Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Beer Authority Reviews List

Beer Authority

Beer Authority is a craft beer restaurant, serving gastro pub cuisine. With over 90 beers on tap and 100 bottled varieties , the Beer Authority is the perfect place to unwind after shopping, the theatre, heading home or simply hanging out. Ideally located in the Times Square district, the restaurant is located to all major transportation hubs.
See more Beer Authority details
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(17)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • vibrant bar scene(6)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • late-night find(4)
  • hot spot(3)
Beer Authority Reviews List
Review 1 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

good for groups

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Beer Authority is a great midtown spot for groups. Service is always accommodating. Beer options are extensive. Food is so much better than "typical bar"."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food and service was superb!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for a large group

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went here on a Saturday, during Fleet Week, with my Nephew who is a Marine. There were 7 in our party and we were able to sit as long as we wanted. The waitress was very attentive, constantly checking within if we were all good. The food was good."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Decent food with a view & atmosphere worth it.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good view of 8th with a rooftop dining area. Good atmosphere with a wide selection of beers. Only one problem... Waitress was terrible. Rude and extremely sarcastic. May go back again as long as we don't get the same waitress."
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2003
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just ok

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Stopped here because it was convenient before heading to a Broadway show. The food was pretty mediocre - I would compare it to a chain restaurant. The service was SO slow. I think we waited over 15 minutes once we asked for our check and we ended up literally having to run to our show so we would not be late."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very nice beer selection, a view of the NYT building. Waitress was nice, we let her know we had a tight timeframe and she turned our food and check around quickly. I wouldn't call this a gastro pub per say, but food was good & the beer selection was awesome."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

great beer selection, so-so food, LOUD CROWD

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Beer Authority is a sister bar to RattlenHum, a great beer bar on midtown. As expected, BA has a strong beer list. The also have a wide variety of food, which met the needs of our group. The food was good, but nothing exceptional."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good place to visit

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was good, great variaty of beers. The ambient is very good and the prices are reasonable. I recommend"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"5 kids, on Valentine's day. Great service and the food was perfect,music and spacing was amazing. Comforatale and Aaron our server was great, attentive and on top of his game.
Absolutly going back.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Beer Authority was fun and everything was good, We all enjoyed it. It is noisy so you need to know that. It's not a place for a romantic dinner."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Beer Authority
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing lunch menu!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I absolutely love their lunch menu! It's so good & affordable.. $10 gets you any one of their salads or sandwiches, or the classic burger, plus a drink! For the heart of Times Square that sure is something to brag about.. I come here about 2 times a wee, I just love this place!"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Beer Authority
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
1.4 / 3
Moderate