Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We do not offer off-site catering.

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (49)
Special Occasion (49)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Cozy (42)
Good for a Date (41)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Authentic (32)
Live Music (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Worth the Drive (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Business Meals (17)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort by
S
1659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

We ate during a very busy Saturday night and were about 45 minutes early for our reservation. The wonderful staff at 17Hundred90 seated us anyway. John was our server and was friendly but rushed, but that was probably because we were seated early. I had Salmon Oscar and my husband had Pork Osso Bucco. Both dishes were very good and while mine was not as hot as it could have been, the flavor made it a non-issue. The restaurant also serves Leopold's ice cream so that was dessert. Our appetizers were Crab Stew which was spectacular and their Signature Salad which my husband was pleased with. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great! The service was great! This place never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

On the morning of February 16th my husband called to make reservations for my birthday that evening. He was told they were booked until Sunday the 19th and they ended the conversation. Since it was my birthday and he knew I really wanted to try there, he immediately got online and was able to book a table for the expect time that we wanted. Odd considering 30 seconds before he was told they were booked, but ok. We arrived early so we had drinks at the bar. 5 minutes later I decide to order an appetizer while we wait. 15 minutes later no appetizer but our table is ready so I ask if it can simply be transferred to our table. I'm informed it can't because the order was never put in. We were seated meet our server Hill, who was AMAZING and honestly the only reason that I give the review 3 stars. Oh and the bacon wrapped scallops we really good. The rest of the meal was downhill from there. Both my fillet mignon and lobster were under cooked and bland. The green beans we barley blanched and bland. My husband had the duck which was under cooked and the truffle macaroni & cheese had a too much truffle oil. This is definitely not an experience in looking forward to repeating. Had our server, Hill, not been great we would've left a lot sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was mediocre for the price - service was underwhelming. Redeeming part of the meal was ambiance, and that wasn’t even food related.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine’s Day dinner with my wife. Dinner was great; would have really enjoyed piano music with dinner. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoy this restaurant. I highly suggest the Lobster Pasta and Bread Pudding for dessert. We had a nice experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 13, 2018

The ambiance of this 200 year old inn is only matched by the Olde Pink House in Savannah. From the mouth watering honey butter biscuits thru the remainder of the meal.... The service is attentive and friendly, the food exceptional, and the bill reasonable

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 13, 2018

Great food, great shrimp entrees, wonderful waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 10, 2018

After waiting 19 mins, had to walk up the the hostess and ask for our waiter. Food was exceptional, but service was below par. This was our third visit and I was very disappointed....it was our last visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Great ambiance - loved the piano playing in the background. They allow plenty of time to enjoy a leisurely dinner with perfect timing between courses. Try the bread pudding!!

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2018

The food was awesome loved the honey biscuits! The seafood was excellent and service was the best. Piano music was nice and not too loud. I definitely would recommend this restaurant among the best in Savannah.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Great historic setting with excellent menu options without being overpriced. We ordered different entrees and everyone enjoyed the meal. I particularly enjoyed the crab stew. Wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Good food, but duck breast needed to have the gristle trimmed out. The live piano music was relaxing. We used a flashlight at our table in order to read the menu. Most of the other tables appeared to have adequate lighting.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2018

We have never had a poor meal or service. This keeps us coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Dinner was fabulous. All of our food was delicious and we loved the ambience and piano playing in the background. A great restaurant that should be on everyone's must eat at list in Savannah.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Fantastic atmosphere. Nice menu and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2018

We had a wonderful waiter, Johnathan, who was attentive and friendly. My husband enjoyed the three course meal for $30 during restaurant week including biscuits with gravy, a wedge salad and chateaubriand and dessert. The piano player was amazing and complimented our entire evening. Will definitely go back when we visit again.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 1, 2018

My friends and I went there for restaurant week. The bar was crowded and very noisy, but once at out table, the noise level was appropriate for the time of day.

The duck I ordered was cooked perfectly, but I felt the chef overdid it with the BBQ style sauce he used on it. I think it would have been better overall with nothing more than garlic butter baste.

If I order it again, I will ask for the sauce to be omitted.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Super good and unique. I highly recommend 1790. Relaxing, and upbeat live piano music, coupled with 4+ star service, made it an extra great evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 31, 2018

This place is great. Go early and have drinks in bar. Great prices and good pours. Service was outstanding in restaurant.All servers were very professional. My wife had a leg brace and Patrick (owner) had a table waiting for us. Food was cooked perfect. I would recommend Neptune. Restaurant Week menu is very good also. Piano player was playing show tunes which added to the atmosphere.

I highly recommend and give 1790 A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 30, 2018

Everything is always great at The 1790 House...never disappoints. Favorite restaurant in Savannah.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2018

This was our first time dining here. We took advantage of restaurant week and wished we had ordered from the regular menu. The fish was over cooked and the duck was very fatty. The chocolate dessert was very tasty, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 30, 2018

We came here for restaurant week and this restaurant did not disappoint! I had the tomato bisque soup that was by far my favorite and its such a shame it's not on the normal menu. Our server was kind and attentive. The dining room was a little dark but reading the menu wasn't a problem. I really enjoyed the piano player in the corner, it added so much to the atmosphere. The only problems were the hostess who was a bit rude and my bourbon cake dessert that was dry and hard. Overall we had a great dinner and would certainly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2018

Wonderful place - get Annette's Stew - it's absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2018

Food was great but server was disappointing. No wine recommendation, didn't come back to refill, didn't refill water, brought wrong dessert. Although we said "thank you" every time, he never said "you're welcome".

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2018

I had the flounder roulade. The fish was dry; the stuffing was inedible. I had a very strange spice in it. The sauce was too sweet and seemed like it came from a can. The brocolli needed to be steamed a few more minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2018

Really nice ambience in historic setting but it is a shame didn’t match to wonderful decor.
The fish was bland and desserts stale and tasteless. We went during restaurant week, and the owner and chef certainly didn’t do a great job showing diners a high quality dining experience. Not really sure why others gave it good reviews although the service and ambience was really nice.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 28, 2018

We didn't realize it was Restaurant week, but were nicely suprized by the selections! AWESOME! Every dish that we selected was over the top. The Escargot were served with a light pastry and delicious white wine sauce. (We could have just ate 2 portions of this~WONDERFUL!!) As an entree, we chose the Seared Duck Breast. We were not disapointed in this either. The duck was so flavorful and cooked to perfection. We originally did not think that we would like the balsamic raspberry sauce, but it was just enough to give it a lift, The brie and black truffle macaroni was creamy and quite good! Finished off with the Chocolate Bomb, which to no surprise seemed to be a big favorite in the room! Will definitely return . Oh yeah, did I mention the lovely piano music softly playing in the background? (ABSOUTELY BEAUTIFUL) Great Night! Would have posted pictures, but by the time I thought about it, half of my plate disappeared! (my fault)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 27, 2018

My wife and I went for Savannah Restaurant Week, and we weren't disappointed. I had escargot for an appetizer. It was creatively presented, and very good. I would get it again. We both had the duck main course, and again, it was very good. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 27, 2018

good food, slower service, very noisy, piano could have been louder played so softly not heard beyond 2 tables and not in the adjoining room at all

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Been here several times- food always great! Server was not greatest. Had to ask repeatedly for drink refills. Not very attentive or personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Was quite excited to have dinner here. Had a reservation and they seemed busy and we were told to wait at the bar. One hour later, our table was ready. We didn't mind the wait as we were having a night out with friends and had some drinks. Our food came out lukewarm at most. Made a comment to the server and he said that it was because we were the last table and the kitchen was closing up. Certainly not the best answer as we had no choice but to be the last table because of the wait. The food was good, but again, hot would have been much better. Overall, it was ok.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 25, 2018

My husband and I come back every year when we come to Savannah. We have always had a wonderful experience here.
Great food, lovely music, attentive wait staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Historic building provides old Savannah charm. Service was very good, attentive but not overly so. Food was, frankly, just okay. Swordfish was a bit dry and carrots were too close to raw to be a side vegetable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Service was indifferent. We were the first table seated after the restaurant opened. I ordered two beers and the waitor asked my dining companion about his drink choice (there was only two of us). We then asked about the portion sizes of the entrees to which the waitor offerred no assistance. He indicated, yes, the meals could be spouted and were of average size. Long story short, we had twice as much food as we could eat. Last, but certainly not least, is that the waitor returned to our table to verify my dining companion's dinner selection although it was ordered using menu info.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2018

You cannot beat the ambiance at 17 hundred 90 but the quality of the food is another story. I've been going to this restaurant for several years and I've noticed a decline in the quality of the food. My meal, Neptune, was served room temp. The shrimp were over-cooked. The crab cakes were mealy and lacked flavor. Dessert, Pineapple Cake, was mostly sugar cream with a faint taste of pineapple but no pineapple to be found. They need to get the food back up to the standards that are in line with the history and feel of this place.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The black and blue steak was one of the best things i have ever had. Fabulous restaurant!!!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Love the restaurant and bar area. We are regulars to the bar but have not had dinner at the 1790 in awhile. We were seated very quickly, even before our reservation time and that was wonderful. Waiter, Jefferson, was very good and attentive. My wife had the lobster pasta which was excellent. I had the special for the evening which was stuffed filet of flounder. Not so good. Fish was extremely overcooked and the whole dish had no seasoning, very little flavor. Only seasoning on the entire dish was the rice. I could not even tell what the flounder was stuffed with as it had no flavor at all? Strange. Might have been an off night for the kitchen as the place had a lot of diners that evening. We will return. I usually get the Filet or Glazed Sirloin when I dine here. That has never disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 20, 2018

The food, wine and service was wonderful. The noise was exceptionally high. I could hardly hear my wife who sat across from me. The piano made it worse. Also, I don't know how four people could be served on a table for four. We had three people and it was a bit crowded.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 19, 2018

One of my local favorites. It never fails my expectations and I’ve never had a bad meal or experience here.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.