Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

Named for the year that Dr. John Anderson purchased the land upon which the resort now stands, 1796 Room has now been re-launched as a signature steak and chophouse, serving steaks, chops, fish and poultry of the highest quality.

1796 uses only the highest quality 21-day aged USDA prime beef. Our meats are prepared at 1700° on our infrared broiler ensuring juiciness, tenderness and flavor.

All entrées are served with our signature grilled artichoke, and “shared” side dishes are available à la carte along with a tasty dessert selection freshly prepared in-house by our pastry team.

Our world-class wine list is designed to match the quality of our food selection, and our professional staff is trained to recommend the perfect wine pairing with your meal.

Creating a relaxed yet upscale atmosphere of warm sophistication, the new 1796 Room is a dining experience not to be missed.

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5633

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort by
S
720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I stayed at Bedford Springs for a quick get away and we made a late reservation at the 1796 Room as the restaurant was booked solid for a November Saturday night. We now know why it was booked solid until 8:45! Our steaks were fantastic. She had the Filet, I had the Strip and they were as good as any steak that we have had for a while. Sides were the sautéed mushrooms and the creamed spinach and they did not disappoint. The butter for the bread was also uniquely interesting and my wife loved it. Wine list is acceptable, I think you can do BYOB but I didn't confirm that. The chopped salad was so-so, but it was only a salad. This place is highly recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This was our second time at the 1796 Room. The service and food were excellent again. Unfortunately, they seated a very large group in the room and the entire room became uncomfortably loud and lost its intimacy. This was a timing issue I guess, as others we talked to said they had a quiet time the day before. We will return, and I do recommend this to others.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Excellent food and service! Very much enjoyed how knowledgeable our server was, the friendliness of the staff, and the outstanding hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

The food that we had was excellent but unfortunately the seafood menu was very limited on this Friday evening. The bar was also out of what we had ordered.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

No lobster available when it was on the menu was disappointing. Crab salad was very good. Having eaten in many nice restaurants around the country, thought everything was pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Great restaurant with excellent food and service. Would highly recommend dining here. The staff goes above and beyond to provide a great experience. It is a comfortable and cozy location with some the best food served in reasonable portions.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2017

A really lovely experience. First time at Omni Bedford Springs and we loved the historic aspects of the inn and restoration that kept things as they would have been during the resort's heyday. The meal we had at 1796 was delicious - highly recommend the scallop appetizer and steak for entree. Our server, Lisa, was attentive and friendly. We definitely will visit again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Excellent food. Wonderful service and atmosphere. One of those menus that you could eat anything on the menu. It all looks great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2017

We were celebrating our recent wedding anniversary and this restaurant was a perfect choice. Delicious food and wonderful service in a delightful setting. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2017

The place is very nice, homey and comfortable. Their bread is very tasty and the steaks are very good. Good portion of the sides, but they come separately from the main course. The only thing I didn’t like is tuna tartare, it’s was very bland with no flavor.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Beautiful grounds, lovely breakfast and beautiful room

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Nice experience. Server was efficient and very pleasant. We ordered a NY strip and bone in ribeye. Both were cooked perfectly and very good. Nice choice of sides to accompany. Atmosphere could be improved, a bit noisy. Somewhat plain and "rustic". Nonetheless would definitely recommend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had dinner here to celebrate getting married and it was quite disappointing. We have been here many times in the last 8 years and it has always been good before. The tuna didn't have much flavor until we request soy sauce. The wedge salad was average and could have had more crumbles and dressing. The chicken is usually awesome but this time was very dry. The steak and mushrooms were good though. In addition, we ended up at a table right near the air conditioner so we froze our butts off! Not quite the experience we were hoping for this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great dinner as usual! My steak was not quite as hot as I like it, but it was good none the less. Great mashed sweet potatoes!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

We enjoyed our evening in the 1796 restaurant. Started quietly but later room filled and got a little noisy. Food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Exceptional service and amazing food. It was our honeymoon and everyone went out of their way to make our meal special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food is EXCELLENT MUAH 👌, although overpriced, as starter soups/salads and sides come al la carte. But I guess it comes with the territory/Omni hotel. Nothing with Omni in front of it is ever reasonable. Food is definitely worth making the annual trip, but that's the extent of it. The ambience is great, atmosphere is cozy as well. Would highly recommend for a "special" occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Our server,Kelli, was exceptional. Food was delicious. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Food was very good. A little loud if you are looking for a quiet meal. Chefs tasting menu a plus!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 18, 2017

We had an amazing dinner date at 1796! Amazing steak and scrumptious side dishes. Wonderful service too! We'll definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food was just not very good; certainly not worth the price. Service was fine, though. Overrated restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the service was impeccable. The salads were delicious and the vegetables were cooked perfectly. All in all a good value for the money. Only issue was it was a little chilly in the restaurant and I'm not one that is normally cold. The noise level is a little loud but wasn't a problem for us.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

We have never been disappointed with dinner here. The server, food and ambiance were great. It's pricey so enjoy yourself.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had a good meal and excellent service. We have eaten there before and had some of our best meals. Had a very nice time.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Lisa, our server, was excellent! She was very friendly, professional, and attentive to our needs. We were pleasantly surprised with an optional menu of paired tastings of 4 courses. That is a wonderful combination of items not seen on the regular menu. We selected each pair of items (except for the Oysters Rockefeller appetizer) so that we could share the tastings. Everything was delicious! We normally wouldn't have selected the meat, cheese, bread appetizer (if it is on the regular menu), but we really enjoyed all the little extra surprises on the plate like fresh honey, pickled peppers, and raisins. We enjoyed all the flavors in the 2 salads like goat cheese which we had never tasted. Our entrees were scrumptious! The beef was so tender and juicy and had a very nice flavor. My shrimp and scallops over rice were also scrumptious. We, of course, shared our entrees. My favorite dessert is creme brule which I was happy to see was one of the desserts on this "tasting menu." My husband got the layered cake which had a mocha sauce over it. We tasted each others' desserts and enjoyed them so much. We came away from the table quite full but very happy with the over-all experience. We hope you continue to offer this tasting menu or a similar one the next time we dine with you. Yes, we shall return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

It was our birthdays. They remembered and made it a point to celebrate it! we requested a love seat table and they had It ready for us. very romantic. Food was very good. Service was also very good. Go you will enjoy it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Noise level was totally unacceptable. The large party tables, which tend to be louder, are mixed in with the 2-tops, where couples are more likely to want quiet conversation. Need to find a way to separate the two, preferably in different rooms, where the parties can try and yell over one another, while couples can enjoy a more quiet, peaceful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fabulous aged steaks as always! Great service too. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Easily the best steak house experience we have ever had!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Made reservations for our 10th wedding anniversary. The food and wait staff were good for a restaurant at this price range but unfortunately our entire dinner was interrupted by repeated phone calls by a single diner at neighboring table. As other people have reviewed there is very little to absorb noise let alone someone yelling in to a cell phone. The entire restaurant was disturbed and complaining but the staff and manager did nothing to address the issue with the offending guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was out of this world! The wait staff were very friendly and tentative.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We had a lovely meal with great service. The room is very noisy, with no soft surfaces to absorb sound. But, the food and drinks were grand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant! The food is really delicious and the service is really the best!
We had a wonderful meal in a relaxing atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

A good steak house with quality food. Well prepared and well served by a very professional staff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food was great and the staff is amazing. The only thing we didn't like was the noise level, it's too loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We love to vacation at Bedford Springs. This is the first time we ate at 1796 restaurant. The filet mignon was excellent, cooked perfectly and the chimichura sauce added a nice acid flavor. I had not used this on steak in the past. The service was great. The drinks were great. My only comment is the bourbon carrots needed more bourbon flavor. I think a little honey, bourbon, sriracha and cumin reduction would've added more flavor to the carrots. Otherwise it was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

It was a very disappointing experience. Filet mignon was excellent but appetizer was terrible. Gluten free ganache cake dry - sent it back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Memorable dining experience. Ambiance was charming and had historic significance. Staff was attentive without being intrusive. Menu was somewhat limited but appropriate. Food was excellent and served with attention to detail.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Staff was pleasant and professional, but for a fine dining establishment, I expected more. The food was underwhelming. We ordered the mushroom soup, which was lacking in flavor (bland) and sent back. We also ordered a salad, which was fine. My wife had the crabcakes, and I had the bone-in ribeye steak. The crabcakes were fine. The steak was cooked to temperature, but lacked seasoning (again bland). I actually asked for cracked pepper and had to add salt for flavoring. I've never had to do that to a prime steak before. Additionally, I ordered the "spring water" instead of the filtered tap water thinking it was from one of the natural springs. Instead I received an imported bottle from Italy. It was fine, just not what was expected. I also thought the server would have mentioned that they didn't carry their own. On the plus side, the wine and spirits selections were vast and appreciated. Sadly, though, I would have rather eaten at the Frontier Tavern on site as opposed to the 1796. We have plans to return to the resort next month, but next time we stay, I don't think we'll be back to the 1796.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This was the 4th time we visited the 1796 Room at Bedford Springs for dinner. The food is good. The noise level is a bit loud, it depends on how busy it is, but even at 9:00pm it is still bustling, definitely not cozy and quiet. You can also order from 1796 Room menu on the hotel room service menu which I would highly recommend if you would prefer a romantic dinner at the hotel and you are staying overnight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.