About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: 912-236-7122 x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Calamari Fries - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
17Hundred90 Club Sandwich - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Chicken Soup - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Surf & Turf - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Shrimp & Grits - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Salmon Oscar - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Chocolate Bomb - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Pecan-Crusted Grouper With Mushroom Risotto - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Crab Stew - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Primcess Pineapple Cake - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Ribeye With Demi Glaze - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
French Toast - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Christmas Dinner - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Jambalaya - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Honey-Covered Biscuit - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Cranberry Stuffed Pork - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Neptune Scallops, Crab Cake, & Shrimp - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
2 More
Best Value
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

Romantic (52)
Special Occasion (50)
Historic (46)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Live Music (27)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Cozy (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Worth the Drive (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fireplace (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Casual (4)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had an excellent experience, food was gr ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Had an excellent experience, food was great and romantic atmosphere by the fire for wedding anniversary dinner. Reasonably priced. Will return in future.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite dining spots when vi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

One of our favorite dining spots when visiting Savannah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and atmosphere; servers a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food and atmosphere; servers around us appeared charming and efficient - unfortunately ours was not

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was fantiastic as was the servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was fantiastic as was the service. The noise level was very low and the ambience was very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My wife and I shared two appetizers. Wh ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My wife and I shared two appetizers. While they tasted good, several hours later we were both quite ill. I'll spare the details. Oddly enough, at the time we thought that the appetizers were the best part of the meal. The main courses were very average as was dessert. The wait staff was attentive, anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Was seated promptly on arrival, waiter w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Was seated promptly on arrival, waiter was attentive but not overbearing. Piano player was good and it created some background music, in what I feel otherwise, would be a very quiet room. Food was excellent - no complaints, the crab cakes were homemade and very tasty. Went to the bar afterwards for a quick drink before heading out. Overall would recommend without hesitation

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience with excellent food and s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great ambience with excellent food and service. Best Pork Osso Bucco. Best me we have had in Savannah

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited Savannah to visit my family with ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Visited Savannah to visit my family with our daughter whose birthday occurred during the visit. So, I remembered the restaurant from when I lived here and loved the escargots. It was an excellent meal, lovely place and great service. Pork Chops, Nepture's Platter (something like that), escargots and crawfish etouffe were excellent Pricey but consistent with the type of place it was. For another special occasion, we would go again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was very good! The escargot and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was very good! The escargot and bacon wrapped scallops were excellent! Our waiter was very attentive and the atmosphere was charming. We did not, however; see any ghosts that night. If you're not sure what I'm talking about, look it up!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had heard many people talk about what ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had heard many people talk about what a great place to visit. We weren't bothered by the three resident ghosts, and the bar area was pleasant and very cozy. The beverages were done with exceptional care and even the glasses were chilled for the margarita and martina. The food was exceptional - from the apps (house salad and bacon wrapped scallops) to the mains (prosciutto wrapped chicken breast and Brined pork chop) and the deserts were phenomenal (pineapple creme cake and bread pudding with bourbon glaze). We both agreed that the pineapple creme cake was just a tad more appealing - so save room and be amazed!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant had a cozy and pleasant ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The restaurant had a cozy and pleasant atmosphere. The food was okay, but not great. We both had the jambalaya. Having lived in New Orleans, we expected better. Everything came out at a rather tepid temperature, not as hot as I would expect. Our server was nice but less than forthcoming about the night's specials. She lacked the professionalism that we observed in other servers that night.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The 17hundred90 never fails to please. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The 17hundred90 never fails to please. Good value and great atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess accommodated us with a table in ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Hostess accommodated us with a table in a preferred area, live piano was lovely, space was perfect In an historic inn, food was excellent, we were not rushed, it was a memorable evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner!!! This was the perfect d ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Amazing dinner!!! This was the perfect date night. Food was amazing. Service was fantastic. Piano player was great. You can't get more perfect than this. This was our favorite dinner during our trip. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I very nice dinner out in a quiet atmosp ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I very nice dinner out in a quiet atmosphere for my mom's birthday.....it was perfect!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was Average. Business guests were ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Food was Average. Business guests were not impressed with their steaks. Seafood was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We booked a table for brunch with high e ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We booked a table for brunch with high expectations but highly disappointed. Service was horrible. Thinking it was just the server since many others seemed to be getting attention we lacked. Our waiter couldn't have cared less. Could never get his attention and when we did, felt like we were doing him a favor - even when we complained to the manager. Entrees came out very salty and one was done totally wrong. Meal was comped but would have preferred to pay for a nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food (salmon is amazing) and great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food (salmon is amazing) and great staff, thanks!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great , but out server was terr ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great , but out server was terrible . As we were leaving another patron was complaining that about her server. They took a very long time to welcome us and to bring our meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Restaurant has a lot to offer, cozy, war ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Restaurant has a lot to offer, cozy, warm, delicious food, live music (piano) & good location if you want to walk off your hearty meal. Parking can be a little troublesome but all in all after the meal that I had I will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Date nights with my wife. Great service, ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Date nights with my wife. Great service, great wine and great food. Overall fab experience. Would go there again.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Normally we visit Savannah twice a year ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Normally we visit Savannah twice a year for various reasons. 1790 has been one of our favorites. No more. This last experience removed the restaurant from our list. Savannah has too many other restaurants that offer good food and service to excuse a very bad experience. Our waiter was brusque and acted as if he had much better things to do. Evidently he did. For most of the night, he simply disappeared. If we needed refills, or other things, we had to flag others and ask. I ordered a spinach salad, the soup special, and lamb chops. My wife ordered a salad and the chicken boursin. The soup and salad courses were OK, but after a considerable wait, both entrees arrived stone cold. We could not find the waiter (as noted a problem throughout the night), and finally did find the manager. He took offered to "warm" them up. Hooray! The lamb chops were tough and stringy, the chicken edible, but dry with little taste. In addition, the chef seems to think that a huge mound of unseasoned and rather dry "mashed" potatoes forms such a wonderful base that most of the entrees seem to feature this--oh with perhaps some steamed green beans or asparagus (actually rather well prepared) thrown across for presentation.

 I will simply note, that in my 45 years in visiting Savannah, this ranks as one of the worst meals I have ever had in a restaurant that has pretenses of being  finer dining than available in one of the ubiquitous  chains.  We will not be back even though we will be in Savannah at least three times next year.
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food, cocktails and service. G ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent food, cocktails and service. Great ambience, historical significance

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's hard to be objective about a restau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It's hard to be objective about a restaurant when your server's body odor overwhelms your senses. No matter how nice the decor, we found that the experience with the server destroyed any chance that we would ever return to the restaurant. As for the food, 2 of our 4 diners had nice meals and 2 had subpar food. For example, the blackened shrimp dish had small shrimp that were not blackened, were not spicy, and had the texture of microwaved fish -- mushy. On the other hand, the pork chop special and the beef fillet were well prepared and tasty. The decor was mostly pleasant, but the exposed conduit and other exposed electrical connections were jarring in what is supposed to be an elegant, old South environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Great restaurant! Food is delicious and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great restaurant! Food is delicious and staff is so attentive. If you are in Savanna, this is a "must do" restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zac was an excellent waiter the night we ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Zac was an excellent waiter the night we were there

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Oisin was attentive and affab ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Our server Oisin was attentive and affable. Food was excellent . Nice wine list. Live piano music was great for the mood of the evening. Will be back when in Savannah.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a lovely place - quite different fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

It's a lovely place - quite different for New Yorkers!! Very cozy. Live piano music (he was just okay!). Truly top notch service. Abigail was our server, and we found her very efficient, warm, all-around great. She got us a pedi-cab (we would never do that in NYC!). Very nice!!! Would definitely put it at the top of our list if we return to Savannah.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food in a historic and fascinating ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food in a historic and fascinating setting. Good service.

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy 1790. After many visits ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We always enjoy 1790. After many visits it remains consistent in quality of both food and service. We shall continue going there to be sure to have a great Savannah meal in a great Savannah historic atmosphere!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Fried Green Tomatoes and The Jambala ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The Fried Green Tomatoes and The Jambalaya were amazing. Our waiter was so nice and attentive. We love the old school charm and historical significance of the building.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We ate at dinner at 17Hundred90 for Hall ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We ate at dinner at 17Hundred90 for Halloween and it was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. We went for the ghosts ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great experience. We went for the ghosts and didn't see any, but the food was fantastic. Service was perfect . Drinks were great. And the biscuits... seriously could go just for those.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were offered a choice between dining ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We were offered a choice between dining in a larger room (which naturally was louder with more diners and a piano) or a smaller room (with only about six tables). We chose the smaller, more private room and were delighted for it! The food was tasty (not knock-your-socks-off, but definitely delicious and a good price), and the cozy, historic setting with its exposed brick walls and crystal chandeliers made for a lovely evening for our 25th wedding anniversary. The very attentive server even bought our dessert for us to celebrate! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

1790 has been a favorite for some time s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

1790 has been a favorite for some time since the food is good, if not spectacular, the surroundings are warm and romantic and the location is good if plans include a downtown venue after dinner. Parking is usually abundant. This time the restaurant did not do so well. Despite telling the server we needed to be at an event in an hour and a half, it took more than an hour before the food arrived. This occurred despite several reminders that our foursome was in a bit of a hurry. Thought there was a large group at a table near us, the restaurant was by no means crowded. We will think twice about going to 1790 if we need to be somewhere after dinner.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

the staff was great our waiter was att ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 29, 2016

the staff was great our waiter was attentive and gracious the crab soup was spectacular

good wine, soft piano playing in the corner

will go back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This historic home offers both ambience ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This historic home offers both ambience and excellent food. The bar area was very cool and had alot of history in it. THe food was very creative and delicious. Would recommend it to anyone heading to Savannah.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our last dinner in Savannah and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 24, 2016

This was our last dinner in Savannah and by far the best! The atmosphere was romantic but not "fussy". The food was wonderfully prepared and came out at a nice even pace - definitely not rushed. Our server - Abigail- was wonder and very attentive! We definitely would come to this little gem again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was a lovely time, services were grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 24, 2016

It was a lovely time, services were great, food was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our dinner at the 17Hu ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner at the 17Hundred90 Inn. The historic nature of the restaurant gave it a wonderful feeling of eating in the past. The staff was very helpful in telling about the history of the building. The wine was fantastic and the food was so very good. My wife and I shared each others main course and they were both excellent. I would definitely come back again if we lived in that area.

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.