About 14 North Restaurant

14 North Church Ave
Bozeman, MT 59718
View Larger Map

14 North offers a contemporary take on handcrafted and scratch prepared Gastro-Pub fare highlighting selections from local providers when possible. Nightly specials will feature fresh fish and a variety of additional entrees beautifully presented in a comfortable and fun, yet professional environment. Our full bar will feature premium specialty drinks as well as many wines to pair perfectly with your meal. We look forward to seeing you and hope to make 14 North a new Bozeman favorite!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Serving Dinner: Su-W 5:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour menu only from 9:00pm-10:00pm
Serving Dinner: Th-Sa 5:00pm-10:00pm


Bar open until 12:00am most weekend evenings

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 404-1800

Website:
http://www.14northrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available! Please contact Gannon, Catering and Events Director, at Gannon@14northrestaurant.com for additional details.

Executive Chef:
Mason Zeglen

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining facility located on the second story of our building. Please contact Gannon, Catering and Events Director, at Gannon@14northrestaurant.com for additional details.

Private Party Contact:
Gannon: 406-640-3223x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

14 North Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Montana
Fit for Foodies
Montana
Special Occasion
Montana
9 More
Most Booked
Montana
Best Overall
Bozeman
Best Food
Bozeman
Best Service
Bozeman
Best Ambiance
Bozeman
Best Value
Bozeman
Fit for Foodies
Bozeman
Special Occasion
Bozeman
Most Booked
Bozeman
Best Restaurants in Bozeman ›

special occasion (33)
fit for foodies (29)
neighborhood gem (15)
See All
romantic (14)
good for groups (14)
vibrant bar scene (10)
notable wine list (10)
kid-friendly (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
327 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great! We loved he figs wit ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was great! We loved he figs with bacon. The food was great! We loved he figs with bacon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have always enjoyed our meals at 14 n ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have always enjoyed our meals at 14 north. Excellent food flavor and variety. Willing to work with special needs and requests. Our kids enjoy it just as much as we do and always a good place to take visiting friends as we know it will be much enjoyed by all

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

A great dinner experience. Excellent ser ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

A great dinner experience. Excellent service and great steaks!

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great food, a little pricey.

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I went to 14 North for our date night. We had previewed the menu online and had an idea of what we wanted and the prices. We tried the Drunken pig and Truffle chips as appetizers, both were delicious. My husband ordered the Chorizo Burger and was very happy with the spice level. I ordered the Cranberry Chicken and it was amazing! Our server was very pleasant and on top of everything. We ordered during happy hour, so our appetizers and my husband's burger were a little discounted. We were still a little bummed at the cost of dining here. If the prices were a bit more reasonable, we would definitely dine here more often. For now, it'll have to be reserved for more special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Truffle chips unremarkable, but great salmon

Dined on May 6, 2016

Not sure why they serve the "truffle" chips; they are a mini bowl of just $7 parmesan flavored potato chips. I had the 14 North Salmon and an olive martini, and they were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 24, 2016

Our meals were excellent. The blackened halibut is back and it is amazing. The salmon is also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The halibut and salmon specials were im ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The halibut and salmon specials were impeccable!! Presentation and service were spot on. Great evening with my family.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Really want to like this restaurant - Inconsistent

Dined on April 16, 2016

We've been to 14 North a number of times and our experience varies a lot, sometimes quite good while our last visit was spotty. We were there at 7pm on a Friday night. We were seated promptly. My wife and I had wine and ordered salads and main course. The salads were excellent. The main course arrived too fast, we had not finished our salads yet. My wife had the halibut special -- her fish was very good but she said the side of potatoes tasted "old". I had a steak special, nicely presented with the horseradish sauce and onion straws, but I ordered the meat "medium" and it was overcooked, grey all the way through and dry. I also felt we were being rushed. Further, the server was a bit too quick to push another glass of wine ... mine had about 1/3 left when she was asking to bring another. We would definitely give 14 North another chance as some dishes are very good and we've had more enjoyable meals there in the past, but consistency is so important to a really good restaurant and they've got work to do on this goal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Lovely

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was tasty and the server was attentive. The drinks were great too. The only problems were one of our party's pork was undercooked and two of us were given the wrong cooked filet. But I would come again and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great gastropub

Dined on March 13, 2016

We just moved to the area and are trying lots of new restaurants, and thought 14 North was great! The food was simply unique, just as a gastropub should be. I had the small bites scallops but added extra to make it a meal and they were delicious. Others at my table got the steak and chicken and they all thought it was very tasty. The portions aren't huge for the price, but since they are prepared with such great flavor it makes it worth it. The service was great! It was prompt and the server was very polite. The actual dining room was very small, but the bar area was large and vibrant. We will definitely return and hope to join the happy hour in the bar the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice but overpriced

Dined on March 5, 2016

So went there with my fiancee for a different experience as we had heard the seafood was amazing. Not only was it amazing but it came with an amazing price for a tapas serving. Only would we go again for drinks. Service was decent and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A good choice in Bozeman

Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a group of 12 people, 2 with special dietary needs. Everyone was happy with their entree which ranged from salad, salmon, steak & meatloaf. Waiter did a great job taking care of 12 people & the service was quite quick considering the size of our group. The dining room is quite small, but the bar are is bigger & a lot of people were eating in the bar. Nice atmosphere. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

14 North

Dined on February 16, 2016

My wife's Patriot Steak, ordered medium, was medium rare to rare (middle 90% red). her 'cooked' cauliflower was very crunchy. My salmon was quite yummy. Dessert (flourless chocolate cake) was very good.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great way to spend Valentine's!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I booked 14 North based on the reviews and the fact that they included a kid's menu on their website. We were spending the weekend in Bozeman with our sons (14 & 7) and wanted to celebrate Valentine's dinner with them. We expected that 14 North would be a nice, yet comfortable place with an upscale menu. We were pleasantly surprised when we were seated in the dining room and the service, decor and food exceeded our expectations. Our children enjoyed their dinners and we were very happy with our filets. The meat was cooked perfectly and not covered in seasoning. The seafood chowder was interesting with the clams still in the shells but a delicious treat. We enjoyed our evening at 14 North and will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good

Dined on February 14, 2016

Only cons were the small portions and they didn't hold my reservation so I had to wait for a table when I had a reservation. The food was delicious. Service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly staff

Dined on February 7, 2016

The manager explained the history of the architecture while we waited for our table and the meaning of a gastropub. This was the first night out for me and my husband since our daughter was born six months ago and it was a relaxed and fun atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Foood

Dined on February 7, 2016

my steak was quite grissly and tougher than I've had there in the past

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food at 14 North is delicious! Howe ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

The food at 14 North is delicious! However, people might not be willing to try it based on its situation inside a new, generic, strip mall-like building. Inside 14 North is designed to resemble a 19th century hotel bar and restaurant which is odd, given the exterior and the menu, which are both contemporary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good at everything but value

Dined on January 26, 2016

The service was prompt and just a shade too attentive. I know two older women dining together may not be your ideal demographic, but our visit was intentionally exploratory--we were checking you out. My strongest objection to the service--and it is not, alas, confined to 14 North--is that I detest being addressed as "dear" or "hon." If you don't know me well enough to call me by my name, you don't know me well enough to use endearments. And if you call ME "hon," what is left to call your lover or your child? Whatever happened to "sir" and "ma'am"? The food was good but a bit salty/over-seasoned. I had the Patriot Steak--loved the onion straws. I was especially eager for the cauliflower au gratin, which tasted great (maybe there was a bit of garlic in it?), but the pieces of veg were decidedly al dente and there seemed a higher proportion of sauce to veg than I was expecting. The food overall was pretty good, but like most restaurants in Bozeman, over-priced. I take out-of-town visitors out for breakfast or lunch rather than dinner. I've had after-work gatherings at 14 North and think highly of the appetizers, though I didn't order any this time. Perhaps you should offer a sampler? The choice of "quiet" for noise level is intended as a compliment.

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, slow service

Dined on January 19, 2016

The food is usually very good. the last time we were there the service was slow- like he forgot we were there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot!

Dined on January 18, 2016

I was visiting Bozeman on a business trip and found 14 North online. Great staff, atmosphere, and décor! I started with a Caesar salad and had the meatloaf as my main...recommend both! Hostess and waitress were great! I have another trip to Bozeman in a couple months and will definitely go back!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fine Dining

Dined on January 17, 2016

Quality food, small plates and normal potions so you can mix and match, great presentation and prepared with excellence.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good time

Dined on January 16, 2016

Overall a good experience. We sat in 5he dining area as opposed to the barx which was nice as we were able to visit amongst ourselves at the table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Bachelorette Party Dinner

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great food and experience every time I'm there. I did request a certain waitress, however, and got confirmation from the host that she would serve us, but that was not the case. I would recommend training your hosts/phone answerers on such things.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Enjoyable

Dined on January 10, 2016

Ate dinner there with a girlfriend. Had mentioned in reservation how it would be nice to have a table in a more private area. That request was accomplished. So nice to know it was read. Food was great. My tummy felt so good and that means a lot! Service was outstanding! Both my girlfriend and I have recommended you. DON'T change a thing😌

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Food

Dined on January 3, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant with a menu of delicious offerings. The food is well prepared and served expertly. The service is good and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great!

Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was great! My wife had the tenderloin and she thought it was the most amazing steak she has ever had (and she is a big steak person). The portions certainly on the upscale side but the flavors are great. I will definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Lamb Rack Special

Dined on January 1, 2016

I had the pork chop which was overcooked. I'm sure current regulations influence the outcome here, but the server had indicated it would come with a pink center which it did not. I also had the meat loaf bites as an appetizer. They were great. My wife had the rack of lamb special which was outstanding. She also had bacon wrapped figs and roasted root salad. Both were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

Great place for a date night!

Dined on December 13, 2015

The hamburgers were dry but had a good flavor. The tempura fried bacon was delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service2

Dinner at 14 North

Dined on December 12, 2015

As ususal, the food was very good to excellent! As usual, the service was very slow. Servers are always pleasant, but always spread too thin. Attention to drinks, water refills, and timely bill presentation were poor. On this survey, to call the highest level of noise "energetic" is disingenuous and not a solicitation of an accurate response. When you can't hear the person sitting two chairs to your right at the same table, but can clearly hear conversation at the table behind you, the noise level is far to loud. Not good for groups; probably the last time we choose this restaurant for any number over four guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Good Food...Terrible Customer Service

Dined on December 10, 2015

I have been to 14 North twice now and while the food is good, I have had terrible customer service on both occasions. The first time I went, I called ahead to make a reservation for my husband's birthday and asked if they could deliver dessert to the table. They said they could so I picked a dessert over the phone. We showed up, the staff gave us the feeling we were an inconvenience to them, and then after spending 10 minutes on the phone organizing everything - no dessert. The second time I went was for a ladies night for work. Once again the staff seemed to have better things to do. We weren't offered anything to drink. When asked, we were informed it was going to be a long time to get drinks. Several ladies ended up going downstairs to the bar to get the drinks themselves. My co-worker had all of her orders screwed up. When someone did put a drink order in, the waiter would come back without the ordered drink and ask if he could get her the more expensive drink. Our significant others were downstairs and their waitress told them if they wanted something they would need to order right now because she had a table of 18 coming in and she would be busy. They had their drinks so decided they were fine for the time being. They didn't see the waitress again for 45 minutes. We had made our group reservation weeks in advance but they definitely weren't staffed appropriately. Unfortunately, while the food is good, it definitely does not make up for the terrible service.

food5
ambience4
service4

Worth another go...

Dined on December 6, 2015

Our first visit to 14 North was during the grand opening, and was not spectacular. This was our second visit since then, and they have notably improved since then. Highly recommend going during happy hours.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Dining Experience in Bozeman

Dined on November 29, 2015

We made a last minute reservation for seven at 14 North and were pleasantly surprised by the quality dining experience we enjoyed. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. No one at the table had a single complaint about their meals. I highly recommend the bacon wrapped dates from the smalls menu and I had the special for an entree, the rabbit pot pie. Everyone at the table agreed it was surprisingly the best thing served. Other good items were the pickled green been strings and the lamb gnocchi. I will definitely be dining at 14 North again the next time I'm in Bozeman.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

all the thumbs up!

Dined on November 21, 2015

We went here for an evening company dinner meeting, everything was fantastic; food, service, atmosphere. And the bacon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First timers on our anniversary. We enjoyed it all

Dined on November 18, 2015

Great food, the filet was suburb done just right as requested and the seafood special was outstanding. Our server, Loren was especially helpful. She was knowledgeable and friendly. She even found the ingredients for my preferred drink, a Rusty Nail. We came early and enjoyed the quiet. We will be recommending 14 North that's for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Gastropub

Dined on November 17, 2015

With separate dining room and bar, 14 North fulfills the needs of foodies and bar hoppers. The ambiance is classy bar chic. They have a good selection of beers on tap and a long list of specialty cocktails. The food is excellent and wide ranging. For our last visit my wife had the scallops while I had a burger. Both were delicious! Finally, the service has always been friendly, knowledgeable and fast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was good, portions were small, expensive

Dined on November 15, 2015

For the price I was expecting bread or a salad and for sure an after dinner mint. Probably won't be back for casual dinning.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great dinners

Dined on November 13, 2015

We aways enjoy the varied menus at 14 North. Wait staff is friendly and efficient. The "small plates" (particularly the burgers) are hearty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Drink List

Dined on November 12, 2015

While our meal was good, I really enjoyed my huckleberry martini and the unique appetizers. I would certainly come back at happy hour.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2

Usually Excellent

vip
Dined on November 2, 2015

Whenever I travel to Bozeman I must dine at 14 North. It was my favorite place to dine. Unfortunately, this time it was a bit different. In general, the food was excellent, the atmosphere congenial, the desserts sinfully delicious, but the server was less than helpful or empathetic.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.