About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Bedford
Best Restaurants in Bedford ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (25)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Historic (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Family Style (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Business Meals (3)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was excellent & the food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent & the food was exactly as advertised. We were extremely pleased with our personalized service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Compared to past visits, I was completel ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Compared to past visits, I was completely underwhelmed. The service and ambience were still great, but the food and the value has gone way down. We both ordered the special. It was a ribeye with vegetables. First disappointment, the steak was about 1/2 inch think. It reminded me of what they give you at Hoss's. Mine was cooked okay, but my husband got medium well instead of medium rare. That was not a surprise considering the thickness. Second disappointment, I had asked for no black pepper but it was there. Third disappointment, the vegetables were significantly under cooked. Almost raw potatoes are not appealing. I'm guessing that off the menu might have been better. Either way, it was way too much money for 3-4 oz of beef and a scoop of rawish veggies.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Bedford Springs is a historical place to ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Bedford Springs is a historical place to visit and the 1796 Room has an authentic tavern feel. That being said, the noise level is quite high so don't expect an intimate dinner with pleasant conversation as it is an effort to hear across the table. The menu prices are high sugesting a high end dining experience, yet the staff members were dressed in khakis and tennis shoes, so it is a mixed message in that regard. Our service was just okay. We waited a long while for our order to be taken and for food to arrive. Our appetizer was a goat cheese tart which I am guessing was frozen as the temp was warm on the inside and cool on the outside. We ordered lobster and crab legs, the crab legs were dry in texture, but the serving size was large and was a good value. The lobster was good, the bread was fantastic, the mixed drinks original and tasty and the wine list quite good. All in all, not perfect, but enjoyable.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were extremely disappointed with the ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were extremely disappointed with the service at this restaurant. The waitress (Kayla) was non-attentive and did not come over to check on us - did not refill water - and when she did in fact come over to check - was somewhat dismissive to everything. To top it off, we had to wait over an hour between our salad and main course. Probably would not go back to this restaurant - even though we very much enjoy the Bedford Springs resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Lisa our server gave us a very warm welc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Lisa our server gave us a very warm welcome and amazing service. We always come here for the foie gras especially. Menu doesnt change a lot but all orders are quality comfort food.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was average and the plates ref ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The steak was average and the plates refused to stay planted on the table. Making it impossible to slice my meal. Not bad, but not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The steaks are unbelievably seared, givi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The steaks are unbelievably seared, giving them a wonderful tasting "crust"! The whipped sweet potato puree is also a fantastic side to accompany any steak.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent meal, professional and knowled ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent meal, professional and knowledgeable staff, delicious food, cooked to order. With dietary issues it's difficult to eat out but we felt comfortable and enjoyed ourselves. It's a little pricey (it is a resort hotel) but worth it for a wonderful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinary food. We had the Alaskan K ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Extraordinary food. We had the Alaskan King Crab legs.(The best deal on the menu). The soft-baked potato "was to die for". The cocktails were unique and excellent I give it a 6 star rating on a point scale from 1-5. It is that good.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed 1796 room while staying at the h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Enjoyed 1796 room while staying at the hotel. My wife and I were celebrating our Birthdays. Have a fantastic meal, cozy room with nice decor. Food was excellent and an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outrageously overpriced. We both got th ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Outrageously overpriced. We both got the special half-chicken baked, $28. First, it was VERY small. It had no creativity at all--no sauce and tasted bland. Then, of course we had to pay $8 for a small bowl of mashed potatoes and another $8 for a small bowl of sweet potatoes. The crab salad was VERY good, but, sad to say, that is the only part of the meal we enjoyed. Before you form an opinion on IF we are really qualified to judge the food and cost, we have traveled the world and eaten in MANY class restaurants--including 2 round the world voyages on the QM2. What I think you are truing to do is to be something you truly are not------which is a first class restaurant. sorry, but you asked and this is our appraisal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Excellent experience. Service was incre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent experience. Service was incredible and good was perfectly cooked. I highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent but w ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food and service was excellent but we were a little disappointed with who I'm assuming was the manager (a woman) on duty. She went around to every table ( which there were only about 8 at the time) and asked how the service was but never came to our table. Also, the side salad that my husband got was supposed to be romaine lettuce and none of it was green. It was all the white part of the romaine, which is not very attractive or impressive.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I enjoyed the entres especia ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the entres especially sharing the side of mushrooms. The waiter, Justin,

Was very mannerly and timely with refills. This was our second time at 1796 and plan to return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect steak. Great night.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Perfect steak. Great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bedford Prings has several excellent din ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Bedford Prings has several excellent dining options - 1796 is between the casual Frontier Tavern and the upscale Crystal Room. Very nice rustic setting, excellent food and, like everywhere at the resort, exemplary service. Also, a bit like everything at the resort, don't expect an inexpensive experience though. However, great place for a nice dinner after a day at the spa.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

1796 Room was a delightful dining spot. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

1796 Room was a delightful dining spot. The Foie Gras was excellent and the Lobster Mac&Cheese is a must! Even though the colonial decor was sparse, the room was very well decorated. Only two quasi-negatives: 1) the temperature was a bit cold due to our table being close to the AC and 2) the lovely colonial decor does not offer much in the way of noise cancellation. Other than that, we would highly recommend 1796 Room to all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The mark of a good hotel restaurant is t ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The mark of a good hotel restaurant is this: would you go out of your way to eat here if you weren't staying at the hotel? For 1796, our answer is yes—this would be one of the best restaurants in Bedford even if it weren't attached to the Omni Bedford Springs Resort.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting was outstanding. The service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

The setting was outstanding. The service amazingly good. The price for the dinner was extravagantly high. The preparation was problematic. Chicken was over done and dry. The salmon was under cooked. They didn't charge for one of our meals because of the problems, but the manager was there in a flash to try to work things out. It's a one time special experience because of the resort which is beautiful. So go and know what to expect.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We were staying at the Omni for two nigh ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were staying at the Omni for two nights and ate both nights at 1796. Both nights the food was WOMDERFUL. Our service was better on Monday than Tuesday because our waitress was more relaxed and attentive than Justin was on Tuesday. Justin was fine just not as good as Monday. I had the filet on Monday and the salmon on Tuesday. My husband enjoyed the roast chicken one night and the filet the second night. The whipped potatoes were wonderful. The mushrooms also good. We had the wedge and Caesar salads on Monday and both were good but VERY small! I had the chopped salad on the second night and was very disappointed in it. May have been the dressing. Only complaint was the prices on the salads. I enjoyed a wonderful salad at the pool that was much better. My husband did enjoy his chili as an appetizer. It was the same price as my salad. We will probably go back to the resort. It was our second time in two years and will eat at the 1796 again but perhaps not both nights. The only other restaurant open was the tavern during the week.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first time to Bedford Sprin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2016

This was our first time to Bedford Springs. The restaurant was excellent from service to food. I hope I get chance to visit in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here with friends over Labor Day ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went here with friends over Labor Day weekend to celebrate a birthday. The 1796 Room reminds me a lot of Williamsburg historic restaurants. The room is comfortable and decorated in an historic way. 1796 is known for their steaks so everyone in our party had either a filet or a strip steak. The steaks were beautifully prepared to each person's taste and very delicious. They can be ordered with different sauces. I tried the house steak sauce and it was very good. Everything on the menu (except for a Prix Fixe dinner) is a la carte. We tried the hard boiled eggs appetizer (delicious) and two of us ordered wedge salads (very good and an appropriate size....not those massive wedge salads some steak houses bring you). The side dishes are meant to serve at least two people (kind of family style). We ordered the creamed spinach and also asparagus....both very tasty, and I also had the baked potato in sea salt. The serving staff are well trained and attentive when appropriate. I would definitely return. Everyone in our party truly enjoyed their meal and thought it was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Poke since our Hawaiian honeymoon. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best Poke since our Hawaiian honeymoon. They steaks were great and everyone was friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall experience was very good. Ser ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overall experience was very good. Service lacked from our waiter (I'm sure they are not all like that). The ambience was lovely. Acoustically tends to get a little loud and hard to carry a conversation on at times, depending on how many people are seated at that time. Food was outstanding, kudos to the Chef! I would recommend the 1796 room.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Everything was average. Disappointed th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Everything was average. Disappointed that they carry prime steak, but only wet-aged. Sides were hefty, but flavorless. Torte appetizer was greasy and unappealing. Steaks were cooked to appropriate temp and cocktails are very well made. Service was okay, needs some more training on how to discuss the menu.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food in historic background. Steak ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food in historic background. Steaks were excellent. Lobster mac and cheese a must!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were staying at the Omni Bedford and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were staying at the Omni Bedford and decided to eat here one night. Read the menu carefully. Not all the steaks are prime. But we did in fact order the prime strip steak, and it was excellent. Great char and still pink inside. Fois gras was good too. Other than that though, the food was only OK. Onion rings were disappointing. Creamed spinach was not that special. They didn't have Bearnaise sauce and the chimichurri was too oily. So if I go in the future, I will just stick to the steak and simple sides like potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Always fabulous! The steak is to die fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always fabulous! The steak is to die for. Nice wine menu and great service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent here. This ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food is always excellent here. This particular night was very busy and the waitress had a lot of tables so service was a bit slow. She was an excellent waitress. We were very disappointed in our salads and she took them off our bill. I love this place and although it is quite pricey I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Expensive but very good. We would defin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Expensive but very good. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed this restaurant had a great file ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Enjoyed this restaurant had a great filet mignon. Already recommended to a friend who will be visiting the resort (where it is located) next week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

God awful service and well done salmon i ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2016

God awful service and well done salmon instead of medium rare. Waits of over an hour from appetizers to entree. Another 35 minute wait for one desert.

1796 cannot hold a candle to the excellent Crystal Room.
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

This was a repeat visit - we travel to s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was a repeat visit - we travel to specifically eat at the 1796 and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the service to the food... everythi ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 10, 2016

From the service to the food... everything was right on the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

To sum up -- we were a little disappoint ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 9, 2016

To sum up -- we were a little disappointed this time around -- they can be better. First, this is the high-end venue at the resort so you expect something special -- a charming host/hostess, lighting befitting the mood, consistently prepared dishes, etc. This is how I remember them a few years ago. The hostess position for 1796 is shared with the Tavern, and frankly I would rather have someone showing me to my fine dining table that didn't look like they just cleaned off a table in the Tavern. Don't get me wrong, she was very nice -- but you expect a better image when you are going to plop down 250 bucks for a dinner for two. The restaurant itself is very charming and comfortable, but on this night they had the lighting on full blast -- you almost needed sunglasses -- not exactly the romantic ambiance we were seeking. I wouldn't say it bothered us a whole lot, but struck us as odd. I had the wild mushroom soup, which was extremely thick and served room temperature -- not their best effort. I had a 12 oz filet Oscar style, which was excellent. My wife had the a lovely salad, and a half lobster cocktail -- which was a bit tough -- but that's the luck of the draw with lobster -- not much the chef can do about that. We didn't go for dessert, but went for specialty coffee drinks instead. They were quite different concoctions, but came out looking identical in those same old Pyrex coffee mugs you have seen a thousand times. Argh, get some better training for the bar staff -- they were undrinkable as well as visually unappealing. Whatever coffee they were using tasted like it had been on the burner since breakfast -- it just overwhelmed the specialty liquor.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it!! Food was amazing. Very expe ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Loved it!! Food was amazing. Very expensive but worth it for special occasions!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The 1796 was exceptional for steaks. Fo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The 1796 was exceptional for steaks. Food was superbly flavorful, except for the deviled egg appetizer which was quite bland, though the texture was delectable. Service was good. Size of portions is way too large and not healthy for any normal eater, but the taste was incredible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. She was very helpful in explaining every aspect of the menu. Our food was exceptional, it could not have been prepared any better. This restaurant, food, and staff were of the highest class. We have dined here before and will gladly return, this restaurant is very intimate but acceptable for families, business partners, etc. Thank you Lisa for a great experience!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Dinning for my birt ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was great. Dinning for my birthday with a party of four. All agreed that this was a suburb dinning experience. Great attention was paid to each dish. Even the sides were great. It was upscale, but not pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Having dined here before, I was extremel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Having dined here before, I was extremely disappointed with the filet preparation. Burnt edges and over cooked. Salad was ok but potato sat all day in the kitchen. Service was excellent. Did not want to fuss on my anniversary. That steak sauce was poor. We wish we would have had the burgers in the Pub. One star out of five. I still cannot believe I paid for that meal. Having eaten at numerous chophouses, the chef needs re-evaluated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.