Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Historic (28)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved it there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent overall, though the 22 oz. ribeye I had was not as thick as expected and not very hot when it came out. Otherwise, the truffle butter, highly recommended by our server, was very unique and worth the additional charge. The sides were good and generously portioned. We requested one of their sofa tables, which was nice but not as cozy as expected because the are located at the ends of the dining room, with the sofa seats 2 along the same side of the table, looking out to the rest of the dining room. While it is nice seating for a couple, it did not feel very private. But we got used to it as the evening went on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful spot to celebrate my birthday! The food and service are fantastic, and the ambiance of the historic Omni Bedford Springs resort is really special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This wasn't our first time at 1796 and it certainly won't be our last. The only reason why this evening didn't get 5 stars was because they seemed to have overbooked reservations, causing quite the wait for our already late (9:30) dinner reservation. That said, the staff was extremely apologetic and professional about the delay. Everything on the menu is fantastic, but this time there wasn't a single item that disappointed. We ordered the pork chops and the 18 oz filet (medium) and they were both perfectly cooked. The sides of sauteed spinach and mashed potatoes were neither too heavy nor too light - they were perfectly filling.
It's definitely a splurge, there's no cheap dinner at Bedford Springs, but it's certainly worth every penny.
Whether you're planning a romantic night or girls weekend, I definitely recommend going to 1796!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was superb! Wait staff exceptional. Only downside to the dining is the noise level is high and hard to converse with your party.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The 1796 Steakhouse steaks, baked potato, and salad were good, but the spinach which was supposed to have a cream sauce did not and was not very good. The artichoke hearts had not been cleaned well and were gritty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, loved sitting in the cozy 2-seater, and wonderful service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Spectacular service, incredible ambience and the food was wonderful! 5-star!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Overall a first-rate experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Although pricey, the food is excellent. They are known for steaks, but everything is great. The dining room is a little noisy. Decor is colonial. Lots of wine selections. Staff is attentive without being obnoxious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We celebrated our daughters 16 th birthday there. Food was delicious!! Server was attentive, helpful, and pleasant. When we were leaving,a hotel staff member offered to give us a quick tour, what a wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Really feels like an intimate, romantic experience. Great atmosphere, very personal service. Would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. Can be pricey, but food is first class.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We celebrated my Mom's 80th Birthday here, and she said that her Steak was the best she's had in over a decade! Food was fantastic, as was our server. Bravo!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was perfect. We had perfectly prepared filet and duck breast meals. I would have preferred fresh artichoke steamed over artichoke from a jar. There was hint of preserving liquid in the flavor. But crab cake, salad, bread and dinner was overall great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unbelievable food. Service was quick and very helpful. Not somewhere I can afford to go regularly but return there every Valentine's Day if I am able to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, great service from our waiter Michael. Very knowledgeable about the menu, wines and food. He noticed my special request to have full wine selection for my wife and catered toward her love of wines. Absolutely love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had the best filet I have ever had!! The drinks were wonderful too. A little pricey, but would recommend it to friends for a special occasion!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious aged steak and sea salt potatoes. Great service as well. Always love this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was excellent as always. We spend birthdays and anniversaries here ! Love it !!!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The dish that I ordered was served to me raw and my girlfriend ordered a dish that was overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love love love this place...never disappoints! Delicious food, great servers and unique decor....the old rifles are awesome. The filet was melt in your mouth tender and my husbands bone-in ribeye mouthwatering. Every detail from wine to dessert....perfect.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was a return trip to this restaurant. We had the same server as last visit, Michelle. She, and the rest of the staff were fabulous! Professional, warm, courteous, and had excellent knowledge about the menu. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable and the food was delicious!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We ate dinner @ the 1796 Room a few years ago and enjoyed the whole experience from the atmosphere to the delicious food. We were excited about going back, but I was disappointed due to the fact that my steak was tasteless and difficult to cut as was the bread. BLAH ! Then the AIR was turned on and was blowing I my face, UGH ! A gentlemen did approach our table and ask if all was going well, but I didn't want to be Debby Downer so I said nothing. Besides, what could be done @ that point ? Also, the meal was overpriced for what was served. Next time we will sit @ the Bar, order bar food and go somewhere for our "special dinner".

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Some of the highlights: The handcrafted butter for the bread tray! The grilled artichoke heart! The shareable side dishes! The steak!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My wife and I went there for our anniversary, and it certainly did not disappoint. They are known for their steaks, however, have an excellent seafood selection too. Great wine and cocktails. My wife and I started with their scallops to share, which were phenomenal. We both had the 8oz Filet Mignon for our entree, cooked to perfection. Wine pairings are excellent. The dessert list was an excellent way to finish out our meal, along with a decent after-dinner Bourbon & Whiskey list. Service was perfect; our server was attentive without being burdensome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good food, excellent service. We come back year after year and it never disappoints.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Steaks were perfect - house made sauces were fantastic. Overall a great experience for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Menu was very basic but good quality. They could maybe work on their desserts a bit. Great wine list, not overwhelming with so many choices. Our server, Michael, was great. Attentive but knew when to leave us alone. Exactly what we like.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing overall! Would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Lovely place to have Christmas dinner! Food was outstanding: delicious filet mignon w/black truffle butter, roasted artichoke heart, salmon, lobster mac & cheese, asparagus, salads, warm bread --- just delightful in a beautiful historic setting.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I typically get the filet migon but this time I went for the smoked pork chop, EXCELLENT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The service was excellent & the food was exactly as advertised. We were extremely pleased with our personalized service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Compared to past visits, I was completely underwhelmed. The service and ambience were still great, but the food and the value has gone way down. We both ordered the special. It was a ribeye with vegetables. First disappointment, the steak was about 1/2 inch think. It reminded me of what they give you at Hoss's. Mine was cooked okay, but my husband got medium well instead of medium rare. That was not a surprise considering the thickness. Second disappointment, I had asked for no black pepper but it was there. Third disappointment, the vegetables were significantly under cooked. Almost raw potatoes are not appealing. I'm guessing that off the menu might have been better. Either way, it was way too much money for 3-4 oz of beef and a scoop of rawish veggies.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bedford Springs is a historical place to visit and the 1796 Room has an authentic tavern feel. That being said, the noise level is quite high so don't expect an intimate dinner with pleasant conversation as it is an effort to hear across the table. The menu prices are high sugesting a high end dining experience, yet the staff members were dressed in khakis and tennis shoes, so it is a mixed message in that regard. Our service was just okay. We waited a long while for our order to be taken and for food to arrive. Our appetizer was a goat cheese tart which I am guessing was frozen as the temp was warm on the inside and cool on the outside. We ordered lobster and crab legs, the crab legs were dry in texture, but the serving size was large and was a good value. The lobster was good, the bread was fantastic, the mixed drinks original and tasty and the wine list quite good. All in all, not perfect, but enjoyable.

Tags: Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were extremely disappointed with the service at this restaurant. The waitress (Kayla) was non-attentive and did not come over to check on us - did not refill water - and when she did in fact come over to check - was somewhat dismissive to everything. To top it off, we had to wait over an hour between our salad and main course. Probably would not go back to this restaurant - even though we very much enjoy the Bedford Springs resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Lisa our server gave us a very warm welcome and amazing service. We always come here for the foie gras especially. Menu doesnt change a lot but all orders are quality comfort food.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The steak was average and the plates refused to stay planted on the table. Making it impossible to slice my meal. Not bad, but not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The steaks are unbelievably seared, giving them a wonderful tasting "crust"! The whipped sweet potato puree is also a fantastic side to accompany any steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent meal, professional and knowledgeable staff, delicious food, cooked to order. With dietary issues it's difficult to eat out but we felt comfortable and enjoyed ourselves. It's a little pricey (it is a resort hotel) but worth it for a wonderful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.