Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Joshu-ya Brasserie Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Joshu-ya Brasserie

Joshuya Brasserie was launched in 2011 by Rising Star Chef Jason Kwon from NYC. The brasserie offers two unique seasonal menus focusing on edo style sushi and California inspired tapas.

Current menu highlights include Day Boat Scallop Risotto, Braised Octopus, Monterey Bay Calamari, Hamachi Tartare, Kobe Steak Frites...

In addition to our seasonal brasserie menu, we also offer a bar menu, which features maki, tempura, gyoza and other traditional japanese sharing dishes.
26 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(26 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(13)
  • great for outdoor dining(8)
  • neighborhood gem(6)
  • good for groups(5)
  • great for lunch(3)
  • kid-friendly(2)
Joshu-ya Brasserie Reviews List
Review 1 for Joshu-ya Brasserie
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2015
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/28/2013
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Joshu-ya Brasserie
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2009
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/12/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Joshu-ya Brasserie
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good fusion bistro, hearty food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Not as good as Iyasare, but aimed at a more price-conscious wallet which is smart for this area. Much more American than Iyasare but similarly high quality ingredients, deftly handled. Note street parking is hard, tables are too small, waitresses cheerful but fail to clear used plates properly before depositing new ones. The free bowls of miso surprised us; we were ordering a udon noodle bowl along with other dishes--wouldn't have ordered the udon if we knew the misoshiru was coming! But it was all good: excellent miso/dashi; udon bowl well filled altho broth was weak. Combo sashimi was very fresh but oddly tasteless. Takoyaki was also very bland and disappointing. Dinner was redeemed by the sliders: they were excellent quality beef, pre-salted mix, good bun, tasty kimchi/bacon topping. A good value place with the rarity of consistent high quality; worth a visit if you can find a place to park!"
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Joshu-ya Brasserie
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fresh and Tasty!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2002
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2002
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We walked here after going to a matinee at the Berkeley Rep and found the food fresh, tasty and colorful. The fresh fish rolls were especially good as well as the Pommes Frites, fried in duck fat. My! Lip-smacking! The place was nice and quiet when we were there, but I suspect the place could get quite noisy when more people were present. Excellent service too. I'd like to go again next time we're in Berkeley."
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Joshu-ya Brasserie
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Berkeley's Best

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had one of the best dining experiences here. The regular menu is always a classic. Enough variety that let's me come back more often than I usually would for a restaurant.
Despite all the goodness of the regular menu (kobe burger with bone marrow, and pork belly soba, and pork belly tacos, takiyaki), the chefs weekend menu is really where you get something special. The specialties are amazing. We got oysters from Japan with caviar and avocado emulsion--smoothest texture ever, brilliant truffles from Italy, sake Toro that made my wife say, "If you ever mess up, just get me this." To top it off we were blessed with foie with caramelized apples, crouton, and a delectable wine jelly. The experience, food (freshest and finest ingredients around),ambiance, and great wait staff made for an amazing night.
Will come back often and soon."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Joshu-ya Brasserie
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
13 out of 13 recommend this product
Food 
4.7 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.7 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic