Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Machete Tequila + Tacos Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Machete Tequila + Tacos

We brought a new vibe to Cherry Creek North. Machete’s menu infuses classic Mexico City cantina fare with regional specialties and street food favorites such as tacos, quesadillas and ceviches. With an emphasis on the bold flavors and robust palate of Mexican cuisine, Machete uses the freshest ingredients to prepare every delightful meal. Machete also has one of the largest tequila menus in Denver and incredibly potent margaritas. Come on down for some street-style tacos and quesadillas, huaraches, alambres, authentic salsas, fundidos, fine tequilas, freshly-juiced margaritas and Denver’s first private tequila cage.
29 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(29 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(11)
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • good for groups(9)
  • great for outdoor dining(9)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • hot spot(7)
Machete Tequila + Tacos Reviews List
Review 1 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2005
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you make a reservation with open table, expect the time NOT to be honored. We made a reservation and were told it was half hour wait as they had no tables reserved if you scheduled with open table. Huh?"
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/05/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2004
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food is decent. Great fun some what hidden place."
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sooooo good!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a great time here; fast service, great tacos, and strong drinks. What's not to like? We'll be back for sure!"
Dined on 10/26/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Machetes Should be Chopped

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"For a restaurant focused on tacos, the tacos were very poor quality and almost un-edible. In dining group of four each person left portions of most tacos uneaten. Chips and salsa, guacamole, and drinks were fine."
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Several of my coworkers have raved about Machete, so I'm disappointed to say that I found it lacking. I tried two of the tacos, which were decent, but one had cheese that had congealed to the point of being rubbery and inedible. I also ordered a margarita which tasted like straight tequila. Who knows, maybe that's a good thing for some people, but I only managed a few sips before I gave up on it. Service was also very poor—we had to wait around 30 minutes after the meal before we were able to flag down our waiter for the check, and the place wasn't even that busy. I'm sad to say I will not be returning. :("
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/23/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"we had a terrific time....celebrated a friend's 70th birthday and iwas a fun energetic evening...sometimes Machete's is just too loud, but we were there for a celebration and it was just perfect"
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always LOVE machete!!! Best margs!!!"
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great food!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food and atmosphere contribute to our coming back. The service this time was a bit lacking from what we had been accustomed. The young lady was simply not engaging, it appeared that our presence was a hindrance to her. She took our order and was only seen only one other time for a second drink order....which was never delivered."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

You had me at Hot Dog

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great spot with a lively vibe, creative menu, good margs, and plenty of choices for everyone.
Its hard to share much as the tacos are really for 1 person, but so much to choose from that nobody will walkaway disappointed or hungry!"
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Taco-mazing!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We tried the plate of 12 tacos. We each picked 3 and feasted. The tacos are unique, delicious, and extremely fresh. The tortillas were so fresh and tasty...just made and awesome.
We had a few margaritas. They were all really good and filled with plenty of tequila.
This place rocks!
"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food but cacophonous atmosphere!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We loved the food - always fresh and delicious - service excellent... but don't go there if you want to actually have a conversation with your dinner partners."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Amazing Find!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Machete was just outstanding! All their food was great and we covered pretty much the entire menu with our group. They have a great neighborhood feel and everyone is so friendly. There are definitely people who go regularly due to their great drinks and they are more than accommodating for groups.
I've been back about three times now and still have zero complaints and recommend this place to all my friends when they are looking for a weeknight dinner spot."
Dined on 9/18/2013
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Margaritas and pescado tacos!! Yum, we will be back!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Machete Tequila + Tacos
Based on the average of (10) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
7 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic