Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Fresco Montclair Reviews List

Fresco Montclair

As the temperatures continue to drop and the last of the leaves fall, appetites for comford food undoubtedly increase. Head over to Fresco on Church Street in Montclair for an array of delicious food. Filled with authentic Italian flavors, creative dishes and homemade pastas and desserts, Fresco's new menu has something for everyone.


Our recently revamped menu features homemade pastas, flavorful brick oven pizza and authentic Italian entrees as well as a selection of homemade desserts. With dishes designed for sharing and sampling, the new menu allows the opportunity to try a selection of dishes and flavors over the course of the meal. Whether you are dining alone, dinner for two or a family night, there is something sure to please everyone.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
See more Fresco Montclair details
144 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(144 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 144 reviews
5 stars
(46)
4 stars
(50)
3 stars
(29)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(9)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(65)
  • great for outdoor dining(47)
  • fit for foodies(46)
  • great for brunch(36)
  • hot spot(34)
  • neighborhood gem(34)
Fresco Montclair Reviews List
Review 1 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great the 1st time

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great the first time. Group of 20. Places parties like a lounge. Food was excellent. 2nd and most recent time I went with my wife and food was mediocre at best. Not sure what happened but the rest was great."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Be Warned Not for a Quiet Dinner for 2

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"*****FIRST TIME VISITORS PLEASE READ*******
If your not from Montclair or this is your first time to visit and your are going on Friday or Saturday night, be warned this place becomes a restaurant/disco. The food may be great but went as a couple expecting an nice Italian dinner and found the music cranked loud and several large parties with people standing and dancing in their chairs along and conga lines to disco music. That is fine by me but the owners need to tell people this ahead of time and should not expect folks to just "deal with it". Maybe we will try again with a party of 10 and my dancing shoes on.
"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2007
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was great atmosphere was energetic and lively!! If your 25-40 this the spot..."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/25/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/23/2014
 2012
Dined on 8/23/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/23/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/05/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot. Def going back

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/16/2015
 2009
Dined on 11/16/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/16/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Waiter was pleasant. Opened our wine, and was looking to take our order almost immediately. We placed our order, and within 10 minutes the meal was in front of us. While eating, they took place setting off the table next to us to set a table for a larger party. The busboys where banging plates and glasses, it was so loud that we complained to the host who said he was sorry. Next thing you know a busboy was mopping the floor all around us during our meal.
Bottom line is the food was very good, but someone needs to give the staff training in what to do and not do when clients are eating their meal.
"
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for Groups

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Music was deafening - probably be just fine for large groups which tend to talk loud.
Food was good but not outstanding. Service was very good.
"
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2013
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Run don't walk to this WONDERFUL restaurant!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wow, what a great dining experience. Everyone knows that there are many, many restaurants in the Montclair are. Fresco is DEFINITELY one of the best. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were impressed at how accommodating the servers were. The food, which was plentiful, was extremely tasty. The fact that this is a BYOB is an added bonus. There are at least two liquor stores within a one block radius from which to find your favorite wine and/or beer. When we return home to the Montclair area, we will DEFINITELY make Fresco a not to be missed spot. Keep up the great work!"
Dined on 9/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Better Service Than Before

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"After a bad experience some weeks ago, I decided to give them another chance. I'd have to say the service was great and my food was prepared as well as served on time. My waiter was great and I appreciate him for his past polite as well as honest service to me. I will come again but make sure it's at a time the restaurant isn't too busy."
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2012
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2013
 2012
Dined on 10/05/2013
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/05/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The experience here was awful!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Did not enjoy ANYTHING about this establishment! The entire experience was awful! The food was terrible!"
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food great - service is POOR

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"WE have dined there a lot the last couple of years, but recently the service had become poor and slow. Entrees were served late, food was forgotten. It is hard to get any servers attention. You have to ask them a few times before they remember to bring you any such as pepper or any additional item."
Dined on 8/27/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our first and last visit. Asked for quiet table. Sat in center could not even talk. Server had a Nast attitude. Waked one hour for our food. Called owner over,,one in kitchen took off so backed up. Did not even offer coffee dessert or check adjustment to say sorry. Food quality poor portions small. Will not return server had very arrogant attitude. Insisted he take entire order at same time. Wanted to order appetizer first he would not do it."
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/08/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Great food, awful service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We visited Fresco on Labor Day. The restaurant was not crowded at all and we were seated quickly. It took a few minutes for the waiter to bring us menus but we ordered and waited for our dinners. The salad came quickly and placed in the center of the table even though we said that we wanted to split it. We had to ask for extra plates. Our entrees took a long time to arrive, even though the restaurant was not even half full. Once our waiter dropped our plates, he virtually disappeared. He never stopped by to ask if everything was to our liking. For all we know, he could have gone home. We finished eating and sat looking at our plates for about 30 minutes. We asked a bus person to find him and when he finally returned, he appeared to be angry that we had him sent to us. At that point, even though we wanted coffee and desert, we asked for the check because we were so angry at the terrible service. When he dropped the folio with our credit card information, he included not only our bill but someone else's too! How about some attention to detail? We were really disappointed because we enjoyed our food and have had other great experiences at this restaurant so this was a big disappointment."
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poor Service makes it Bad for the Food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The staff was worried about taking care of there regular customers. We waited 25 minutes and finally the Manager came and took our order. Are appetizers came in about 15 minutes we had baked Oysters and Mussels. It was kind of funny that the bus boy that we were finished and started clearing everything off our table before we got our main meal. When we finally got our main course 30 Minutes later which was gnocchi and a pizza the gnocchi was cold. We will try Fresco again but with some hesitation. If we wait more then 5 minutes for our waiter to come to our table because they are engulfed in conversation at another table we will leave at that point because nothing has changed. Our food was cold not because of the kitchen staff but because the wait staff and manager were not paying attention by having the rest of the staff run food to the guest tables when it is ready to be served. Remember great food is always trumped by poor service."
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It was overpriced, was not impressed at all

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Local Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is my second time dining at Fresco and not the last ! The food is delicious and creative . The service was friendly and professional. I had the pizza Fresco and it was wonderful as well as the eggplant tower. My Mom said it was the best pasta she has had in a long time."
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The musis was so loud that I couldn't hear my friends talk. We asked for the music to be turned down and the owner refused to even talk to us about it. Everyone was complaining. I would not go back for dinner."
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Deli

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food is excellent and the atmosphere and location is great
but the music is way too loud and periodically throughout the night the staff comes out and sings Happy Birthday to a patron with the music blasting even louder. We could barely talk to the couple we came with and I left with a sore throat from screaming. I was told the restaurant only plays music on Saturday nights like this. That is good to know because I will never go back on a Saturday night.
"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Fresco Montclair
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Overlooked in Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I've dine at this restaurant on several occasions and the service has been excellent. However, on this dining experience, I was disappointed in the care of insuring my order was processed. I waited over a half an hour for my meal. My waiter came over and informed me they failed to fulfil my order. He was apologetic and informed me he would address the situation.
I heard from the kitchen that my order was mixed up with someone else's. A few minutes later, another waiter comes over with a dish (obviously, the mistake order), he asked would I accept this dish that was prepared. I was offended to ask such a question; being it's not my order. Furthermore, it shows the laziness in simply giving me what I ordered. I refused the order and the waiter apologized.
Then, my waiter came to me and explained that my order was given to someone else (by mistake). The fact that my waiter told me the truth about my order; I appreciated his honesty greatly. He repeatedly apologized for the mix-up and it kinda eased my annoyance. In the end, my food showed up as well as tasted delicious. I think it's time to give a rest on dining at Fresco for a couple of months."
Dined on 8/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>