About 1833

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Sun-Thur 6:00PM - 9:30PM Bar menu until 10:30PM
Fri & Sat 5:30pm - 10pm Bar Menu until 11:00pm
Social Hour: Sun-Fri 5:00PM-6:30PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Franey

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 1833 has several options for private dining and banquet parties. Please email us at groupdining@restaurant1833.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Team: (831) 643-1833

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: groupdining@restaurant1833.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (33)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
See All
Romantic (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Bar Seating (20)
Fireplace (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fun (10)
Cozy (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Private Room (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Family Style (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (1)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1634 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Social hour was a great deal with some of their signature cocktails and appetizers at a great price. Our waiter was super attentive and friendly through out our dining experience. He made sure to give us recommendations on all food courses, super knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients. The ambience of this historic spot is awesome! I can't wait to come back and hang out in one of the other rooms like the library or the lounge area.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was very friendly and professional but it could not make up for how disappointing the food was. The nachos consisted of two chips. The risotto was under cooked. Over priced without the quality to back it up. Really was wanting to like this more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to 1833 several times before and thought it was fantastic but this time I was unhappy with the taste of the fish entree and with the way in which my dissatisfaction was handled by the waitress.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The setting, which was home to a governor, is quite beautiful. Service was outstanding. The flavors of the various dishes were generally complex. We were somewhat disappointed in a few aspects. Our entrees were lukewarm and served with cold plates. Servings are small. Bread, though interesting, all comes with a cost. I had read rave reviews on the short ribs, but there were only three or four 1-inch cubes on a goulash. Although warned the outside was crispy, it felt overcooked. The pork loin was disappointing. Overall, this was a fine dining experience that was expensive, but not that satisfying.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food was very good. Chocolate custard dessert was incredible! Would appreciate a few more traditional menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic dining experience! If you get Ryan as your waiter, you are guaranteed great service.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

1833 was simply perfect. The food was amazingly different. The menus has options with flavor from around the world and all comes together tastefully. The cocktail and wine menu is amazing. The ambiance itself is a historic mansion in Monterey with an amazingly spooky backstory. If you want a night to remember, this is the perfect place. You'll never forget it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So good! Creative cocktails, stellar service, very good food. When I first sat down the menu didn't really excite but we took suggestions from our server and he hit it out of the park. Make sure you try the Brussels sprouts!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have dined at 1833 many times over the past 5 years. We loved the first few years when the food had a southern flair which seemed like a great match for the ambiance. The chef and menu changed a number of times since opening and this past time all of us were disappointed with our dinner. The menu was not balanced. Most every item was smoked or had a smoked element. The cocktails and the service were both very good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

What a change for the worse since my last visit 3 years ago: while I had previously had a fantastic meal, this dining experience left me extremely disappointed. The menu did not offer many options, our appetizer and meal was overly salted and extremely greasy. Very sad in choosing this Restaurant when so many great dining options in the the Monterey area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I had the tri-tip and rib-eye and they were both delicious.

Staff were friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my 3rd time at the restaurant. The management had changed and so had the chef and the menu. We didn't enjoy the new menu at all. The food wasn't awful but I wou

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We arrived at this restaurant late night to celebrate our engagement. The host was a little strict about seating us exactly at the time of our reservation (which seemed strange) but it was fine.

After this things only went up from here. Our server was incredibly friendly and full of good recommendations. I got a bourbon drink which was good. The Brussels sprouts appetizer is simply outstanding.

The meals are hearty and really great. I suggest any pizza or the Mexican chorizo clam chowder in a bread bowl. It was not too creamy, and in fact a bit spicy and full of chorizo.

The donut holes/apple fritters were perfectly fried and coated with sugar

They also provided a small scoop of ice cream with "Congrats" written in chocolate ice cream. Great attention to detail

The space had room and a nice darker rustic ambiance

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very cool spot, the bar scene was happening. The service was good. The food fell a bit short. The tartar had an overpowering amount of cheese, the artichoke dip had 4 pieces of artichoke, the fried octopus was cut too thin so it was mainly breadding tho the creamed greens were very tasty underneath and nice with the hazelnuts. Beef and pasta was tasty.

Service was warm and friendly through out the entire meal. For dessert we had a tart which was done well even if we weren't a fan of the molasses or marmite flavor. However the ice cream was very icy.

The restaurant is georgous and worth checking out, just wish the food would match our expectations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First, my friend and I went to the bar, where we were served by the very talented bartender Bijan. Next, we sat for a while outside by the fire pits under the redwood trees. Then, we had a great seat in the main dining room, where our server was the attentive waitress Nicolle. For our first course, we shared an order of nachos. For our second course, my friend had the Kale and Manchego Salad, and I had the Castroville Artichoke Frybread. For our third course, we each had the Goulash entree. Yum! We had a delightful chat with Chef Mikey, who is very nice. Bravo!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Asked twice for a drink refill, never got it. Got conned into a bottle of water (versus tap- be careful when you ask for water). Food runner took our apps while there was still items on the service plate, and our mouths were full of food. Then we waited 20 minutes for our entree, and still no drink refill. Just get a drink at the bar, cause that's awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very nice venue and we had a private dining room which was very nice. Room was a bit too dark and had everyone reaching for their phones and flashlight apps to read the menu. Service was pretty good, a bit laggy between visits but attentive.

The food was ok, was hoping for better flavors. Parts of six. Steaks were all over cooked and pre sliced??? Who does that? Chowder and burger were very good. Pork loins were just ok - too dry.

Cocktails were excellent! Everyone loved their drinks and the wine was also very good.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very difficult for out of towners to find as it is so dark with no sign. Finally noticed a menu outside. Extremely noisy. Bartenders and wait staff were polite

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Al was incredible. Bernie is a rockstar. Chef Mikey is killing it. Josh is a genius. The whole team is top of the line! Go 1833! Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Wood Oven, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I decided to come here after hearing such great reviews from my foodie friends. I brought my wife and 5 year old. I looked at the menu and everything looked amazing. I explained to our server that I was stuck on a few options, and if she could make any suggestions. She not only picked out a great wine to go with our meal, she had the chef come out to our table and explain the dishes him self! Chef had brought out some house made chorizo for my son to try, and made custom pizza for him. Chef Mikey delivered incredible hospitality and an exceptional food experience. Everything that we ordered was prepared impeccably, and we enjoyed every last bite. From the crispy octopus(my favorite) to the pumpkin cake and cappuccino; we were blown away. I can't thank all of the 1833 staff enough for such an amazing food experience. You can expect us to be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best meal I've had, ever. Everything on the menu was awesome. We had brussel spouts, oysters, squash and smoked salmon all were superb

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I loved, loved, loved this place. What a funny, quirky, & overall amazing place. I will be back. One of the more memorable places I have been to eat in a while.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great food, drinks, and service. Very neat place, loved the character. VERY disappointed in our seating. They sat us in row type seating. Long bench seating with tables one after the other. Horrible! Too close to people next to you and the people on both sides were so loud we couldn't hardly hear each other! Not my idea of seating when you go to a nice restaurant. Felt like the Cheesecake Factory bar seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Clever tastes, very good service, can iron out some portion and serving issues but in general quite good...

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Ryan was the best sever we had it was a magical experience I would go back just for him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 4, 2017

The food and the service were excellent, but the portions were way too little, I loved my Agnolotti but only 4 pieces, C'mon, and that they charge $8.00 for bread as a starter, aside from those 2 things the whole experience was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, 1833 was perfection. They've set the bar to a new level in Monterey that is completely unsurpassable by any other restaurant on the peninsula. The special New Year's menu was absolutely amazing. The wait staff was very attentive (again, as always). Overall, our experience is always beyond our expectations and gets better with each visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and atmosphere were great. We got a drink at the bar prior and that was fantastic and welcoming. However our server for dinner seemed busy and overworked. He was absent most of the night. We went there for the haunted house aspect, however the server was not there to answer any questions. Albeit it was a Friday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was wonderful as was service. However, music was blasting in all the separate dining rooms as well as the bar. We asked multiple times for them to lower it, but they said they tried. It never got lower. This detracted from our Neal and our excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Artisnal comfort food experience with personable service; however be ready to be much lighter in the pocketbook if getting a full course meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The ambience, drinks and music were great so we had a good night in our little booth. The food was more comforting than the fine dining we expected, but also not too expensive. By comforting I mean often the dishes were too sweet (glazed Brussels sprouts), too cheesy (pumpkin risotto) or too salty (clam chowder), rather than letting more subtle natural flavours shine through. The salmon ceviche was the best for this reason - even though it was in a spicy sauce, it had a taste of the sea.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Private Room, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We enjoyed an exceptional meal and creative cocktails in a side room with a fireplace, which was perfect for our group of five. The service was spot-on; knowledgeable without being pretentious, timely without hovering. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

In a historic building built in 1833, so the name sake. Not an extensive menu but each of the dishes is well prepared, seasoned and served hot and in a creative format. A well balanced wine list with prices across the range, corkage is $25. Highly recommended along with reservations. Parking is street parking and that can be problematic, but worth the effort and patience. They are very attentive to the customers needs if there are special requests.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food is absolutely fabulous. The ambiance and service are tops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was very cold in the restaurant and the service was only adequate. The bar was fun with interesting drink choices

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Amazing place. Service was personal and impeccable. We will go again, and again, and again.....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food not as good as it one was , great atmosphere, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was bad - too salty, too much dressing on the salad. And the worst part is that the waiter was rude. He made a pregnant woman feel bad for asking if the cheese was pasteurized and made vegetarians feel bad about asking to remove the meat in the dish. I was appalled by the service and low quality food. Urge others not to dine at 1833.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food is overpriced!!! I tried a variety of dishes and it seemed like the chef tried too hard. All the food that I tried had a strong taste of a certain ingredient. Like one had too much herbs, another one had too much lemon which made it too sour. It was just not good food for the price. I've had quality food and I can tell you this place is definitely not good at all.

Tags: Dancing, Fireplace, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 9, 2016

1833 Nailed it!

Great food, excellent service, and considerate attention to our "business" dinner. While I am disappointed the bar is not as adept, nor has as many creative selections as 2-3 years ago, the cocktails we did try were awesome.

The menu was creative and delivery spot on. Way to go 1833.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 8, 2016

1833 with new chef is back on my list of have to go there at least once a week....amazingly flavorful food and very accessible to all types of diners. The always knowledgeable and friendly wait staff just complement it all the more. Congrats on the changes you have scored a winner here

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Surprised my fiancee with a weekend getaway to Monterey and specifically planned our dinner for 1833. The food was delicious, our compliments to the Chef. Great service, ambiance, and we love the historic nature and interior design of the space. One of my favorite restaurants in Northern California.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

this restaurant was great for our outing. we came for date night and didn't want to leave! our server nicole was so polite, informational about the food and so sweet!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Wonderful historic building and top notch waiters. Unfortunately, the menu is limited and mostly with narrow appeal. It seems an effort is being made to be "different" but in so doing will be a turn off to many diners.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was the most memorable dining experience I have ever had. The food was amazing but the service was impeccable! From hostesss to server to Somonier! 5 star!! And the Chef sent us 3 complimentary hour's dourves to celebrate our honeymoon. We especially liked waiting in the library for our table!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was executed well, although not as good as the previous year. Sides were spot-on; turkey was lacking in taste and portion size. Pumpkin tarts were served chilled and the flavor could not be fully appreciated. Obviously not baked same-day so somewhat bland and crust was soggy. Pecan pie slices fared better.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Family Style, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The ambiance was excellent, except for the background music. For a special occasion classics would have been ideal for the heritage restaurant, not rock!!

The food was outstanding as well as the service, they were a bit stinging with the wine especially since we paid $70.

I highly recommend it, next time I'll order one glass of wine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

1833 was a gem - travelling for Thanksgiving is sometimes hard - you miss the traditions. Our Thanksgiving meal was a pleasure - a mixture of tradition, creative gastronomy and just delicious food served family style. Our wait staff was informative, friendly and attentive - Bernie's pairing of wine were on point and fun - and the surroundings were beautiful. Above all the food - it was wonderful! Thank you 1833 for making our holiday special.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was wonderful - the service was great. There's a very cozy library with a fireplace to enjoy one of their fabulous cocktails. The music didn't really suit the atmosphere- tried a little too hard to be hip. I would eat here again a heartbeat!

Tags: Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our party of 5 were on vacation and read about this restaurant. We made our reservation and it did not disappoint. From the drinks to the desserts, everything was spectacular. I love the cocunut drink I had, the salmon tostadas, the pork, the pasta, and on and on. The only thing is that it is not kid friendly, which is always a challenge when you have kids, but other than that everything was absolutely delicious. The history of the place and its decor was also very charming and appealing.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.