Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

St. Charles Exchange Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

St. Charles Exchange

The St. Charles Exchange provides casually elegant environment that is unique to America, not just Louisville, with world class food and an award winning cocktail program. Please come and enjoy a great product in a space that truly captures the history of Louisville!
101 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(101 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 101 reviews
5 stars
(53)
4 stars
(31)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(61)
  • special occasion(47)
  • good for groups(38)
  • romantic(35)
  • vibrant bar scene(30)
  • neighborhood gem(23)
St. Charles Exchange Reviews List
Review 1 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wish this restaurant were still around. We loved it!"
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a solid little gem! Can't wait to go back!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nothing to exchange here!!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fantastic drinks and food. The Old Fashion was the best I have had. Very friendly service and atmosphere. If ever we are back in Louisville again, this will be our spot. Of the three we tried, St. Charles Exchange was by far the best."
Dined on 7/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great atmosphere. Great menu items. Terrific cocktails. Live jazz."
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best shrimp and grits I have ever had

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Best shrimp and grits I have ever had! Manhattan was amazing as well. The bourbon list is very extensive. When we were first taken to a table the couples next to us were fairly loud and obnoxious. Instead of us having to ask to move the hostess was so savvy that she offered to get us another table so we could have a romantic night out together, which is rare for a mommy and daddy. The food was amazing, our waiter was knowledgeable, and our drinks were very good. Love the historic mixed with the modern ambiance of the interior. If you go, you have to try the deviled egg app."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Yum brussel sprouts

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had an excellent server who recommended a cornbread brussel sprout salad, which was wonderful. We then had burgers with Brussels sprouts that were delicious and I didn't even think I liked brussel sprouts. I guess I never had them prepared properly. We enjoyed our experience and made it on time to the center for the arts."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful, great food, excellent service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Louisville Location

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Chef Rick Allen has created another "gem" for the Louisville foodie community. The food was tasty and well presented. The server (Mellissa?) was attentive and helpful. We'll be back soon, and I will take my food group there as well."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my son here after the Derby for a birthday dinner. The food was delicious, and Dean, our server, provided outstanding service. Dean made sure the dinner was special. He had a candle placed in the mousse and my son received a complimentary drink. Because it was Derby day, the restaurant offered a special menu. I plan to return to St. Charles Exchange to try their regular menu."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Service was rushed, food just ok for a set menu.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Called to make sure ahead of time our friend in party celebrating her birthday had the candle etc....
When we came in told waitress, all assured would be handled. Desserts brought noooo candle.
We went night after Derby, food was rushed, service for a not too crowded time not even close to be being good. Would Not recommend it.
When we complained we had head of waiters come by and apologize but by then the experience was ruined. They practically threw our courses at us....."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Work Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"All of the food was delicious! The drinks are also amazing!"
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2014
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a great night and a great dinner. Our plans changed and we ended up being two hours early. The hostess was very accommodating and sat us promptly. The food was great. We will be back!"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and bourbon selections

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were in Louisville for the Stevie Wonder concert and used TripAdvisor to find a restaurant. We were extremely satisfied with the dinner. My wife had Steak Diane and I had salmon. The salmon was the best I've ever had - not overcooked, yet had a nice crisp "glaze" on the top. The deviled egg appetizer was a treat, as were our desserts."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exquisite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
""Exquisite" in every sense of the word. From the ambiance, to the service, to the quality of the food and beverage program, the St. Charles Exchange exceeded my expectations. I will absolutely return. While I was there I took a peek at their lunch menu and will surely utilize this space for future business meetings."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food - slow start to service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was disappointed on entering the restaurant as it's web-site makes it look exciting and happening. The decor is awesome but it's also very dark and very quiet. Even though it was already past 6pm when we got there the place was almost empty and never did fill up. Even though the restaurant was more than half empty our server had 2 or 3 tables seated at the same time as us and was backed up. He was perfectly friendly and knew his menu items well but it was irritating to watch him take our drink order and then go to a table of six and talk to them about the menu and take their drink orders. We had to wait longer than normal to get our drinks and our appetizers. Food was delicious - - they are known for their flavored deviled eggs and they were to die for! On our visit flavors were Sriracha, Kimchee, Pimento Cheese, Cheddar Bacon and Truffle. Cheese board had the normal variety - - tasted good but nothing out of the ordinary. Burger was cooked as ordered, salmon was delicious - cooked as ordered and with a great "risotto" made out of barley, Brussels sprouts, pork belly and whole grain mustard. Just to try it - - we already had to much food - - we added a potato rosti side dish. It was a tender mixture of shredded potatoes, onion and spices fried up in a patty. EXCELLENT. Huge drink menu but very few actual mixed drinks on it. The Pear Sour I tried didn't taste like anything but alcohol. All in all an enjoyable meal and we'll definitely try it again."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent all round!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, great service and great atmosphere! Wonderful downtown gem, something for everyone."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Birthday celebration

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I received rave reviews on this restaurant so I decided to make reservations to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. We were staying at 21C so very convenient. Service was terrible. Waited over an hour for our dinner. We were stuck at a random 2 top table by the door which was freezing. I was not impressed and don't plan on returning."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great business lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Worked nicely for a business lunch because the service was so efficient. And the food was outstanding."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Lackluster food and service - perhaps due to snow

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I will give them the benefit of the doubt - but our server was vague and detached. The food took a long time to arrive and was no better than ordinary. We've had good experiences in the past - so perhaps they were down staffed by the snowy weather - but altogether a disappointing evening."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our servers name was kris Reibling. I made sure to ask. He was absolutely outstanding. He had multiple tables. I'm sure you can imagine. Dinner time on valentines day. I think he had 4-5 tables. One of which was multiple couples. I can't remember a time I didn't have something I needed. My champagne glass was never empty and I never had to refill the glass myself. He had huge personality and was super funny. He complimented my wife on how nice she looked (in a non creepy way). The food was amazing as well. Surf and turf shrimp...just wow!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Love the architecture of the old building. The Pork Chop was the hit of the night. One diner commented it was the best pork chop he has ever eaten. The drinks are always good. Waiters were attentive. In cold weather I would ask for a table toward the middle or back of the building. We sat in the front of the restaurant and it was a bit chilly."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent Find!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I met a couple of coworkers here for happy hour, and I have to say that this place was impressive. The drinks were excellent, service was good, and the appetizers were spectacular!
Only downer was that the server did not check us in after I told him that we had a reservation. Other than that, great time."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good but slow & pricey.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The bar was beautiful & great ambiance in general. Drinks were good with an interesting selection of house drinks & extensive bourbon list. But all of the drinks were extremely small, mostly ice, and very over priced. The menu was limited in options but the food was fairly good. Nice combination of taste but again pricey. I would recommend trying it atleast once."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food, but service was truly outstanding.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was literally perfection. The atmosphere was quite relaxing, but what put it over the top was our waitress. The service was honestly above and beyond. The attentiveness of our waitress secured my return to St Charles Exchange."
Dined on 1/13/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Different menu!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I had a new light beer from Lexington Loved it ! Loved the jazz music."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for St. Charles Exchange
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Want to give regular menu a chance

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went for NYE and there were a few missteps with the food. Seasoning was lacking and desserts were not good. Steak was tough. Had the NYE Prix Fixe menu and have not tried the regular menu but am looking forward to giving a second chance."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>