Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for a Date (28)
Historic (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Authentic (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fireplace (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a top knotch dinner at 1796. The service was great, and theres not a bad seat in the house (we loved the table for 2 with the couch so we could sit next to each other). We also were able to enjoy our meal as our server was attentive but didn't bother us too much. However, my boyfriend was a little disappointed that he called prior to our reservation to let the staff know we were celebrating my birthday (unbeknownst to me) and when we arrived our server obviously wasn't notified (he asked us if we were celebrating anything) and there was nothing special done to recognize our occasion. At such a nice restaurant where a lot of people celebrate special occasions he assumed they would put a candle in my dessert or SOMETHING! Regardless, we will go back as it was an awesome meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent food, great service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was very good. The portions were smaller than last year. The sides were large enough to share, however, the chicken was much smaller than last years portion. The Lobster Mac n cheese was delicious. Great service.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal at 1796. Typical Steakhouse fare but done very well. The dining area is somewhat small and was loud throughout much of the meal. Our meals were prepared perfectly, you could tell they pay attention to the ingredients. The highlights were the side dishes. I was very impressed with the mountain of lobster that adorned the Lobster Mac and Cheese and the Bourbon Baby Carrots were delicious. We will return and look forward to coming back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I booked a reservation because my husband and I were celebrating our anniversary at the resort. The restaurant has very limited seating, which explains why reservations are required. Everything on the menu is a la carte pricing, which made the meal very expensive. The food was good, but my husband and I agreed that it was not worth the price. The noise level was so loud at one point when the waitress was talking to us, that it was hard to hear her. Yes, you can typically expect dining on a resort to be more expensive, however, this experience just didn't live up to our expectations based on what we had read and heard. One time was enough for us; we wouldn't dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was excellent, atmosphere was very nice and good selection was right in my wheelhouse. Alaskan crab legs were wonderful and so was my wife's steak. Smoked pork chop was overly salty. Overall good time but needed pork chop to be less salty

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Love the historic ambience of the restaurant and resort!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

First time at Bedford Springs. Very enjoyable and pleasant environment. Did some hiking, happy hour, and nice meals. I will be back this fall.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very expensive, everything is ala carte (vege, potatoes, salad, etc.) Special was pan seared cod, more like blackened, not flaky, or tasty, pork chop was undercooked, pink, sent back then overcooked and dry! That's all you get on your plate, anything else you have to pay extra for it, so bottom line, too expensive for just one piece of meat for dinner! My wife had a very hard time finding something to eat, considering she doesn't eat red meat or seafood, you should put a chicken entree on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My husband and I were having a date night and this was the perfect place to enjoy each other's company. The atmosphere was authentic and romantic. The food was amazing and made our first time there wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Hands down great food, awesome service and excellent drinks... well worth the drive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fabulous and delicious .service was great. Tender ribeye

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything from the food to service was top notch. Everything.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The food was great and our server Michael was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, personable and knew exactly what to recommended to meet our tastes!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Outstanding meal and service. Went for our 25th wedding anniversary and they made it a very special evening.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Good quality food, nice ambience. We were staying at the resort and were pleased to find such a great restaurant as part of experience.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The service and food was excellent. We have eaten here often over 8 years.
Alway a well balanced menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Loved it there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was excellent overall, though the 22 oz. ribeye I had was not as thick as expected and not very hot when it came out. Otherwise, the truffle butter, highly recommended by our server, was very unique and worth the additional charge. The sides were good and generously portioned. We requested one of their sofa tables, which was nice but not as cozy as expected because the are located at the ends of the dining room, with the sofa seats 2 along the same side of the table, looking out to the rest of the dining room. While it is nice seating for a couple, it did not feel very private. But we got used to it as the evening went on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful spot to celebrate my birthday! The food and service are fantastic, and the ambiance of the historic Omni Bedford Springs resort is really special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This wasn't our first time at 1796 and it certainly won't be our last. The only reason why this evening didn't get 5 stars was because they seemed to have overbooked reservations, causing quite the wait for our already late (9:30) dinner reservation. That said, the staff was extremely apologetic and professional about the delay. Everything on the menu is fantastic, but this time there wasn't a single item that disappointed. We ordered the pork chops and the 18 oz filet (medium) and they were both perfectly cooked. The sides of sauteed spinach and mashed potatoes were neither too heavy nor too light - they were perfectly filling.
It's definitely a splurge, there's no cheap dinner at Bedford Springs, but it's certainly worth every penny.
Whether you're planning a romantic night or girls weekend, I definitely recommend going to 1796!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was superb! Wait staff exceptional. Only downside to the dining is the noise level is high and hard to converse with your party.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The 1796 Steakhouse steaks, baked potato, and salad were good, but the spinach which was supposed to have a cream sauce did not and was not very good. The artichoke hearts had not been cleaned well and were gritty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, loved sitting in the cozy 2-seater, and wonderful service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Spectacular service, incredible ambience and the food was wonderful! 5-star!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Overall a first-rate experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Although pricey, the food is excellent. They are known for steaks, but everything is great. The dining room is a little noisy. Decor is colonial. Lots of wine selections. Staff is attentive without being obnoxious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We celebrated our daughters 16 th birthday there. Food was delicious!! Server was attentive, helpful, and pleasant. When we were leaving,a hotel staff member offered to give us a quick tour, what a wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Really feels like an intimate, romantic experience. Great atmosphere, very personal service. Would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. Can be pricey, but food is first class.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We celebrated my Mom's 80th Birthday here, and she said that her Steak was the best she's had in over a decade! Food was fantastic, as was our server. Bravo!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was perfect. We had perfectly prepared filet and duck breast meals. I would have preferred fresh artichoke steamed over artichoke from a jar. There was hint of preserving liquid in the flavor. But crab cake, salad, bread and dinner was overall great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unbelievable food. Service was quick and very helpful. Not somewhere I can afford to go regularly but return there every Valentine's Day if I am able to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, great service from our waiter Michael. Very knowledgeable about the menu, wines and food. He noticed my special request to have full wine selection for my wife and catered toward her love of wines. Absolutely love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had the best filet I have ever had!! The drinks were wonderful too. A little pricey, but would recommend it to friends for a special occasion!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious aged steak and sea salt potatoes. Great service as well. Always love this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was excellent as always. We spend birthdays and anniversaries here ! Love it !!!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The dish that I ordered was served to me raw and my girlfriend ordered a dish that was overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love love love this place...never disappoints! Delicious food, great servers and unique decor....the old rifles are awesome. The filet was melt in your mouth tender and my husbands bone-in ribeye mouthwatering. Every detail from wine to dessert....perfect.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.