Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 6 times today

1796 Room at Bedford Springs

4.4
770 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
Named for the year that Dr. John Anderson purchased the land upon which the resort now stands, 1796 Room has now been re-launched as a signature steak and chophouse, serving steaks, chops, fish and poultry of the highest quality.

1796 uses only the highest quality 21-day aged USDA prime beef. Our meats are prepared at 1700° on our infrared broiler ensuring juiciness, tenderness and flavor.

All entrées are served with our signature grilled artichoke, and “shared” side dishes are available à la carte along with a tasty dessert selection freshly prepared in-house by our pastry team.

Our world-class wine list is designed to match the quality of our food selection, and our professional staff is trained to recommend the perfect wine pairing with your meal.

Creating a relaxed yet upscale atmosphere of warm sophistication, the new 1796 Room is a dining experience not to be missed.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(814) 624-5633
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
David Noto
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 770 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Always done right! Meat cooked to my specifications, and the wedge salad, omg so good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The oscar style filet was best I've ever eaten, highly recommend! Pricey, but well worth it on quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

The entire experience was excellent from start to finish!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The steak never disappoints. And the family style sides are delicious. My boyfriend and I make it a priority to visit when we are in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Excellent food and excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Wonderful and amazing ambiance and food. Kudos to the chef for especially preparing French green beans for my husband. I had the smoked pork chop....best I have ever had. My husband had the NY strip Oscar style....cooked perfectly. My kids were equally happy with hot dogs on one night and mini sliders on another night.

My husband and I also had the salmon and the shrimp scampi (minus the fennel finish). Delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Terrific crab cakes and duck even though it is known for its steaks. Salad portions were large as well as the lemon sorbet and ice cream for dessert. Don’t miss this restaraunt if you are at Bedford Springs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Very good meal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had a phenomenal evening at 1796 - the service was awesome and the food was perfect. Will definitely return on our next visit to Bedford!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Birthday dinner. Had to omit 4 of the 5 seafood options ok the starter menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

The experience was excellent along with the food and the service! The atmosphere was romantic and cozy and we thoroughly enjoyed the history of the room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Love this restaurant. We love the steak and the house steak sauce! Everything is always delicious!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Overrated for ambiance, food, and the noise level was atrocious! Food way too pricey for the quality—nothing special! We were expecting a very upscale dining experience comparable to the quality of Bedford Springs, especially as repeat guests of the Inn and spa. Glorified tavern...so disappointing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Lisa was our server and she was phenomenal! Very attentive, great food and wine recommendations, plus helped me order around my food allergies.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Good food and service. Authentic historic location.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Overpriced steak that was not cooked properly. Ambiance and lighting could be better. This restaurant would not be able to charge what they do if they weren’t in the Omni.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Service was way off the mark. When we asked where our waiter was, the head of staff came to our table, apologized and offered a complimentary appetizer. The fine food, served hot and exactly as ordered helped make up for the service snafu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

This was great. Drove two hours for an early dinner reservation through a LOT of snow and terrible roads and it was WORTH IT! Which says a lot. Because it was early, noise level was low, very romantic atmosphere. Steak seemed undercooked but not enough to complain about it! Scallops were perfect, wine was perfect, side dishes were perfect... such a great time! We were there for hours and the server didn’t rush us or anything (after 2hr drive we wanted to take our time!!). Loved it. Plan to make it a yearly tradition!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Have been here several times and have yet to be disappointed. It's not cheap but it's always a fantastic experience. The food and service are always great. Only place we dine when at the Bedford springs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We love dining at the 1796. Unfortunately, this time the steaks were not up to their normal delicious standard. It seems they were having some training issues. The manager handled our concerns but it was not the experience we had hoped for.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Known for steaks, but seafood offerings and specials were equally well prepared and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Excellent! Michelle is a great server! We always look forward to seeing her! Try the pork chops, awesome!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

We love the seafood tower and have had it several times. Unfortunately, the lobster was not great this time. We told our server and they did discount the meal for us. We were both sick that night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 5, 2018

Shout out to Chef Aaron for some amazing food. Proteins prepared to perfect temperatures.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Fantastic service, great atmosphere. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

Appetizer, Tuna Tartar, bland.
Entree, Filet Oscar, ordered medium - got well done.
Dessert, chocolate cake & espresso.

Overall I must say, I was mildly disappointed with dinner. I understand volume was high because because of a conference. But, the wait between courses was long and food execution was subpar. I will be reluctant to eat here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

Great meal, great ambience, waiter was outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Made this reservation for the purpose of proposing to my girlfriend, and the 1796 Room did not disappoint. When I made the reservation I requested a quiet romantic table and tipped off the staff about what I intended to do. We were given a nice corner table where we were seated beside each other on a small loveseat, our server was wonderful, highly attentive, and served as our iPhone photographer. The food was fantastic, my fiancée (she said yes) had the salmon, and I had the New York strip. We will definitely return for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

The maple glazed duck breast was one of the best things I have eaten anywhere.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 5, 2018

The 1796 Room has a very beautiful atmosphere, it is cozy and romantic but as more tables filled up it got rather loud and started losing appeal. Then, as the food started to arrive, all being very nicely presented and some of which was outstanding, things took a turn. While my dates steak was prepared perfectly and proved to be delicious, mine was very overcooked and very tough. Lacking complete flavor. Had it not been such a special occasion that i didn't want to risk ruining, would have definately sent it back. And while having a very professional waitress who also had an assistant, never once was i asked if my steak was properly prepared. Overall, for a $225.00 dinner for two, i was disappointed very much. However, we had a great eavning and enjoyed strolling through and taking in the scenery of the very beautiful hotel. Just disappointed in some of the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 4, 2018

We were staying at the Omni Bedford Springs for our mini-moon and booked 1796 as our fancy dinner the second night of our stay. The setting is cozy - it is a small dining room that occupies the oldest part of the resort from the early 1800s where the old Stone Inn used to stand. The doorways into the restaurant are charmingly uneven to match the original structure's quirks. We were sat at a romantic booth where both parties are seated on the same side of the table in a huge sofa with high back. It was perfect. Our server, Lisa, was extremely warm and congratulatory regarding our recent marriage. She was also super knowledgeable and helped us pick the best meals for us. We got the lobster mac and cheese and scallops along with the filet mignon. Everything was delicious. We finished our meal with port and through Lisa, ordered an off-the-menu dessert of donut holes to go (they are on the Frontier Tavern's menu, but 1796 made it work!). This was a lovely, romantic, cozy winter celebration meal and 1796 gets the highest marks from us across the board!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Eve

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Prix fix was overpriced with no other offerings on New Year’s Eve.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Kelli, our server, left a lot to be desired. It took awhile for us to be greeted, and each round of food took a significant amount of time. We were seated for 70 minutes by the time we received our entrées (awkwardly with our salad and bread plates still on the table, so nowhere to put the entrée plates). My husband ordered the Ribeye medium rare, and it was medium. I ordered my filet medium and it was extremely purple upon arrival. I cut into it with Kelli there and asked her to take it back. She asked me how long I thought it needed. I told her that I was unsure, just to bring it back as medium. I found it a bit ridiculous that she was asking me how to cook my steak! The manager delivered my filet and had me cut into it. Again it was rarer than I would have liked, but I was starving at this point, and just ate around the center. I ordered the Botanical Martini, which I had the night before at the Crystal Room and loved. She brought out the Botanist Gimlet. I was already unhappy with our service and meal, so I didn't mention anything... It was extremely bitter, and I just didn't drink it. We were staying at the resort celebrating our three year wedding anniversary, and had heard wonderful things. We were extremely disappointed, and left with a bad taste in our mouth (literally and figuratively).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Very nice and historic place. Casual but great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

Fantastic steaks! One of the best I've ever had! The whole lobster was also amazing

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Somewhat heavy food. Trying to be The Palm in the woods. But great staff

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 21, 2017

The filet was perfectly done, but it was too salty and so were the side vegetables. The deserts are not worth the calories.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

We couldn't ask for a better place to meet with special friends during the holiday season or any season. Thank for great service provided by Michael and the genuine concern from Chris. We will be back often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

The tasting menu with accompanying wine was excellent, and a good value. The only drawback was that the portions were larger than I expected!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20