Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.80mi

About 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.

2001 Foothill Road
Genoa, NV 89411
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Harriet's Cafe

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm

Cross Street:
395 & 206

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 782-6602

Website:
http://www.1862davidwalleysresort.com/

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday Live Music!

Parking Details:
Ample parking

Executive Chef:
Richard LaCount

Private Party Facilities:
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.

Private Party Contact:
Marie Stokes: (775) 309-4561

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (26)
See All
Scenic View (22)
Cozy (21)
Historic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Fireplace (9)
Casual (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (6)
Live Music (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (3)
Waterfront (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wasn't as happy with the meal as I usually am. No salad dressing as requested...meat not cooked as requested either.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Staff very attentive. Wife's med well steak cooked perfectly. Nice wine selections by the glass and bottle. The bartender- Joey-very friendly .Luke-our waiter- and his helper (sorry, we can't remember his name) professional and cheerful and attentive . Nice timing between courses and we never felt rushed. You must try the duck gumbo, could be considered a touch spicy by some, but to me was perfect. Also try the crab/tuna tartare with avocado , a great combination. We are already planning another evening there.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We hosted a rehearsal dinner here for my son's wedding. The "stone room" is very nice for groups of up to about 24 and was just right for our gathering. The staff was very attentive and we never had to request anything - they were very proactive throughout the evening with water and beverage service, the courses themselves, and every need a dining group could have. The food was extremely well-prepared and delicious. I dine out a lot for business at venues around the world and so I "get out a lot" and have a pretty wide range of dining experiences against which to compare. I have to say that we were all very impressed in every respect. The service was just perfect - not overbearing, not too sparse, glasses were always full and empty plates never lingered. The chef did a fabulous job - all the meals were ready simultaneously and everyone commented on the quality. In fact, w e liked it so much that we returned the following day for a family dinner. We want to give a shout out to Marie Stokes for organizing the event, and of course to the chef, wait staff, and kitchen crew for making it a very memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 5, 2017

First time to dine here but won't be my last. Wonderful menu and excellent wine list. Beautiful setting. Terrific waiter! Did I mention the excellent wine list?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Unfortunately this was the second time my husbands food was a miss. He says he will never return. Chef burned the outside of his steak and it was sent back only to get another steak that was completely cold inside.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The atmosphere is nice and the food is great. This was our second time eating here and the food was just as good as the first time.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Nice and comfortable bar area but quite tight for seating. Music and drinks were good. Dinner not so much for me. The bread served was tasteless. I think they missed using some key ingredients. I ordered the fettuccine with grilled chicken. Pasta was over cooked and inedible. Spinach salad was tasty. My husband was very happy with the rib eye! It was cooked properly, was of ample size and was tasty! My friend had the cioppino and said it was good but a little too spicy for her taste. The servers were very good and accommodating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Severely over salted Cornish hen and other dishes salty and unimaginative. Champagne was not chilled well. View and bar offer potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I've been here several times and it has always been good but this past visit was far from your usual "goodness" Between the food choices they now offer "Groupon" users to the service. Started off with a basket of tasteless bread and frozen butter. It took a good 20-25 minutes between each course, the Fettuccini was drenched in sauce and could have been eaten with a spoon... Needless to say I was very disappointed in my recent visit. Hopefully it was just an off night! You continue to offer the Groupon but I feel we don't get the same experience as a full price paying customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everyone was very kind and attentive! :) Perfect date night, I would highly recommend going.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This place was awesome. Great ambience! Excellent food. We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Their tea is very good; I was awake all night, wishing they served Diet Coke or caffeine free stuff. Soup--roasted pepper chicken similar to tortilla--was wonderful. Medium well was half that and half medium rare, but almost perfect cut without gristle. Would have preferred baked potato over the other choices--basmati rice was too dry and no fine vegetables. Overall, I already have recommended to friends and had positive feedback.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A bit expensive but good food. I had the fixed price meal which included salad, entrée and dessert for $39.00. My husband had bison ribs and they were $32.00. It was my birthday and a restaurant usually gives a free dessert but since mine was included that is all they gave us. I thought they might give my husband a dessert but no. It was a good meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Prime rib melted in your mouth. Nice and quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Kyle was a great server...great menu .tasty fresh and original.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We were seated early after our soak in the hot springs and a quick happy hour drink in the lively bar. Our table was at a window overlooking the springs and the wetlands where the geese were in abundance. It was a very warm, inviting atmosphere.

My wife and sister-in-law had the salmon filet that was served with a white truffel, shrimp & scallop risotto. While the risotto had a nice flavor, there was no sign of any shrimp or scallops! I was pleased with the prime rib and my brother-in-law devoured the blue cheese crusted sirloin steak. The garlic mashed potatoes were a hit! We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Dinner was phenomenal. The view of the snowy mountains was breathtaking. We definitely looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Some interesting special prices for locals would be nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always great! Our go to for girl's birthday night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We used a Groupon for a day at the hot springs and a fabulous three-course meal. We each had something different and everything was fantastic. Stephen, our host, was helpful, polite and very attentive. We cannot wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Good food, good service, good wine and a beautiful view. Quiet and relaxed....and hotsprings to enjoy too!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We visited total 5 people. Round table has enough space to have us. Pre fixed course has enough variety food. We had fun with wine.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Alice the hostess and Steven the waiter were excellent. The food is always good. We enjoy the day in the pools and then dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good food and crazy fast service in the steakhouse, but I don't think they're quite there yet (food especially) where they would like to be for what you would expect in the steakhouse for all the hype - though it was good. Just not Amazing. The bar was also great - live music a little too loud for conversation but portions great and flavor wowed us for bar food (we had deep dish pizza and the prosciutto ham and garlic bread appetizer. No shortage on cheese which is where they usually cut back. Also - the wine pour was very generous for the price which made my day! Nothing worse than getting that little bitty glass for $8 (like I got in the steak house). The big glass is definitely the way to go even if it wasn't quite as full as they poured in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

They just had one server on for the whole place :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I highly recommend this restaurant. SO special for our anniversary, the staff was attentive, food was amazing, and ambiance was unforgettable!!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Organic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Flavors were refreshing and entertaining.
Had reservations, but did not get seated for about 20 minutes.
Had leftovers to go home, but not all food on the plate ended up in the box. Very sad about that!
Bread was literally thrown onto the table. What's that about?
Took a bit too long for desert and too long to get the check ... we almost just left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Absolutely love the restaurant however our dinner reservations were for 715pm and we did not get seated until 730pm. The service, ambience and food is always great! Just plan on waiting a little longer on a Saturday night

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Good find. Nice dinner, then wandered into bar...great music... good drinks... good vibe... would recommend!

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was delicious and we didn't leave hungry.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The occasion was our 62nd. wedding anniversary. We wanted some place special and we found it here. Loved everything about the evening, from ambience and service to delicious food.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We enjoyed our stay so very much. We had no idea how 5 star this establishment is. We will definitely be back. Every employee was so nice, helpful and kind. Our room was very clean, enjoyable and just plain awesome. Dinner was fabulous, service was excellent and your food was delicious. The mineral pools were so relaxing. Thank you for a wonderful getaway, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Very beautiful historic hot springs. Grounds & restaurant are stunning. Food was delicious & cooked just right! Everything from the warm focacia bread the beet salad, my salmon & tiramisu, tasted homemade. Excellent sauces! Server was friendly & quick! I would highly recommend David Wallys. Disregard all the negative reviews. It's not a new 5 star resort. But we we're impressed & will refer to friends return again without a doubt.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Fireplace, Historic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Cozy, People Watching, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful food in a very nice atmosphere. We were very pleased overall for a great date night. After dinner we went out by the outside fireplace and enjoyed the ambiance. Friendly wait staff.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We bought a package on Living Social which included access to the hot springs and 3 course dinner for two for $119.00. We bought this deal before and would happily go again. After a day out cross country skiing , the hot springs were the perfect temperature for outdoor, scenic soaking -about 104 degrees. "A geothermal belt runs through the area, creating multiple hot springs. Water running around the property can reach up to 160 degrees Fahrenheit." There is a steam room and dry sauna in the Men's and Women's shower areas. You can add on other spa services if you wish - for extra $. The property is historic, once a stage coach stop where weary travelers from the Immigrant Trail paid 50 cents for a sulphury bath. The location is gorgeous, close to Genoa (the first settlement in Nevada) with views of the Sierra Nevada Mountains and the Carson Valley. The restaurant is cozy and the food is delicious. We recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing staycation or getaway close to South Lake Tahoe, Reno, or Carson City, Nevada.

Tags: Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excallant food, service by Luke and David was outstanding.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My friend and I did the Groupon for the hot springs and three course menu in the restaurant. Everything was great. Our server was Erik and he was very timely and friendly. I had the fruity beet salad as a starter, it was fantastic. They didn't have a vegetarian option so I got the mushroom/spinach pasta without the sausage. Also quite delicious. For dessert I had the bread pudding which was good, but I could tell it was probably already a couple of days old. Overall we had a great time and would consider buying another Groupon and coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The soup and salad were decent, the main course was fantastic! Dessert good! Ambience and service great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was outstanding. Can't wait to go back. It's a hidden gem for sure.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.