Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.80mi

About 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.

2001 Foothill Road
Genoa, NV 89411
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Harriet's Cafe

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm

Cross Street:
395 & 206

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 782-6602

Website:
http://www.1862davidwalleysresort.com/

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday Live Music!

Parking Details:
Ample parking

Executive Chef:
Richard LaCount

Private Party Facilities:
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.

Private Party Contact:
Marie Stokes: (775) 309-4561

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Romantic (19)
Historic (19)
Scenic View (18)
Cozy (18)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fireplace (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (5)
Live Music (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Waterfront (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Dinner was phenomenal. The view of the snowy mountains was breathtaking. We definitely looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Some interesting special prices for locals would be nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always great! Our go to for girl's birthday night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We used a Groupon for a day at the hot springs and a fabulous three-course meal. We each had something different and everything was fantastic. Stephen, our host, was helpful, polite and very attentive. We cannot wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Good food, good service, good wine and a beautiful view. Quiet and relaxed....and hotsprings to enjoy too!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We visited total 5 people. Round table has enough space to have us. Pre fixed course has enough variety food. We had fun with wine.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Alice the hostess and Steven the waiter were excellent. The food is always good. We enjoy the day in the pools and then dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good food and crazy fast service in the steakhouse, but I don't think they're quite there yet (food especially) where they would like to be for what you would expect in the steakhouse for all the hype - though it was good. Just not Amazing. The bar was also great - live music a little too loud for conversation but portions great and flavor wowed us for bar food (we had deep dish pizza and the prosciutto ham and garlic bread appetizer. No shortage on cheese which is where they usually cut back. Also - the wine pour was very generous for the price which made my day! Nothing worse than getting that little bitty glass for $8 (like I got in the steak house). The big glass is definitely the way to go even if it wasn't quite as full as they poured in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

They just had one server on for the whole place :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I highly recommend this restaurant. SO special for our anniversary, the staff was attentive, food was amazing, and ambiance was unforgettable!!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Organic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Flavors were refreshing and entertaining.
Had reservations, but did not get seated for about 20 minutes.
Had leftovers to go home, but not all food on the plate ended up in the box. Very sad about that!
Bread was literally thrown onto the table. What's that about?
Took a bit too long for desert and too long to get the check ... we almost just left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely love the restaurant however our dinner reservations were for 715pm and we did not get seated until 730pm. The service, ambience and food is always great! Just plan on waiting a little longer on a Saturday night

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good find. Nice dinner, then wandered into bar...great music... good drinks... good vibe... would recommend!

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was delicious and we didn't leave hungry.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The occasion was our 62nd. wedding anniversary. We wanted some place special and we found it here. Loved everything about the evening, from ambience and service to delicious food.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We enjoyed our stay so very much. We had no idea how 5 star this establishment is. We will definitely be back. Every employee was so nice, helpful and kind. Our room was very clean, enjoyable and just plain awesome. Dinner was fabulous, service was excellent and your food was delicious. The mineral pools were so relaxing. Thank you for a wonderful getaway, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very beautiful historic hot springs. Grounds & restaurant are stunning. Food was delicious & cooked just right! Everything from the warm focacia bread the beet salad, my salmon & tiramisu, tasted homemade. Excellent sauces! Server was friendly & quick! I would highly recommend David Wallys. Disregard all the negative reviews. It's not a new 5 star resort. But we we're impressed & will refer to friends return again without a doubt.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Fireplace, Historic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Cozy, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful food in a very nice atmosphere. We were very pleased overall for a great date night. After dinner we went out by the outside fireplace and enjoyed the ambiance. Friendly wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We bought a package on Living Social which included access to the hot springs and 3 course dinner for two for $119.00. We bought this deal before and would happily go again. After a day out cross country skiing , the hot springs were the perfect temperature for outdoor, scenic soaking -about 104 degrees. "A geothermal belt runs through the area, creating multiple hot springs. Water running around the property can reach up to 160 degrees Fahrenheit." There is a steam room and dry sauna in the Men's and Women's shower areas. You can add on other spa services if you wish - for extra $. The property is historic, once a stage coach stop where weary travelers from the Immigrant Trail paid 50 cents for a sulphury bath. The location is gorgeous, close to Genoa (the first settlement in Nevada) with views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the Carson Valley. The restaurant is cozy and the food is delicious. We recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing staycation or getaway close to South Lake Tahoe, Reno, or Carson City, Nevada.

Tags: Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excallant food, service by Luke and David was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My friend and I did the Groupon for the hot springs and three course menu in the restaurant. Everything was great. Our server was Erik and he was very timely and friendly. I had the fruity beet salad as a starter, it was fantastic. They didn't have a vegetarian option so I got the mushroom/spinach pasta without the sausage. Also quite delicious. For dessert I had the bread pudding which was good, but I could tell it was probably already a couple of days old. Overall we had a great time and would consider buying another Groupon and coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The soup and salad were decent, the main course was fantastic! Dessert good! Ambience and service great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was outstanding. Can't wait to go back. It's a hidden gem for sure.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We enjoyed our evening totally. The staff were all friendly and helpful. It was our first time as we are only one year in our Gardnerville home. We love the area. Our meal was delicious and presentation beautiful. We will bring guests in the future. Thank you. Debra.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was very good and the service was also. We would go back for a meal and for the spa.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our server, Luke, did his usual fantastic job at describing the menu and taking care of us. Very good experience. Best restaurant in the Carson Valley.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our server, Leslie, was great! I had the salmon, he had the prime rib, both were delicious! My only complaint if I have to come up with one is that the veggies were just zucchini & yellow squash. For dessert, I had the lemon cake & it was a little dry but he had the tiramisu which was great. The couple across from us had the bread pudding & I wish I had ordered it.
Everyone there seemed to be using the Groupon & it's a great deal! I would recommend to anyone looking for a creative date night. I just love the little town of Genoa.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My first time there on 01-14-17 and it was amazing. I have lived in the area for 4 years and hadn't been there yet. I will be back again and again! The prices were outstanding compared to other restaurants in the area. The 3-course meal was only $39! That is a steal! The food choices were amazing. I had the Blue Cheese Crusted Sirloin with a Red Wine Demi Glaze. The dinner salad was great, the dinner sides were great, and the dessert choices were just as amazing and only $39!. David Wallys actually beat prices of other restaurants in the area and serve more food and MUCH better tasting food. This is definitely a restaurant worth going to any night of the week.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Historic, Cozy, Fun, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Restaurant has nice decor, rustic but comfortable and with views. Food was good, but not particularly special.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Have not been to restaurant for a number of years. Food and service was excellent. Will return soon with friends for an annual get-together.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved that we could go to the hot springs afterwards!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Mineral springs great at this resort. Food minimally ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A beautiful location but the food (on the prix fixe menu) was very basic, and the server got many things wrong. When going by the prix fixe menu, the server's description is all you've got to go on. A Spinach and Beet salad had just morsels of beets and an odd combination of artichoke hearts, cherry tomatoes, and cheese. The pasta was in a basic creme sauce and the steak, while well-grilled, was in a basic reduction though the bleu cheese on top was nice. We opted to go for the blueberry cream pie as the server really sold us on this dessert, though we were sorely disappointed when a dry lemon-blueberry cake arrived at our table. When I asked the waiter what kind of wine he would recommend with my meal, he asked "white or red" and when I said "white" he simply brought a chardonnay. Not a worthwhile meal for what it cost - I would recommend other places in Carson or Carson Valley.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My bison rib meal was inedible. I had them box it up and then threw it away when I got home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My husband and I went for our anniversary dinner with a Groupon. Without that, we wouldn't have probably ever gone to try it out! So glad we did, we will be back!

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Just want to say that Stephen is the best server and employee of the restaurant. He makes everything better and does it in a very professional, yet non intimidating way. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our dining experience because of him. Food was good, but Stephen's service was better! Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delish meal. Hearty portions. Great table service. We did arrive about 15 minutes prior to our reservation time and were told we would be able to be seated early. We waited and actually were seated 10 minutes past our reservation time. The restaurant was not busy and there were many open tables. Actually a large portion of the restaurant was not being uses as they were busy prepping for their Thanksgiving offering the next day, which we were told was a complete sell out.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is always exceptional and fresh. Our waiter Kyle was phenomenal. He was very professional, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the restaurant and food. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We like to go out for all our special occasions and try something new, the entire meal on the prefixe menu was amazing. The steaks cooked to perfection and tasted great, the mashed potatos were terrific and the salads were really good. Desert, my wife tried the bread pudding and loved it, I do not like bread pudding one bit but I ended up eating half of hers. We would suggest David Walleys to anyone that wants a great dinner...even better try the dip and dine special they have just an amazing deal.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We've been to this restaurant now 5 times and have always been delighted with the food, service and atmosphere. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.