Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About 1833

1833 is located at the historic Stokes Adobe house. We have reinvented this landmark to offer modern, sophisticated yet casual American dining.

500 Hartnell Avenue
Monterey, CA 93920
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Winter Hours

Sunday & Monday: Closed

Tuesday - Saturday
Lounge & Fire Pits Open: 5:00pm
Dining Room Opens: 6:00pm

Happy Hour
Tuesday-Friday
5pm - 7pm

Cross Street:
Polk Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 643-1833

Website:
http://www.restaurant1833.com/

Parking Details:
We offer a private lot behind our restaurant building as well as street parking.

Executive Chef:
Mikey Adams

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For group dining please email our group dining team at: tonyia@restaurant1833.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 5:45PM

1833 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

79% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Romantic (20)
Cozy (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Business Meals (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (6)
People Watching (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tapas (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1774 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Our evening started off great with a warm greeting from the staff & prompt seating for our 7PM reservation. The menu is not extensive but they have some interesting choices. My wife and I started with the steak tartar which came after almost 30 minutes of our initial order. We were in no hurry and were enjoying our wine so it wasnt a big deal to wait. After finishing our appetizer, we waited another 45 minutes for our main courses, I had order the BBQ pork and my wife had the shrimp scampi pasta. The wait staff and busboys came frequently to check on us and make sure we were well hydrated. Finally our waiter came by and said our mains would be out shortly and said he would go back to the kitchen to lean on the chef. The restaurant was only 1/2 full & so it didnt appear to be slammed with big parties or a big dinner rush but we hung in there for the wait. When my pork came to the table, it looked good although the BBQ sauce slathered on it looked like an effort to cover something up than enhance the dish. When I took my first bite, my heart sank, the meat was stone cold, dry and over cooked. The foundation of rice, beans and collard greens were nice and warm as was the small piece of cornbread but the meat was a lost cause. I should have sent it back but we were so hungry by then and I didnt want to wait another 30 minutes for another order. At that point we decided to skip dessert at 1833 and try something else once we ate what we could of our dishes. My wife said hers was good and the seafood in it looked fresh and came to the table at the proper temperature. Now whether the food came cold was the waiters fault or the chef, I couldnt say but our waiter seemed to be attentive enough. Another waiter in the same area made several disappointing comments to customers about other dishes they were considering ordering and I though this was very unprofessional. Loved the history of the place but the food was very disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I came here for our anniversary and we absolutely loved it. Excellent service, great ambiance and overall delicious food. We will be making this our annual spot for our anniversary. Since we have an Oct anniversary, the spooky vibe was perfect... My wife loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Impeccable service, perfect steak, and incredible ambiance. 10/10 would dine again.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

1833 is great, we have been here several times and loved it. This time everything was great but the main entre. we ordered the smoked pork and the pork was dry on the edges as if it had been sitting on the oven for too long, and the beens were a bit hard as if they didn't cooked long enough. everything else was outstanding, the dessert was incredible and so were the appetizers . We will definitively come back to this place and think of this time as "Well it happens" but we love this place and I would recommend it highly

I didn't want to give less than 4 starts to the food because as I mentioned only the main entre was off, the rest was outstanding

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I absolutely loved this restaurant. The atmosphere was so romantic and old-worldly. We had a great time celebrating our 10 year anniversary vacation here.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Good birthday celebration!
Make sure you book ahead so as to sit in the more interesting area's!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Noisy. Looks like a hot bar scene. Limited menu and slow service.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance! The only knock I can give is if you’re entertaining clients and writing off as a business expense. They use a billing platform which doesn’t indicate the company name or what the expense was for (restaurant, food), just the amount of the receipt. They need to figure that out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I really enjoyed the experience, wine, and food this restaurant provided. The roasted bone marrow was delicious. The happy hour drinks and food did the trick.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

The kale salad was the best I’ve ever eaten, as was the flat bread. I’ve been to 1833 before and will definitely go again

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great as usual ! Fine dining at its best !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I've had some great dinners at 1833, but the last several experiences have not been great. There were 7 of us and 5/7 thought the food was under par with both pork and chicken being dry. The service was very good as usual though..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

One of my all time worst dining experiences I can recall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

It's a lovely building and very nicely lit and decorated interior. Our server was very nice if somewhat inexperienced. We ordered a app, a small plate and an entree to share and a bottle of wine. All our dishes arrived within 5-10 minutes, and our wine didn't show up until after all the food! We felt more than a little rushed - despite our server's very kind insistence that we were not being rushed, the food cooling alone was applying pressure. Also the seats are heavy and deep & low, and make the table feel very high. I'm 6'4" and I felt like a little kid at the table, which wasn't great. The food was very good - the deviled eggs were solid if unremarkable, the artichoke frybread was cheesy and delicious, and the salmon was extremely fresh and well prepared. The salmon entree was not the best value though - a smallish filet for $30 with very little accompaniment on the plate didn't convey a good value imho. Overall I'd go back for sure, but I'd order carefully, and I'd request the plates come out with a little spacing between.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I went there with some friends for dinner to celebrate my birthday . The deviled eggs and cheddar biscuits were delish. I miss the roasted garlic potatoes on the menu from a few years ago. Those were delish. The food was good. However, one of my friends approached a staff member to let them know it was my birthday and requested something special. After time spent trying to pay the check she mentioned that the staff promised to do something special and for me and they did not honor that request. We left disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Very quiet, excellent food and service, just too expensive

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2017

This was our second time in less than a week. We are hooked. EVERY SINGLE item we had seemed like the best tasting thing in the world until we had the next thing. Wait staff is VERY attentive and unobtrusive. Its pricey but I promise you won't care after that first bite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The host was very nice and polite. She gave us a tour of the beautiful property and seated us in a comfy couch to have drinks before dinner. We were early for dinner and they hosted us very well. However, I can't say the same about foods and drinks. Both were bland; the drinks are watered down and the food need more flavor. I understand the half chicken is roasted chicken, but could definitely use some salt. My oven dish was chicken naan, I expected burst of spices. Barely even tasted the spice, only a faint smell of curry. We were very excited to come here, unfortunately not even the amazing decor or ambiance can bring us back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Celebrated my friends birthday. Food was amazing! Staff was helpful in every aspect of our evening from drinks to tour of the house to our table staff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Spent over $350. for three people, but the food was not very good. My guests said their dinners were not very good and I had the chicken and it was dry as toast. The cocktails were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

In one word "disappointed" Husband & I celebrated 25th anniversary here 2 years ago and since we'd had a great experience the first time came back since we were visiting the area again. Bad idea. The quality has not stood the test of time. The server (I think it was his first night) didn't advise us beforehand that they were out of the dish I tried to order and also told they couldn't serve a cappuccino (but I could have an espresso????). Daughter ordered risotto which she said was bland, my salmon (2nd choice) was also bland. Boys ordered the pork which they said was ok. Best part of the night was before the meal, outside at the fire pit. One of our party ordered the flight of scotch (very generous pour) and yummy cocktails all around. I hope they get back on track, the restaurant itself is so lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was a nice restaurant, great food.

Very pricey though and not kid friendly.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Super cool place. So memorable. Loved the lighting and service was amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very dark inside, had to use phone light to see menu. Small portions for price we paid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

For $123 we were very disappointed. Our waitress was nice, the steak tartare was good, but the rest of the food was mediocre at best, especially for the price, and the menu choices were very limited. There are beautiful parts to the restaurant, but they stuck us up in a dark loft with zero ambiance. There were other beautiful dining rooms open which would have been great, but they put us in the loft even though hardly anyone else was there for diner. Sorry, would not go back nor recommend it to anyone. Plenty of other nice restaurants with MUCH better food for $123.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The bartender was AWESOME. She made me a special drink we invented on the spot. Our Server Geovani was so attentive and my date was very taken with his kindness and warm genuine smile. We started with the Steak Tartar and the 1833 take on this dish made it perhaps the best tasting thing I have ever eaten. My date had the duck and I the smoked pork. Both were world class in looks and flavor. Expertly done. This is a little Gem of a place and Monterey is better because its there.
Cinna-Jim. ( the bartender will under strand)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Weird is the best way to describe our experience... seated right next to another couple when most tables were empty... steak tartare was good, salmon entree just ok, corned beef mostly fat, tough and inedible... and ultimately deducted from our bill with the bare minimum of an apology. After our waiter admitted that another customer had recently made the same complaint we were left to wonder why no one in the kitchen had the sense to pull it from the menu. And $18 for a small potato with a tablespoon of sour cream and some bacon bits???? Good selection of CA pinots with a reasonable 200-250% markup. Lukewarm espresso/hot decaf with decadent brownie dessert. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We went here on our Honeymoon and the staff was exceptional

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

My wife and I were staying at the Comfort Inn for one night and wanted to find a good, but close by restaurant. What a gem we found!! Old Spanish Adobe! Very fun and unique! 2 wedding receptions were occurring at the same time in different locations. Food was wonderful. Loved the bread with artichoke and we both had salmon. Cooked perfectly. My Bedrock Zin was great!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very disappointed. We've been to this restaurant since it was remodeled as 1833. In the beginning, the food was good and the service a bit more formal. There were weekend specials. Coming from SF, I was looking forward to a creative menu and items to try. They have this triple baked potato on the menu. I've had twice baked potato before and thought it should be pretty good. We ordered one to share. It was dry and small and most shocking it was $18! The chairs were velvet white, but they were all dirty. Nothing special about the menu and for the price, it certainly wasn't worth it. Another example, nachos was $14 with two 12 inches long tortilla chip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place has lost it! New chef is bland and staff needs to be trained

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Fantastic dinner and we were served of the most service minded waiter. Since we were the last guests of the evening, we had extra time for chatting also. We will recommend 1833 to all our friends that appreciate good quality

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I must say I had been looking forward to coming to this restaurant after the significant hype its received over the past few years, besides having having heard about its history from my parents who went there when it was Gallitan's. Our waiter was nice and very accommodating but other than that the experience was sub par to say the least. I understand the restaurant attempts to be seasonal, but the menu was completely different than the website and my party struggled to find items that sounded at all interesting. After deciding on a few dishes to share between the table my entire party found the food to be underwhelming and quite honestly disappointingly bland, leaving me to believe that maybe the head chef wasn't there as it was a Sunday night. On top of this, the furniture was dirty and soiled making me question the cleanliness of the rest of the operation and quite honestly if the restaurant planned on staying in business . Maybe this place had an off night or was in the process of transitioning their menu but I wouldn't recommend it other than to grab a cocktail as the historic ambiance of the bar and entrance are this business's only saving grace.
Oysters: Chef didn't feel comfortable serving them
Risotto: Bland and runny
Burger: couldn't be served rare and found out later why, as the wafer thin double patties were over cooked and reminiscent of a Big Mac. Only saving grace were the fries.
Salmon: Seemed fresh but was in and of itself bland, on top of the accompanying side dish being flavorless
Strawberry Shortcake: Overly sweet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Unfortunately our first visit was not great our food and appetizer came at the same time food was Luke warm. we had two big parties seated right before us and I feel the kitchen fell a little behind so our food suffered. I would try one more time if ever back in the area to give them a second chance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food and drink were good if not a little over priced compared to similar places. Always good when we come except for the slight surprise at the check. This time the service from hostess and later who I presume is the manager was disappointing. Had asked to be seated upstairs and was told it wasn't an option. Asked to be seat anywhere but between two noisy parties of over 10 people. Told not an option and that we were in "the quietest room." From experience, this was not true. Gave up our table to sit in the library despite rude treatment from the (presumed) manager. Luckily great waitress in the library saved the night and any chance that we come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We have dined at 1833 a total of 6 times now. What has kept us coming back is the atmosphere. The menu is really hit or miss. Last Friday it was a big miss. There was nothing on the menu any one of us wanted. The only item that looked good was the $65 steak - it was good, but definitely not worth the price. I had the pork which was very fatty and I ended up not eating most of it. If we go back again it would only be to have cocktails and bar food outside in their patio area. A couple of ladies at the table near us did not want anything on the menu either but they told the waiter that and then were told that there is a bar menu that would be better for them. I wish we knew that!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Amazing service by Nicole. It was, however, the first time I've ever sent back a cocktail. Very weird look and taste to my Cosmopolitan. It was a yellowish-brown color and tasted like a whiskey sour. My new drink tasted the same however less alcohol😳.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food and great service! Highly recommend!
I would certainly go there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

I've been to the resturant when it was Galantin's back in 70s and ws surprised that 1833 morphed into the building. Interesting food, had the duck with the faroe. Interesting wine list; had the rosé and a sherry at the end of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.