About 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

2001 Foothill Road
Genoa, NV 89411
View Larger Map

Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Harriet's Cafe

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm

Cross Street:
395 & 206

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 782-6602

Website:
http://www.1862davidwalleysresort.com/

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday Live Music!

Parking Details:
Ample parking

Executive Chef:
Richard LaCount

Private Party Facilities:
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.

Private Party Contact:
Marie Stokes: 775-309-4561

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Tahoe / Reno Area
Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
Scenic View
Tahoe / Reno Area
10 More
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Fit for Foodies
South Lake Tahoe
Romantic
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Most Booked
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in South Shore ›

special occasion (31)
scenic view (29)
romantic (28)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
notable wine list (10)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a Living Social coupon that inclu ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had a Living Social coupon that included dinner so we are off the special (limited) menu. Food was very tasty and our server was great. We did notice that those of us with Groupons and Living Social deals were all grouped together on one side of the restaurant. Last time I used this deal the restaurant experience was not very positive, so there has been notable improvement in this area (service and food quality). Just don't dine here if you're in a hurry.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Resort and restaurants were well done.

Dined on May 3, 2016

Resort and restaurants we well done. Good food and service staff was sufficiently attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate there two times, service and food great

Dined on April 23, 2016

We shared a meal and still had left overs...service was fast and friendly. Had a wonderful window table and enjoyed the wild life we were able to see. Recommend it for special occasions...it was a little pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, wonderful view

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Our waiter Luke was extremely polite, helpful and the food was fantastic. We had a beautiful view of the snow covered mountains and had a cozy booth for two. Highly recommended , and we will return on our next visit to Lake Tahoe.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Good Restaurant Value, Terrible Spa Value

Dined on March 21, 2016

First time visit for Me, my Wife and Son. We arrived approx. 2 hours before Dinner Reservation, to enjoy some hot springs time, only to find out that the cost was $50.00 per person for use of the hot springs tubs. That was the price for all day, but there was no reduced rate for only a couple of hours, not many people can sit in a spa for more than a couple of hours. We will never go back again. $150.00 for a couple hours in a Spa, are you kidding me!!!!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME FOOD AND SERVICE

Dined on March 21, 2016

AWESOME FOOD AND SERVICE. WAITRESS WAS A HUGE HELP IN PICKING OUT SOME DISHES. LOVELY VIEW OF THE MEADOW, DUCKS AND HOT SPRINGS.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Wonderful

Dined on March 2, 2016

We love this restaurant for special occasions. Our foursome was celebrating two birthdays that night. Service is high quality, food is delicious and the restaurant itself is beautiful. The view across the Carson Valley is gorgeous as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner and experience

Dined on February 29, 2016

Wally's restaurant and hot springs can bring a smile and relaxation to anyone! The dip and dine experience is one of the best deals in the west. Relax in one of the 6 clean hot springs tub, stretch in the perfect temperature pool, then take a steam or sauna in the updated locker room. After a pre dinner cocktail at the bar, move to the elegant dining area with views of the vast Carson Valley. The food, service and ambience is equal to or better than any of the casino steak houses. This was our fourth visit, and all were exceptional...we're looking forward to many more!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Food and Service

Dined on February 27, 2016

The 1862 restaurant was a recommendation from a friend and it was a indeed a good choice. We chose to order from the Prix Fixe menu. The selections were reasonable and the food was great. I had one of the best top sirloin streaks ever and my wife ordered a superb pasta dish with sausage. This alone was more than we could eat so we took the desserts to go. The wine list was acceptable but not overpowering with selections. The service from start to finish was perfect. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Walley Review

Dined on February 25, 2016

The spa is nice with Steam room, sauna, locker room and showers. Four or 5 hot tubs outside with varied temps. Meal was excellent. Nice restaurant with views. Pleased with the experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was delicious, sauces were way too salty.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was really delicious. Pricey for sure but if it's a special occasion (bday, valentines' day, anniversary) i think it's worth it. The only down side was the amount of salt in the dishes. I think it was mostly their sauces. Besides that the quality was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5

I was expecting quality food and was not ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

I was expecting quality food and was not disappointed. We share the onion soup that should have been hotter. It had very good flavor. The cob salad was very good done with cold, fresh romaine and plenty of standard other ingredients including 2 pieces of bacon when we asked bacon on the side. I had the Thai duck breast that had a somewhat spicy sauce. Excellent, with a generous serving. My wife was given a group of properly prepared vegetable plates at her request. Service was also excellent.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

First time in Genoa, NV.

Dined on January 31, 2016

Our overall experience was good, we ended up getting our first round of wine and desserts paid for by the waiter because we waited too long for our appetizers to come in. Our waiter worked very hard to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was delicious and the portions were plentiful. It was a little expensive, upwards of $125.00 for my wife and I, but we did have wine, appetizers, two big main courses, and a dessert so its more or less understandable. Definitely worth visiting again!!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter introduced us the dishes of t ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The waiter introduced us the dishes of the evening and we ordered both dishes. One is salmon and the other was a sturgeon in special sauce. Both dishes were delicious. The restaurant's setting is quiet and it's a good place to have a romantic dinner with your significant other. We'll definitely come back next holiday season.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food were just right

Dined on December 23, 2015

All in our group of six enjoyed our entrees. Prices weren't cheap but portion sizes were good. We had a couple of requests for my mother's special diet and the servers and kitchen were very accommodating. I will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

The tomato bisque soup and tuna tartare ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

The tomato bisque soup and tuna tartare appetizer were great. Bison short ribs delicious however the pasta it is served on was undercooked, beyond al dente, and did not seem a good match.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Meal

Dined on November 29, 2015

We took our parents here for dinner and ordered the fixed price dinner. The selections were great. The food was amazing. The desserts were fabulous and the service was stellar! They have a great wine list. Wonderful evening at a gem of a restaurant. We will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Needs improvement

Dined on November 8, 2015

Being a David Walley's timeshare owner, it was my idea to treat my guests to dinner here. Two in my party ordered a bar drink with mango? in it. Said it was OK - not strong enough. My tossed green salad ($6) was on the small side. Ordered gumbo for myself. Gumbo should be spicy. This was not. The scallops were breaded and tasted like something from Stauffer's. 3 shrimp rather skimpy. And a very small piece of duck. A friend ordered a steak - the baseball cut, I believe. He said it was overcooked. On the plus side, the french onion soup looked good and got good reviews from those who ordered it. Overall - Our bill came to $175 - overpriced for what I considered to be a mediocre meal.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful Restaurant

Dined on October 29, 2015

We took friends to David Walley's and had a great time. The prime rib special was the best, most tender we've ever eaten. We go to many restaurants around the world, and this ranks high with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the Salmon, food has much improved ...

Dined on October 29, 2015

Loved the Salmon, food has much improved. On another occasion the steak was excellent. Again an improvement, used to be way peppery on the steak. Pools were in operation and most we clean. The big round one was too cloudy but way better than all our previous visits! It was our most enjoyable evening there so far (late October).

food5
ambience5
service5

Our 2nd visit and food was excellent.

Dined on October 25, 2015

Our 2nd visit and food was excellent.

food3
ambience4
service4

We all had Wedge Salad and the Prime Rib ...

Dined on October 23, 2015

We all had Wedge Salad and the Prime Rib which were all fantastic. Our mixed drinks were also well made, so for all this we give food 5 Stars! We were all quite full and despised to get our deserts to go, 2 of us ordered the special that night Blueberry Pie and one person had the Chocolate Mousse kinda cake. Each desert was $9. The pie slices were VERY tiny, the crust was floury and bland and the blueberry part was very yuck, no flavor and there was not even a hint of sweetness at all. The Chocolate cake looked as if was a very tiny brownie. The cake tasted like cheap bitter mousse with no sign of cake at all. Too thick for cake and too loose for mousse. 3 small bites and it could have been gone. Instead after 1 bite it went into the trash with the bad Blueberry pies. So for that reason and the fact that the size was minuscule for the ridiculous price we only have 3 stars for the food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Scenic Rustic Elegance

Dined on October 23, 2015

Everything about Walley's 1862 Restaurant was excellent! The service was attentive and professional. The food was amazing! I enjoyed the "pre fixe" menu with a lovely marinated beet salad with mandarin oranges, spinach, sliced almonds and I believe feta and tossed in a delicate dressing, absolutely YUM. Main course was blue cheese crusted sirloin accompanied by garlic mashers, whole petite carrots and asparagus. I shared my blueberry with white chocolate bread pudding drizzled with caramel sauce and ala mode to boot, with my hubby. Hubby started with the rich, gooey french onion soup and his main was the braised bison short ribs atop what tasted (yes, we share) like home made pappardelle. Hubby was quiet throughout most of the meal coming up for air laughing and saying to the Bison mount on the adjacent wall "Sorry, Buddy". We both had enough leftover for another meal which we enjoyed the next day. The ambiance was very romantic, floor to ceiling doors overlooking a lit firepit and the beautiful Carson Valley. What a lovely evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for romantic getaway

Dined on October 18, 2015

Fantastic service along with the flavoring of the food. Really a beautiful, fun, romantic, energetic place to have a dining experience. Add a day with the hot springs to make it an amazing day/weekend

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food!

Dined on October 12, 2015

We really enjoyed our dinne! The food was great! Service was great! I really liked the jalapeño popper appetizers & the filet was so yum!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Was great except people at table above w ...

Dined on October 11, 2015

Was great except people at table above were complaining about service They were not locals . Very disturbing. WHEN MY WIFE AND I GO OUT IT IS LIKE A DATE. Steven is always our waiter . He is great. BAR service was not good on monday night . Waitress was not friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Well worth the money

Dined on September 27, 2015

The food was to die for. Great portions as well. The staff was very kind and was tentative.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Absolutely delicious dining!

Dined on September 21, 2015

Good service, great view, amazing food. Love the ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Amazing

Dined on September 20, 2015

The service is on point. The food is absolutely to die for. My favorite is the salmon. Our waiter was very attentive and we had absolutely no complaints.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Good way to spend a day.

Dined on September 15, 2015

If you are into the spa scene and want to top off a relaxing day with a great meal, this is the place to go.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing good

Dined on September 14, 2015

We had a great experience with wonderful service and the food was top notch!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time

Dined on September 5, 2015

Went to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The kitchen ran out of tiramisu (which is one of my boyfriends favorites) he asked if they had any creme brule? it wasn't on the menu but our waitress worked some magic and made it happen. She was wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service as always

Dined on September 4, 2015

Our server Luke took great care of us. The meal was outstanding as always. We love coming to 1862!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Family celebration

Dined on September 2, 2015

We had a wonderful family celebration for our grandson's birthday. Everyone had a great meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Surprise

Dined on August 27, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a first class dining experience on the grounds. No dress code even though we had elegant ambiance. Good food, good wine and good service. I would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2

My husband and I love dining here.

Dined on August 23, 2015

We think the pre fixed is an incredible deal. The food is always so good. However, the service has fallen short the last couple of times. It's too bad, a good deal shouldn't affect the dining experience. Just because we're locals and not spending a ton of money on food doesn't mean we don't deserve excellent service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wally's anniversary diner

Dined on August 23, 2015

Our server, Kyle, was exceptional. Food was perfect temperature and a pleasant surprise. Would recommend bison short ribs to anyone as they were awesome. Recommended wine was paired well with entire choices. Great place to celebrate any occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service5

Disappointing and overpriced

Dined on August 22, 2015

Although this is a lovely restaurant and service was excellent, this could not offset the disappointing and pricey food. My husband is probably correct when he said the thickened (?!) au jus that smothered the meat was an attempt to cover it up. I like my veggies crisp, but these were so undercooked that we could barely cut them. I wish we had stayed home!

food2
ambience4
service2

Disappointed

Dined on August 12, 2015

Service was so so at best and it was not crowded. Food blah

food4
ambience3
service3

Special weekend

Dined on August 10, 2015

I will have to say I was surprised they closed at 9 including the bar..this place is out there and they have no other places to eat..The food was good not great. I had the pork belly app. It was good but cold. The wait staff wasn't friendly nor attentive for the price of dinner. I asked for creme Brule to go..it understand it is a hard dish do this for..All I got was custard on foil in a box I never checked to see if the sugar was on it Nope. I paid to much for that foil. It was all good but not great. The best staff I found were working in the bar. That is were they must put the personality staff.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.