Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bart's Restaurant Reviews List

Bart's Restaurant

In 1982, NYC restaurateur Bart Ruggiero brought his famous recipes to downtown Matawan, selecting a location where suburban hospitality meets sophisicated appetites. Lunch and Dinner served in charming old cathedral ambience where homemade pastas, fresh fish and veal specialities are always on the menu. Bart's has built a reputation for the finest fresh made raviolis with a variety of fillings. Join us - we can't wait to meet you!! Enjoy al fresco dining on our beautiful patio from May - October.
See more Bart's Restaurant details
34 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(34 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
(15)
4 stars
(16)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(23)
  • special occasion(21)
  • romantic(18)
  • good for groups(9)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • great for lunch(6)
Bart's Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/21/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Has Potiential

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We went on a Saturday night for our 4 year anniversary. When we arrived they didn't seem to have our reservation even though I made it through Opentable and i also called them to confirm. They sat us down anyway since the restaurant was near empty. The ambiance and great. There's nothing like dining inside of an old church. Our server was very courteous. We ordered drinks but the first drink my partner ordered they were out of so she ordered another. For dinner, I ordered penne vodka with shrimp. She ordered shrimp scampi. We also ordered calamari as an appetizer. Our food came with salad which was good. The bread they served was soft and warm. The calamari was light and crispy. Our entrees came on time however when we received our meals I noticed my pasta was red not orange. I decided to eat it anyway to make sure and it turns out it was not penne vodka it was marinara sauce. It was tasty so i didnt bring it up to the waiter who was very attentive by the way but sort of smelt like cigarettes. Anyway my partner seemed to enjoy her meal but when i tasted it, it seemed bland.
Overall this place is very unique but did not live up to our expectations. I say to those who never been give it a try, and hopefully your experience would be better.
"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place to eat.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"It's a great place to eat.
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Service attentive Nice variety for entree

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bart's is a quaint restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love this restaurant the food and ambiance is wonderful. Service is very good. Whether is a special occasion or just a romantic dinner for two, it fits every style."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Another great meal !

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lovely place with great food. The wait staff and service is excellent. The food is always different and always fabulous."
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

quirky

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Although the staff was nice and personable, the restaurant was old. It is an old church revamped, that was the cool part. Around the room had knick kacks which reminded me of my grandmothers house, ie plastic flowers, little doll angels etc. The wine glasses were even old, small and narrow. The food was nothing to rave about."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quiet and great food. Love it here

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A great find.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We wanted to meet friends halfway between our house and theirs and I would do it again. The table they gave us turned out perfect. We had privacy yet did not feel out of touch. I enjoyed the experience, waitress was extremely helpful. The food was good however I can't say I was over the moon with it. Prices are average. However the wine list was very limited. The history of the building is interesting and the owners are there a very long time. I respect that and would go back."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner as usual.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Another good meal at Bart's. Each time we go we like to check out the specials. Once again, we were not disappointed. The Bolognese sauce was excellent, as was the Chicken Parmagiana."
Dined on 4/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot to go with friends or meet new ones

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sweet Potatoe Ravioli are out of this world. Your review must be at least 50 characters."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always enjoyable

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have been going to Bart's since it was Batholomew's. Always good always great experience."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It Took 30 Years, but was well worth it!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We've lived in the area for 30 years, and have always driven past Bart's. That ended on New Years Eve, and was well worth the time. The food was fantastic, Donna, our waitress was great during a very busy night and the ambience was very uplifting. Bart's is a restaurant in a renovated church, with seating available on the "alter", with beautiful architecture throughout the restaurant. As soon as we walked into Bart's, we were warmly welcomed into the restaurant.
Great Time!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Year's Eve dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A great place to go for a holiday dinner or just a nice evening out. Food was wonderful, service was excellent and combined with the atmosphere made the dining experience a special occasion."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bart's Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delighted.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife and I are always looking for new restaurants and we found Bart's on the internet. The church atmosphere was unique, the food and service was good. In short we were delighted with Bart's."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bart's Restaurant
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
9 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate