About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Pittsburgh
Most Booked
Bedford
Best Restaurants in Bedford ›

special occasion (28)
romantic (19)
fit for foodies (16)
See All
notable wine list (10)
neighborhood gem (2)
kid-friendly (1)
good for groups (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
543 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrific but portions too large. Wine s ...

vip
·Dined 3 days ago

Terrific but portions too large. Wine selection by glass did not make us smile. Attractive historical setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

overall a nice place to dine noise level ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 5 days ago

overall a nice place to dine noise level was a little high the food was great The service was great ...but the the drink prices whereover-the-top high so next time next time we'll pass on the drinks:(

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious dinner with my wife. Our ahi t ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Delicious dinner with my wife. Our ahi tuna and filet mignon were amazing. The mushroom and sweet potato sides were also very very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything a la carte, including any sau ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Everything a la carte, including any sauce you might want. Felt cheap being " nickle and dimed " to death. Just charge a little more for the entre. Food ok. Large servings. Ground up red peppers all over the $22 scallop appetizer. Uncooked onions in risotto. Service was very good. Not interested in returning.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Great service with amazing food. Nothing ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service with amazing food. Nothing disappointed. Perhaps the only negative thing was we ordered our steak medium, and it looked medium rare, but it tasted so good that my wife and i didn't care.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous dining experience! Se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had a fabulous dining experience! Service was great, ambiance and decor were historic and lovely. Food was exceptional! Best steak my husband has had in a long time. Wish we had room for dessert! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its employees are competent, unobtrusive ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Its employees are competent, unobtrusive, and quite helpful when asked for suggestions.

Entrees are ALL delicious, as this is my fifth experience, and neither I nor those with whom I "broke bread" had any complaints whatsoever. My mother enjoyed her well grilled encrusted pork chop, and was overwhelmed by the size of it. The garnish vegetable for the summer is the artichoke, and those are prepared flawlessly. Everything is so very tasty, well seasoned, and perfectly presented.

Although the acoustics are not the best, it is easy to overlook this with the delightful menu and great service.

This is a fine restaurant; I recommend it to all.

The restaurant's name is rich in history, and this is well explained on the website and on printed materials throughout the resort.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our anniversary. I ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary. I had the shrimp which were superb.

My wife ordered crab cakes which were served black on the bottom. Sent them back and

got second 2 crab cakes-also burned on the bottom. I had shared my entree and so we

just cut off the bottom and ate the cakes-crab was great. But they should be able

to cook them w/o burning the bottom.

Very disappointing. Talked to manager who said he would talk w/chef. But we

were stuck with a disappointing expensive meal!!

This is a high end restaurant-they should do better!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Best filet mignon I have had east of the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Best filet mignon I have had east of the Mississippi.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and service great varied ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Excellent food and service great varied menu..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious, me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious, memorable dinner at 1793. We enjoyed everything from the drinks to the appetizers to the wine, entrees and dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent steaks. King crab legs were p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent steaks. King crab legs were phenomenal. Wine selection was also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Weekend Visit

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I whisked my husband away for a weekend getaway at Bedford Springs - which we loved. I booked this restaurant because I thought it would be elegant and cozy. It was very, very noisy. The waiter we had was very inattentive and waited quite a bit when first seated to have someone come to the table. I ordered Lamb which was very tough and the knives that they gave my husband and I were horrible. When I told the waiter that the cutlery was terrible, he laughed and said 'we get that a lot'. Seriously, might want to do something about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Great food and service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was fantastic, as was the server. Room was a little noisy, bare wooden floors and minimal wall covering, so not much to absorb the noise. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service was great!! Steak was ok but sal ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was great!! Steak was ok but salmon was terrible. Asked for it medium and came well done and very dry. When you pay that much for an entree you expect it to be cooked properly. Side of mushrooms was very greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Very average food and very high priced.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The atmosphere itself was great. I loved the room. The food was very average and the cost was extremely expensive. Everything was a la carte and very pricey. After paying $40+ for the entree, $12 for salad, $10 for mashed potatoes, $14 for a standard glass of wine we didn't even entertain dessert. The food was just average and definitely not a $200 meal. I've had a much better dining experience elsewhere.

Tags: special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Steaks!!! They sure know how to do them ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Steaks!!! They sure know how to do them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to stop there when I a ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Always a pleasure to stop there when I am in town. My steak was perfect, the atmosphere so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Steakhouse

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Have eaten here many times. Very good steak and very pricey like most steakhouses, as everything is ala carte.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The wine selection was great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

The wine selection was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mediocre at Best

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

It's very sad that I had a mediocre time at 1796. It was a beautiful restaurant, but the food was just OK and the service was the same. I found that our bill became much higher because the server did not disclose certain information to us, for example that water cost us money (he could have mentioned that when I was questioning about the different types he offered) and splitting a salad between two would cost more. We had to eat fish as it was a Friday during lent and were not at all pleased with the choices or the taste of the salmon or halibut. It cost way more than the worth of the food and service. I can say that the drink choices were wonderful. I enjoyed a cocktail during dinner and an after dinner martini and was very pleased with both. I would like to try it again as it may have been a one-time issue, but I can't say that I'd venture back any time soon.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Another Springs Winner

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed another wonderful meal at the 1796 room at Omni Bedford Springs. Great service, great menu, excellent steaks, all in an incomperable setting. The whole experience of this resort is unique in that you are surrounded by history, luxury, and quality. We have entertained several groups here and all have been impressed with all aspects of the facility. I would encourage travelers and locals to eat in any of the restaurants at the Springs.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I had high hopes for the restaurant because I was told by several friends how good it was. The prices were really steep. I don't mind paying high prices if the quality of the food justifies it but unfortunately it didn't. My girlfriends salmon was fair, nothing special, but my steak was really disappointing. It was very peppery and had too much seasoning. I couldn't really enjoy the steak because the seasoning was so overpowering. Also it didn't come with a side so I ordered a side of asparagus which I believe was somewhere around 12$ and I got 10 pieces. The waitress said the sides were big enough for 2 and she was right. 12$ for asparagus though? Just plain asparagus. I understand charging more because it's a high end restaurant but that is insane. I guess they figure since you're spending $50 on a steak you won't mind paying 12 more for a side. The place wasn't terrible overall but I probably won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

1796 Review

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our food was outstanding and the portions were large. We met other diners sitting near us mainly because closeness of tables left little conversation privacy. We made the most of it and our service was top notch. Will certainly return.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

My husband and I recently had dinner here while on our "babymoon." Both of our meals were perfect and the setting was very romantic, but not too uptight. We are already planning our return to Bedford Springs, and one of the main reasons is 1796 Room!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Food, Service Slightly Underwhelming

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

It took roughly 5 minutes after being seated to be offered water. Both the hostess and the person who brought us water said our waitress would be over soon. You should note this is a very small place, and if our server couldn't come right away then another server should have handled our table. There were almost as many servers as tables. I had to ask for the cocktail menu. The service was only OK which is disappointing because this is supposed to be the top tier restaurant at the resort. Moving on, the food was excellent. Filet perfectly seasoned and cooked with that beautiful pink center, I didn't use any sauce. And, notable for rural Pennsylvania, the tuna steak and scallops were also delicious. Step up the service, lower the price a few bucks and you'd have 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Fowldp

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

The seafood platter for two is a treat unto itself! It is complimented by the wonderful wine list. Great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

Celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. Our server, Justin, was great! Dinner was delightful, and the other diners were very pleasant. We would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

outstanding meal

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

we had an amazing meal. the atmosphere is great and the service impeccable. it is expensive but worth every penny. the meat that they serve is unbelievable. not your average steakhouse

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

This has been one of our favorite places to eat and once again, it did not disappoint. No problems with HVAC as we were seated more toward the center of the restaurant. Other times it can be chilly if you are near the vents. Our server was knowledgable, friendly and unobtrusive. We had seafood as a starter with wine ...all excellent quality. There is nothing especially innovative or unique about the menu. It is basic, excellent, food quality, executed very well. Quality is consistent. This restaurant will please a wide variety of people because of this, so it's ideal for large groups. A bit noisy and crowded in the beginning, but quieted down as the crowd thinned out. I felt that some of the entrees were overpriced given that they come only with a grille artichoke. We were seated for almost three hours as we purposely took our time, yet everything was well-timed and the evening just flew by. I love the decor; very relaxing, yet historical and interesting. Love, love this place!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awkward dining experience

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

While the dining room is lovely, we endured the most awkward meal in our experience there due to the bizarre positioning of tables. The restaurant offers love seats and tables for two, so that diners can sit next to one another, rather than across the table from each other. A lovely idea, and quite romantic. However, a number of these love seats and tables directly face traditional tables of two, at which we were seated. So, we spent our meal with an unknown couple just a few feet away, who sat in their love seat and watched our entire evening meal unfold as if we were actors in an Ibsen play...

Were management to simply rearrange the love seats to face out into the room rather than aiming them toward tables just a few feet away, it would be a much more enjoyable experience for all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great steaks, great service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Great steaks, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Steak house superb

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Very good steak house in an historic setting. Very attentive service, steaks cooked to perfection and accompaniments well served.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special night out

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Wonderful meal, scallops are wonderful, main coarse and sides were prepared to perfect temperature and taste. Staff very attentive and the environment at Redford Springs allows you to feel special for the evening. your dinner can be expensive but it will be worth the time spent together with loved one or close friends. The only downfall can be the noise level as the restaurant gets crowded or there is a group of people in their own world.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect place for a special meal

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

The dining experience was top notch and the ambiance created by the decor and lighting was ideal for a romantic evening with my spouse. The food and wine accented the experience. Our server was very good too. I highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The attention to detail was so refreshing.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Thank you for a wonderful dinner. We werent that hungry so we actually ordered a whole bunch of appetizers so we could try as many things as we could. The staff was warm and never intrusive. I wish I lived closer so that I could go there for dinner more often.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1796 Restaurant at Bedford Springs

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Great food and service but the acoustics needs some work it was a bit loud and I decided to have coffee out in the tavern where I could hear myself talk to my mother.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Top Notch Service

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

The good is very good the attention to details excellent. Service is the best in the business. You will feel like a VIP at the entire resort. Was a great overnight get away. The restaurant worth every penny

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Steaks!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

The steaks were cooked to perfection and our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wine list and the menu. I never finish my meal and my plate was spotless!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointing! Both of our steaks w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Very disappointing! Both of our steaks were overcooked, so we filled up on our side dishes while they prepared our steaks again. By the time our steaks came out we weren't really hungry. Beware steaks are dry aged and lack a lot of flavor other than the extremely salty spice they load them up with. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.