Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Fremin's Restaurant Reviews List

Fremin's Restaurant

Fremin's Restaurant was inspired by the late Lester and Myrtle Fremin, parents of the three Fremin brothers, who savored this area's rich Creole and Italian flavors. From our fresh baked bread and flavored butters to an array of signature dishes of pasta, salads, seafood, and steaks, the marriage of Creole style and Italian cooking come together in perfect harmony. Our team of culinary experts, headed by Executive Chef Kevin Templet, create extravagant meals of exquisite renditions of many past favorites.
See more Fremin's Restaurant details
31 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(31 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(19)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • romantic(16)
  • fit for foodies(12)
  • good for groups(11)
  • great for lunch(10)
Fremin's Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Anniversary

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had a Great Experience at Fremin's . Our Waiter Matthew was the best. The Food was great and made reservations for the following Saturday night, to bring out of town guests. My husband had a recent stroke and requested a quite room, which we received. Matthew so was kind and patient with him. The whole experience was the best ever. Thank you for giving us a wonderful Anniversary."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First time diners

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Fremins restaurant in Thibodaux, Louisiana...Judith and I ate there last night...The chargrilled oysters were excellent! They were full of cheese and spices and served piping hot, and a nice change from the traditional recipe at Acme Oyster House. The special for the night was veal cutlet with crabmeat in a sauce that put me into orbit! It was so tender and a delight to my tastebuds!
The cannoli with pistachio ice cream for dessert was a refreshing finish to an outstanding dining experience...cudos to Matthew our waiter and the servers that assisted him..I still give Fremins 5 stars even though the hostess that greeted us, I think her name was Melanie, had the personality of a broomstick. The wine list has a 400% markup, really guys, there's no need to price wine so high..lower your bottle prices and you will sell a lot more wine...needless to say, I saw most of the patrons ordering beer and wine by the glass...we brought in our own wine and paid the $25 corkage fee. In closing, my wife and I would definitely recommend Fremins to our friends and would dine there again if we ever have a reason to visit Thibodaux, it's an oasis in the night in a sleepy little town!
"
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Had a rough start....then came Matthew!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a reservation for after my daughter's master's degree graduation from Nicholls State. We anticipated that the ceremony would last two hours but it only lasted one hour. We all live 40 minutes to one hour away from Thibodaux, so we had no place for the ten of us to hang out at until our 5PM reservation. We arrived at the restaurant and figured we could have a couple drinks at the bar to kill the hour wait. We were greeted (not so nicely) at the door. They said someone was currently at our table and we would have to wait. No problem...I totally expected that. One of my children is underage (12) so she hung back against the wall since she could not sit at the bar. We ordered drinks from a pretty snooty bartender. It would seem like they would be accommodating since we were actually buying drinks, just not taking up their bar space... and there was absolutely no one at the bar and only one table at the restaurant when we arrived at around 4:10. I gave my daughter a very personal gift that belonged to her late step-father who died last year. She started to cry (not loudly, but she did have tears) and I saw the bartender roll her eyes. Well it took everything I had not to ruin my daughter's day! As we were sitting there waiting, I overheard one of the female waitresses/helpers telling the cooks over the counter that we were there an hour early for our reservations. I just can't believe that their business is that good that they can be treating customers like that. When we finally were seated, we had the most wonderful waiter named Matthew! He was super helpful, polite and accommodating. He was certainly a breath of fresh air during our not so great start. His service, as well as the food were great. I would suggest that they do a little training for a few of their employees. Sometimes people forget that "the customer is always right." They should make guests feel like they belong there, not like they are in the way while waiting for their reservation."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great place in Thibodaux

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fremin's is truly a hidden gem in Thibodaux. The building screams New Orleans 100%. The couple that dined with us felt as though we were in New Orleans when we were walking to the restaurant. Our server took really great care of us and was very attentive and answered all of our questions. The order for our table consisted of two people ordering the ribeye, one ordered the chicken, and I ordered the fish special which was Mahi Mahi. The steaks as well as the chicken were cooked perfectly and everyone enjoyed their meals. I felt as though my fish was a little overcooked and dry, but otherwise, it was still good. We also ordered the cannoli dessert and it was wonderful. I love coming to Fremin's and truly recommend that anyone looking for a great place, should check this place out!"
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Food and Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The overall experience at Fremin's was great. Food was hot and Delicious and service was great. The only downside was that the Bar was a bit loud. Will definitely be coming back."
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love this place. Moved from thibodaux to Houston. I cannot find my fremins in houston so I drive 4 hours to thibodaux about every 6 weeks!"
Dined on 10/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoyable

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We celebrated my wife's birthday here last weekend. Great food and great service. We visit as often as possible, we love the atmosphere."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always a pleasure...my favorite spot...this time to celebrate my birthday. Food and wine were excellent with fine presentation and classy service. Many thanks to the Fremins team"
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, great ambiance. Like a meal I would find in New Orleans, Chicago, New York....."
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

The sauces and stuffing are overly spicey.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The gumbo was great but the seafood dishes with sauces were way over spiced. Not too peppery, just way too much other spices. We could not taste the crab and shrimp in them. The hostess and our waiter asked how my food was and my response was "not so good" but neither offered to do anything about it. The hostess even came back and asked if I was finished eating with 90% of the food still on my plate because it was inedible and still offered nothing. We've been there many times and had steak, fried seafood, and other things without sauces or stuffing and those were good. We tried these same seafood dishes, Seafood Napoleon, and Fried Soft-shell Crab over Pasta, about a year ago and they were over spiced then as well. They told us then the chef had an off night. I don't think he had an off night, I just don't think the chefs taste what they cook or have others taste it. How can they do great gumbo but terrible sauces?
I live in the same town and will never go back unless its for a party or meeting. There are lots of other great restaurants who mean it when they ask how your food is. Freemans staff are only saying the words to sound like they care."
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Fremin's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome in Thibodeaux

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is a fabulous restaurant! Lots of wonderful items… homemade breads, house smoked meats and flavored butters were a pleasant surprise. The lunch specials were delicious with huge portions. Our server was delightful. We can't wait to return."
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Fremin's Restaurant
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Service 
4.8 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic