Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Restaurant Five.Five 2 Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Restaurant Five.Five 2

New American Cuisine is what we are all about! Sample cutting edge dishes ....New American at Restaurant Five Five 2 means a melting pot of all the
food you love presented in a clean & beautiful way....Virtually nothing
fried & many ingredients farm to table....We feature unique & distinct dining areas ≈ Dine fireside in the Saint James Room....Sit alongside our patio in the Head of the Harbor or how about a date night in the coveted Vintners Closet where soft lighting & Artisanal wine surround you....Speaking of wine, we have over 50 available by the bottle or glass our Director of Wine has prepared.....
If the bar scene is more your thing, enjoy a vibrant fireside lounge with swanky seating offering eclectic tapas & small bites
51 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(51 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(19)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(30)
  • neighborhood gem(24)
  • special occasion(23)
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • notable wine list(13)
  • vibrant bar scene(10)
Restaurant Five.Five 2 Reviews List
Review 1 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/29/2013
 2010
Dined on 6/29/2013
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/29/2013
 2010
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Assigned Terrible Seating in Bar Area for Dinner.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I reserved a table for one for an early dinner through Open Table and was "assigned" a small bar-height table in the corner of the bar area. Worst dinner seating area ever. I thought, maybe they had reviewed their reservation's log and were expecting a large crowd and needed all the dinning area tables later, so I didn't protest at the time. Nope, only four or five other dinner groups came in while I was there, including a single diner who was curiously seated in one of the dinning areas, not the bar area. I was pretty steamed at this seating issue but it was way too late to change tables since I was already well into the meal.
As for the meal, it was good, not great, but possibly the atmosphere in my "assigned" seating area biased my review. I started with the Short Ribs appetizer which was tasty but was served lukewarm. I then had the Seafood American over Linguine which was also good but the white creme sauce was a tad on the salty side.
I plan to give them another try in the future as my in-laws have always given them great reviews but until then, I'm not a happy camper."
Dined on 3/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food nice and quiet and romantic

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place to dine especially for a quiet meal.Good menu plenty to choose from.Waitstaff prompt and friendly.Would recommend and would go back again."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very Positive Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Top quality food, definitely recommend the short ribs. Great service, waiter gave us space and yet was there when needed. Ambiance was good too, generally quiet and rooms sectioned to cut down noise level. We live only a few miles away and yet never been here, but received a gift card for the holidays and figured why not try it. Very glad we did."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We enjoy going to 552 as the food is very good and usually quiet enough so we don't have to yell to hear each other. Unfortunately the last time we were there another group was so loud it was hard to hear our friends talk. Food was excellent and great for the price. We will be back."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood favorite

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wonderful, warm and inviting staff make patrons feel like old friends. Inventive menu, perfectly prepared. Good wine list. This restaurant would fit right in to the celebrity chef scene, but it's located in a quiet part of Saint James. Worth the trip."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Happy valentines day

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service is great. Wine is always good! Impressive portions on the appetizers-try the meet balls on a stick. Main dish was just okay...but we will go back because the overall experience was great. Glen is so welcoming and social. Love this place!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
-33points
0of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

valentines dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"went this year for valentines and very thing was perfect. Harpist playing in dining room, food was delicious and drinks were very good. Definitely recommend!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Have been here several times. Perfect for couples and or couple groups. food is consistently good with menu changes during year and for special occassions. We wend on valentines day and menu was created for teh weekend.service is consistenly very good. One notable is Glen, owner/manager is always on hand..never been there when he wasnt involved. he stops by every table, usually after main course arrives to check how service and meal is. Bar is confortable with bar seating combines with small tables. Highly recommend it."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
-33points
0of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First time visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our first time here. Great food and service at a reasonable price. The prix fixe dinner is a great deal. Very cozy atmosphere. We will be back."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great as usual

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Will be coming back again . Wonderful food and Drink. Thank you for a another wonderful meal."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

So disapoined! We used to love this place.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Starting with the drinks...not great and it went downhill from there. The quality went WAY down. Forget about the sliders (only two for the same price as what was once 3) NO flavor and felt like they were steamed. The pressed chicken, which used to be one of my favorite dishes....again flavorless. skin not even crispy. My fish dish was swimming in sauce (Hummmmm what were they hiding????) the crème Brule was cold on the inside and cold on the top...obviously, they fired the top well in advance of serving and then refrigerated the entire tasteless concoction. The owner comes around but doesn't really connect with the diners. What a shame."
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2009
+58points
58of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

First restaurant I've ever walked out of

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I don't write reviews, and it takes a lot to irritate me. But after eating at countless restaurants all my life, this was the first time I ever walked out of one. I can't comment on the food, because I didn't ever get served any. I went to this restaurant because of the great reviews and seemed like a gem. And you know what, maybe they just had an off night. Here's my experience.
My res was 8PM on 1/17. I arrived at 7:40, a little early so I could relax before sitting down. Once there, I stood at the host's station for 15 minutes before he even came over. I told him my name and he said "you're a bit early, it's going to be about ten minutes, have a seat at the bar and I'll come find you". I noticed that the entire time I was standing there, I didn't see a single waiter or waitress attend a table.
I sat at the bar until 8:25 before I was seated. While at the bar, the bartender looked like it was her first night on the job. I asked for a draft and she said the pipes froze or something and there was no draft beer. When I sat, there was a table of 6 people next to me without food. About 15 minutes went by, no waitress had came to us yet. The table next to me got up and left. They said they were sitting there for an hour WAITING FOR DRINKS and never got them. It was a birthday too, poor girl. The guy came over to see what happened, they told him and he just said something like "well, OK then" and was clearly not apologetic.
Finally our server came over, she was calm and seemed nice, but given the situation around me & the fact that it was now 8:45 I told her we needed a few minutes to decide and then left. I tried to tell the guy who sat us that we were leaving, but he was talking to a waiter at the bar and didn't even acknowledge me when I walked over so I just left.
The food may be great there, and maybe they just were short staffed or having an off night, but they handled the situation very poorly and acted like everything was just fine."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2010
+58points
58of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Resturant that never disappoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Glen and the staff do a superb job at making you feel welcome and invited. Food is excellent and the service is exceptional"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
-37points
0of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Years Eve - perfect choice!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"4 of us ate here on new years eve. It was a special menu. Food was outstanding. Service was warm and attentive. We had a great night with great food and service. I wish there were some salad choices but that was our only complaint. Everything served was tasty and plentiful. The tuna was outstanding! The owner made it a point to check on us a few times during the evening to see that all was well. Nice touch. A great choice to ring in the new year!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2003
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
-24points
0of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A definite gem. Not to be missed.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went for a quiet dinner on Christmas Eve. After being served our first glass of wine, the entire restaurant went dark except for a few candles. Turned out to be an area wide power outage. Management promptly made an announcement that they had contacted the power company but their was no estimate for restoration. They offered to let people stay or go as they saw fit. We decided to stay and am glad we did. Management offered complimentary wine and drinks with the meal. Power came back after about 45 minutes but they never skipped a beat. With the gas ovens still going strong, the salmon was cooked to perfection. They not only maintained quality but exceeded expectation during an adverse condition beyond their control."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2002
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
-17points
1of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were disappointed with the restaurant service and food. After being seated it took quite a while for the waitress to take our order for beverages and food. The appetizer took a long time to be served as did the entrees. The meal was just slightly warm when it arrived. The staff never came back to check on us during our time there until it was time to give us the bill. Supposedly we were to receive a coupon special for a free entree on our next visit. We left after a while and never received it. We will not be returning there anyway."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2013
+54points
54of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent restaurant in every way.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have dined at 552 several times and have always been delighted with the food. Service is always efficient and professional, but also warm and friendly. Lively bar scene. Dining area is quiet and spacious so that you can enjoy a private conversation."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great neighborhood place!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2013
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"we love going to 552 at least once a month for entrees or small plates....the chef is extremely creative and the food is delicious! (bang-bang shrimp is awesome!) the wine list is fairly extensive and very reasonably priced! I will recommend it to all my friends and I will keep going there....to all the staff at 552 I say....great job!"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great ambience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2013
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Good food and staff very accommodating. I didn't quite like the white wine I ordered and the manager was understanding. I got a better red wine."
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Restaurant Five.Five 2
Based on the average of (29) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
24 out of 26 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic