About 1600 Bar + Grille

1600 Bar + Grille, downtown Houston’s upscale casual dining restaurant, brings farm-fresh ingredients to the menu for a just-picked flavor. Featuring locally-sourced seasonal fresh produce, plus Certified Angus Beef and Gulf seafood dishes prepared from scratch to guarantee farm-to-fork freshness. Located lobby-level, Hilton Americas-Houston, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner with a Texas flair.

1600 Lamar Street
Houston, TX 77010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 6:00am - 11:00am;
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner:Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;

Cross Street:
Avenida las Americas

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 577-6115

Website:
http://www3.hilton.com/en/hotels/texas/hilton-americas-houston-HOUCVHH/dining/index.html

Parking Details:
Valet Parking available, Street Parking available

Executive Chef:
Chef Ruffy Sulaiman

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Join us for Thanksgiving Day Brunch & leave the cooking to us! Enjoy Omelets, Chilled Shrimp Cocktail, Turkey Carving Station, Prime Rib, Ham, Salmon Entrées & Award-Winning Desserts. Complimentary Mimosas. Complimentary Valet & Self-Parking. Adults: $52.95; Seniors: $42.95; Kids 13 & under: $14.95.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:30AM - 11:00AM 12:00PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Fri 9:30AM - 11:00AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Sat 9:30AM - 11:00AM 12:00PM - 1:30PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

1600 Bar+Grille, located lobby level at Hilton Americas-Houston, offers private dining rooms that can accommodate up to 250 seated guests. Whether a celebratory occasion with family and friends, or a business meeting with clients, 1600 Bar + Grille will take care of all your needs.

1600 Bar + Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

Noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
See All
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
46 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

This lobby restaurant is a great place to dine before going to Toyota Center. The food was absolutely delicious, so well prepared with freshest of ingredients. Our service was excellent. Unfortumately we had less than 1 hour to enjoy, but service was so prompt we had little time to wait.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Poor food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It's ok if you are staying at the hotel and don't want to go out for food. It's nothing impressive at all, I don't see my self going again it's to many better options in the area, just depend how far you want to go or drive.
Food was ok and the service.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always an enjoyable experience dining at 1600 Bar + Grille.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Would try it again for dinner. I had breakfast and it was pretty good.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Texas short ribs were super! Flavorful with great texture. Loved the roasted root veggies perfectly cooked without losing flavor or form. Our server was attentive and helpful for local events. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Ambiance was devine. The low lights and flickering candlelights on the table made it very cozy and peaceful. There was one child who screamed for a little while, but lucky for us the family left early. The food was good. I had a steak and though this was bragged about in other posts I thought it was ok and really overpriced. Sides are extra and for the two of us it was close to a hundred dollars. Save your money and go to Saltgrass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food but service was a struggle. We waited one and a half hours and got some salads and drinks. We had to get the rest of the food..(what ever was ready) to go

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wanted to have a dinner close to the media center. Food was very good and the server very attentive, although it was very quiet as a Sunday night.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I should have known better than to trust a hotel restaurant (unless I'm in Vegas), but the menu here was captivating. Needless to say, it was a very disappointing experience. There were moments of greatness tucked throughout our meal, but on the whole, this restaurant failed to deliver. Our experience was tainted upon being seated due to the horrible service from our server. She couldn't be bothered to spend time discussing the menu with us. Thankfully, a few of our questions prompted her to summon the chef. I expect high-end servers to be very knowledgable of their restaurant's menus.

The spinach artichoke dip and the tortilla soup deserve many compliments; both were classically delicious. The entrees and desserts, however, left much to be desired. The garganelli had only a scant showing of the Brussel sprouts and pork belly. It felt and tasted like an expensive bowl of (albeit well cooked) noodles. The ancho honey chicken was actually quite good, especially with the acidity of a grilled lime, but the real star of that dish was the Mexican street corn. I was very excited for dessert because they offered a gluten free Nutella torte. Unfortunately, it was bland and showed almost no taste of Nutella. We left knowing that we would never dine here again.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food - reasonable men selection and prices . Offeted a nice (pre-Houston Marathon) Buffett for those looking for such. Wait staff was very nice.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Love the staff
food is excellent.
Will see you for Easter Brunch

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Went for breakfast with Santa on a Saturday. Buffet was good. Bacon was slightly greasy and undercooked but otherwise everything else was great. Good selection. Really enjoyed the omelet station. Service was great. Our waitress Katherine was very patient and sweet to our twin girls. Will definitely be back for the breakfast.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was a nice place, small inside the hotel so had a hard time finding it at first but then enjoyed the food and service was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Not a place prior to a concert, as they are not prepared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The wait staff and kitchen were not prepared for the business that the Barbra Streisand concert brought to the restaurant. After waiting for 20 minutes past our confirmed reservation, a nice guest invited us to sit with them in the bar as the line wrapped around the lobby. The server was so overwhelmed by the pace, management was having to take guests' orders and expedite the food. Guests on either side of us were saying that they had placed their orders 30 minutes earlier and they were still waiting. We opted for the pizza on the appetizer menu to make up for lost time waiting. The pizza was good but it was not a relaxing experience.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This restaurant is located very conveniently in the Hilton Hotel. It was an easy stop back and forth between our hotel and the convention center. Three of us opted to have the buffet. The food choices and variety were good, but all three of us experienced intestinal problems for the next 12 or so hours. The one person in our party that opted to just order soup and bread off the menu was fine.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2016

THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING BUT VERY EXPENSIVE. THE CAULIFLOWER FRIED RICE WAS THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD AND THE STEAK WAS PERFECT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mom here for a nice Mother's Day brunch. Unfortunately, it was loud, the service was far from good and the food was just ok. While the shrimp and crab legs were fresh and delicious, the eggs Benedict station was terrible. The English muffins were so tough from sitting out since early in the morning that I could not cut through it with my knife. The Canadian bacon was similarly tough. I can imagine eating here again only if I were staying at the hotel. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Draft beer selection was SLIM and the one my husband ordered was out. Prices are very high compared to the selection and quality of the food. The kids cheese pizza was much better than the margarita pizza by far. This is convenient for the hotel guests and that is it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Ordered off the menu, omelet was exceptionally good. Buffet was a nice selection. Pricey for breakfast but it is downtown Houston.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2016

This restaurant was located in a noisy hotel lobby hotel lobby - very limited menu. On the upside it was an EASY walk to the concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Unfortunately, my husband and I had a very disappointing dinner experience at 1600 Bar + Grille last Friday. It started off strange when we were handed a menu with only 4 entrees listed. When asked, we were told that it's a limited menu as it'll get busy (sidenote: from the time we got there at 6:30pm, there were maybe 2 other tables and even less when we left at 8:30pm). After asking about it, we were told we could order off the regular menu.
Appetizers: the shrimp and avocado cocktail did not have any avocado. The crab cakes were cold.
My husband ordered a steak medium rare and was not given a steak knife. The steak was also medium well and overcooked. It took us asking for a steak knife two times until the waitress had still not been able to locate a steak knife so my husband used his butter knife.
My snapper was bland and boring.
Overall, very disappointing especially for the prices that were charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 3, 2016

Didn't offer the brunch I was hoping for. Lunch & buffet offering was ok. Not the best I've had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

1600 Bar + Grille is becoming an Easter Brunch tradition for me and my family. The buffet selections may not be as expansive as private clubs (think "The Houstonian"), but there is still plenty of variety to make a holiday brunch buffet intriguing. More importantly, nearly 100% of what we tasted was delicious. The lamb, salmon, veggies, chilled seafood (shrimp and crab claws), and cakes were all on point -- all prepared flavorfully and all FRESH, even though we were among the last group of seatings for the day. (The chocolate frosting on the cupcakes was lacking flavor for some reason, but that was the ONLY flaw). The price was right too.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 5, 2016

This is a very convenient place to eat if you are staying at the Hilton next to the Houston Convention Center. However, this is not a good restaurant! The food is mediocre at best and the prices are way out of line. If the food were good, the prices would be ok but you would be better off finding a Hard Rock Cafe or other more predictable restaurant nearby for reasonably priced and quality food. To pay fine dining prices and get such sub par food is definitely a DISAPPOINTMENT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The breakfast buffet was one of the best I've ever had. Everything was fresh and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 6, 2016

I did enjoy dining at the Bar and Grille overall but ran into some problems. One was the construction going on around the hotel. It made getting there a nightmare. I understand the construction isn't their fault. I called the restaurant and asked for directions and the employee who picked up didn't know and said they were not from there. They could of told me that it was inside the big hotel I kept passing, I drove up and down and around looking for the restaurant. The food was good, the service at the restaurant was good. I was running a little bit late cause of the problem on the roads and I am glad I asked the hostess if she checked me in, cause she didn't. I would dine here again but will probably wait till all the construction is over with. I would encourage the restaurant to leave directions at the hostesses station for those calling. Houston is a business travel destination and it would be helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 9, 2016

Tried this place twice while we stayed at the Hilton. First time was lunch, not very busy, was told food would be out in 15-20 minutes. Sounds reasonable doesn't it? Over an hour later food finally showed up and it was luke warm at best. Strike one. We set up via open table dinner. Get seated and there's only a couple items on the menu (not what is normally available) or you can do the Golden Corral buffet. Strike two. We opted to go to Papasito's right next to the hotel. For a high end Hilton, they gotta get with it WRT this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2015

The hot food/ chilled seafoodwas excellent overall except the desserts/ dessert area were disappointing. The mini dessert tower looked like a bomb hit it and there was no attempt to replace items on it or clean it up. Perhaps because we were at the end of the lunchtime brunch, although they were opening for an evening session.
The intact desserts I was able to scavenge weren't worth the effort and tasted like mass produced Sam's Club desserts. A disappointing ending to an otherwise excellent meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 26, 2015

Thanksgiving brunch was great...The regular breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu is horrific. I dare you to request the loaded tater tots...tots, their not! A huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Thought it was going to be a great experience. It was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2015

We were there for an hour and a half before a show and only got two drinks. Food was mediocre, expensive and the service painfully slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2015

Great drinks and Buffet before an event in he area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2015

Besides the fact that the hostesses had no clue what Open Table was and how to apply points this was an average lunch spot. I read comments on Yelp that this place was not versed in OpenTable and decided to go anyway, maybe it was a one-off. The hostesses were rude, clueless, and quite frankly should not be chosen as the first impression of the restaurant.
Not memorable, average food. I won't be returning. Customer service and food quality are the things I care about the most at a restaurant and they really dropped the ball.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2015

The menu provides enough variety to find something for everyone (though it's not extensive). My waiter, I ended up having twice while on business there and he was very knowledgeable and accommodating each time.

Food was well flavored and a good value.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2015

food was very fresh and enjoyable, was able to conduct business and not be disturbed, for a hotel location it was outstanding

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 12, 2015

Hostess not hospitable. 20 minutes wait before being served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2015

Close proximity to the Toyota Center made this a great option so that we could park early, eat dinner and walk to the concert. The menu was very limited but the food was great, although drinks were pretty pricey--$12.50 for a glass of house cabernet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2015

Where do I begin?! I had a reservation but it still took 10 minutes to get me sat down. There only appeared to be one or two waitresses for a packed restaurant (at a major hotel?!). My wine didn't come out until I chased it a second time but in fairness she knocked that off the bill.

The starter said shrimp and avocado and was priced exorbitantly so I expected a reasonable portion. What I got was 4 medium sized shrimp which had never seen an avocado in their lives.

The steak was overlooked (medium well not medium rare) but I didn't have time to waste waiting for another so I just ate what I got.

Ambiance is ok but you really are in the hotel foyer. Don't expect quiet privacy

The good? It was quick enough once we got sat down. In and out in under an hour. The waitress, while overworked, was polite and helpful.

With plenty of other (better) choices in the immediate area I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.