HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Wed, 2/21
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.

1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

4.3
355 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date (21)
  • Romantic (17)
  • Scenic View (15)
Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak, Wild Game
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Harriet's Cafe
Mondays & Tuesdays Closed until May

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(775) 782-6602
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Richard LaCount
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Marie Stokes: (775) 309-4561
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
395 & 206
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Friday & Saturday Live Music!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 355 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3  based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.5
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
4.0  Dined 4 days ago

The menu was varied and extensive; a separate three-course, prix fixe menu for $39 each also was available with three appetizer, entree and dessert options. Service was impeccable and ambiance was quite nice.

Report
Helpful
KirstenJ 
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

My boyfriend and I had an amazing time and the food was beautifully displayed and delicious!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Excellent dinner and Luke made the entire experience wonderful

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
4.0  Dined 5 days ago

we like the bar and outside fire pit. Try the ribs or the French dip.
the dining room is more romantic. Sea Bass and steak were excellent.

Report
Helpful
PennyR (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Absolutely the Best Food I have ever tasted! Steak was Buttery Tender and Seasonings pop in your mouth. Generous portions. Mashed Garlic Potatoes to die for. Shrimp Cocktail delicious. Waiter Luke was fabulous! Desserts and Cocktails very creative. Can't wait to return.

Report
Helpful
JennyJ (Denver)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Had such a great dinner this past weekend. We were early from our reservation and they did their best to accommodate us. The food was amazing, wine list was perfect and the staff was wonderful as always, Luke and team are my favorites to see, they always exceed our expectations. Looking forward to next months dinner!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

What a wonderful date night @1862davidwalleys. I had the braised lamb shank with risotto. Everything was absolutely devine. The lamb shank just fell away from the bone. The creamy risotto was perfectly seasoned. I just love this place. If you can go and have dinner I highly recommend that you do. #datenight #dinner #glutenfree #foodie #foodporn

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
4.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Went for my 50th birthday. The food was wonderful but when it came time for dessert we were forgotten. About 30 mins later our server informed us that our dessert had been served to someone else. Overall it took 40 mins to get dessert which in turn took our tome to enjoy the hot springs after dinner which was disappointing. Food was amazi g but that definitely took from our enjoyment

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
4.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Nice and kid friendly. Super staff , food was good and just a short walk from our room. Fine dining, but also offered a kid's menu.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

Always worth the drive! Combine this with a trip to the soaking tubs and it's an amazing getaway.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on January 10, 2018

Best prime rib I have ever tasted. Have had better salmon. Great service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on January 8, 2018

It has been a few years since our last visit and so we were excited to dine here again. We were not disappointed. Our server Leslie was very attentive and had an excellent suggestion for wine to accompany our dinner selection. We decided not to have an appetizer because we tend to fill up by the time our main dish arrives. That was a good choice as the portion sizes are generous. We both ordered the blue cheese crusted sirloin with garlic mashed potatoes. So delicious! The lemon tart with a burnt sugar topping was amazing! Needless to say, we can't wait to return!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Los Angeles)
5.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

We had a pre fix 3-course menu with our Groupon, which was great and also unfortunate. Only because we couldn't try an entree or two on the regular menu that we'd really wanted to... However, the pre fix menu was definitely great!! Can't wait to go back and try other items on their menu.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
1.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

Bad service/ poor attituds from staff/ no people skills/ food was just OK on one meal/ very poor on the other/ over priced /not worth another attempt/ its to bad that people who buy these propertys cant get it running in a positive flow. What a waist - never coming back. lower your pricing/ find better staff members to work it/ pay them better/ maybe you'll find some decent people .Get a better chef/ find a way better hostise and waiter staff as well/ lousie people skills in all positions / went there for my 62 birthday. I could have had a better exsperiance at Taco bell /after spending 100 buck and left very disappointed .And we didn't even have any drinks or deserts

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New England)
5.0  Dined on January 5, 2018

Our waiter, Luke, was just fabulous. He was very attentive and provided such great service, we definitely will be back! The food was really very good and we appreciate having this beautiful restaurant in our hometown.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on January 2, 2018

1 ISSUE-WE HAD A 5:30 AND ITS STILL COLD IN THE RESTAURANT - I WOULD SUGGEST TURNING ON THE HEAT SOONER. OURSELFS AND OTHERS HAD TO MOVE AWAY FROM THE WINDOW SEATING BECAUSE IT WAS COLD AND THE BOOTH AREA WAS COLD AS WELL. IT WARMED UP AFTER ABOUT 20 - 30 MINUETS WE WERE ABLE TO REMOVE OUR JACKETS. WE ARE LOCALS AND MEMEBERS AND WE WERE CELEBRATING MY MOTHERS BIRTHDAY SHE LOVES YOUR RESTURANT. THE STAFF WAS GREAT AND UNDERSTANDING. FOOD AS ALWAYS IS GREAT.

Report
Helpful
JoJo7 (Tahoe)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Dip first- exceptional venue with friendly, happy customers! Very special place!
Dine second- pampered by 3 courses of deliciousness, great views, and cozy seating!

Report
Helpful
Jennifer (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on December 26, 2017

Great location and Good food but very slow waiter who kept forgetting things. 😒

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on December 25, 2017

Our family of five had a wonderful Christmas dinner. We each ordered something different and we all fully enjoyed our meal. The service was excellent. The only thing was the noise level in the dining room was too loud.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on December 20, 2017

It was a little expensive for the food quality and service. Water was never refilled. The prime rib was a little overcooked and tough. We brought our own wine, they did change our glasses between bottles. $15 corkage fee per bottle.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on December 18, 2017

Best deal is through Groupon. We had an amazing experience!! The food was delicious and the service was fantastic. Beautiful surroundings and the mineral springs very relaxing!!

Report
Helpful
duffy (Sacramento)
5.0  Dined on December 12, 2017

We both ordered from the prix fix menu. It was a huge amount of delicious food for a beyond reasonable price. We were staying at the resort so couldn’t have been better. Would definitely go back on both accounts.

Report
Helpful
KristinDomela (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on December 12, 2017

Just loved the whole spa dinner experience, perfect! The only thing I would add, is having something open like bar or snacks, between 3:30 and 4:30. We ended up driving to town to wait for dinner, which was wonderful!! Can’t wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
Memo (Guadalajara)
4.0  Dined on December 8, 2017

the food was excellent -- the table by the window not the best on a cold night and crowded for four. Service was attentive .

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on December 3, 2017

an absolute must of a restaurant. we had a group of 4 that went for the dip and dine,,,great time by us all...Thanks David Walley"s

Report
Helpful
Sarah (Tahoe)
4.0  Dined on November 24, 2017

The service was great. The filet was amazing. The bison short rib was delicious but the noodles were not cooked. It was sent back and quickly corrected but the sauce was over reduced and inedible the second time.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on November 14, 2017

We were there thanks to our kids they bought this for us "DIP and DINE". We will be back !!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
2.0  Dined on November 12, 2017

Appetizer from the bar set off our stomachs but we managed to get through a not so impressive dinner....soup was good pasta was ok desert tasted old the wine was the best part of dinner. The staff overall was putting off a bad vibe. I will not eat here again

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on November 6, 2017

Love the restaurant decorations, fireplace is super cozy, food is great for the prices, good for romantic date, great service, I’m very happy, would love to go back.

Report
Helpful
Disaray (Tahoe)
5.0  Dined on November 2, 2017

Recommended by Friends and lived up to their comments. Surpassed my expectations for a real great evening. Server, Luke, was a addition to our evening. Great food and service. Ambiance was what was expected.. Thank's for being there..

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
12