Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Skin + Bones Reviews List

Skin + Bones

Skin+Bones is a casual neighbourhood restaurant serving local Canadian food inspired by the seasons, our farmers and a love of eating and drinking.
See more Skin + Bones details
79 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(79 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
5 stars
(36)
4 stars
(32)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(57)
  • neighborhood gem(51)
  • good for groups(42)
  • notable wine list(26)
  • romantic(24)
  • special occasion(21)
Skin + Bones Reviews List
Review 1 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2013
 2012
Dined on 12/05/2013
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 30/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A Memorable Birthday/Engagement Dinner! BUT...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came across this restaurant while driving down Leslieville. Googled it. Positive reviews and appealing menu. We especially enjoyed the feasting option where your table shared anything the kitchen served. Great concept and worth repeat business; even though, no one enjoyed the dessert choice and our one vegetarian guests got the short end of the meal. NOTE: We brought a cake and the $25 plating fee was nothing special. While our cake necessary for the occasion, it's not worth the hassle otherwise. $100 wine also didn't meet expectations. The host sent wine list in advance, and was very prompt in returning phone calls, however, being a table for 6 plus 1 joining later seemed to cause repeat concerns. Larger groups pose more issues at this venue - always call if OpenTable wont accommodate date/time/ppl. And, don't be surprised if you feel the pressure to keep your party 6 or less. Any more and it gets difficult to chat. The back was pretty noisy too, and not all tables were filled on a Friday night (despite expectations). Overall, the food was great, staff attentive, and I would definitely dine again. Next time, maybe just 4 of us... just because we liked the chefs and will never get tired of being fed by surprise!"
Dined on 20/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing brunch.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 22/02/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The evening wait staff had raved about the Sunday brunch, so I thought I would give it a try. Where was the promised buffet.Oysters...no where to be found. Couldn't get the water hot enough to steep a cup of tea. Limited menu. Such disapppointment after so many wonderful evenings"
Dined on 22/02/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing Restaurant!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 21/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 21/02/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came here for a special occasion and ordered the chef's tasting menu. It was absolutely amazing - great food, service and atmosphere. The meal consisted of roughly 7 courses that were each more delicious than the last. The waitstaff was extremely attentive and friendly, which only added to the experience. Would definitely recommend Skin + Bones."
Dined on 21/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

yummy brunch ..

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife & I always go to Skin + Bones for brunch. They offer a buffet which is a selection of cheeses, charcuterie, cookies, scones, cake, spreads, yogurt, & preserves. I love the buttermilk pancakes they are to die for! I will keep coming back.."
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've been meaning to try this neighbourhood gem for some time, and Skin + Bones did not disappoint! great food, service, and drinks selection explain why this place is always so busy - we will certainly be back!"
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

brunch was average

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went there for brunch because it is one of the few restaurants that will take reservations for brunch. When it is -10 outside, I don't want to be waiting in line outside. The restaurant is nice and the staff are friendly. Food was not bad either but the menu selection for brunch is very limited and not very creative. Probably a better place for dinner."
Dined on 25/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Evening

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"From the moment we walked in the door and were greeted warmly by the maitre d', until we left, the four of us enjoyed our evening at Skin & Bones.
The wait staff is courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. The food is great!
Special mention goes to the lemon dessert!
My one quibble is the wine list by the glass is, in my husband's and my opinion, expensive and overpriced. Oddly enough, the less expensive Spanish white that I enjoyed with my seafood stew was more delicious than the $23/glass Spanish red that I had before dinner
But we'll be returning. Great atmosphere, great food."
Dined on 10/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A perfect spot for a date night. Excellent service and understanding staff, when it came to food preferences. We were so pleased with the amazing food and hopefully can be back soon, and are telling all our one friends :)"
Dined on 08/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Classics done well

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Two of us had a great meal here; we ordered the "Let us Feed you" Chef's tasting menu which provided a good portion of food and a trial of several menu items. The heirloom beet salad was very well done and the braised beef short rib was a standout. The menu had mostly things that are pretty standard with the past few years' crop of restaurants but everything was very well done, making this a good go-to place in the neighbourhood. Service was very pleasant and attentive without being intrusive."
Dined on 30/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First time

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our inaugural experience at Skin & Bones. Best thing about this restaurant is the food quality followed closely by the service. Also easy to park. Wine value and options was the only issue experienced."
Dined on 30/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The atmosphere and service was great. Drinks and wine list was good. Food was tasty but not all that exciting. Very satisfied. BUt restaurants need to stand out a little bit more these days. I would frequent more often if I lived in the neighbourhood. Otherwise, would likely not travel to revisit. I would recommend to friends."
Dined on 18/12/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice spot, OK food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The short rib and appetizer were really good. The remainder of food was OK but not great. The space itself is very nice and warm but the music was too loud."
Dined on 13/12/2014
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Balanced view

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We're met at door by friendly Aussie maître d , who without prompting sat us exactly at the table I had asked for ! Great intro ! Waitress was initially ok, but did not come back to check on water etc. after the food had arrived, she didn't come back either during dessert to see if we wanted a top up on coffee. While my spouse's dish ( gnocchi ) was great, my main ( pork), although tasted great ( as did the veggies) , the meat itself was 50% gristle and tough. I told the waitress who took me through the prep work done for the pork, but I know pork- this was tough and there was more gristle than meat. We'll go back as our first experience there was a good one, but unless we see a change in the meal service+ food ( consistency) , it'll be our last."
Dined on 13/12/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Wouldn't recm'd unless to see for the atmosphere..

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Small portions, over priced, looooong wait time. Friendly servers.
Booked reservations for 4 people at 6:45. Arrived right on time, our table was set in the front of the restaurant beside the bar.
The one thing I can say is that all of the staff that we encountered that night were awesome, accommodating, and pleasant to deal with.
We ordered a bottle of win that ended up being $67.00 for an average wine that three of us shared and a pint of steam whistle for the other.
We ordered an appetizer about 15 minutes after we settled in when we ordered our drinks. ( The grilled octopus) Took about 25 minutes for the appetizer to come out -- ended up being on octopus tentacle on a couple cubed potatoes with a marinara type sauce. While it was good, possible a little over grilled/charred on the end. Finally were able to put in our main meals and waited 'til about 8:05 when we finally received our food.
As a courtesy for waiting over an hour to receive our mains we were given a class of wine/pint to hold us over. My partner got the special - a cheese ravioli. total of 9 small ravioli's. My friend and I both ordered the mushroom Gnocchi, while the taste was decent, the portions were extremely small for the price and amount of time spent waiting for the food to be prepared and the presentation was not over the top. Her boyfriend ordered a pork/cheese (appetizer) and a salad as his main, the appetizer pork/cheese stick was very good, had only three pieces about an inch and a half long.
As this was for a birthday celebration, we had two small desserts, some sort of chocolate cake, that was very dense and not very flavorful.
All in all, the service was the only part of this that was enjoyable...we paid $224.00 plus tip for something that did not hold us over, as we went out to a bar afterwards and had to eat because we were still so hungry...."
Dined on 06/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice ambiance & service. 2 dishes were very salty.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Service was nice and we love the space. This is my second time here and we enjoyed it the first time a lot more. A few of us found 2 of the dishes too salty. The caramel dessert was delicious."
Dined on 04/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 06/12/2014
 2007
Dined on 06/12/2014
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We ordered the tasting menu. The food took FOREVER to come, annd not once did the waitress provide an explanation, or at least advise us it would take a while. Thhe food was very mediocre. And they even forget to bring us our side altogether. In the end, we just asked for the desert to go. The manager did the right thing and only charged us for one meal (instead of two), saying "it's not usually like this", but in my view, there's no reason to go back, since even the food was nothing special."
Dined on 06/12/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First time experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Although we attended only the brunch so far, it was an enjoyable experience. The food was excellent and the staff pleasant and polite. The overall condition of the restaurant was clean and very pleasing. At present I can not comment on the evening dinners at this time but if it even comes close to the brunch I am sure it will be a delight. I had a good time and I will be going back again."
Dined on 30/11/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Skin + Bones
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We'll be back!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 28/11/2014
 2007
Dined on 28/11/2014
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This place has been consistently great after several visits for dinner and brunch. The friendly and (understated) professional service takes it to a higher level."
Dined on 28/11/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Skin + Bones
Based on the average of (59) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
54 out of 56 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic