Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Blacktail Restaurant Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Blacktail Restaurant

Blacktail Restaurant is located in Gastown
137 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(137 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 137 reviews
5 stars
(47)
4 stars
(66)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(88)
  • good for groups(42)
  • neighborhood gem(40)
  • special occasion(34)
  • hot spot(31)
  • romantic(29)
Blacktail Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 07/03/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2014
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/10/2014
 2011
Dined on 17/10/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 17/10/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 04/04/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 04/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 07/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The dishes at Blacktail were sophisticated and delicious, and the service was exceptional. The beet salad was amazing, as was the trout. I'd definitely visit again."
Dined on 04/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

uneasy feel to the place

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/04/2015
 2009
Dined on 01/04/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Larger sized red head female bartender from Australia made you feel unwelcomed, uninterested in you as a customer, like you are doing her a favour ......i will not be going back and do not advise others to go there. .....many places in Vancouver to go too and patronize to have a person be treated this way.
Food was decent.
Ambience ....cant say because it was a Wed and was dead inside."
Dined on 01/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

tasty dinner!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 25/03/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We came early enough to get "happy hour" prices on our first drinks; very nice! Waitress was great; two of us had wonderful entrees---the duck breast was exceptional for the accompanying vegetables and flavours; the ribs were also a hit. The pasta dish--tagliatelle--was disappointing; mostly just pasta, not enough flavour. Overall, however, we liked Blacktail. Just don't order the pasta!"
Dined on 25/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The relaxed environment and excellent service was noticed from the beginning. Ordered the bison tartare to start then the duck and short ribs - all dishes were nothing short of amazing. Would highly recommend and will be back again."
Dined on 24/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

to die for

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"it is a must go. the duck liver mousse on waffle, it was melting good. the short rib, OMG. They were havenly good. the other ones we had were also very good, the duck breast and tartar but the other two were amazing."
Dined on 23/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"From the moment we entered and were greeted by AJ, our night was great. The romaine salad had many unique flavours and our entrees of the short rib and chicken were remarkable. Our attentive service from our waitress Erica rounded out a great evening"
Dined on 06/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Loved this little Gastown gem

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a wonderful lunch there with girlfriends. Beautiful space with lots of natural light. Food was really good and presented beautifully. The only negative was our server. While she was a very sweet girl, she was not very attentive."
Dined on 03/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food, long wait for a work lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was amazing, we had the open faced hanger steak sandwich, the beet salad, the albacore salad and the gnudi (kind of a gnocchi). All of it was very tasty and beautifully presented. Interesting menu design with smalls, mediums and large items designed for eating yourself or sharing. The food did take quite a while to come out, especially since it was a work day lunch and the restaurant was not even half full. We will go back on a day that we can take a longer lunch."
Dined on 27/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neat little place for dinner.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"AJ the Maitre'D / manager was very friendly, sociable and attentive.
Our waitress on the other hand needs a little work.
Food was delicious and beautifully plated.
Great place to mingle with friends and enjoy a nice meal.
"
Dined on 01/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bloody Chop Surprise

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This place tries hard, but...
To set the scene, a pretentiously short bistro style menu, and a minimalist sleek look of Ikea white and beige. Tables are extremely close (your fork, my fork, who can tell?) so we unfortunately heard far too much from our new "friends" at the next table during our Friday visit.
Good swearing requires variety I think! So it gets old pretty quick listening to the f-bomb get shrieked repeatedly by a valley girl wannabe having her first grown-up martini experience.
Anyway, as to the food, the appetizers were quite well done, but it went downhill from there. My friend had the pork chop entrée and it was terrible - all gristle and fat and far too rare. Is pork supposed to be served bloody? Yes, quote of the night - haha!
Chocolate mint cake for desert was also a miss. Very ordinary, slightly stale and dry chocolate sheet cake with a scoop of chocolate mint ganache on top. The ganache itself was tasty, so we ate that and left the rest to be returned to the Safeway bakeshop.
"
Dined on 27/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but could improve

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food tasted good in particular the duck appetizer and the duck main meal. The chicken was very tender and was flavourful. Would have been better with a touch more sauce and a bit of salt. It was reasonable value for what you pay. You will not leave hungry. The presentation of the food was good and we enjoyed the meal. The food came out barely lukewarm which is a turn off and detracted from all the positive points of the restaurant. I would still recommend it but wish they would fix this problem.
Also I was there for a birthday dinner for a friend. When waitress found out it was a b-day celebration, I had expected the restaurant would have sent along a dessert for free as many restaurants would. This kind of attention would go a long way in adding to the customer's experience leaving a long lasting positive impression of restaurant but instead I left feeling the restaurant was not attentive.
"
Dined on 22/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Honestly we didn't have much expectations when we bought a Travelzoo voucher for Blacktail. As a group of 4, we ordered 2 medium plates (appies), 4 large plates (entree), and 2 dessert thinking that it would just be like any other fine dining places with small portions. Boy, were we wrong. They were generous with the portions and each one was so flavourful. They also asked if we are planning to share the large plates and we said yes. When the plates came, they were all cut up to 4 slices so each of us can grab 1 piece off each plate right away.
We highly recommend getting their mushroom pasta and duck breast. Both desserts (goat cheesecake and after 8 chocolate cake) were really good too. To top off our experience, I got an unexpected call from the head chef the next day and he just wanted to "make sure the group enjoyed the meal last night". Talk about service!
Here's a snap from the night: https://instagram.com/p/zbq9_0hhh4/?modal=true"
Dined on 22/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 21/02/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Walking in, we were warmly greeted by our host AJ and shown to a lovely table for 2. The service was good but the food was outstanding. I've had every dish on the menu and have become a fast fan of this restaurant. The Bison tartar and the duck waffles were mind blowing lay good, the kind of good where you'd have no problem stealing from your friends plate, or suffer the revenge from an upset girlfriend for taking the last piece. I'll definitely back for more, maybe alone depending on how upset the lady is."
Dined on 21/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overrated

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We made the reservation a few days before, but was still made to have really early dinner, as we were told the restaurant is fully booked. By the time we finished dinner at 610pm, there were only 10 other guests in the restaurant, and servers were chatting at the front. We have a Travelzoo voucher, and were given a bill to pay 18% tips for the original dinner (not the discounted). The appetizer and one of the entrees were salty. Presentation was decent, dessert was fine."
Dined on 15/02/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Gastown choice

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dined here with my daughter while we discussed wedding plans and we barely paid attention to the food. On the plus side, at least we were able to have a conversation. Some places are so noisy with such poor acoustics it is difficult to have a conversation.We both had the duck which was tasty but lukewarm when we got it and cold by the time we were done. Surprising as the kitchen is right there.
Food was good but not outstanding. I would suggest it as more a young person's style of restaurant where the drinks list is a focus more so than the food.
I would return to give it another chance as we each has the same dish so not a lot to go on for making a final decision. Definitely has potential but expected more considering the rave reviews I had seen.
"
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

So worth it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2006
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Can't believe this place wasn't packed but then again it was a Wednesday night at 6:30. Creative cocktails, nice cheese plate although homemade Boursin while good it always takes over the flavour. Best chicken we have had in a long time. Trout w mussels and dashi broth light and flavourful. Duck beautiful and earthy. Even or vegetarian friend was thrilled. Ricotta gnudi and the tofu again some of the best. Dessert sounded amazing but no room. Service attentive, fun informed, and fast. Do it."
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

slow

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"real slow ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~"
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Glad we tried it

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2010
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We did a Dine out Vancouver dinner. The room was light and airy and the food was good. The service was also good. The one issue we had was there was no French or Italian wine. As I have problems with North American wine, it would have been nice to have one reasonably priced wine from France.
We were at a very upscale restaurant the previous Friday for Dine out. The price was the same but the atmosphere and the food were amazing. In our opinion, this was not as good a value.
We are on the fence about giving it another try.
"
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Despite the hype, disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was forced to take a very early booking and not sure why, the restaurant was empty until about 6:30PM. Started off well and got increasingly disappointing. Ended the evening in complete frustration. Cauliflower soup presented well but required additional salt. Hanger steak was divine- well seasoned. Deconstructed s'mores was flat. The campfire smell distracted from the flavour. Having to put all the components together in one bite was too much work, to be honest, especially with a fork (it needed a spoon). Cake component was not necessary. All 3 desserts we had (After Eight and apple pie) were deconstructed - not a very modern approach. Service was outstanding with the greeting through the first course. Time gap between the 1st and 2nd course was much too long despite limited guests. No official handover to the new server. This person and the manager kept refilling our glasses with flat water rather than the San Pellegrino we ordered. We were never asked how we wanted our hanger steak. Although it arrived medium rare, it was too rare. Plates were taken away before all the diners were finished both during the entree and dessert. She forgot the spoons for our coffee. Spoons were also needed to put the dessert together rather than forks. Although I had already ordered my dessert at the start of the evening, I was asked again what dessert I wanted to order. Gave feedback to the manager and she tried to be apologize but not the most genuine and not a very polished delivery but we really did appreciate the attempt. Saw the chef staring into the dining room for the most of our 3 hours there rather than cooking and leading his team to expedite in a timely fashion. Newish service crew that could use some experience and leadership on the floor, especially on a Saturday night. Need to change out the dusty fake flowers in the windows. Tacky and awful."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dineout 2015

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Blacktail Dineout Menu was really unique and the staff were friendly making the dining experience a truly exceptional experience."
Dined on 28/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A May Zing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had this on my list of to-eats and finally got around to it. First off, the ambiance in this room has never been better. Large and open, yet warm and cozy. Just the right amount of light. I could see my food clearly but you couldn't see my winter pallor.
Food was outstanding. The green salad stood out, which always tells me the skills in this kitchen are just a bit better than the others. Easily the best-I've-ever-had-in-Vancouver brussel sprouts decorated the plate next to my oh-so tender steak and sous-vide roasted frites. I hope I see those brussels on the menu as an entree or side, the next time. Deconstructed goat cheese apple tarte was unique and the least impressive course of the night. I'm still looking forward to my next savoury meal there."
Dined on 28/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Unique presentation

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2013
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love the dine out menu!
The presentation was very unique and the staff are very nice to answer any questions we had. Overall, we had a great night there."
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

May be willing to give this place a second chance

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friends and I went to Blacktail restaurant on Saturday January 24 at 5pm. When I reserved on-line I did not realize it was dine out Vancouver. As we were seated the hostess immediately told us, due to dine out Vancouver, we had 90 minutes. Not the best first impression. Normally, we stay a couple of hours at least, and start with cocktails etc. Due to this, we felt rushed, and ordered quickly. We did not choose the dine out Vancouver choices. The staff were attentive, almost too attentive, slightly hovering. Again, felt rushed. The beet salad starter was good, however, the Flying Pig has the best beet salad in this area. My seafood entrée was okay, tasted really good, but would have been better, if it had been served hot, it was lukewarm. We did tell the server this, to feedback to the kitchen. The wine selections were decent. No complimentary bread, which we normally receive at other restaurants in the area. Due to the time restriction, we didn't have time to order dessert either.
Our overall opinion was that it was an okay place, and we would be willing to give it another chance, not during dine out Vancouver.
However, our main concern was the place had no atmosphere whatsoever!. I have been to many of the restaurants in Gastown, such as The Flying Pig, Pourhouse, L'Abattoir, Chambar, Salt, etc, and they all have a much better ambience/atmosphere than Blacktail.
"
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"the food was exceptional!loved it"
Dined on 22/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

GET YOUR BOOTY TO BLACKTAIL

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"the food was amazing, the cocktails were off the charts good and the service was great. Loved the ambiance of the place, it was light and happy. The manager took time to chat to us before we left and definitely made us feel like we were valued customers. We will definitely be back and will spread the word about this wonderful restaurant. Can't wait for brunch on the patio!"
Dined on 21/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hidden Gem of Vancouver

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 21/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Found the food was amazing and unique. The service was on point. Server and Sommelier were very knowledgeable."
Dined on 21/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

fantastic find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I'd read that Blacktail Florist was noted for their cocktails which is what inspired me to take my birthday party there. I hadn't heard anything about how great their food was, but I was not disappointed. Amazing food - really special. Probably one of the most flavourful meals I've had in a very long time. Blacktail is at a higher price point than some other restaurants in the area, but I felt that the money spent was absolutely worth it. I would return in a heartbeat."
Dined on 17/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Superb spot. Best slow cooked short rib I have ever had. My mouth is watering thinking about them writing this review. I dine out a lot in Gastown and Vancouver overall and was definitely impressed with service labout drinks and food. Thanks"
Dined on 17/01/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was blah. Exvellent service and ambiance

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Salty steak for dine out. Super small portion. Soup was blahh mediocre. Brownie was good but not superb. Staff was amazing. Place looks great. Friendly people amazing service. I was happy to leave cause of the people."
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The steak was amazing!!! Very delicious and really good pairings and sauces, the chicken I didn't really like, too tender for my taste, I prefer firmer poultry. Service was just excellent! The best! As soon as I told my server I didn't like the chicken she immediately replaced it with the steak, was really nice and attentive the whole evening. Decor is very unique with all the flowers, tiled floor, wood theme. It was a fun night out."
Dined on 16/01/2015
 2013
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Amazing food, bland space

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Blacktail Florist stands up to the hype for the absolute amazing dining. We had 5 dishes and loved them all! Our issue was how freezing the restaurant was. We moved from the bar to a table near the windows and back to the bar - and I was so cold the entire time I had to wrap my boyfriends winter coat around my legs. It unfortunately became quite distracting and therefore we didn't enjoy our evening as much as I would have liked. Ambience is a big part of an evening out - and the dull decor combined with the cold is why I can't give Blacktail Florist a complete glowing review."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Foodie haven but inconsistent

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our recent dining experience at the Blacktail was overall very good, but a bit bumpy. First of all, if you want a quiet spot for a special date, this is not your place. It appears to be popular with a younger crowd and the evening we were there, a boisterous table of twelve's merriment was echoed amongst the hard glass and wood surfaces of the restaurant, necessitating us to move tables. However, the Blacktail's commitment to locally sourced food and wines is commendable. Unfortunately, our server required a bit more product knowledge when it came to the wines (they are not listed by varietal). My partner and I enjoyed our main meals from local farms. But here again, the inconsistency between the portions was glaring: we both ordered "large" plates (i.e. entrée size), but hers was definitely "small", so small in fact that she had to order more food. I hope that the Blacktail is able to overcome these deficiencies and I would certainly be willing to try it again."
Dined on 21/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fantastic Food & Service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a great meal and the service was professional yet personal - so nice to get such great service. It was a fun evening, we highly recommend it. My only quibble is that maybe their cocktails need some tweaking - I tried a few and generally found them to be bit off in terms of flavour combos (I think some of the ingredients had no business being in the same glass together), although their rendition of a French 75 (the Blacktail 75) was very good. That said, my dining companion didn't seem to mind them too much.
After dinner, we went downstairs to their small bar area, but I think the downstairs bar needs a bit of a reno so it's a bit more ambient (a lot of wall to wall white tiles - it's a tad institutional) but the window onto the street makes for interesting viewing. Again, great service and friendly staff makes Blacktail a winner."
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great place. One cocktail in particular was spectacular. Food was imaginative and well-executed.service was welcoming and professional."
Dined on 18/12/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A foodie's favourite

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2011
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our family of foodies shared bison tartar, rabbit, the most interesting tuna dish, oysters and several other delicious items from the menu. We enjoyed both the presentation and unique combinations. Portions were good and service was excellent."
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Blacktail Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hard to find, but has exceptionally good food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The restaurant is a bit hard to fine as it's up on the 2nd floor and there are few Black-something restaurants in the area. However, I met three friends for lunch there and we all enjoyed the food. It's has a modern, West Coast interior and is very quiet - so you can actually have a great conversation. The menu is interesting and the meal was exceptionally well done. I'm definitely going back."
Dined on 28/11/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Blacktail Restaurant
Based on the average of (96) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
72 out of 81 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic