Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Zia's Bistro Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Zia's Bistro

Where food equals life, happiness, friendship and a glass of wine. Where a bar can be a meeting place as well as somewhere to satisfy your palate.
All this in a fun, sophisticated atmosphere.
Sit down to have a bite to eat and a drink and make yourself at home.
If you have any special requests or dietary needs, please feel free to ask and we will do our best to accommodate you.
36 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(36 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
5 stars
(12)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(6)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(19)
  • great for outdoor dining(15)
  • fit for foodies(10)
  • romantic(8)
  • special occasion(8)
  • great for lunch(6)
Zia's Bistro Reviews List
Review 1 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2014
 2015
Dined on 9/19/2014
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great but it was very hot in the restaurant."
Dined on 9/19/2014
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lived this place. I understand it has closed and will reopen under new name this June"
Dined on 3/28/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Little Italy's Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Outstanding place! Great food and service. We sat outside with a partial view of the harbor, it was wonderful. We had pizza and pasta and although they were simple dishes the flavors were complex! We will be back the next time we visit San Diego!"
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was bustling on a Friday night. Appetizers and entrees were all very enjoyable."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, great service!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had people visiting for the weekend, and picked this place for a good Italian dinner in Little Italy. It was exactly what we hoped for. The short rib lasagna was amazing!"
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome as always

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything you've come to expect when the name Busalacchi is on the menu. Incredible food, service, and ambiance."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Italian Food in Little Italy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We discovered this restaurant during restaurant week. We have been back several times. Once with a group of 6 and once with a group of five. The Gorgonzola chicken pasta is amazing, rich and can be shared. My husband loves the pizza. Wednesday is half price bottle night. So a pizza and wine is a pretty inexpensive dinner. I would recommend this place."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Eat & hang out

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"great food, fun bar with occasional live music and friendly employees"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Zia's is good for families

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Zia's is right in the middle of Little Italy and parking is impossible to find so get there early and be prepared to walk. The food was not gourmet but was tasty and enjoyable. We made reservations with no trouble in the morning for a party of 8. The prices are pretty reasonable for the location."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice Spot in Little Italy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great spot at a scenic corner in Little Italy San Diego. The service and atmosphere was excellent. The main course was good, if a bit on the mild side for me, but the appetizers and desert were perfect."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Moderate

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The location is superb; the view (for people watching) is nice. The food was OK, just OK. I had the calamari and the eggplant parm. The hostess and busboy were very nice. Our server however was mediocre. I would recommend this restaurant to people who are more interested in the location. True foodies will be disappointed."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Inconsistent

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Wandered in on a Tue eve. Soup of the day: chicken vegetable. Was delicious. Had the sausage mushroom rigatoni. So flavorful with divine complex flavors. Return five days later just for the rigatoni and was very disappointed.Different chefs?"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was very ordinary. Party of 4 and requested a table away from entry way and main dining room. Seated in another room hoping to be able to carry on a conversation without shouting. Noise level was like sitting on a runway, probably added to my disappointment and bad review. Would not go out of my way to return even if a freebie."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The noise level was so high that we had to change tables even though I had requested a "quiet" spot in my reservation. Would have been better off sitting outside. Otherwise, no complaints."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2005
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zia's Bistro
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great little spot. Piano music - a nice touch!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to this restaurant b/c we could not get into my favorite place in Little Italy. The music was pleasant, our meal was tasty (my companion ate every morsel of his dish), service was lively and efficient. We sat outside, which was romantic and quaint. I would eat here again."
Dined on 11/21/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Zia's Bistro
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
19 out of 19 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic