Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Il Bolognese on Ocean Reviews List

Il Bolognese on Ocean

known throughout Europe as a capitol of culture and fine living, the wealth of good taste from Italy"s Bologna region now makes its home on Ocean Dr. in Miami Beach- at Il Bolognese
Inspired by the authentic recipes and fresh regional ingredients of Northern Italy, this exceptional Italian eatery offers contemporary interpretations os classic favorites by chef Manuel Mattei.
Everything we do at Il Bolognese is focus around creating a hearty, European sense of welcome. From our delectable lunch and dinner selections to our playful list of hand-crafted cocktails to our extensive regional wine list to our intimate lounge for private events, we invite you to savor our unique culinary experience for yourself.
Our approach is simple only the best ingredients and only the best preparations.
See more Il Bolognese on Ocean details
42 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(42 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
2.8 / 5
(Good) 2.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(14)
  • scenic view(9)
  • special occasion(9)
  • fit for foodies(8)
  • neighborhood gem(7)
  • hot spot(5)
Il Bolognese on Ocean Reviews List
Review 1 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/27/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, but extremely expensive!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Service was good, food had great flavors, however for three dishes of pasta (no seafood) and a seafood soup and a couple of saladas $281 was too much! The server did not bring detailed invoice to the table, and told service was not included and it was! so we end up paying $320 for a four people lunch, no wine!"
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/21/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Classic italian food, wine, and amazing service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Il Bolognese on Ocean is a great restaurant with a diverse menu of Italian classics, seafood, and some wonderful specials! We had the special filet mignon with a wine truffle sauce, served on a bed of mushroom risotto, which was divine! Juan at the bar serves creative, hand crafted cocktail with a twist and made some great recommendations on wine also! To top things off, all of the staff are so friendly and engaging, they always make us feel so welcome! A must visit in SOBE!"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/13/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/30/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/27/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Went there on NYE and it was very expensive but we had a great time and the food was amazing!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but cocky

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Good food and wine, but overprized. The service was allright until we said no to desert. Then they tried to get us out asap. And then the waiter didnt bother to bring back the change, so the service charge beacame a lot more than they deserve. We payed around 160 for two main courses and a bottle of wine."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/27/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good place to eat for a date night. Wide variety of foods. When offered special appetizers or menu items be sure to ask the cost. We got the antipasto appetizer off menu, didn't ask the cost. When the check came found out it was $32! Delicious but not worth the cost. Also a glass of lemonade was $9. Didn't ask about that either. Oh well, this is Miami and we had a good time anyway. Enjoy!"
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Beware of this Tourist trap! The good part ended with the bread. Wine at 12$ a glass was terrible. We were a party of 5 with teenagers kids. Ordered 3 appetizer. Beef carpaccio was tasteless. Wasn't sure it was beef. The bruschetta wasn't a bruschetta . It was a kind of a tasteless paper thin dough. We should have gotten it then and leave but we were unfortunately too hungry and too tired. Then came the pasta. Never had something so poorly made. My 6 year old suddenly said she's not hungry anymore. I returned my first mushroom pasta and asked for a 4 cheese gnocchi . Then came a group of white little balls drowning in watery "cream sauce" . Four cheese? Really? 230$ down the drain. The only thing we all left with was a severe belly ache. What a shame."
Dined on 11/08/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Took my girlfriend there on a date the food was amazing and our waiter was very attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I enjoyed dinner very much.
"Gonzo" was an excellent waiter, very handsome and I'd like to enjoy some private time with him. I f he ever comes to BAltimore, I would enjoy entertaining him.
"
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was hoping for a step above the average ocean drive experience, but poor service and cold food was what I got on a not so busy night. Don't go out of your way to come here, there are far to many better options in sobe"
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Italian !

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I enjoyed the pasta with bolognese ragout , pasta was cooked 'al dente' and delicious
Great view of the Lincoln road scene
"
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was fresh and delicious!"
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Quiet night. Beautiful breezes. Great people watching spot. Server- Gonzalo was excellent. Salad was good. Pasta was incredible. Chicken was average. Had a great evening"
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Expensive, but food ordinary

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I went to this restaurant with my family on new years eve. We had duck foie gras and carpaccio as starters. They were both tasteful. As main course two had salmon, one halibut and one canelloni. The fish was good, the canelloni ordinary. The deserts (one creme brulee and one apple tartin) were also ordinary. The prices this evening was rather high, and too high comparing to the quality of food."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Bait and Switch dining - a ruined New Years Eve

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Bolognese on Ocean is pathetic and not Italian. I made a dinner reservation for New Year’s Eve dinner for based on good reviews from Open Table and was very disappointed. We arrived and were seated outside and the background music was loud even for South Beach. On our table there was no salt and pepper, no oil and vinegar, no butter for the beard that we had to request and we were never offered any ground pepper at any point, not feeling welcome. The Michelin team would have probably not bothered at this point and got up and left, but let us continue. We ordered a bottle of wine and salads and the waiter hovers over us requesting a dinner order and pushing this meager “seafood for two” that would not feed our cats for $160.00. We are not allowed to take our time to order and order two salmons with two side orders of potatoes and vegetables. In a bit the waiter informs us that he did not know it, but everything is a al carte tonight, thus if we want anything with our entrée we will need to order it, reply: we still want what we ordered off the menu. The Michelin team definitely is gone at this point, but we are making the best of it. The entrée shows up while we are still on our salads and we are asked to move our salads by the runner, who then decides to take the entrée back. The salmon entrée comes back later and is very over cooked and sitting on a bed of arugula. I get the manager at this point and ask where the rest of the entrée, answer is: it is my fault that I did not order the sides a al carte, he will fix it, bait and switch on the order. My potatoes and vegetables arrive as we are finishing our small over cooked piece salmon and since we do not want potatoes and vegetables for desert we ask for the check. We are offered free desert, free wine, etc.; we do not need “freebies”, all we wanted was a nice experience for New Year’s Eve and Bolognese does not provide a good dining experience. We dinner at Bellini’s instead who welcomed us."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great food; check your bill

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"we were a party of 12. all really liked what they ordered. portions of some entrees could be a bit larger. wines were very good, too. on the negative side, i was told the fish special, branzini (delicious!), was $44. the bill did not show the fish, but rather a rack of lamb for $68. when questioned, our server said that the mngrs answer was that there was not a 'key' for the fish and to ring it up as the rack of lamb, because the price was the same. obviously, the waiter did not even check. when it was 'corrected, the fish now was $46. the waiter offered us $5 from his pocket (we did not accept it). other minor things, were incorrect glasses of wine brought to table, that were corrected."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Il Bolognese on Ocean
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
4 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic