Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About 1833

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: Closed

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Bar 5:00PM- 10:00PM

Bar: Friday & Saturday 5:00PM - 11:00pm

Social Hour:Tuesday-Friday 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Mikey Adams

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: tonyia@restaurant1833.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Cozy (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Authentic (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Comfort Food (5)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1757 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

I went there with some friends for dinner to celebrate my birthday . The deviled eggs and cheddar biscuits were delish. I miss the roasted garlic potatoes on the menu from a few years ago. Those were delish. The food was good. However, one of my friends approached a staff member to let them know it was my birthday and requested something special. After time spent trying to pay the check she mentioned that the staff promised to do something special and for me and they did not honor that request. We left disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Very quiet, excellent food and service, just too expensive

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2017

This was our second time in less than a week. We are hooked. EVERY SINGLE item we had seemed like the best tasting thing in the world until we had the next thing. Wait staff is VERY attentive and unobtrusive. Its pricey but I promise you won't care after that first bite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The host was very nice and polite. She gave us a tour of the beautiful property and seated us in a comfy couch to have drinks before dinner. We were early for dinner and they hosted us very well. However, I can't say the same about foods and drinks. Both were bland; the drinks are watered down and the food need more flavor. I understand the half chicken is roasted chicken, but could definitely use some salt. My oven dish was chicken naan, I expected burst of spices. Barely even tasted the spice, only a faint smell of curry. We were very excited to come here, unfortunately not even the amazing decor or ambiance can bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

In one word "disappointed" Husband & I celebrated 25th anniversary here 2 years ago and since we'd had a great experience the first time came back since we were visiting the area again. Bad idea. The quality has not stood the test of time. The server (I think it was his first night) didn't advise us beforehand that they were out of the dish I tried to order and also told they couldn't serve a cappuccino (but I could have an espresso????). Daughter ordered risotto which she said was bland, my salmon (2nd choice) was also bland. Boys ordered the pork which they said was ok. Best part of the night was before the meal, outside at the fire pit. One of our party ordered the flight of scotch (very generous pour) and yummy cocktails all around. I hope they get back on track, the restaurant itself is so lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was a nice restaurant, great food.

Very pricey though and not kid friendly.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Super cool place. So memorable. Loved the lighting and service was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very dark inside, had to use phone light to see menu. Small portions for price we paid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

For $123 we were very disappointed. Our waitress was nice, the steak tartare was good, but the rest of the food was mediocre at best, especially for the price, and the menu choices were very limited. There are beautiful parts to the restaurant, but they stuck us up in a dark loft with zero ambiance. There were other beautiful dining rooms open which would have been great, but they put us in the loft even though hardly anyone else was there for diner. Sorry, would not go back nor recommend it to anyone. Plenty of other nice restaurants with MUCH better food for $123.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The bartender was AWESOME. She made me a special drink we invented on the spot. Our Server Geovani was so attentive and my date was very taken with his kindness and warm genuine smile. We started with the Steak Tartar and the 1833 take on this dish made it perhaps the best tasting thing I have ever eaten. My date had the duck and I the smoked pork. Both were world class in looks and flavor. Expertly done. This is a little Gem of a place and Monterey is better because its there.
Cinna-Jim. ( the bartender will under strand)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Weird is the best way to describe our experience... seated right next to another couple when most tables were empty... steak tartare was good, salmon entree just ok, corned beef mostly fat, tough and inedible... and ultimately deducted from our bill with the bare minimum of an apology. After our waiter admitted that another customer had recently made the same complaint we were left to wonder why no one in the kitchen had the sense to pull it from the menu. And $18 for a small potato with a tablespoon of sour cream and some bacon bits???? Good selection of CA pinots with a reasonable 200-250% markup. Lukewarm espresso/hot decaf with decadent brownie dessert. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We went here on our Honeymoon and the staff was exceptional

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My wife and I were staying at the Comfort Inn for one night and wanted to find a good, but close by restaurant. What a gem we found!! Old Spanish Adobe! Very fun and unique! 2 wedding receptions were occurring at the same time in different locations. Food was wonderful. Loved the bread with artichoke and we both had salmon. Cooked perfectly. My Bedrock Zin was great!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very disappointed. We've been to this restaurant since it was remodeled as 1833. In the beginning, the food was good and the service a bit more formal. There were weekend specials. Coming from SF, I was looking forward to a creative menu and items to try. They have this triple baked potato on the menu. I've had twice baked potato before and thought it should be pretty good. We ordered one to share. It was dry and small and most shocking it was $18! The chairs were velvet white, but they were all dirty. Nothing special about the menu and for the price, it certainly wasn't worth it. Another example, nachos was $14 with two 12 inches long tortilla chip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place has lost it! New chef is bland and staff needs to be trained

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fantastic dinner and we were served of the most service minded waiter. Since we were the last guests of the evening, we had extra time for chatting also. We will recommend 1833 to all our friends that appreciate good quality

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I must say I had been looking forward to coming to this restaurant after the significant hype its received over the past few years, besides having having heard about its history from my parents who went there when it was Gallitan's. Our waiter was nice and very accommodating but other than that the experience was sub par to say the least. I understand the restaurant attempts to be seasonal, but the menu was completely different than the website and my party struggled to find items that sounded at all interesting. After deciding on a few dishes to share between the table my entire party found the food to be underwhelming and quite honestly disappointingly bland, leaving me to believe that maybe the head chef wasn't there as it was a Sunday night. On top of this, the furniture was dirty and soiled making me question the cleanliness of the rest of the operation and quite honestly if the restaurant planned on staying in business . Maybe this place had an off night or was in the process of transitioning their menu but I wouldn't recommend it other than to grab a cocktail as the historic ambiance of the bar and entrance are this business's only saving grace.
Oysters: Chef didn't feel comfortable serving them
Risotto: Bland and runny
Burger: couldn't be served rare and found out later why, as the wafer thin double patties were over cooked and reminiscent of a Big Mac. Only saving grace were the fries.
Salmon: Seemed fresh but was in and of itself bland, on top of the accompanying side dish being flavorless
Strawberry Shortcake: Overly sweet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Unfortunately our first visit was not great our food and appetizer came at the same time food was Luke warm. we had two big parties seated right before us and I feel the kitchen fell a little behind so our food suffered. I would try one more time if ever back in the area to give them a second chance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food and drink were good if not a little over priced compared to similar places. Always good when we come except for the slight surprise at the check. This time the service from hostess and later who I presume is the manager was disappointing. Had asked to be seated upstairs and was told it wasn't an option. Asked to be seat anywhere but between two noisy parties of over 10 people. Told not an option and that we were in "the quietest room." From experience, this was not true. Gave up our table to sit in the library despite rude treatment from the (presumed) manager. Luckily great waitress in the library saved the night and any chance that we come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have dined at 1833 a total of 6 times now. What has kept us coming back is the atmosphere. The menu is really hit or miss. Last Friday it was a big miss. There was nothing on the menu any one of us wanted. The only item that looked good was the $65 steak - it was good, but definitely not worth the price. I had the pork which was very fatty and I ended up not eating most of it. If we go back again it would only be to have cocktails and bar food outside in their patio area. A couple of ladies at the table near us did not want anything on the menu either but they told the waiter that and then were told that there is a bar menu that would be better for them. I wish we knew that!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Amazing service by Nicole. It was, however, the first time I've ever sent back a cocktail. Very weird look and taste to my Cosmopolitan. It was a yellowish-brown color and tasted like a whiskey sour. My new drink tasted the same however less alcohol😳.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food and great service! Highly recommend!
I would certainly go there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

I've been to the resturant when it was Galantin's back in 70s and ws surprised that 1833 morphed into the building. Interesting food, had the duck with the faroe. Interesting wine list; had the rosé and a sherry at the end of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 19, 2017

1833 is always a great dining experience! Best in Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Nice ambiance but the food is pricey for what you get, and is extremely rich and heavy.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

our family dined at 1833 on a short trip to Monterey. Restaurant is in a nice location, provide a haunting feeling if you read the hx of the house on their website so its fun. happy hours is worth and the tapas are delicious. we ordered majority of the entre items on the dinner menu for 7 people, food is mediocre, service is slow but servants are very friendly. I will recommend if you first time visiting Monterey for the experience but not for everyday dining.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It's been over a year since my wife and I dined here. They have updated the menu since and it's a delightful change. We had the chicharrones and nachos for appetizers, the chorizo risotto and the pork shoulder for entrees with the sides of mushrooms and Brussel sprouts . All delicious and great tasting flavors that complimented each other. Our server was Dominic and provided excellent service. He prepared my absinthe cocktail Russian style by our table, exquisitely. Great overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have been going for 6 years when racing. It was once exceptional - now not so much. Usually eat there once each trip but it's no longer memorable dining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My overall meal was amazing! The prawns were really good. I thoroughly enjoyed the the lemon ice box pie. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Birthday occasion- excellent atmosphere- outstanding, however, so dark one cannot read the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We've been to 1833 twice and both times had a great meal. The menu changes constantly and does not fall into what I'd call trendy (right now kale and quiona, although there may have been a touch of both on the menu). It's pretty, comfortable, reasonably quiet and has a great wine selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We've always loved 1833 for special occasions and have been impressed with the ambiance, food and service. Unfortunately, since our last visit, the menu has changed. Not too many options, and the items we selected just did not live up to our previous experience at this restaurant. What happened to the great menu with excellent and varied menu items?!?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Start your dining experience on the patio by a fire pit. Enjoy an adult beverage with a starter. Don't be in a hurry to get through dinner. You want to take your time and savor the taste of each dish. The menu is so very unusual, while also offerring the every day. The desserts are exquisite! From the atmosphere, ambiance, and food you will enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was very good, the lighting was abysmal to say the least. It was too dark for most areas of the restaurant, some guests including us were needing to use our phone lights to read the menu and see the food.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Incredible! As good or better than anything I've had in San Francisco. (Same prices)
Lovely setting in a large windowed 'sun' (?) room in a large house that was built in....1833.
The "Fry" bread is a fried pizza with extra special topping.
The oysters were in a lovely, lovely sauce served on iced pebbles in a cute tin tub.
The "smoked" salmon is actually lightly baked - perhaps in a smoky oven. Wonderfulwonderfulwonderful!
The Butterscotch pudding with fresh nectarines was very nice.
The Boulevardier cocktail was marvelous! The Pedroncelli Sauv. Blanc was great! The double espresso was generous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The Salmon entree was great. Brussels sprouts always a hit. Still miss the bacon cheddar biscuits, though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful meal in a great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and experience at this restaurent. A most visit place if you are passing by the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Fantastic Evening. Everything was perfect for our anniversary. Thank you all !

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.