About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: (912) 236-7122

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (51)
Romantic (46)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Cozy (39)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Live Music (27)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Fireplace (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Authentic (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (7)
Fun (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, wonderful live piano. Wonder ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, wonderful live piano. Wonderful service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a cool restaurant! Great service an ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Such a cool restaurant! Great service and food and piano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite places to go ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one of our favorite places to go for excellent food, atmosphere, and great service, complete with dinner music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant...our favorite in S ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful restaurant...our favorite in Savannah (We're residents). Dan, our server was very knowledgeable and helpful. The lamb was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for Valentine's Day. I lov ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

We went there for Valentine's Day. I loved the coziness of the restaurant. The food was perfect. And the service was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a very nice dining experience on ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed a very nice dining experience on Valentine's Day in Savannah. Good food - nice ambiance - piano music. A nice evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is in the basement of an ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is in the basement of an old Inn that is housed in an original Savannah structure. The service is excellent with food and wine recommendations. The honey covered biscuits served are a tease for the remainder of the meal. My wife had the beef cooked perfectly and tenderly. I enjoyed ever bite of salmon Oscar. We considered it an excellent Valentine's Day evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we visit Savannah we make a p ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every time we visit Savannah we make a point to dine at 17hundred90. The food is always outstanding and the service is impeccable. I like the weekends since they have a wonderful pianist providing relaxing background music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dear 17Hundred90, Just a wonderful resta ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dear 17Hundred90,

Just a wonderful restaurant and atmosphere for a beautiful Valentine's day weekend dining experience.

All the staff were friendly and kind.

I ordered & ate Caesar Salad, Neptune & shared a pineapple cake /w my friend!

THANK You for serving us a good time and a Smile! :)

Best regards,

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic atmosphere and great old inn. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic atmosphere and great old inn. Romantic live piano music in the background was a nice touch. Food and service were also top notch.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and value.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent service and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately this choice didn't work ou ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Unfortunately this choice didn't work out well for me. I brought 8 customers with me for what I thought would be a fun dinner at a haunted inn. The only problem was that the kitchen could not get it together and it ended with a 2.5 hour dinner and the food didn't even arrive for some of my guests. No explanations and just pathetic service - this is the first and only time I will go to 17hundred90.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Absolutely scrumptious! A perfectly pre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Absolutely scrumptious! A perfectly prepared mealfor Restaurant Wee. My hubby said his filet was mouthwatering delicious and my chicken dinner was most likely the best chicken I've ever eaten😍😍. Doesn't get any better than that. And, the biscuits....oh my, just enjoy. They are perfect!!!

Tags: Authentic, , Casual, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CAVEAT: we went for restaurant week, so ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

CAVEAT: we went for restaurant week, so any evaluation is probably a little unfair due to volume of business. That said, I was honestly a little underwhelmed after expecting to eat in one of Savannah's premiere restaurants. The food was good, but the temperature on my chateau briand was Luke warm by the time it reached the table. Also, the wait staff was honestly a bit amateurish from what I was expecting at a restaurant of this caliber. I wouldn't refuse to go here if I was in a group setting, but I would not return on my own accord.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The Chateaubriand Rouge was excellent, b ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The Chateaubriand Rouge was excellent, but the Corvina Lobster Alredo not so much. This fish did not have much flavor and it seemed the dish was under the heat lamp too long. The pasta was somewhat dried up and the sauce seeped to the bottom of the dish. Could have been tossed before bringing to the table. Otherwise, a very good meal.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We were in town on vacation and this was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were in town on vacation and this was the first place we dined as it was my favorite from my last visit. The restaurant and staff did NOT disappoint! It was restaurant week, so for $30 we each had escargot, filet mignon, and dessert, plus honey-buttered biscuits! Service was attentive and timely. Love the exposed brick historical setting, piano, and feel of it all!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Authentic, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried this historical restaurant during ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Tried this historical restaurant during restaurant week. Selections were diverse, something for everyone. Mashed potatoes were highly seasoned with horseradish. A little too much for my taste. Due to the low ceilings restaurant was very noisy. Loved the fact that it was haunted!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

We just went as a table of 4 for restaur ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We just went as a table of 4 for restaurant week. I think we all agreed that the food was amazing. We had filet mignon and a great chocolate dessert, however the service was not as expected. It took over 2 hours and 20 minutes from being sat to signing our check. It took well over 80 minutes to get our entree... And you would think with it being restaurant week, they would be prepared for the crowd and be prepared for the few menu options. I would definitely try it again and hope for better service. It was really a shame because the food and atmosphere was beyond wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Went during Restaurant week. Normally l ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Went during Restaurant week. Normally love 17hundred90. The chateaubriand was more raw vs rare. Just simply lacked taste. had it during Restaurant week last year and it was really good. The lobster sauce alfredo with Corvina fish was really good. Service was okay, have had better. Not sure the chateaubriand was worth the charge. Will go again as we have always had a good experience prior.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent selection of meals, beautiful ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent selection of meals, beautiful setting with piano music, staff is always eager to please. Historic location with great story and ghosts. Great little bar too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined with friends as part of a "Rest ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We dined with friends as part of a "Restaurant Week" event. Overall, we found the evening fine, but not anything outstanding enough that we will be making a second visit.

On the positive side, the location is downtown near other venues, the live piano dinner music was a very nice touch, the ambiance is "historic" in the lower level of an inn (exposed brick walls & historic art work, etc.), and our server was very attentive with a great personality.

Our disappointment was actually in the food. Only one of our party ordered from the "restaurant week" menu as the items listed were not very creative. (This was surprising as most restaurants use this event as an opportunity to try out new dishes and get feedback from customers. ) The regular menu was also quite standard with our party ordering fried green tomatoes, crab stew, crab/shrimp cakes, bacon-wrapped scallops, filet mignon, & flounder. The plates were quite ordinary (no "wow factor" with the presentation). The honey biscuits, crab stew, filet, and fried green tomatoes were very tasty. Scallops were overcooked, seafood cakes not at all good, and our dessert was disappointing. So, we rated the restaurant average with some "hits and misses", concluding that it as a "one-time" dining destination.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A beautiful place. Nice atmosphere.

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A beautiful place. Nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great food, service was just ok...I thin ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great food, service was just ok...I think our server was new. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Dinner was ok. I ordered blackened shri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dinner was ok. I ordered blackened shrimp, which was good, but there was a bone in the rice that accompanied my entree, so that was disappointing. The restaurant itself is very nice, with live piano music. The service was just mediocre. We ate at the Olde Pink House the night before and both the food and the service were much better at the Olde Pink House.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

An enjoyable dinner with a wonderful atm ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

An enjoyable dinner with a wonderful atmosphere. Our dinners were delicious, our waiter attentive and the piano added to the delight of this restaurant. I would highly recommend this place to those visiting Savannah!

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food overall. Only exception w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Delicious food overall. Only exception was pasty risotto. But everything else was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very nice Savannah ambiance with some sh ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very nice Savannah ambiance with some shabby edges. The bar area is lively, and the bartender, Scott, is very professional. In the dining room with a piano player where we were seated, the service staff was not good and lowered the rest of the experience. The piano player played very softly so coversations could be normal. Unfortunately, the piano player had zero personality and could only play music in his song book. Making a simple request for a well-known song (not in his book) was fruitless. This place should not be your first choice ---- maybe third.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This is absolutely my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is absolutely my favorite restaurant in the City of Savannah the food is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were not really received by the hoste ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We were not really received by the hostess. We got to our table by waiter. The wine we ordered was not available. The waiter was inexperienced. On leaving the hostess didn't say anything. Food was good but the people need more training on how to try to make our meal a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great service, very good food, wonderful ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great service, very good food, wonderful ambiance, good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the place looks great. We ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and the place looks great. Went for brunch on a Sunday the menu had great options. The service was a little slow and we never got refills on our coffee or water but I would go again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to 1790. The setting is an historic house. The restaurant is on the first floor and the inn is on the floors above. The authentic feeling of the brick walls and open rafters makes the setting warm and cozy. The piano is in the first dining room. The music chosen was relaxed and classic. The performer was talented and did a good job of keeping the noise level under control. The food was excellent. We had the shrimp and scallop scampi, lamb, and wreckfish special for entrees along with the escargot and fried green tomatoes for starters. All dishes were well presented and tasty. Our server, Allie, did a great job of juggling her tables. She gave us just enough attention without seeming too solicitous or too absent. My only complaint would be the extra long wait between the appetizers and the main dishes. Otherwise, the experience was pleasant and the food was superb.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Wonderful...wonderful...wonderful! Our 2 ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Wonderful...wonderful...wonderful!

Our 2nd time there and each has been excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Looked great online. Waiter was rude, ne ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Looked great online. Waiter was rude, never returned to see if our food was good, refills, and just had a bad attitude. Dark complexion guy with black hair in a ponytail. Filet was subpar taste for outstanding price. Ended up having friend staying in the hotel there that we ran into the next day. Said they'd thought about trying it until we told them about our experience. Didn't appear to be that busy for the service to be so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Food was just average. At these prices, ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was just average. At these prices, expected better tasting and more creative menu. Restaurant has a nice ambiance and service was attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Live Music, Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We like this place and go there whenever ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We like this place and go there whenever my son visits. This time we went on Saturday, I did not realize it is a brunch now. I was expecting the buffet, but it turned out fine. Everything was 5stars.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the ambiance and food at ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We always enjoy the ambiance and food at 1790. It is a favorite for many years now, and we never hesitate to return. If you have not been...go. The pianist is excellent, staff is friendly and efficient, and the food is well prepared and tasty. We love the rack of lamb, seafood, and occasionally we will have a great filet!

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good was excellent, especially the bacon ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good was excellent, especially the bacon wrapped scallops. Enjoyed the music and our waiter was very personable.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner with a very cozy atmo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Anniversary Dinner with a very cozy atmosphere and nice piano playing. Able to talk back and forth at a comfortable level. Food was excellent and good price. Wife was happy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service (I believe our server ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service (I believe our server was John - he wears bow ties and is very friendly), delicious food (shrimp and grits, Boursin chicken, Caesar salad), cozy atmosphere, and lovely, soft piano music. This is our second visit here and it is on our list of favorite restaurants on our Savannah trips!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.