Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice

We propose a different approach to Italian food, by creating dishes moderate in portion size, which we feel enhances the dining experience, by allowing you more variety in taste, while eating healthier.
72 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(72 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 72 reviews
5 stars
(37)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(32)
  • neighborhood gem(31)
  • fit for foodies(30)
  • good for groups(25)
  • great for brunch(19)
  • great for lunch(17)
Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice Reviews List
Review 1 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great pick!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a great dinner at Hostaria - the food is amazing and the service was great. The price point is also good for what you get. This is a great place to go for a casual dinner with the family!"
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Venice Italian Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Consistently Good. I love this place. Clean minimalist inside, with a nice patio set back from the street by a large sidewalk. The Calimari Griglio (grilled with chard)--but ask for a lemon wedge--And the Neri linguini (shrimp, vegetables, and squid ink pasta) are both excellent and what I get pretty much every time I go. Free parking underground off 5th street makes it easy."
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2005
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great meal-Where were the people?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been to Hostaria del Piccolo on several occasions. The younger sibling of a remoter, fancier and more expensive place reserved for special occasions only, the Hostaria franchise has usually been "fine" for a go-to mid-week meal, but hadn't seemed particularly inspired. However, this Sunday night, we had a memorable meal reminiscent of the ones normally available only at the mother ship. With dishes chosen at our encouragement by the waiter, everything from the Octopus to the Tuna pizza and diverse sides and pastas in between seemed simultaneously inspired and nicely if casually presented. The service was customarily attentive w/o being intrusive.
Hostaria has as of Sunday ascended to the list of Sat special places."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dining here for the 4th time means something. Excellent service, great food and nice location. Love their pasta dishes, pizza and desserts. A
Must when you stumble upon the cute neighborhood of Venice.
"
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great brunch spot.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed a great Saturday morning brunch, including appetizer of mushrooms over ricotta which was amazingly great, then several items off of the brunch menu - all delicious. My son thought the french toast sticks were great. Cocktails and wine list looked enticing as well. Maybe next time....
Nice ambiance and we got there before the crowd so it was quiet and relaxing.
We will definitely go back.
"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

No points...NO review.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Why was I denied points for this reservation? BLah, blah, blah, blah blah"
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, even better service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was great. My pasta was fresh and piping hot. Everyone in my group was pleased with what they got. My wine was perfect and the meat and cheese board app was devoured by all.
However, the service was the best part, namely because the staff was so accommodating to our craziness. First we had a reservation for four on Valentine's Day. And then it grew to six. And then a seventh wanted to come. I've worked in the service industry and a little part of me died in embarrassment every time I called to add to the reservation. I felt so bad. However, each time the hostess was gracious and accommodating. Our server was just as sweet and had a great sense of humor and even split the check across our crazy group. I wish I got her name so I could give her a major shout out. Would def stop by for the penne again. Thanks, Hostaria del Piccolo!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

This place is very average...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good enough to go to if all the really good Venice eateries are full"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Kid friendly, great service!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I'd had lunch at the Santa Monica location a few weeks before and wanted to try the Dine LA dinner menu. The food was pretty good, but not as good as the lunch menu. The "crispy prosciutto" on the salad was chewy. Otherwise, the salad was good. The main dish, tagliatelle bolognese was a little too salty for my taste, and the dessert was just ok. There were at least five couples with small children between 2 and 5, but everyone was very well mannered and the place was not too noisy. The most noteworthy part of the dinner was the amazing service. The servers were very accommodating and attentive. My glass was never more than half empty. Each time it reached the halfway point, someone was there to fill it up for me. Their friendly, helpful attitude more than made up for the ok food."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Regular customers a little disappointed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have eaten here many times, which proves we like it and value it in our neighborhood. Last night, though, I am positive the "Frittura" (fried calamari and shrimp) was about half the size of the portion we last had (not too many weeks ago). It used to be enough for two to share as a first course, but last night we had to order another portion. The asparagus and crab soup was delicious, but had four tiny scraps of crab in it. The steak was very expensive and had only arugula as an accompaniment and the wine reduction sauce was practically non-existent. I don't know if this enterprise is struggling (they no longer open for lunch here, and they had to close their huge, fancy "Ciboteca" take out place in Santa Monica). If so, the solution is not to short-change regular customers. The server we had was a little less gracious and friendly than the usual Italian ones."
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The hostess was the nicest even though they were double booked and our table was not ready. My party of three started at the bar and moved to an available table.
The menu for dineLA was good.
I would not return because I felt the conversation volumn was too loud for any romantic or friendly dinner."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great neighborhood restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we love coming here. the staff is so friendly. the service is always good. and the food is wonderful! great drinks, too.
we prefer the terrace as the inside gets a bit too noisy for us "over 50's" but they're nice about turning it down, too.
I can't recommend it more highly."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Deano

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As ever excellent food. It was crazy noisy, being New Years Eve. Service was good and knowledgable staff."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"All our dishes were very good. The grilled calamari was outstanding. The arugula salad was fresh and tasty, not overdone. It was very noisy indoors, much better outdoors in the evening."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

nice, safe bet on Rose Ave.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"nice wait and hostess staff. food was good but not mind-blowing. I can tell you that I had a better time at brunch drinking endless Bellini's or Mimosas!"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The location is Venice CA, not Italy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Who ever heard of a weekend brunch in the USA where the only coffee is espresso or americano, and as a result they charge you by the cup? Europe, it happens all the time. In a few restaurants here it happens when they are serving a special coffee in a presspot. But for "just another restaurant on Rose Avenue in Venice" to offer weekend brunch with no option for regular brewed coffee... you've got to be kidding me. Food was good. Service was good. And when I asked for more coffee they told me rather than just bringing it and adding it to the check. But still, not acceptable."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Hostaria del Piccolo - Venice
Based on the average of (42) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
27 out of 27 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic