Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About 1833

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Sun-Thur 6:00PM - 9:30PM Bar menu until 10:30PM
Fri & Sat 5:30pm - 10pm Bar Menu until 11:00pm
Social Hour: Sun-Fri 5:00PM-6:30PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Franey

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 1833 has several options for private dining and banquet parties. Please email us at groupdining@restaurant1833.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Team: (831) 643-1833

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: groupdining@restaurant1833.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
See All
Romantic (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Historic (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fireplace (6)
Fun (6)
Private Room (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 16 hours ago

I've dined here for the past 3 years, a total of 10-12 times. Every time has been delicious, creative meal surrounded by super cool ambiance. It was always packed and reservations were a must. It's also the place I would take any out of town visitors. However tonight I was sadly very disappointed with the experience here. I'm not sure what's changed - perhaps we had a string of bad luck or they didn't have a manager - but it was one negative thing after the next.

Arrived at 7pm for 7:30pm reservations. Sat outside at the fire pits for 35 minutes and *never got our drinks* - one cocktail and 2 glasses of wine.

Sat down at table ~7:35pm and did not get water, drinks or a waitress until 8pm.

They're out of a large portion of wines - their menu says N/A.

At 8pm the waitress informs us they have no more salmon - the only fish on the menu and frankly the best looking entree.

Nearby table had 8 or so people just drinking, no food. They were so incredibly loud it was constantly disruptive and did not add to the already tainted night. The acoustics in the space are already terrible; that was always been my observation - even on a good night.

Ordered some appetizers and they eventually came. Finished the bottle of wine before appetizers were done - not because we were thirsty but simply because it was now 9pm!!

Huge delay before entrees came out and sadly we skipped dessert because we were so tired of being there for almost 3hrs. Couldn't leave quick enough.

PS on a summer Saturday night, the place was dead. Why? What's changed, 1833?

Won't be back until I hear they've improved their act :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and lovely cocktails! I'd highly recommend this historic sight for a romantic evening out. All of the dishes were created with locally sourced ingredients and the chef knew exactly what he was doing with them. Soooo good!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The unique menu options were exceptional. The appetizers were absolutely delicious. Entrees were terrific as well. Service was excellent and friendly. Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service. Excellent food! Only one SERIOUS tip for the hostess... if a room is empty and only one couple is sitting in it... don't seat another couple RIGHT NEXT TO THEM. That was awkward 😂😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Incredibly disappointing experience, especially since 1833 has been one of our favorite Monterey restaurants (been there 10+ times over past couple years) through a few changes, always great/interesting. But not this time, what is up with the menu? Not clear what the underlying theme is supposed to be (all over the place). Felt like we were eating 'experiments', two of our dishes - both flatbreads - were genuinely unpleasant (though a salmon entree was very good). May have lost a loyal customer, though thinking we should probably try one more time to see whether last night was an exception (rather than the new rule).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Best experience ever! The food was great and the service even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I enjoyed Social Hour at the bar, where my server was Bijan. Then, I had a great table in the main dining room, where my server was Nicolle. For my first course, I had the wood fired nachos with flax seed tortilla chips, pork tinga, Malcom's salsa rosa, and "That's Nacho Cheese!!" For my second course, I had the roasted Brussels sprouts with smoked garlic, crispy pancetta, and maple glaze. For my entree, I had the Oregon albacore tataki with avocado, cucumber, and nori cracker. For dessert, I had the strawberry shortcake. Yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Unique menu, quality food, stylish decor, but too loud

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food and drinks were great! I've been to 1833 several times in the last year and a half and there was one notable change, the entree options. The entrees were great with regards to flavor but they looked more like tapas which is fine if that's what 1833 was about. Like I said, I've had dinner there several times in the past and the entrees were always slightly fuller. I don't mean bigger either, a bigger portion is NOT what I was expecting, I mean fuller like a proper entree. I left feeling like something was missing and for what I paid I definitely didn't expect to feel that way. I would definitely go again but if I have the same experience I'm putting 1833 on my list of drinks and appz only and doing dinner somewhere else.

It's a beautiful venue and the drinks are killer!! Great ambiance too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great service, excellent cocktails, creative food. Some plates were a little on the small side, but overall, still come to 1833 almost every time we go to Monterey.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was an amazing place! I loved everything about this restaurant!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The menu was too esoteric for me, and the wine list pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The staff was very accommodating, vibe was something out of Disney's Haunted Mansion, but gave 3 stars because 3 of the items we wanted to order one appetizer and both our entrees they were out of. I completely understand being out of something, but tell us when we are handed menus, not after ordering and then being told the item has been 86ed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great wait staff! Great apps, meal, dessert, and cocktails! We were seated in the Founders Balcony, which made for great people-watching and also a private setting. Our waiter was aware we were celebrating an anniversary and she did a lot to ensure our experience was special. Complimentary dessert wine and a visit from the chef were nice perks. My only criticism is that the rissotto is a little skimpy. It was more of an app and less of an entre. Other than that, we loved the food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was the second time we dined at 1833. The first time it was really good. This time was one of the top 5 meals we have ever had. Perfect Sazerac & sapphire martini, crafted focaccia, perfectly-cooked new York strip, corn and chorizo risotto & brownie-pudding for desert. Doesn't get much better!! Water was cool - just enough checking in then left us alone! Perfect!!!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great ambiance, awesome location, loved the house history and interior design. However, the food was, by far, the best part. The brussell sprouts are the most scrumptious I've tasted. The steak just melts in your mouth. Everything was more than amazing. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Get the Brussel Sprouts!!! They were amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food. Maybe a little more attention to detail when seating reservations-a two top seated next to a young family are two different experiences for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wanted to LOVE this place as it was for our anniversary and we haven't been out in over a year as a couple.
Ambiance is amazing. Sadly we weren't seated in th cool areas though- had I known, I would ask to be in the house, not in the garden room. The garden room could be any spot in any run of the mill restaurant. The other rooms are way more interesting and beautiful.
Food? Meh. Underwhelming. My risotto (again! I wanted to love it!) was soupy, the ham inside super hard and way over-parmesaned. I've made better risottos myself and I'm just an average cook.

The servers all very charming, helpful, an attentive - will try again, but maybe just appetizers and drinks in the cool bar.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Food was ok. Very expensive. Water was disgusting. Tasted salty and no ice available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had an amazing meal and the staff was very attentive. Head Chef came out to our table and explained everything. Drinks were great too! Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food is consistently delicious and creative, and the staff is friendly and low key. Go early - the restaurant itself is really special - interesting rooms and lots of inviting, comfortable seating for just hanging out and enjoying an expertly-made cocktail before your meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I decided to try 1833 one more time after walking out about a year and a half ago. At that time they had a chef that made a complete changeover. It wasn't the original restaurant that I had been to several times and loved it. When I read that another new chef had taken over, I was excited to try it out because of the ambiance of this very historied old house.
We came into an open door where the hostess was hiding, sorry, I mean sleeping. She was yawning and couldn't stop when we walked up. Your first impression is your last impression. I gave our name and asked where we would be seated. I was told that the only room open was the bottom floor, the upstairs isn't open on Thursday nights. I made mention that I clearly requested the upstairs and why wasn't I notified? All I got was a shrug of the shoulders.
We were sat in the no ambience back room; very disappointing as it was my 60th birthday. The service crew were back to wearing their black and white checkerboard shirts with bowties, how rediculous. One saving grace was the excellent service crew!
The menu was small and uneventful. We ordered and fhe food was prompt, however, very disappointing. Steak tartar was disguised by other toppings so you couldn't taste the rich beef taste. The brussel sprouts were so sweet that you didn't know what you were eating. Artichoke flatbread was excellent. Next came my Asian tri-tip. Let's just say that they could have served me teriyaki jerky and it would have been the same, heck maybe they did.
When we were ordering I asked if there were any specials not listed on the menu and was told no. We later overhead our waiter mentioning that they had braised brisket, only to find out that it mysteriously was added to the menu, what gives?
When we were asked if we wanted desert we passed, but expected something because of my birthday, nothing but an over inflated bill. Don't waste your money or time here! They believe that the ambiance will overcome the poor quality of food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The ambiance was lovely as were the staff. We were greeted in a very welcoming way. The appetizers were amazing. The entrees were a disappointment - two were overly salted and one was just blah. Our waiter could not have been nicer and really tried to help us - that means a lot! The chef sent over a dessert which was so tasty! I would recommend this restaurant and will give it another try - it could have been an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 19, 2017

There was a charming sophisticated feel to 1833. Absolutely beautiful. Food and drinks were amazing and atmosphere could not have been better. I was only slightly disappointed with the staff. I had made my reservations for my boyfriend's birthday 3 weeks in advance and called the week before to request where I wanted to sit. I asked if it was okay to move to that patio area after dinner. They told me it would be fine, but I was uniformed that the patio area was closing to an engagement party at 7:30. So we were only able to sit out there for 30 minutes. Also, I felt that the waiter judge my request for the bar menu in the dining area which made me feel uncomfortable. At times it seemed the staff gave off a superior vibe which made me feel unwelcome too. Also the staff cared more about the private event than the rest of the customers. I understand that they paid a lot of money to rent the patio area but it is still important to entertain all guests. Even though I felt this way I would still recommend 1833 to anyone because all of the goods out weighed this negative. I am looking forward to my next visit and hope it will be a better outcome.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Ambiance and food were both good, although there is a limited menu. Service was aweful, long wait despite a reservation and cocktail server was inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was rather disappointing, though the ambiance was lovely.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was good. Our service was a little scattered - twice food that wasn't ours was brought to the table and we had to let them know that even though we did order those dishes, they probably weren't ours because of how quickly they came out. Everyone was very nice and the inside is charming. I would recommend trying for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Absolutely divine! Loved every single bit of it all - food was exquisite, ambiance was perfect, and we loved loved loved our evening at 1833. A house with an amazing history :)

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

What a meal! Every dish was phenomenal. Possibly the best falafel I've ever had, the combinations of flavor were so complex and we'll thought out. Whenever we are in Monterey we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Not the 1833 of Old. Our last visit to 1833 was about three year ago, and we had difficulty obtaining a reservation. On our recent Saturday visit the restaurant had about twenty diners and only one of the several dining areas was being used. The cocktails before dinner were quite good, wines were expensive (very few reds under $100), and the food a real disappointment. Their mushroom appetizer was excellent, entrees were OK, except for their New York which was horrible. At $55.00 a diner would expect a fantastic course. Instead the person next to me was served chunks of steak (about the size of large stew meat-a little different but acceptable), cooked as ordered but covered in the most God awful sauce imaginable. She left over half of her meat on the plate. I couldn't stand to see it go to waste, so I offered to finish it. After two bites I left the remainder. Desserts were too sweet. I was embarrassed that I recommended the restaurant to my fellow diners. All agreed they wouldn't return. There are too many very good to excellent restaurants in the Monterey/Carmel area where diners can get a much better meal and at lower prices.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on May 5, 2017

There was mud in one of the oysters, and the steaks were ice cold.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Amazing service from the minute we walked in. The Somm Bernie is wonderful, and our server Al took great care of us, as did the rest of the staff. Felt like royalty!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Enjoyed a very good meal for my hubby's birthday. It was our first experience at 1833 and won't be our last. Our server, Al, was outstanding as was Benny the sommelier. Perfect wine recommendations and a few extra sips to entice us. The Korean tri tip and Hyderabadi curry were delicious, as was the falafel appetizer and lemon ice box pie for dessert. An excellent evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We dined at Restaurant1833 for the first time on Saturday April 29th, as part of our celebrating our wedding anniversary, and were thoroughly delighted with our experience! Upon our arrival we had the pleasure of meeting Chef Adams on our way into the adobe. He took the time to introduce us to the dishes they were particularly excited about that evening. The flavors, textures, and presentation of appetizers (kale salad and steak tartar), main courses (Grilled Half Chicken and Korean BBQ Tri Tip), creative libations to complement our meal, and decadent dessert of chocolate custard, were all simply delectable. Wait staff were attentive, polite, and presented each course with an enlightening description. We will certainly return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Pretty sad to see this restaurant going downhill since the last chef left. For the last two meals they were very disappointing. The menu was not exciting; drinks were too overpriced; food quality was declining. I went there on a Friday and lots of tables unoccupied. I don't think I will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great venue. Food was inundated with garlic and onion. Menu was odd. No bread because of an issue with the pastry chef. Bizarre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food and service were very good. Music in dining room was too loud - better for bar area. Wine list markups seemed quite high, making evening expensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

it was highly recommended, maybe i had higher expectations. it was just good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.