Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Mateo's Cocina Latina Reviews List

Mateo's Cocina Latina

In a delicious mix of cultures, the Yucatán-born chef Mateo Granados has created a unique signature that celebrates rigorously sourced local and sustainable Sonoma ingredients infused with the vibrant regional flavors of his homeland, crafted with classic French finesse, and sparked with playful spirit.
See more Mateo's Cocina Latina details
130 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(130 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 130 reviews
5 stars
(45)
4 stars
(43)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(16)
1 star
(10)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(75)
  • great for outdoor dining(64)
  • good for groups(39)
  • great for lunch(34)
  • neighborhood gem(30)
  • kid-friendly(15)
Mateo's Cocina Latina Reviews List
Review 1 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

YUM, YUM, YUM

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We enjoyed our dinner here 110%. The restaurant is small and quiet {it was a weekday night}, but picked up as the evening wore on. Our cocktails were good and followed by a pleasant, reasonably priced Gewurztraminer. The food is fresh and innovative. We enjoyed ribs, lamb enchiladas, and cochinita pilba. Best of all were the corn tortillas!! Too die for. Come live in my neighborhood! Service was excellent."
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/23/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Not a Mexican Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Yes, this is Latin cuisine but not a Mexican restaurant. Great flavored, great service and an attention to detail you won't find at your local taqueria. This is top notch dining with a Latin flair! Can't get enough of it!!!"
Dined on 1/20/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2003
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2003
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mateo's on New Year's Eve!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food selection and presentation excellent.
Tequila choices amazing.
Service was attentive from staff.
GMgr introduced himself to start off our evening there.
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Brunch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We booked a Brunch for 1PM. Upon arrival there was only one other group. The service was slow and the food was truly marginal. Ceviche was fishy! Not a good pick for us even having looked at two review sources. Won't recommend this one!"
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We had a very disappointing experience at Mateo's. The appetizers were good, but our entrees were fair at best. I had the lamb enchiladas which were edible, but uninteresting. My adult daughter and husband both ordered the beef dish which was a combination of beef and potatoes which was unappealing to look at (it was a gray stew-looking thing) and had no flavor. I felt as though we were experiencing the "B Team" in the kitchen as the reviews were good on Chowhound and Open Table, and our experience did not mirror this. The service was good, but, otherwise, the food didn't live up to the price or my expectations."
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went in with high expectations for this place after the reviews. Must say, we were a tad disappointed. Food was just ok - the guac was decent, the tacones were ok too but the entree with the tempeh and the beet salad were very average. Would have thought a Mexican place would have good margaritas, but not the case - they messed up a classic trying too hard to add their own twist. Service quality was far behind the pricing of this place, our drinks came half way through our meal after following up twice and in general was indiffer"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2001
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Warm and delicious on a cold night

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The interior is simply and pleasantly decorated. The wooden tables, chairs and paneling give the space warmth and coziness. Our server was low-key but very knowledgeable and helpful. We appreciated the different approach taken by the chef to Mexican food, with his simple presentations, unusual flavor combinations and sauces carefully distinguished from course to course. Prices are expensive and with the menu's tendency to a small plate format means that cost quickly goes up. Thus, for us this is a place we will happily return to but only as a special occasion treat."
Dined on 12/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2006
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/07/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food but pricey...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointment all around

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"What a rip off. We went to Mateo's Cocina Latina for thanksgiving dinner, it was a special menu, $60 per adults but there was nothing special about the experience.
The service was very poor, we had to wait 15 minutes for somebody to take our order, then another 15 minutes for our appetizers followed by an exta 10 minutes to get knifes and forks... yes they forgot about that...
The food was ranging form average to plain bad. The onion soup was just onions in a watery sauce, the fish was overcooked and nothing to write home about. The beef stew had more potatoes than beef... Well this was only saved by the deserts which were actually good.
We paid for a fixed menu thanksgiving dinner and there was nothing about thanksgiving at all. Not even decoration in the restaurant, let alone the menu which looked like the standard one, only more expensive and with less choice.
Oh and by the way, the staff should really say goodbye when people leave, unless they want to be rude on purpose."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/25/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't waste your time

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2005
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I came here with a group (6 total) to celebrate my birthday. We were the first table to be seated. Seven other tables (two larger parties) were seated after us and ALL of them were served before we were - they had food before we even received drinks. It was a joke! Our server said she was the only server working - on a Saturday night??? We did witness other people leaving, after waiting an hour without water. At the end of our meal, our server overcharged us and tried to get us to just go with it. When we said 'no, you need to fix this... void the credit card charge and resubmit for the correct amount'. After quite some time, she came back and we were assured this error was corrected, though she could not provide a 'void' receipt. You guessed it... they charged us twice! I'm now working with the credit card company to get the overage off my card. Go somewhere else where the employees work together to take care of their customers."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

When you need tequila in wine country!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Who knew there was more than wine in Healdsburg? A beautiful restaurant. Delightful bartender. Awesome habanero salsa, and if it's not offered ask! If we had it from the start, there would be another star. Tequila bar well stocked and bartender knowledgeable. (Ivan is great) Food ok, much better with the salsa. All in all nice evening."
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2002
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Bar and food service was really slow and we were the only ones in there for a little while. Had to ask a few times for drinks. They were out of the bottle of wine I ordered. The item I ordered for dinner wasn't what I thought it was and wasn't described well on the menu. I would not have ordered it had I known what it really was."
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Glad we went back ...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had been at Mateo's shortly after it opened hoping it would be an exciting new take on Mexican food. It was okay but nothing that inspired us to return soon. Last weekend we had out-of-town visitors and had not made reservations anywhere for a Saturday night dinner. That's always a problem in Healdsburg, but were lucky to find a reservation at a convenient time at Mateo's. We were seated outside at our request which is very nice if the weather is good. It cooled down as darkness arrived but we were comfortable with heaters brought to our table. The drinks were good. The house margarita was very tasty and much better than I recalled from our previous visit. We had brought our own wine and it was handled very nicely with a reasonable corkage charge. Everyone ordered different starters and main courses and all were well received. And this time the food had the exciting new take we had been looking for. The Yucatan cuisine works very well with high quality locally sourced ingredients from a number of purveyors much admired in our community and who are recognized on the menu, an excellent idea. Mateo came by and said hello which was also appreciated. We'll definitely be back and pass along our recommendation to others."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Top chef

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Exceptional food, gourmet Mexican food far from the ordinary"
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great as always

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We eat at Mateo's every time we stay in Sonoma Co. The food and margaritas are always exceleent."
Dined on 10/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/15/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2003
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2003
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I used to be a huge Mateo's fan but it seems to have gone down hill. Our server obviously hated her job. There was lipstick on my friend's glass. And it was so dark we couldn't see what we were eating. I am very sad- I really loved this place!"
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/07/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2007
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great gazpacho with salmon tartare, wife her purslane & pear salad. Entree of braised beef and veggies was quite good, but not outstanding. Green veg, probably kale, was still pretty tough & fibrous. Other very interesting items we would try on a return, but we're 110 miles away."
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/24/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

AWFUL!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I'm not usually a picky eater and even more rarely complain about a restaurant. However, this restaurant was the worst restaurant experience I can remember. We made a reservation for a Sunday evening Labor Day weekend at 6:30 and arrived about 30 minutes early. The restaurant was completely empty so we were seated right away. Our server greeted us and took our drink orders. My friend ordered the pear margarita and I had the hibiscus margarita, both were AWFUL. Both drinks just tasted like 100% tequila with no flavor. We also ordered oysters (raw) and ceviche appetizers. The oysters came out half grilled and half raw. Really? Then the ceviche never showed up. Come on! So we are now about an hour into our restaurant experience when our entrees finally showed up. Did I mention the service is very SLOW? So we cancelled the ceviche and started to eat our meals and not ONE person in our group of SIX liked their dish. The food was bland and not well prepared. My friend got a huge piece of inedible connective tissue in her lamb enchiladas. GROSS!!! It is no surprise that this restaurant was empty the entire time we were there. Stay far away from it and enjoy all the other GREAT FOOD Healdsburg has to offer!"
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Rude and disrespectful owner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"When we were charged for something we did not order the OWNER himself and manager were so rude and disrespectful I left in tears. Treatment like that should not be tolerated anywhere, let alone at an expensive restaurant. On top if that we were only 1 of 4 tables and it took over an hour to get our food. Although the food was good, the drinks were unique but watered down. With so many amazing options in Healdsburg, do yourself a favor and skip Mateo's."
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Very nice Mexican food, but over-priced

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great cocktails and delicious food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Mario himself was in the kitchen and suggested a great menu for our group to share. Excellent local wild-caught fish, delicious ribs, fabulous cocktails with fresh seasonal local fruit. I had no idea he was so careful in sourcing. Nice!"
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Delicious Creative Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Mateo's creative preparation of incredibly fresh, local organic food is California cuisine at it's finest, prepared with French technique and a Latin twist ... loved every morsel! The cauliflower soup with truffle oil and popcorn dust was a masterpiece. The cornmeal crusted oysters were crunchy on the outside and creamy delicious on the inside ... wow!"
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2012
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It was so disappointing! Have eaten here many times and simply loved it but something has changed - no atmosphere and we were one of two tables dining that night - at 8.30pm on a Saturday?! We dined there on the same night two years ago - wedding anniversary, so I remember it well - and we had a fun meal, lively, tasty, restaurant was busy and buzzing, great cocktails and wine, just a great experience. This meal was dull, the food unappealing, the menu limited, no atmosphere, no sense of occasion, bar empty and we could not wait to leave. The server was very nice and helpful but as there was hardly anyone else there, we felt smothered. Will not be returning."
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fun place to eat

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We saw this restaurant's tamales featured on "Best Thing I Ever Ate" so booked a reservation during our vacation in the Napa Valley. We weren't expecting such an adventurous menu -- and we loved it. Our waiter recommended the Margarita Caliente -- spicy yet refreshing, too. I also loved the caramelized Green Star Farm Chicken and the gazpacho. Our only complaint was that the band playing in the courtyard was too loud, but I guess we could have asked for an inside table and solved that problem. The chef came out and visited our table -- always a nice, welcoming touch!"
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Mateo's Cocina Latina
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

So many missed opportunities

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Hostess whiffed on pronouncing my name ( it is an easy Hispanic name and this is a Hispanic restaurant ?) . Server had some memorized agenda that he thought would get us to spend more ( don't worry -we will spend but don't need to feel pushed). Food was ok but just bland when Yucatan food could be much more( ? Trying to conform to boring American palates takes away your gift Mateo)."
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>