About 1833

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Sun-Thur 6:00PM - 9:30PM Bar menu until 10:30PM
Fri & Sat 5:30pm - 10pm Bar Menu until 11:00pm
Social Hour: Sun-Fri 5:00PM-6:30PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Franey

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 1833 has several options for private dining and banquet parties. Please email us at groupdining@restaurant1833.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Team: 831-643-1833x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: groupdining@restaurant1833.com

Restaurant Photos

angel food cake - 1833, Monterey, CA
Buffalo Style Sweatbreads - 1833, Monterey, CA
Braised Beef Shortribs - 1833, Monterey, CA
Guajillo Chili Crusted Baby Back Pork Ribs - 1833, Monterey, CA
Fire Roasted Sunchokes - 1833, Monterey, CA
Oysters - 1833, Monterey, CA
Coke Farm Baby Lettuces - 1833, Monterey, CA
Pea And Grilled Romaine - 1833, Monterey, CA
Salmon - 1833, Monterey, CA
Squid Ink Tagliatelle - 1833, Monterey, CA
The 1833 Burger - 1833, Monterey, CA
Bacon Cheddar Biscuits - 1833, Monterey, CA
Commander In Chief - 1833, Monterey, CA
Blueberry Donut Holes, Buttermilk Sherbet, Candied Lemon - 1833, Monterey, CA
Bacon Cheddar Biscuits With Maple Chili Butter - 1833, Monterey, CA
pan roasted duck breast - 1833, Monterey, CA
Pan Roasted Mahi Mahi  - 1833, Monterey, CA
Hot Buttered Rum - 1833, Monterey, CA
Amuse Bouche - 1833, Monterey, CA
Cocktail - 1833, Monterey, CA
Heirloom Tomato Salad - 1833, Monterey, CA
Rack of Lamb - 1833, Monterey, CA
Bacon Cheddar Biscuts - 1833, Monterey, CA
Avacado, Deep-Fried Jalapenos, Radishes, And Popcorn, Yes Popcorn - 1833, Monterey, CA
Kentucky Waffle - 1833, Monterey, CA
Charred Octopus - 1833, Monterey, CA
Ribeye Steak - 1833, Monterey, CA
Bone Marrow - 1833, Monterey, CA
Booker's Cocoa Nib Butter Bourbon Pudding - 1833, Monterey, CA
Hamachi - 1833, Monterey, CA
Sun-dried tomato and feta biscuits - 1833, Monterey, CA
Pimm's Cup - 1833, Monterey, CA
roasted cauliflower - 1833, Monterey, CA
Quail Stuffed with Mushrooms - 1833, Monterey, CA
Hamachi Crudo With Avacado - 1833, Monterey, CA
Foie Gras With Fig Campote - 1833, Monterey, CA
Sea Bass With Mussels, Leeks And Potatoes - 1833, Monterey, CA
Crusted Hen Egg - 1833, Monterey, CA
English Pea Ravioli - 1833, Monterey, CA
fried chicken - 1833, Monterey, CA
Macaroni & Cheese - 1833, Monterey, CA
Bibb Salad - 1833, Monterey, CA
Peanut Butter Crunch Bar - 1833, Monterey, CA
Waltz Cocktail - 1833, Monterey, CA
Beet Salad - 1833, Monterey, CA
Pizza With Mushrooms And Prosciutto And 2 Poached Eggs - 1833, Monterey, CA
Crispy Hen Egg - 1833, Monterey, CA
Artichoke Soup With Truffel Oil - 1833, Monterey, CA
Foie Gras Plate W/ Cerries - 1833, Monterey, CA
Yamazaki 12 Year - 1833, Monterey, CA
Braised Lamb Shank - 1833, Monterey, CA
Sweet Breads - 1833, Monterey, CA
Baked alaska - 1833, Monterey, CA
Bookers Bourbon Pudding - 1833, Monterey, CA
Pork Belly With Cornbread - 1833, Monterey, CA
Artichoke Soup - 1833, Monterey, CA
Pizza - 1833, Monterey, CA
Calabrese Sausage Pizza - 1833, Monterey, CA
Asparagus And Green Garlic Pizza - 1833, Monterey, CA
Wild Mushroom And Prosciutto Pizza - 1833, Monterey, CA
Pistachio "Parfait" - 1833, Monterey, CA
Caramel Pot De Crème - 1833, Monterey, CA
 Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin - 1833, Monterey, CA
Roasted Bone Marrow - 1833, Monterey, CA
Bread Crusted Branzino - 1833, Monterey, CA
Caramelized Endive - 1833, Monterey, CA
Eggs Benedict - 1833, Monterey, CA
Mocktail - 1833, Monterey, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Special Occasion (35)
Historic (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Romantic (27)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Cozy (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Fireplace (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Private Room (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Family Style (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Scenic View (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Surprised my fiancee with a weekend geta ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Surprised my fiancee with a weekend getaway to Monterey and specifically planned our dinner for 1833. The food was delicious, our compliments to the Chef. Great service, ambiance, and we love the historic nature and interior design of the space. One of my favorite restaurants in Northern California.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this restaurant was great for our outing ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

this restaurant was great for our outing. we came for date night and didn't want to leave! our server nicole was so polite, informational about the food and so sweet!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful historic building and top notc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful historic building and top notch waiters. Unfortunately, the menu is limited and mostly with narrow appeal. It seems an effort is being made to be "different" but in so doing will be a turn off to many diners.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the most memorable dining exper ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This was the most memorable dining experience I have ever had. The food was amazing but the service was impeccable! From hostesss to server to Somonier! 5 star!! And the Chef sent us 3 complimentary hour's dourves to celebrate our honeymoon. We especially liked waiting in the library for our table!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving dinner was executed well, a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was executed well, although not as good as the previous year. Sides were spot-on; turkey was lacking in taste and portion size. Pumpkin tarts were served chilled and the flavor could not be fully appreciated. Obviously not baked same-day so somewhat bland and crust was soggy. Pecan pie slices fared better.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Family Style, Organic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance was excellent, except for t ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The ambiance was excellent, except for the background music. For a special occasion classics would have been ideal for the heritage restaurant, not rock!!

The food was outstanding as well as the service, they were a bit stinging with the wine especially since we paid $70.

I highly recommend it, next time I'll order one glass of wine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

1833 was a gem - travelling for Thanksgi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

1833 was a gem - travelling for Thanksgiving is sometimes hard - you miss the traditions. Our Thanksgiving meal was a pleasure - a mixture of tradition, creative gastronomy and just delicious food served family style. Our wait staff was informative, friendly and attentive - Bernie's pairing of wine were on point and fun - and the surroundings were beautiful. Above all the food - it was wonderful! Thank you 1833 for making our holiday special.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful - the service was ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was wonderful - the service was great. There's a very cozy library with a fireplace to enjoy one of their fabulous cocktails. The music didn't really suit the atmosphere- tried a little too hard to be hip. I would eat here again a heartbeat!

Tags: Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Our party of 5 were on vacation and read ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our party of 5 were on vacation and read about this restaurant. We made our reservation and it did not disappoint. From the drinks to the desserts, everything was spectacular. I love the cocunut drink I had, the salmon tostadas, the pork, the pasta, and on and on. The only thing is that it is not kid friendly, which is always a challenge when you have kids, but other than that everything was absolutely delicious. The history of the place and its decor was also very charming and appealing.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The venue is exceptional. The food is ok ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The venue is exceptional. The food is ok. The chicken appetizer tasted very strange and not good at all. The Brussel sprouts were probably the best I've had. The salmon was very salty. When they ask for still or sparkling water, be advised sparkling will cost you $8. And no complementary birthday dessert.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our favorite restaurants. 1833 ne ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. 1833 never disappoints. The BBQ Tri-tip was fantastic! Al, our server was wonderful, as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great and service was excellent ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great and service was excellent. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Strange place. It might okay if you ju ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Strange place. It might okay if you just wanted to hang outside and drink and eat appetizers on a nice night. We were there to have a nice anniversary dinner. To start I think the hostess had a little too much to drink herself. Had to find her first and then we couldn't understand her. The dinning room was basically empty, 2-3 tables busy yet service was still slow. I had a $48 my strip steak which should have been no more than $20-$25. Wasn't very flavorful and the side dish of potatoes was not good. It may have been an off night but I was not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

We had a great table in the main dining ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a great table in the main dining room, and our server was Al, who brought us perfect cocktails prepared by bartenders Josh and Bijan. We even had the pleasure of meeting Chef Mikey. There were many new items on the menu. For our first course, my friend had the Kale Salad, and I had the Steak Tartare. For our second course, we shared an order of Chilled Oysters and an order of Creamed Greens. For our entree course, my friend had the 1833 Burger, and I had the Rosemary Focaccia. Yum!

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing setting, amazing food, amazing s ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing setting, amazing food, amazing service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is crazy and exciting! What ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The setting is crazy and exciting! What a fun group of people who work here! Loved the food. Choices are creative and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good, service outstanding, barten ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was good, service outstanding, bartender...very slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super location

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Super location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely service and explanations of each ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Lovely service and explanations of each option!

Thank you 1833!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed in my experience ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I was very disappointed in my experience at 1833. We ordered the Korean BBQ steak and the chorizo clam chowder in the bread bowl. The steak was OK but certainly not worth anywhere near the amount we paid. The restaurant should consider removing altogether the chowder, which tasted like eating cheddar cheese soup and nothing like clam chowder, from the menu. We also ordered the Hawaiian bread, which was the only thing we actually liked.

When we were seated, we were greeted shortly thereafter by our waiter Al (or possibly Ed), and that was one of the only times he stopped by our table. This was possibly some of the least attentive service I've ever experienced. I had no water for most of my meal (which was my only drink), and no one stopped by to refill it. We were finished with our food for about 20 without our server stopping by. We just decided to total up by hand how much we owed and laid out cash on the table as we left. No one said anything to us on the way out.

My husband and I are from out of town and were really interested in learning more about the history of the building/restaurant. But, unfortunately, we saw our server on so few occasions that we didn't even get a chance to get this information.

Overall, we were disappointed with our experience and wouldn't come back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food all around at 1833. Esp. lov ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great food all around at 1833. Esp. loved the appetizers and my squid ink pasta with octopus. Great dish. overall a good dinner, loved the gorgeous surroundings.

Our main issue was with our server, who knew absolutely NOTHING about the wines on the menu, and with the sommelier off that day, there should have been someone else to help us with wine. Plus service started out painfully slow and uneven, especially given that the place wasn't too busy when we sat down.

Also, I must say that this restaurant's wine list is really strange. There are certainly good wines, and it is a very large list but with many, if not most, choices over $100 and many much, much more than that. Are you kidding me? This place does not have the kind of food menu that one would expect with wines at these price points. I am quite sure that whoever put together the wine list was not the same person who conceived of the the menu or the overall style of the place. I would bet that they NEVER sell at least 75% of the wines listed. They really need to re-think the wine list and come up with more economical options. This is NOT a Michael Mina or Thomas Keller sort of restaurant yet whoever put this wine list together sure seems to think it is.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

We arrived a little early, so we sat at ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We arrived a little early, so we sat at the bar and were served by Bijan. Then, we had a great table in the main dining room, where our server was Lily. There were several new items on the menu. For our first course, we shared an order of the Hawaiian bread. For our second course, my friend had the kale salad, and I had the arancini. For our third course, we shared an order of the chicken rillettes. For our entrees, my friend had the smoked salmon, and I had the Korean-style ribeye. Yum!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Historic, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Lily was fantastic but the mu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Our server Lily was fantastic but the music was loud 70's classic rock which seems more suited for a taco and beer Lunch than for a relatively expensive dinner in a shabby chic farmhouse.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We loved the atmosphere and the service ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and the service was great. The food was good but it was a bit of a strange menu. Every dish had at least 1-2 ingredients in the description that we had no idea what it was. Im quite sure that most people would be in the same situation. The waiter told us they had a new chef who had been there just a month. I'm wondering if it is a completely new menu from the prior chef.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We must have gone on a bad night. The se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We must have gone on a bad night. The service was TERRIBLE. there was a 12 minute gap between the serving of the first entree and the last. They did comp the last entree. I will give it one more chance with low expectations.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

We have always enjoyed our dinners here ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We have always enjoyed our dinners here and enjoy introducing friends to 1833.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

When we walked in the hostess was very f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

When we walked in the hostess was very friendly and gave us a background story on the restaurant while walking us to our table. Our server Jake was awesome! Very attentive and knowledgeable. He made great food and drink recommendations and was a pleasure. He suggested I try the negroni with banana in it, delicious! Would definitely come back here and it's a really cool place for a drink downstairs too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dinner. The squash entree was s ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Fabulous dinner. The squash entree was super--we did not even know it was vegan, so there you go. The brussels sprouts are the best ever. Can't go wrong with this menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Need to rethink the chef food was under ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Need to rethink the chef food was under cooked or over cooked. We returned on dish they took off the bill. They would would not let us return the others, telling us the black eyed peas were supposed to be hard. Don't go unless you just want to drink

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We had great service and the food and be ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had great service and the food and beverages were excellent. The servings were small for my mate. He's a tall guy with a big appetite. (Offer larger serving sizes for a bit more?) The music was loud for my taste. It would be nice to have one area of the restaurant that is quieter for conversation. All in all, it was a fine experience. We like Iris our waitress.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not happy that the hostess called ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I was not happy that the hostess called to confirm the reservation earlier in the day and promised we were being seated in the governors room but arrived and was told it was not open during the week. I was not informed until I asked why we were being seated downstairs up against a wall. We were celebrating our anniversary and it wasn't where I would like to be seated. The hostess talked to me like a child when I asked why someone would call to confirm a reservation and promise something that wasn't and couldn't be delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lovely food and service. Our meals were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Lovely food and service. Our meals were incredible especially the wood oven roasted squash and the artichoke dip. Only problem was that it was quite loud with loud music

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was refreshingly innovative and ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was refreshingly innovative and delicious .

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1833 is a lovely, unique restaurant. My ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

1833 is a lovely, unique restaurant. My only wishes are that there would be more vegetarian options and that they didn't play loud 80's rock.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sadly this restaurant had a recent chef ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Sadly this restaurant had a recent chef change. We ate here over 2 months ago and it was excellent. Menu was larger, varied, fair portions, absolutely excellent service (celebrating bday - sparklers on dessert), great drink menu. Came back to celebrate another bday and ordered similar items as last time. This time started with rude hostess. No line but we were dismissed and not greeted in friendly manner. Service was over 2 hours with half empty restaurant (late evening reservation). Food never delivered to table of 3 all at once. One person always had to wait over 5 minutes for their dish (occurred during all 3 courses). Portions super small (flat bread has shrunk in size and crust has changed, flat iron steak had only 3 small chunks for $30, $18.33 for hamburger that was nothing special-super small, cookie jar dessert had very few cookies and all the good varieties eliminated!!!). Super dark restaurant so need phone flashlight to read. Most disappointing is drink menu no longer has some of the famous drinks available! Super disappointed and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Overall we had a pleasant experience, bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Overall we had a pleasant experience, but the lighting at our table was so dim that neither could read the menu without assistance, nor see the delicious food that was served. I also felt that the menu size had reduced selections. As I've dined here before, I expected a little more for the special occasion that we were celebrating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We had a fantastic dinner with a sommeli ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner with a sommelier-recommended wine in a historic old home. Our server, Ryan, gave us a special ghost tour and we delighted in the outdoor patio. Only negatives were some-what small portions and very loud room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Historic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Modern Decor, Spicy, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great table in the main dining ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a great table in the main dining room, and we shared an order of the Hawaiian bread. For our next course, my friend had a salad with bacon in it, and I had the chicken liver mousse with crostini topped with red onion spread. Then, we each had the Tri-Tip entree with collard greens and squash. Yum! Bartenders Bijan and Josh made great cocktails. Bravo!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place to have dinner at - Enjoyed t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good place to have dinner at - Enjoyed the service as well as the food and drinks,

Would recommend for a night out. Will definitely come back !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We arrived a little early for our reserv ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We arrived a little early for our reservation. Instead of being seated right away we decided to have a drink outside by the fire pits. It was a great way to start the evening. Our server was Lily. She was friendly and very welcoming. She made us feel at home. She offered great suggestions for our meal and always came to our table with a smile. They have great wine list but I was unfamiliar with most of the wineries. They have a sommelier who was very knowledgeable and gave a great recommendation. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.