Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (24)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is EXCELLENT MUAH 👌, although overpriced, as starter soups/salads and sides come al la carte. But I guess it comes with the territory/Omni hotel. Nothing with Omni in front of it is ever reasonable. Food is definitely worth making the annual trip, but that's the extent of it. The ambience is great, atmosphere is cozy as well. Would highly recommend for a "special" occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server,Kelli, was exceptional. Food was delicious. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was very good. A little loud if you are looking for a quiet meal. Chefs tasting menu a plus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

We had an amazing dinner date at 1796! Amazing steak and scrumptious side dishes. Wonderful service too! We'll definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was just not very good; certainly not worth the price. Service was fine, though. Overrated restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the service was impeccable. The salads were delicious and the vegetables were cooked perfectly. All in all a good value for the money. Only issue was it was a little chilly in the restaurant and I'm not one that is normally cold. The noise level is a little loud but wasn't a problem for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We have never been disappointed with dinner here. The server, food and ambiance were great. It's pricey so enjoy yourself.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had a good meal and excellent service. We have eaten there before and had some of our best meals. Had a very nice time.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Lisa, our server, was excellent! She was very friendly, professional, and attentive to our needs. We were pleasantly surprised with an optional menu of paired tastings of 4 courses. That is a wonderful combination of items not seen on the regular menu. We selected each pair of items (except for the Oysters Rockefeller appetizer) so that we could share the tastings. Everything was delicious! We normally wouldn't have selected the meat, cheese, bread appetizer (if it is on the regular menu), but we really enjoyed all the little extra surprises on the plate like fresh honey, pickled peppers, and raisins. We enjoyed all the flavors in the 2 salads like goat cheese which we had never tasted. Our entrees were scrumptious! The beef was so tender and juicy and had a very nice flavor. My shrimp and scallops over rice were also scrumptious. We, of course, shared our entrees. My favorite dessert is creme brule which I was happy to see was one of the desserts on this "tasting menu." My husband got the layered cake which had a mocha sauce over it. We tasted each others' desserts and enjoyed them so much. We came away from the table quite full but very happy with the over-all experience. We hope you continue to offer this tasting menu or a similar one the next time we dine with you. Yes, we shall return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It was our birthdays. They remembered and made it a point to celebrate it! we requested a love seat table and they had It ready for us. very romantic. Food was very good. Service was also very good. Go you will enjoy it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Noise level was totally unacceptable. The large party tables, which tend to be louder, are mixed in with the 2-tops, where couples are more likely to want quiet conversation. Need to find a way to separate the two, preferably in different rooms, where the parties can try and yell over one another, while couples can enjoy a more quiet, peaceful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fabulous aged steaks as always! Great service too. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Easily the best steak house experience we have ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Made reservations for our 10th wedding anniversary. The food and wait staff were good for a restaurant at this price range but unfortunately our entire dinner was interrupted by repeated phone calls by a single diner at neighboring table. As other people have reviewed there is very little to absorb noise let alone someone yelling in to a cell phone. The entire restaurant was disturbed and complaining but the staff and manager did nothing to address the issue with the offending guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was out of this world! The wait staff were very friendly and tentative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had a lovely meal with great service. The room is very noisy, with no soft surfaces to absorb sound. But, the food and drinks were grand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant! The food is really delicious and the service is really the best!
We had a wonderful meal in a relaxing atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

A good steak house with quality food. Well prepared and well served by a very professional staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was great and the staff is amazing. The only thing we didn't like was the noise level, it's too loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We love to vacation at Bedford Springs. This is the first time we ate at 1796 restaurant. The filet mignon was excellent, cooked perfectly and the chimichura sauce added a nice acid flavor. I had not used this on steak in the past. The service was great. The drinks were great. My only comment is the bourbon carrots needed more bourbon flavor. I think a little honey, bourbon, sriracha and cumin reduction would've added more flavor to the carrots. Otherwise it was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a very disappointing experience. Filet mignon was excellent but appetizer was terrible. Gluten free ganache cake dry - sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Memorable dining experience. Ambiance was charming and had historic significance. Staff was attentive without being intrusive. Menu was somewhat limited but appropriate. Food was excellent and served with attention to detail.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Staff was pleasant and professional, but for a fine dining establishment, I expected more. The food was underwhelming. We ordered the mushroom soup, which was lacking in flavor (bland) and sent back. We also ordered a salad, which was fine. My wife had the crabcakes, and I had the bone-in ribeye steak. The crabcakes were fine. The steak was cooked to temperature, but lacked seasoning (again bland). I actually asked for cracked pepper and had to add salt for flavoring. I've never had to do that to a prime steak before. Additionally, I ordered the "spring water" instead of the filtered tap water thinking it was from one of the natural springs. Instead I received an imported bottle from Italy. It was fine, just not what was expected. I also thought the server would have mentioned that they didn't carry their own. On the plus side, the wine and spirits selections were vast and appreciated. Sadly, though, I would have rather eaten at the Frontier Tavern on site as opposed to the 1796. We have plans to return to the resort next month, but next time we stay, I don't think we'll be back to the 1796.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was the 4th time we visited the 1796 Room at Bedford Springs for dinner. The food is good. The noise level is a bit loud, it depends on how busy it is, but even at 9:00pm it is still bustling, definitely not cozy and quiet. You can also order from 1796 Room menu on the hotel room service menu which I would highly recommend if you would prefer a romantic dinner at the hotel and you are staying overnight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Love the food, service is always excellent and anyone that appreciates a high end steakhouse will not be disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We did not get our food for two and a half hours. We had to ask for everything and they were very hungry. The didn't even bring us water without asking. The waiter seemed to avoid our table to the point we were asking other Waiters for our food. In fact, everyone at the restaurant received their meal and had finished before we got our meal. The tables were all full of new guest getting their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Wedding Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The meal was very well prepared and presented. Our waiter was top rate and we enjoyed the entire experience. We love visiting Bedford Springs.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

I thought the meal/food was quite expensive, restaurant was clean, but not what I would call "fancy." My filet was cooked well, but I have had better quality for less cost in restaurants at home. Everything is a la carte. I specifically asked our server if the asparagus (side order) was grilled, and she said yes. However, it was not, and it ended up being quite salty as well. (There was no description of the asparagus on the menu.) My daughter had risotto which she said was good, but not great. We really enjoyed the opera torte dessert though (highly recommend)! Our server and water person were both pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful service and a great seafood tower

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food was solid and the service venue marketing was a bit uneven. For example, we had been seated for a while before we received bread (and the restaurant wasn't full). The noise level was exceptional and distracted from enjoyable meal conversation with my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Pricey, but worth it! Food is exceptional, love the atmosphere, excellent service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Annual trip with my girlfriends, as usual a great dinner. Food was good, and served at a leisurely pace. Not rushing you out the door.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The 1796 Room at the Omni Bedford Springs is a good steakhouse in a region where there are not a ton of options. It is a small room, with some nice banquette seating and well spaced tables so the evening we were there it was easy to have conversation. Our steaks were excellent and well prepared, served with a nice grilled artichoke heart. The menu is Ala carte, and everything is extra and the prices are high, especially for this area. The wine list has some nice bottles and again, the pricing is high compared to what I have paid for the same bottles elsewhere. A good special occasion place if money is no object.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This steakhouse was top notch. The service was perfect here as well and they were very quick, friendly and moving non stop to help us out.

My wife ordered the filet which was cooked to her liking and it was so delicious. It was a very meaty portion for only being 8 oz. Would highly recommend. I ordered the pork chops which was by far one of the best I have ever eaten. The prices were very reasonable as well.

Would highly recommend as well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We can two years in a row for our anniversary weekend getaway. It was as wonderful as it was a year ago and maybe better! We ate here two nights in a row and food was exceptional! We tried different things each night and everything was spectacular! We eat out regularly and this place is definitely worth the drive! Service is personable, accommodating and great! Unique cocktails that are wonderful!! This is what a dining experience should be!! Thanks!! We will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Over all very good. We were surprised that the Filet was tough. Asparagus was perfect. Crab cake was excellent. Server was excellent, very friendly and knowledgeable. We got a couch seat and for our honeymoon dinner, it was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Fantastic dinner with an equally impressive wine list. It is always a pleasure dining at the 1796 Room when we are staying at the Bedford Springs Resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Welcoming and quiet atmosphere. Server was very knowledgeable and hospitable. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing cuisine, excellent service with an atmosphere from the 18th century. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.