About 10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza Hotel

10 Thomas Circle NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

This energetic Thomas Circle restaurant serves innovative American cuisine, with Italian influences from our Chef Luca De Marchis. Because we use locally grown ingredients, our menu changes frequently, keeping the choices fresh and seasonal. The ambience is inviting at any time of day; watch the "early birds" at Thomas Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or a beautiful sunset at the end of the day. Sip a glass of champagne or a cocktail by candlelight on our Poolside Terrace and make a wish while watching the stars over Washington, D.C.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Saturday
Breakfast 6:30am - 11:00am
Lunch 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
Breakfast 7:00am - 11:00am
Breakfast Buffet 7:00am - 10:00am
Brunch Buffet 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Vermont Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 408-6136

Website:
http://www.washingtonplazahotel.com/dining/thomas-restaurant.cfm

Parking Details:
Guests may valet park at the hotel's main entrance or choose to self-park in the garage.

Public Transit:
We are located 2.5 blocks from the McPherson Square Metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Luca De Marchis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located in the restaurant and can seat up to 16 guests. Our director of Food & Beverage, together, with Chef de Marchis will create a menu for your group that exceeds your expectations. Our entire restaurant is also available for groups of 150 and larger.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Cunningham: 2024086136x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
94 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, comfortable seating, qui ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food, comfortable seating, quiet but lively atmosphere, and very friendly staff overall. A very good dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. However, being in la ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was excellent. However, being in large meeting room with a bunch of strangers was not enjoyable. Thought we would be in the restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The Thanksgiving Buffet was just right, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving Buffet was just right, with all of the traditional foods, well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The 90s balad play mix for Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The 90s balad play mix for Thanksgiving was on point. Alva gave great service. The turkey and stuffing were great, but the desserts were a little disappointing. Overall I loved having my Thanksgiving meal there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We spent Thanksgiving at the "restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We spent Thanksgiving at the "restaurant". The food was good and service very good. I did not realize it was going to be held in a banquet hall setting. I thought it would be a bit cozier, in an actual restaurant. We were all quite full with the meal. Dishes were simple and traditional. No dishes to clean up, yeah!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great! Good buffet. Excellent service!!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great! Good buffet. Excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Th staff was extremely polite and accomm ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Th staff was extremely polite and accommodating. Thanksgiving dinner was delicious. Looking forward trying their Brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Nothing special but food was nicely cook ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Nothing special but food was nicely cooked and our wait person was delightful. We needed a quick meal and ate in the bar (same menu as the restaurant). It was nothing exceptional but the food was cooked nicely and was tasty, prices were reasonable.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

Food was cooked perfectlperfectly and to ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was cooked perfectlperfectly and to our liking. Quiet night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I do not usually do these surveys, but t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2016

I do not usually do these surveys, but the staff was so accommodating that I feel compelled to acknowledge them.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has a convenient location downtown wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It has a convenient location downtown with street parking if you're patient. Otherwise, they validate for hotel parking. We stayed a while and paid $8. There is a wide variety of food, including an omelet station, and limitless drinks, which is rare for a Sunday brunch. For $32.50, we had all that we could eat and drink. For the value and location, we were stunned that it wasn't busier. Everything was neat and everyone was professional. The salads and fruit were fresh and the wait staff was attentive, but not overbearing, and they didn't rush us out either. I highly recommend it for entertaining out of town guests or for an outing with friends and family. The prices are lower for children, and there was plenty of food for them as well, meaning that everything wasn't so fancy that a child wouldn't want to eat it. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Brunch! Come in at 11am and s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent Brunch! Come in at 11am and sit by the pool for 4 hours! Enjoy the food, the drink, and the surroundings!

The Lunch/Dinner menu is limited, but each item is done very well! The Breakfast is excellent whether you al'a carte it or go for the buffet! Never had a bad meal here....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I previously visited and enjoyed the bru ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I previously visited and enjoyed the brunch .This time the food selection was not as plentiful and half of the food I did try was cold or old. I had to ask for several dishes to be warmed up. The food was obviously not being cooked, replinished, or replaced on a consistent basis . I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellent food from a limited menu, but ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food from a limited menu, but what they serve, they do well. The bartenders are great, the servers are friendly and dont mind a quick conversation, and the Brunch is fantastic!

Get there at 11am, sit and have the breakfast side, sit outside by the pool, continue to feast on the lunch side while sipping unlimited Bloody's or Mamossa's. Cant beat that....!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very appetizing. Everything ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very appetizing. Everything was good from appetizer to dessert. The food was well seasoned and the drinks were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The brunch is quite tasty with a wide ar ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The brunch is quite tasty with a wide arrangement of choices. Bottomless Mimosas, Champagne and Bloody Mary's are great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

During a girlfriends getaway weekend we ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2016

During a girlfriends getaway weekend we dined at No. 10 Thomas for Sunday brunch. This isn't the trendiest place in town and the dining area is more nursing home than hot spot, but we were able to sit outside by the pool area. This was a great value: endless buffet options and bottomless mimosas and bloody Mary's. The buffet featured salmon, shrimp and grits, ribs, waffles, roast beef, salads, fruit, creme brûlée and tiramisu. Because the restaurant wasn't crowded, we felt free to relax and take our time. The service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value5

A lovely, quiet place to talk and eat

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Where I live in the 14th Street NW area, good restaurants abound. Trouble is, they are terribly noisy. This restaurant in the Washington Plaza Hotel provides the perfect answer to: "Where can I go when I want to talk with my meal partners?" This is a lovely dining room that looks over the hotel's swimming pools and lots of trees and other flora - and it's peacefully quiet!! The menu is limited but quite good, the drinks are fine and the staff is accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was fair at best and overpriced. W ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was fair at best and overpriced. Would not go again. Service was average. Best part was dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

They were able to easily accommodate 12 ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2016

They were able to easily accommodate 12 of us on a very tight schedule. Everything was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The ballroom locale seemed like an afterthought ...nary a flower or decoration in site for Mother's day brunch. Service was spotty at best. The food was just okay. Ham was way over cooked. Desserts were hohum. Overall not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Not a great experience.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Really expected something more. Was honestly embarrassed to bring my family and in-laws to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value3

This is the 2nd year in a row we've chos ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

This is the 2nd year in a row we've chosen to go to 10 Thomas for Easter Brunch. As a native Washingtonian I can attest to having gone to many hotel brunches but I believe 10 Thomas is not only is a superior value but also has a superior food selection along with wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my BF here for brunch. Very large ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Took my BF here for brunch. Very large selection . The shrimp and grits and ham were excellent. Standard brunch fare. Good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Easter Brunch

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The Easter Brunch buffet offered so many choices from breakfast, sides, salads, main dishes and of course desserts plus beverages.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Brunch not good

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Poor food except good salad selection and good omelett

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

For a $43 Easter brunch we we're disappo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

For a $43 Easter brunch we we're disappointed. There was no decoration, or attempt to brighten up the otherwise plain ballroom. The food was just "okay" nothing stood out, carving station was very stingy and had several pieces cut in advance..getting cold and dry. Mimosa's were inconsistent...mostly orange juice or all champagne. They had separate wait staff pouring each separately. We would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5

The service was very good. Staff was att ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The service was very good. Staff was attentive, a few hiccups but quickly fixed. Food was good, would have preferred the salads not to be drenched in dressing. Would have liked a larger variety in bread like a pumpernickel. The omelet station was top notch, offering both regular and egg white and a variety of fillings. Would have liked more green vegetables such as asparagus or collard greens

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great good and service, dated decor

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food and service were impeccable. My friend and I decided to split a salad and the server brought us the salad already split and still very generously portioned. We both had the filet mignon medallions and they were cooked perfectly, mine medium and my friend's medium rare. The only disappointment is the ambience and decor. It's very dated and not very appealing. If you are just looking for a good meal and the ambience is less of an issue, this is a great choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice but Not What I Was Looking For

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I was looking for an outstanding dining experience for a special occasion. Based on the pictures and the category under which I found this place on the Open Table website, I thought it would fit the bill. It did not. Don't get me wrong, the service was excellent--courteous, extremely accommodating and prompt. The food was good but not awesome. The ambiance was fair but not something you'd consider for a special occasion. It is what it is--a nice hotel restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Every time I go there, the staff is do p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Every time I go there, the staff is do pleasant. They are very attentive to the needs of their customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Neighborhood Favorite

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2015

If you are looking for a place for brunch, this is a good choice. The service is good and the food is better than most brunch food. The champagne flows and the staff is warm and friendly. I highly recommend this place for a special occasion or a plain get together. I have been here multiple times and the experience has been consistent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Place looke look bad and so the food. EXPENSIVE!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2015

The restaurant look like taken from 1980, the buffet was poor and we had to order extra dishes which were expensive ($20 for kid meal) . They charged us for the kids even though they didn't really ate anything.

we search for a warm, nice place to eat Thanks giving dinner and we were really appointment.

NOT recommended to anyone in any case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

My mother and I decided to visit 10 Thom ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2015

My mother and I decided to visit 10 Thomas for Thanksgiving Dinner. While I thought the service was very good I thought the food could have been much better. It lacked seasoning in some dishes and others were extremely salty. The best item was the butternut squash soup. Besides that one dish we were very underwhelmed by the food. The one thing that would bring me back to this restaurant would be the service. Our waiter was very helpful and engaged with our table. He made sure that he personalized our experience and my mother greatly appreciated him for that. With that said I still don't think I will be making it back to 10 Thomas for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Nothing special

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2015

We saw their advertised Thanksgiving 3 course meal special, and the menu to go with it, all showing the choices for appetizers, entrees and desserts.

When we turned up, all that nice presentation turned into a buffet. Kudos to the marketing staff. You had me really good. Never again.

The food was not bad, nothing special. Pretty much what you would expect for a buffet.

Nothing serious to complain about nothing drawing me to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Worst Thanksgiving dinner of my life

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2015

My family and I (party of five) went for the Thanksgiving buffet and I should have just cooked. The mac and cheese was this weird noodle, oil, and I guess some sort of soft white cheese concoction. The staff was extremely busy and it took almost 30 mins to get another ginger ale. It was horrible. I expected so much more- especially for $45 per person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Warm Welcome for the Holidays and travelers.

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 26, 2015

People are soo nice at this hotel and restaurant. Stayed there for 4 nites and everyone made sure you were personally attended to. The Thanksgiving traditional meal was great with a lot of families and friends in attendance.\

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

maybe an odd night?

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2015

It was thanksgiving so maybe they were managing too many. We arrived and were shuffled into a hotel ballroom with no windows and among hundreds of people we did not know. There were no decorations. Food was good. Service was good, but at some point the servers seemed surprised we were not hotel guests... and had come from outside. I just smiled and paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Good Thanksgiving spread

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2015

Positives: they were open on Thanksgiving and put out a good buffet with a variety of delicacies. And, the service was accommodating and attentive. Neutral: didn't eat in the trendy restaurant, but got seated in an overflow banquet room. Negative: a little whine on my part-- yeast rolls would have put the menu over the top. Banquet dinner rolls just didn't make the grade. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I ate in the restaurant twice while in D ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 20, 2015

I ate in the restaurant twice while in DC. Both times for business meetings.We were greeted immediately. The ambiance was quiet and the waiters attentive and thoughtful. The food was excellent.

It was an excellent venue for a business meeting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.