Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

10 Thomas at the Washington Plaza Hotel

3.8
151 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Casual
  • Good for Groups
This energetic Thomas Circle restaurant serves innovative American cuisine, with Italian influences from our Chef Luca De Marchis. Because we use locally grown ingredients, our menu changes frequently, keeping the choices fresh and seasonal. The ambience is inviting at any time of day; watch the "early birds" at Thomas Circle in the morning, sunbathers taking a dip in our pool after lunch, or a beautiful sunset at the end of the day. Sip a glass of champagne or a cocktail by candlelight on our Poolside Terrace and make a wish while watching the stars over Washington, D.C.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast
Mon–Sat 6:30 am–11:00 am
Breakfast Buffet
Sun 6:30 am–10:30 am
Lunch
Mon–Sat 11:00 am–2:30 pm
Brunch Buffet
Sun 11:00 am–3:00 pm
Dinner
Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 408-6136
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Luca De Marchis
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our private dining room is located in the restaurant and can seat up to 16 guests. Our director of Food & Beverage, together, with Chef de Marchis will create a menu for your group that exceeds your expectations. Our entire restaurant is also available for groups of 150 and larger.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Stephen Cunningham: (202) 408-6136
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Vermont Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Guests may valet park at the hotel's main entrance or choose to self-park in the garage.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are located 2.5 blocks from the McPherson Square Metro stop.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 151 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.7
food
4.0
service
3.3
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Fourth time for a brunch, recommended to anyone who enjoys good food and a fun time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Nice Mother’s Day Brunch environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

10Thomas was a great place for a business lunch. The menu has something for everyone; the food is fresh and tasty, and the service was extremely welcoming and gracious. This will be my group's go-to restaurant from now on. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

it wasn't BAD but the service wasn't outright GOOD. I've been to many better brunches and definitely WILL NOT come back. buffet was clearly old food and not fresh. look for somewhere better..
food was just not fresh. asking for things (like coffee, and then cream) from most servers felt like an inconvenience. nobody explained the brunch buffet situation to us and we didn't have an official waiter introduce him or herself to us. it was awkward. we won't be coming back and I wouldn't recommend to friends

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I asked for window seating but instead me and my guest were seated in something like a ball room with bad tables, ugly chandeliers, ugly carpet and no scenic or window view at all. Was not satisfied with this situation at all.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It wasn’t in the restaurant Felt like you were at a wedding reception

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I had such high hopes for today's Easter Brunch. I learned of 10 Thomas through Washingtonian Magazine -- they were recommended for Easter Brunch. So I made a reservation and looked forward to it.

The dining room has a very aged look to it. But I wasn't there to eat the furniture. The Easter Brunch was buffet style with an omelette station, a hand carved prime rib station, and a hand carved ham station.

The omelette was very good. So was the ham. Everything else was disappointing. The food in the chaffers was cold and hard. The spring rolls and edamame potstickers were cold, hard, and had no taste. The mashed potatoes were overcooked and disgusting looking. The champagne in the mimosas is not good quality -- immediate headache inducer.

I wanted this to be a good experience, but, sad to say, it wasn't. Between the cold, hard food and the chaotic parking experience (tight spots, poorly directed by hotel staff, and $17 for self park), it was an awful experience that happened once... only once... because it will NOT have a chance of happening again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was decent and our server definitely kept the mimosas coming!! It’s a decent value for what you get. However, just an FYI, the parking garage is NOT FREE!! It’s a $17 fee to park there and the guards will not let you know until you try to exit the garage. We were pretty upset and voiced our opinion, especially after paying $100 bucks for brunch. The manager reasoned with us after arguing for a couple minutes and comp’d our parking. All in all, it’s a nice place and we will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Impressive array of food for Easter brunch. Staff was helpful. Décor was lackluster

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter Brunch

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had a wonderful time for Easter Brunch. Everything’s from the presentation to the service to the food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great breakfast buffet. Wonderful staff

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Good/Great food. Sunday Brunch is excellent. Great Bar Staff

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Not a great variety of choices for a brunch but every thing I had was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Enjoyed the dining for 10 in the bar area. Service was exceptional. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Drinks stayed full, and wait staff was attentive to our needs.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Made a reservation but showed up to a closed restaurant. Instead, they were serving the full menu at the bar/lounge area. Service started well but at some point was non existent. We were eating late but still wanted to hit some other places. We waited so long for the check and to settle, we had to call it a night.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 30, 2017

When I got to the restaurant it was empty and no one was at the hostess station. The front desk of the hotel told us the restaurant was closed for the night. I didn't get any notification before hand that my reservation was no longer valid.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2017

We had just come in from NY from a long, grueling, road trip off of I-95. What was supposed to be a 4 1/2 hour trip... turned into 6 1/2. We finally found the Hotel. Was famished! I tried to book the nearest place to eat, since we weren’t familiar at all with the D.C. area. I was absolutely PLEASED! The setting, ambiance, food and service definitely made up for what we went through on that highway trip down! A definite go to!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 28, 2017

Don't know if Open Table is to blame or the hotel. I made reservations online, only to find out when I got to the hotel that the restaurant was and had been permanently closed to to "staffing problems." Way to go, Open Table.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Great Staff, nice selections of foods for Brunch. Excellent value!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The service is great, and the food was very good. My seat was very uncomfortable. I sat on a bench that I shared with another Patron, and we both marked how uncomfortable the cushioning was. It seems like a very simple fix. Otherwise everything was very nice, and the people that work there went out of their way to be friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The food was not as good as it was the last time I came about 3 years ago. I don't know if the chef is different or what but it wasn't totally delicious. I was disappointed with my dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The buffet was good with many options, but was lukewarm at best. The burners were not keeping the food hot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We went for their thanksgiving special. Really nice people and place! I recommend them highly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The staff was great and the manager was awesome.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2017

Wait staff very nice and accommodating. Food very goof

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 29, 2017

We went for the brunch—it wasn’t posted anywhere that the brunch posted on Open Table doesn’t start until 11, so we showed up at 10 looking forward to the posted menu only to discover it was a very limited offering and drinks and full brunch did not start until 11. Service was wonderful, food was fine, but please update the posted menu to state the time. Major disappointment for our two parties.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent service, good food, great staff.... The Sunday Brunch is one of the best in DC...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2017

Brunch was excellent. Everything was FRESH! We will definitely be back.

Only exception - roasted peppers had an anchovy taste to them.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 25, 2017

Best Brunch for the buck! You take a table by the pool (and there are many) sit down, and enjoy the day. Good choices of food, Mamosa's and Bloodly Mary's, de-stress, relax...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was outstanding and a great variety. Will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was so so nothing exciting.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We went ther for Mothers Day, and the room was nice, although the chicken was like rubber, but the roast beef and ham were good. I think it should have been $25, not $55

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was excellent but I was surprised when we were led into a conference room vice the restaurant. On my previous brunch visit we sat in the restaurant proper so the ambiance was much better. The noise level was a little loud because of all the people and the wait staff was eager to please although the coffee person wasn't as energetic as the water person. Overall it was a great experience and I would go back but probably not on Mother's day because I'd prefer to sit in the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband took me there for Mother's Day 2 years ago and it fantastic. There were so many tables outside, an enormous amount of food options, service was outstanding. He took us there with my mom last week and we were greatly disappointed. Obviously, not that many reservations so things were scaled down,, however, the food options were slim, the service was awful. We sat outside and had to go in to get someone to come out to assist us.
Will never go there again

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We came here for their Mother's Day brunch. I assumed it would be a buffet at a restaurant. Instead it was a buffet in one of the meeting spaces at the hotel. I felt like I was eating a meal at a conference I was attending, not having a Mother's Day brunch. It was at least ten minutes before we could flag down a waitress to take our drink order. The food was mediocre, the Bloody Mary was disappointing and the service was subpar. To top it off, 10 Thomas reported to OpenTable that we missed our reservation when we were in fact 15 minutes early. The actual restaurant may be good, but I'll never know because I won't go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

It was a nice Mother 's day brunch

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

I was disappointed by this place. It wasn't a restaurant so much as a caterer, and I was not happy that this ended up being my wife's mother's day brunch. We were seated at the table closest to the kitchen, in spite of numerous other tables being open. The food selection was good, but it was mass produced, event catering food. Not what I expected. Everything was room temperature. Dessert was good, good selection and taste.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day brunch. Low quality & cold food. Not worth the price. Nice staff.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4