Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Slow Fish - Los Angeles Reviews List

Slow Fish - Los Angeles

Don't eat fast. Eat slow. Eat right.

Slow Fish on Wilshire features Asian-fusion cuisine and a wide variety of sushi and sashimi options with fresh fish delivered daily.

All fish and sauces are prepared in house, and our chefs are skilled in traditional and contemporary methods of food preparation.

Slowfish also features Black Rice for substitution on any sushi, roll or entree item. More nutritious and a healthy option from white rice, try it with your favorite item for a deep, nutty surprise.

With a wide variety of wines and sake available, and Happy Hour 5pm-7pm daily, come join us for an elegant night out with friends.

SlowfishLA now delivers! Dinner only. Please call in for details.

Be warned, there are no TVs on site, so bring your best conversations!
See more Slow Fish - Los Angeles details
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(13)
4 stars
(12)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • fit for foodies(7)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • romantic(4)
  • special occasion(3)
  • good for groups(2)
Slow Fish - Los Angeles Reviews List
Review 1 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

24th Wedding Anniversary. Exquiste cuisine. Yum!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/30/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Half sleek lounge-like restaurant and half cheap neighborhood sushi bar. The combination doesn't work especially if you are looking for nice ambience and a fun night out. Service was uneven and was not paced well at all - bringing appetizers and entrees at the same time. Why? And in the end the food wasn't that good. Oysters were inedible. Sushi rolls didn't really work. The famous black rice was nothing special. Overall just a disappointing experience."
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good, but not great

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2006
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I'd walked by this place many times and was always intrigued. It is well designed and their menu very enticing, and offered a lot more variety than a lot of sushi places. The food however, was just ok. We had the spicy tuna tempura roll, yellow tail, salmon and scallop sushi, basic udon, the salmon/mango/avocado dish and the ponzu Hamachi and over all everything was plated beautifully but just didn't quite hit the mark in terms of flavor. For the price I would go to sugarfish any day. We probably won't be back."
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Their sushi was amazing with quick service."
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

second visit

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is my second time at at Slow Fish and again had a great meal.
I had the Sushi combo the last time I was there for dinner and this time I was informed that the sushi combo is a lunch item not a dinner item. Little confused right? Since I had it for dinner the last time. Apparently dinner is all California rolls. So it should not be called a Sushi Combo.
Anyway still a good meal and of course I will be back.
"
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terrible service - very understaffed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"When we arrived at the restaurant, there was no hostess and a server greeted us. She seemed to be surprised that we had a reservation for 3. There were no tables available and she said there would be a 5-10 minute wait. Thirty minutes later I flagged down one of the two servers to remind her we were still waiting. We were finally seated about 40 minutes after arriving. Our appetizer and my beer arrived at the same time as our entrees. We never received two items we ordered. The servers were running around the restaurant like they didn't know what was going on. The whole experience was terrible."
Dined on 7/07/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I'm a Pescartatian and my date a Vegetarian . We had a late dinner and ordered, sushi combo, edamame, black rice, miso soup and tempura tofu. We were blown away at how great the food was.
Everything was flavorful.
We will definitely go back.
"
Dined on 7/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

My Fav

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Best sushi in town and I love the ambiance. My regular go to place."
Dined on 5/14/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

High-quality sashimi

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a 6:30 reservation on Saturday night. We had the oyster and uni, uni with quail egg nigiri, the miracle roll, the princess roll, scallop sashimi and toro sashimi and drank Kirin and hot sake.
Every piece of fish was fresh and chilled to the perfect temperature. The rolls were perfectly constructed as they didn't fall apart.
The service was very professional and attentive without being intrusive. Answered our questions willingly and accommodated any requests.
The prices were more than fair for the high quality product.
I am extremely pleased with Slow Fish's food and service. Such a lovely romantic restaurant.
Highly recommend."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Slow Fish - Los Angeles
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
8 out of 9 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate