesting a booth and that we were celebrating a birthday. When we get there the hostess asks if we have a reservation and we told her yes. She finds it on the computer and asks us if we have a seating preference (as there we not many people in the restaurant) and we said yes we wanted a booth so either that wasn't on their system or they didn't look and there was no mention of what we were celebrating.
Overall I would rate the facility fine, The appetizer very disappointing, the main course fine. All in all not nearly as good as expected for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We both started with the lobster bisque, and it literally looked and smelled like fish guts. It had one piece of lobster in it that was flat; that's right...flat! I couldn't eat it. We went on to order the grouper, which came with butternut squash risotto and kale. The grouper was okay, but they put it on top of the risotto, which was mushy and greasy. We will never be returning to this restaurant. It was very overpriced for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was excellent. The steak is aged and some of the best I've had. We ordered roasted asparagus and brussel sprouts as sides and they were very good. The restaurant is attached to the casino so the clientele was largely comped I think. Only a couple of tables had people dressed up. Four tables away from us was a guy talking so loud to the next table we could hear every word he said. The service was good but not necessarily fine dining service. The steaks made this trip worth our while.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was very good Food was very good
The Strip steak and Filet were cooked perfectly! Did not like the mushrooms- they should note on the menu that they have bacon in them- too smoky flavor that did not mix well with the other seasonings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good food and service ! Highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Have dined there before. Food excellent, however, my filet mignon was just warm and not hot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Ribeye steak was the best I have had in a long time. Cook to perfection and the Brussels sprouts is a good choice for a side dish. Shrimp cocktail for an app in the way to go HUGE shrimp.

Tags: Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was wonderful. Our server was very helpful in making suggestions and answering all our questions. First time there and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great steak and sides! Shrimp cocktail is exceptional. Sat in one of the private alcoves which was really great for an anniversary meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 18th wedding anniversary. The staff was great!!!!! Special thanks to our waiter who made a special point to bring us a dessert to share. Excellent food and price was not too bad. Just stay away from the casino.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our first time to visit the restaurant. We were impressed with the interior design.
A little disappointed that a salad was not included with our main course.
With a restaurant of this price range, a salad is a minimal expense.
We will return, but for us it is a place we will only visit occasionally

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Steak was good. Worst cream spinach I have eaten. Very pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Perfect night. The food was superb, the servers were very attentive but not smothering.
Great place for a romantic dinner or friends get together.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The two young hostesses were on their phones when we arrived and they did not notice us standing there for a few minutes until I said "excuse me". Also, the attire of the newest hostess was inappropriate for such an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was amazing, one of the best steaks I've ever had. The table we were in was somewhat secluded so we could have a conversation and clearly hear each other. The staff were all very polite and professional. Overall it's was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Apps were not good however entrées were great. Need this to be at least 50 characters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food and atmosphere were very good. The steak especially was tasty and the service was great. All of the waiters and other staff were great

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

PERFECT in every way. Food was excellent and service top shelf.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I guess, if you are at river city, I f s the best you can do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Took my wife for an early Valentines dinner. It is a little pricey, but well worth it. She had the Valentines dinner special. It was started off with huge shrimp cocktail, lobster bisque, followed by the entree of filet and lobster tail then dessert. Not quite sure what you cal it, but was 3 different small desserts. She said it was the best chocolate she has ever had.
I had lobster bisque followed by a grouper entree and a side of creamed spinach. Grouper was great. The creamed spinach is made fresh and is fabulous. I would definitely recommend 1904 to anyone that wants a fabulous meal. As I said, a little pricey, but well worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was terrible and the food mediocre. Unless you are on a comp from the casino, avoid this resteraunt. The only thing high end about this place is the prices. Sorry, won't dine here again, or recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was excellent and the service went above and beyond without having to ask for services. Very helpful in choosing dinner entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

1904 was way overpriced and extremely mediocre. The menu had a dismal selection. I lover flavorful food, but my ribeye has a charred like bark on the outside that overpowered what I considered a tough steak for $40. That price didn't include salad or potato. I've had better steaks at Applebee's. We had one drink a piece, and no appetizer. The bill for two was $148 before tip. No problem had the food been good. If you are mad at your money, and have a yearning for average food, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

When we were seated we told our server, Troy, of our upcoming show plans at 7 p.m. Great experience until near the end. we asked our server for a leftover box and the change from the bill as we were attending the 7 p.m. show of Rodney Carrington. It was nearing 7 p.m. to get change and the box! I decided to head to restroom and who did I encounter on way to restroom? Our server was showing another party to their table! Why couldn't he get our change and leftover box in a more timely fashion?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was great! Decided upon 1904 Steak House because we saw Grouper on the menu. The Grouper was delicious and the steak was amazing.
We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very good food and quiet for conversation. Better than expected at a Casino.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is difficult for me to review. The food and staff were excellent and as a restaurant it is a wonderful place. However, as part of a casino complex getting to it required a trip through a smoke (cigarette) filled area. My wife has asthma and it took three hits of her emergency inhaler to calm her breathing. We won't (can't) go back, but not because of the restaurant itself.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The steak was very dry and the salad wasn't good. The server never even asked how the food was. I have ate here several times before and this was the worst experience I have had there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Over priced. Steaks were very salty and very bland. $60 porterhouse was definitely not worth the price hardly any marbling. Was my second visit, first visit I loved this time around not so much. Service was just fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

In order to get to the dining room, one must pass through the lounge. The carry over noise from the lounge is disturbing for a quiet dinner. The lounge then has its patrons opening the door to go outside to smoke. The door opening makes it extremely cold in the dining room.
The filet mignon is always tender and flavorful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.