Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Providence - New American Kitchen Reviews List

Providence - New American Kitchen

Providence New American Kitchen is a locally-owned, full-service contemporary American restaurant featuring locally sourced ingredients. The restaurant is located in the historic Hilton President Hotel at 1329 Baltimore, within walking distance to the Kauffman Center, Sprint Center and to Bartle Hall.

The restaurant is accompanied by The Drum Room Lounge, a notable bar and cocktail lounge with an illustrious history in the Hilton President.

Providence New American Kitchen offers a common place to gather in an intimate setting. Based on the rich history of the restaurant’s location, Providence creates a warm atmosphere, incorporating reclaimed wood and vintage prints depicting the nation’s history. Beautifully crafted cuisine and cocktails with simple, fresh ingredients and attention to the comfort of Midwestern flavors are noted in the menu---come join us!!
See more Providence - New American Kitchen details
197 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(197 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 197 reviews
5 stars
(74)
4 stars
(62)
3 stars
(38)
2 stars
(20)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(70)
  • fit for foodies(62)
  • romantic(45)
  • good for groups(44)
  • neighborhood gem(36)
  • notable wine list(25)
Providence - New American Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Wanted to like it more

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I would say the food was just fair. My husband had the meatloaf and said it reminded him of
a burger, certainly not like Mom's old-fashioned meatloaf.! I had the clam chowder and wedge salad which was pretty good. Our server, although very sweet, was somewhat slow. And the kids who delivered the food to our table seemed grumpy!
The décor was very nice, but I honestly missed the old "bratpack" 60's look to the place.
"
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great food, friendly and attentive service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delectable Dishes

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"This was our first experience at the Providence. A co-worker had recommended its unique charm of the hotel and the intimate ambiance of the restaurant, perfect for a long overdue date night with my husband. We were attended to right away and offered drinks and warm ciabatta and raisin walnut bread to start, the service throughout the night was excellent. My husband ordered the Filet which was cooked to perfection and I ordered the Seasonal Risotto with butternut squash and an array of other sautéed vegetables. The risotto was rich and creamy and scrumptious. The filet portion was smaller than we expected but all in all both enjoyable dishes. We would definitely come back here again."
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food was delicious...tried the pork belly appetizer which was simply divine....
Each of the dinners was just as tasty...definitely a place i would go back to!
"
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great pre-show dinner spot.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Loved the duck fat fried potatoes and pork belly appetizers. Good wine section and dinner menu. Excellent brûlée cheesecake dessert. Short 2 minute walk to Arvest Midland theater for an 8:00 PM show."
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Pork belly appetizer, outstanding cocktails, and excellent service by Jess."
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our group of 4 arrived for a 6 pm reservation and told the server that we were going to a 7:30 shoe at the Music Hall. The first course, 1 soup and 1 salad arrived 30 minutes later. It was the wrong salad, but ate it anyway due to time constraint. The butternut squash soup was reportedly excellent. Entrees arrived at 7:22!! Three people ate in a minute or two, while mine entire meal went into a to-go box. Will not return soon."
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Average food. Empty for a saturday nigh th dinner. Service was good."
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good as always but kitchen was terribly slow. Had a full house due to multiple events downtown and appears kitchen couldn't keep up."
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dinner missed the mark with small portions

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The service and atmosphere were outstanding as previous visits. The food was exceptional on previous visits too. The food was lacking this time. The arugula salad was a paltry serving and the lettuce wilted. The short rib was delicate and tasty, but the portion size was small for the price charged. The grits were bland and could have used more cheese. The dessert, a fruit cobbler, was a miss too. There was more juice than fruit making for a soupy texture.
The misses could be due to what I ordered. My friend's Providence salad looked beautiful as did his pork chop. This visit was a disappointment but I will be back."
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The lobster pasta was exceptional.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The service was very slow. Our server was personable enough. He was able to answer most of our food questions. He didn't know if my parking could be validated there and had to check. Then he didn't offer to comp the appetizer with a dinner purchase of over $50, which I notices was on the parking ticket - after we left.
The food was good, well prepared and presented.
"
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Historic disappointment

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Was looking forward to this lunch as I'd head good things. Pork belly was terrific but other than than rest of food as a poor quality simulation of hip nouveau food. My Ahi tuna salad was awful and the tuna (cut in suspiciously concentric square like it had be pressed and frozen) was so fishy tasting I couldn't eat it. Rest of my group's lunch as about the same."
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Slow

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"No one to greet us or seat us. Waited till someone noticed us. Waited to get food that was not great. Just don't understand what was wrong. We were here for lunch."
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Been to this place once before and I always enjoy it. Love the American rustic feel mixed with the upscale/classy. They make some excellent chicken and the green beans are super fresh tasting. They also have a great wine selection. The only feedback I can say is we got there early for dinner and until it started getting busy service was fantastic, but as it got busy they only had one waiter running about and he got a little overwhelmed. It wasn't his fault but he really needed one more waiter to help."
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/06/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place for a nice quiet dinner, good food.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice looking but....

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We enjoyed the ambiance and our waiter (Tony) was outstanding. The food however was lacking. I order lobster pasta. The lobster was just ok. The pasta was colder than it should have been and the sauce it was supposed to have was almost non existent. This place is very nice and would be great but they need work on the food."
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"When we arrived, we noticed only one table out of 6 or so actually had food. The restaurant filled quickly as there was a concert. We allowed ourselves an hour and 45 minutes before the concert started and most tables did as well. Our waiter was responsive and timely as well as were the other tables, but it took an hour for our dinner to be served. The problem was in the kitchen. The food was good, but we had to eat quickly to get to the show."
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Good food/Poor Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Upon arrival I was greeted by our server that asked me if I wanted a drink while my husband was parking the car. I ordered a glass of wine that didn't show up until about 20 minutes later. Then, my husband had the good sense to order our food with his beverage order so we could have our servers attention. The food was brought over by food runner and our server never checked on us. We finished our meal without him checking to see if everything was alright or refilling our beverages. We left our empty plates on the side of the table thinking that would get his attention. It didn't. Luckily the food runner came to the rescue, by bussing our table and getting us dessert menus. Finally, the server came back and I asked for another glass of wine...that I waited quite a long time for as well as the dessert. The server never asked how our meal was, we were just ignored. Again, I am glad the food runner was paying attention. We asked her for our bill. If we hadn't had her help we would have been late to our play.
With the money we spent on the tiny portions of food and wine, you would have expected better service."
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Slow Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We waited about 45-60 minutes for our food. We were going to a concert and missed the first part."
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our waiter was fantastic and very personable.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food, spotty service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food was fabulous and beautifully presented but whoever was bringing the food out from the kitchen didn't seem to know the table numbers. Someone other than the waiter brought the food out and more than once, we saw food go to the wrong table. In fact, our appetizer was given away to another table because no one could figure out it was ours and our waitress wasn't in the dining room. So, if you have some extra time to wait, this is a nice place to go. The food was fabulous and our waitress was great but they really need to figure out the table numbers. We had a 6:00 reservation in advance of a 7:30 show at the Music Hall and really had to hustle to get out on time. No time for dessert."
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From the time we were seated it was an hour and 20 minutes until the food arrived. And when it did...it was barely warm. Bad night maybe? Was our first time but not thinking there will be another."
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/24/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Menu changes

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Reserved a table based on web reviews of standard menu. That night they changed the menu for valentine day to a fixed price multi-course and only a limited part of regular menu was available. The multi-course option was not of interest so we had few options. Food and service was ok. This is a hotel restaurant."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The Other Reviews Were Right

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Other reviews indicated that the food was fine, but the service slow and inattentive. They were right.
Our food was fine and we enjoyed our appetizer (Duck Fat Fries), entrees (Salmon and Shrimp and Cheesy Grits) and salads. All were tasty and cook just right. The presentation was very well done.
But the service just did not mesh. My empty beer bottle and glass were never removed from the table. The pepper grinder brought to the table was empty. When brought to the waitresses attention, she apologized and took it, but never returned with another. Would disappear for a while and did not see her, especially when we needed to get going to the show. It just went on and on.
And this is the first time EVER that we noted a special occasion (it was our anniversary) on our Open Table reservations and nothing was mentioned by the restaurant.
There was just a lack of attention to detail in the front of the house that took away from what was a lovely meal. Unfortunately, we will not be back soon. For what we paid, there are other choices."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was good, service was apologetic, due to "restricted menu due to Valentine's Day Specials".
Website posted last year's specials which were $20 higher this year. Will not be back !!!
"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dissapointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Went for Valentine's Dinner...they were offering a special 4 course meal for two, but unfortunately also reduced their regular menu, only offering 3 entrees...none of which were vegetarian. Who offers more dessert choices than entrees? Saw two tables sit down and then leave after reviewing menu, which we nearly did.
Dining room was not busy, but service was not prompt. Didn't receive bread until after dessert because it was "still frozen"...not a good look.
$32 Fillet was under-seasoned, on top of a dry mashed potato pancake with strange fuel-tasting green beans. Just not impressed.
Coffee was served without cream/sugar...when requested, the server attended to 2 other tables before bringing cream so coffee had cooled.
Drink from bar took much too long, probably 10 minutes.
"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was very good and the prices were reasonable. Really enjoyed our dinner"
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Price > Quality

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I'd read pretty solid reviews of this restaurant so my wife and I decided to try it for our anniversary. Our waitress was very pleasant, but not very attentive which was particularly frustrating because there was only one other table of guests in the entire restaurant. The food was alright, but certainly not worth price. You can get a better steak at a common chain restaurant than what we were served that evening. Decent place overall, but not worth the price in my opinion."
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Start with the BBQ Glazed Pork Belly and/or the Butternut Squash Soup...delish!! Then, the Seasonal Risotto with brussel sprouts and crispy mushroom was over the top amazing. Will return for more!"
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

everything on Restaurant week was disappointing

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Providence - New American Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My family and I dined here during restaurant week. We were very impressed with the food and our server gave us excellent recommendations!"
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>