1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

4.5
392 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak, Wild Game
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Harriet's Cafe
Mondays & Tuesdays Closed until May

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(775) 782-6602
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Richard LaCount
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Marie Stokes: (775) 309-4561
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
395 & 206
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Friday & Saturday Live Music!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 5 days ago

My $39 dinner was ice cold. We had to continually pour our own wine.
Over priced, terrible food and in attentive staff.
Never going back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food in a beautiful setting. Good service, quiet atmosphere, nicest restaurant in the Carson Valley.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Cocktail and salad was the best part of the meal. I was shocked at how small the portion of salmon was. Smallest I’ve ever seen served at any restaurant. Mashed potatoe serving was 2x the size of salmon

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Poor Service. Bring Steve back.
Please, Please, Please if only for training.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

My wife and I came out from the Bay Area to Tahoe to celebrate our 10th Anniversary and we had dinner there last Wednesday. We were blown away by the staff and the food! Couldn’t have had a better night! Thank you...we will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

WE HAD THE RIB EYE. IT WAS VERY GOOD. $$

THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT. THERE WERE NOT MEANY CUSTOMERS ON A WEDNESDAY NIGHT WHICH MADE FOR A QUIET ATMOSPHERE.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Honestly, after we ate at the restaurant we wished we had ate off the Bar Food Menu, more variety and not as pricy. Restaurant food was god, but kinda pricy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Luke is the best waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

One can tell they have an exceptional chef as the menu is well paired and everything was perfectly cooked. Example: pork belly with Brussels sprouts, even the Brussels sprouts were great! Not just good, great! Calamari, generous tentacles, tender, great sauce. I would go back just for the calamari. I had Bison short ribs and my wife had halibut, both very good. We book "date nights" and stay at the hotel and we will return here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Just a tad pricey for us but well worth the price when we do make it. Guess that's what makes it so special for us when we do make it. Always our first choice for special dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Food was very good and the service just excellent. We will return on a more frequent basis as it will become our go to spot for quality. The saloon was packed when we arrived and we had hoped for a seat as it is first come first serve. However, there is no means to determine who is first and who is second while waiting. We were about to take a table when another group came out of no where and declared themselves next in line and simply seated themselves. In the future we will simply avoid the bar.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Very relaxing atmosphere. Service and food were very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Amazing Steaks! So tender you can cut them with your fork. The Sauces are to die for. Garlic Mashed Potatoes very creamy. Drinks are outstanding. The Avocado Wasabi Shrimp Cocktail was to die for. We requested Luke to serve us because he is an amazing Server. Busser was also very well trained. Love this Restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Great place to eat! I will be coming back here again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The food was delicious. The menu is very limited but the choices are excellent. Only concern of mine was the $9 for about three fingers of wine, but it was good. We stayed the night at the adjoining motel, and used the adjoining hot springs for a excellent experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Good food and ability to enjoy the hotsprings, sauna, and steam room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

1862 is our favorite restaurant to celebrate Life's special moments! The food is always outstanding, the presentation, taste, everything! A large wine selection as well. Luke is the most amazing waiter! We feel like family when we sit at his table. His timing is impeccable, paying attention to every detail to make your evening unforgettable! The atmosphere inside is old world, lots of wood, and beautiful stone work. The outside surrounding and views are beautiful as well! Hard to beat!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

It had been 15 or so years since our last visit. The service was just as good now as it was then. The food as always was excellent. The building was just as classy but seemed bigger. Funny how a space can be large but cozy. I had forgotten how nice the hot springs were.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Celebrating my wife's birthday with friends, started in the bar for drinks before dinner. Small band playing, which was fun, little hard for conversation though. We were seated by the window to view the marshland and watch the Canadian geese activities. Nice setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Food was great, service was great as well.
Very clean and very professional .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Anniversary dinner, wonderful service! Great atmosphere!
Only downfall was very limited menu

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Awesome - great place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This was my second time at the restaurant. I think the first time was better! We ordered stuffed jalapeños appetizer and the cream cheese inside wasn't warmed through. Last time we had crab cakes and they were amazing. I ordered the pasta from the fixed price menu and it was delicious both times. My boyfriend ordered the sirloin both times and it was cooked to perfection. The desserts aren't mind blowing but overall a good dining experience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Service was slow. Food was mediocre at best. Lamb was served cold. Not cold like it sat too long, cold as in straight out of the fridge. But they promptly warmed it in the microwave when I complained rendering it inedible. Overcharged at every opportunity.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Dinner was very enjoyable. I love that they had a kids menu and fine dining at the same time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Service was good, although my note that it was an anniversary went not noticed. Corkage fee is a bit high at $15.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Food, service and environment was amazing. The husband and I love coming here for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Sons 35 birthday. Didn’t realize they closed at 9pm. Kinda felt rushed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great place to enjoy a special occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

As usual, the food, service and setting was outstanding! A dip in the hot springs and dinner at Walley's can relax the most tense body and fill it with a delicious meal and glass of wine. From the pasta to the steaks and seafood, we have never been disappointed in our meals. The bread pudding for desert is a must have.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Seating next to glass enclosure. Light snow falling while we enjoyed our meal. Very romantic. WOnderful service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Really nice restaurant and service. Worth it after afternoon in Hot Springs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Had a Groupon for the price fix menu. Food tasted great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Great atmosphere in Genoa up against the Sierras. The bar scene was excellent with a band playing seventies music. Food was excellent and prices weren't bad. I would recommend it to friends and clients.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food was actually pretty good. Service was slow and felt rushed. Beautiful dining room and ambiance although background music would improve this greatly. Used a living social deal but hostess did not communicate with server and had to redo the bill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Great waiter, great food, great service. I would love to go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

This is a cozy, romantic restaurant serving wonderful steaks and seafood. The 3-course menu is superb. It is expensive, but worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The menu was varied and extensive; a separate three-course, prix fixe menu for $39 each also was available with three appetizer, entree and dessert options. Service was impeccable and ambiance was quite nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time and the food was beautifully displayed and delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Excellent dinner and Luke made the entire experience wonderful

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10