About 1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

2001 Foothill Road
Genoa, NV 89411
View Larger Map

Nestled in the Sierra Mountain Valley, with a 360 degree view of the majestic Sierra Mountain range, 1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort, Spa, Restaurant & Saloon is just minutes from world-class Skiing. At our newly remodeled 1862 Restaurant & Saloon you can enjoy a casual fine dining adventure while you entertain your palette with gourmet wild game or fresh seafood. Recently honored with the "Award of Excellence" by Wine Spectator Magazine, you will find the finest selection of wines in our region. Your hunger will be demolished with ample portions for every meal of the day. After dining, enjoy a cocktail and live music in this historic landmark and create a legacy of your own.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Wild Game

Hours of Operation:
Harriet's Cafe

Breakfast and Lunch: 7:30 am - 2:30 pm Mon. - Wed.
7:30 am - 5:30 pm Thurs. - Sun.


1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon

Dinner: Daily: 5:30 pm - 9:00 pm, Sunset Special 5:30 - 6:30 pm
Happy Hour Daily: 4:30 - 6pm

Cross Street:
395 & 206

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 782-6602

Website:
http://www.1862davidwalleysresort.com/

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday Live Music!

Parking Details:
Ample parking

Executive Chef:
Richard LaCount

Private Party Facilities:
1862 David Walley’s Hot Springs Resort & Spa provides the perfect venue for your wedding. We are open year-round, providing the highest quality customer service for each event. We lead our industry with innovative event services, demanding our staff and all our vendors abide by the highest principles of ethics and professionalism. We do all this to support you in creating the wedding / Special event of your dreams. Over the last 150 years, 1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa has hosted thousands of weddings and events for people from all walks of life. In doing so, we personalized each event. You'll find options to customize any facet of your event. Whether it is incorporating family traditions, or selecting the perfect wine. Whatever your preference, we are happy to personalize any aspect of your special day.

Private Party Contact:
Marie Stokes: 775-309-4561

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1862 David Walley's Restaurant and Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
South Lake Tahoe
Best Ambiance
South Lake Tahoe
1 More
Special Occasion
South Lake Tahoe
Best Restaurants in South Shore ›

Special Occasion (15)
Scenic View (14)
Romantic (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Historic (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (6)
Casual (5)
Fireplace (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just want to say that Stephen is the bes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Just want to say that Stephen is the best server and employee of the restaurant. He makes everything better and does it in a very professional, yet non intimidating way. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our dining experience because of him. Food was good, but Stephen's service was better! Thank you.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Delish meal. Hearty portions. Great tabl ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delish meal. Hearty portions. Great table service. We did arrive about 15 minutes prior to our reservation time and were told we would be able to be seated early. We waited and actually were seated 10 minutes past our reservation time. The restaurant was not busy and there were many open tables. Actually a large portion of the restaurant was not being uses as they were busy prepping for their Thanksgiving offering the next day, which we were told was a complete sell out.

Tags: Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always exceptional and fresh ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is always exceptional and fresh. Our waiter Kyle was phenomenal. He was very professional, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the restaurant and food. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like to go out for all our special oc ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We like to go out for all our special occasions and try something new, the entire meal on the prefixe menu was amazing. The steaks cooked to perfection and tasted great, the mashed potatos were terrific and the salads were really good. Desert, my wife tried the bread pudding and loved it, I do not like bread pudding one bit but I ended up eating half of hers. We would suggest David Walleys to anyone that wants a great dinner...even better try the dip and dine special they have just an amazing deal.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to this restaurant now 5 time ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We've been to this restaurant now 5 times and have always been delighted with the food, service and atmosphere. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, delicious food and menu o ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service, delicious food and menu options. Beautiful location and views.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Live Music, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food,view,and service was great. A lar ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food,view,and service was great.

A large group with young children sitting together nearby was very noisy. It ruined the whole experience.

I would suggest a large group with young kids should be put in a separate room as a courtesy to other dinners.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nothing to write home about, ordered med ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Nothing to write home about, ordered med rare recvd rare but was ok. Veal dish fair, salmon good. Service great. Appetizer excellent desert good. Bar food much better.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a birthday dinner/date here after ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We had a birthday dinner/date here after a whole day at the hot springs. The food was very nice. Our waiter's customer service was OK; it could have been a little better, based on the elegance of this place. We didn't find the hostess friendly though, she seemed to be rushed. Other than that, the ambience was lovely, food was delicious! Wait time was moderate we felt. On the way out, there was a group of young men across from the restaurant who were being loud, rowdy and using profane language. They were sitting across the restaurant..in a different area, but due to the lack of walls and such, it slightly hindered our experience and did not feel appropriate had their been children around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Terrible food and even worse service. T ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Terrible food and even worse service. The staff was beyond rude! Will never go back there again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very good food, albeit regret I ordered ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Very good food, albeit regret I ordered a tricked out "Jamaican" salmon and should have stuck with simple grilled because it was cooked to perfection. Steaks are highest quality, but they need stick-ins to separate degrees of cooking. Salads well prepared and the food is a reasonable value for a restaurant in this class. Will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Three of us had Prim Rib which was good ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Three of us had Prim Rib which was good but the potatoes where salty and none of us ate them. Do not order the onion soup as all it has is broth no onions in it. The croton on top was so hard you had to use a knife to eat it yuk! Desert was the best taramasu good and so I as the crem brûlée

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

We had a lovely dinner here. Ordered of ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We had a lovely dinner here. Ordered off the Prix fixe menu. Good steak but the tiramisu was the highlight. Our server was helpful with the wine list.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We met old friends there two years in a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We met old friends there two years in a row, because all four of us thought it was great. The food was excellent and the view of the valley was perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Be aware that the waitress adds a 20+per ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Be aware that the waitress adds a 20+percent tip automatically to your bill. The service was not worth 20 percent

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Birthday dinner for my wife's birthday. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Birthday dinner for my wife's birthday. Food and service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent & they had a wide ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was excellent & they had a wide variety of wines to choose from. Their choice of background music was very pleasant, if a little loud. All in all, we enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with the selection ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were very pleased with the selection and quality of the food choices. We had the Prix Fixe - the salad/soup options were fresh and lettuces were crisp and flavorful. The salmon was topped with a delightful sauce and the sirloin crusted sirloin was cooked perfectly. The garlic mashed potatoes were very complimentary but the cilantro and black bean rice that accompanied the salmon lacked flavor and needed more of the cilantro zest. We never made it around to eating the dessert as we were stuffed from the main course but the options looked tasty.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

One of our favorite local restaurants. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 10, 2016

One of our favorite local restaurants. Went for our anniversary and were not disappointed. Prix fixe menu is a good value. Decent wine list. Crab and tuna tartare appetizer rocked! Enjoyed Kyle as a server. Thanks for another great meal!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Private Room, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Received wrong entree. Was emmediatlty t ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Received wrong entree. Was emmediatlty told they can bring order quickly, I declined being that my friend had her food and did not want her to wait. What I received was ok. Other than that all was good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a wonderful dinner experience: th ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner experience: the staff was expect! Very accommodating and attentive. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice place. The views were great! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very nice place. The views were great! The service & food were very good too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great meal to cap off a day in the geoth ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal to cap off a day in the geothermal hot springs at this property. We ordered from the prix fixe menu and were pleasantly surprised. The salads were creative and flavorful. The entrees were culinary inspired and presentation was excellent. Dessert selection was broad and service was very friendly and prompt.

Great excursion from Lake Tahoe.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the place to be. Gratuity ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and the place to be. Gratuity being enforced is a joke but oh well(would enjoy paying for what I think is warranted)

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Send my compliments to the chef. Food w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Send my compliments to the chef. Food was good and service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner with 3 other people. Two enj ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Had dinner with 3 other people. Two enjoyed their meals. One had a pork dish and one prime rib. My husband's was "okay." I had a tasteless spinach salad and a calamari appetizer that was so salty, it was not eatable. Even though I left most of it on my plate, the waiter never asked if there was anything wrong with it. Perhaps I just ordered the wrong thing, but I think the waiter could have been more observant and offered me something else.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We love the a atmosphere and food at Dav ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We love the a atmosphere and food at David Walleys. We have always received great service and the spa next door is wonderful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed the waitress and food. ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 18, 2016

I really enjoyed the waitress and food. However the night started on a hostile tone when one of the staff members challenged my service dog's validity. It was incredibly rude and frankly would keep me from going back to that restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall interesting experience. Unique a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Overall interesting experience. Unique atmosphere in a fun setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our best meal on our trip. The Gumbo and ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our best meal on our trip. The Gumbo and the Bison Short Ribs were perfect and plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic meal. The service w ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a fantastic meal. The service was excellent. Heather, our server, was personable, professional, knowledgeable and punctual. We never wanted for anything. She was always there asking if we needed anything. We recommend this establishment highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

DO NOT RECOMMEND THE BAR ........ staff ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 14, 2016

DO NOT RECOMMEND THE BAR ........ staff was RUDE !!!

We were early for our dinner reservations and decided to wait in the bar and have a drink; we sat at the bar and were ignored for 15 minutes ........... eye contact made by all four people working behind the bar; no " hi " or " I'll be with you in a minute"........ NOTHING ........ they acted like we weren't even THERE .......... and then seemed PUT OUT when we did order and asked for the bill to rung out ..........RUDE and unprofessional .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Heather was very friendly and had many g ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Heather was very friendly and had many great recommendations both inside the restaurant and in the neighborhood as we were visiting from out-of-town. What a great asset she is to the restaurant.

The food was amazing, each dish both pleasing to the eye and palette.

Drink selection was also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal and service were outstanding as ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The meal and service were outstanding as always. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an anniversary dinner at David Wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had an anniversary dinner at David Walley's restaurant this past weekend, and it was a very nice experience. We brought our special bottle of wine and they served it expertly. Our waiter, Stephen, was attentive and informative. We shared crab and tuna appetizer and a top sirloin steak, and both were excellent.

The only negative was the undocumented split plate charge. The splitting was nicely done, but we really can do this ourselves. Nicer restaurants have moved away from this, and I would have expected that here as well. It was a $5 charge (which is higher than what we used to see), but it was more about the principle of charging it at all, and not having it disclosed.

Just a comment, and this did not detract from the fine meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Near South Lake Tahoe is a mountain retr ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Near South Lake Tahoe is a mountain retreat spa and hotel with a wonderful restaurant. The appetizers were excellent with the Ahi salad being spectacular. Wine list is extensive but the house selections are only $9 or so. Our waiter was superior. There were four birthday parties ... with the waiters singing just like 40 years ago. Maybe 30 minutes from Harvey's casino up and over Kingsbury Grade.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During our annual, week-long stay at Dav ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2016

During our annual, week-long stay at David Walley's, we look forward to a comfortable dinner at the restaurant. The new chef has added some tasty touches to the menu, such as the crab-ahi tuna tartare appetizer, the beet salad, and the bison short ribs. Thankfully, the roast beef remains a feature in mid-week, and it even was an option for the price fixe dinner. Our waitress was helpful, cordial and knew the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Experience

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The hot tubs were clean and not crowded, the staff was helpful, the food was very good and the service was very good. Overall a nice evening, even though one cannot get anything cold to drink in the pool area after 3:30 pm. Even the water bottle dispenser didn't work.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a Living Social coupon that inclu ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a Living Social coupon that included dinner so we are off the special (limited) menu. Food was very tasty and our server was great. We did notice that those of us with Groupons and Living Social deals were all grouped together on one side of the restaurant. Last time I used this deal the restaurant experience was not very positive, so there has been notable improvement in this area (service and food quality). Just don't dine here if you're in a hurry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Resort and restaurants were well done.

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Resort and restaurants we well done. Good food and service staff was sufficiently attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.