About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: 912-236-7122 x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Calamari Fries
Chicken Soup
17Hundred90 Club Sandwich
Jambalaya
Neptune Scallops, Crab Cake, & Shrimp
Surf & Turf
Shrimp & Grits
Salmon Oscar
Chocolate Bomb
Pecan-Crusted Grouper With Mushroom Risotto
Crab Stew
Primcess Pineapple Cake
Ribeye With Demi Glaze
French Toast
Christmas Dinner
Cranberry Stuffed Pork
Honey-Covered Biscuit

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
8 More
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

special occasion (128)
romantic (127)
neighborhood gem (90)
See All
fit for foodies (76)
notable wine list (28)
great for lunch (22)
good for groups (22)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for brunch (16)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (10)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1079 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Excellent food. Elega ...

Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service. Excellent food. Elegant dining in a magnificently restored revolutionary war building with the exposed brick and slate floor, accompanied by the lovely strains of a piano in the dining area. Our reservation was timely honored and this was the highlight meal of our visit to Savannah!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

We were disappointed.

Dined 5 days ago

We were disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great, Food was great, s ...

Dined 6 days ago

The service was great, Food was great, surrounding customers were friendly. We came from Florida to eat here and not disappointed. I know a couple of us will be back. Outstanding service.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nicely adapted to an old building. Vibr ...

Dined 6 days ago

Nicely adapted to an old building. Vibrant bar with a notable wine list. Food was great. We had rack of lamb and salmon Oscar. Both were outstanding. Highly recommend!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the food. We enjoyed the char ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed the food. We enjoyed the character. We enjoyed the pianist. Memorable night.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening. Service and food ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. Service and food was excellent. We returned the next day and had cocktails in the bar, totally a great experiences. 😊🍷😊

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I trust my review is not colored by the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I trust my review is not colored by the fact that while computer scouting for a nice place to go for our 56th Anniversary, this seemed to offer an attractive room with a piano for dinner music and a pleasant ambiance,; a place where a coat for me and a nice dress for my wife didn't seem to be out of place. Instead, we found a tourist attraction with a large crowd of people in shorts and shower shoes. The only saving grace was Gail at the piano playing a delightful selection of old standards, and our server, Tyler G., who was pleasant but professional, knowledgeable of the menu and the duties of a server, and attentive to our needs. I feel that the food is overpriced for it's quality and presentation. My wife had to send her Crab Stew back because it was barely warm. My Surf and Turf was a nicely cooked Filet with a small pile of crab salad on top of it. I never really did taste the crab. I will say the vegetables were obviously fresh and excellently prepared and attractively presented. But the overall presentation was certainly not what would make you sit back in your chair and admire it before digging in. I could not, in good conscience, recommend this to my friends for the reasons stated, not because my initial expectations were not met. This is the kind of place that I've come to think of is OK to see....once.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a treat to dine here. Service at ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a treat to dine here. Service attention is outstanding and so is the atmosphere (piano Jazz in background) as well as the historic location. I have observed from several visits that the speed of service with respect to the time from ordering to appetizer and then mains is unduly fast for an upper scale spot. 1790 can slow down a bit in timing without making it unreasonably long but without making the customer feel as if they're not able to fully enjoy the pauses between courses. Particularly with such great service attention, atmosphere and piano in the background. Price for food value is also a little high compared to other same scale competitors, but not out of bounds. Overall one of my personal favorites to come back to but would like a little less rushed service and a bit more attention to price per value vs competitors.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Sunday brunch. We had Eggs ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We went for Sunday brunch. We had Eggs Benedict and over easy eggs. The eggs were cooked perfectly for both methods. Unlike so many places anymore that want to make Eggs Benedict with some base other than English muffins, it was made the correct way with English muffin, slice of Canadian bacon, and hollandaise sauce which is the only way that I like it. Our server was friendly, helpful, and efficient. We loved the ambiance of the old bricks, floors, and chandeliers. We would recommend to anyone that they have a brunch here when in Savannah.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved our service and his professiona ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved our service and his professionalism. The food was all wonderful! I got the special and the steak was cooked perfectly !

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great ambiance and food was good - a bit ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great ambiance and food was good - a bit pricey though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was outstanding. Soft, ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and service was outstanding. Soft, background music by piano player added to the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The honey biscuits are AMAZING! Crab ste ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The honey biscuits are AMAZING! Crab stew is fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

great place. rack of lamb way overcooke ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

great place. rack of lamb way overcooked but, they corrected it. charming bar.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased in every way. Was for a spe ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Very pleased in every way. Was for a special birthday and everhthing was special. Price on drins in the restaurant were so low I questioned our bill. A free birthday dessert was offered . The piano player topped off the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The ambiance was nice (it's a mansion fr ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

The ambiance was nice (it's a mansion from 1790...). The special breakfast bowl was good, but the french toast tasted like carnival food (skip it, unless that's what you're going for). Definitely not rushing back here, but it was nice to see the place.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Not much of a wine list , Could have had ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Not much of a wine list , Could have had more variety and price range

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was wonderful! Would go back if I'm ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was wonderful! Would go back if I'm in Savannah again.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating staff, even though it ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very accommodating staff, even though it was hard to get a table and we arrived at the exact time of our reservation we were still given the opportunity to have a cocktail in the bar before dining. Once in the restaurant the service was appropriately attentive. My wife is vegetarian and the chef lived up to the promise on the menu to create a meal to suit her taste and needs - in this case a very tasty variation of stuffed peppers. I had the fish special, which was a superbly prepared and presented seared ahi tuna, with a taste to match. The Georgia peach bread pudding was nicely washed down with a glass of sauternes to round out the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Anniversary!

Dined on June 11, 2016

Piano in the background, chandeliers give a warm glow, food was delectable. Fantastic wine selection. Creative menu just right for foodies. Made our anniversary one to remember. We'll definitely be back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, sevice and atmosphere.

Dined on June 7, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. There were three of us in my group and we had dinner, wine and desert. Everything was amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a Gem

Dined on June 4, 2016

My bride and I walked from the downtown area (about 10 minutes) and found this place that seems to fit into an older city quite well. The restaurant is located below an Inn and from the outside does not look very appealing since the Inn is quite old. Do not be fooled by this impression though. Once you open the doors, the staff and scene are very eccentric and inviting. We arrived a little early and enjoyed some homemade cocktails at the bar. The place has exposed beams in the ceiling and old brick throughout. We sat for dinner on time and enjoyed the appetizer special and then onto the filet with lobster bisque. The food is incredible here. The service, fantastic and enjoyable. Great little find and will definitely go again soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Evening

Dined on June 4, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our food and dining experience on 6/4/2016 at 17 hundred 90. We were seated promptly and the piano player was a nice touch. Appetizer special was crab stuffed mushrooms. They were out of this world! All ordered different entrees, Surf and turf was perfectly cooked, Blackened Shrimp was spicy as it should be and delicious, the Pasta with Shrimp and Scallops was perfectly prepared. For dessert we shared a Chocolate Bombe. Very chocolatey and the whipped cream and orange slice a nice accompaniment. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on June 3, 2016

The wait staff was wonderful and very nice! The food was very good and the atmosphere was wonderful. I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely! Great Sunday brunch, pleasant wait staff!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved it! Go! This is a beautiful restaurant! Brick walls, chandeliers. And delicious food! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with appropriate portion ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent food with appropriate portion sizes in a quiet historic dining room.

food3
ambience3
service4

It was "meh". There was nothing wrong, p ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

It was "meh". There was nothing wrong, per se, but there was nothing great, either. The friend green tomatoes were too hard and had so much other stuff you couldn't even taste green tomato. I wouldn't go back nor encourage anyone else to visit, either.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great experience

Dined on May 28, 2016

We will be going back the next time we are in town.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, cool building

Dined on May 28, 2016

I had lunch with a few friends on a Saturday afternoon. It was a bit of a late lunch, which is perhaps why the restaurant seemed so empty. I enjoyed my food, we had a nice (albeit eccentric) waiter, and I really enjoyed the building. I'd recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice, but somewhat assembly line meals. ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Nice, but somewhat assembly line meals. Not great cuisine, but not awfully priced. Interesting atmosphere in English basement. Have to admit, the pianist's repertoire was a little easy listening. Not because he was playing Johnny Mercer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful historic building with delicio ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Wonderful historic building with delicious food and wonderful service. Loved the piano music too. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint setting, timbered ceilings and ol ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Quaint setting, timbered ceilings and old Savannah charm. Excellent service and wonderful food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a celebration of my son's high ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was a celebration of my son's high school graduation - his choice of restaurants. 1790 allowed this ordinary family a chance to dress nice and have a fine dining experience while being completely comfortable and thoroughly enjoying ourselves. Our server was attentive but did not rush us so we felt unhurried and relaxed. The piano player in the dining room was a delightful addition. Despite the dining room being rather crowded, noise level was low and we had no trouble hearing each other. The food was fantastic. Black & blue steak was cooked perfectly and most delicious. No room for dessert since we also enjoyed appetizers and salads but we plan to return for an appetizer/dessert day! Great dining experience all around. I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting "haunted" restaurant and Inn ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Interesting "haunted" restaurant and Inn. Our server was spot on and informative. The décor was early Savannah hospitality. We loved their Oysters Rockefeller (best out of the four restaurants we tried during our Savannah visit). The "Neptune" dinner crab cakes (plenty of crab) and scallops (sweet and tender) were excellent. The bar was very lively with wedding partiers and the like. We were not staying there but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Down home charm in a haunted Inn. What e ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Down home charm in a haunted Inn. What else do you need? Good twist on classic Southern foods like fried green tomatoes and she crab soup. Interesting entree specials and overall a nice old world charm of a restaurant. Has a classy talented piano player, too. As a side, there's a bar on the other side for locals with great drinks. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The Appitizers, fried green tomatoes & button mushrooms, were amazing!!!! The table was split on the tile fish and the pork chop!!! Everyone loved the ambiance!!!! Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner! Our server ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner! Our server was excellent. Food was perfect and the exact right temperature, which I am sensitive about. No hesitation in recommending to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We had an 11:30 am Sunday brunch here. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an 11:30 am Sunday brunch here. It was completely dead inside, yet our waiter seated us between the only other two couples dining in the restaurant. The tables were so close together that you could overhear every word coming from the other tables; therefore, nobody was talking and the restaurant was uncomfortably quiet. I've never seen another restaurant do this before where they sit everyone together even though there are countless tables available spread out throughout the dining room. The honey butter biscuits were amazing. The shrimp and grits...not so much. My shrimp tasted like they'd been frozen for a while, and the grits were lukewarm. Would perhaps give the restaurant another chance for dinner, but will not be returning for brunch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening overall...our server ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding evening overall...our server, Hill Lawrence, was exceptional and made our visit perfect. Great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant, food, atmosphere & music wer ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Restaurant, food, atmosphere & music were awesome. Would dine there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.