About 14 North Restaurant

14 North Church Ave
Bozeman, MT 59718
View Larger Map

14 North offers a contemporary take on handcrafted and scratch prepared Gastro-Pub fare highlighting selections from local providers when possible. Nightly specials will feature fresh fish and a variety of additional entrees beautifully presented in a comfortable and fun, yet professional environment. Our full bar will feature premium specialty drinks as well as many wines to pair perfectly with your meal. We look forward to seeing you and hope to make 14 North a new Bozeman favorite!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Serving Dinner: Su-W 5:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour menu only from 9:00pm-10:00pm
Serving Dinner: Th-Sa 5:00pm-10:00pm


Bar open until 12:00am most weekend evenings

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 404-1800

Website:
http://www.14northrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Catering is available! Please contact Gannon, Catering and Events Director, at Gannon@14northrestaurant.com for additional details.

Executive Chef:
Mason Zeglen

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a private dining facility located on the second story of our building. Please contact Gannon, Catering and Events Director, at Gannon@14northrestaurant.com for additional details.

Private Party Contact:
Gannon: 406-640-3223x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

14 North Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Montana
Special Occasion
Montana
Most Booked
Montana
7 More
Best Overall
Bozeman
Best Food
Bozeman
Best Service
Bozeman
Best Ambiance
Bozeman
Best Value
Bozeman
Fit for Foodies
Bozeman
Most Booked
Bozeman
Best Restaurants in Bozeman ›

fit for foodies (25)
special occasion (24)
neighborhood gem (13)
See All
romantic (10)
notable wine list (7)
good for groups (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (2)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

14 north is always delicious, great serv ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined 4 days ago

14 north is always delicious, great service, not too long of a wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had an excellent date with amazing food ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had an excellent date with amazing food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here before and were quite p ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've eaten here before and were quite pleased. This time the staff was friendly and attentive but undertrained for this "quality " of a restaurant. I'm not a wine snob but I do know how to serve wine properly and offer a tasting to the person that ordered, rather than just pouring away! The reason I gave the food a 1 is because my husbands pork chop was RARE in the middle!!! He ate around it but had to leave a 4" diameter piece that was inedible. Our guests were buying us dinner so we didn't want to say anything and make them feel badly. Rare pork is really inexcusable. Perhaps the chef needs more training with safe meat cooking techniques, like simply using a thermometer. I don't plan to share this information with anyone because we have had a good meal there, but we likely won't be returning. Good luck with your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Bacon-wrapped figs just taste like bacon ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Bacon-wrapped figs just taste like bacon. Truffle chips are boring - not very truffley. Gnocchi are greasy and not that flavorful. $28 salmon is fine, but not spectacular. Entree prices are high for pub-type atmosphere - this can't really qualify as fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Resturant was quite nice but I would not ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Resturant was quite nice but I would not come here on a regular basis...I live in downtown Houston, a foodie's paradise, and your restaurant is similar to many that I have access to here in Houston...this was a good bye dinner for me...guess I just wanted to feel like I was in Bozeman rather than downtown Houston...good luck with your endeavor...

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was very good, GREAT service from o ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was very good, GREAT service from our waiter, food came out quickly. The noise level was too loud to talk comfortably. Will definitely come again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was very good and we are discri ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was very good and we are discriminating. The menu was able to please both "foodies" and those wanting standard MT fare. The service was also excellent. Kudos!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good and creative. Service was ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was good and creative. Service was awesome! We will go again soon. Can't wait to try one of the decadent looking burgers next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Son's steak was will done when asked for ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Son's steak was will done when asked for medium rare and didn't get 2nd steak until after I was finished with my meal that came out 15mins later after we sent his back. Seemed to be under staffed because same person was helping everyone from outside, bar and regular dining area patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food as always but service not up ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food as always but service not up to expectations and noise level unacceptable

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent Food!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The halibut and tenderloin were done to perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

In Town For a Visit

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Was in town for a wedding but was not part of the rehearsal dinner. Being a Friday night, wanted somewhere that took reservations. 14 North was an amazing find. Found easy street parking (we were an early dinner) and was seated right away. Quiet and great service! Can recommend the Drunkin' Pig appetizer. The Lamb Gnocchi was also fantastic. All-in-all, a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great! We loved he figs wit ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was great! We loved he figs with bacon.

The food was great! We loved he figs with bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have always enjoyed our meals at 14 n ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We have always enjoyed our meals at 14 north. Excellent food flavor and variety. Willing to work with special needs and requests. Our kids enjoy it just as much as we do and always a good place to take visiting friends as we know it will be much enjoyed by all

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great dinner experience. Excellent ser ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

A great dinner experience. Excellent service and great steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, a little pricey.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I went to 14 North for our date night. We had previewed the menu online and had an idea of what we wanted and the prices. We tried the Drunken pig and Truffle chips as appetizers, both were delicious. My husband ordered the Chorizo Burger and was very happy with the spice level. I ordered the Cranberry Chicken and it was amazing! Our server was very pleasant and on top of everything. We ordered during happy hour, so our appetizers and my husband's burger were a little discounted. We were still a little bummed at the cost of dining here. If the prices were a bit more reasonable, we would definitely dine here more often. For now, it'll have to be reserved for more special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Truffle chips unremarkable, but great salmon

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Not sure why they serve the "truffle" chips; they are a mini bowl of just $7 parmesan flavored potato chips. I had the 14 North Salmon and an olive martini, and they were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Our meals were excellent. The blackened halibut is back and it is amazing. The salmon is also excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The halibut and salmon specials were im ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The halibut and salmon specials were impeccable!! Presentation and service were spot on. Great evening with my family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really want to like this restaurant - Inconsistent

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We've been to 14 North a number of times and our experience varies a lot, sometimes quite good while our last visit was spotty. We were there at 7pm on a Friday night. We were seated promptly. My wife and I had wine and ordered salads and main course. The salads were excellent. The main course arrived too fast, we had not finished our salads yet. My wife had the halibut special -- her fish was very good but she said the side of potatoes tasted "old". I had a steak special, nicely presented with the horseradish sauce and onion straws, but I ordered the meat "medium" and it was overcooked, grey all the way through and dry.

I also felt we were being rushed. Further, the server was a bit too quick to push another glass of wine ... mine had about 1/3 left when she was asking to bring another.

We would definitely give 14 North another chance as some dishes are very good and we've had more enjoyable meals there in the past, but consistency is so important to a really good restaurant and they've got work to do on this goal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was tasty and the server was attentive. The drinks were great too. The only problems were one of our party's pork was undercooked and two of us were given the wrong cooked filet. But I would come again and recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great gastropub

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We just moved to the area and are trying lots of new restaurants, and thought 14 North was great! The food was simply unique, just as a gastropub should be. I had the small bites scallops but added extra to make it a meal and they were delicious. Others at my table got the steak and chicken and they all thought it was very tasty. The portions aren't huge for the price, but since they are prepared with such great flavor it makes it worth it. The service was great! It was prompt and the server was very polite. The actual dining room was very small, but the bar area was large and vibrant. We will definitely return and hope to join the happy hour in the bar the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice but overpriced

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

So went there with my fiancee for a different experience as we had heard the seafood was amazing. Not only was it amazing but it came with an amazing price for a tapas serving. Only would we go again for drinks. Service was decent and a nice atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

A good choice in Bozeman

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

We had a group of 12 people, 2 with special dietary needs. Everyone was happy with their entree which ranged from salad, salmon, steak & meatloaf. Waiter did a great job taking care of 12 people & the service was quite quick considering the size of our group. The dining room is quite small, but the bar are is bigger & a lot of people were eating in the bar. Nice atmosphere. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

14 North

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

My wife's Patriot Steak, ordered medium, was medium rare to rare (middle 90% red). her 'cooked' cauliflower was very crunchy. My salmon was quite yummy. Dessert (flourless chocolate cake) was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great way to spend Valentine's!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I booked 14 North based on the reviews and the fact that they included a kid's menu on their website. We were spending the weekend in Bozeman with our sons (14 & 7) and wanted to celebrate Valentine's dinner with them. We expected that 14 North would be a nice, yet comfortable place with an upscale menu. We were pleasantly surprised when we were seated in the dining room and the service, decor and food exceeded our expectations. Our children enjoyed their dinners and we were very happy with our filets. The meat was cooked perfectly and not covered in seasoning. The seafood chowder was interesting with the clams still in the shells but a delicious treat. We enjoyed our evening at 14 North and will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Only cons were the small portions and they didn't hold my reservation so I had to wait for a table when I had a reservation. The food was delicious. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great food and friendly staff

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The manager explained the history of the architecture while we waited for our table and the meaning of a gastropub. This was the first night out for me and my husband since our daughter was born six months ago and it was a relaxed and fun atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foood

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

my steak was quite grissly and tougher than I've had there in the past

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food at 14 North is delicious! Howe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

The food at 14 North is delicious! However, people might not be willing to try it based on its situation inside a new, generic, strip mall-like building. Inside 14 North is designed to resemble a 19th century hotel bar and restaurant which is odd, given the exterior and the menu, which are both contemporary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good at everything but value

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

The service was prompt and just a shade too attentive. I know two older women dining together may not be your ideal demographic, but our visit was intentionally exploratory--we were checking you out. My strongest objection to the service--and it is not, alas, confined to 14 North--is that I detest being addressed as "dear" or "hon." If you don't know me well enough to call me by my name, you don't know me well enough to use endearments. And if you call ME "hon," what is left to call your lover or your child? Whatever happened to "sir" and "ma'am"?

The food was good but a bit salty/over-seasoned. I had the Patriot Steak--loved the onion straws. I was especially eager for the cauliflower au gratin, which tasted great (maybe there was a bit of garlic in it?), but the pieces of veg were decidedly al dente and there seemed a higher proportion of sauce to veg than I was expecting. The food overall was pretty good, but like most restaurants in Bozeman, over-priced. I take out-of-town visitors out for breakfast or lunch rather than dinner.

I've had after-work gatherings at 14 North and think highly of the appetizers, though I didn't order any this time. Perhaps you should offer a sampler?

The choice of "quiet" for noise level is intended as a compliment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food, slow service

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

The food is usually very good. the last time we were there the service was slow- like he forgot we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great spot!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

I was visiting Bozeman on a business trip and found 14 North online. Great staff, atmosphere, and décor! I started with a Caesar salad and had the meatloaf as my main...recommend both! Hostess and waitress were great! I have another trip to Bozeman in a couple months and will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Quality food, small plates and normal potions so you can mix and match, great presentation and prepared with excellence.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good time

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Overall a good experience. We sat in 5he dining area as opposed to the barx which was nice as we were able to visit amongst ourselves at the table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bachelorette Party Dinner

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Great food and experience every time I'm there. I did request a certain waitress, however, and got confirmation from the host that she would serve us, but that was not the case. I would recommend training your hosts/phone answerers on such things.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very Enjoyable

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Ate dinner there with a girlfriend. Had mentioned in reservation how it would be nice to have a table in a more private area. That request was accomplished. So nice to know it was read.

Food was great. My tummy felt so good and that means a lot! Service was outstanding!

Both my girlfriend and I have recommended you. DON'T change a thing😌

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

This is a very nice restaurant with a menu of delicious offerings. The food is well prepared and served expertly. The service is good and the atmosphere is great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was great! My wife had the tenderloin and she thought it was the most amazing steak she has ever had (and she is a big steak person). The portions certainly on the upscale side but the flavors are great. I will definitely eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Lamb Rack Special

 
 (Jackson Hole)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

I had the pork chop which was overcooked. I'm sure current regulations influence the outcome here, but the server had indicated it would come with a pink center which it did not. I also had the meat loaf bites as an appetizer. They were great. My wife had the rack of lamb special which was outstanding. She also had bacon wrapped figs and roasted root salad. Both were excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.