Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About 1833

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Sun-Thur 6:00PM - 9:30PM Bar menu until 10:30PM
Fri & Sat 5:30pm - 10pm Bar Menu until 11:00pm
Social Hour: Sun-Fri 5:00PM-6:30PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Franey

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 1833 has several options for private dining and banquet parties. Please email us at groupdining@restaurant1833.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Team: (831) 643-1833

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: groupdining@restaurant1833.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (33)
Historic (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fireplace (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Private Room (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Casual (5)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1654 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

I hate to leave a bad review, however I must, because this dinner tonight was below average. Our server Ryan, though friendly, seemed to drop the ball on a number of occasions throughout the meal. We arrived early and were seated. We ordered our 3 courses, and then didn't see or hear from anyone for 40 minutes. I had to ask when our appetizers were coming. Apparently a large party had food going out near the same time. We received the brussels sprouts appetizer first. It was incredibly good! Best of the evening. After that, the next course arrived. Nothing spectacular, but tasty enough. Entrees arrived quite a bit later, and were not awful, but they were not what I had expected from a restaurant with a reputation like this one had online. Each entree had one great component, and a bunch of mediocre items that didn't allow the main ingredient to shine. We did not have dessert. I felt like we were simply ignored time and time again. A table of two young women sat next to us before our first food arrived, and were done eating at the same time as us (and actually cancelled an item that was taking a long time). Then a new table sat on the other side of us, and they were greeted by at least 5 employees, and given the star treatment from the moment they sat down. An owner, or a regular, perhaps. But after a meal of feeling ignored or forgotten, it was like a final slap in the face, to see that you will be properly taken care of here only if you are important enough. I worked in restaurants for over 25 years, and I always worked under the idea that EVERY table is a VIP. Every person in your station deserved to be treated like they matter. If I had been the server tonight, my table would have been looked after far better than we were. In all, we were there for 2.5 hours, and our check was over $140. I did not want to leave a good tip, but felt obliged to because they bring an iPad to the table for you to tip and sign while the server stands there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

As a local it is embarrassing to say this was my first time to partake i 1833. It was amazing!
The food was so creative and delicious. The Sommelier suggested a wonderful bottle of wine from South America. Outstanding red with a new grape I had not heard of before. The service as impeccable - great timing on everything. We shared a St. Charles Absinthe - melted the traditional way over a sugar cube. What fun - and an acquired taste for sure.
Great bar.
I'll be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

What a special restaurant in the heart of Monterey! Would definitely recommend.

Great Things:

1. The building! It has such a rich history, with various owners (and hauntings...) which speak to the rich history of the area. Great decor and attention to detail for what you see.

2. The cocktails! These bartenders really wowed us with the cereal killer, the smokey and the bandit, and the wide variety of other specialty drinks. The bartenders we spoke with were knowledgeable, kind and excellent representations of this great restaurant.

3. The nachos! This item wasn't on the dinner menu (we later noticed it on the bar menu) and we're happy our server recommended it so enthusiastically. Really delicious/modern take on an otherwise uneventful dish. It was the best thing we ate.

Use Improvement:

1. The music - The mix sounded like we were in a Spencer's gifts or a Forever 21, not a restaurant with $60 steak entrees on the menu. Hopefully an easy fix to find something that matches the high-touch decor and settings they had obviously planned meticulously.

2. Our server - He was an over-talker who often said things that I found right on the border of offensive/in poor taste. He was really enthusiastic, really nice, but again, at this price point you'd want a "classier" experience with someone who doesn't give a negative opinion on how you like to take your drinks.

3. Credit Card Payments on a Square Reader - When the waiter brought over the square reader, he hovered over us as we selected the tip and signed. This made my partner uncomfortable. When we paid at the bar, the bartender was much better at providing the iPad, allowing us some discretion to input our tip and sign, and take it back. Maybe this experience is more linked to the server than the method of payment, but it's worth looking into if others have expressed the same issue. Also, as the Square is portable, the server shouldn't take our credit card away then return with it and the reader.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

A real disappointment! We had not dined at 1833 previously and took friends from the Bay area. Disappointment from the beginning. As we walked to the front entrance, a group of people were sitting in the court yard apparently waiting to be seated. We were greeted with a number of "f bombs" as they conversed loudly amongst themselves. I can deal with that but with females in our group, we were put off greatly. The hostess seating us seemed to be straining to relax and greet us with warmth which is what I expect from a host or hostess. We were seated immediately at the time of our reservation. After being seated, we did not see a server for about 10 minutes, OK they were likely busy. We ordered appetizers including Lemon Thyme Focaccia Bread. I do not recall such small portions of any appetizer I have ever ordered. Serving size of the entrée & desserts was also unbelievably small. I do not mind paying for great meals, but this was ridiculous in terms of the size of servings and the price charged. Prices were comparable to most restaurants in Carmel, Pacific Grove, Monterey but the size of portions and the quality of the food compared to others left much to be desired. We were not impressed with the wine guy, as we called him, or the servers. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had. Truly a unique and excellent experience.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The atmosphere was beautiful. That was where the charm ended. We had dirty silverware that had to be replaced. They served our appetizer in a timely fashion, but we didn't receive our drink order for 15 minutes. There was a 30 minute delay between finishing our appetizer and being served the main course. So dinner took twice as long as it should've, most of it was waiting. The food was very mediocre and portions were small. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone. The value was very poor for what you were getting. It's bad pub food dressed up to be a nice restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Most memorable: The Brussels Sprouts are amazing. We also shared the Hawaiian rolls which are fresh, light and come with a yummy pineapple and bacon butter. So unique!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went with high expectations. Hostess and waiter were pleasant Unfortunately the menu left a lot to be desired. I had gone to the restaurants web sight before booking a table and was very impressed with the menu. The menu given did not reflect their web sight offerings at all . I asked the waiter he said the menu had changed and that was an old menu on the web. The menu was dated so it may change daily. Did not find that information on the web site. We ordered a beverage and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

There were three of us dining. Our server was somewhat condescending in attitude towards us.
When we paid the bill, the server told us when we asked that they did not give a credit card receipt, just the itemized receipt and abruptly walked away.
The manager was gracious and offered to email citing "IT difficulties". When the receipt was mailed it was for the wrong diner, so we had someone else's credit card receipt! Following that the restaurant sent us another receipt for the same person. Really not on their game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is mainly a fine dining restaurant, though it also has a nice bar. It seems a bit odd that there is no category for fine dining above.

I was particularly happy with the winter squash and mushroom risotto. It had a fair amount of cheese on it, so it was more substantial than it sounds.

It seems to be pricier than it used to be, though it was not cheap before. But definitely one of the best meals in Monterey. Good place for a special date or for meeting old friends that you seldom see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

First time there, based on menu and review. The prawn appetizers was very good, multi layered flavors and textures. The applewood smoked pork loin was a huge disappointment. The meat was dry and uni-flavored. The greens over powered everything else with their bitterness. The pumpkin carrot cake was great. Their only ports were tawny and the waiter offered no other possibilities for a dessert liqueur. In fact the waiter was absent most of the time. The busser was more attentive than the waiter. Good beginning and ending dishes, but not entree, nor waiter, nor price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

beautiful restaurant and amazing staff. in love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Fascinating historical location. Service somewhat slow. Honored reservation on time. Somewhat small menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Everything was top notch. The setting and ambiance sit well in Monterey. The service was excellent and the food exceeded our high expectations. All in all a very nice evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food and friendly staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We wish we could have loved 1833 as we were really prepared to love it from the moment we saw the beautiful historic building and the very cool indoor/outdoor vibe. However, our service was really very bad. The server was totally inattentive - when we got his attention he was knowledgeable but he only came by occasionally (rarely, in fact) and was very slow on wine service throughout the meal. They had numerous servers and runners working, but they all seemed assiduously devoted to looking at their shoes rather than scanning the room. One problem is that there are many rooms so it is a hard place to staff, but the staff are not well trained and in fact this left us wishing they WERE better trained as we loved the space and most of the food. The dishes were a mixed bag - some interesting and some very poorly executed. But overall it's a great space and a great concept. Please hire someone to train the staff so you can be successful!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Was amazing! Good was great and the service was even better. Was there celebrating my girlfriend's birthday but once the staff found out AI was a pastry chef at a restaurant out of town they sent tons of complimentary food including a bottle of wine. Will definitely become our spot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food was better than average (not superb), but the service was inconsistent. I had focaccia, which was fine, and a kale salad with Manchego cheese, which was excellent. I had chocolate custard for dessert, which was above average. The service started slow, but it did improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Social hour was a great deal with some of their signature cocktails and appetizers at a great price. Our waiter was super attentive and friendly through out our dining experience. He made sure to give us recommendations on all food courses, super knowledgeable about the menu and ingredients. The ambience of this historic spot is awesome! I can't wait to come back and hang out in one of the other rooms like the library or the lounge area.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was very friendly and professional but it could not make up for how disappointing the food was. The nachos consisted of two chips. The risotto was under cooked. Over priced without the quality to back it up. Really was wanting to like this more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I have been to 1833 several times before and thought it was fantastic but this time I was unhappy with the taste of the fish entree and with the way in which my dissatisfaction was handled by the waitress.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The setting, which was home to a governor, is quite beautiful. Service was outstanding. The flavors of the various dishes were generally complex. We were somewhat disappointed in a few aspects. Our entrees were lukewarm and served with cold plates. Servings are small. Bread, though interesting, all comes with a cost. I had read rave reviews on the short ribs, but there were only three or four 1-inch cubes on a goulash. Although warned the outside was crispy, it felt overcooked. The pork loin was disappointing. Overall, this was a fine dining experience that was expensive, but not that satisfying.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food was very good. Chocolate custard dessert was incredible! Would appreciate a few more traditional menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fantastic dining experience! If you get Ryan as your waiter, you are guaranteed great service.

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

1833 was simply perfect. The food was amazingly different. The menus has options with flavor from around the world and all comes together tastefully. The cocktail and wine menu is amazing. The ambiance itself is a historic mansion in Monterey with an amazingly spooky backstory. If you want a night to remember, this is the perfect place. You'll never forget it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

So good! Creative cocktails, stellar service, very good food. When I first sat down the menu didn't really excite but we took suggestions from our server and he hit it out of the park. Make sure you try the Brussels sprouts!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have dined at 1833 many times over the past 5 years. We loved the first few years when the food had a southern flair which seemed like a great match for the ambiance. The chef and menu changed a number of times since opening and this past time all of us were disappointed with our dinner. The menu was not balanced. Most every item was smoked or had a smoked element. The cocktails and the service were both very good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

What a change for the worse since my last visit 3 years ago: while I had previously had a fantastic meal, this dining experience left me extremely disappointed. The menu did not offer many options, our appetizer and meal was overly salted and extremely greasy. Very sad in choosing this Restaurant when so many great dining options in the the Monterey area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I had the tri-tip and rib-eye and they were both delicious.
Staff were friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Authentic, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my 3rd time at the restaurant. The management had changed and so had the chef and the menu. We didn't enjoy the new menu at all. The food wasn't awful but I wou

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We arrived at this restaurant late night to celebrate our engagement. The host was a little strict about seating us exactly at the time of our reservation (which seemed strange) but it was fine.

After this things only went up from here. Our server was incredibly friendly and full of good recommendations. I got a bourbon drink which was good. The Brussels sprouts appetizer is simply outstanding.

The meals are hearty and really great. I suggest any pizza or the Mexican chorizo clam chowder in a bread bowl. It was not too creamy, and in fact a bit spicy and full of chorizo.

The donut holes/apple fritters were perfectly fried and coated with sugar
They also provided a small scoop of ice cream with "Congrats" written in chocolate ice cream. Great attention to detail

The space had room and a nice darker rustic ambiance

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very cool spot, the bar scene was happening. The service was good. The food fell a bit short. The tartar had an overpowering amount of cheese, the artichoke dip had 4 pieces of artichoke, the fried octopus was cut too thin so it was mainly breadding tho the creamed greens were very tasty underneath and nice with the hazelnuts. Beef and pasta was tasty.

Service was warm and friendly through out the entire meal. For dessert we had a tart which was done well even if we weren't a fan of the molasses or marmite flavor. However the ice cream was very icy.

The restaurant is georgous and worth checking out, just wish the food would match our expectations.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First, my friend and I went to the bar, where we were served by the very talented bartender Bijan. Next, we sat for a while outside by the fire pits under the redwood trees. Then, we had a great seat in the main dining room, where our server was the attentive waitress Nicolle. For our first course, we shared an order of nachos. For our second course, my friend had the Kale and Manchego Salad, and I had the Castroville Artichoke Frybread. For our third course, we each had the Goulash entree. Yum! We had a delightful chat with Chef Mikey, who is very nice. Bravo!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Asked twice for a drink refill, never got it. Got conned into a bottle of water (versus tap- be careful when you ask for water). Food runner took our apps while there was still items on the service plate, and our mouths were full of food. Then we waited 20 minutes for our entree, and still no drink refill. Just get a drink at the bar, cause that's awesome.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very nice venue and we had a private dining room which was very nice. Room was a bit too dark and had everyone reaching for their phones and flashlight apps to read the menu. Service was pretty good, a bit laggy between visits but attentive.

The food was ok, was hoping for better flavors. Parts of six. Steaks were all over cooked and pre sliced??? Who does that? Chowder and burger were very good. Pork loins were just ok - too dry.

Cocktails were excellent! Everyone loved their drinks and the wine was also very good.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very difficult for out of towners to find as it is so dark with no sign. Finally noticed a menu outside. Extremely noisy. Bartenders and wait staff were polite

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Al was incredible. Bernie is a rockstar. Chef Mikey is killing it. Josh is a genius. The whole team is top of the line! Go 1833! Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Wood Oven, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I decided to come here after hearing such great reviews from my foodie friends. I brought my wife and 5 year old. I looked at the menu and everything looked amazing. I explained to our server that I was stuck on a few options, and if she could make any suggestions. She not only picked out a great wine to go with our meal, she had the chef come out to our table and explain the dishes him self! Chef had brought out some house made chorizo for my son to try, and made custom pizza for him. Chef Mikey delivered incredible hospitality and an exceptional food experience. Everything that we ordered was prepared impeccably, and we enjoyed every last bite. From the crispy octopus(my favorite) to the pumpkin cake and cappuccino; we were blown away. I can't thank all of the 1833 staff enough for such an amazing food experience. You can expect us to be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best meal I've had, ever. Everything on the menu was awesome. We had brussel spouts, oysters, squash and smoked salmon all were superb

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.