Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: (912) 236-7122

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (75)
Special Occasion (73)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (58)
Cozy (52)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Historic (42)
Authentic (37)
Live Music (35)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Fireplace (9)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our anniversary vacation dinner!
The piano player added a lovely touch, I LOVED his selections - he made the experience memorable for us!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have been many times to 1790.
Always a great experience .
This time the waiter we had was just rude !
He let us know we needed to order because he was going to get busy with others !!
Among other things .

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our first time to Savannah and we really enjoyed the ambiance of the 17Hundred90 Inn. Our server Ally was very nice and attentive and the meal was wonderful. After dinner we hung out at the bar for a little while and thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I think we had the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Here for our anniversary. Great time and dining!!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everything was outstanding until we were about to leave. In comes a little dog. Nothing against animals, but there is a place and time for them.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I had the rack of lamb and it was the best food I've ever had in my life. If I had to choose my last meal before I die, this would be it. The butter honey biscuits are also amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great meal. 2 really nice fish dishes. Service was great and the food was very well prepared. We really enjoyed the piano and it was one of the main
Reasons we picked this restaurant. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

What an amazing experience! John our waiter was phenomenal and the piano player was fantastic. I would highly recommend 17Hundred90 whenever your in Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is my most favorite restaurant in Savannah. Always go for my birthday. It has a beautiful candlelight atmosphere and ambiance, the food is consistently good and the gentleman that plays the beautiful piano music is fantastic. Love it! I'm already looking forward to my next trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Heard so much about the restaurant. They were very pleasant but I must admit to being a little disappointed. There was a girl giving out biscuits. When asked if I could have one she said" you will get one in due time"!!! I was surprised at her attitude. We had been on our feet all day and we were peckish. I felt like a school child!
My dinner was delicious but my husbands was disappointing. True He requested avegan entree and they were very accommodating but it arrived really over salted. He sent it back and it still came back over salted . I could not have eaten it!
On the positive side, the piano player was great and our waiter was very nice.

The other thing I'd point out was that the toilets could have looked a little more in keeping with such a wonderful old building. They looked like they belonged in a gas station!

All this is said to give input it is a nice old inn but those things were not in keeping with a historic building

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The restaurant was a pleasant place to dine, with a large dose of history in the building and its forebears dating back to the 18th century. Food was very good with ample portions and the overall experience was excellent!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

On vacation in Savannah and found this spot on a pub crawl tour. Loved it so much we went back to try for dinner. Wow! Did it ever beat every expectation. A fantastic restaurant and very reasonable prices.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We were two couples, all enjoyed their food. All of us had seafood related dinners. Everything tasted great, portion size was good. The service was outstanding. Our server (Mr. Bowtie) was very knowledgeable of the menu and provided us with very attentive service. We brought wines in and took advantage of the corkage fee. Our server dealt with all the right glasses, chillers, opening a red early to taste then taste again after being opened in a new glass. Just a wonderful experience made special by the server. Definitely would go again.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Loved the piano music. Service was slow & waiter seemed distracted/uninterested.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was a fun restaurant for the history behind it, however we had some issues with our dinner. The waiter and the staff were very helpful in sorting everything out, so I can't complain that they were not attentive to our issues. Appetizers were great, and two out of four of our entrees were great, but the two that we sent back were both the same. Even though I didn't get to enjoy my dinner, the staff did offer to replace my meal, so I still think they deserve a good rating!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Not so good.
1.) very first impression set the tone for the night. The greeter acted like we were interrupting her (she was just sitting there no crowd) when we checked in for our 8:15 reservation. After telling her who we were she didn't act like she had a job to do. After 3 or 4 minutes of awkward standing there (without a word from her) she finally opened her mouth and said we had a choice of two tables, one next to the piano or two adjacent to a table of 20+. We took the loud table choice.

2.) food overall was just ok. The jambalaya however was awful (very little sausage and shrimp and a lot (a very lot) rotell tomatoes. Terrible balance on the plate, the chef should be embarrassed .

3.) Our waitress was a bright spot she was very kind to the beat of her ability. They may have been short sataffed as there was long delays between drinks, ordering, food checking on us, and final bill. I don't think it was her fault however so cutting some slack there.

4.) The value for the meal, ambiance, and atmosphere all combined was fair to poor overall. Savannah has a lot more to offer. We won't be back and we don't recommend this restaurant except possibly for it's historical authenticity in Savannah and story line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This place is Freakin' Good! We were in Savannah for the night and wanted a nice place in the historic district with southern food. This was perfect! The food was wonderful! Everyone in the family loved everything, which can be hard to do with a food snob for a spouse and two teenager boys. If we ever get back Savannah, we'll be coming back for more honey buttered biscuits, jambalaya and etouffee. Mmmm....crawfish.....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Everything was great. We had shrimp & grits & crab cake appetizers. Fir our meals, we had the special, which was swordfish, the rack of lamb, pork osso bucco & pork tenderloin w/cranberry.... wow amazing !!! Service was impeccable !!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This was probably the best meal that I had during my time in Savannah. The staff was friendly. I felt perfectly comfortable dining solo.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything was great; we sat at the bar to dine and the bartender was excellent. We truly enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food and service was just as amazing as it was 28 years ago. Most restaurants do not even survive that long. Attentive but not intrusive waiter. Melt in your mouth honey butter rolls. Loved the swordfish special and shrimp scampi. The pecan pie topped it off beautifully. The background music provided by the pianist was perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This is a small restaurant with plenty of atmosphere. It would be great for a special occasion and it's quite romantic. There is a piano player in one corner and we were seated right next to him which made it a little loud for us so if you prefer a quiet location, ask to be seated away from the piano. The fillet mignon was tender and cooked to order. It came with mashed potatoes and green beans. The green beans were almost completely raw. While I like a little "crunch" in my veggies, these beans were almost raw. Otherwise, the food was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food at atmosphere was excellent. It was our first time in Savannah and we heard amazing things about this place. We were not disappointed. The food came out very quick, and the waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good food but not as good as surrounding restaurants. Seated 20 minutes after reservation. Service was excellent. Great honey butter biscuits and Signature salad.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great bar with friendly servers and primo libations. Arrived early for first dinner seating... special seating request via Open Table ignored. Dining Hostess rather unfriendly with no eye contact and very few words. Meal server insisted on placing appetizer and dinner orders at same time since they were about to be busy... we just passed on appetizers. Food was a mixed bag... ok generally with excellent swordfish special. Nice classical live piano music in the background this evening. Last trip 3 years ago here was a much better experience. Charming old historic building. A bit pricey for the overall value delivered today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Was in Savannah for vacation and celebrated anniversary here. First time to this restaurant which was recommended by the B&B owner where we stayed. Food was really good and piano player in the restaurant was a nice touch and the noise level was perfect of the music.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great example of Savannah dining, historic building, prompt service, good food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. The cozy atmosphere of the restaurant, including the wonderful live piano player, really set the stage for an enjoyable dining experience. Our server, named Hill, was quick to address our table and take our drink orders. I ordered a Manhattan and my wife selected a glass of wine. The bartender prepared an excellent Manhattan, and I was happily surprised that the price was significantly less than I expected. I can't wait to return to try more dishes. The crab chowder/soup was the best I have ever had and the escargot and bacon wrapped scallops were delicious. Excellent food, excellent service, and an excellent atmosphere- what more could anyone want?

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

But for our waiter the experience was a positive one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 11, 2017

This restaurant was exceptional, from the atmosphere, the service, to the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Delicious dinner, I ordered the Neptune, very good--5 stars!! My husband ordered the special, cobia...said it was kind of bland--3 stars, but we definitely wI'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Awesome! Food was delicious, service was great and overall a wonderful evening. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and good historic atmosphere. I would recommend this to anyone for brunch or dinner. Definitely make a reservation for dinner, no need for brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 30, 2017

17Hundred90 was the best experience we had on our 3 night stay in Savannah. The restaurant setting and decor is romantic and the food and service were excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was amazing, and the setting was definitely romantic. We were dressed casually so the woman the front lied and said they were booked up but offered us to sit at the bar in the other room where we would have no service and a bar-only menu. The woman seating people then came and asked two ladies next to us if they would like a table (in the supposedly booked dining room) so we asked her to let us know if anything else opened up. We had been waiting since before the restaurant opened. She assured us again that they were booked up so we looked online at OpenTable and lo, and behold! There were open reservations every 15 minutes for the next 1.5 hours and then several others throughout the evening. We made a reservation and when we went up to the front at our reserved time, we were rudely seated at the very back of the room with the worst waiter I've ever had. He literally spoke through his teeth at us the entire time. It was very strange. We were disappointed in all that hoopla as we had driven 3+ hours one way to check out the restaurant (we met a friend there who also drove nearly 4 hours one way to get there.) We spent over $100 for three people and really would have enjoyed it so much more had we not been treated as through we were such an inconvenience. There were other people dressed casually, as well, so it was not as though we were the only people unaware of the unspoken dress code. (Trust me, I had already looked all over the website to find one and I couldn't and we aren't locals so there was no way to know until we got there.) Overall, the food was great and the live music was nice but we were treated so poorly that it ruined the mood of our party of 3.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We stayed at 17hundred90 when we were in town for a wedding this weekend. We tried out the restaurant for brunch, and we were not disappointed! I had the stuffed french toast. It was scrumptious! And moderately priced as well. Would definitely return!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Located in the heart of Savannah and has a lot of original, historic charm. Plus, the food was very good! Nice place to have dinner especially if you are planning to walk around town before or after as it is near everything and not overly fancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Had the Neptune .., it was the only meal I had in Savannah that was bad!! Crab cakes had shells in them - sadly the waiter noticed me picking the shells & said nothing! Scallops were very strong tasting so I left both crab & scallops! The shrimp was good -- risotto was way over cooked! After so many reviews I had so looked forward to the Neptune - very disappointing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 26, 2017

wonderful experience in this historic restaurant and inn. The piano player played all favorite songs. the food and ambiance and service were all excellent.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Live Music, Bar Seating, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.