Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.13mi
  2. Distance: 1.14mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About 1796 Room at Bedford Springs

Sure to be included among the Mid-Atlantic's most celebrated steak and chop houses. Enjoy prime beef, veal and fresh seafood paired with exceptional wine and spirits.

2138 Business Rt 220
Bedford, PA 15522
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday through Saturday - 5:30 pm to 10:00 pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 624-5610

Website:
http://www.bedfordspringsresort.com/dining/1796_room.asp

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking is available for all resort & restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
David Noto

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

1796 Room at Bedford Springs Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Quiet Conversation (18)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Historic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (4)
People Watching (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
673 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Pricey, but worth it! Food is exceptional, love the atmosphere, excellent service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Annual trip with my girlfriends, as usual a great dinner. Food was good, and served at a leisurely pace. Not rushing you out the door.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The 1796 Room at the Omni Bedford Springs is a good steakhouse in a region where there are not a ton of options. It is a small room, with some nice banquette seating and well spaced tables so the evening we were there it was easy to have conversation. Our steaks were excellent and well prepared, served with a nice grilled artichoke heart. The menu is Ala carte, and everything is extra and the prices are high, especially for this area. The wine list has some nice bottles and again, the pricing is high compared to what I have paid for the same bottles elsewhere. A good special occasion place if money is no object.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This steakhouse was top notch. The service was perfect here as well and they were very quick, friendly and moving non stop to help us out.

My wife ordered the filet which was cooked to her liking and it was so delicious. It was a very meaty portion for only being 8 oz. Would highly recommend. I ordered the pork chops which was by far one of the best I have ever eaten. The prices were very reasonable as well.

Would highly recommend as well.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We can two years in a row for our anniversary weekend getaway. It was as wonderful as it was a year ago and maybe better! We ate here two nights in a row and food was exceptional! We tried different things each night and everything was spectacular! We eat out regularly and this place is definitely worth the drive! Service is personable, accommodating and great! Unique cocktails that are wonderful!! This is what a dining experience should be!! Thanks!! We will be back!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Over all very good. We were surprised that the Filet was tough. Asparagus was perfect. Crab cake was excellent. Server was excellent, very friendly and knowledgeable. We got a couch seat and for our honeymoon dinner, it was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Fantastic dinner with an equally impressive wine list. It is always a pleasure dining at the 1796 Room when we are staying at the Bedford Springs Resort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Welcoming and quiet atmosphere. Server was very knowledgeable and hospitable. Food was outstanding.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing cuisine, excellent service with an atmosphere from the 18th century. Highly recommended!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Everything was great!!! Food was fabulous and great service. Don't hesitate on going. Ask about the history of the restaurant and resort. Five 🌟🌟 🌟🌟🌟!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Fantastic food and service as always. Thank you for the great experience. Ashley was very nice and we appreciated the anniversary desert plate on top of the great meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Primarily a steak house advertising steaks cokes at 1700 degrees -filet and strip arrived cooked as ordered but warm(not sizzling) upon eating. Creamed spinach appeared watery as in not completely drained before adding cream. Mushroom soup was very thick -tasted great - could benefit from more mushroom pieces (my opinion). Manhattan was excellent. Crème Brule appeared/tasted over-cooked - dry consistency. Décor on upper level was intended to look old, but lots of electric sconces at high light level didn't help. Michael - our server - was a breath of fresh air - OUTSTANDING IN ALL RESPECTS.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Was our first visit to the resort (which was fabulous!) and wanted to stay on property for a girls dinner. We had ordered a bottle of chardonnay which arrived "not properly chilled". 2nd bottle was the same and the 3rd try a bit better, but not great. Chilled at the table. I ordered the 8oz fillet, which was very good, but the salmon was on the "plain" side and the seafood tower was impressive. All in all, pricy for value. 10/09 in town is a FAR BETTER choice and the food was fabulous!!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had a top knotch dinner at 1796. The service was great, and theres not a bad seat in the house (we loved the table for 2 with the couch so we could sit next to each other). We also were able to enjoy our meal as our server was attentive but didn't bother us too much. However, my boyfriend was a little disappointed that he called prior to our reservation to let the staff know we were celebrating my birthday (unbeknownst to me) and when we arrived our server obviously wasn't notified (he asked us if we were celebrating anything) and there was nothing special done to recognize our occasion. At such a nice restaurant where a lot of people celebrate special occasions he assumed they would put a candle in my dessert or SOMETHING! Regardless, we will go back as it was an awesome meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent food, great service. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was very good. The portions were smaller than last year. The sides were large enough to share, however, the chicken was much smaller than last years portion. The Lobster Mac n cheese was delicious. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal at 1796. Typical Steakhouse fare but done very well. The dining area is somewhat small and was loud throughout much of the meal. Our meals were prepared perfectly, you could tell they pay attention to the ingredients. The highlights were the side dishes. I was very impressed with the mountain of lobster that adorned the Lobster Mac and Cheese and the Bourbon Baby Carrots were delicious. We will return and look forward to coming back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I booked a reservation because my husband and I were celebrating our anniversary at the resort. The restaurant has very limited seating, which explains why reservations are required. Everything on the menu is a la carte pricing, which made the meal very expensive. The food was good, but my husband and I agreed that it was not worth the price. The noise level was so loud at one point when the waitress was talking to us, that it was hard to hear her. Yes, you can typically expect dining on a resort to be more expensive, however, this experience just didn't live up to our expectations based on what we had read and heard. One time was enough for us; we wouldn't dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was excellent, atmosphere was very nice and good selection was right in my wheelhouse. Alaskan crab legs were wonderful and so was my wife's steak. Smoked pork chop was overly salty. Overall good time but needed pork chop to be less salty

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent food and great service. Love the historic ambience of the restaurant and resort!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

First time at Bedford Springs. Very enjoyable and pleasant environment. Did some hiking, happy hour, and nice meals. I will be back this fall.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very expensive, everything is ala carte (vege, potatoes, salad, etc.) Special was pan seared cod, more like blackened, not flaky, or tasty, pork chop was undercooked, pink, sent back then overcooked and dry! That's all you get on your plate, anything else you have to pay extra for it, so bottom line, too expensive for just one piece of meat for dinner! My wife had a very hard time finding something to eat, considering she doesn't eat red meat or seafood, you should put a chicken entree on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My husband and I were having a date night and this was the perfect place to enjoy each other's company. The atmosphere was authentic and romantic. The food was amazing and made our first time there wonderful!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Hands down great food, awesome service and excellent drinks... well worth the drive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous and delicious .service was great. Tender ribeye

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything from the food to service was top notch. Everything.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. The food was great and our server Michael was fantastic. He was knowledgeable, personable and knew exactly what to recommended to meet our tastes!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Outstanding meal and service. Went for our 25th wedding anniversary and they made it a very special evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Good quality food, nice ambience. We were staying at the resort and were pleased to find such a great restaurant as part of experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The service and food was excellent. We have eaten here often over 8 years.
Alway a well balanced menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Loved it there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was excellent overall, though the 22 oz. ribeye I had was not as thick as expected and not very hot when it came out. Otherwise, the truffle butter, highly recommended by our server, was very unique and worth the additional charge. The sides were good and generously portioned. We requested one of their sofa tables, which was nice but not as cozy as expected because the are located at the ends of the dining room, with the sofa seats 2 along the same side of the table, looking out to the rest of the dining room. While it is nice seating for a couple, it did not feel very private. But we got used to it as the evening went on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful spot to celebrate my birthday! The food and service are fantastic, and the ambiance of the historic Omni Bedford Springs resort is really special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This wasn't our first time at 1796 and it certainly won't be our last. The only reason why this evening didn't get 5 stars was because they seemed to have overbooked reservations, causing quite the wait for our already late (9:30) dinner reservation. That said, the staff was extremely apologetic and professional about the delay. Everything on the menu is fantastic, but this time there wasn't a single item that disappointed. We ordered the pork chops and the 18 oz filet (medium) and they were both perfectly cooked. The sides of sauteed spinach and mashed potatoes were neither too heavy nor too light - they were perfectly filling.
It's definitely a splurge, there's no cheap dinner at Bedford Springs, but it's certainly worth every penny.
Whether you're planning a romantic night or girls weekend, I definitely recommend going to 1796!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was superb! Wait staff exceptional. Only downside to the dining is the noise level is high and hard to converse with your party.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The 1796 Steakhouse steaks, baked potato, and salad were good, but the spinach which was supposed to have a cream sauce did not and was not very good. The artichoke hearts had not been cleaned well and were gritty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, loved sitting in the cozy 2-seater, and wonderful service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Spectacular service, incredible ambience and the food was wonderful! 5-star!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Birthday Dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.