About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: 912-236-7122 x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Calamari Fries
17Hundred90 Club Sandwich
Chicken Soup
Jambalaya
Surf & Turf
Shrimp & Grits
Salmon Oscar
Chocolate Bomb
Pecan-Crusted Grouper With Mushroom Risotto
Crab Stew
Primcess Pineapple Cake
Ribeye With Demi Glaze
French Toast
Christmas Dinner
Honey-Covered Biscuit
Cranberry Stuffed Pork
Neptune Scallops, Crab Cake, & Shrimp

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
9 More
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Best Overall
Savannah
Best Food
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

Romantic (99)
Special Occasion (95)
Neighborhood Gem (68)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Notable Wine List (33)
Historic (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Live Music (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fireplace (4)
Authentic (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love 17hundred90 it's one of my favori ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 11 hours ago

I love 17hundred90 it's one of my favorite places! The food was awesome and the service was great! I had the lamb chops and escargot. It never disappoints! I just wish they would bring back that Girl Scout cookie dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in Savannah. The pi ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 4 days ago

Favorite restaurant in Savannah. The pianist is a great ambiance setter!

Tags: Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet dinner. Lovely environment. Serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Quiet dinner. Lovely environment. Service was good. Food was good but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was awesome! It was a little loud, ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was awesome! It was a little loud, but that could have been the combination of a full room, the piano player, and another guest who naturally spoke loudly. Service was attentive without being overbearing. Mr. Hubby says his steak was the best he's ever had! The salmon was perfectly prepared too. In our family, we call this "a repeater"!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We found this restaurant met or exceeded ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We found this restaurant met or exceeded all our expectations. We were looking for an authentic historic setting with excellent food choices and a relaxing atmosphere. The 17Hundred90 did not disappoint! The next time we are in Savannah, it will be on our list of dining choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinning experience. Great food, g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great dinning experience. Great food, good price, excellent atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Rather ordinary--I have had much better ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Rather ordinary--I have had much better in Savannah at the same price

Service was spotty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We stumbled upon this restaurant by acci ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We stumbled upon this restaurant by accident. We loved everything about it from the food, atmosphere, and service. Our waiter was great and we loved the live piano music The food was very tasty. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous resturant! Atmosphere romantic, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fabulous resturant! Atmosphere romantic, food unbelievably good. I had the salmon Oscar. My husband had the filet both very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but service was the worst ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was good but service was the worst I have ever had. Waiter forgot drink, appetizer, way we wanted steak cooked and was out of dessert. So we canceled coffee that we hadnt got after 5-10 mins.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Absolutely amazing as usual! The service ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Absolutely amazing as usual! The service and food were spectacular!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just ok, except for My steak wh ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was just ok, except for My steak which was the worst steak I've had in a in a very long time. I sent it back and afterwards I still couldn't eat it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

1790 continues to be a favorite. It has ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

1790 continues to be a favorite. It has a very warm and inviting atmosphere. The menu has a good variety of options without being overwhelming. A lot of good comfort food along with some interesting selections. It continues to be very consistent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The building is interesting and we enjoy ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The building is interesting and we enjoyed learning the history of the Inn. A pianist played in the dining room which made for a nice ambiance. The food was good. We really enjoyed the appetizer mushrooms. Our meals were also very good, as well as the dessert. The service was excellent.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

everything we ordered was excellent. the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

everything we ordered was excellent. the ambiance is very nice. the piano player was also excellent. eating in a 226 year old restaurant gave me a real sense of the city of Savannah. can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The waitress was not on top of refill dr ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The waitress was not on top of refill drinks. Food for supper was not as good as good for brunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was delicious especially the escarg ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Food was delicious especially the escargot and the peach glazed grouper

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to eat in historic Savanna ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

A great place to eat in historic Savannah. Atmosphere was fantastic, with great service. Steak was cooked well, but could have been a little better cut of meat. A must do restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful staff. Loved th ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and wonderful staff. Loved the ambience and setting. Very neat to dine in a building that is over 200 years old.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at the 17hundred90 Inn wa ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our experience at the 17hundred90 Inn was great. Delicious food, outstanding service, and such a beautiful venue. The piano player was a great touch to our Anniversary dinner. I would definitely visit again and recommend to everyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a beautiful historic place. We ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was a beautiful historic place. We were in the piano room and the music was wonderful. Food was fantastic. I had sautéed shrimp the biscuits were so good! Could make a meal out of those. Wish we had asked for more, sure they would have given us some if we had asked. This definitely a place for a birthday or special anniversary. We were celebrating our 57th!!!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great dinner! Romantic quiet night. The ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

great dinner! Romantic quiet night. The food was great shrimp and scallop scampi was awesome

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I have enjoyed dining at 17h ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed dining at 17hundred90 for its fine menu, excellent service, delightful live piano music, charming ambience, and convenience to performances at the Lucas Theatre (the Savannah Philharmonic, On-Stage Cabarets, etc.) and other downtown venues. We have enjoyed introducing friends and family to this historic and lovely restaurant in our beloved Savannah, and we shall continue to do so.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Live Music, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were referred there by the Concierge ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were referred there by the Concierge at Hamilton-Turner Inn & we all were very impressed. We are from Israel & are world travelers. This way one of the top 5 restaurants I have ever had the pleasure of dining in. The food, service & ambiance is outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Varied menu. Well prepared entres. Gre ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Varied menu. Well prepared entres. Great service. Comfortable ambience. Live pianist adds to occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner, enjoyed the piano room. W ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great dinner, enjoyed the piano room. Will go back next year when in Savannah.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great restaurant for a girls ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was a great restaurant for a girls weekend! Great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at 17Hundred90 in ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband and I dined at 17Hundred90 in celebration of our anniversary. The ambiance was rustic sophistication, typical of many of the finer restaurants in the historic area of Savannah. We ordered the Signature Side Salad, which was a delicious start to our meal. Our entrees were well-prepared and presented. We shared a Chocolate Bombe for dessert. It seemed like a small portion, but it was very rich and filling. We would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or a nice evening out with a partner or friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

food & service excellent-extensive menu- ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

food & service excellent-extensive menu-piano player played at just the right volume to allow you to enjoy the music & hold a conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Intrtesting and very nicely prepared foo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Intrtesting and very nicely prepared food in a lovely atmosphere. We were there on an evening with live piano (Sunday) and that really added a lot to the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful experience.

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. The only complaint w ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great. The only complaint was it was very loud in the restaurant but they had several large parties seated & that was no fault of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was our favorite restaurant in Sava ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant in Savannah. It was relaxing with the pianist playing our favorite music. The restaurant was cozy and welcoming. The service was outstanding and the food delicious. My husband ordered the bone in pork chop with a homemade peach BBQ sauce and we all wanted to bottle up that sauce and take it home. When they brought out the pre entree biscuit we all loved it. It was more like a cake that just melted in your mouth drenched in sweet honey. They must use the same for the bread pudding, another favorite for our group. This is a place to put on your list of must dos.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the time we were met at the door ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

From the time we were met at the door till we left after a delicious dinner, we felt welcome. Our server was eager to help and very attentive. All of the food was prepared perfectly and at the perfect temperature. They had a piano player during the evening (Sunday). The two dining rooms are small so I can't imagine large groups, but it would be great for a small wedding reception. Amazing history. We were celebrating my mom's 70th birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten here many times and it's con ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've eaten here many times and it's consistently delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a WONDERFUL dinner at 17hundred90 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a WONDERFUL dinner at 17hundred90. The food was exquisite. The home baked biscuits were indescribable. The noise level is a little higher than many fine dining spots, but the atmosphere was very fun. We are at a late sitting - 8:45 - and the place was still fairly crowded. The cabaret pianist was very good - also a reason for the sound to be a bit louder, but we loved it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place is the best. We were greeted ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is the best. We were greeted by the owner when we arrived. We were immediately seated at the time of our reservation. Our server was outstanding. She helped with different foods on the menu. The owner checked on us during the evening. I had Neptune. It was outstanding. Crab cakes topped with shrimp and scallops. Kathy had the beef and she enjoyed. 1790 is more than a meal. An evening here can be described as a experience. I highly recommend. One of the better restaurants in Savannah.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience at 17Hundred90 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very enjoyable experience at 17Hundred90 Inn for date night. The restaurant had a piano player in the dining room, which I loved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Unimaginative food.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Unimaginative food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

We came during Restaurant Week so we got ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We came during Restaurant Week so we got a good value for our money. The food was very good and the server was very engaging and knowledgeable. The only reason the service did not get 5 stars was that he appeared to have too many tables in different parts of the restaurant. Service was a little slow and off. We didn't get our bottle of wine until after our appetizers were brought out by someone else. And our empty plates sat on the table too long for a fine dining establishment. However, I don't think it was the server's fault as every time we saw him he was busy carrying food or checks to other tables. We would go back, though, and would recommend it to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.