Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Port - St. James Hotel Reviews List

The Port - St. James Hotel

The Port is a fine dining restaurant located on the lower level of the historic St. James Hotel built in 1875. There are many original treasures to be found in the restaurant. Among them is the iron-gated wine cellar, once used as the hotel's bank vault. At the Port restaurant we serve Contemporary American and Midwestern food, from regional favorites to reinterpretations of classical dishes; all of our seafood is flown in fresh primarily from Alaska and the west coast. The Port is best known for sourcing the best quality seasonal ingredients available. Our menu changes frequently to reflect the current offerings from our region, delivering the best of our local bounty.

The Port is a Winner of Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2014.This is the 11th year that The Port has earned this prestigious honor. We are also listed as one of the few restaurants in Minnesota with very reasonable wine prices. www.winespectator.com


See more The Port - St. James Hotel details
61 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(61 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
(33)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(40)
  • romantic(39)
  • fit for foodies(26)
  • notable wine list(18)
  • good for groups(11)
  • neighborhood gem(10)
The Port - St. James Hotel Reviews List
Review 1 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience for our first time dining.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This was our first time dining at The Port. The food was fabulous, the service was excellent and we will absolutely be returning! We had a cozy table by the fireplace...could not have asked for more of a perfect evening!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Exceeded Expectations Over and Over

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"It was December 31st, a busy night, and a special menu. The staff practically jumped at the opportunity to be kind, thoughtful, and to my girlfriend's dietary needs. She's a vegetarian, and gets migraines, and her trigger foods include cheese (right?!). The staff assured us ahead of time, and the waitress understood and repeated there would be no problem...and, as far as we could tell...there wasn't. The kitchen crew created a delicious entree that met her needs AND was delicious.
They said they'd throw something together from what they had in the kitchen...but she said she could tell it was prepared by someone with a natural talent. Kudos...this may be only the second time in my life a restaurant has been so very accommodating.
I had the lamb shank and it was tremendous...as was the Baked Alaska for desert.
But really...it's the kindness and willingness to treat each customer as important that will stick with us."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good food, great ambiance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My boyfriend and I recently ate at the Port during our stay at the St. James Hotel. The menu was diverse and the cocktails were very intriguing and delicious. We both enjoyed our meals, and the service was very accommodating. I would definitely go back."
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dining at The Port

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My Marine son and his girlfriend went to dinner at The Port - my son in his Dress Blues and his girlfriend in a beautiful dress. After ordering their food the waitress told them that a couple a few tables away paid for their entire meal. The lady came over, gave my son a hug and thanked him for his service. I do not know who the couple was, but wish I did so that I could thank them for their kindness. My son and his girlfriend had a wonderful time and really enjoyed their dining experience at The Port."
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful space

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Perfect place for a romantic evening. My only disappointment was the small wine list. However, I planned ahead and brought my own bottle, and payed the corkage fee of $18. Would certainly go again."
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Engaging bartender. Earnest server. Good food in a pleasant atmosphere."
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2011
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our Server was very good, the ambiance is very relaxing, and an extensive wine selection is available. We found the meal quality and quantity was not a good value for price paid however. Highly unlikely we will return."
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Special Occasion

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our second visit to the Port...last one several years ago. The food is delicious although limited offerings. Meat was cooked , or under cooked, as wished and was best without the sauce served with it for us . Over say food is very tasty.
The only glitch was sitting next to the fireplace that was being used , in July! Was a bit warm and kept scooting our chairs away from it. Did find a comfortable spot."
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A wonderful evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is not the first time, nor will it be the last time that I eat at the Port. This is an amazing restaurant that never fails me or those that I may be dining with. Can't wait to go back!!"
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The Port

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my boyfriend to eat here for his birthday. We had a good experience!"
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wish we lived closer so we could visit often!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We came back to the St James hotel one year after we were married there and had our two year anniversary dinner there. I was pregnant at the time and concerned about certain ingredients in my food. The head chef came out sat down with us and not only answered all of my questions but explained how and why each dish was made. Overall, the food was amazing but the conversation with the chef made the night so wonderful! The ice cream/sorbet for dessert was incredible! We live in PA and wish we could visit the restaurant on a regular basis."
Dined on 8/08/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It'd be hard to make it any better.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Port at The St. James Hotel continues to one of my highlights for fine dining. From the atmosphere, to Laurie behind the bar, to the exceptional food and wine list and the knowledgeable and personable service (Joshua was excellent) it's hard to beat the dining experience at The Port. I look forward to it (and have never been disappointed) every time I'm in the area."
Dined on 3/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was great but the food was disappointing!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Potential

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The price performance of The Port was good. Overall the food was very enjoyable and properly prepared including some unique creations like the tomato sorbet and grated horseradish cream that were served with the Bloody Mary Stone Crab. The desserts were outstanding. We had a baked Alaskan and a Lava Cake. The naming of some of the dishes was too similar to traditional dishes but we're so different that some could be disappointed and the menu descriptions didn't help. This was the case with their Cesar salad. In reality, it was a dark flavored dish with the pork belly and minimal greens and dressing, not the bright flavor in traditional Cesar. So be clear about what you are getting before ordering. The evening was enjoyable but they need to better consistently train their staff. I had waiter envy all evening as I watch a very professional and capable waitress attend to another table nearby. Our particular waiter was very enthusiastic, but not very good. He forgot to give us the proper utensils 3 times after our dishes came. So we had to sit and wait for someone to go by to ask for them each time. The wine pairings with our 4 course menu were not all good pairings. For example, the Riesling was not nice with the Cesar Salad. And the waiter asked if we were having a Chardonnay or a Cabernet with our Lobster. O.o To me, a pairing is when a professional makes exact selections with exact dishes and they sing together.
There was a very serious, stern looking lady walking around the restaurant all evening making everyone uneasy. She needs to train her staff properly upfront with clear expectations and not hover like a school marm. Overall, I would dine at The Port again because of some of the creative dishes and the beautiful setting.
"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Must if you are in Red Wing!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Amazing food, fantastic atmosphere & great service! A must for any food fans visiting Red Wing."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Great Special Occasion

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I had dinner on December 31, 2014 at The Port. This was the first part of a "dinner and a show" night out. The waitstaff were amazing and extremely professional. It was actually fun to watch the entire team work together to take care of us. The menu was small but exciting and the meal was delicious. It is a shame we have lived in this town for 13 years and had not been to this fabulous restaurant! We will definitely be back!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome Food!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had to order 2 Oyster appetizer... 3 per plate was just not an even number to share for two, but the Oyster combined w/ Caviar flavor was amazing! The Ceaser Salad is not for vegetarians... However I loved the perfectly done pork and egg accompaniment!! The Walleye flavor was out of this world... YUM! Service was fantastic too! We would dedinitely go back again!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for The Port - St. James Hotel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Previous customer

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We've been to The Port a number of times and the food has been excellent...what happened to the menu?? I thought the Christmas Day menu was limited but it looks like that is their menu. I agree with a previous review...my husband had a Caesar "salad" and I had the walleye. A few greens does not an $8 salad make! From the menu description I thought I was getting hazelnut CRUSTED walleye but it was broiled with a sauce and too mushy for my obviously unsophisticated taste. The food is very overpriced for what you get. I know presentation is important but it shouldn't the food be more important.? We were very disappointed and probably won't go back. It wasn't the price, it was the food. This is the first review I've ever written but this really wasn't what we were expecting Christmas dinner to me. The service was good..."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Port - St. James Hotel
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
11 out of 12 recommend this product
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic