Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Spill the Wine Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Spill the Wine

Spill the Wine is recently re-located to the Uptown, Lynn Lake neighborhood! Recently voted best wine bar in Minneapolis/St.Paul magazine, we offer a New American small plates inspired menu. Our wine list has a regional focus with over 30 by the glass options and several wine flights to try each month.

Please ask about our wine club during your next visit, 8 free glasses of wine ($25), one per visit!
21 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(21 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(3)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(8)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • notable wine list(7)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • special occasion(4)
  • great for brunch(3)
Spill the Wine Reviews List
Review 1 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/06/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/06/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was awesome. Service was just okay. The friendliness of the hostess made up for the slow service. We' will definitely go back again"
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

mediocre food with horrible customer service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Don't waste your time or money - go somewhere else."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Food but Cold Atmosphere

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Went to brunch with a group of 5. They have decorated the restaurant nicely and the food we got was great. I would highly recommend the Chili Braised Pork Burrito. The problem was that our table was in the middle of 2 doors that were being used constantly and blowing in freezing cold air onto us. Made it uncomfortable to sit there and it didn't help that the coffee was brought to the table in a carafe that had a wide open top and your coffee was cold in minutes. I would go back in the summer but I won't be back in the winter until they address the entry points and controlling the temperature for guests."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceeded our expectations

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We would highly recommend Spill the Wine to our friends and colleagues. The gnocchi is a must, and the three salads standout. Every plate was outstanding, some required a second order."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor Service and Dishonest Staff

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I booked a reservation for 14 people to celebrate the 30th birthday of two friends. We were surprised when each round of mimosas took 30-45 minutes to arrive, and some people at the table could barely eat their food because the taste was so poor (the kale benedict seemed like the worst). We watched as our food sat ready to come to the table, but the food runner just stood and looked at it instead of bringing it to our table.
However, the most offensive part came when I later checked my credit card and I saw that the restaurant added additional tip that I didn't leave. Since we were a large group, gratuity was already included. As I mentioned, service was incredibly poor, so we didn't leave extra tip on top of what was added automatically. I noticed that the server went in and added an additional 20% tip, and charged my credit card that new amount (and not what I authorized). Numerous other people at my table had the same thing happen.
This is completely unacceptable, and will be contacting the restaurant to ask for a full refund for everyone in the party. After spending over $400 at their restaurant I did not expect this dishonest and shady behavior.
Please look at another restaurant for your party--do not come here. They are completely dishonest."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great restaurant - especially for groups of 6-10.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This restaurant has a loud, fun vibe. They have a lot of large butcher-block tables that are great for groups of 6-10. We just ordered a lot of appetizers, and that was enough for dinner. My wife and I went - just the two of us - and had the cheese plate, meat plate (both served with crusty bread), beet salad and roasted cauliflower. Everything was great."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Girls night

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food and wine. Our reservation was for 6 and we came with 8. They were very nice and accommodating."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Try it

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was great, and service was good. Chairs are uncomfortable and noise level is high. But worth a shot. Decent value for the dollar."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spill the Wine
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing dinner and service Music was great

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's unfortunate that the food was lack luster with little seasoning/taste. The wine list was overpriced for what was a selection of low end wines. Even though the restaurant wasn't busy, the servers were more into each other than their patrons. I did enjoy the decor and the music was a fun mix. Too bad it fell short since it's two blocks from my house."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spill the Wine
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
7 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic