Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About 10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza Hotel

This energetic Thomas Circle restaurant serves innovative American cuisine, with Italian influences from our Chef Luca De Marchis. Because we use locally grown ingredients, our menu changes frequently, keeping the choices fresh and seasonal. The ambience is inviting at any time of day; watch the "early birds" at Thomas Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or a beautiful sunset at the end of the day. Sip a glass of champagne or a cocktail by candlelight on our Poolside Terrace and make a wish while watching the stars over Washington, D.C.

10 Thomas Circle NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Saturday
Breakfast 6:30am - 11:00am
Lunch 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
Breakfast 7:00am - 11:00am
Breakfast Buffet 7:00am - 10:00am
Brunch Buffet 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Vermont Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 408-6136

Website:
http://www.washingtonplazahotel.com/dining/thomas-restaurant.cfm

Parking Details:
Guests may valet park at the hotel's main entrance or choose to self-park in the garage.

Public Transit:
We are located 2.5 blocks from the McPherson Square Metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Luca De Marchis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located in the restaurant and can seat up to 16 guests. Our director of Food & Beverage, together, with Chef de Marchis will create a menu for your group that exceeds your expectations. Our entire restaurant is also available for groups of 150 and larger.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Cunningham: (202) 408-6136

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

4.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

Noise

Quiet

71% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (5)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for a Date (3)
See All
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort by
S
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 29, 2017

Don't know if Open Table is to blame or the hotel. I made reservations online, only to find out when I got to the hotel that the restaurant was and had been permanently closed to to "staffing problems." Way to go, Open Table.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Great Staff, nice selections of foods for Brunch. Excellent value!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

The service is great, and the food was very good. My seat was very uncomfortable. I sat on a bench that I shared with another Patron, and we both marked how uncomfortable the cushioning was. It seems like a very simple fix. Otherwise everything was very nice, and the people that work there went out of their way to be friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

The food was not as good as it was the last time I came about 3 years ago. I don't know if the chef is different or what but it wasn't totally delicious. I was disappointed with my dinner.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The buffet was good with many options, but was lukewarm at best. The burners were not keeping the food hot.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

We went for their thanksgiving special. Really nice people and place! I recommend them highly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

The staff was great and the manager was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Wait staff very nice and accommodating. Food very goof

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We went for the brunch—it wasn’t posted anywhere that the brunch posted on Open Table doesn’t start until 11, so we showed up at 10 looking forward to the posted menu only to discover it was a very limited offering and drinks and full brunch did not start until 11. Service was wonderful, food was fine, but please update the posted menu to state the time. Major disappointment for our two parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent service, good food, great staff.... The Sunday Brunch is one of the best in DC...

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Brunch was excellent. Everything was FRESH! We will definitely be back.

Only exception - roasted peppers had an anchovy taste to them.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Best Brunch for the buck! You take a table by the pool (and there are many) sit down, and enjoy the day. Good choices of food, Mamosa's and Bloodly Mary's, de-stress, relax...

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was outstanding and a great variety. Will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was so so nothing exciting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was excellent but I was surprised when we were led into a conference room vice the restaurant. On my previous brunch visit we sat in the restaurant proper so the ambiance was much better. The noise level was a little loud because of all the people and the wait staff was eager to please although the coffee person wasn't as energetic as the water person. Overall it was a great experience and I would go back but probably not on Mother's day because I'd prefer to sit in the restaurant.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went ther for Mothers Day, and the room was nice, although the chicken was like rubber, but the roast beef and ham were good. I think it should have been $25, not $55

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband took me there for Mother's Day 2 years ago and it fantastic. There were so many tables outside, an enormous amount of food options, service was outstanding. He took us there with my mom last week and we were greatly disappointed. Obviously, not that many reservations so things were scaled down,, however, the food options were slim, the service was awful. We sat outside and had to go in to get someone to come out to assist us.
Will never go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We came here for their Mother's Day brunch. I assumed it would be a buffet at a restaurant. Instead it was a buffet in one of the meeting spaces at the hotel. I felt like I was eating a meal at a conference I was attending, not having a Mother's Day brunch. It was at least ten minutes before we could flag down a waitress to take our drink order. The food was mediocre, the Bloody Mary was disappointing and the service was subpar. To top it off, 10 Thomas reported to OpenTable that we missed our reservation when we were in fact 15 minutes early. The actual restaurant may be good, but I'll never know because I won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was a nice Mother 's day brunch

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was disappointed by this place. It wasn't a restaurant so much as a caterer, and I was not happy that this ended up being my wife's mother's day brunch. We were seated at the table closest to the kitchen, in spite of numerous other tables being open. The food selection was good, but it was mass produced, event catering food. Not what I expected. Everything was room temperature. Dessert was good, good selection and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day brunch. Low quality & cold food. Not worth the price. Nice staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of the most disappointing meals of my life. Orders were botched completely, food ranges for poor to mediocre, service was slow and erratic.

I would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful selection of food, desserts and drinks for the whole family. They were very accommodating and everyone had a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love this hotel for special Sunday Buffet Brunches--there are so few buffet brunches around, and there selections are great, and the atmosphere is chic, upscale but also comfortable and cozy, and the service is impeccable. We requested a window seat and they accommodated very nicely.
We have done the Easter Sunday Buffet Brunch, several Thanksgiving buffet dinners, and a New year's Eve party there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

went there for Easter. Good value for the food. My only issue was, my daughter is a minor and cant drink alcohol, so she shouldnt had been charge as if she was having alcohol.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place for Easter Sunday brunch! It is a nice family place where the service is as good as the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter brunch. First and foremost, our waitress was no were to be found! We had to ask for her every time we needed something.
The selection of food was pretty basic and not impressive for $43 a person. I had 2 children and they said they looked bigger than a child and I paid the full price while they only ate eggs and waffles.
Not impressed at all..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was okay, but nothing special. I ate here for Easter brunch. The service was very good, but the food itself was mediocre. The prime rib was overcooked, the sausage gravy was strange - I've never seen it done as a brown gravy before, but maybe some people would like it. The biscuits were tough, the bagels were doughy. The fried chicken was luke warm and not particularly tasty.

It's just a breakfast buffet with nothing special going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent & staff super. Valet parking was a plus for my family with three small children.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We attended the Easter Brunch Service and it was absolutely amazing! The reservation was easy to make, we arrived early and the staff was nothing but accommodating! There was tables and tables of beautiful food displays that tasted amazing! I didn't want the day to end. Breakfast cocktails were flowing and our server was so nice and pleasant! best part-ZERO Clean up for us. Worth the price for an easy holiday brunch for sure-it's an amazing value!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food for Easter Brunch. Staff was incredible. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch after sunrise service at Lincoln Memorial. Excellent in every way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Friends get together. Nice welcome, after all service very slow. Bottomless mimosas but you got ask for refill. Nice buffet, very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I would not recommend eating here. The food was fine for a hotel restaurant, but the buffet looked like only half was put out. The atmosphere was bad. Very dated my chair was a wicker seat that had a big hole in the back and the walls were nicked and looked dingy. Waitress was nice and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to 10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza for brunch on New Years Day. Brunch was included in the cost of the room (I hope, we will see when I get my credit card bill). Overall it was a decent meal with some good options. The food was good and the service was adequate. We were one of the first to be seated for brunch and got to the omelette station quickly before the line grew relatively long. I am not sure I would have waited too long for the omelette; nothing fancy. The deserts were really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We stayed at the hotel which I recommended so we ate breakfast there before leaving for the train station. The food was good and service was quick just like we needed. Prices were good compared to other hotels we stayed at.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food, comfortable seating, quiet but lively atmosphere, and very friendly staff overall. A very good dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was excellent. However, being in large meeting room with a bunch of strangers was not enjoyable. Thought we would be in the restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.