About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: 912-236-7122 x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Calamari Fries
Chicken Soup
17Hundred90 Club Sandwich
Jambalaya
Neptune Scallops, Crab Cake, & Shrimp
Surf & Turf
Shrimp & Grits
Salmon Oscar
Chocolate Bomb
Pecan-Crusted Grouper With Mushroom Risotto
Crab Stew
Primcess Pineapple Cake
Ribeye With Demi Glaze
French Toast
Christmas Dinner
Cranberry Stuffed Pork
Honey-Covered Biscuit

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
8 More
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

special occasion (125)
romantic (123)
neighborhood gem (95)
See All
fit for foodies (76)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (25)
great for lunch (24)
vibrant bar scene (21)
great for brunch (16)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (10)
scenic view (9)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We stayed over night at the Inn for a bi ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We stayed over night at the Inn for a birthday get a way! It was fabulous. Excellent, friendly service and accommodations. Even though I live in Savannah, it felt like we were on vacation!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience at 1790 ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our dining experience at 1790

Loved the ambiance of the place and the subtle piano background music.

Menu offered interesting variety and we were pleased with our choices

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was excellent with decent prices. A ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent with decent prices. Atmosphere was nice, but the service was poor, had to ask or look for our waiter a few times.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were thrilled to be able to dine here ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were thrilled to be able to dine here. Food was terrific. Had an extensive gluten free menu.

Very nice music and charming atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was hands down one of the best dini ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was hands down one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. From the service to the food, I couldn't have asked for more or better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time in Savannah so I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time in Savannah so I was looking for some unique places to eat. 17Hundred90 Inn was perfect. The food was incredible. My husband got the cranberry stuffed pork chops and I got the Jambalaya. Both were delicious and we cleaned our plates. The honey rolls at the beginning of the meal were to die for. I could have eaten 4 or 5 of those alone!! I loved listening to the lady playing the piano throughout our meal. She played and sang quietly which made for a very relaxing and romantic atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be going back next time we're in Savannah.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was superb. I ha ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great, service was superb. I had ordered flowers for our anniversary and they were on the table when we got there. Everything went great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Good chef and serv ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent experience. Good chef and service. Atmosphere excellent. Salmon entree excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was much better than expected. Serv ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was much better than expected. Serving size was average. Cost was higher than normal but it's more like fine dining. Overall it was worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We liked this place for lunch so much th ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We liked this place for lunch so much that we came back for dinner! The crab stew is creamy and the Fried Green Tomatoe BLT very tasty with sweet potatoe fries. Also, the mixologist in the bar is a local favorite! For dinner, 1790 was a great quiet restaurant with a piano and great food. It has great ambiance and wonderful food. I had the trout and it was sweet and fabulous and my husband and I split a spinach salad for dinner. This is a beautiful old historic building with great ambiance and a great Savannah experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time that we ate at ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was the second time that we ate at this restaurant and again the food, service and atmosphere was great.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I cannot recommend this place enough! Li ...

 
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I cannot recommend this place enough! Live piano player, beautiful chandeliers, exquisite food. Bacon wrapped scallops to die for! Steak was out of this world. Rolls with honey glaze come free with meal and are heaven! Wow wow wow. Best for a date or any family gathering. Nice separate lounge area as well. We will come back over and over again. Love this spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic, romantic, piano player, hist ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fantastic, romantic, piano player, historic, and the food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed their dinners. Loved th ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their dinners. Loved the piano player, live music is such a treat! But the best reason to dine here... The BISCUITS!!!!! You can't imagine how divine they are! What every biscuit dreams they could be! Thanks Mark for taking good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were at a family reunion in Savannah ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were at a family reunion in Savannah and several of us decided to eat out for the evening meal. The food was very good and the service was excellent. It was a little pricey but we all had a great time an would eat there again if we are ever in Savannah again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

17Hundred90 is a fabulous restaurant tha ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

17Hundred90 is a fabulous restaurant that caters to locals as well as a great tourist spot! (Hauntings, but don't let that scare you!)

The food is exceptional! Do not miss the Crab Stew which is richly loaded with crab and a hint of sherry. We had the delicious Neptune platter consisting of Wild Georgia shrimp, sea scallops and 2 crab cakes served with risotto and vegetables. A wonderful sampling of tasty seafood! Another person in our group ordered the nightly special which was a superb sword fish cooked to perfection. This is a restaurant not to be missed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional evening of dining while on v ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Exceptional evening of dining while on vacation in Savannah.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely evening,altogether. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a lovely evening,altogether. The food was very and our server, Jonathan was personable, friendly and provided excellent service. An evening well spent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Discovered this on a tour and came back! ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Discovered this on a tour and came back! It was in walking distance from hotel.

The waiter Jon Bo was excellent!! Food was awesome

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having a live piano player was a surpris ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Having a live piano player was a surprise and a total delight great food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband and I were visiting Savannah ...

 
·Dined on July 12, 2016

My husband and I were visiting Savannah and ate here twice! We will return on our next visit to Savannah. It was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding experience. The food was ma ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding experience. The food was magnificent and the thrill of the ghost of Anna was exhilarating. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. What a blast.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love the ambiance of the historic locati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Love the ambiance of the historic location

Piano music while we dined great service

Delicious biscuits with honey butter

Had tile fish fresh from charleston with fresh peach sauce. Delicious !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every part of the evening was excellent! ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Every part of the evening was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Pork shank and ri ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was really good. Pork shank and ribeye were excellent. The biscuits are to die for. Only lack luster aspect is the wine list. Basically normal stuff you can get from most grocery stores (e.g. 14 Hands), but 3 times the price for the bottles.

Overall though, we were very happy with the food, service and overall experience. Highly recommend.

Note: They do have some limited and very tight parking spots. You can also park on the street if you need to. In our case, we stayed in the historic district so it was a short walk for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was very salty. We noticed severa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was very salty. We noticed several other tables having to send their food back due to being cooked wrong, such as their steak being underdone. Service was great, prices weren't bad. But unfortunately, the food was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife got the Boursin Chicken and I go ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife got the Boursin Chicken and I got the Neptune, both were excellent, not good but excellent. Enjoyed the ambiance. Service did nothing wrong, just seemed like he didn't want to be there. Five stars if the waiter just seemed like he cared. Again he did nothing wrong, just nothing more than he had to... but I would certainly be back and recommend that 17hundred90 to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great location and fun history of this h ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great location and fun history of this haunted inn. Food was delicious, fairly priced.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food, service and ambiance were all ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food, service and ambiance were all outstanding! I will return on my next trip to Savannah!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun outing for a family group of 7. We h ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fun outing for a family group of 7. We had a small private room with a fireplace off the bar. The server was attentive, courses timed well. Food was excellent. We ordered the Neptune. shrimp & scallop scampi, pork Osso Bucco. Carolina trout and salmon entrees. Excellent experience. I recommend that you give it a try.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Get together with family. Service was a ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Get together with family. Service was a little slow, but that gave time to catch up. The food and ambiance were what we expected from several visits over the years. Parking is normally easier than other downtown restaurants

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

PERFECT meal! Came early for a glass of ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

PERFECT meal! Came early for a glass of wine in the bar, then moved to the restaurant. Incredible meal. Gentleman on piano… I went to ask him to play a Sinatra song, tipped him and back to table. Time now to leave. My wife picked up her purse which was on the floor (an older stone floor). When she picked it up, she rested it on her dress. Once she stood up we saw black spots throughout her dress and on the purse. We showed it to the Hostess and our Server John. They both commented, “it must be how you carry the purse!” It was a brand new purse, and had nothing on it, let alone the dress. Their reaction was basically... move on! We have photos which show the damage to both the dress and the purse. We wanted to speak with someone but we were not offered that. An absolutely incredible night ruined not by the stains, but by the lack of care from the staff. I have been in Hospitality for 20+ years and I would be so upset if my staff reacted in this manner. PS never did get the Sinatra song, hope he enjoyed the tip!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything added up to a perfect evening ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything added up to a perfect evening. From the honey covered biscuit to the princess pineapple cake the food was delicious. A must stop while in Savannah!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Service was poor mainly because of the a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was poor mainly because of the attitude of the server and hostess as we were asking simple questions excited to be there. It felt as if they didn't really want to be working and couldn't care less if we were taking care of with passion and service excellence. ( Even though the words coming out of there mouth were yes sir yes ma'am it felt sarcastic and not good). The Food was Delicious and The Piano player was Brilliant. This is our second time coming back to dine at 17Hundred90 Inn and the reason for this review is the same thing happened last year regarding service and attitude of staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent service. Excellent food. Elega ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent service. Excellent food. Elegant dining in a magnificently restored revolutionary war building with the exposed brick and slate floor, accompanied by the lovely strains of a piano in the dining area. Our reservation was timely honored and this was the highlight meal of our visit to Savannah!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were disappointed.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The service was great, Food was great, s ...

 
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The service was great, Food was great, surrounding customers were friendly. We came from Florida to eat here and not disappointed. I know a couple of us will be back. Outstanding service.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nicely adapted to an old building. Vibr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Nicely adapted to an old building. Vibrant bar with a notable wine list. Food was great. We had rack of lamb and salmon Oscar. Both were outstanding. Highly recommend!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed the food. We enjoyed the char ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We enjoyed the food. We enjoyed the character. We enjoyed the pianist. Memorable night.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening. Service and food ...

 
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. Service and food was excellent. We returned the next day and had cocktails in the bar, totally a great experiences. 😊🍷😊

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.