About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: 912-236-7122 x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Calamari Fries
17Hundred90 Club Sandwich
Chicken Soup
Jambalaya
Surf & Turf
Shrimp & Grits
Salmon Oscar
Chocolate Bomb
Pecan-Crusted Grouper With Mushroom Risotto
Crab Stew
Primcess Pineapple Cake
Ribeye With Demi Glaze
French Toast
Christmas Dinner
Honey-Covered Biscuit
Cranberry Stuffed Pork
Neptune Scallops, Crab Cake, & Shrimp

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
9 More
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Ambiance
Savannah
Best Value
Savannah
Neighborhood Gem
Savannah
Romantic
Savannah
Special Occasion
Savannah
Most Booked
Savannah
Best Restaurants in Savannah ›

Special Occasion (123)
Romantic (122)
Neighborhood Gem (96)
See All
Fit for Foodies (69)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Late-night Find (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Scenic View (8)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1135 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dinner, enjoyed the piano room. W ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner, enjoyed the piano room. Will go back next year when in Savannah.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great restaurant for a girls ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was a great restaurant for a girls weekend! Great food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at 17Hundred90 in ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband and I dined at 17Hundred90 in celebration of our anniversary. The ambiance was rustic sophistication, typical of many of the finer restaurants in the historic area of Savannah. We ordered the Signature Side Salad, which was a delicious start to our meal. Our entrees were well-prepared and presented. We shared a Chocolate Bombe for dessert. It seemed like a small portion, but it was very rich and filling. We would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion or a nice evening out with a partner or friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

food & service excellent-extensive menu- ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

food & service excellent-extensive menu-piano player played at just the right volume to allow you to enjoy the music & hold a conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Intrtesting and very nicely prepared foo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Intrtesting and very nicely prepared food in a lovely atmosphere. We were there on an evening with live piano (Sunday) and that really added a lot to the experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful experience.

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. The only complaint w ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was great. The only complaint was it was very loud in the restaurant but they had several large parties seated & that was no fault of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was our favorite restaurant in Sava ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This was our favorite restaurant in Savannah. It was relaxing with the pianist playing our favorite music. The restaurant was cozy and welcoming. The service was outstanding and the food delicious. My husband ordered the bone in pork chop with a homemade peach BBQ sauce and we all wanted to bottle up that sauce and take it home. When they brought out the pre entree biscuit we all loved it. It was more like a cake that just melted in your mouth drenched in sweet honey. They must use the same for the bread pudding, another favorite for our group. This is a place to put on your list of must dos.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the time we were met at the door ti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

From the time we were met at the door till we left after a delicious dinner, we felt welcome. Our server was eager to help and very attentive. All of the food was prepared perfectly and at the perfect temperature. They had a piano player during the evening (Sunday). The two dining rooms are small so I can't imagine large groups, but it would be great for a small wedding reception. Amazing history. We were celebrating my mom's 70th birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've eaten here many times and it's con ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've eaten here many times and it's consistently delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a WONDERFUL dinner at 17hundred90 ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had a WONDERFUL dinner at 17hundred90. The food was exquisite. The home baked biscuits were indescribable. The noise level is a little higher than many fine dining spots, but the atmosphere was very fun. We are at a late sitting - 8:45 - and the place was still fairly crowded. The cabaret pianist was very good - also a reason for the sound to be a bit louder, but we loved it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This place is the best. We were greeted ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This place is the best. We were greeted by the owner when we arrived. We were immediately seated at the time of our reservation. Our server was outstanding. She helped with different foods on the menu. The owner checked on us during the evening. I had Neptune. It was outstanding. Crab cakes topped with shrimp and scallops. Kathy had the beef and she enjoyed. 1790 is more than a meal. An evening here can be described as a experience. I highly recommend. One of the better restaurants in Savannah.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience at 17Hundred90 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very enjoyable experience at 17Hundred90 Inn for date night. The restaurant had a piano player in the dining room, which I loved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Unimaginative food.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Unimaginative food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

We came during Restaurant Week so we got ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We came during Restaurant Week so we got a good value for our money. The food was very good and the server was very engaging and knowledgeable. The only reason the service did not get 5 stars was that he appeared to have too many tables in different parts of the restaurant. Service was a little slow and off. We didn't get our bottle of wine until after our appetizers were brought out by someone else. And our empty plates sat on the table too long for a fine dining establishment. However, I don't think it was the server's fault as every time we saw him he was busy carrying food or checks to other tables. We would go back, though, and would recommend it to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Restaurant Week menu was great - stuffed ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Restaurant Week menu was great - stuffed mushroom app was fabulous as was the seafood entree and the bread pudding dessert. The peach chicken entree, however, was dry and seemed like they just topped a piece of chicken with a few peach slices. $30 restaurant week price point made it tolerable though! Excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow!!! What a delicious & amazing dining ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wow!!! What a delicious & amazing dining experience. From the excellent service provided by our Server, Hill - to the outstanding biscuits & dinner - all around exceptional!!

My husband's Filet was prepared to order correctly & my Salmon was fresh & prepared perfectly!

Will definitely return when I am back in Savannah, GA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch at 1790. Everyone enjoyed t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Great brunch at 1790. Everyone enjoyed their food and the quiet, cool ambiance was a nice respite from the hot hectic weekend.

I come back time and again for the grits alone! The best I've found anywhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed the feel and th ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed the feel and the food of 17hundred90. The service was phenomenal! It was a perfect place for dinner for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff was awesome!!! The food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The entire staff was awesome!!! The food was outstanding. I will definitely tell all my friends about this restaurant. Great food, great atmosphere, great time!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived on time but our table wasn't ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We arrived on time but our table wasn't quite ready. The hostess ushered us to a "comfortable" lounge to wait. It was the bar, so ordered some drinks. The surly barman, was efficient but unfriendly and insisted his was a separate operation from the restaurant and that we couldn't put our drinks on our meal bill. Not an encouraging start.

However, we didn't have to wait too long. Melissa, our server was pleasant and efficient.

The meal was of sufficient standard for our expectations. Of particular note were bacon wrapped scallops and the rack of lamb. We were offered a complimentary dessert for our anniversary, but it didn't appear in our to-go box.

The piano bar entertainment set a quietly hushed tone until we disturbed the peace by realizing two nearby tables also had anniversaries. The pianist was slightly lackluster, but I play myself so I'm probably over critical. He did play some classical requests for us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We stayed over night at the Inn for a bi ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We stayed over night at the Inn for a birthday get a way! It was fabulous. Excellent, friendly service and accommodations. Even though I live in Savannah, it felt like we were on vacation!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dining experience at 1790 ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at 1790

Loved the ambiance of the place and the subtle piano background music.

Menu offered interesting variety and we were pleased with our choices

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was excellent with decent prices. A ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was excellent with decent prices. Atmosphere was nice, but the service was poor, had to ask or look for our waiter a few times.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were thrilled to be able to dine here ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were thrilled to be able to dine here. Food was terrific. Had an extensive gluten free menu.

Very nice music and charming atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was hands down one of the best dini ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was hands down one of the best dining experiences I have ever had. From the service to the food, I couldn't have asked for more or better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time in Savannah so I ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was our first time in Savannah so I was looking for some unique places to eat. 17Hundred90 Inn was perfect. The food was incredible. My husband got the cranberry stuffed pork chops and I got the Jambalaya. Both were delicious and we cleaned our plates. The honey rolls at the beginning of the meal were to die for. I could have eaten 4 or 5 of those alone!! I loved listening to the lady playing the piano throughout our meal. She played and sang quietly which made for a very relaxing and romantic atmosphere. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely be going back next time we're in Savannah.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, service was superb. I ha ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great, service was superb. I had ordered flowers for our anniversary and they were on the table when we got there. Everything went great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Good chef and serv ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent experience. Good chef and service. Atmosphere excellent. Salmon entree excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was much better than expected. Serv ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was much better than expected. Serving size was average. Cost was higher than normal but it's more like fine dining. Overall it was worth it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We liked this place for lunch so much th ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We liked this place for lunch so much that we came back for dinner! The crab stew is creamy and the Fried Green Tomatoe BLT very tasty with sweet potatoe fries. Also, the mixologist in the bar is a local favorite! For dinner, 1790 was a great quiet restaurant with a piano and great food. It has great ambiance and wonderful food. I had the trout and it was sweet and fabulous and my husband and I split a spinach salad for dinner. This is a beautiful old historic building with great ambiance and a great Savannah experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We actually went to this restaurant twic ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We actually went to this restaurant twice on our stay and enjoyed it both times. We had really good service both times. We were lucky as each time we were able to sit near the piano, but for some people this might be too much noise, but for us it was nice as the music was not overpowering. Even though the crowd is pretty steady the meal is nice and relaxing, there is no rush to finish. We would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was the second time that we ate at ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

This was the second time that we ate at this restaurant and again the food, service and atmosphere was great.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I cannot recommend this place enough! Li ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I cannot recommend this place enough! Live piano player, beautiful chandeliers, exquisite food. Bacon wrapped scallops to die for! Steak was out of this world. Rolls with honey glaze come free with meal and are heaven! Wow wow wow. Best for a date or any family gathering. Nice separate lounge area as well. We will come back over and over again. Love this spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic, romantic, piano player, hist ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fantastic, romantic, piano player, historic, and the food was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed their dinners. Loved th ...

vip
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everyone enjoyed their dinners. Loved the piano player, live music is such a treat! But the best reason to dine here... The BISCUITS!!!!! You can't imagine how divine they are! What every biscuit dreams they could be! Thanks Mark for taking good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were at a family reunion in Savannah ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were at a family reunion in Savannah and several of us decided to eat out for the evening meal. The food was very good and the service was excellent. It was a little pricey but we all had a great time an would eat there again if we are ever in Savannah again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

17Hundred90 is a fabulous restaurant tha ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

17Hundred90 is a fabulous restaurant that caters to locals as well as a great tourist spot! (Hauntings, but don't let that scare you!)

The food is exceptional! Do not miss the Crab Stew which is richly loaded with crab and a hint of sherry. We had the delicious Neptune platter consisting of Wild Georgia shrimp, sea scallops and 2 crab cakes served with risotto and vegetables. A wonderful sampling of tasty seafood! Another person in our group ordered the nightly special which was a superb sword fish cooked to perfection. This is a restaurant not to be missed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional evening of dining while on v ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Exceptional evening of dining while on vacation in Savannah.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely evening,altogether. The ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a lovely evening,altogether. The food was very and our server, Jonathan was personable, friendly and provided excellent service. An evening well spent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.