About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Bedford
Best Restaurants in Bedford ›

special occasion (22)
romantic (15)
fit for foodies (10)
See All
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (1)
scenic view (1)
good for groups (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
535 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best filet mignon I have had east of the ...

Dined 5 days ago

Best filet mignon I have had east of the Mississippi.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service great varied ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service great varied menu..

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious, me ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious, memorable dinner at 1793. We enjoyed everything from the drinks to the appetizers to the wine, entrees and dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent steaks. King crab legs were p ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent steaks. King crab legs were phenomenal. Wine selection was also very good.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Weekend Visit

Dined on June 5, 2016

I whisked my husband away for a weekend getaway at Bedford Springs - which we loved. I booked this restaurant because I thought it would be elegant and cozy. It was very, very noisy. The waiter we had was very inattentive and waited quite a bit when first seated to have someone come to the table. I ordered Lamb which was very tough and the knives that they gave my husband and I were horrible. When I told the waiter that the cutlery was terrible, he laughed and said 'we get that a lot'. Seriously, might want to do something about that.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was fantastic, as was the server. Room was a little noisy, bare wooden floors and minimal wall covering, so not much to absorb the noise. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Service was great!! Steak was ok but sal ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was great!! Steak was ok but salmon was terrible. Asked for it medium and came well done and very dry. When you pay that much for an entree you expect it to be cooked properly. Side of mushrooms was very greasy.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Very average food and very high priced.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The atmosphere itself was great. I loved the room. The food was very average and the cost was extremely expensive. Everything was a la carte and very pricey. After paying $40+ for the entree, $12 for salad, $10 for mashed potatoes, $14 for a standard glass of wine we didn't even entertain dessert. The food was just average and definitely not a $200 meal. I've had a much better dining experience elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks!!! They sure know how to do them ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Steaks!!! They sure know how to do them.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to stop there when I a ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to stop there when I am in town. My steak was perfect, the atmosphere so special.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Steakhouse

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Have eaten here many times. Very good steak and very pricey like most steakhouses, as everything is ala carte.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

The wine selection was great

Dined on March 7, 2016

The wine selection was great

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Mediocre at Best

Dined on February 19, 2016

It's very sad that I had a mediocre time at 1796. It was a beautiful restaurant, but the food was just OK and the service was the same. I found that our bill became much higher because the server did not disclose certain information to us, for example that water cost us money (he could have mentioned that when I was questioning about the different types he offered) and splitting a salad between two would cost more. We had to eat fish as it was a Friday during lent and were not at all pleased with the choices or the taste of the salmon or halibut. It cost way more than the worth of the food and service. I can say that the drink choices were wonderful. I enjoyed a cocktail during dinner and an after dinner martini and was very pleased with both. I would like to try it again as it may have been a one-time issue, but I can't say that I'd venture back any time soon.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Springs Winner

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed another wonderful meal at the 1796 room at Omni Bedford Springs. Great service, great menu, excellent steaks, all in an incomperable setting. The whole experience of this resort is unique in that you are surrounded by history, luxury, and quality. We have entertained several groups here and all have been impressed with all aspects of the facility. I would encourage travelers and locals to eat in any of the restaurants at the Springs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Overpriced

Dined on February 13, 2016

I had high hopes for the restaurant because I was told by several friends how good it was. The prices were really steep. I don't mind paying high prices if the quality of the food justifies it but unfortunately it didn't. My girlfriends salmon was fair, nothing special, but my steak was really disappointing. It was very peppery and had too much seasoning. I couldn't really enjoy the steak because the seasoning was so overpowering. Also it didn't come with a side so I ordered a side of asparagus which I believe was somewhere around 12$ and I got 10 pieces. The waitress said the sides were big enough for 2 and she was right. 12$ for asparagus though? Just plain asparagus. I understand charging more because it's a high end restaurant but that is insane. I guess they figure since you're spending $50 on a steak you won't mind paying 12 more for a side. The place wasn't terrible overall but I probably won't be back

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

1796 Review

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our food was outstanding and the portions were large. We met other diners sitting near us mainly because closeness of tables left little conversation privacy. We made the most of it and our service was top notch. Will certainly return.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I recently had dinner here while on our "babymoon." Both of our meals were perfect and the setting was very romantic, but not too uptight. We are already planning our return to Bedford Springs, and one of the main reasons is 1796 Room!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Superb Food, Service Slightly Underwhelming

Dined on January 31, 2016

It took roughly 5 minutes after being seated to be offered water. Both the hostess and the person who brought us water said our waitress would be over soon. You should note this is a very small place, and if our server couldn't come right away then another server should have handled our table. There were almost as many servers as tables. I had to ask for the cocktail menu. The service was only OK which is disappointing because this is supposed to be the top tier restaurant at the resort. Moving on, the food was excellent. Filet perfectly seasoned and cooked with that beautiful pink center, I didn't use any sauce. And, notable for rural Pennsylvania, the tuna steak and scallops were also delicious. Step up the service, lower the price a few bucks and you'd have 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fowldp

Dined on January 9, 2016

The seafood platter for two is a treat unto itself! It is complimented by the wonderful wine list. Great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Our server, Justin, was great! Dinner was delightful, and the other diners were very pleasant. We would definitely go back!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

outstanding meal

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

we had an amazing meal. the atmosphere is great and the service impeccable. it is expensive but worth every penny. the meat that they serve is unbelievable. not your average steakhouse

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it!

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

This has been one of our favorite places to eat and once again, it did not disappoint. No problems with HVAC as we were seated more toward the center of the restaurant. Other times it can be chilly if you are near the vents. Our server was knowledgable, friendly and unobtrusive. We had seafood as a starter with wine ...all excellent quality. There is nothing especially innovative or unique about the menu. It is basic, excellent, food quality, executed very well. Quality is consistent. This restaurant will please a wide variety of people because of this, so it's ideal for large groups. A bit noisy and crowded in the beginning, but quieted down as the crowd thinned out. I felt that some of the entrees were overpriced given that they come only with a grille artichoke. We were seated for almost three hours as we purposely took our time, yet everything was well-timed and the evening just flew by. I love the decor; very relaxing, yet historical and interesting. Love, love this place!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Awkward dining experience

Dined on December 30, 2015

While the dining room is lovely, we endured the most awkward meal in our experience there due to the bizarre positioning of tables. The restaurant offers love seats and tables for two, so that diners can sit next to one another, rather than across the table from each other. A lovely idea, and quite romantic. However, a number of these love seats and tables directly face traditional tables of two, at which we were seated. So, we spent our meal with an unknown couple just a few feet away, who sat in their love seat and watched our entire evening meal unfold as if we were actors in an Ibsen play... Were management to simply rearrange the love seats to face out into the room rather than aiming them toward tables just a few feet away, it would be a much more enjoyable experience for all.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great steaks, great service.

Dined on December 30, 2015

Great steaks, great service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak house superb

vip
Dined on December 28, 2015

Very good steak house in an historic setting. Very attentive service, steaks cooked to perfection and accompaniments well served.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Special night out

Dined on December 28, 2015

Wonderful meal, scallops are wonderful, main coarse and sides were prepared to perfect temperature and taste. Staff very attentive and the environment at Redford Springs allows you to feel special for the evening. your dinner can be expensive but it will be worth the time spent together with loved one or close friends. The only downfall can be the noise level as the restaurant gets crowded or there is a group of people in their own world.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect place for a special meal

Dined on November 22, 2015

The dining experience was top notch and the ambiance created by the decor and lighting was ideal for a romantic evening with my spouse. The food and wine accented the experience. Our server was very good too. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The attention to detail was so refreshing.

Dined on November 14, 2015

Thank you for a wonderful dinner. We werent that hungry so we actually ordered a whole bunch of appetizers so we could try as many things as we could. The staff was warm and never intrusive. I wish I lived closer so that I could go there for dinner more often.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

1796 Restaurant at Bedford Springs

Dined on November 14, 2015

Great food and service but the acoustics needs some work it was a bit loud and I decided to have coffee out in the tavern where I could hear myself talk to my mother.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Notch Service

Dined on November 14, 2015

The good is very good the attention to details excellent. Service is the best in the business. You will feel like a VIP at the entire resort. Was a great overnight get away. The restaurant worth every penny

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Steaks!

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

The steaks were cooked to perfection and our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine list and the menu. I never finish my meal and my plate was spotless!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3

Very disappointing! Both of our steaks w ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Very disappointing! Both of our steaks were overcooked, so we filled up on our side dishes while they prepared our steaks again. By the time our steaks came out we weren't really hungry. Beware steaks are dry aged and lack a lot of flavor other than the extremely salty spice they load them up with. Would not go again.

food3
ambience2
service3

Mediocre at best

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

My wife and I had dinner on Friday night. The decor was less than impressive. It was not dated and quaint; it was dated and tired. Our server was nice enough but she was in training and forgot to bring any bread to us until half way through the meal. We had a seafood tower as an appetizer which was fine, although the shrimp were not jumbo sized. We also had the filet mignon as our main course. The steak was adequate but not spectacular. We receive better steaks at the high end chains such as Ruth's Chris and Morton's. My wife did enjoy the "monkey pie" as a dessert. In sum, I was expecting a wonderful meal; it was not that.

food5
ambience5
service5

A dining experience

Dined on October 14, 2015

My husband and I had an overnight stay at the Omni so we made dinner reservations at this restaurant. It will not disappoint. The quality of the food was excellent and our waiter Michael, was very attentive. It is quite expensive but the food was so very good, you know it will be pricey at a place like this. It was a little noisy but we attributed that to a table of 10. Otherwise I don't think it would have been too bad.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience

Dined on October 10, 2015

Fabulous restaurant! Best steak dinner I have ever had! Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on October 8, 2015

Service, food, decore are great! Good place to enjoy a slow pace meal with family and friends

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious as always...

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

My husband and I enjoyed yet another great dinner at 1796. I had the tuna poke for an appetizer. Devine! My husband had the delicious chopped salad. We both had the aged steak. I had the chimichurri sauce and my husband had the blue cheese crumbles. We shared the mashed potatoes. You will not be disappointed elsinong here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Weekend Getaway

Dined on October 3, 2015

Food and service were excellent. The desserts were out of this world.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a marriage proposal!

Dined on September 22, 2015

Unusual setting that comes off as surprisingly romantic, especially the sofa seating. Food, oriented to carnivores, is very good even if not quite up to 10/09 in town, with friendly, professional and prompt service. Downside: Woefully pricey -- you pay roughly double for its Springs location. Too, they were out of a number of listed wines during our last visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service5

Solid good food but loud

Dined on September 20, 2015

Food was good, steak was good but was served warm, not hot and it then turned room temperature as you ate it. But it was well prepared food in general. It was really loud with a lot of people in the dining room. Hard to hear your table mate. Service was great though.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.