Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Museum Tavern Reviews List

Museum Tavern

Museum Tavern is a classic American styled tavern. We offer traditional fare with a focus on fresh local ingredients. Our ode to the great American bar is fully stocked with house-made, classic, and oak aged cocktails, as well as a lengthy list of single malt whiskeys. We are located at 208 Bloor St. W., on the 2nd floor, directly across from the Royal Ontario Museum and the Royal Conservatory of Music. Elevators may be accessed in the lobby of our building.
See more Museum Tavern details
109 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(109 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
5 stars
(30)
4 stars
(62)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(50)
  • neighborhood gem(45)
  • great for lunch(31)
  • good for groups(28)
  • vibrant bar scene(21)
  • hot spot(18)
Museum Tavern Reviews List
Review 1 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/10/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 27/03/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 24/09/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 18/02/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First Time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great and so was the service. I had the tofu burger and it was very good,and my wife had the tuna cones and enjoyed them as well. I would recommend to friends."
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/04/2015
 2007
Dined on 28/04/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 28/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 25/04/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Prix fixe just right

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2009
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had the soup of the day and a small main both of which were on the lunch prix fixe. The quantities were just right and they both tasted great. As with most prix fixes, there were no substitutions allowed. A great beer and wine list and typical pub atmosphere. I'd go again."
Dined on 27/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything we had was excellent,the lobster roll ,the sausage and the tofo burger."
Dined on 25/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

I like it for the Stake Frites -

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 25/04/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 25/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 23/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 14/04/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 14/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was our fourth visit, Food very good, nice atmosphere, courteous service. We love the steak and fritters and fish and chips.
This time we had the raspberry and lemon custard for dessert it was fabulous.
"
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Choice of food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The flat iron steak was very good as was the hamburger. The fish and chips were greasy and the batter was not crisp - very disappointing.
The muskoka beer and the Guiness hit the spot. Very courteous and efficient staff. Close and well placed for those attending operas at Koerner Hall. Management appreciated the feedback and responded appropriately.
"
Dined on 20/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic Time

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 13/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 13/03/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Me and my GF celebrated our five year anniversary here. We wanted to have a fun night out centered around a great meal. Museum Tavern provided much more than that! Great service and phenomenal food! I'd highly recommend it for a great time!"
Dined on 13/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great spot near Yorkville

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had the vegan chop and it was delicious. Great atmosphere, servers were polite and adequately attentive. My friend brought her baby and they did accommodate us even though the dining room is tight for space in the winter."
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

amazing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food, drinks and especially the service was absolutely incredible! Can't wait to come back!"
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Little Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is a great spot to grab a bite and/or enjoy some fine scotch/cocktails. Went there before a show at Koerner Hall based solely on a Google search of what was nearby and was very pleasantly surprised. Loved the ambiance - very intimate and they have a great bar area. The service was very good. I had the creole crab cakes for an appetizer and the house crafted game sausage with spaetzle for my main. Both dishes has a nice subtle heat to them. The spaetzle was cooked perfectly and paired very nicely with the sausage, caramelized onions and spinach. I would definitely recommend both. I also enjoyed two of their barrel aged cocktails - and Old Fashioned and a Sazerac (this was the only snafu of the the night as I had ordered a Negroni, but really who can complain about a barrel aged Sazerac). They also have an impressive list of scotches will I will have to enjoy next time. I hope to be back to this little gem many times."
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

FOOD

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife is originally from Nova Scotia , the lobster roll is what caught her eye . I had never had one and also ordered the same . The meal was delicious and met her approval ."
Dined on 03/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friendly service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My group of four had a reservation for dinner after seeing an exhibit at the ROM. Our visit at the ROM finished earlier than expected and upon calling the restaurant to see if we could come earlier, Bill, the manager, was so helpfull and was able to seat us early. The food was great, PEI MUSSELS = YUMMY, service good, and ambiance lovely. We will visit again."
Dined on 30/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Been to Museum Tavern many times

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2013
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great cocktail menu. High-end "pub food"; chef-ly variants on well-loved classics. Always good service."
Dined on 27/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The service was attentive and friendly.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We chose this restaurant as it is very close to the ROM where we visited that day. The food was good, typical pub food. Service was great."
Dined on 24/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Can't believe I hadn't been before

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I've been living in the neighborhood for years and didn't know about this gem of a restaurant. Dropped in last Saturday and the place was packed and couldn't get a table so I booked a reservation. It was a Wednesday and again, packed!
Food was excellent. I had the Aztec Salad and a soup for starters. Both were delicious. The salad was a good size that I couldn't finish it was that big. Very tasty and perfect for vegetarians (I'm not a vegetarian but I thought it looked really good on the menu so decided to go with it...glad I did!).
My friend had the tuna burger. We were drooling as the plate hit the table. Generous filet cooked to perfection accompanied by a ton of THE BEST fries and slaw.
We both had a glass of wine...kind of pricey per glass considering you could probably buy the bottle at the LCBO for the a few bucks more but the prices were compatible to any other restaurant in Toronto.
Service was excellent and timing good.
Only not-so-positive was the noise level. It is loud there! If you like a good buzz the n its a good place to go."
Dined on 21/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Ignored

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were completely ignored for close to 20 minutes. Our waiter disappeared and the other staff couldn't have cared less, including being surly to where I had to speak up about how poor it was once our waiter finally returned. I have been here in the past and had good service, this experience was so poor I won't be back. They acknowledged how bad our service was by taking 50% off the bill. I wanted a nice dinner, not a cheap one!"
Dined on 20/01/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Eatery

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our third visit to the Museum Tavern on Bloor, and we were not disappointed. We had reservations for 6 p.m. and when we arrived, the place was already full! Food was excellent as was the service. Great martinis and a good wine list. We will go back again!"
Dined on 17/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This is my go-to place, and it should be yours too

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I can not say enough good things about this place. It is my go-to spot for client lunches, after work drinks and meeting up for friends for dinner. The barrel aged cocktails are fantastic and any trip here almost screams out for a classic cocktail. Servers are wonderful, and very knowledgeable. Everything on the menu is good, but I personally can not get enough of the mushroom pierogies or the elk sliders. Both are phenomenal. The kitchen hand-grinds their mince to order, so the elk sliders can be done to your liking...get them medium at least. You'll thank me. ohhhhh how you'll thank me.
The only thing this fine establishment should consider revamping is their wine list. With so much care and attention paid to everything else the wine list is lacking in comparison.
"
Dined on 19/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Mixed night

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had an alright dinner with a friend and a good conversation and dinner. The dinner was great in the last part of the evening. The time spent with the person was the best part. Good evening at the Museum Tavern. The server was attentive and good for the most part throughout the evening."
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We like the Museum Tavern because the food is good, service is reliable, and we can have a fine meal before we go to Koerner Hall to enjoy a concert!"
Dined on 09/01/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun and delicious

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is a fun restaurant! Great menu - have had the lobster roll and the cheeseburger; both were awesome. Everything that others have ordered has looked amazing - and they said it was great."
Dined on 06/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food was great, but tables too close for comfort!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was stellar and the cocktails were yummy.
However, the tables are WAY TOO CLOSE together making it awkward to have a conversation or in some cases to even sit comfortably without banging your chair into the next table or to get in-and-out of your seat at all even slightly gracefully. This truly is my biggest pet peeve with restaurants. Museum Tavern needs to stop trying to cram as many patrons in to the restaurant as possible and remove one table from each section to make dining more comfortable for their customers."
Dined on 22/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre-concert Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our second visit for dinner pre concert at Koerner Hall. Service was very good, with consideration for our need to be out for the concert. Food was the steak dinner...both our meals were done exactly as requested and were delicious. Wine was fine. Dessert...the chocolate truffle cake with raspberry sauce...was 'melt in your mouth' delicious. There was a fairly high noise level, but most patrons there were going on to the concert, and all seemed to be in a cheerful, festive mood. So, the noise was of happy diners and certainly did not distract in our night out. Thanks for a great dinner...we will be back!"
Dined on 17/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot for food and drinks

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We love their specialty drinks. We especially love their sazerac made with their own barrel aged whiskey.
The food is innovative and delicious. Great appetizers like crab cakes and duck buns.
"
Dined on 15/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent place in a great location.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I've been to Museum Tavern a few times now - it's in a great location and it is a friendly, upbeat environment but can be a bit noisy. The food is always decent - not spectacular but good and something for everyone. The servers have always been friendly and helpful but it can be slow.
I would recommend Museum Tavern for a small bite or drink with friends.
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The music was a bit loud.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Considering that we were there for lunch on Saturday, I found the music a bit loud and "wild" for this time of day. The servings are quite big - less fries (although extremely delicious) would mean less waste. On a previous visit, I had the "Game sausage with spatzle", unbeliveably good, but way too much for one person. Maybe cut down on the size of some entries... The "Hearts of romaine" is absolutely sinful, but again way too large for one person - luckily we shared this appetizer!
Great food, great drinks!"
Dined on 06/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

B Day Lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I booked on line a lunch for my sisters bday and asked to be seated away from the front door- of course that's where I was going to be seated until I said no- Service was good, food good, but nothing outstanding but I luv the restaurant and will be back"
Dined on 05/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Museum Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Highly Recommended!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Museum Tavern was suggested by a friend in Toronto as a place to try. He was very right: excellent service and food. Museum's menu is unusual and varied - not huge - and both appetizer and entree were terrific: well spiced mushroom pirogi followed by wild game sausage. In addition recommended wines were delicious with each course. When I am back in Toronto I will return."
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Museum Tavern
Based on the average of (65) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
59 out of 59 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic