About 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

2001 Foothill Road
Genoa, NV 89411
View Larger Map

Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Harriet's Cafe

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm

Cross Street:
395 & 206

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 782-6602

Website:
http://www.1862davidwalleysresort.com/

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday Live Music!

Parking Details:
Ample parking

Executive Chef:
Richard LaCount

Private Party Facilities:
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.

Private Party Contact:
Marie Stokes: (775) 309-4561

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Historic (14)
Cozy (14)
Scenic View (13)
Romantic (13)
Fireplace (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (3)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed our stay so very much. We ha ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our stay so very much. We had no idea how 5 star this establishment is. We will definitely be back. Every employee was so nice, helpful and kind. Our room was very clean, enjoyable and just plain awesome. Dinner was fabulous, service was excellent and your food was delicious. The mineral pools were so relaxing. Thank you for a wonderful getaway, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very beautiful historic hot springs. Gro ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Very beautiful historic hot springs. Grounds & restaurant are stunning. Food was delicious & cooked just right! Everything from the warm focacia bread the beet salad, my salmon & tiramisu, tasted homemade. Excellent sauces! Server was friendly & quick! I would highly recommend David Wallys. Disregard all the negative reviews. It's not a new 5 star resort. But we we're impressed & will refer to friends return again without a doubt.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Fireplace, Historic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Cozy, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food in a very nice atmosphere ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food in a very nice atmosphere. We were very pleased overall for a great date night. After dinner we went out by the outside fireplace and enjoyed the ambiance. Friendly wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We bought a package on Living Social whi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 7 days ago

We bought a package on Living Social which included access to the hot springs and 3 course dinner for two for $119.00. We bought this deal before and would happily go again. After a day out cross country skiing , the hot springs were the perfect temperature for outdoor, scenic soaking -about 104 degrees. "A geothermal belt runs through the area, creating multiple hot springs. Water running around the property can reach up to 160 degrees Fahrenheit." There is a steam room and dry sauna in the Men's and Women's shower areas. You can add on other spa services if you wish - for extra $. The property is historic, once a stage coach stop where weary travelers from the Immigrant Trail paid 50 cents for a sulphury bath. The location is gorgeous, close to Genoa (the first settlement in Nevada) with views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the Carson Valley. The restaurant is cozy and the food is delicious. We recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing staycation or getaway close to South Lake Tahoe, Reno, or Carson City, Nevada.

Tags: Fireplace, , Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excallant food, service by Luke and Davi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excallant food, service by Luke and David was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend and I did the Groupon for the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My friend and I did the Groupon for the hot springs and three course menu in the restaurant. Everything was great. Our server was Erik and he was very timely and friendly. I had the fruity beet salad as a starter, it was fantastic. They didn't have a vegetarian option so I got the mushroom/spinach pasta without the sausage. Also quite delicious. For dessert I had the bread pudding which was good, but I could tell it was probably already a couple of days old. Overall we had a great time and would consider buying another Groupon and coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The soup and salad were decent, the main ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The soup and salad were decent, the main course was fantastic! Dessert good! Ambience and service great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding. Can't wait to ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was outstanding. Can't wait to go back. It's a hidden gem for sure.

Tags: , Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening totally. The staf ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We enjoyed our evening totally. The staff were all friendly and helpful. It was our first time as we are only one year in our Gardnerville home. We love the area. Our meal was delicious and presentation beautiful. We will bring guests in the future. Thank you. Debra.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Luke, did his usual fantasti ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our server, Luke, did his usual fantastic job at describing the menu and taking care of us. Very good experience. Best restaurant in the Carson Valley.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Our server, Leslie, was great! I had the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our server, Leslie, was great! I had the salmon, he had the prime rib, both were delicious! My only complaint if I have to come up with one is that the veggies were just zucchini & yellow squash. For dessert, I had the lemon cake & it was a little dry but he had the tiramisu which was great. The couple across from us had the bread pudding & I wish I had ordered it.

Everyone there seemed to be using the Groupon & it's a great deal! I would recommend to anyone looking for a creative date night. I just love the little town of Genoa.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time there on 01-14-17 and it w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My first time there on 01-14-17 and it was amazing. I have lived in the area for 4 years and hadn't been there yet. I will be back again and again! The prices were outstanding compared to other restaurants in the area. The 3-course meal was only $39! That is a steal! The food choices were amazing. I had the Blue Cheese Crusted Sirloin with a Red Wine Demi Glaze. The dinner salad was great, the dinner sides were great, and the dessert choices were just as amazing and only $39!. David Wallys actually beat prices of other restaurants in the area and serve more food and MUCH better tasting food. This is definitely a restaurant worth going to any night of the week.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Historic, Cozy, Fun, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, , Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant has nice decor, rustic but co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Restaurant has nice decor, rustic but comfortable and with views. Food was good, but not particularly special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Have not been to restaurant for a number ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Have not been to restaurant for a number of years. Food and service was excellent. Will return soon with friends for an annual get-together.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved that we could go to the hot spring ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved that we could go to the hot springs afterwards!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Mineral springs great at this resort. F ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Mineral springs great at this resort. Food minimally ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

A beautiful location but the food (on th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A beautiful location but the food (on the prix fixe menu) was very basic, and the server got many things wrong. When going by the prix fixe menu, the server's description is all you've got to go on. A Spinach and Beet salad had just morsels of beets and an odd combination of artichoke hearts, cherry tomatoes, and cheese. The pasta was in a basic creme sauce and the steak, while well-grilled, was in a basic reduction though the bleu cheese on top was nice. We opted to go for the blueberry cream pie as the server really sold us on this dessert, though we were sorely disappointed when a dry lemon-blueberry cake arrived at our table. When I asked the waiter what kind of wine he would recommend with my meal, he asked "white or red" and when I said "white" he simply brought a chardonnay. Not a worthwhile meal for what it cost - I would recommend other places in Carson or Carson Valley.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

My bison rib meal was inedible. I had t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My bison rib meal was inedible. I had them box it up and then threw it away when I got home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

My husband and I went for our anniversar ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary dinner with a Groupon. Without that, we wouldn't have probably ever gone to try it out! So glad we did, we will be back!

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just want to say that Stephen is the bes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Just want to say that Stephen is the best server and employee of the restaurant. He makes everything better and does it in a very professional, yet non intimidating way. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our dining experience because of him. Food was good, but Stephen's service was better! Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Delish meal. Hearty portions. Great tabl ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delish meal. Hearty portions. Great table service. We did arrive about 15 minutes prior to our reservation time and were told we would be able to be seated early. We waited and actually were seated 10 minutes past our reservation time. The restaurant was not busy and there were many open tables. Actually a large portion of the restaurant was not being uses as they were busy prepping for their Thanksgiving offering the next day, which we were told was a complete sell out.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always exceptional and fresh ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is always exceptional and fresh. Our waiter Kyle was phenomenal. He was very professional, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the restaurant and food. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like to go out for all our special oc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We like to go out for all our special occasions and try something new, the entire meal on the prefixe menu was amazing. The steaks cooked to perfection and tasted great, the mashed potatos were terrific and the salads were really good. Desert, my wife tried the bread pudding and loved it, I do not like bread pudding one bit but I ended up eating half of hers. We would suggest David Walleys to anyone that wants a great dinner...even better try the dip and dine special they have just an amazing deal.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to this restaurant now 5 time ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We've been to this restaurant now 5 times and have always been delighted with the food, service and atmosphere. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, delicious food and menu o ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service, delicious food and menu options. Beautiful location and views.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Live Music, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food,view,and service was great. A lar ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food,view,and service was great.

A large group with young children sitting together nearby was very noisy. It ruined the whole experience.

I would suggest a large group with young kids should be put in a separate room as a courtesy to other dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nothing to write home about, ordered med ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Nothing to write home about, ordered med rare recvd rare but was ok. Veal dish fair, salmon good. Service great. Appetizer excellent desert good. Bar food much better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a birthday dinner/date here after ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We had a birthday dinner/date here after a whole day at the hot springs. The food was very nice. Our waiter's customer service was OK; it could have been a little better, based on the elegance of this place. We didn't find the hostess friendly though, she seemed to be rushed. Other than that, the ambience was lovely, food was delicious! Wait time was moderate we felt. On the way out, there was a group of young men across from the restaurant who were being loud, rowdy and using profane language. They were sitting across the restaurant..in a different area, but due to the lack of walls and such, it slightly hindered our experience and did not feel appropriate had their been children around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Terrible food and even worse service. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Terrible food and even worse service. The staff was beyond rude! Will never go back there again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very good food, albeit regret I ordered ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very good food, albeit regret I ordered a tricked out "Jamaican" salmon and should have stuck with simple grilled because it was cooked to perfection. Steaks are highest quality, but they need stick-ins to separate degrees of cooking. Salads well prepared and the food is a reasonable value for a restaurant in this class. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This eatery is very special in the Reno- ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This eatery is very special in the Reno-Tahoe area. Excellent food and service with most unusual ambiance and vies of the Carson valley. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the overall experience here. This is one of the premier restaurants in the area. We will be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Three of us had Prim Rib which was good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Three of us had Prim Rib which was good but the potatoes where salty and none of us ate them. Do not order the onion soup as all it has is broth no onions in it. The croton on top was so hard you had to use a knife to eat it yuk! Desert was the best taramasu good and so I as the crem brûlée

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We had a lovely dinner here. Ordered of ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here. Ordered off the Prix fixe menu. Good steak but the tiramisu was the highlight. Our server was helpful with the wine list.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We met old friends there two years in a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We met old friends there two years in a row, because all four of us thought it was great. The food was excellent and the view of the valley was perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Be aware that the waitress adds a 20+per ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Be aware that the waitress adds a 20+percent tip automatically to your bill. The service was not worth 20 percent

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Birthday dinner for my wife's birthday. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Birthday dinner for my wife's birthday. Food and service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent & they had a wide ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was excellent & they had a wide variety of wines to choose from. Their choice of background music was very pleasant, if a little loud. All in all, we enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with the selection ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were very pleased with the selection and quality of the food choices. We had the Prix Fixe - the salad/soup options were fresh and lettuces were crisp and flavorful. The salmon was topped with a delightful sauce and the sirloin crusted sirloin was cooked perfectly. The garlic mashed potatoes were very complimentary but the cilantro and black bean rice that accompanied the salmon lacked flavor and needed more of the cilantro zest. We never made it around to eating the dessert as we were stuffed from the main course but the options looked tasty.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of our favorite local restaurants. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of our favorite local restaurants. Went for our anniversary and were not disappointed. Prix fixe menu is a good value. Decent wine list. Crab and tuna tartare appetizer rocked! Enjoyed Kyle as a server. Thanks for another great meal!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Received wrong entree. Was emmediatlty t ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Received wrong entree. Was emmediatlty told they can bring order quickly, I declined being that my friend had her food and did not want her to wait. What I received was ok. Other than that all was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.