About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Bedford
Best Restaurants in Bedford ›

Special Occasion (42)
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food in historic background. Steak ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food in historic background. Steaks were excellent. Lobster mac and cheese a must!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always fabulous! The steak is to die fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always fabulous! The steak is to die for. Nice wine menu and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent here. This ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food is always excellent here. This particular night was very busy and the waitress had a lot of tables so service was a bit slow. She was an excellent waitress. We were very disappointed in our salads and she took them off our bill. I love this place and although it is quite pricey I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Expensive but very good. We would defin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Expensive but very good. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed this restaurant had a great file ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Enjoyed this restaurant had a great filet mignon. Already recommended to a friend who will be visiting the resort (where it is located) next week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

God awful service and well done salmon i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

God awful service and well done salmon instead of medium rare. Waits of over an hour from appetizers to entree. Another 35 minute wait for one desert.

1796 cannot hold a candle to the excellent Crystal Room.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

This was a repeat visit - we travel to s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was a repeat visit - we travel to specifically eat at the 1796 and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service to the food... everythi ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

From the service to the food... everything was right on the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

To sum up -- we were a little disappoint ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

To sum up -- we were a little disappointed this time around -- they can be better. First, this is the high-end venue at the resort so you expect something special -- a charming host/hostess, lighting befitting the mood, consistently prepared dishes, etc. This is how I remember them a few years ago. The hostess position for 1796 is shared with the Tavern, and frankly I would rather have someone showing me to my fine dining table that didn't look like they just cleaned off a table in the Tavern. Don't get me wrong, she was very nice -- but you expect a better image when you are going to plop down 250 bucks for a dinner for two. The restaurant itself is very charming and comfortable, but on this night they had the lighting on full blast -- you almost needed sunglasses -- not exactly the romantic ambiance we were seeking. I wouldn't say it bothered us a whole lot, but struck us as odd. I had the wild mushroom soup, which was extremely thick and served room temperature -- not their best effort. I had a 12 oz filet Oscar style, which was excellent. My wife had the a lovely salad, and a half lobster cocktail -- which was a bit tough -- but that's the luck of the draw with lobster -- not much the chef can do about that. We didn't go for dessert, but went for specialty coffee drinks instead. They were quite different concoctions, but came out looking identical in those same old Pyrex coffee mugs you have seen a thousand times. Argh, get some better training for the bar staff -- they were undrinkable as well as visually unappealing. Whatever coffee they were using tasted like it had been on the burner since breakfast -- it just overwhelmed the specialty liquor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it!! Food was amazing. Very expe ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Loved it!! Food was amazing. Very expensive but worth it for special occasions!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The 1796 was exceptional for steaks. Fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The 1796 was exceptional for steaks. Food was superbly flavorful, except for the deviled egg appetizer which was quite bland, though the texture was delectable. Service was good. Size of portions is way too large and not healthy for any normal eater, but the taste was incredible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. She was very helpful in explaining every aspect of the menu. Our food was exceptional, it could not have been prepared any better. This restaurant, food, and staff were of the highest class. We have dined here before and will gladly return, this restaurant is very intimate but acceptable for families, business partners, etc. Thank you Lisa for a great experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Dinning for my birt ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was great. Dinning for my birthday with a party of four. All agreed that this was a suburb dinning experience. Great attention was paid to each dish. Even the sides were great. It was upscale, but not pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Having dined here before, I was extremel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Having dined here before, I was extremely disappointed with the filet preparation. Burnt edges and over cooked. Salad was ok but potato sat all day in the kitchen. Service was excellent. Did not want to fuss on my anniversary. That steak sauce was poor. We wish we would have had the burgers in the Pub. One star out of five. I still cannot believe I paid for that meal. Having eaten at numerous chophouses, the chef needs re-evaluated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Enjoyable dining experience. Food was w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Enjoyable dining experience. Food was well prepared and presented . Staff was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific but portions too large. Wine s ...

vip
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrific but portions too large. Wine selection by glass did not make us smile. Attractive historical setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

overall a nice place to dine noise level ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

overall a nice place to dine noise level was a little high the food was great The service was great ...but the the drink prices whereover-the-top high so next time next time we'll pass on the drinks:(

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious dinner with my wife. Our ahi t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Delicious dinner with my wife. Our ahi tuna and filet mignon were amazing. The mushroom and sweet potato sides were also very very good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything a la carte, including any sau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything a la carte, including any sauce you might want. Felt cheap being " nickle and dimed " to death. Just charge a little more for the entre. Food ok. Large servings. Ground up red peppers all over the $22 scallop appetizer. Uncooked onions in risotto. Service was very good. Not interested in returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Great service with amazing food. Nothing ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service with amazing food. Nothing disappointed. Perhaps the only negative thing was we ordered our steak medium, and it looked medium rare, but it tasted so good that my wife and i didn't care.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous dining experience! Se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a fabulous dining experience! Service was great, ambiance and decor were historic and lovely. Food was exceptional! Best steak my husband has had in a long time. Wish we had room for dessert! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its employees are competent, unobtrusive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Its employees are competent, unobtrusive, and quite helpful when asked for suggestions.

Entrees are ALL delicious, as this is my fifth experience, and neither I nor those with whom I "broke bread" had any complaints whatsoever. My mother enjoyed her well grilled encrusted pork chop, and was overwhelmed by the size of it. The garnish vegetable for the summer is the artichoke, and those are prepared flawlessly. Everything is so very tasty, well seasoned, and perfectly presented.

Although the acoustics are not the best, it is easy to overlook this with the delightful menu and great service.

This is a fine restaurant; I recommend it to all.

The restaurant's name is rich in history, and this is well explained on the website and on printed materials throughout the resort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our anniversary. I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary. I had the shrimp which were superb.

My wife ordered crab cakes which were served black on the bottom. Sent them back and

got second 2 crab cakes-also burned on the bottom. I had shared my entree and so we

just cut off the bottom and ate the cakes-crab was great. But they should be able

to cook them w/o burning the bottom.

Very disappointing. Talked to manager who said he would talk w/chef. But we

were stuck with a disappointing expensive meal!!

This is a high end restaurant-they should do better!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Best filet mignon I have had east of the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Best filet mignon I have had east of the Mississippi.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and service great varied ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent food and service great varied menu..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious, me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious, memorable dinner at 1793. We enjoyed everything from the drinks to the appetizers to the wine, entrees and dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent steaks. King crab legs were p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent steaks. King crab legs were phenomenal. Wine selection was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Weekend Visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I whisked my husband away for a weekend getaway at Bedford Springs - which we loved. I booked this restaurant because I thought it would be elegant and cozy. It was very, very noisy. The waiter we had was very inattentive and waited quite a bit when first seated to have someone come to the table. I ordered Lamb which was very tough and the knives that they gave my husband and I were horrible. When I told the waiter that the cutlery was terrible, he laughed and said 'we get that a lot'. Seriously, might want to do something about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great food and service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was fantastic, as was the server. Room was a little noisy, bare wooden floors and minimal wall covering, so not much to absorb the noise. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was great!! Steak was ok but sal ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was great!! Steak was ok but salmon was terrible. Asked for it medium and came well done and very dry. When you pay that much for an entree you expect it to be cooked properly. Side of mushrooms was very greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Very average food and very high priced.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The atmosphere itself was great. I loved the room. The food was very average and the cost was extremely expensive. Everything was a la carte and very pricey. After paying $40+ for the entree, $12 for salad, $10 for mashed potatoes, $14 for a standard glass of wine we didn't even entertain dessert. The food was just average and definitely not a $200 meal. I've had a much better dining experience elsewhere.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Steaks!!! They sure know how to do them ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Steaks!!! They sure know how to do them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to stop there when I a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to stop there when I am in town. My steak was perfect, the atmosphere so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Steakhouse

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Have eaten here many times. Very good steak and very pricey like most steakhouses, as everything is ala carte.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The wine selection was great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

The wine selection was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mediocre at Best

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

It's very sad that I had a mediocre time at 1796. It was a beautiful restaurant, but the food was just OK and the service was the same. I found that our bill became much higher because the server did not disclose certain information to us, for example that water cost us money (he could have mentioned that when I was questioning about the different types he offered) and splitting a salad between two would cost more. We had to eat fish as it was a Friday during lent and were not at all pleased with the choices or the taste of the salmon or halibut. It cost way more than the worth of the food and service. I can say that the drink choices were wonderful. I enjoyed a cocktail during dinner and an after dinner martini and was very pleased with both. I would like to try it again as it may have been a one-time issue, but I can't say that I'd venture back any time soon.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Another Springs Winner

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed another wonderful meal at the 1796 room at Omni Bedford Springs. Great service, great menu, excellent steaks, all in an incomperable setting. The whole experience of this resort is unique in that you are surrounded by history, luxury, and quality. We have entertained several groups here and all have been impressed with all aspects of the facility. I would encourage travelers and locals to eat in any of the restaurants at the Springs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I had high hopes for the restaurant because I was told by several friends how good it was. The prices were really steep. I don't mind paying high prices if the quality of the food justifies it but unfortunately it didn't. My girlfriends salmon was fair, nothing special, but my steak was really disappointing. It was very peppery and had too much seasoning. I couldn't really enjoy the steak because the seasoning was so overpowering. Also it didn't come with a side so I ordered a side of asparagus which I believe was somewhere around 12$ and I got 10 pieces. The waitress said the sides were big enough for 2 and she was right. 12$ for asparagus though? Just plain asparagus. I understand charging more because it's a high end restaurant but that is insane. I guess they figure since you're spending $50 on a steak you won't mind paying 12 more for a side. The place wasn't terrible overall but I probably won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

1796 Review

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our food was outstanding and the portions were large. We met other diners sitting near us mainly because closeness of tables left little conversation privacy. We made the most of it and our service was top notch. Will certainly return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I recently had dinner here while on our "babymoon." Both of our meals were perfect and the setting was very romantic, but not too uptight. We are already planning our return to Bedford Springs, and one of the main reasons is 1796 Room!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.