Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Piola - Toronto Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Piola - Toronto

In 1986, in the heart of Treviso, a new idea takes shape: the re-invention of the most quintessential Italian establishment: the Pizzeria. That idea is now a wonderful reality called Piola.

The success achieved in Italy by Piola has started to spread around the world: Piola's quality is now sought after by discriminating and trend-setting international clientele in the United States,Canada, Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Turkey and Honduras, Columbia, and Ecuador.

At Piola, the most genuine Italian tradition of simple and delicious food combines cleverly with a particular service and ambiance for the demanding and modern customer, who chooses Piola aware of the fact that feeling comfortable is as important as eating well. People from all walks of life and backgrounds meet and gather at Piola, since they are sure to find their own space in an atmosphere that balances freedom and well being with good taste.
55 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(55 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 55 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(29)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(28)
  • good for groups(26)
  • great for lunch(20)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • kid-friendly(10)
  • great for outdoor dining(8)
Piola - Toronto Reviews List
Review 1 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/07/2014
 2013
Dined on 15/07/2014
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/07/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 19/07/2015
 2010
Dined on 19/07/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 19/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/08/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The brochetta with sun-dried tomato is excellent. The thin pizza was so good and tasty."
Dined on 09/08/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

gnoccni please!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to their all you can eat gnocchi night and I couldn't have been more thrilled. I'm Italian, but all my friends were Canadian and we were all equally stuffed and satisfied at the end of the night. He servers basically continue to walk around serving spoonfuls of gnocchi wih different flavours and sauces. It was awesome. Although I can be picky about my tomato sauce (again, Italian) their bolognese and rose sauces were amazing and I was drooling over the mixed cheese and "surprise" sauce (the surprise is bacon--best surprise ever).
Our waitress Isabella was wonderful and I hope we see her again! If you have a chance, I'd definitely suggest this restaurant for a night out with friends or a relaxing date night for you and your partner."
Dined on 29/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 24/07/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 24/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 23/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Would come back again!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came here for Summerlicious - food was divine, service was great!
Pizza was amazing and the portion was great considering you're only paying $18 for a three course meal.
Gelato was a perfect dessert after pizza as it was light and fruity.
Caprese salad was delicious."
Dined on 19/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 18/07/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 18/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Check this place out!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I came here for Summerlicious lunch with my friend who really wanted to taste authentic Italian food. After having read positive reviews on Yelp, I picked this place.
The place was really quiet, so we had a great service from our waitress. She was kind and attentive. I liked that she came by occasionally to check on us and the food as to not disturb our long conversation.
The food was great- from appetizer to the dessert, everything was delicious! My friend was very happy to have visited this place. We decided to come back next time and try their regular menu!"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Piola is right by my daughter's condo and we like to catch up there, enjoy the pizza.
We enjoyed sitting on the patio this visit.
Our waitress kept forgetting a few things, but she was friendly and brought what we needed when reminded.
"
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/12/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 20/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 29/05/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 29/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/05/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/06/2014
 2008
Dined on 06/06/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 06/06/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 29/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

If you love gnocchi, ths is the place to be.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Especially on the twenty ninth of each month where it is all you can eat gnocchi for a set price. At first the portions seem small, and because you are so hungry you can't wait until the next comes along. Then when you become satiated, you won't be able to stand any more. Hard to believe I would turn away gnocchi but at some point, you just have to!"
Dined on 29/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First Visit

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Very rainy cold TO day so very few in the restaurant. We had lunch at 1.30pm. We each had pizza and we really enjoyed our selections and could take some home."
Dined on 08/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/03/2015
 2008
Dined on 29/03/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very friendly service, gnocchi day special was good but some sauces were"
Dined on 29/03/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Real Italian food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everyone advertises that their food or pizzas are like the ones found in Italy. I have looked and tasted at least a few. None come close to the pizzas found at Piola. At Piola all you need to do is close your eyes and taste the difference...it will take you back to memories of Treviso Italy! I live in Barrie, Ontario and I took my wife there for a romantic dinner there in Toronto...a full hours drive on the highway! Would I do it again? You bet...but this time with my whole family and friends!"
Dined on 28/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gnocchi nights are a MUST

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 28/02/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would highly recommend Piola. I have been there on numerous occasions for their gnocchi night and I have never been disappointed. The staff are always friendly, and the service quick. Their gnocchi are what I personally like to describe as 'little pillows of joy' and I try to go to their gnocchi night as often as I can. I have gone both in a group and on a date and was happy to experience the same level of service each time. Although their gnocchi nights are so popular you normally have to make a reservation WELL in advance, it is definitely worth the wait!"
Dined on 28/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good selection of pizza

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Large space with high ceiling could be noisy if it was busy. When we went there were just a few people so we were able to carry on a conversation without any concerns.
Good service and great pizza. Don't know about anything else on the menu, though!
"
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great neighbourhood Italian restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant had a very nice atmosphere, excellent food and service. Mostly pasta and pizza on the menu, had both and they were delicious."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Lovely staff, food needs work!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our server was very kind and the service was speedy. The food however, was shockingly bad. I'm not at all a picky person, but I feel that maybe the Winterlicious menu was developed for speed and price rather than quality and taste. The gnocchi was basically inedible- my dining partner and I left most of it untouched. Think frozen, overcooked, mushy, perogies. The deserts were measly (a single scoop of lemon gelato, and 3 cookies with some jam drizzle), and the apps were just kinda depressing. My calamari was cooked perfectly, but doused in a flavourless tomato sauce. My partner ordered arugula bruscetta, which was literally just soggy arugula with some mozzarella on burnt toast- no tomato sauce or garlic, and severely under-seasoned.
It's really too bad because the regular menu looked like it had some very tasty stuff! I wouldn't go back, but do hope they pick up their britches on their Winterlicious menu."
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Piola - Toronto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

neighbourhood charm

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I were looking for a quiet restaurant with good food where we could catch up. This was almost the perfect place. The music was a tad louder than I wanted (although very enjoyable music), but the rest of the noise level was low. The restaurant had a cosy feel to it and we were unrushed and able to have a long conversation.
We decided to try the winterlicious menu. I had the Ghiottana (sp) pizza with a spinach salad and tiramisu. Excellent. She had the calamari with the mascarpone pizza and pannacotta. The sauce on the calamari was fresh and flavourful. The pizza was very good if you like a creamy pizza and the pannacotta was delicious.
The service was very friendly.
Definitely a great place to drop in if you're in the neighbourhood."
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Piola - Toronto
Based on the average of (24) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
22 out of 24 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic