Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About 10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza Hotel

This energetic Thomas Circle restaurant serves innovative American cuisine, with Italian influences from our Chef Luca De Marchis. Because we use locally grown ingredients, our menu changes frequently, keeping the choices fresh and seasonal. The ambience is inviting at any time of day; watch the "early birds" at Thomas Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or a beautiful sunset at the end of the day. Sip a glass of champagne or a cocktail by candlelight on our Poolside Terrace and make a wish while watching the stars over Washington, D.C.

10 Thomas Circle NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday through Saturday
Breakfast 6:30am - 11:00am
Lunch 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Sunday
Breakfast 7:00am - 11:00am
Breakfast Buffet 7:00am - 10:00am
Brunch Buffet 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Vermont Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 408-6136

Website:
http://www.washingtonplazahotel.com/dining/thomas-restaurant.cfm

Parking Details:
Guests may valet park at the hotel's main entrance or choose to self-park in the garage.

Public Transit:
We are located 2.5 blocks from the McPherson Square Metro stop.

Executive Chef:
Luca De Marchis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located in the restaurant and can seat up to 16 guests. Our director of Food & Beverage, together, with Chef de Marchis will create a menu for your group that exceeds your expectations. Our entire restaurant is also available for groups of 150 and larger.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Cunningham: (202) 408-6136

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Let Mom relax today! Celebrate with a seasonal buffet featuring made to order omelet and waffle stations, carved ham and roast beef, freshly sliced fruits and house made desserts, in addition to our traditional brunch items and unlimited Mimosas! $43/person for adults and $21.50 for kids under 12

10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (7)
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Family Style (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Romantic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful selection of food, desserts and drinks for the whole family. They were very accommodating and everyone had a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We love this hotel for special Sunday Buffet Brunches--there are so few buffet brunches around, and there selections are great, and the atmosphere is chic, upscale but also comfortable and cozy, and the service is impeccable. We requested a window seat and they accommodated very nicely.
We have done the Easter Sunday Buffet Brunch, several Thanksgiving buffet dinners, and a New year's Eve party there.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great place for Easter Sunday brunch! It is a nice family place where the service is as good as the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Casual, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

went there for Easter. Good value for the food. My only issue was, my daughter is a minor and cant drink alcohol, so she shouldnt had been charge as if she was having alcohol.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter brunch. First and foremost, our waitress was no were to be found! We had to ask for her every time we needed something.
The selection of food was pretty basic and not impressive for $43 a person. I had 2 children and they said they looked bigger than a child and I paid the full price while they only ate eggs and waffles.
Not impressed at all..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was okay, but nothing special. I ate here for Easter brunch. The service was very good, but the food itself was mediocre. The prime rib was overcooked, the sausage gravy was strange - I've never seen it done as a brown gravy before, but maybe some people would like it. The biscuits were tough, the bagels were doughy. The fried chicken was luke warm and not particularly tasty.

It's just a breakfast buffet with nothing special going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was excellent & staff super. Valet parking was a plus for my family with three small children.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We attended the Easter Brunch Service and it was absolutely amazing! The reservation was easy to make, we arrived early and the staff was nothing but accommodating! There was tables and tables of beautiful food displays that tasted amazing! I didn't want the day to end. Breakfast cocktails were flowing and our server was so nice and pleasant! best part-ZERO Clean up for us. Worth the price for an easy holiday brunch for sure-it's an amazing value!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch after sunrise service at Lincoln Memorial. Excellent in every way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food for Easter Brunch. Staff was incredible. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Friends get together. Nice welcome, after all service very slow. Bottomless mimosas but you got ask for refill. Nice buffet, very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I would not recommend eating here. The food was fine for a hotel restaurant, but the buffet looked like only half was put out. The atmosphere was bad. Very dated my chair was a wicker seat that had a big hole in the back and the walls were nicked and looked dingy. Waitress was nice and polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to 10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza for brunch on New Years Day. Brunch was included in the cost of the room (I hope, we will see when I get my credit card bill). Overall it was a decent meal with some good options. The food was good and the service was adequate. We were one of the first to be seated for brunch and got to the omelette station quickly before the line grew relatively long. I am not sure I would have waited too long for the omelette; nothing fancy. The deserts were really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We stayed at the hotel which I recommended so we ate breakfast there before leaving for the train station. The food was good and service was quick just like we needed. Prices were good compared to other hotels we stayed at.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent food, comfortable seating, quiet but lively atmosphere, and very friendly staff overall. A very good dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was excellent. However, being in large meeting room with a bunch of strangers was not enjoyable. Thought we would be in the restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Thanksgiving Buffet was just right, with all of the traditional foods, well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The 90s balad play mix for Thanksgiving was on point. Alva gave great service. The turkey and stuffing were great, but the desserts were a little disappointing. Overall I loved having my Thanksgiving meal there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We spent Thanksgiving at the "restaurant". The food was good and service very good. I did not realize it was going to be held in a banquet hall setting. I thought it would be a bit cozier, in an actual restaurant. We were all quite full with the meal. Dishes were simple and traditional. No dishes to clean up, yeah!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great! Good buffet. Excellent service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Th staff was extremely polite and accommodating. Thanksgiving dinner was delicious. Looking forward trying their Brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Nothing special but food was nicely cooked and our wait person was delightful. We needed a quick meal and ate in the bar (same menu as the restaurant). It was nothing exceptional but the food was cooked nicely and was tasty, prices were reasonable.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food was cooked perfectlperfectly and to our liking. Quiet night.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 27, 2016

I do not usually do these surveys, but the staff was so accommodating that I feel compelled to acknowledge them.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It has a convenient location downtown with street parking if you're patient. Otherwise, they validate for hotel parking. We stayed a while and paid $8. There is a wide variety of food, including an omelet station, and limitless drinks, which is rare for a Sunday brunch. For $32.50, we had all that we could eat and drink. For the value and location, we were stunned that it wasn't busier. Everything was neat and everyone was professional. The salads and fruit were fresh and the wait staff was attentive, but not overbearing, and they didn't rush us out either. I highly recommend it for entertaining out of town guests or for an outing with friends and family. The prices are lower for children, and there was plenty of food for them as well, meaning that everything wasn't so fancy that a child wouldn't want to eat it. We will definitely go there again.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent Brunch! Come in at 11am and sit by the pool for 4 hours! Enjoy the food, the drink, and the surroundings!

The Lunch/Dinner menu is limited, but each item is done very well! The Breakfast is excellent whether you al'a carte it or go for the buffet! Never had a bad meal here....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I previously visited and enjoyed the brunch .This time the food selection was not as plentiful and half of the food I did try was cold or old. I had to ask for several dishes to be warmed up. The food was obviously not being cooked, replinished, or replaced on a consistent basis . I was very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent food from a limited menu, but what they serve, they do well. The bartenders are great, the servers are friendly and dont mind a quick conversation, and the Brunch is fantastic!
Get there at 11am, sit and have the breakfast side, sit outside by the pool, continue to feast on the lunch side while sipping unlimited Bloody's or Mamossa's. Cant beat that....!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very appetizing. Everything was good from appetizer to dessert. The food was well seasoned and the drinks were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 19, 2016

The brunch is quite tasty with a wide arrangement of choices. Bottomless Mimosas, Champagne and Bloody Mary's are great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2016

During a girlfriends getaway weekend we dined at No. 10 Thomas for Sunday brunch. This isn't the trendiest place in town and the dining area is more nursing home than hot spot, but we were able to sit outside by the pool area. This was a great value: endless buffet options and bottomless mimosas and bloody Mary's. The buffet featured salmon, shrimp and grits, ribs, waffles, roast beef, salads, fruit, creme brûlée and tiramisu. Because the restaurant wasn't crowded, we felt free to relax and take our time. The service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Where I live in the 14th Street NW area, good restaurants abound. Trouble is, they are terribly noisy. This restaurant in the Washington Plaza Hotel provides the perfect answer to: "Where can I go when I want to talk with my meal partners?" This is a lovely dining room that looks over the hotel's swimming pools and lots of trees and other flora - and it's peacefully quiet!! The menu is limited but quite good, the drinks are fine and the staff is accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was fair at best and overpriced. Would not go again. Service was average. Best part was dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2016

They were able to easily accommodate 12 of us on a very tight schedule. Everything was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The ballroom locale seemed like an afterthought ...nary a flower or decoration in site for Mother's day brunch. Service was spotty at best. The food was just okay. Ham was way over cooked. Desserts were hohum. Overall not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Really expected something more. Was honestly embarrassed to bring my family and in-laws to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

This is the 2nd year in a row we've chosen to go to 10 Thomas for Easter Brunch. As a native Washingtonian I can attest to having gone to many hotel brunches but I believe 10 Thomas is not only is a superior value but also has a superior food selection along with wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Took my BF here for brunch. Very large selection . The shrimp and grits and ham were excellent. Standard brunch fare. Good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 27, 2016

The Easter Brunch buffet offered so many choices from breakfast, sides, salads, main dishes and of course desserts plus beverages.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.