Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About 17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant

Named for the year it was constructed, 17Hundred90 provides a dining experience without equal in a historic city which prides itself in showering visitors in the unhurried luxury and service of times gone by.

A living time capsule of America's earliest decades, 17Hundred90 captures the authentic flavor of an eighteenth century river port hotel and restaurant while working diligently to provide wonderful new memories for our guests.

307 East President St.
Savannah, GA 31401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, Southern, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11am-3:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11am - 3:00pm;
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(912) 236-7122

Website:
http://17hundred90.com/

Entertainment:
1790 Restaurant and Inn offers a live pianist EVERY night from 5p.m. until 9p.m.

Catering:
We offer on site catering for up to 60 people both formal and informal

Parking Details:
We also have a small private lot that we use to accommodate our Inn guest but also our dinner patrons

Executive Chef:
James Deja

Private Party Facilities:
We have private party facilities that can accommodate up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Patrick Godley: (912) 236-7122

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

17Hundred90 Inn and Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (59)
Romantic (51)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Cozy (36)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Live Music (32)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Authentic (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Fireplace (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Casual (11)
Fun (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (0)
Sort By:
S
1347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I dined here because it was convenient to a Savannah Music Festival venue. For starters my wife had a crab stew, which essentially was a chowder. She said it was good. My special 1790 house salad was quite ordinary, although the vinaigrette was quite good. My salmon with risotto and my wife's rack of lamb were good, standard fare. Service was attentive and friendly. In short, the food seems to be reliable, although not inspired. Try it if you're in the area, but no need to go out of your way.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for our 25th anniversary. Food was delicious. Service was excellent. The pianist is wonderful and adds to the ambiance. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

I had the striped sea bass, the special. It was cooked perfectly. The oysters were very good. Lovely restaurant. Great service. Classic items on the menu, very traditional style. Beautiful historic setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Vacation Very nice meal!! Loved the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Everything was outstanding. The food was great and well priced. The service was very good. The live music by the pianist added to the enjoyment of dinner.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Charming atmosphere, noise level rather high. Good menu choices. Escargot delicious. Entrees very good but not exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great service. Food was excellent! We were on vacation and it was a romantic evening with a piano player. Nice historic place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Brunch was the WORST meal I ever had in Savannah, bar none. The food was barely edible, the space is filthy, and there was one server in the entire space so service was abysmal. Really. Eat anywhere but here. The Benedict Arnold was composed of different meh ingredients. The omelettes were greasy overcooked egg crepes that had overcooked bland fillings not integrated into the eggs. The hash browns were not very brown and came out cold and mushy like the grits. Even the biscuits were tough and tired. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our food. They had some unusual combinations.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was scrumptious and superb. Outrage waiter was attentive and wonderful

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Best calamari we may have ever had. Pretty good value for an upscale restaurant .
Biggest issue was finding wine that was actually available as the first 3 we ordered off the wine list weren't . This was a long and awkward experience as the waiter had to keep checking in the back and grumbled about how they really needed to update their list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Scott our server was attentive and knowledgeable in the overall menu and making recommendations....the meal was outstanding! We both settled on the shrimp & scallop scampi over linguine and it was amazing. Just the right mix of herbs, garlic and sauce. My wife said it was delicious at least 10 times during the meal. Appropriately priced for the quality of food. Looking forward to a future trip to Savannah and most certainly a return to 17Hundred90...very well done! We highly recommend this establishment.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I wanted to find a fabulous place to treat our friends as a thank you for hosting us in Savannah. This restaurant had lots of excellent reviews on several sites, so I was really looking forward to a special meal. We started with crab cakes, and they were very good. My husband and I ordered the trout, and it was disappointing. It was good but nothing special, and not worth the price. Our friends ordered the lamb and said it was good, but I didn't have a taste so can't really speak to it. I tried the pecan pie for dessert, and it was good but not what I was expecting from a Southern restaurant. This didn't live up to my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great historic ambience. One small flaw: ugly wires strung here and there, ruining authentic colonial rooms.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a lovely time with friends for a leisurely dinner. The food was good, nothing overly amazing but still good. The service was good although the food was very slow to come out. All in all in took about an hour to get our entrees and we ordered 2 apps that weren't delivered until almost 40 minutes after we placed the order. We actually thought the server probably forgot to put in our app order it took so long. Good news is we weren't in a hurry. Our drinks were never dry and the biscuits with honey (which ended up being more of an appetizer) was really delicious and might be a reason to return on their own.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Stuffed mushrooms appetizer was good but $12 brought 3 small mushrooms..My husband ordered the Mahi special. He left 3/4 on his plate and said that his dinner was terrible. I ordered the shrimp and scallop linguine. It had absolutely no flavor. Kept having to add salt and pepper. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

In the historic district and operating for over a century; delicious meals in an elegant cozy setting with brick floors, and crystal chandeliers.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Took my girlfriend there as part of our evening prior to proposing. I wanted something romantic. This was definitely that. The food was delicious. She had the Boursin Chicken which was amazing and I had the Mahi Mahi special which was also great. Reasonably priced and good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Charming historic setting. Good food accompanied by good service and piano music

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Cute, lots of older folks, nice pianist taking requests for tips. Food was fine, nothing special, but an overall nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Everything at 1790 was excellent. From the friendly bar and bartender to the front of the house staff to are server Tim. Well done 1790 definitely a place that will be on my routine dining stop
Cheers,
Chris

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Always a wonderful meal and dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was in Savannah for the weekend with a friend. The atmosphere was great and cozy. The food was very good with the honey biscuit starter being my favorite. The food was fresh and very traditional. We really enjoyed the piano player.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Dining in a very historic building. Wonderful menu with southern dishes such as fried green tomatoes. Good calamari and crab cakes as well. Excellent service

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was adequate but service was poor. Lighting at table was so bad we could not read the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Will be looking for another special occasion so I can go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Jonathan was our waiter and he was excellent. Superb food, presentation, and atmosphere. Would definitely return. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Loved the atmosphere, fabulous piano music while dining, delicious food & great presentation - yummy honey butter biscuits!!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Horrible service. Abagail, the waitress was unable to describe food. When adked the difference between the sauteed shrimp and the blackened shrimp she said one was sauteed and the other was backened. We adked her which bourbons they served and dhe went to adk the bartender. She told us there were so many that she just wrote down 4. We asked her to find out the others. Same happened with the gin. She went.back to ask bartender and when she returned she said she found out but couldn't remember the names but knew beefeater was one of them. She asked for our dessert orders while our friend was still eating his entree. She was unable toxadequately do her job. Had to request silverware several times. The risotto was gluey and paste-like. Shrimp were over cooked and tasteless. Only positive was excellent pianist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Enjoyed our stay at the 17hundred90 Inn and ate in the restaurant once, and the Tavern once. The food is good - not outstanding. The biggest thumbs up goes to the Honey Biscuits service before the meals (but not part of continental breakfast????) The thumbs down is the coffee - thin and watery which seemed shocking for Savannah and for most places in the south (said the good southern coffee-lover). Couldn't wait to get home and make a cup of my own - even though it was late afternoon. The staff at the inn and restaurant are attentive and helpful. I do recommend the Inn and Restaurant for a nice weekend getaway.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Very pleasant place to dine. The history (ghosts) of the Inn and restaurant made this a fun experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

An outstanding dinner in every respect. Ambiance unbelievable. Will go there on every visit to Savannah!

Tags: Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This was our first visit to this restaurant, and it was a great choice. We had been wanting to try it, as it was so highly recommended by friends. Everything was delicious, and the dining room is historic and cozy. Can't wait to return for another good meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our mean and service at 17Hundred90 was amazing. The piano music was so pleasant to listen to while we ate an awesome meal, served by a very friendly and attentive waitor. Will definitely return to this restaurant on our next trip to Savannah.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The service and food amazing.
We really enjoyed the piano player

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Reservation seating is in a dining room with live piano music. We always enjoy eating here when we are in Savanah

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was excellent although one couple complained the bread pudding was dry. Waiter had a booming voice that took away from the general ambiance. He didnt pace himself but just barged right in eventhough one member of our party was mid sentence. The piano player was perfect....wonderful...a welcome addition. He chose appropriate musical selections & kept the volume low enough we could enjoy our conversation....but still gear him and him along sometimes. I hope 17 Hundred 90 retains him fir a good long while. ..plus he didn't take any breaks but played through for probably 3 hrs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food and dinner service. Also great wines and champagne selections. A perfect Savannah evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Regrettable antiquated laws prevented a Sunday Bloody Mary before 12:30 (reservations 11:45) - made for a nice desert, though.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, wonderful live piano. Wonderful service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.