Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery Reviews List

CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery

Chefbar invites you come taste Calgary’s newest Beltline concept. Our philosophy is simple... we use quality ingredients that our team prepares with passion and serves to you. Explore our offerings of sharing plates, our diverse selection of Old and New World wines, to our hand crafted cocktails list, Chefbar features fresh ingredients used uniquely in every preparation. Nestled on 11th avenue in the Arts district, Chefbar boasts the Beltine’s best outdoor patio with the most sun in the city hosting up to 40 guests. Inside you will find 35 warm seats set in a contemporary setting.



While dining, join us downstair for a stroll through the Gerry Thomas Gallery. A gallery exclusively catered by Chefbar, the Gerry Thomas Gallery boasts a New York Style atmosphere with a selection of local and international artists rotating throughout the year. The gallery is proud to host events up to 240 people.
See more CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery details
99 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(99 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
5 stars
(48)
4 stars
(32)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(38)
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • great for outdoor dining(18)
  • good for groups(16)
  • great for brunch(16)
  • special occasion(13)
CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery Reviews List
Review 1 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 24/04/2016
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 14/04/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/04/2016
 2011
Dined on 19/04/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 19/04/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 16/04/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2016
 2012
Dined on 10/04/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 10/04/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2010
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food at chefbar is very good. Great location and has a great ambiance. The big negative is the terrible service. They seem to have minimal staff that are slow and don't seem to care. I waited over 45 minutes for a drink when there was only two other tables. Great food, but some of the worst service I have ever received."
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/04/2016
 2012
Dined on 05/04/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 05/04/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

tours! duck fat!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 26/03/2016
 2010
Dined on 26/03/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"After eating an amazing meal (Brussels sprouts in duck fat! Ribs in duck fat! Poutine with duck confit!) my friend and I were taken by Colin, our server, for a tour of the gallery downstairs. We then danced until Colin got us our coats! What a night. It was great!"
Dined on 26/03/2016
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 26/03/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our new favourite

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/03/2016
 2010
Dined on 25/03/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We were very impressed with the selection and the quality of the menu items. I am vegetarian and even though there were many vegetarian offerings already on the menu, the chef offered to make any substitutions I wanted on any dish. That is amazing. My husband had the beef tartare dish and found it to be quite succulent. I had the mushroom brioche dish with poached eggs and it was simply delicious. Great wine to accompany our choices. We will definitely return, what a gem of a restaurant!"
Dined on 25/03/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/03/2016
 2011
Dined on 24/03/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/03/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/03/2016
 2005
Dined on 20/03/2016
 2005
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 20/03/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 18/03/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2011
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2014
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2011
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Enjoyed great food at Chefbar - the Charcuterie, brussel sprouts and duck breast were AMAZING! Music added great energy as well. It's a tiny establishment (seats around 25-30) that has a great atmosphere. Highly recommend!"
Dined on 12/03/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/03/2016
 2014
Dined on 11/03/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 11/03/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"As always, very good!!"
Dined on 02/03/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 27/02/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 23/02/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 23/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 17/02/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 17/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2009
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 30/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 14/02/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 18/02/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Just had one of the best good in Calgary!
Excellent service & excellent cocktail!
"
Dined on 18/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2008
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 12/02/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/02/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Brunch wasn't as good as dinner.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2010
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went for brunch with our 1.5 yr old. Chefbar accommodated our request on our open table reso in getting us a low table so we could set up our booster seat. We ordered the Wagyu beef tartare, the prairie hash and the forest mushroom saute with poached eggs. I've had the tartare for dinner before and I love the way chefbar does it. The hash was 80% potatoes. There was maybe half an ounce of of pork belly, and we couldn't detect any of the other ingredients. I ordered the forest mushroom saute, hoping it was similar to the wild mushroom brioche toast that I've had at dinner. It looks fairly similar, but the saute, was soupy in consistency, and lacking in flavour. We were one of 4 tables when we walked in and 2 already had their food. Somehow It still took 40 mins to get our meal. This was especially frustrating as our daugher was getting restless and we had to inhale our food when it arrived so we could get her out of her seat. I'm really hoping that they were just having an off day and that brunch is normally better. I'd still consider giving them another shot. That being said, I've had 2 delicious dinners there. I highly recommend the tartare, the pork chop, the duck, mushroom toast, and the tuna crudo. Cocktails are inventive and delicious."
Dined on 14/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 06/02/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Okay, but nothing special

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"CHEFBAR is located at where Canvas used to be, so the space is cozy and has a nice New York feel to it. The service staff is nice and food arrives promptly and we appreciate that greatly. However, the regular menu is not particularly remarkable as the dishes that we ordered feel like something we could have made at home. However, they were well done but nothing too special that we would recommend to our friends."
Dined on 13/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 10/02/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2007
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 29/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 30/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 28/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 22/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 19/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 08/01/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great potential but just missed the mark

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Went to Chefbar for Brunch after a 10km race. Walked in and found the decor very inviting. Small but quaint place. Place was very quiet with only one other table seated. Although the restaurant was not very busy our waiter was not very attentive and missed many of the basics. This sadly affected the overall feel for the place. The food when delivered was okay. We have been to other places that offered much more stellar food for the same if not lower price. Supper service may be different but as for brunch we will not be back. There are many other places in Calgary that serve much better food and provide better service for what I consider above average prices. Save your money and look else where."
Dined on 16/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 14/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 09/01/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quality & Class

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Lunch with European visitors was excellent family style sharing; they were thoroughly impressed with the dining style, food and venue at Chefbar. Spicy Tuna Tartar on sizzling rice cakes was scrumptious; Seared Brome duck breast perfectly done. Shaun's plating presentation is always classy signature, along with his personal service and friendliness.
Highly recommend experiencing Chefbar.
"
Dined on 08/01/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 07/01/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food & Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My friend and I had a wonderful dining experience. We shared 6 different dishes which all came out individually. We never felt rushed and our server, Bryce, was wonderful and happy to accommodate our slow pace! Would absolutely recommend for both the food and atmosphere (just be aware the small quarters mean it can get a bit loud but if you're happy to go with it, it really wasn't bothersome). We also had a nice chat with Gerry and checked out the beautiful gallery & space downstairs."
Dined on 06/01/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 03/01/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 03/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

All You Can Eat Ribs

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 05/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We went for the All You Can Eat Ribs special on Tuesday night and were absolutely blown away. The meat was so tender and juicy and the three rib flavours were all so good! The value for how much food you get was unreal, and the drinks were really on point. Definitely planning on coming back soon!"
Dined on 05/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 13/12/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The hollandaise sauce is divine! Golden yellow and delicious. I enjoyed my tuna bennies with the crispy potatoes. Haven't had hashbrowns that great in a long time. The other benny plate was exactly to order with no complaints from the chef. Third was just as happy and said the sourdough bread was amazing. Totally recommend!"
Dined on 03/01/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2013
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

EXCELLENT!!! You won't be disappointed!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We've been wanting to visit ChefBar for some time and finally had the chance on New Year's Eve. We really lucked out when we found out it was a 9 course sharing menu. Honestly one of the best dining experiences I've ever had in Calgary. The presentation was incredible - from the soft shell crab in a paper bag to the lamb shank that came in a pot with a delicious puff pastry top. Chef Shaun Desaulniers does not disappoint. A very creative menu. I can't wait to come back again and this time enjoy the incredible outdoor patio with fireplace. A must try!!!"
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for CHEFBAR at the Gerry Thomas Art Gallery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 31/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>