About 1833

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:Sun-Thur 6:00PM - 9:30PM Bar menu until 10:30PM
Fri & Sat 5:30pm - 10pm Bar Menu until 11:00pm
Social Hour: Sun-Fri 5:00PM-6:30PM

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Jason Franey

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant 1833 has several options for private dining and banquet parties. Please email us at groupdining@restaurant1833.com for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Group Dining Team: 831-643-1833x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: groupdining@restaurant1833.com

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
California Central Coast
Fit for Foodies
Monterey / Carmel
Notable Wine List
Monterey / Carmel
4 More
Romantic
Monterey / Carmel
Special Occasion
Monterey / Carmel
Californian
Monterey / Carmel
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

special occasion (76)
fit for foodies (66)
romantic (60)
See All
vibrant bar scene (47)
notable wine list (47)
good for groups (40)
neighborhood gem (36)
hot spot (29)
great for outdoor dining (23)
late-night find (18)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was a wonderful experien ...

Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant was a wonderful experience! Historic building, delicious food and caring wait staff!

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food, but quirky

Dined on May 15, 2016

Had dinner at 1833 with my wife and another couple on Saturday. The quality of the food is very good, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. But, the lighting was so poor where we were sitting (upstairs over the bar) that we could not see our menu's, and needed to use our phones to read them. In addition, the menu is very limited. They had some interesting dishes - I got the squid ink pasta - but there were actually very few entrees. In addition, the wine was excellent, but very expensive - about a 3X markup over retail. To be fair, there are several different dining rooms in the establishment, and if we had sat somewhere else with better lighting, less noise, and more comfortable seating, it might have been a different experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5

Wonderful ambience but poor food and poo ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful ambience but poor food and poor management of the issue . Salads were good , as a main course all three of us ordered the Wagyu Sirloin, a $40 dish The sirloin was only about 6 oz. a small portion but it's OK what's NOT OK is that the meat was terribly chewy . I mean very unpleasant to eat when instead it should melt in your mouth. The waiter came to check back only ten minutes later. We pointed out how this kind of meet shouldn't even be served nevertheless if Wagyu and at this price point and we left the sirloin unfinished in the plate .We asked him to report to the chef and possibly to cook for him self some to taste. Hi came back minutes later with the chef comment that sirloin is a bit chewy by its self a a cut. No apologies from the chef. Ridiculous ! The manager never showed up. Only one portion was taken off the check. Extremely disappointing and unprofessional .

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent gourmet dining. Delicious fres ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent gourmet dining. Delicious fresh pea soup. Beware of pricey cocktails. Found out too late Manhattan cost $25. Very absent-minded server - should have written down our order. She did comp us the soup when appetizer was slow. Her male assistant, however, was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Full disclosure: I am a local and a regu ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. Restaurant 1833 is in a building with a rich history and has excellent ambience, including outdoor fire pits underneath two redwood trees, a huge palm tree, and a live oak tree. I had a perfect sidecar at the bar prepared by Amy, and I also enjoyed the Social Hour tacos (one is pork, and the other is chicken mole). Then, I had a great table in the main dining room, where my server was Nicolle. For my "nibble," I had the chicken liver mousse served with granola and toasted sourdough bread topped with red onion spread (delicious and filling). For my entree, I had the swordfish with celery root (wonderful). For dessert, I had the angel food cake with vanilla custard and raspberry coulis (extremely delicious dessert). Yum! I also highly recommend the pork ribs ("nosh") wrapped in pastry and served with a Vietnamese dipping sauce. The chilled Hammersley Oysters on the half-shell topped with green tomatoes are also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

We were put in a private room 👍🏽 the f ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We were put in a private room 👍🏽 the food was delicious and beautifully presented 👍🏽 but the waiter kept forgetting about us and seemed to be in a rush when taking our orders 👎🏽 regardless, I'd definitely go back 🙂

food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Great ambiance- mediocre food and service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great for a cocktail, but don't stay for dinner! The place is beautiful, but the food is not very good and the service was extremely slow.

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Splendid Dinner

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. I had a great table in the main dining room, where my server was Lily. Jelena prepared me a perfect mojito. I enjoyed the Hawaiian bread, the chilled Hammersley oysters on the half-shell with a new garnish made with green apples, and for my entree, the 1833 Burger. For dessert, I enjoyed the Earl Grey Pot de Creme; I also got the strawberry cheesecake to go, you know, for later. Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Very poor choice for a restaurant

Dined on May 3, 2016

On a Monday night this place was deserted. We were one of two tables when we arrived at 6:30. Immediately we knew that the music booming through the speakers was a problem. We asked the waiter to lower the sound. Another couple came in and they also asked them to lower the sound. This makes two out of three tables asking for a small adjustment. No change in sound the entire time we were there. My husband had the halibut and it was fine but absolutely nothing but the fish and a small amount of sauce. For $36 I would think they could have come up with a vegetable. I ordered the pizza from their "wood burning oven". Having had a wood burning oven for 15 years, I certainly do not think that my pizza was cooked at 700 degrees in a wood oven. No blister, no char, no sign of high heat and certainly no crispness. I suspect that perhaps on Mondays they do not fire up the oven but I should have been told. I showed the waiter the bottom of my very limp pizza and he had no explanation. The only good thing about this restaurant was the waiter. He was perfect other than not getting the manager to turn down the music.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Very poor experience

Dined on May 2, 2016

We were kind of rushed to go to table although we wanted to enjoy our "apéritif" in the bar area. Very dark inside and impossible to read menu without phone lights use. Unfriendly service. A lot of things from the menu not available. But that might mean that products are fresh. The espresso machine was broken. Very expensive bill and as soon as the credit card was swiped we were kind of requested to leave the restaurant. Alltogether a pretty bad experience. Went there two years ago when visiting Monterey and was pretty good then. Not a recommendation now!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place

Dined on May 1, 2016

Highly recommend 1833. Unique food selection, very knowledgeable bar staff, and a great old building. We opted to sit at the bar, bar we had reservation and they were ready to seat us the moment we walked in. I was very impressed with the bar staff's knowledge of mixology and technique. Love that the bartender took the time to stir my Manhattan instead of just throwing it in a shaker to bruise and dilute the premium whiskey I chose. We just wanted a light dinner, so we ordered off the starter menu. We had the corn beef meatball with potato dumplings and they were to die for. The dish was the perfect representation of a deconstructed Reuben sandwich. For dessert we had the Earle grey Panna cotta with candied kumquats and it had to be one of the best desserts ever. Prices were on the higher end, but the is a place you definitely get what you pay for. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Class

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

I had another splendid dinner at 1833. Full disclosure: I am a local and a regular. I enjoyed Social Hour at the bar, where my server was Jelena. Then, I had a great table in the main dining room, where my server was Nicolle. My favorite "nibble" on the current menu is the chicken liver mousse, which is served with toasted sourdough bread; it's outstanding. My favorite "nosh" is the corned beef meatballs. My favorite "entree" is the swordfish or big eye tuna seared rare and served with "tapioca." Another excellent entree is the 1833 burger. Recently, wood-fired pizzas have reappeared on the menu after a lengthy absence; my favorite is the "Tarte Flambee."

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and ambience!

Dined on April 25, 2016

1833 never fails to deliver. We had a spectacular dinner to celebrate our friend's birthday and another running the Big Sur Marathon. Food, wine, service - all top notch. The tuna and sous-vide short ribs are especially recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around great

Dined on April 25, 2016

Great atmosphere and decor, excellent service, and great food - what more could you ask for?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of Our Favorites!

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I share the same birthday so when it comes to celebrating we both need to agree on a place that makes us both happy. 1833 is just the place! Great cocktails and creative delicious dishes. Happy Hour also offered seven days a week!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was awsome. The beef short r ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was awsome. The beef short ribs were the best thing I ever ate...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would give this an A ++++ but.....

Dined on April 21, 2016

The only glitch, and it was a stupid one, was that the Hostess first sat us at probably the worst table in the not busy dining room. She put us at a table for two beside a wait stand and in a traffic path for all diners to enter to be seated. We asked for a different table, any other table, and she did put us at a really nice one, almost a booth. As it happened later, a large table of celebratory men were seated across from our original table. Had we remained there, our evening would have been ruined. It is still a question as to why we were originally seated there in the first place. The dining room was almost empty when we arrived, and we did have a reservation. In any event all else was faultless and fabulous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Not happy about the change

Dined on April 21, 2016

We have loved 1833 in the past, particularly the wonderful cheddar-bacon biscuits and an interesting menu. The biscuits are gone and we weren't inspired by the menu. We do understand and respect the right of a new chef to make changes and put his stamp on things, but we liked the previous menu better. We'll probably continue to go to 1833 for drinks.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and cocktails in a beauti ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderful food and cocktails in a beautiful historic setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the Best

Dined on April 15, 2016

Have been wanting to eat here since they opened. Well worth the wait. There was not one aspect of the dining experience that I could find fault with. Thanks to 1833 for taking such pride in the type of food, environment, service and wine selections they provide.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

bday

Dined on April 14, 2016

It was just ok. Service could e been better. Everything we came for they did not make anymore. Whatever dish u see online most likely they wont have. The server didnt say anything other then "we dont have that" .... could it have been seasonal ? Only on certain days? Ran out? Will never know. Was a little slow on coming to us didnt quite make us feel comfortable even with no crowd as we sat downstairs with half empty seating. I did request a nice seat in the place so i take it this was it. Guess its not nice upstairs?

Tags: group bookings, outdoor eating, late night find, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service3

Lovely venue for our family gathering. W ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

Lovely venue for our family gathering. Wait staff prompt and attentive. Food well prepared with creative small plates.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was excellent BUT we were tol ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Everything was excellent BUT we were told corkage would be $20-$25 and it was $30 and when asked if we wanted water we asked for tap water and it was delivered in a bottle and we were charged either $12 or $16 for the bottle of water...there was also a drink on our bill that was not ours....the food was excellent ... who would have ever thought a bottle of flat water would be $12-$16 and I wonder why the sommelier wouldn't know how much a corkage fee was....we never asked the server as we assumed the sommelier knew what he was talking about.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 10, 2016

This place is phenomenal! Fabulous food and cocktails. One of the best gastronomic experiences I have ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Find another restaurant!

Dined on April 8, 2016

This restaurant has very poor lighting, it's very loud, the bartender does not know how to make a martini and the food was awful!?! We are foodies and go out a lot and there is nothing to like about this restaurant. Beware and I'm normally not a downer but there is really nothing nice to say about this establishment.

food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Used to be so much better

Dined on April 3, 2016

This place used to be so much better. We used to always come to 1833 while visiting my husband's sister in Monterey. It was so classy and their food was delicious. 1833 is still a classy place, but they've gone downhill. The menu is just ok, nothing that special from a finer dining perspective (it used to be MUCH better), and it was LOUD. I'm sorry, but I don't like paying $200 for a dinner only to have to shout at the people I'm dining with. It was really that bad. The only thing still good about this place was the ambiance and the service. I don't know why 1833 is trying to be a club with a mediocre dining menu all of a sudden. The club thing, fine, but make it much later please. And improve your menu. I can get most of the things on it anywhere.

food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Great Atmosphere & Service - Food? Meh....

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

We loved the atmosphere and the wait staff was very professional and courteous. However, the menu was strange, to say the least. We started with "artichoke dip with gourmet potato chips" - what came to us was a cold, overly creamy, relatively flavorless dip that tasted NOTHING like artichoke. When we asked the waiter to take it away, because it was not what we were expecting, he said that it didn't look the way it usually did...hmmm. He took it off the bill, which was nice. I think we should have gone with the"Everything Hawaiian"appetizer, which the folks next to us seemed to enjoy. Both the dip and the salad I ordered (sort of caesar-ish) seemed WAY TOO salty. My husband ordered the burger, which was delicious (and tasted strangely like a gourmet version of an In-n-Out burger)! Lovely atmosphere and great service, nice wine list, but the food was disappointing (especially for my b-day celebration).

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

I'm so glad my friend recommended this restaurant! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Still swooning

Dined on April 2, 2016

Being from the SF bay area, we're exposed to a lot of great food and cocktails pretty regularly, but that doesn't mean we don't thoroughly appreciate them, or miss them when we can't find them. Restaurant 1833 actually exceeded our expectations in terms of quality - it was not just great, it was divine. The cocktails were creative and well-balanced (and a much better value than the extremely pricey wine list). Each of the dishes we ordered were unique, well executed, and unbelievably delicious. Particularly the duck pate, and the short ribs prepared sous vide - seriously in the top 5 meat dishes I've ever had. It just melted but was also extremely flavorful. We even brought our kids and they loved the everything (especially dessert). The service was also excellent. However, it was definitely very expensive. We would absolutely go back but given the price it's probably a good thing we don't live too close.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Beautiful and Charming.

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

1833 is a beautiful old restaurant from the days of old. It hasn't changed much but that is what makes it so desirable. This is a place where you should visit. Take your time and enjoy the past. All the food is very well done, but the48 hr Short Ribs are the best ever.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Hungry mom and family

Dined on March 28, 2016

The food was over priced and not that great. There was barley any food on the plates and the (5 bite) beet salad was shoved up on one side of the plate. Other than the waiter, we disliked the entire experience. $90 for food and we left unsatisfied and hungry.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful Anniversary Eveving

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful evening. The food was flavorful, inventive, and incredibly delicious! Our server, Lily, was attentive and very accommodating. Thanks for making our nineth wedding anniversary a memorable one. Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent Food - Limited Menu

Dined on March 26, 2016

Very nice restaurant and bar. Tables are spread out into a number of rooms/nooks of this historic building, Good setup for private parties/groups. Service was excellent and the food was delicious, however the menu was fairly limited. Portions were definitely on the small side (entrees not the "small plates"), and was pretty pricey overall vs comparable restaurants, so will likely reserve this for small groups/special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We road trip to Carmel every year and th ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We road trip to Carmel every year and that was our third year in a row going to 1833. It is one of the fancier restaurants we go to during our stay. We love it. The food is to die for! It is very pricy so just expect to go in paying a lot. This last time was a bit of a bummer because the other two times they passed on little free stuff, both food and drinks. This time they did not and our waiter wasn't overly nice like we have had in the past. But will still return next year!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Anniversary Blunder

Dined on March 24, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 3rd Wedding Anniversary during this dining experience. We heard great things about the restaurant, so we decided to try it out on this special occasion. The hostess seated us in the corner with a wall and a party of four on either side of us. The entire dining room was completely empty at the time as well. I clearly stated in my reservation we are celebrating a Wedding Anniversary. After feeling very claustrophobic, we finally asked to relocate across the dining room. It was less quiet, but then the big parties started to arrive. A group of eight and six were loud and carrying on like school children. They have several dining rooms available, but on this night only one room was utilized. The swordfish was great, but that was all that found my plate. I was not impressed with the food portions and lack of any vegetable as I was expecting more for $36 a plate. Since, I heard great things about this restaurant my expectations were high going in, which may have been the reason for my unhappiness over the meal. Don't let this review deter you from eating at this establishment.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

New Chef

Dined on March 17, 2016

Small portions, high prices and overbearing service. Quite a disappointment after our previous visits

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed This Time

Dined on March 14, 2016

I enjoyed 1833 very much when I ate there a couple of years ago and made a point of going back on this visit to Monterey. This time, however, I was disappointed. They seem to be following a trend of many dainty dishes, which I didn't find adding up to a meal. The server said that they were encouraging sharing dishes family style, but the middle-sized dishes were about two bites and could not be meaningfully shared. I also found the flavors too low-key.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1833 should not be missed!

Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I visited 1833 for dinner this past weekend after not dining there for almost two years. As much as we enjoyed the restaurant before, we now are totally in love with the place. The service was outstanding and the food was exceptional. From the short ribs appetizer to the ahi as well as the black ink pasta, the meal was one to remember. The ambiance is unmatched so when you put everything together there simply is no better place to dine on the Monterey Peninsula.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A great night

Dined on March 13, 2016

Eating and drinking in the rooms of this historic house feels special. I was with a friend, but it would have been a great romantic spot too. We shared all our dishes because so many things had ingredients and combinations we both wanted to try. And each one was delicious. And I definitely want to go back next time I am in Monterey

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is a Monterey favorite o ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

This restaurant is a Monterey favorite of mine!! Have been a few times & the food and service always excellent. The ambience is great, would recommend for date night or group.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.