About 1833

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Sun-Thur 6:00PM - 9:30PM Bar menu until 10:30PM
Fri & Sat 5:30pm - 10pm Bar Menu until 11:00pm
Social Hour: Sun-Fri 5:00PM-6:30PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Franey

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 1833 has several options for private dining and banquet parties. Please email us at groupdining@restaurant1833.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Team: 831-643-1833x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: groupdining@restaurant1833.com

Restaurant Photos

Bacon Cheddar Biscuits
Commander In Chief
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Amuse Bouche
Kentucky Waffle
Bacon Cheddar Biscuts
Pimm's Cup
Avacado, Deep-Fried Jalapenos, Radishes, And Popcorn, Yes Popcorn
pan roasted duck breast
Bacon Cheddar Biscuits With Maple Chili Butter
Blueberry Donut Holes, Buttermilk Sherbet, Candied Lemon
Hot Buttered Rum
Pan Roasted Mahi Mahi
Cocktail
Rack of Lamb
Ribeye Steak
Charred Octopus
Bone Marrow
Hamachi
Booker's Cocoa Nib Butter Bourbon Pudding
Sun-dried tomato and feta biscuits
roasted cauliflower
Quail Stuffed with Mushrooms
Sea Bass With Mussels, Leeks And Potatoes
Foie Gras With Fig Campote
Hamachi Crudo With Avacado
Crusted Hen Egg
English Pea Ravioli
fried chicken
Peanut Butter Crunch Bar
Bibb Salad
Macaroni & Cheese
Beet Salad
Waltz Cocktail
Foie Gras Plate W/ Cerries
Pizza With Mushrooms And Prosciutto And 2 Poached Eggs
Artichoke Soup With Truffel Oil
Crispy Hen Egg
Yamazaki 12 Year
Braised Lamb Shank
Baked alaska
Sweet Breads
Bookers Bourbon Pudding
Artichoke Soup
Pork Belly With Cornbread
Pizza
Wild Mushroom And Prosciutto Pizza
Roasted Bone Marrow
Calabrese Sausage Pizza
Bread Crusted Branzino
Caramel Pot De Crème
 Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin
Asparagus And Green Garlic Pizza
Pistachio "Parfait"
Mocktail
Eggs Benedict
Caramelized Endive

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
3 More
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

special occasion (82)
fit for foodies (66)
romantic (62)
See All
notable wine list (46)
neighborhood gem (43)
good for groups (42)
vibrant bar scene (39)
hot spot (21)
great for outdoor dining (20)
late-night find (16)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Zach, was awesome! He knew ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Our server, Zach, was awesome! He knew all details about every dish and if he didn't know about the new wine pairing w/ the dessert, he asked the sommelier. The food was inspired and delicious. Definitely order the baby back ribs. Flavors complemented each other and deserves a 5 star rating. Can't wait to come back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the perfect spot for our birthd ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the perfect spot for our birthday celebration. We got there on the early side and had the place to ourselves, which almost felt like a private party. Our server, Jake, took excellent care of us, and added a lot to our enjoyment of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband, my son and I were treated fa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My husband, my son and I were treated fabulously the entire evening... The staff went out of their way to meet all our needs... The food/ drinks were scrumptious, too!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here was excellent as well as t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The food here was excellent as well as the service. I was pleasantly surprised. Definitely coming back if I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3

Good food and price points. Great ambian ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Good food and price points. Great ambiance

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing. The servers are k ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

This place is amazing. The servers are kind and helpful when making menu choices (she recomended a great drink), the atmosphere is very cozy, and the food...wow. Gotta say, I could (and did) eat every single dessert on the menu. Thank you all for an amazing experience.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Cool but.....

Dined on June 6, 2016

The restaurant has a really cool vibe! Fun out door fire pits. A great place to gather and talk. Came for an early dinner (6:30). There was only a handful of people in the dining area. No appetizers. My husband had a glass of wine. It took forever to get our food! The food was inventive and tasty. But, portions are small. We were starving. No way we're we going to order more and wait again!!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Our entire party was disappointed. The ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our entire party was disappointed. The lighting for the table was so poor we needed to use the flashlights on our phones to read the menu and to see what we were eating. There was no "apple" in the apple martini and the other "plain" martinis were sweet. The rib eyes were not rib eyes at all but rather a sirloin cut. A member of our group is a cattle rancher and knows his cuts.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Historic and avant garde

Dined on June 4, 2016

1833 is possibly the coolest building you will ever eat in. It is historic and quirky and elegant and absolutely up to date all at the same time. The menu is all fresh and local, though it leans toward pork (which I don't eat, so it was a bit limited for me and my vegetarian daughter). Loved the roasted Jerusalem artichokes, and the cookie jar dessert with zillions of different cookies served in an apothecary jar--the perfect share dessert, no pile of forks required.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service and Wonderful Food

Dined on May 31, 2016

The experience of this restaurant was spectacular. Of course we were there the evening after a holiday weekend and practically had the entire place to ourselves. The server was fantastic with a great personality. The food is unusual and quite good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Every single thing was amazing

Dined on May 29, 2016

Every single thing was amazing

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Good ambiance, poor service

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The ambiance was lovely and the food fairly good, but the servers looked spread thin. Placemat dropped on the floor between courses and was never replaced (or picked up from the floor); extra place settings remained at the table; emptied wine glasses were left on the table all night; food came out very slowly and irregularly. I feel that when you're out for a special occasion, these small things do diminish what was otherwise a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing and the service was ver ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was amazing and the service was very good. Now a favorite of ours.

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Sad to say 1833 no longer holds a specia ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Sad to say 1833 no longer holds a special place in our hearts. Recently 1833 changed their menu and has drastically taken away many of the unique options and offerings that my wife and I had come to love. I realize restaurants change and their menu should be updated from time to time. However, 1833 really lost itself in the new menu. I took my sister to the restaurant looking forward to sharing this unique, neighborhood gem with her and we were both disappointed to say the least. First, they did away with many of the old traditional favorites they were well known for. Second, they cut the menu and divided it into four sections meant to be more of a "tapas" style where you choose from each section. That would be ok in most cases, but whomever is making decisions on portion sizes has done a poor job. Or perhaps the wait staff is not properly articulating how guests should be ordering. Our server told us to choose from each of the 4 groupings and literally by the time we were through the first 2 items we both felt we could have ended our meal there and been pretty satiated. Course 3 for both of us was large. My sister ordered a kale salad which came in a bowl that could have served 4 people a small side salad. I ordered a BBQ Spare Rib dish but these were not well labeled on the menu and were served wrapped in some crispy dough wrapper like a chimichanga. If I had been the waiter I would have mentioned this as the name of the dish did not clearly explain what I would be getting. Third, the main course for both of us was the least impressive dish of them all. My sister got the market fish which was bland and the entire middle of the fish was RAW. It was only cooked on the very ends. I ordered a broccoli pesto ravioli which was also bland, dry, and was poorly presented with a tiny sliver of dried out broccoli sitting on top of each ravioli. So, the dishes were not portioned well, the food was no where near up to par, and overall 1833 has lost its appeal for me.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Overall experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

Chairs at tables for two are oversized, heavy, too low to table, uncomfortable. Rib eye steak too expensive at $42 for quality of meat. I've had much better filet elsewhere for less money. Ice cream dessert was very small scoops mostly melted soft ice cream. Music was too loud and must have been light rap. Probably good for young bar crowd, but not for this senior, and not complementary to dining room ambience. Service was middling with long lag times between table visits by waiter.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite go to spots! Great f ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

One of our favorite go to spots! Great food service and decor...have to go when in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. We stopped by the bar, where we were served by Jelena, and the sommelier was very helpful. Then, we had a great table in the main dining room, where we were served by Tina. We shared an order of the Hawaiian bread. My friend had the baby lettuce salad, and I had the chicken liver mousse served with toasted sourdough bread topped with red onion spread (delicious and filling). For our entrees, my friend had the 1833 Burger, and I had the pork ribs wrapped in pastry and served with Vietnamese dipping sauce. For dessert, we each had an order of the Angel food cake with raspberry coulis and vanilla custard. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was a wonderful experien ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This restaurant was a wonderful experience! Historic building, delicious food and caring wait staff!

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food, but quirky

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had dinner at 1833 with my wife and another couple on Saturday. The quality of the food is very good, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. But, the lighting was so poor where we were sitting (upstairs over the bar) that we could not see our menu's, and needed to use our phones to read them. In addition, the menu is very limited. They had some interesting dishes - I got the squid ink pasta - but there were actually very few entrees. In addition, the wine was excellent, but very expensive - about a 3X markup over retail. To be fair, there are several different dining rooms in the establishment, and if we had sat somewhere else with better lighting, less noise, and more comfortable seating, it might have been a different experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5

Wonderful ambience but poor food and poo ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful ambience but poor food and poor management of the issue . Salads were good , as a main course all three of us ordered the Wagyu Sirloin, a $40 dish The sirloin was only about 6 oz. a small portion but it's OK what's NOT OK is that the meat was terribly chewy . I mean very unpleasant to eat when instead it should melt in your mouth. The waiter came to check back only ten minutes later. We pointed out how this kind of meet shouldn't even be served nevertheless if Wagyu and at this price point and we left the sirloin unfinished in the plate .We asked him to report to the chef and possibly to cook for him self some to taste. Hi came back minutes later with the chef comment that sirloin is a bit chewy by its self a a cut. No apologies from the chef. Ridiculous ! The manager never showed up. Only one portion was taken off the check. Extremely disappointing and unprofessional .

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent gourmet dining. Delicious fres ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent gourmet dining. Delicious fresh pea soup. Beware of pricey cocktails. Found out too late Manhattan cost $25. Very absent-minded server - should have written down our order. She did comp us the soup when appetizer was slow. Her male assistant, however, was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Full disclosure: I am a local and a regu ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. Restaurant 1833 is in a building with a rich history and has excellent ambience, including outdoor fire pits underneath two redwood trees, a huge palm tree, and a live oak tree. I had a perfect sidecar at the bar prepared by Amy, and I also enjoyed the Social Hour tacos (one is pork, and the other is chicken mole). Then, I had a great table in the main dining room, where my server was Nicolle. For my "nibble," I had the chicken liver mousse served with granola and toasted sourdough bread topped with red onion spread (delicious and filling). For my entree, I had the swordfish with celery root (wonderful). For dessert, I had the angel food cake with vanilla custard and raspberry coulis (extremely delicious dessert). Yum! I also highly recommend the pork ribs ("nosh") wrapped in pastry and served with a Vietnamese dipping sauce. The chilled Hammersley Oysters on the half-shell topped with green tomatoes are also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

We were put in a private room 👍🏽 the f ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We were put in a private room 👍🏽 the food was delicious and beautifully presented 👍🏽 but the waiter kept forgetting about us and seemed to be in a rush when taking our orders 👎🏽 regardless, I'd definitely go back 🙂

food2
ambience5
service1
value1

So very disappointing! Poor service with ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

So very disappointing! Poor service with no tact whatsoever, the server kept barging in and interrupting our group's conversation instead of approaching us when there was a lull in the conversation. Whoever designed this space did a fantastic job creating a dark intimate setting, but this ambiance was just destroyed by the constant, tactless interruptions. Portions were tiny, I get the craftsmanship and attention to detail but for heaven's sake give us something to eat! Squid ink tagliatelle was so greasy it was inedible, serving staff apologized but did not offer a replacement/discount in lieu of this terrible meal. The one saving grace (aside from the fab decor) was the sommelier, he was approachable, knowledgeable and assisted in selecting the perfect bottle to accompany our meal. Such a disappointment despite the great things we heard about this place. We often visit Monterey Wine Country from AZ, and the rest of our party came from overseas. We all agreed it did not stand up to previous reviews and there won't be a 'next time'.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Great ambiance- mediocre food and service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great for a cocktail, but don't stay for dinner! The place is beautiful, but the food is not very good and the service was extremely slow.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid Dinner

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. I had a great table in the main dining room, where my server was Lily. Jelena prepared me a perfect mojito. I enjoyed the Hawaiian bread, the chilled Hammersley oysters on the half-shell with a new garnish made with green apples, and for my entree, the 1833 Burger. For dessert, I enjoyed the Earl Grey Pot de Creme; I also got the strawberry cheesecake to go, you know, for later. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Very poor choice for a restaurant

Dined on May 3, 2016

On a Monday night this place was deserted. We were one of two tables when we arrived at 6:30. Immediately we knew that the music booming through the speakers was a problem. We asked the waiter to lower the sound. Another couple came in and they also asked them to lower the sound. This makes two out of three tables asking for a small adjustment. No change in sound the entire time we were there. My husband had the halibut and it was fine but absolutely nothing but the fish and a small amount of sauce. For $36 I would think they could have come up with a vegetable. I ordered the pizza from their "wood burning oven". Having had a wood burning oven for 15 years, I certainly do not think that my pizza was cooked at 700 degrees in a wood oven. No blister, no char, no sign of high heat and certainly no crispness. I suspect that perhaps on Mondays they do not fire up the oven but I should have been told. I showed the waiter the bottom of my very limp pizza and he had no explanation. The only good thing about this restaurant was the waiter. He was perfect other than not getting the manager to turn down the music.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Very poor experience

Dined on May 2, 2016

We were kind of rushed to go to table although we wanted to enjoy our "apéritif" in the bar area. Very dark inside and impossible to read menu without phone lights use. Unfriendly service. A lot of things from the menu not available. But that might mean that products are fresh. The espresso machine was broken. Very expensive bill and as soon as the credit card was swiped we were kind of requested to leave the restaurant. Alltogether a pretty bad experience. Went there two years ago when visiting Monterey and was pretty good then. Not a recommendation now!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place

Dined on May 1, 2016

Highly recommend 1833. Unique food selection, very knowledgeable bar staff, and a great old building. We opted to sit at the bar, bar we had reservation and they were ready to seat us the moment we walked in. I was very impressed with the bar staff's knowledge of mixology and technique. Love that the bartender took the time to stir my Manhattan instead of just throwing it in a shaker to bruise and dilute the premium whiskey I chose. We just wanted a light dinner, so we ordered off the starter menu. We had the corn beef meatball with potato dumplings and they were to die for. The dish was the perfect representation of a deconstructed Reuben sandwich. For dessert we had the Earle grey Panna cotta with candied kumquats and it had to be one of the best desserts ever. Prices were on the higher end, but the is a place you definitely get what you pay for. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Class

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

I had another splendid dinner at 1833. Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. I enjoyed Social Hour at the bar, where my server was Jelena. Then, I had a great table in the main dining room, where my server was Nicolle. My favorite "nibble" on the current menu is the chicken liver mousse, which is served with toasted sourdough bread; it's outstanding. My favorite "nosh" is the corned beef meatballs. My favorite "entree" is the swordfish or big eye tuna seared rare and served with "tapioca." Another excellent entree is the 1833 burger. Recently, wood-fired pizzas have reappeared on the menu after a lengthy absence; my favorite is the "Tarte Flambee."

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and ambience!

Dined on April 25, 2016

1833 never fails to deliver. We had a spectacular dinner to celebrate our friend's birthday and another running the Big Sur Marathon. Food, wine, service - all top notch. The tuna and sous-vide short ribs are especially recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around great

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great atmosphere and decor, excellent service, and great food - what more could you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Our Favorites!

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I share the same birthday so when it comes to celebrating we both need to agree on a place that makes us both happy. 1833 is just the place! Great cocktails and creative delicious dishes. Happy Hour also offered seven days a week!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was awsome. The beef short r ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was awsome. The beef short ribs were the best thing I ever ate...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would give this an A ++++ but.....

Dined on April 21, 2016

The only glitch, and it was a stupid one, was that the Hostess first sat us at probably the worst table in the not busy dining room. She put us at a table for two beside a wait stand and in a traffic path for all diners to enter to be seated. We asked for a different table, any other table, and she did put us at a really nice one, almost a booth. As it happened later, a large table of celebratory men were seated across from our original table. Had we remained there, our evening would have been ruined. It is still a question as to why we were originally seated there in the first place. The dining room was almost empty when we arrived, and we did have a reservation. In any event all else was faultless and fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Not happy about the change

Dined on April 21, 2016

We have loved 1833 in the past, particularly the wonderful cheddar-bacon biscuits and an interesting menu. The biscuits are gone and we weren't inspired by the menu. We do understand and respect the right of a new chef to make changes and put his stamp on things, but we liked the previous menu better. We'll probably continue to go to 1833 for drinks.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and cocktails in a beauti ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful food and cocktails in a beautiful historic setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the Best

Dined on April 15, 2016

Have been wanting to eat here since they opened. Well worth the wait. There was not one aspect of the dining experience that I could find fault with. Thanks to 1833 for taking such pride in the type of food, environment, service and wine selections they provide.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

bday

Dined on April 14, 2016

It was just ok. Service could e been better. Everything we came for they did not make anymore. Whatever dish u see online most likely they wont have. The server didnt say anything other then "we dont have that" .... could it have been seasonal ? Only on certain days? Ran out? Will never know. Was a little slow on coming to us didnt quite make us feel comfortable even with no crowd as we sat downstairs with half empty seating. I did request a nice seat in the place so i take it this was it. Guess its not nice upstairs?

Tags: group bookings, outdoor eating, late night find, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

Lovely venue for our family gathering. W ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Lovely venue for our family gathering. Wait staff prompt and attentive. Food well prepared with creative small plates.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.