Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11am-2:00pm
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: (912) 236-7122

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (84)
Romantic (79)
Special Occasion (76)
See All
Good for a Date (75)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Cozy (60)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Quiet Conversation (53)
Live Music (44)
Authentic (42)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Fireplace (22)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Casual (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
 (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Best restaurant in Savannah; incredible food; professionally run, a pleasure; its fine dining, a piano man in the dining area ; yet still quiet. A good place to go if your use to excellent service, as a bad waitstaff can ruin an evening

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was just not up to par with other restaurants in the historic district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and was able to accommodate me who is vegan. Also forgot my jacket there and they were awesome by having it the next day for me to pick up before leaving town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal! The ambiance was wonderful- soft piano playing in the background and a unique dining room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, great service, great time.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Live piano playing. Delicious food. Great for a date night or anniversary. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Historic and haunted restaurant with a delicious menu and a delightful staff! Incredible interior.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I love this restaurant. Have been here a few times. Our reservation was pretty late 8:15 on a Friday night. It wasn't too busy by the time we were seated. It took almost an hour for our appetizers to come out. Bruschetta & scallops wrapped with bacon. Things that shouldn't take too long to make. The service we had the last time we went wasn't the best but the food is amazing and our service has been great other times so we will be back. :)

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Visiting Savannah for the weekend, good value for food and service with the dresses up. ambience of a historical inn. We liked it! I had the special grilled pork chop which was tender and delicious AND, I appreciated that the server told us how much the specials cost! Brava!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always a favorite stop for us in Savannah. Never disappointed.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Clayton our server was great! He made great recommendations and was very personable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Excellent service from Clayton. Very professional great food and atmosphere! Highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Distinguished by all criteria: food; service; ambiance; historic character; value. Best dining experience we had in Savannah (and we had some other very good meals). Great history and fun ghost stories were an added bonus. A+

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very good restaurant .Food is excellent and the staff is very professional.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I'd recommend they get a real chef, the food was terrible and cold on top of it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Visited for Mother's Day brunch. Biscuits with honey were fantastic. All of our meals were very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wonderful food, service and ambiance. We had a wonderful time celebrating Mother's day at this restaurant. I highly recommend this place for a special occasion or just a wonderful meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We were only in Savannah for one night but wanted to go back to 17 Hundred 90 Restaurant that we had been to a couple of years ago. The atmosphere and service were just as we had remembered. My husband had a fish and pasta dish that had too much sauce. My shrimp were very good, but not as good as I'd remembered. Perhaps we just ordered the wrong things, but we loved the experience and would try it again sometime.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was ok, but the service was terrible. Heard from a tour guide that there were several complaints lately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Amazing food, great service, romantic atmosphere, and worth every penny. Overall fantastic experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

WONDERFUL food, WONDERFUL waiter (Clayton) who was so attentive and friendly. We loved the brick interior, crystal chandeliers and coziness of the place. Next time we visit Savannah, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great place for a nice romantic dinner. We really enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Nice way to experience historic Savannah while eating good food! !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Our waiter was attentive & friendly. Food was 5 star. I had Osso Buco which was excellent, tender with lots of flavor.

Tags: Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We were visiting Savannah and this restaurant was recommended by a local resident. It was also listed as a good choice in Fodors. It did not disappoint. It was a wonderful meal. The ambiance of the restaurant was wonderful. It definitely represented Savannah well. The service and the food were wonderful.

We absolutely loved the honey biscuits that were served with our drinks. I ordered a red snapper special and my husband ordered sautéed shrimp which was on the regular menu. Both were wonderful. I only wished I could eat Leopold's ice cream for dessert, but I was too full. Leopold's ice cream is not to be missed! We ate it at their restaurant the day before.

I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

They have a vegan special option which is why I chose this place for myself(vegan) and my omnivore partner.

Tags: Vegan, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was prepared with great care. The wait staff was courteous and knowledgeable A great business dinner. I impressed my clients. A great place to eat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great spot for brunch! Got there right when it opened, which was smart. Loved their take on chicken and waffles (biscuit instead of waffle) while someone else had the stuffed French toast which was addictive. Of course, anything with truffle oil + bacon + blue cheese is a killer for us, so we had to try the potato wedges. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was OK. Waiter didn't seem to care about his customers. Kind of pricey for what you got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Comfortable, historic, with live pianist, 17hundred90 provided just the right ambiance for my birthday dinner. Our food was perfectly prepared, our waiter was attentive, and we couldn't have been more content. Would highly recommend this fine restaurant, and can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

As we arrived early, we were directed to the bar to wait. After what seemed like a rather long wait (reservation was made several weeks prior), we were led to our table. Since we had a wait, we were treated to a cocktail--great touch! Food was tasty, arrived in a timely fashion and was good quality, would definitely return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Very good atmosphere, romantic with piano player doing soft classic songs. Very historic building, local food options. Extremely laid back feeling and no pressure to eat and leave, quite the opposite. Only complaint was the hostess seemed smirkey and arrogant. Rest of the staff was wonderful! Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 26, 2017

17Hundred90 serves the most tasty, healthy cuisine in all Savannah! Customer Service is excellent & the food is always great!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We happened upon 17 Hundred 90 during a haunted pub crawl on a recent visit to Savannah. We loved the atmosphere so we made a reservation for the next night. The dining room was beautiful with exposed brick all around. The service was impeccable, going so far as to offer a taste of a wine I was considering. The food was very good and well portioned. And to top it all off there was a wonderful piano player to entertain us through our meal. I would definitely go back there and recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

A true hidden gem. Loved the live music, but could still hold a conversation without having to yell. Decor was great. Would love to go back again sometime.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our second visit to this restaurant and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered we were treated wonderfully. Our waiter Hill came right over and made us welcome. He offered dining suggestions, was very helpful regarding dietary restrictions and spent time reviewing menu, specials and wines with us. I had the Neptune which was delicious and enough for two. My husband had shrimp dinner which was beautifully prepared. Portions are very good as are choices. Thank you Hill and all at this restaurant for a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food and service. Really nice atmosphere for a special occasion or casual dining.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Stopped in for brunch. Benedict Arnold very disappointing. Crab overwhelmed by the avocado. Waving girl omelette was just fine. The room was charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our meal was outstanding, and the prices reasonable. I loved the ambience, and our waiter Hill was great. I would eat there again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.