Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Historic (28)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (17)
Authentic (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (4)
Fireplace (4)
Casual (4)
Great Beer (3)
Scenic View (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
650 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

First time at Bedford Springs. Very enjoyable and pleasant environment. Did some hiking, happy hour, and nice meals. I will be back this fall.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very expensive, everything is ala carte (vege, potatoes, salad, etc.) Special was pan seared cod, more like blackened, not flaky, or tasty, pork chop was undercooked, pink, sent back then overcooked and dry! That's all you get on your plate, anything else you have to pay extra for it, so bottom line, too expensive for just one piece of meat for dinner! My wife had a very hard time finding something to eat, considering she doesn't eat red meat or seafood, you should put a chicken entree on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My husband and I were having a date night and this was the perfect place to enjoy each other's company. The atmosphere was authentic and romantic. The food was amazing and made our first time there wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Hands down great food, awesome service and excellent drinks... well worth the drive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fabulous and delicious .service was great. Tender ribeye

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The food was great and our server Michael was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, personable and knew exactly what to recommended to meet our tastes!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Outstanding meal and service. Went for our 25th wedding anniversary and they made it a very special evening.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Good quality food, nice ambience. We were staying at the resort and were pleased to find such a great restaurant as part of experience.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The service and food was excellent. We have eaten here often over 8 years.
Alway a well balanced menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Loved it there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was excellent overall, though the 22 oz. ribeye I had was not as thick as expected and not very hot when it came out. Otherwise, the truffle butter, highly recommended by our server, was very unique and worth the additional charge. The sides were good and generously portioned. We requested one of their sofa tables, which was nice but not as cozy as expected because the are located at the ends of the dining room, with the sofa seats 2 along the same side of the table, looking out to the rest of the dining room. While it is nice seating for a couple, it did not feel very private. But we got used to it as the evening went on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful spot to celebrate my birthday! The food and service are fantastic, and the ambiance of the historic Omni Bedford Springs resort is really special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This wasn't our first time at 1796 and it certainly won't be our last. The only reason why this evening didn't get 5 stars was because they seemed to have overbooked reservations, causing quite the wait for our already late (9:30) dinner reservation. That said, the staff was extremely apologetic and professional about the delay. Everything on the menu is fantastic, but this time there wasn't a single item that disappointed. We ordered the pork chops and the 18 oz filet (medium) and they were both perfectly cooked. The sides of sauteed spinach and mashed potatoes were neither too heavy nor too light - they were perfectly filling.
It's definitely a splurge, there's no cheap dinner at Bedford Springs, but it's certainly worth every penny.
Whether you're planning a romantic night or girls weekend, I definitely recommend going to 1796!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was superb! Wait staff exceptional. Only downside to the dining is the noise level is high and hard to converse with your party.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The 1796 Steakhouse steaks, baked potato, and salad were good, but the spinach which was supposed to have a cream sauce did not and was not very good. The artichoke hearts had not been cleaned well and were gritty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, loved sitting in the cozy 2-seater, and wonderful service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Spectacular service, incredible ambience and the food was wonderful! 5-star!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Overall a first-rate experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Although pricey, the food is excellent. They are known for steaks, but everything is great. The dining room is a little noisy. Decor is colonial. Lots of wine selections. Staff is attentive without being obnoxious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We celebrated our daughters 16 th birthday there. Food was delicious!! Server was attentive, helpful, and pleasant. When we were leaving,a hotel staff member offered to give us a quick tour, what a wonderful experience all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Really feels like an intimate, romantic experience. Great atmosphere, very personal service. Would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. Can be pricey, but food is first class.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We celebrated my Mom's 80th Birthday here, and she said that her Steak was the best she's had in over a decade! Food was fantastic, as was our server. Bravo!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was perfect. We had perfectly prepared filet and duck breast meals. I would have preferred fresh artichoke steamed over artichoke from a jar. There was hint of preserving liquid in the flavor. But crab cake, salad, bread and dinner was overall great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Unbelievable food. Service was quick and very helpful. Not somewhere I can afford to go regularly but return there every Valentine's Day if I am able to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

As always, great service from our waiter Michael. Very knowledgeable about the menu, wines and food. He noticed my special request to have full wine selection for my wife and catered toward her love of wines. Absolutely love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I had the best filet I have ever had!! The drinks were wonderful too. A little pricey, but would recommend it to friends for a special occasion!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious aged steak and sea salt potatoes. Great service as well. Always love this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was excellent as always. We spend birthdays and anniversaries here ! Love it !!!

Tags: Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The dish that I ordered was served to me raw and my girlfriend ordered a dish that was overcooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love love love this place...never disappoints! Delicious food, great servers and unique decor....the old rifles are awesome. The filet was melt in your mouth tender and my husbands bone-in ribeye mouthwatering. Every detail from wine to dessert....perfect.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was a return trip to this restaurant. We had the same server as last visit, Michelle. She, and the rest of the staff were fabulous! Professional, warm, courteous, and had excellent knowledge about the menu. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable and the food was delicious!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Historic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We ate dinner @ the 1796 Room a few years ago and enjoyed the whole experience from the atmosphere to the delicious food. We were excited about going back, but I was disappointed due to the fact that my steak was tasteless and difficult to cut as was the bread. BLAH ! Then the AIR was turned on and was blowing I my face, UGH ! A gentlemen did approach our table and ask if all was going well, but I didn't want to be Debby Downer so I said nothing. Besides, what could be done @ that point ? Also, the meal was overpriced for what was served. Next time we will sit @ the Bar, order bar food and go somewhere for our "special dinner".

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Some of the highlights: The handcrafted butter for the bread tray! The grilled artichoke heart! The shareable side dishes! The steak!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My wife and I went there for our anniversary, and it certainly did not disappoint. They are known for their steaks, however, have an excellent seafood selection too. Great wine and cocktails. My wife and I started with their scallops to share, which were phenomenal. We both had the 8oz Filet Mignon for our entree, cooked to perfection. Wine pairings are excellent. The dessert list was an excellent way to finish out our meal, along with a decent after-dinner Bourbon & Whiskey list. Service was perfect; our server was attentive without being burdensome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Good food, excellent service. We come back year after year and it never disappoints.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Steaks were perfect - house made sauces were fantastic. Overall a great experience for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Menu was very basic but good quality. They could maybe work on their desserts a bit. Great wine list, not overwhelming with so many choices. Our server, Michael, was great. Attentive but knew when to leave us alone. Exactly what we like.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing overall! Would go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Since this is located in a spa I expected lighter healthier menu. The food was too heavy and dated. They need to step up the menu. Spa should mean healthier food and I have to say ALL the restaurants on property were not healthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.