About 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

2001 Foothill Road
Genoa, NV 89411
View Larger Map

Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Harriet's Cafe

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm

Cross Street:
395 & 206

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 782-6602

Website:
http://www.1862davidwalleysresort.com/

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday Live Music!

Parking Details:
Ample parking

Executive Chef:
Richard LaCount

Private Party Facilities:
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.

Private Party Contact:
Marie Stokes: 775-309-4561

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Tahoe / Reno Area
Scenic View
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
8 More
American
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Food
South Lake Tahoe
Best Service
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
Best Value
South Lake Tahoe
Romantic
South Lake Tahoe
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in South Shore ›

Special Occasion (32)
Scenic View (29)
Romantic (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice place. The views were great! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very nice place. The views were great! The service & food were very good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great meal to cap off a day in the geoth ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal to cap off a day in the geothermal hot springs at this property. We ordered from the prix fixe menu and were pleasantly surprised. The salads were creative and flavorful. The entrees were culinary inspired and presentation was excellent. Dessert selection was broad and service was very friendly and prompt.

Great excursion from Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the place to be. Gratuity ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and the place to be. Gratuity being enforced is a joke but oh well(would enjoy paying for what I think is warranted)

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Send my compliments to the chef. Food w ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Send my compliments to the chef. Food was good and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner with 3 other people. Two enj ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had dinner with 3 other people. Two enjoyed their meals. One had a pork dish and one prime rib. My husband's was "okay." I had a tasteless spinach salad and a calamari appetizer that was so salty, it was not eatable. Even though I left most of it on my plate, the waiter never asked if there was anything wrong with it. Perhaps I just ordered the wrong thing, but I think the waiter could have been more observant and offered me something else.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We love the a atmosphere and food at Dav ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We love the a atmosphere and food at David Walleys. We have always received great service and the spa next door is wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the waitress and food. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the waitress and food. However the night started on a hostile tone when one of the staff members challenged my service dog's validity. It was incredibly rude and frankly would keep me from going back to that restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall interesting experience. Unique a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall interesting experience. Unique atmosphere in a fun setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our best meal on our trip. The Gumbo and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our best meal on our trip. The Gumbo and the Bison Short Ribs were perfect and plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic meal. The service w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a fantastic meal. The service was excellent. Heather, our server, was personable, professional, knowledgeable and punctual. We never wanted for anything. She was always there asking if we needed anything. We recommend this establishment highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

DO NOT RECOMMEND THE BAR ........ staff ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

DO NOT RECOMMEND THE BAR ........ staff was RUDE !!!

We were early for our dinner reservations and decided to wait in the bar and have a drink; we sat at the bar and were ignored for 15 minutes ........... eye contact made by all four people working behind the bar; no " hi " or " I'll be with you in a minute"........ NOTHING ........ they acted like we weren't even THERE .......... and then seemed PUT OUT when we did order and asked for the bill to rung out ..........RUDE and unprofessional .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Heather was very friendly and had many g ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Heather was very friendly and had many great recommendations both inside the restaurant and in the neighborhood as we were visiting from out-of-town. What a great asset she is to the restaurant.

The food was amazing, each dish both pleasing to the eye and palette.

Drink selection was also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal and service were outstanding as ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The meal and service were outstanding as always. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an anniversary dinner at David Wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had an anniversary dinner at David Walley's restaurant this past weekend, and it was a very nice experience. We brought our special bottle of wine and they served it expertly. Our waiter, Stephen, was attentive and informative. We shared crab and tuna appetizer and a top sirloin steak, and both were excellent.

The only negative was the undocumented split plate charge. The splitting was nicely done, but we really can do this ourselves. Nicer restaurants have moved away from this, and I would have expected that here as well. It was a $5 charge (which is higher than what we used to see), but it was more about the principle of charging it at all, and not having it disclosed.

Just a comment, and this did not detract from the fine meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Near South Lake Tahoe is a mountain retr ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Near South Lake Tahoe is a mountain retreat spa and hotel with a wonderful restaurant. The appetizers were excellent with the Ahi salad being spectacular. Wine list is extensive but the house selections are only $9 or so. Our waiter was superior. There were four birthday parties ... with the waiters singing just like 40 years ago. Maybe 30 minutes from Harvey's casino up and over Kingsbury Grade.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During our annual, week-long stay at Dav ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

During our annual, week-long stay at David Walley's, we look forward to a comfortable dinner at the restaurant. The new chef has added some tasty touches to the menu, such as the crab-ahi tuna tartare appetizer, the beet salad, and the bison short ribs. Thankfully, the roast beef remains a feature in mid-week, and it even was an option for the price fixe dinner. Our waitress was helpful, cordial and knew the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Experience

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The hot tubs were clean and not crowded, the staff was helpful, the food was very good and the service was very good. Overall a nice evening, even though one cannot get anything cold to drink in the pool area after 3:30 pm. Even the water bottle dispenser didn't work.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a Living Social coupon that inclu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a Living Social coupon that included dinner so we are off the special (limited) menu. Food was very tasty and our server was great. We did notice that those of us with Groupons and Living Social deals were all grouped together on one side of the restaurant. Last time I used this deal the restaurant experience was not very positive, so there has been notable improvement in this area (service and food quality). Just don't dine here if you're in a hurry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Resort and restaurants were well done.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Resort and restaurants we well done. Good food and service staff was sufficiently attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We ate there two times, service and food great

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We shared a meal and still had left overs...service was fast and friendly. Had a wonderful window table and enjoyed the wild life we were able to see. Recommend it for special occasions...it was a little pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food, wonderful view

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience. Our waiter Luke was extremely polite, helpful and the food was fantastic. We had a beautiful view of the snow covered mountains and had a cozy booth for two. Highly recommended , and we will return on our next visit to Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Restaurant Value, Terrible Spa Value

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

First time visit for Me, my Wife and Son. We arrived approx. 2 hours before Dinner Reservation, to enjoy some hot springs time, only to find out that the cost was $50.00 per person for use of the hot springs tubs. That was the price for all day, but there was no reduced rate for only a couple of hours, not many people can sit in a spa for more than a couple of hours. We will never go back again. $150.00 for a couple hours in a Spa, are you kidding me!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

AWESOME FOOD AND SERVICE

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

AWESOME FOOD AND SERVICE. WAITRESS WAS A HUGE HELP IN PICKING OUT SOME DISHES. LOVELY VIEW OF THE MEADOW, DUCKS AND HOT SPRINGS.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Wonderful

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

We love this restaurant for special occasions. Our foursome was celebrating two birthdays that night. Service is high quality, food is delicious and the restaurant itself is beautiful. The view across the Carson Valley is gorgeous as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great dinner and experience

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Wally's restaurant and hot springs can bring a smile and relaxation to anyone! The dip and dine experience is one of the best deals in the west. Relax in one of the 6 clean hot springs tub, stretch in the perfect temperature pool, then take a steam or sauna in the updated locker room. After a pre dinner cocktail at the bar, move to the elegant dining area with views of the vast Carson Valley. The food, service and ambience is equal to or better than any of the casino steak houses. This was our fourth visit, and all were exceptional...we're looking forward to many more!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The 1862 restaurant was a recommendation from a friend and it was a indeed a good choice. We chose to order from the Prix Fixe menu. The selections were reasonable and the food was great. I had one of the best top sirloin streaks ever and my wife ordered a superb pasta dish with sausage. This alone was more than we could eat so we took the desserts to go. The wine list was acceptable but not overpowering with selections. The service from start to finish was perfect. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Walley Review

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

The spa is nice with Steam room, sauna, locker room and showers. Four or 5 hot tubs outside with varied temps.

Meal was excellent. Nice restaurant with views. Pleased with the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, sauces were way too salty.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was really delicious. Pricey for sure but if it's a special occasion (bday, valentines' day, anniversary) i think it's worth it. The only down side was the amount of salt in the dishes. I think it was mostly their sauces. Besides that the quality was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I was expecting quality food and was not ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

I was expecting quality food and was not disappointed. We share the onion soup that should have been hotter. It had very good flavor. The cob salad was very good done with cold, fresh romaine and plenty of standard other ingredients including 2 pieces of bacon when we asked bacon on the side. I had the Thai duck breast that had a somewhat spicy sauce. Excellent, with a generous serving. My wife was given a group of properly prepared vegetable plates at her request. Service was also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First time in Genoa, NV.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our overall experience was good, we ended up getting our first round of wine and desserts paid for by the waiter because we waited too long for our appetizers to come in. Our waiter worked very hard to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was delicious and the portions were plentiful. It was a little expensive, upwards of $125.00 for my wife and I, but we did have wine, appetizers, two big main courses, and a dessert so its more or less understandable.

Definitely worth visiting again!!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The waiter introduced us the dishes of t ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The waiter introduced us the dishes of the evening and we ordered both dishes. One is salmon and the other was a sturgeon in special sauce. Both dishes were delicious. The restaurant's setting is quiet and it's a good place to have a romantic dinner with your significant other. We'll definitely come back next holiday season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food were just right

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

All in our group of six enjoyed our entrees. Prices weren't cheap but portion sizes were good. We had a couple of requests for my mother's special diet and the servers and kitchen were very accommodating. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The tomato bisque soup and tuna tartare ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

The tomato bisque soup and tuna tartare appetizer were great. Bison short ribs delicious however the pasta it is served on was undercooked, beyond al dente, and did not seem a good match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent Meal

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We took our parents here for dinner and ordered the fixed price dinner. The selections were great. The food was amazing. The desserts were fabulous and the service was stellar! They have a great wine list. Wonderful evening at a gem of a restaurant. We will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Needs improvement

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Being a David Walley's timeshare owner, it was my idea to treat my guests to dinner here.

Two in my party ordered a bar drink with mango? in it. Said it was OK - not strong enough.

My tossed green salad ($6) was on the small side.

Ordered gumbo for myself. Gumbo should be spicy. This was not. The scallops were breaded and tasted like something from Stauffer's. 3 shrimp rather skimpy. And a very small piece of duck. A friend ordered a steak - the baseball cut, I believe. He said it was overcooked.

On the plus side, the french onion soup looked good and got good reviews from those who ordered it.

Overall - Our bill came to $175 - overpriced for what I considered to be a mediocre meal.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Wonderful Restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

We took friends to David Walley's and had a great time. The prime rib special was the best, most tender we've ever eaten. We go to many restaurants around the world, and this ranks high with us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the Salmon, food has much improved ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 29, 2015

Loved the Salmon, food has much improved. On another occasion the steak was excellent. Again an improvement, used to be way peppery on the steak. Pools were in operation and most we clean. The big round one was too cloudy but way better than all our previous visits! It was our most enjoyable evening there so far (late October).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 2nd visit and food was excellent.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Our 2nd visit and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We all had Wedge Salad and the Prime Rib ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

We all had Wedge Salad and the Prime Rib which were all fantastic. Our mixed drinks were also well made, so for all this we give food 5 Stars! We were all quite full and despised to get our deserts to go, 2 of us ordered the special that night Blueberry Pie and one person had the Chocolate Mousse kinda cake. Each desert was $9. The pie slices were VERY tiny, the crust was floury and bland and the blueberry part was very yuck, no flavor and there was not even a hint of sweetness at all. The Chocolate cake looked as if was a very tiny brownie. The cake tasted like cheap bitter mousse with no sign of cake at all. Too thick for cake and too loose for mousse. 3 small bites and it could have been gone. Instead after 1 bite it went into the trash with the bad Blueberry pies. So for that reason and the fact that the size was minuscule for the ridiculous price we only have 3 stars for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Scenic Rustic Elegance

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Everything about Walley's 1862 Restaurant was excellent! The service was attentive and professional. The food was amazing! I enjoyed the "pre fixe" menu with a lovely marinated beet salad with mandarin oranges, spinach, sliced almonds and I believe feta and tossed in a delicate dressing, absolutely YUM. Main course was blue cheese crusted sirloin accompanied by garlic mashers, whole petite carrots and asparagus. I shared my blueberry with white chocolate bread pudding drizzled with caramel sauce and ala mode to boot, with my hubby. Hubby started with the rich, gooey french onion soup and his main was the braised bison short ribs atop what tasted (yes, we share) like home made pappardelle. Hubby was quiet throughout most of the meal coming up for air laughing and saying to the Bison mount on the adjacent wall "Sorry, Buddy". We both had enough leftover for another meal which we enjoyed the next day. The ambiance was very romantic, floor to ceiling doors overlooking a lit firepit and the beautiful Carson Valley. What a lovely evening.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.