Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Red Apple Buffet - Avondale Reviews List

Red Apple Buffet - Avondale

Red Apple Buffet Restaurant Chicago is an all-you-can-eat buffet restaurant with a long tradition of serving great tasting traditional and contemporary Polish and international food. Our goal is to satisfy every kind of appetite! We know that even the best food shouldn’t come at sky-high prices. That’s why Red Apple is a budget minded restaurant where everyone can enjoy a great meal.
See more Red Apple Buffet - Avondale details
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • good for groups(10)
  • kid-friendly(9)
  • great for lunch(8)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • great for brunch(7)
Red Apple Buffet - Avondale Reviews List
Review 1 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not worth it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We went to this buffet because we read about it and it was on the list of top 10 buffets in USA. What a joke! Not worth money at all $20 per adult and they actually charged $8.99 for our 2 year old daughter. The food was nothing special at all, and I am easter European so I know the food. Would never ever go back and would never recommend to anyone"
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not Worthy

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The food was very bland with no taste at all. it was my first time eating polish food and did not like it at all. I read about it on the internet as being one of the 10 best all-you-can-eat buffet. I don't think so."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

everything was very tasty and wonderful !!!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friendly staff, good selection of food and desert

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Authentic Polish food with great peirogis!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I visited Chicago for vacation. I had heard about the Red Apple on a blog site of the best buffets in America, so we decided to give it a try during our trip. It's a bit off the beaten path for the tourist, but we were easily able to reach the restaurant by bus. The food was great, with some interesting items such as pork in aspic and tripe stew if you're feeling adventurous. The strawberry peirogis were the highlight of the meal. Great Polish beer on tap was also served. It's a good thing we weren't driving. For desert, I highly recommend the coffee meringue. It was divine!"
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Polish delight

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Chicago is a hot bed of diversity and one must not forget the Poles. After Mexican, Chinese, and French, it was time for this legendary buffet. We were early so were asked to wait for a few minutes after being seated, but were offered soup in the meantime, a delicious mushroom soup! Then we jumped into a incredible spread ranging from beef to duck to pierogi to potato pancakes to blinzes, to stuffed cabbage, to tongue, to sausages, to any number of sauced dishes, to fish, fruit, desserts and...This is hearty fare to put it mildly, but we tried as many things as we could. The food was flavorful and fresh; one could only wish for more room so as to eat more. The decor is simple and homey--this is not a grand place----and the staff is uniformly welcoming. This is food that I would imagine one's Polish grandmother would make, laced with butter and love."
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2004
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Buffet...not so buffet.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Upon arrival I questioned the ambiance of the place, rather small and boring. I knew that coming in, my main focus was the food. As I walked along the buffet, I was amazed at the selection of authentic Polish foods. After tasting what appeared to be everything, I did not regret a single thing. The food was fresh, and flavorful. My only disappointment was the dessert bar, but then again; they are not known for their dessert."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Red Apple Buffet - Avondale
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate