Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About 1833

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Sun-Thur 6:00PM - 9:30PM Bar menu until 10:30PM
Fri & Sat 5:30pm - 10pm Bar Menu until 11:00pm
Social Hour: Sun-Fri 5:00PM-6:30PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Franey

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 1833 has several options for private dining and banquet parties. Please email us at groupdining@restaurant1833.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Team: (831) 643-1833

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: groupdining@restaurant1833.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Cozy (17)
Historic (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Fireplace (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Fun (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Private Room (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This was the second time we dined at 1833. The first time it was really good. This time was one of the top 5 meals we have ever had. Perfect Sazerac & sapphire martini, crafted focaccia, perfectly-cooked new York strip, corn and chorizo risotto & brownie-pudding for desert. Doesn't get much better!! Water was cool - just enough checking in then left us alone! Perfect!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance, awesome location, loved the house history and interior design. However, the food was, by far, the best part. The brussell sprouts are the most scrumptious I've tasted. The steak just melts in your mouth. Everything was more than amazing. Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Get the Brussel Sprouts!!! They were amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food. Maybe a little more attention to detail when seating reservations-a two top seated next to a young family are two different experiences for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Wanted to LOVE this place as it was for our anniversary and we haven't been out in over a year as a couple.
Ambiance is amazing. Sadly we weren't seated in th cool areas though- had I known, I would ask to be in the house, not in the garden room. The garden room could be any spot in any run of the mill restaurant. The other rooms are way more interesting and beautiful.
Food? Meh. Underwhelming. My risotto (again! I wanted to love it!) was soupy, the ham inside super hard and way over-parmesaned. I've made better risottos myself and I'm just an average cook.

The servers all very charming, helpful, an attentive - will try again, but maybe just appetizers and drinks in the cool bar.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was ok. Very expensive. Water was disgusting. Tasted salty and no ice available.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We had an amazing meal and the staff was very attentive. Head Chef came out to our table and explained everything. Drinks were great too! Looking forward to going back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food is consistently delicious and creative, and the staff is friendly and low key. Go early - the restaurant itself is really special - interesting rooms and lots of inviting, comfortable seating for just hanging out and enjoying an expertly-made cocktail before your meal.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I decided to try 1833 one more time after walking out about a year and a half ago. At that time they had a chef that made a complete changeover. It wasn't the original restaurant that I had been to several times and loved it. When I read that another new chef had taken over, I was excited to try it out because of the ambiance of this very historied old house.
We came into an open door where the hostess was hiding, sorry, I mean sleeping. She was yawning and couldn't stop when we walked up. Your first impression is your last impression. I gave our name and asked where we would be seated. I was told that the only room open was the bottom floor, the upstairs isn't open on Thursday nights. I made mention that I clearly requested the upstairs and why wasn't I notified? All I got was a shrug of the shoulders.
We were sat in the no ambience back room; very disappointing as it was my 60th birthday. The service crew were back to wearing their black and white checkerboard shirts with bowties, how rediculous. One saving grace was the excellent service crew!
The menu was small and uneventful. We ordered and fhe food was prompt, however, very disappointing. Steak tartar was disguised by other toppings so you couldn't taste the rich beef taste. The brussel sprouts were so sweet that you didn't know what you were eating. Artichoke flatbread was excellent. Next came my Asian tri-tip. Let's just say that they could have served me teriyaki jerky and it would have been the same, heck maybe they did.
When we were ordering I asked if there were any specials not listed on the menu and was told no. We later overhead our waiter mentioning that they had braised brisket, only to find out that it mysteriously was added to the menu, what gives?
When we were asked if we wanted desert we passed, but expected something because of my birthday, nothing but an over inflated bill. Don't waste your money or time here! They believe that the ambiance will overcome the poor quality of food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The ambiance was lovely as were the staff. We were greeted in a very welcoming way. The appetizers were amazing. The entrees were a disappointment - two were overly salted and one was just blah. Our waiter could not have been nicer and really tried to help us - that means a lot! The chef sent over a dessert which was so tasty! I would recommend this restaurant and will give it another try - it could have been an off night.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 20, 2017

There was a charming sophisticated feel to 1833. Absolutely beautiful. Food and drinks were amazing and atmosphere could not have been better. I was only slightly disappointed with the staff. I had made my reservations for my boyfriend's birthday 3 weeks in advance and called the week before to request where I wanted to sit. I asked if it was okay to move to that patio area after dinner. They told me it would be fine, but I was uniformed that the patio area was closing to an engagement party at 7:30. So we were only able to sit out there for 30 minutes. Also, I felt that the waiter judge my request for the bar menu in the dining area which made me feel uncomfortable. At times it seemed the staff gave off a superior vibe which made me feel unwelcome too. Also the staff cared more about the private event than the rest of the customers. I understand that they paid a lot of money to rent the patio area but it is still important to entertain all guests. Even though I felt this way I would still recommend 1833 to anyone because all of the goods out weighed this negative. I am looking forward to my next visit and hope it will be a better outcome.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Ambiance and food were both good, although there is a limited menu. Service was aweful, long wait despite a reservation and cocktail server was inattentive.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was rather disappointing, though the ambiance was lovely.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was good. Our service was a little scattered - twice food that wasn't ours was brought to the table and we had to let them know that even though we did order those dishes, they probably weren't ours because of how quickly they came out. Everyone was very nice and the inside is charming. I would recommend trying for sure!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Absolutely divine! Loved every single bit of it all - food was exquisite, ambiance was perfect, and we loved loved loved our evening at 1833. A house with an amazing history :)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

What a meal! Every dish was phenomenal. Possibly the best falafel I've ever had, the combinations of flavor were so complex and we'll thought out. Whenever we are in Monterey we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Not the 1833 of Old. Our last visit to 1833 was about three year ago, and we had difficulty obtaining a reservation. On our recent Saturday visit the restaurant had about twenty diners and only one of the several dining areas was being used. The cocktails before dinner were quite good, wines were expensive (very few reds under $100), and the food a real disappointment. Their mushroom appetizer was excellent, entrees were OK, except for their New York which was horrible. At $55.00 a diner would expect a fantastic course. Instead the person next to me was served chunks of steak (about the size of large stew meat-a little different but acceptable), cooked as ordered but covered in the most God awful sauce imaginable. She left over half of her meat on the plate. I couldn't stand to see it go to waste, so I offered to finish it. After two bites I left the remainder. Desserts were too sweet. I was embarrassed that I recommended the restaurant to my fellow diners. All agreed they wouldn't return. There are too many very good to excellent restaurants in the Monterey/Carmel area where diners can get a much better meal and at lower prices.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on May 6, 2017

There was mud in one of the oysters, and the steaks were ice cold.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Amazing service from the minute we walked in. The Somm Bernie is wonderful, and our server Al took great care of us, as did the rest of the staff. Felt like royalty!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Enjoyed a very good meal for my hubby's birthday. It was our first experience at 1833 and won't be our last. Our server, Al, was outstanding as was Benny the sommelier. Perfect wine recommendations and a few extra sips to entice us. The Korean tri tip and Hyderabadi curry were delicious, as was the falafel appetizer and lemon ice box pie for dessert. An excellent evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Pretty sad to see this restaurant going downhill since the last chef left. For the last two meals they were very disappointing. The menu was not exciting; drinks were too overpriced; food quality was declining. I went there on a Friday and lots of tables unoccupied. I don't think I will be back again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great venue. Food was inundated with garlic and onion. Menu was odd. No bread because of an issue with the pastry chef. Bizarre.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Food and service were very good. Music in dining room was too loud - better for bar area. Wine list markups seemed quite high, making evening expensive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

it was highly recommended, maybe i had higher expectations. it was just good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We love this place! This time we had Happy Hour cocktails on the patio before dinner. The weather was perfect and service was great. The staff always plays along with our questions about the haunted Stokes Adobe. The menu changes daily, so the selection can be limited, but very fresh. Everything from a Ramen type dish, salmon, chicken to flatbread/taco creation was ordered at our table. After dinner, our waitress had taken the time to show us around the old Stokes Adobe and that was a really fun part of the evening as well. We come here for dinner and drinks every time we visit Monterey

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant is very unique and the food is outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Restaurant 1833 was a spectacular experience for my group visiting from Santa Cruz. We enjoyed the personal attention from kitchen staff, their insights on each menu item and a visit from the lead bartender, Josh Perry, who shared his notes on his very tasty, unique and thought-provoking cocktails. The food items were creative, presented beautifully and delectable—our hats are off to Executive Chef Mikey Adams. He's truly a culinary innovator. My friends and I will certainly be returning to 1833. —Joel Hersch

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Cozy, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We left this place with a feeling that leadership was on vacation and the junior staff were eager to do as little as possible. I made a reservation for 2, with a request of a "Romantic table", if possible" for 7:30 p.m. We were running late so we asked to move the reservation to 8:00 p.m.which was impossible, which we understand when you are running a busy place. We arrived and the 75% of the restaurant must have been empty, only two table on the second floor and a few tables by on the first floor, 4 people sitting in the bar area. Yet our romantic table was the absolute closest table to the kitchen entrance, ensure all traffic between the kitchen and tables had to pass by our table. The chairs are way too low, or the table top to high, leaving you in a very uncomfortable angel when eating, and i am over 6 feet tall. When we left we walk the entire restaurant again, it was very empty, so we never understood why were given the worst table and could not change our time or the reservation. The food was outstanding the waitress was great however the entire experience was mediocre.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The food was excellent. Well crafted cocktails and an excellent ambiance made for a memorable dinner. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We enjoyed Social Hour at the bar, where our server was Bijan; we enjoyed the nachos and the Castroville Artichoke Frybread. Then, we had a great table in the main dining room where our server was Al. For our first course, we shared an order of the Hawaiian Bread. For our second course, we each had an order of the Halibut Tataki. For our entree course, my friend had the risotto, and I had the skirt steak flatbread. Yum! Bravo!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is creative and spectacular....the bar is lovely and the location is wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

1833 was absolutely fantastic. The food was interesting, creative, and filling. The space is very romantic and unique. We will definitely be visiting again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We absolutely loved it.....split 3 different plates and each was amazing. This place is a must if you're in Monterey.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a great time at 1833. Originally we saw that they had no openings but then were able to book a table. The food is amazing—and I am thoroughly enjoying my leftovers a day later too. The servers were great and offered wonderful suggestions. The artichoke fry bread was one of our faves. And the brussels sprouts are amazing---yes, brussels sprouts!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Stingy with the alcohol
They measure every drink
And the wine by the glass was not full

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always good. The Brussels Sprouts are amazing, and I love the Hawaiian Rolls with the pineapple/ham spread. Tried the Ramen this time--new on the menu. It was great.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Food was almost inedible and service was amateurish

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The music was blaring so loud over our head that we could not talk. The selection was anything but romantic for a birthday.

The under-cooked pork was chewy and took 30 minutes to arrive on a bed of cold rice.

The wine was good but very expensive. Bread is extra $5 and the meals are on the high end compared to Monterey Restaurants of comparable venu, so the total result was very disappointing. It has Grasing's prices without the quality.

They push the appetizers fairly hard, which cost as much as most meals so that you will not notice the 30 to 40 minutes it takes to get the meal to you.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Had not been to 1833 for awhile. Food and service was good. Creative menu choices.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.