About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: (912) 236-7122

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Calamari Fries - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Surf & Turf - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Shrimp & Grits - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Salmon Oscar - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Chocolate Bomb - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Pecan-Crusted Grouper With Mushroom Risotto - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Crab Stew - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Primcess Pineapple Cake - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Ribeye With Demi Glaze - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
French Toast - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Christmas Dinner - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
17Hundred90 Club Sandwich - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Chicken Soup - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Jambalaya - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Honey-Covered Biscuit - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Cranberry Stuffed Pork - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA
Neptune Scallops, Crab Cake, & Shrimp - 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant, Savannah, GA

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (46)
Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (38)
See All
Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Cozy (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Live Music (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Fireplace (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is absolutely my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 15 hours ago

This is absolutely my favorite restaurant in the City of Savannah the food is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were not really received by the hoste ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

We were not really received by the hostess. We got to our table by waiter. The wine we ordered was not available. The waiter was inexperienced. On leaving the hostess didn't say anything. Food was good but the people need more training on how to try to make our meal a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great service, very good food, wonderful ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service, very good food, wonderful ambiance, good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the place looks great. We ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and the place looks great. Went for brunch on a Sunday the menu had great options. The service was a little slow and we never got refills on our coffee or water but I would go again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to 1790. The setting is an historic house. The restaurant is on the first floor and the inn is on the floors above. The authentic feeling of the brick walls and open rafters makes the setting warm and cozy. The piano is in the first dining room. The music chosen was relaxed and classic. The performer was talented and did a good job of keeping the noise level under control. The food was excellent. We had the shrimp and scallop scampi, lamb, and wreckfish special for entrees along with the escargot and fried green tomatoes for starters. All dishes were well presented and tasty. Our server, Allie, did a great job of juggling her tables. She gave us just enough attention without seeming too solicitous or too absent. My only complaint would be the extra long wait between the appetizers and the main dishes. Otherwise, the experience was pleasant and the food was superb.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Looked great online. Waiter was rude, ne ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Looked great online. Waiter was rude, never returned to see if our food was good, refills, and just had a bad attitude. Dark complexion guy with black hair in a ponytail. Filet was subpar taste for outstanding price. Ended up having friend staying in the hotel there that we ran into the next day. Said they'd thought about trying it until we told them about our experience. Didn't appear to be that busy for the service to be so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Food was just average. At these prices, ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was just average. At these prices, expected better tasting and more creative menu. Restaurant has a nice ambiance and service was attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Live Music, Fireplace, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We like this place and go there whenever ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We like this place and go there whenever my son visits. This time we went on Saturday, I did not realize it is a brunch now. I was expecting the buffet, but it turned out fine. Everything was 5stars.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy the ambiance and food at ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We always enjoy the ambiance and food at 1790. It is a favorite for many years now, and we never hesitate to return. If you have not been...go. The pianist is excellent, staff is friendly and efficient, and the food is well prepared and tasty. We love the rack of lamb, seafood, and occasionally we will have a great filet!

Tags: Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good was excellent, especially the bacon ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good was excellent, especially the bacon wrapped scallops. Enjoyed the music and our waiter was very personable.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner with a very cozy atmo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Anniversary Dinner with a very cozy atmosphere and nice piano playing. Able to talk back and forth at a comfortable level. Food was excellent and good price. Wife was happy!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service (I believe our server ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent service (I believe our server was John - he wears bow ties and is very friendly), delicious food (shrimp and grits, Boursin chicken, Caesar salad), cozy atmosphere, and lovely, soft piano music. This is our second visit here and it is on our list of favorite restaurants on our Savannah trips!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both good and service was great, as was ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Both good and service was great, as was the wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience. Food , servic ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great experience. Food , service and environment was great!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 8:15 reservations on New Year's E ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had 8:15 reservations on New Year's Eve. We had dined at another restaurant the last few years and after our last experience we looked for something new. We are so glad we did!! Everything from the hostess to the dessert was exceptional! Very attentive staff, excellent dinner, delicious bread pudding! We never felt rushed or crowded - we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went to 17Hundred90 f ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to 17Hundred90 for NYE. Our server was a sweetheart and we were seated near the piano player, who was phenomenal! The ambiance of the restaurant is romantic with a touch of old time class. We loved it and our favorite thing on the menu, by far, were the bacon wrapped scallops!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very cozy restaurant. Excellent food and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very cozy restaurant. Excellent food and service. Would definitely come back and recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

17Hundred90 is our favorite restaurant i ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

17Hundred90 is our favorite restaurant in Savannah. The quaint, but elegant historic ambience is unmatched. We would go for the honey butter biscuits alone, but last evening we had Kentucky Mules, Crab Stuffed Mushrooms, Bacon Wrapped Scallops, Pork Osso Bucco, Sauted Shrimp with Savannah Rice and Rattatiulle capped off with a piece of Pecan Pie and Tawny Port. As us usual, everything was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed. This was our absolute ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Very disappointed. This was our absolute favorite restaurant when we came to Savannah in June - everything they brought out of the kitchen was amazing. Not sure if they changed chefs but definitely not the same food. The scallop appetizer was over cooked and did not have a huge amount of flavor. Both my husband's and my food came out cold to lukewarm. When I asked them to reheat the food, it came out cold a second time. I ordered the neptune. The sauce it was in was awful and the risotto was tasteless. When I told the waiter the food did not taste good he said he was sorry and just took it away. He did not ask if I wanted something else. When I asked for the manager and relayed what happened they said they had a hard time keeping the food warm in the winter and offered dessert but still not if I wanted a different meal. My husband had to ask for them to bring me another dish. I ordered the filet which was completely unseasoned. It was a good cut of meat but tasteless. The green beans were overcooked. The manager did comp the main dish, dessert and coffee but we would not return. Not good food. My only guess after our first amazing meal in June is that it had to be a different chef. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

The restaurant and our sever were very a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The restaurant and our sever were very accommodating. When my wife's meal came out and was not cooked correctly, they brought her out a bowl of she-crab chowder soup to eat while they were fixing their mistake.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This establishment is a historical site ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This establishment is a historical site, but the waiter didn't offer any information. The crab bisque was good, but the salmon was just ok, served with soggy vegetables...

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food not as ordered. Rare steak came out ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food not as ordered. Rare steak came out medium and not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Excellent for wife''s birthday dinner. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent for wife''s birthday dinner. Highly recommend.

Tags: Private Room, Live Music, Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Christmas and was put in a litt ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went for Christmas and was put in a little side room, not in the beautiful dining rooms. Buffet food was cold. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Christmas dinner buffet was very nice. A ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner buffet was very nice. A bit pricey for the amount of food on the buffet. Salad table was in a corner and empty when we got there.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the second time we had Christma ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This was the second time we had Christmas Dinner at 17Hundred90. It is a buffet but the nicest one I have ever seen. I am not usually a buffet person but the food is so good it is worth going back. They have a piano player and the atmosphere is perfect for a holiday.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful dinner - accompanied ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner - accompanied by a pianist softly playing. Couldn't have been more lovely.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

There are better places to eat in Savann ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 24, 2016

There are better places to eat in Savannah.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

This was, by far, the worst dining exper ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was, by far, the worst dining experience we have endured in a very long time. The waiter was so bad, that we all wondered if we were on hidden camera. Drink orders were ignored. The waiter was unfamiliar with the menu. We asked for a wine recommendation and the waiter instructed us to "just read the wine list." Once the wine made it to the table it was barely chilled. The filet was mediocre, the salmon was quite "fishy" and the lamb was inedible and returned. We decided that tempting fate and attempting dessert would be more than we could tolerate. I can't imagine why anyone would eat at 1790 with all the other choices available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Would like to have seen our waiter more ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Would like to have seen our waiter more presentable. His uniform was unkept, his hair seemed as though it needed to be washed, and it was continually hanging down in his eyes. He did not present s very professional appearance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Decided to take my husband to this resta ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Decided to take my husband to this restaurant of his birthday and I'm glad I did. The service was great. The service was superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I've had in Savannah, GA. Ever ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Best meal I've had in Savannah, GA. Ever!

Was there for Anniversary dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cozy, historic, great food and service. ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Cozy, historic, great food and service. Loved the live piano and the warm atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our appetizer and dinner were both great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our appetizer and dinner were both great, service spectacular and the ambiance of the 1790 is a must see in Savannah. Just a bit noisy this Saturday evening and we were disappointed about the lack of interest in our interest for a stay at the Inn

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an excellent experience, food was gr ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had an excellent experience, food was great and romantic atmosphere by the fire for wedding anniversary dinner. Reasonably priced. Will return in future.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite dining spots when vi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 1, 2016

One of our favorite dining spots when visiting Savannah

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The inn has a quaint historical charm go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The inn has a quaint historical charm going for it but that's it. Two issues: our waitress was a college girl who said the "steak special tonight has some type of French name I cannot pronounce." ( It was steak au poivre.) The chef/owner should be aghast that a waitress would say that to a diner who is expecting a nice dinner out with a professional staff - not seasonal help. The oysters Rockefeller were inedible - the oysters were stringy and cold. The trout was good but not good enough to compensate for the two aforementioned problems. The Olde Pink House was much better.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Fantastic food and atmosphere; servers a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food and atmosphere; servers around us appeared charming and efficient - unfortunately ours was not

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

The food was fantiastic as was the servi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food was fantiastic as was the service. The noise level was very low and the ambience was very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My wife and I shared two appetizers. Wh ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 23, 2016

My wife and I shared two appetizers. While they tasted good, several hours later we were both quite ill. I'll spare the details. Oddly enough, at the time we thought that the appetizers were the best part of the meal. The main courses were very average as was dessert. The wait staff was attentive, anyway.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.