17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

4.4
1785 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Continental
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(912) 236-7122
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
James Deja
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We do not offer off-site catering.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lincoln
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine
What 1785 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We visited Savannah for a long weekend and noticed the positive reviews on Open Table. The food and service was fantastic. Great ambience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

If you are looking for somewhere to celebrate a special event, or just want some phenomenal food, combined with a wonderful selection of veggies that compliment the flavor of each meal presented on the menu, the 17Hundred90 Restaurant and Inn is where you want to go. Their menu is top notch, their cocktails are beautifully made, and the atmosphere and ambience cannot be beat. Also, live piano music adds to the the perfect dining experience. I cannot praise it enough. A+++++

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Food and service were fabulous! I highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Not worth the time and the money. The hostess couldn’t be bothered to get up when we walked in. Food was average at best. False advertising compared to the pictures in the hotel concierge’s book.

I normally don’t respond to this type of request but this was a total waste of time and money

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 13, 2018

The restaurant is very charming, up-scale, and quiet. It’s a perfect place for a date night. The food was very tasty, and the service was outstanding. It was maybe a little pricey, but the pianist was a nice touch. We had the Chocolate Bomb and Bread Pudding for desert, and both were AMAZING.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food and service were great! The piano player added to the ambience of the restaurant. Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

We had a wonderful date night! The food was great, the service was friendly and the piano man was very entertaining! Great little bar too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great atmosphere with quiet ambience. Food was delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The food, atmosphere and service was outstanding. Their Crab Stew (like a crab bisque) was the best seafood soup we have ever tasted. We loved the historic setting and quiet, romantic atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

It was a wonderful dining experience. Waiter was courteous. Food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Love this place. It was our anniversary and we also stayed at their Inn as well. The food was awesome. The atmosphere was perfect. They have someone playing the piano every night. It was great. We will be coming back, no questions asked. Love it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

This is a great place food dinner, wine and conversation. The service is always great as is the food. The location is a older historic building with great ambience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I love the atmosphere. You can hold a conversation with fellow diners as the noise level is low. The appetizers and main course were excellent. I enjoyed the wine. The bread pudding dessert was just ok. The location is very accessible. The service was also very good. I am a repeat customer. A very nice evening for our family.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We were really looking forward to this, but overall it was disappointing. Service was poor, as our server was often no where to be found, never delivered my husbands drink and never refilled our water glasses. My entree, the lobster with poblano sauce in fettuccini was pretty good, my husbands entree, the jambalaya was very disappointing, was small with no frills and lacked spice. We will not be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Excellent pasta and Oso Buco. Dessert so,so. Service great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Lovely dinner. Lovely surroundings. Excellent service. The piano was a bit too loud, but we enjoyed his play.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Very nice restaurant. Food and service were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

We came to this lovely inn for the history and the food. We came back for the music. The dining room is a charming slice of olde Savannah- beautifully appointed with original plank ceiling and period art works. Warm, dark and cozy. The food is quite good and moderately priced. Our server, Hill, offered the perfect blend of relaxed attentiveness and prompt service that is the hallmark of fine restaurants. We ate an appetizer of escargots and a main of the house special grouper. Both dishes were fresh and clean and still full of rich flavors. But the entertainment was the revelation- in the corner of the room sits a lovely old piano chandelier-ed a la Liberace. Make sure you reserve for a night when Jason Bowman is playing!!! We reserved for 8 and heard his late set. He has a warm tender sound perfectly suited to accommodate the slow gracious pace of the meal. Bring your sweetheart and ask for a table close to the piano. I guarantee a memorable night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We came here on the last night of our honeymoon and could not be happier with our dinner decision.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Great ambiance. Cozy and romantic with live piano music. Our server did not have much personality, but he did his job and then got out of the way. The food was delicious - I had the Neptune and my SO had the swordfish. And the honey busciuts are very yummy too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Wonderful food and great service. Live piano music the evening we were there. Although the escargot were not the traditional butter/garlic, they were excellent. The scallops were perfectly prepared. The water was attentive but not intrusive. Will definitely come back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Service was poor, we never received our last round of drinks. Food is just okay. Nothing about this place is unique or special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

We were staying at the 17 and 90 inn, so it made it very convenient.
The atmosphere is historic 1800's style...old wood work and furnishings. The staff is very friendly and service was very good. I only eat gluten free and they have a gluten free menu. They have a nice wine selection and the food is excellent. I had scallops and shrimp dish

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 21, 2018

We had a great time, the service and food are great, would recommend if you are going to be in the Savannah area. Will come back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We got to the restaurant early for our reservation and spent a little bit in the bar area. We met some fabulous people who live in the neighborhood who frequent the place. We already knew it would be wonderful because it was highly recommended when we told people we were going to Savannah for vacation. Even with that, everything about it exceeded our expectations. The background music from the pianist was amazing; the service was outstanding and the food was in the top 5 best meals I have ever had (and I'm in my 50s). Most highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

What a fantastic little restaurant! The food was excellent. My wife had the filet and it was cooked perfectly. I had the rack of lamb with the blue cheese sauce. I am still dreaming of this dish!!! The atmosphere was nice, but it was a little noisy considering there was a piano player working. The waiters did a great job making my anniversary a special event.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Ambiance, food, service.....this place has it all! Zamian was our server and he was on point! Friendly, professional, knowledgeable, obviously this staff is well trained. The special Halibut with a jalapeño papaya puree was incredible. So glad we had reservations though because this is a highly sought after restaurant and now I know why. The live piano was a beautiful touch, too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great spot for a dim lit lunch/dinner. Loved hearing the pinanist during our dinner and the key lime martini is to die for. A must if you are visiting Savannah like me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

We loved it and especially the waiter was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The actual building is very interesting, rustic, and has a great story. However, the food was over priced for the quality received. Don't get me wrong it was good. I would have just expected higher quality for almost $30 per person for a dinner entree.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I had out of town friends visiting and we chose the 17Hundred90 for their last meal in Savannah. The food and service are consistently good, and it's always nice to have piano music to dine by. That night I found the music to be a bit louder than usual, which made conversation difficult.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Atmosphere, ambience was great service excellent, prime rib to die for, biscuits fabulous, veggies suck , cold and very under cooked, baked potato was cold no butter and to my taste under cooked. I found it interesting that when the wait staff presented a bottle of wine that it had a screw on cap rather than a cork.
Over all it was a very satisfying visit
I will go again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

1790 is one of my favorite restaurants in Savannah, so we go here often for special occasions. On this particular visit, we were celebrating both Mother's Day and my mother's birthday. It was hard to decide what we wanted because the menu had so many wonderful choices. But it was our server that made the night extra special. John was by far THE BEST waiter we have ever had. He was funny, attentive, energetic, informative and extremely personable. Even my kids said he was the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

great food, awesome service and cool history....make a reservation!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We felt rushed. Portions are small. The key lime pie was frozen.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This was my 4th time going to 17hundres90 and once again it didn't disappoint! Delicious, friendly, good service and another wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Very good meal, wine, and service. This was our third time there and we will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Old historic building just off a square. Not much from outside but loved the old beamed dining room.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Very quaint, small dining room with pianist in evening. Piano volume was appropriate for size of dining area. Salmon Oscar was excellent, as was Scampi. Waiter was a little rushed and spilled some of my cocktail on my arm without even noticing. Hosts friendly. Recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Everything was delicious and well presented. Biscuits and honey butter to start was a treat.
Piano music set the mood. Lovely venue. Worth the visit.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
45