Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (42)
Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Cozy (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Live Music (22)
Authentic (21)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hertfordshire)·Dined 4 days ago

As ever, excellent food and ambience, our server, Clayton was very good, not rushed which as Europeans we prefer and the pianist was brilliant. We look forward to the next time we visit Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My Daughter's 40th Birthday and it was Awesome!!
Food, Service, atmosphere!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was excellent as always. We eat here every time we visit Savannah. The service has always been great. This time our waiter was unconcerned and we had to continually look for him. Not the usual service we have received in the past. The piano player at this restaurant is worth the visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The waiter was slow and the food was mediocre. Not everyone wants honey on their bread and the menu did not Match what we got. Lettuce and spinach are different. They should stock steak sauce for plain not smothered steaks. They never asked if we needed anything else just dropped the plates and rushed off. Our waiter made small talk with the table next to us but never asked where we were from or if we had any dietary restrictions. We were disappointed but many of the places on river street and Blue Moon have good service and food.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was divine, the honey covered butter biscuits are to die for. I opted for 2 appetizers, my daughter chose the steak, it was melt in your mouth, my fried green tomatoes were the best I have ever eaten. The crab cakes were also very tasty. Listening to the piano music was so very enjoyable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

First time for dinner and it was excellent. Would highly recommend to locals as well as visitors.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere. Great menu, lots to choose from. Delicious food.
Great for couples. A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

This place is one of my son's favorite places to go,!! Since we were in town for the weekend he asked if we could go to dinner there. There was six of us for dinner, everyone was pleased with their meal. My son had key lime pie for dessert and my brother had the chocolate mound cake both were outstanding!! Service was prompt and very attentive !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Crab stew was excellent. The puff pastry escargot was also very good. My husband's grouper was very good. However stay away from the Crab cakes. They were stodgy with too much filler and no taste of crab meat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Food was delicious. Great atmosphere. Perfect date night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We had visited this restaurant about 3 yrs. ago & wanted to come here again for our anniversary. We had a very good server & love the music by a very good pianist. Enjoyed it all!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Our favorite birthday dinner place in Savannah! The piano player, the service, the bricks and beams, and of course the food make it special.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had dinner there for the second time. Great place, great staff, food is, as long as you order anything with fish, just great. Wonderful setting in a very old haunted house. The ghost did not come out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Overall, the restaurant was lovely as usual. It was crowded (we ate late) but the pianist was wonderful, as usual.

My daughter loved her chicken Caesar salad. My shrimp and risotto was good (would have loved more risotto!). My husband's steak with blue cheese sauce was delicious. Can't go wrong with Leipold's ice cream for dessert. The chocolate bombe was worthy of its name. We'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great for a night on the town or a stop off at a historical gem. Parking options are good in that area of town. Service staff is exceptional and friendly. Food was amazing. There is a piano player with serious talent playing at just the right level of background music. Really added to the atmosphere. Planning to go again soon!

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We loved this place.quaint,loved the food and the pianist

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The restaurant was very pretty inside, and our waiter was very friendly and helpful. There was a piano player that evening, and his music was very nice. The food however, was very bland. My wife had the scallops, crab cake and shrimp plate - it was all beige and boring. No seasoning or flavor at all. My lamb was also bland - no mint or any sauce was included that's typical of a lamb meal. The bread that was served was a simple biscuit with honey dripped over it. Again, nothing special. It felt like a high school student could have made the meal - and for the money, it was most certainly not an upscale experience as advertised. We went for our anniversary, and sadly it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Savannah. Always excellent. Never disappoints.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Visiting Savannah for the first time and the restaurant was recommended to us by a friend back home. It was a wonderful dining experience from the ambiance of the room, piano player, honey drizzled biscuits and perfectly cooked meal, and of course, the service. Will come back whenever we are in Savannah and would highly recommend this Inn and restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Our server was great. Never felt rushed. Appetizer, meal and dessert were all excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Absolutely wonderful food and exceptional service! We were out for a great seafood dish (one of our favorites, The Neptune) a wonderful trio of seafood, shrimp, scallors and crab cakes, but we decided on a special that gave us the option of a salad or escargot, several entrees, we chose the Lobster Pasta and a desert. The escargot were the best around! Served with a delightful puff pastry square, small tomatoes and a light garlic sauce. The Lobster Pasta was delicious, GREAT CHOICE! A broiled lobster tail with a cream sauce, cook greens (I believe, were spinich) Cooked just right and visually appealing! We barely had room for desert, but couldn't resist! The Apple Crisp was really nice, served warm. Will definitley be back.!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I love dining at 17Hundred90 Restaurant whether it is Sunday brunch, or daily lunch or dinner. I have never been displeased with the food or service. The warm honey buttered biscuits are to die for. The chateaubriand melts in your mouth. Their shrimp and grits cannot be beat. I highly recommend this restaurant for a unique dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

GREAT food and great piano playrr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Lovely care from our first step into the inn. We arrived early so the host directed us to the bar to wait. The bartender was prompt and friendly and shared her thoughts on the menu, which were spot on! As we were led into dining room, the host guided us through the dimly lit dining room. Our waiter was the least polished; however, he was professional, efficient and prompt. The food? Super yummy! High quality at a mid-price. Seafood was local and fresh. Creative twist on pork dish. Good wine selection. Definitely would go back for another meal!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

We were seated by piano so loud. Food was too salty. Lobster was mushy, couldn't eat it. Did love the biscuits, best part of meal First time at restaurant, will try again to see if same experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We have been here several times and have never been disappointed. The wait staff is always friendly and helpful. The food is delicious, with options for everyone. And, we always love sitting and listening to the awesome pianist. This is a perfect spot for a special occasion or a casual dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Love the rustic, colonial ambience! The pianist was great....he played Skylark by Mercer which is my favorite. My husband said his filet was great. The fried green tomatoes and the flourless chocolate dessert were fantastic. The prices were very reasonable considering the quality and lovely presentation of the food. The honey biscuits are amazing! I wish they'd hand out more!!!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Wonderful quaint restaurant attached to the Inn. Shrimp and grits were very very salty but the other items were great....fried green tomatoes, crab chowder.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

1790 is the type of restaurant you hope to find in Savannah. The biscuits with honey were wonderful! The ambiance is very old Savannah. We were right next to the piano which made conversation a bit of a challenge but we enjoyed the live music.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our anniversary vacation dinner!
The piano player added a lovely touch, I LOVED his selections - he made the experience memorable for us!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have been many times to 1790.
Always a great experience .
This time the waiter we had was just rude !
He let us know we needed to order because he was going to get busy with others !!
Among other things .

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our first time to Savannah and we really enjoyed the ambiance of the 17Hundred90 Inn. Our server Ally was very nice and attentive and the meal was wonderful. After dinner we hung out at the bar for a little while and thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 12, 2017

I think we had the same

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Here for our anniversary. Great time and dining!!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everything was outstanding until we were about to leave. In comes a little dog. Nothing against animals, but there is a place and time for them.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Healthy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I had the rack of lamb and it was the best food I've ever had in my life. If I had to choose my last meal before I die, this would be it. The butter honey biscuits are also amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great meal. 2 really nice fish dishes. Service was great and the food was very well prepared. We really enjoyed the piano and it was one of the main
Reasons we picked this restaurant. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

What an amazing experience! John our waiter was phenomenal and the piano player was fantastic. I would highly recommend 17Hundred90 whenever your in Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is my most favorite restaurant in Savannah. Always go for my birthday. It has a beautiful candlelight atmosphere and ambiance, the food is consistently good and the gentleman that plays the beautiful piano music is fantastic. Love it! I'm already looking forward to my next trip.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.