Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.29mi
  2. Distance: 1.05mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 2.80mi

About 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.

2001 Foothill Road
Genoa, NV 89411
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Harriet's Cafe

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm

Cross Street:
395 & 206

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 782-6602

Website:
http://www.1862davidwalleysresort.com/

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday Live Music!

Parking Details:
Ample parking

Executive Chef:
Richard LaCount

Private Party Facilities:
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.

Private Party Contact:
Marie Stokes: (775) 309-4561

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (15)
Scenic View (15)
See All
Romantic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Historic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (3)
Live Music (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
310 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a very nice meal. Beautiful place. Enjoyed the hot tubs also. All the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Nice view of the Sierra Mountains, good sevice and food. Off the beaten path. I highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Unexpectedly great dinner with very friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Lovely ambiance. The bartender was great. When the kitchen made the wrong appetizer he noticed it and took care of it immediately and thengave me a drink on the house for their mistake. I didn't even have to ask! The only thing I disliked was the dessert; chocolate peanut butter bread pudding. It had no chocolate that I could taste. The halibut was excellent as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The Mr had the Prix fixe menu, great value & a ton of food for the price. I had a wedge salad that was a regular wedge salad I could have gotten anywhere. My main dish was bison short ribs with pasta, super yummy, tender & flavorful. Great view of the mountains & Carson Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really enjoyed an awesome meal. Best steak ever! I had the blue cheese crusted sirloin....tasted like filet mignon. I'm not typically a red meat eater but this was extraordinary. Also, they brought us these melt in your mouth home made biscuits served warm....delicous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We own a time share unit at DW which we use annually and dine at the restaurant at least once. The menu almost always includes a game dish, though not tonight. Also missing was the usual prime rib dinner. The early bird menu was varied and a good value.
There was a boisterous, loud female diner in a salon to the side of the main dining room who seemed to shout everything she said and could be heard even over a crowded but mostly quiet clientele.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

with the exception of one rib eye, ordered rare, coming out medium and being a substandard cut, the rest of our foursome enjoyed their meals. Rombauer Chard at a reasonable price, though not an overly generous pour - all in all, for the Carson Valley, not too shabby - we will probably return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The chef takes ordinary meals and adds one or more unusual ingredients making for an unusual experience. An example is roast duck over rice. It comes with bok choy and a spicy Thai sauce. You can get the sauce on the side, so you can control how spicy the meal is to suit your taste. Another example is Tiramisu dessert with Kahlua flavored whipped cream which imparts an unusual flavor.

The menu is eclectic with a couple of steak, some fowl, fish and a few Italian pasta entrees. They also have soups, salads and a collection of appetizers.

According to the waiter you need to keep coming back because the chef gets bored and develops new dishes whenever the spirit moves him.

One word of caution: their website is not updated in a timely manner. So if you see something you particularly like on the website menu, you may not get it because the chef has moved on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The service, food, ambiance was perfect!! Our waiter, Luke was spot on with his friendly personality & fast service . Two thumbs up for this restaurant!! We will definitely be back & spread the word on the incredible service, food & atmosphere at the 1862 Restaurant & that it IS the place to go!! :)😀

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Never disappointed. Staff is friendly, food is great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I've been to Walley's several times as I'm a local, and without question, every time I've been here everything, and I mean everything, has been fantastic! I came this time with a friend and had a Groupon for a "dip and dine," so we first spent the afternoon at the hot springs and then had dinner.

Even though there was a limited menu for the Groupon, which was expected, the selection was fantastic and the food absolutely incredible. I had prime rib and my friend had salmon - the meat was so tender you could have cut it with a spoon and her salmon fresh and delicious.

Again, even though we had a Groupon, we were not treated less in any way. Our waiter Luke was professional and helpful, as were the people assisting him.

Can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great spot with awesome views, great atmosphere and excellent food and service. All this for a great value! Must stop in if your close.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Wasn't as happy with the meal as I usually am. No salad dressing as requested...meat not cooked as requested either.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Staff very attentive. Wife's med well steak cooked perfectly. Nice wine selections by the glass and bottle. The bartender- Joey-very friendly .Luke-our waiter- and his helper (sorry, we can't remember his name) professional and cheerful and attentive . Nice timing between courses and we never felt rushed. You must try the duck gumbo, could be considered a touch spicy by some, but to me was perfect. Also try the crab/tuna tartare with avocado , a great combination. We are already planning another evening there.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We hosted a rehearsal dinner here for my son's wedding. The "stone room" is very nice for groups of up to about 24 and was just right for our gathering. The staff was very attentive and we never had to request anything - they were very proactive throughout the evening with water and beverage service, the courses themselves, and every need a dining group could have. The food was extremely well-prepared and delicious. I dine out a lot for business at venues around the world and so I "get out a lot" and have a pretty wide range of dining experiences against which to compare. I have to say that we were all very impressed in every respect. The service was just perfect - not overbearing, not too sparse, glasses were always full and empty plates never lingered. The chef did a fabulous job - all the meals were ready simultaneously and everyone commented on the quality. In fact, w e liked it so much that we returned the following day for a family dinner. We want to give a shout out to Marie Stokes for organizing the event, and of course to the chef, wait staff, and kitchen crew for making it a very memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 4, 2017

First time to dine here but won't be my last. Wonderful menu and excellent wine list. Beautiful setting. Terrific waiter! Did I mention the excellent wine list?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Unfortunately this was the second time my husbands food was a miss. He says he will never return. Chef burned the outside of his steak and it was sent back only to get another steak that was completely cold inside.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The atmosphere is nice and the food is great. This was our second time eating here and the food was just as good as the first time.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Nice and comfortable bar area but quite tight for seating. Music and drinks were good. Dinner not so much for me. The bread served was tasteless. I think they missed using some key ingredients. I ordered the fettuccine with grilled chicken. Pasta was over cooked and inedible. Spinach salad was tasty. My husband was very happy with the rib eye! It was cooked properly, was of ample size and was tasty! My friend had the cioppino and said it was good but a little too spicy for her taste. The servers were very good and accommodating.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Severely over salted Cornish hen and other dishes salty and unimaginative. Champagne was not chilled well. View and bar offer potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I've been here several times and it has always been good but this past visit was far from your usual "goodness" Between the food choices they now offer "Groupon" users to the service. Started off with a basket of tasteless bread and frozen butter. It took a good 20-25 minutes between each course, the Fettuccini was drenched in sauce and could have been eaten with a spoon... Needless to say I was very disappointed in my recent visit. Hopefully it was just an off night! You continue to offer the Groupon but I feel we don't get the same experience as a full price paying customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Everyone was very kind and attentive! :) Perfect date night, I would highly recommend going.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This place was awesome. Great ambience! Excellent food. We will be back.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Their tea is very good; I was awake all night, wishing they served Diet Coke or caffeine free stuff. Soup--roasted pepper chicken similar to tortilla--was wonderful. Medium well was half that and half medium rare, but almost perfect cut without gristle. Would have preferred baked potato over the other choices--basmati rice was too dry and no fine vegetables. Overall, I already have recommended to friends and had positive feedback.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A bit expensive but good food. I had the fixed price meal which included salad, entrée and dessert for $39.00. My husband had bison ribs and they were $32.00. It was my birthday and a restaurant usually gives a free dessert but since mine was included that is all they gave us. I thought they might give my husband a dessert but no. It was a good meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Prime rib melted in your mouth. Nice and quiet atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Kyle was a great server...great menu .tasty fresh and original.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We were seated early after our soak in the hot springs and a quick happy hour drink in the lively bar. Our table was at a window overlooking the springs and the wetlands where the geese were in abundance. It was a very warm, inviting atmosphere.

My wife and sister-in-law had the salmon filet that was served with a white truffel, shrimp & scallop risotto. While the risotto had a nice flavor, there was no sign of any shrimp or scallops! I was pleased with the prime rib and my brother-in-law devoured the blue cheese crusted sirloin steak. The garlic mashed potatoes were a hit! We'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Dinner was phenomenal. The view of the snowy mountains was breathtaking. We definitely looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Some interesting special prices for locals would be nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always great! Our go to for girl's birthday night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We used a Groupon for a day at the hot springs and a fabulous three-course meal. We each had something different and everything was fantastic. Stephen, our host, was helpful, polite and very attentive. We cannot wait to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Good food, good service, good wine and a beautiful view. Quiet and relaxed....and hotsprings to enjoy too!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Alice the hostess and Steven the waiter were excellent. The food is always good. We enjoy the day in the pools and then dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We visited total 5 people. Round table has enough space to have us. Pre fixed course has enough variety food. We had fun with wine.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very good food and crazy fast service in the steakhouse, but I don't think they're quite there yet (food especially) where they would like to be for what you would expect in the steakhouse for all the hype - though it was good. Just not Amazing. The bar was also great - live music a little too loud for conversation but portions great and flavor wowed us for bar food (we had deep dish pizza and the prosciutto ham and garlic bread appetizer. No shortage on cheese which is where they usually cut back. Also - the wine pour was very generous for the price which made my day! Nothing worse than getting that little bitty glass for $8 (like I got in the steak house). The big glass is definitely the way to go even if it wasn't quite as full as they poured in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

They just had one server on for the whole place :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I highly recommend this restaurant. SO special for our anniversary, the staff was attentive, food was amazing, and ambiance was unforgettable!!

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Organic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.