About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: 912-236-7122 x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
6 More
Romantic
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

romantic (125)
special occasion (119)
neighborhood gem (81)
See All
fit for foodies (69)
great for lunch (25)
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (18)
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (8)
hot spot (8)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1050 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with appropriate portion ...

Dined 13 hours ago

Excellent food with appropriate portion sizes in a quiet historic dining room.

food3
ambience3
service4

It was "meh". There was nothing wrong, p ...

Dined a day ago

It was "meh". There was nothing wrong, per se, but there was nothing great, either. The friend green tomatoes were too hard and had so much other stuff you couldn't even taste green tomato. I wouldn't go back nor encourage anyone else to visit, either.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful historic building with delicio ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful historic building with delicious food and wonderful service. Loved the piano music too. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint setting, timbered ceilings and ol ...

Dined 5 days ago

Quaint setting, timbered ceilings and old Savannah charm. Excellent service and wonderful food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a celebration of my son's high ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

This was a celebration of my son's high school graduation - his choice of restaurants. 1790 allowed this ordinary family a chance to dress nice and have a fine dining experience while being completely comfortable and thoroughly enjoying ourselves. Our server was attentive but did not rush us so we felt unhurried and relaxed. The piano player in the dining room was a delightful addition. Despite the dining room being rather crowded, noise level was low and we had no trouble hearing each other. The food was fantastic. Black & blue steak was cooked perfectly and most delicious. No room for dessert since we also enjoyed appetizers and salads but we plan to return for an appetizer/dessert day! Great dining experience all around. I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Interesting "haunted" restaurant and Inn ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Interesting "haunted" restaurant and Inn. Our server was spot on and informative. The décor was early Savannah hospitality. We loved their Oysters Rockefeller (best out of the four restaurants we tried during our Savannah visit). The "Neptune" dinner crab cakes (plenty of crab) and scallops (sweet and tender) were excellent. The bar was very lively with wedding partiers and the like. We were not staying there but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Down home charm in a haunted Inn. What e ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Down home charm in a haunted Inn. What else do you need? Good twist on classic Southern foods like fried green tomatoes and she crab soup. Interesting entree specials and overall a nice old world charm of a restaurant. Has a classy talented piano player, too. As a side, there's a bar on the other side for locals with great drinks. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

We love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. The Appitizers, fried green tomatoes & button mushrooms, were amazing!!!! The table was split on the tile fish and the pork chop!!! Everyone loved the ambiance!!!! Service was well-timed and friendly, wines were affordable."

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner! Our server ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner! Our server was excellent. Food was perfect and the exact right temperature, which I am sensitive about. No hesitation in recommending to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We had an 11:30 am Sunday brunch here. ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had an 11:30 am Sunday brunch here. It was completely dead inside, yet our waiter seated us between the only other two couples dining in the restaurant. The tables were so close together that you could overhear every word coming from the other tables; therefore, nobody was talking and the restaurant was uncomfortably quiet. I've never seen another restaurant do this before where they sit everyone together even though there are countless tables available spread out throughout the dining room. The honey butter biscuits were amazing. The shrimp and grits...not so much. My shrimp tasted like they'd been frozen for a while, and the grits were lukewarm. Would perhaps give the restaurant another chance for dinner, but will not be returning for brunch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding evening overall...our server ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Outstanding evening overall...our server, Hill Lawrence, was exceptional and made our visit perfect. Great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Restaurant, food, atmosphere & music wer ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Restaurant, food, atmosphere & music were awesome. Would dine there again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service. Good plate ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Good plate presentation and very well cooked food. My Oysters Rockerfella were perfect. High quality oysters, rich creamy sauce offset by a bed of rocket salad. My main, salmon Oscar, was cooked to perfection accompanied by a tasty risotto and well prepared medley of vegetables. Chef Jim runs a high class kitchen. My waiter, Benjamin, was very efficient and had an engaging personality. Would not hesitate to return. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was delicious especially the honey ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was delicious especially the honey butter biscuits! Unfortunately my friends did not receive their drink orders so that was a little disappointing. It also took awhile for our waiter to come and get our order. Appetizer was very small for the price. I would definitely come back for a special occasion though considering the meal was over $70 for two.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Patrick, the owner was wonderful host & ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Patrick, the owner was wonderful host & very helpful with our wine choice. Tyler our waiter was excellent. He made our anniversay dinner very special. Abosuletly loved this place. The cost was inexpensive compared to the quality, outstanding service & ambiance of the inn. A must do in Savannah. We will see you again on our next visit to Savannah!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience ever!!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were on our honeymoon and had no idea what to expect. As soon as we walked in the door we were welcomed with a smile. It was the first place we decided to visit in Savannah and it set the bar high. The shrimp, chicken, vegetables, bread pudding, and sweet tea were amazing! Our waitress was kind, caring and attentive, and The pianist set the perfect mood for the evening. Overall, we were very impressed and we do plan to visit again!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very happy that we made reservat ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were very happy that we made reservations for this gem of a restaurant. The food, atmosphere, staff, and piano man were all superior. The restaurant would be ideal for a romantic dinner or a group gathering.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice neighborhood spot

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food and everything else were very good. We enjoyed our time there and the historic aspect of the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Southern?

Dined on May 6, 2016

I am from the deep South and have ate BBQ since I can remember. As an entrée, I ordered the Jambalaya. It tasted like BBQ sauce poured over rice with a few shrimp tossed in. Very disappointing. My spouses Shrimp and grits were just fair, nothing special. The Crab stew was very good and the Key Lime dessert was the best part of the entire meal. The flavors were spot on. I will try here again the next time I'm in Savannah and hope that the food comes up to the level of the service and ambiance

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on May 5, 2016

Based on some reviews and recommendations from a tour guide we changed our dinner plans to eat at 1790. Big disappointment. Dress code was business casual and we dressed accordingly only to be seated next to cutoffs and tshirt group. Later a young family of four was seated at 9:30--way too late for their little one at what was billed as upscale dining. Service was very good with a young, well informed and enthusiastic waiter but he couldn't rescue the evening. Food was fine (my duck was good and my wife's shrimp and grits was very good. ) the BLT salad was the best. It could all be so much better if they worked on their ambiance and make it compatible with the setting and prices.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Too much salt

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Lovely setting, but the food was only OK. I found the preparations fussy and too salty. I would call it over-prepared rather than innovative, which is what I think was being attempted.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint, historic gem!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We really enjoyed the meal, drinks, and setting. We will be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, wine and service!!! A tr ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent food, wine and service!!! A true gem! Must try!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 26, 2016

While visiting Savannah we had the best meal of our trip at 17hundred90. The historical building was charming and added to the ambiance. Our server was pleasant and attentive. We wished we had been able to eat there more than once. Definitely our favorite restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a very nice experience. Food was ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a very nice experience. Food was good!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Lunch with Kitty

Dined on April 24, 2016

Loved the ambiance and décor of the restaurant. We were there for breakfast and was not busy at all. They had the most amazing honey biscuits I have ever had. I would have given them a great rating overall if it had not taken so long for them to bring back the undercooked bacon we sent back to the kitchen. About 20 minutes, by the time we got it back my daughter's egg was cold. But we still loved the food, the staff, and ambiance. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good!!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We really enjoyed eggs Benedict, salmon salad and Reuben sandwich we ordered. The waiter was very nice and friendly. We loved the sandwich so much we ordered 2 to go!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I loved everything about ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

My husband and I loved everything about our visit - service by Glenn was friendly and efficient and he made us feel so welcome, everything from the honey biscuits to the strip steak and lamb chops and wine was delicious, and the ambiance with the candlelight and soft piano music was perfect! We hope to return next time we are in town!

food5
ambience5
service5

The swordfish was excellent!

Dined on April 23, 2016

The swordfish was excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food is amazing and the service is perfect. The deserts are all house made and taste it too. Yumm

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being local Savannahians, we have eaten ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Being local Savannahians, we have eaten here numerous times. We have always enjoyed the food, service and historic ambiance. A sudden change in our plans added a seventh friend when the original reservations were for six. The staff quickly responded by putting us in an area that was charming, private, and ideal for conversations that involve all those gathered.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect For Us

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

We made the reservation here based on other open table reviews. It was so good, and right next door to our B and B, that we cancelled our other reservations and went back 2 more times. Love the special grouper offering. Good size portions. We only got dessert once because of that! The specialty stwe is not to bemissed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal from start to finish. Loved t ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Great meal from start to finish. Loved the warm honey biscuits. Romantic setting. Memorable night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice

Dined on April 20, 2016

This is a very old home turned into resturant . The food was amazing. And the service wonderful. This is a must in Savannah .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Savannah lunch.

Dined on April 19, 2016

We were on a vacation/day trip of Savannah. The restaurant was a 2 block walk from stop #8 on the Savannah Trolley Tour. The restaurant had nice ambiance, and the food and service were good.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and ambiance. The beautiful p ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Great food and ambiance. The beautiful piano music set the perfect mood.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You have to go!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Even that it was a same-day last-minute reservation they had space for the 4 of us, service and attention was excellent; waiting time was almost none and food quality was incredibly good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful atmosphere. Chandeliers hangin ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere. Chandeliers hanging from heavy wooden beams gave it a warm elegance. The honey topped biscuits were delicious, and we loved the jambalaya. There is also a lively bar where one can have a pre-dinner drink. The bartender knows how to make a good martini!

food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful ambience and great service at ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Wonderful ambience and great service at 17hundred90 and that's why we came back. The warm buttermilk biscuit is indescribable!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Savannah restaurant

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great food and service. Everything we ordered was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.