Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About 1833

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday: Closed

Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 6:00PM - 9:00PM
Bar 5:00PM- 10:00PM

Bar: Friday & Saturday 5:00PM - 11:00pm

Social Hour: Sun, Tuesday-Thursday 5:00PM - 7:00PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Mikey Adams

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 1833 has several options for private dining and banquet parties. Please email us at info@restaurant1833.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Team: (831) 643-1833

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: tonyia@restaurant1833.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
See All
Local Ingredients (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Cozy (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
People Watching (5)
Casual (4)
Fireplace (4)
Tapas (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

1833 is always a great dining experience! Best in Monterey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice ambiance but the food is pricey for what you get, and is extremely rich and heavy.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2017

our family dined at 1833 on a short trip to Monterey. Restaurant is in a nice location, provide a haunting feeling if you read the hx of the house on their website so its fun. happy hours is worth and the tapas are delicious. we ordered majority of the entre items on the dinner menu for 7 people, food is mediocre, service is slow but servants are very friendly. I will recommend if you first time visiting Monterey for the experience but not for everyday dining.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It's been over a year since my wife and I dined here. They have updated the menu since and it's a delightful change. We had the chicharrones and nachos for appetizers, the chorizo risotto and the pork shoulder for entrees with the sides of mushrooms and Brussel sprouts . All delicious and great tasting flavors that complimented each other. Our server was Dominic and provided excellent service. He prepared my absinthe cocktail Russian style by our table, exquisitely. Great overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have been going for 6 years when racing. It was once exceptional - now not so much. Usually eat there once each trip but it's no longer memorable dining.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My overall meal was amazing! The prawns were really good. I thoroughly enjoyed the the lemon ice box pie. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Birthday occasion- excellent atmosphere- outstanding, however, so dark one cannot read the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We've been to 1833 twice and both times had a great meal. The menu changes constantly and does not fall into what I'd call trendy (right now kale and quiona, although there may have been a touch of both on the menu). It's pretty, comfortable, reasonably quiet and has a great wine selection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We've always loved 1833 for special occasions and have been impressed with the ambiance, food and service. Unfortunately, since our last visit, the menu has changed. Not too many options, and the items we selected just did not live up to our previous experience at this restaurant. What happened to the great menu with excellent and varied menu items?!?

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Start your dining experience on the patio by a fire pit. Enjoy an adult beverage with a starter. Don't be in a hurry to get through dinner. You want to take your time and savor the taste of each dish. The menu is so very unusual, while also offerring the every day. The desserts are exquisite! From the atmosphere, ambiance, and food you will enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was very good, the lighting was abysmal to say the least. It was too dark for most areas of the restaurant, some guests including us were needing to use our phone lights to read the menu and see the food.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Outstanding restaurant. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Incredible! As good or better than anything I've had in San Francisco. (Same prices)
Lovely setting in a large windowed 'sun' (?) room in a large house that was built in....1833.
The "Fry" bread is a fried pizza with extra special topping.
The oysters were in a lovely, lovely sauce served on iced pebbles in a cute tin tub.
The "smoked" salmon is actually lightly baked - perhaps in a smoky oven. Wonderfulwonderfulwonderful!
The Butterscotch pudding with fresh nectarines was very nice.
The Boulevardier cocktail was marvelous! The Pedroncelli Sauv. Blanc was great! The double espresso was generous!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The Salmon entree was great. Brussels sprouts always a hit. Still miss the bacon cheddar biscuits, though.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful meal in a great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and experience at this restaurent. A most visit place if you are passing by the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Fantastic Evening. Everything was perfect for our anniversary. Thank you all !

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I wanted to love this place so bad. I was looking forward to eating here for some time. First, I got a reservation confirmation phone call at 9:30 PM the night before. I thought this was a little late to be calling for confirmations, but I called them back and confirmed our 8:30 reservation. We arrived at 8:25 at the hostess told us that we were in the computer for 8, which was a little baffling since I still have the voicemail from their restaurant confirming my 8:30 reservation and the young woman who took us to our table said she doesn't know what happened because she remembers calling us the night before. So that was a little weird, but it was fine and we were almost immediately given a table. Water was quickly brought to our table, but unfortunately that was about the only thing that arrived in a timely manner. I am definitely one to enjoy a slow meal and appreciate the dining experience, however, 45 minutes to get a bottle of wine is ridiculous. While we were waiting, waiting and waiting for our waiter to bring the wine list, the woman at the table next to us had to cancel part of their meal because it hadn't come out with their entrees 20 minutes before. I thought, hm, too bad for her, but maybe she's being a difficult customer. Nope. So we finally get a bottle of wine...45 minutes in...just water...for 45 minutes. The waiter took our order, two apps and two mains. At 10:05 we got up and left without even seeing our entrees. Our apps took over an hour to make it to our table. Nothing difficult, chicharrones and tartare. What really rubbed us the wrong way was that we noticed all the tables that were seated at least an hour after us, were receiving their apps within minutes of being seated. I don't know if we were being neglected, forgotten, or what but the whole experience was just off putting and we definitely didn't feel taken care of. The place is cute and like I said, I was so excited to eat here, but the fumbled reservations and awful service ruined it.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I've dined here for the past 3 years, a total of 10-12 times. Every time has been delicious, creative meal surrounded by super cool ambiance. It was always packed and reservations were a must. It's also the place I would take any out of town visitors. However tonight I was sadly very disappointed with the experience here. I'm not sure what's changed - perhaps we had a string of bad luck or they didn't have a manager - but it was one negative thing after the next.

Arrived at 7pm for 7:30pm reservations. Sat outside at the fire pits for 35 minutes and *never got our drinks* - one cocktail and 2 glasses of wine.

Sat down at table ~7:35pm and did not get water, drinks or a waitress until 8pm.

They're out of a large portion of wines - their menu says N/A.

At 8pm the waitress informs us they have no more salmon - the only fish on the menu and frankly the best looking entree.

Nearby table had 8 or so people just drinking, no food. They were so incredibly loud it was constantly disruptive and did not add to the already tainted night. The acoustics in the space are already terrible; that was always been my observation - even on a good night.

Ordered some appetizers and they eventually came. Finished the bottle of wine before appetizers were done - not because we were thirsty but simply because it was now 9pm!!

Huge delay before entrees came out and sadly we skipped dessert because we were so tired of being there for almost 3hrs. Couldn't leave quick enough.

PS on a summer Saturday night, the place was dead. Why? What's changed, 1833?

Won't be back until I hear they've improved their act :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I loved the relaxing music and how all of the waiters and waitresses were very nice. They really recommended their wines. The seasoning on the food was absolutely fantastic. Would come here again, but this seems to be a spot to only come to every once in a while for special dates.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

One of the best if not the best dinner we have had in years. Pork dish was amazing and even better the next day. Brussel sprouts were also amazing. 10/10 A+

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We found this restaurant while traveling through town. Had a nice glass of Zin at the bar before our table was ready (on time). Loved the waiter. Large old house with as history converted in the early 1900s into a neat restaurant. Very comfortable seating indoors and out. Limited menu but excellently prepared and unique dishes. Quite delicious. We will be returning on our next visit.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Amazing food and lovely cocktails! I'd highly recommend this historic sight for a romantic evening out. All of the dishes were created with locally sourced ingredients and the chef knew exactly what he was doing with them. Soooo good!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The unique menu options were exceptional. The appetizers were absolutely delicious. Entrees were terrific as well. Service was excellent and friendly. Highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The food is incredible--my risotto was insanely delicious as was the butterscotch pudding I had for dessert. The ambiance really makes it special--this is the kind of place you want to walk around and explore the different rooms upstairs and downstairs. Make sure to come just before sunset so you can have a drink outside by the fire pits--it'll set the tone for the whole evening. Oh yeah, and the place is haunted!

Tags: Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service. Excellent food! Only one SERIOUS tip for the hostess... if a room is empty and only one couple is sitting in it... don't seat another couple RIGHT NEXT TO THEM. That was awkward 😂😂

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Incredibly disappointing experience, especially since 1833 has been one of our favorite Monterey restaurants (been there 10+ times over past couple years) through a few changes, always great/interesting. But not this time, what is up with the menu? Not clear what the underlying theme is supposed to be (all over the place). Felt like we were eating 'experiments', two of our dishes - both flatbreads - were genuinely unpleasant (though a salmon entree was very good). May have lost a loyal customer, though thinking we should probably try one more time to see whether last night was an exception (rather than the new rule).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Best experience ever! The food was great and the service even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I enjoyed Social Hour at the bar, where my server was Bijan. Then, I had a great table in the main dining room, where my server was Nicolle. For my first course, I had the wood fired nachos with flax seed tortilla chips, pork tinga, Malcom's salsa rosa, and "That's Nacho Cheese!!" For my second course, I had the roasted Brussels sprouts with smoked garlic, crispy pancetta, and maple glaze. For my entree, I had the Oregon albacore tataki with avocado, cucumber, and nori cracker. For dessert, I had the strawberry shortcake. Yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Unique menu, quality food, stylish decor, but too loud

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food and drinks were great! I've been to 1833 several times in the last year and a half and there was one notable change, the entree options. The entrees were great with regards to flavor but they looked more like tapas which is fine if that's what 1833 was about. Like I said, I've had dinner there several times in the past and the entrees were always slightly fuller. I don't mean bigger either, a bigger portion is NOT what I was expecting, I mean fuller like a proper entree. I left feeling like something was missing and for what I paid I definitely didn't expect to feel that way. I would definitely go again but if I have the same experience I'm putting 1833 on my list of drinks and appz only and doing dinner somewhere else.

It's a beautiful venue and the drinks are killer!! Great ambiance too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great service, excellent cocktails, creative food. Some plates were a little on the small side, but overall, still come to 1833 almost every time we go to Monterey.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

It was an amazing place! I loved everything about this restaurant!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The menu was too esoteric for me, and the wine list pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The staff was very accommodating, vibe was something out of Disney's Haunted Mansion, but gave 3 stars because 3 of the items we wanted to order one appetizer and both our entrees they were out of. I completely understand being out of something, but tell us when we are handed menus, not after ordering and then being told the item has been 86ed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great wait staff! Great apps, meal, dessert, and cocktails! We were seated in the Founders Balcony, which made for great people-watching and also a private setting. Our waiter was aware we were celebrating an anniversary and she did a lot to ensure our experience was special. Complimentary dessert wine and a visit from the chef were nice perks. My only criticism is that the rissotto is a little skimpy. It was more of an app and less of an entre. Other than that, we loved the food!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was the second time we dined at 1833. The first time it was really good. This time was one of the top 5 meals we have ever had. Perfect Sazerac & sapphire martini, crafted focaccia, perfectly-cooked new York strip, corn and chorizo risotto & brownie-pudding for desert. Doesn't get much better!! Water was cool - just enough checking in then left us alone! Perfect!!!

Tags: Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great ambiance, awesome location, loved the house history and interior design. However, the food was, by far, the best part. The brussell sprouts are the most scrumptious I've tasted. The steak just melts in your mouth. Everything was more than amazing. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Get the Brussel Sprouts!!! They were amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food. Maybe a little more attention to detail when seating reservations-a two top seated next to a young family are two different experiences for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.